Barbados Labour Party Responds To Mia Mottley’s Charge

Full text of Press Release by the Barbados Labour Party in response to Mia Mottley

Peter Phillips, General Secretary, Barbados Labour Party

It has been reported that charges of disenfranchising party members have been laid against the Barbados Labour Party through the instituting of changes to its Standing Orders for the Party’s upcoming Annual Conference.

Such charges are contained in a letter purportedly signed by Ms Mia Mottley, M.P.

The facts are that under the Party’s Constitution, the Conference Arrangements Committee acts as a Standing Orders Committee and formulated new Standing Orders which have been ratified by the National Executive Committee and these together with the party’s Constitution govern the BLP’s procedures.

Read full Barbados Labour Party Press Statement

101 thoughts on “Barbados Labour Party Responds To Mia Mottley’s Charge

1. Barbadians would have found it bizarre, when on August 28th 2011 and for the second time (thereby confirming that it was not an error) a paid advertisement appeared in one section of the local press – on behalf of the Barbados Labour Party, introducing an individual as: “The Incoming Chairman.”

Imagine! The introduction of an individual as: “In-Coming Chairman” and with great certainty – even before the date for nomination for the post of Chairman was closed and even before a single vote was cast – raising serious suspicion that something very strange was about to happen.

Then the news broke and concern expressed – that there might have been some tampering with the BLP Constitution and surprisingly so – before the Annual Conference, where one would naturally expect any such proposals would have been presented; discussed and agreed-to, in a transparent, lawful and disciplined manner.

If middle-ground Barbadians are beginning to feel and realise that they can no longer afford to trust the BLP or rely on anything it says – they would not have come to that position without good reasons and much effort and persuading on the part of the BLP. For, how could a BLP – which only a few months ago went all across Barbados complaining to anyone who would listen – that the DLP was changing the law to give one man a job – now find itself tampering with its Constitution to make a man: “The Incoming Chairman?”

Mia Mottley was never going to be able to ‘stamp-out corruption’ (election rigging and vote-padding) within the BLP and she is right not to participate in, thereby validating a process, which middle-ground Barbadians (who are not political) find horrible and highly offensive.

You do not have to be a rocket scientist to see that this latest salvo is a calculated and unprovoked attack on women and ‘the Barbadian middle class’ by a group of men within the BLP, who seem to have reached agreement, that no woman or middle-class Barbadian is ‘acceptable’ to lead them; the BLP or this country. Vote for them – Yes! But lead again – absolutely not! It would therefore seem that someone has been able to get into the head of (what could only be) a vulnerable person within the BLP – perhaps questioning if any such person is going to allow the BLP to end-up in the hands of a woman or a middle-class Barbadian.

On its chosen destruction path, it would seem that the leadership of BLP is in danger of giving false hope to its membership, who want to win the upcoming election, whereas the leadership seems more concerned with shutting out and ultimately, ridding the party of Mia Mottley, altogether. It does not seem to occur to the BLP membership and the country as a whole – that if it cannot now hold certain people within the Opposition BLP accountable, they will not be able to do so, if those persons were to form Government.

With the leadership of the BLP now declaring war on the Barbadian middle class and women – the 28,000 employees within the public service should be extremely worried and very afraid. One false move or lapse in judgment on their part and that’s it!

2. Very well said my friend, the matter of trust has evaporated from the BLP and it will not restored in short order either nor will it retun with photo shop created moments, trust is something that is earned and not bought as Arthur is so accustomed to do buying his support, as he and Mascoll tried to buy votes in the Deacons Farm area on election day 2008, the days for corruption are long gone.

3. Woe betide anyone who on the hit list of Owen, Hats Payne , Miss Walcott et al no doubt such a list will be long long no one will be spared. Civil servants for sure can look out for a masive backlash and recrimination. If the Owen BLP faction is returned to power it will make any former night of the long knives look like a picnic. Expect Owen , Hats et al to fire,threaten and disenfranchise left right and center. Owen told us before he rules by fear.The reign of victimisation were the BLP to get back in Bay Street will take Barbados to the brink. It would be very very unwise to bring back the BLP. What they are doing to their own star Mia is a tiny foretaste of things to come.
    Voters you’ve been warned.

4. @anonymous: “It would be very very unwise to bring back the BLP. What they are doing to their own star Mia is a tiny foretaste of things to come. Voters you’ve been warned.

Wow. And we’re approximately 14 months away from an election.

Imagine what it’s going to be like when the “silly season” really kicks in?

5. It seems the BLP has a greater problem on their hands than they percieved, Mia is behaving like a spoilt child, while the administration of the party is behaving in a dictatorial manner; this all spell disaster for the party leading up to the next General elections. It appears the cases leveled at Mia is so serious and international that the party had no option but to remove her from the leadership position, the real problem is, these accusations are all confidential and therefore cannot be brought into the open. Until this happened, Mia would have given the ailing DLP a run for
    their money and they knew it, now they have the trump card and can use it
    against her at will but Mia also knows it and is will to take her chances and
    use it against the party if she can’t have her way and any thing is said adverse against her, she will sue. The result against the wises of the general voting public, there will be no option but to return the DLP to government.

• Itt will be very difficult for Mia to function on the opposition side in the prevailing climate.

Maybe that was always the plan fwhen Arthur sowed the seed at the UWI press conference.

6. @The Scout: “It depends on what “flyovers” you’re talking about.

Perhaps those that “fly over” other traffic?

I remember you being really hot on that only a few years ago.

Again, please correct me if I’m wrong….

7. It seems to me that Mia Mottley will have difficulty escaping the perception that she cut and ran from the post of Chairman contest because she believed she was going to lose. When there are 19 branches nominating Jerome Walcott and 4 nominating her, her argument that this does not indicate where the support from individual BLP members lies does not appear reasonable. Mia would have been better off grumbling about what she perceived as the constitutional issues arising from the contest, but staying in it until the last votes were counted and then grumbling more when the expected outcome occured. Mia can only hope the BLP implodes under the leadership of Owen Arthur, so she can come in like Joan of Arc on a horse and rescue it. It certainly makes for good political theatre.

8. David wrote “Maybe that was always the plan fwhen Arthur sowed the seed at the UWI press conference.”

No maybe about that. It is clear that Owen intended to destroy Mia’s political leadership aspirations.
    I think he has succeeded in stopping her “progress” at least for the time being.

There will be no kiss and makeup this time.

Mia is done like dinner. fuh now.

9. I am a fan of neither the BLP nor Mia, however I think that despite the considerable baggage she carries that she is one of two BLP politicians that the DLP fears. The others are nonentities who just take up space (the same is true of some members from the other side too).

I view the attempt to prevent her from attaining the post of Chairman of the BLP as another step along the road to marginalize her and deprive her of any power base which would allow her to challenge for the leadership of the BLP at some future date.

Whatever the rules of the Party are how can you run an ad proclaiming the victor before the Election has been held? I thought the Soviet era Russia balloting was a thing of the past.

I see the incoming Chairman Walcott as a stop gap who will be malleable to whims of those responsible for placing him in that position.

Just when the BLP needed to have all of its ducks in a row it is still waking up to the fact that its worst day in Gov’t is better than its best day in Opposition.

10. I dont want to get into the blp matters, but owen intentions were clear long ago; to destroy mia. Why at this stage there is a need for a change? Were the orders working and whose purpose were they serving, it is quite opportunistic that mia’s power base had to be removed so that she would not have an opportunity to be elected. Then again i remember George Belle saying in a class about politics, it is just a game,

I have said over and over, if public officers ever allowed owen to regain the mantle of power there would be so much victimisation that i shrudder to think how public officers will function. Can you remember he referring to Mr. Boyce in Parliament as a quisling; i think it means a political traitor.

11. Sargeant | September 20, 2011 at 7:59 AM | I am a fan of neither the BLP nor Mia, however I think that despite the considerable baggage she carries that she is one of two BLP politicians that the DLP fears. The others are nonentities who just take up space (the same is true of some members from the other side too).

Ditto….. I would know, I spent considerable amount of time and energy looking for things that would discredit Mia Mottley, and every time I kept finding things that points to a very well informed and intelligent person. Many of the issues that Barbados faces, Mia have a well thought out approach to dealing with it. Such is a very very rare find amongst our current political class. The truth is the truth; I am force to admit it.

12. Wikileaks is going to take on a whole new meaning.

Unless they are squeeky clean Owen & co. should be concerned.

“hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.”

13. DLP supporters backing Mia makes a very fishy dish.

Yuh mean Comedy Fest start and wunna ent had de decency to leh me know or buy a ticket for me. Wunna is something else fuh trute.

14. Mia should have never entered the race for Chairman of the party so soon after being removed from the role of Opposition Leader, especially given the incongruity of her message with that of the PARTY post her removal, and this shows in the 19 to 4 count. There is no denying Mia’s individual popularity, but it is clear that her ‘opponents’ are collectively more popular within the party.

However, in terms of importance:
    Mia not being Chairman < 12.1% unemployment + cost of living+lack of confidence in the DLP+Freundel as PM

Also remember during the "Years of DLP turmoil" 1999 – 2007 none of its leaders was a former PM with a recent track record to tout nor the party for that matter after the debacle of 1991-94. Don't forget Mascoll got ousted as leader of the Opposition and crossed the floor in 2007, yet the DLP won the election less than a year later and he was treated far worse than Mia.

Sinckler start dipping yuh hand in the magic hat.

15. Tropical storm coming. Be prepared.

1. CLOUDINESS AND THUNDERSTORMS ASSOCIATED WITH A LARGE LOW PRESSURE
    SYSTEM LOCATED ABOUT 1500 MILES EAST OF THE WINDWARD ISLANDS
    CONTINUE TO SHOW SIGNS OF ORGANIZATION. ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS
    ARE EXPECTED TO REMAIN CONDUCIVE FOR A TROPICAL DEPRESSION TO FORM
    LATER TODAY OR ON WEDNESDAY. THIS SYSTEM HAS A HIGH CHANCE…70
    PERCENT…OF BECOMING A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS
    AS IT MOVES WESTWARD AT 5 TO 10 MPH.

16. It is interesting the BLP would change the standing order at this time.

More interesting is the revelation that it would have taken so long to change the order. It seems like a sensible change and underscores Mia’s point that there is a need for reform to the BLP’s constitution.

17. On hindsight, Owen must carry the blame for Mia’s behaviour now. After the general elections and the BLP sat to choose a opposition leader, I understand it was a deadlock between Mia and Marshall. Neither would give in and the G G gave them a deadline to declare a leader, I understand Owen then switched from voting for Marshall and voted for Mia thus giving her the nod, now she has come back to destroy the party for selfish gain, she seems to be very vindictive.

18. As a result ofthe disgusting way the BLP has treated MIA AMOR MOTTLEY, I hope that she breaks up the party.

She should go all out to crush Owen”seethru”Arthur.

19. I agree Scout.

Mia has to understand that the BLP does not belong to her and that she does not have a God given right to be leader. Someone earlier suggested that she join the Dems, maybe she can. Since she lost the leadership, she has only be pictured with Dems. Watching the last budget debate, I saw her on her BB and then she looked across at Chris Sinckler and they both smiled. Can we assume that she was passing info as a BLP was speaking? Or was it just co-incidence?

I was told by an MP that she had made an agreement with the late king that he would have two terms and then it would be her turn. So if the Bees lose next election, she will then position herself. That’s now in doubt as I cannot see any of the present MP’s voting for her to lead them.

She’s a brilliant lady but I think she is taking her own ill advised counsel at the moment. She should never have contested the leadership for chairman. She just does not want the wounds to heal. That’s not being a team player!!

• @Prodigal Son

Is it fair to attack Mia based on positions which are not in the public domain?

If there is an internal matter which is so grave as to cause the removal of Mia don’t you think someone on your side needs to tell her?

Unless the plan is to destroy the party.

20. Carson, get lost!
    You got a nerve to talk about the BLP. You think Bajans will ever forget the years of bitter infighting in the DLP under Sandi, remember the whole Richie Haynes, Ginger Bourne, Richard Byer break up? Remember all the Dems who voted with the BLP to bring down Sandi?
    Dont get me started on the years of open warfare with the dead king and Kellman and then all the years of backbiting with Mascoll and the bitter fight for the presidency when you Dems booed Branford and tell him to go home. And the biggest presidency fight of all between the dead king and Fumble Stuart. I still have a copy of Fumble’s 17 point indictment of the dead king.

People who live in glass houses should not throw stones. If the nasty fighting between the dead king and Mascoll did not break up the DLP, Mia cannot break up the BLP. The party is bigger than her. But since when you Dems care about Mia? What got you is that as she is no longer leader, the dirt you had to dish out on her, you cant use now.

21. @Carson

I do not support your wish that mia breaks up the blp, thats immature behaviour. I dont like how mia was treated and the double standard about her behaviour, but the blp will solve their problem. so dont wish for the destruction of the party, even thought i dont like the things it stand for.

22. It is a weakness of your human nature to hate those whom you have wronged. Be warned! I Tacitus am returning to rule. It matters not if I crush all that stand before me. I do not care about Mia, about women, or young people. Quite frankly, I do not care about the BLP or the DLP. I do not care about if Bajans think I am crooked or straight from hell still possessing all of my demons from old. I am back and Mia has to go. This is not about fair play or justice; I long for power. I long to be back at Ilaro so that I can give my new son-in-law a function fit for a king. Georgie, you are next! I have to rid myself of your shadow so that I can rule. The short man’s syndrome affects us both, but I am Tacitus and I shall rule. Power is mine.

23. Prodigal
    N you rememba one a de B’s dat created some ‘piles’ dat he had ta get cut ova -n -away urgently? Ef he had piles, I got biles.
    Dat’s politriks for ya.

24. Hants
    Tanks, ya meteorologist. We doan tek dis sorta ting tu serious doe. You in kno dat we is God’s ‘chosen-fu’?

25. obediantobediant
    LOL. yu mo wicket dhan me. I followin ya closeleh n yu in ezee a’tall buoy. As fa who mek me…………… dat remainz a mistry ta dis day causen me mudda wait til i did ’bout 40+(no, not bra size) ta brek de sad newz ta ma gent-lee, ‘ pappa in you pappa’. so who knowz?????????? cud be yu. LOL

26. David
    If there is an internal matter which is so grave as to cause the removal of Mia don’t you think someone on your side needs to tell her?
    What make you think she doesn’t know? Matbe she thinks the problem is not that great or that it’s not a problem at all. However, in the eyes of many in international authority, the alleged problem is grave. Remember, easier Owen pointed out that he had spoken to her to amend her ways, whatever that meant. They all have their skeleton but some skeleton smell worse than others.

• @The Scout

You are not logical, If Mia knew and she believed it was not grave then there is nothing stopping her from going public.

See you have joined the bandwagon appending a label to BU.

Has any of your comments ever been filtered?

Then that is all you should be concerned about, BU like you or anybody else have opinions and will sate them when we feel like it.

27. David
    Maybe going public will cause her more harm than leaving the said public to guess. Maybe it is grave enough to cause international countries to take a dim view of Barbados if she remains ina leadership position or even become P.M. Maybe participants to international conferences would leave their wives at home if certain persons attend. There are so many MAYBES that she needs to come out and declare her hand. It is a pity that a young person with such ability is under such a dark cloud.

28. David
    stupseeeeeeeeeeee, doan pay Scout na mind man. He tawkin pure, unadulterated shoiteeeeeeeeee. ‘leave their wives at home’ my ass. He painting dis real bad pic a de woman as dough she is some sorta hooligan. Man gimma a break do. De so called ‘participants’ should leff dem secretaries at home too cause dem mite end up tekking dick-tation from de wrong body. stupseeeeeee, gimma a break do. I doan care fa she nor she party but cud croisssss man, stop tawkin shite bout de woman lifestyle. She could phoop who she care ta. rasthole man, wunna gettin me sick wid dis shoite now.
    All I gun sa ’bout de fracas wid she n de party is dis:
    ‘Let de dead bury dem deadddddddd’.
    Cause dat too, like all tings, will pass.
    End a story.
    Doan mind Scout. He is a struction-mekka.(like me)

29. Vito: “Bonasera… Bonasera… What have I ever done to make you treat me so disrespectfully? Had you come to me in friendship, then this scum that ruined your daughter would be suffering this very day. And that by chance if an honest man such as yourself should make enemies, then they would become my enemies. And then they would fear you.” – Vito Corleone: The Godfather

It would seem that on two occasions now, Mia Mottley tried to use the existing rule and electoral system within the Barbados Labour Party to run for the Office of Chairman of the Party and on both occasions she has had to withdraw because of “RIGGED DEMOCRACY.” A woman, coming-up against an unfair system and against the most powerful men in the BLP – who had already announced an: “Incoming Chairman,” long before nominations for the post were closed and even before a vote was cast – did not stand even a sporting chance.

But the BLP is now functioning like a law unto itself and it must be held accountable. Perhaps that is why Miss Mottley seems to be pleading with the people of Barbados for justice and to hold the BLP accountable, in order to preserve our stable democracy, the rule of law and good governance. The very strong is never supposed to take advantage of the weak. When that happens, the society has a duty to act.

Having become the victim of a unfair system on two occasions now (and after sounding the alarm and signaling to the country that all is not well within the BLP) it is up to the electorate and the taxpayers of Barbados (who pump an annual subvention into the BLP) to recognise that the BLP is just not ready and give it a lot more time to try and get its act together. Secondly, since the BLP does not seem to be able to regulate itself, creating much political disturbance in the country annually, that is the surest sign to the country – that it is simply not ready to lead.

The BLP seems to be of the view that Barbadians like money so much that the mere talk about the economy will automatically cause the entire country to ignore everything else that is not right within the BLP and change the present stable-Government. But on careful analysis, the BLP’s argument that Barbadians should vote for them because they managed the country well 14 years ago – seems seriously flawed!

The truth is that fourteen years ago, the world was being run on debt and huge deficit financing, which now have to be repaid or brought under control. Simply put: the alleged growth of the past ‘decade-and-a-half’ or so – was a “mirage.” Plain and simple! Tourists incurred huge debt by way of loans and credit just to travel to Barbados. That debt now has to be repaid and until it is – people will not travel as before. Reduced arrivals to Barbados are therefore not a fault of the present Minister of Tourism.

Years of plenty but borrowed money to travel or not – tourists came to Barbados in mass and yet – the then BLP Government kept borrowing! It played fast and loose! A massive bill for the Warren’s Building; then Clico and the BONC debt are some of the examples of its alleged: “sound economic management.” If after 14 years as the Government and the BLP cannot even pay its phone bill – that should tell you something about its allegation of sound economic management. Vote for what and why? Even after being given time in 2008 to reflect, there is nothing new or fresh about the BLP! Instead, it still seems tired; stale; resistant to change – above the law; answerable to no one and unable to connect with the youth?

30. Is Mia indispenable ?
    DID Mia sell out the last General election ?
    Are Police in Barbados moonlighting ?
    Is the the young cricketer Ashley being treated fairly by Otis Gibson ?
    Did somebody want to nurse Ashley ?

31. Otis Gibson playing to the piper if Nurse was dropped even on the flimsy excuse of fitness for real performers like Benn or Badree one can understand but to discard the young man for a mediocre St. Lucian who most never heard of is spineless and tasteless leading one to think he did so either to curry favour with or at the behest of the mediocre St. Lucian trio Sammy, Hilaire and Skunt who now run WI cricket. The halcyon days of West Indies cicket are gone forever. RIP.

32. I Tacitus will make a confession. It is not that I want to destroy MAM, remember it is I who promoted her to be my deputy and it was I who endorsed her as the Leader in 2008 after that blow that left me winded. I do not have anything against women, you can ask my sister V or even the beloved Bev. It is simply that I am not ready to be led by no woman and Bajans do not want to be led by anyone but me because I have an economic brain that is out of this world even if I come across as being shady, arrogant, and vindictive. It all stems from this medical condition for which I had to seek medical attention over and away. Yes, not penile dysfunction but a problem with the rod. That is why I breed here, there, and everywhere. You may know of 2 girls but there are more. You see I have a problem with latex, call it an allergic reaction to latex. The point is I cant use condoms, but as powerful a man as I am, I must be able to sweat especially when the see-thru wukking. Yes, wuk-fuh-wuk is my friend but his problem is different, plus he has not tasted power like me. I have to be the next prime minister of this country. Only me can rescue bajans from de women who want to take over this country. Yes, they could do a good job, but power belongs to man who can make the people fear him. It is not for negrocrats, women, or young people, power is mine for I am Tacitus your anointed ruler. I shall rule, I will not accept cheques from Paris or Clico, I will not cuss David Thompson or his widow, but I reserve the right to stop any woman from ruling this country because they do not know how to make people fear them. My followers are many, my critics are more, but Georgie and Dale will help me because it is only through me that they can keep the seats they hold. I am Tacitus.

33. @David

Well Owen did beat around the bush (pun intended) about “The love that dare not speak its name” during his Cave Hill news conference.

In other news today marked the ending of the “Don’t ask don’t tell” policy by the US military.

34. Based on all that has transpired it appears to me that Miss Mottley and the late Mr Thompson are cut from the same bolt of cloth albeit oppose ends but the same bolt.

35. Was it not this same Motlley that asked for a redrafting of the BLP constitution ?
    Is this not part of that redrafting ?

So what is she whining about because she appeared to be about to be getting her ass whipped ( careful here as she is said to like this pain and suffereing thing a real lot ) or a childish act of not liking a decision and taking up her bat and balls and leaving the field ?

This eruption of the BLP is in no where near to the troubles of the DLP this is much more sickening and dangerous to the BLP leadership, it stems from a core matter and that is Arthur’s adamant outlook that because of Mottley’s lifestyle and moraless lifestyle she is unfit to lead and he is is trying to make people believe that he is honest, sincere and faithful person what a load of hogwash.

36. As Bonny Peppa would say TACITUS you killing my spawgee arse dead wid de laff the part about penile dysfuction send muh straight to the floor.LORD have mercy———-come FUH YUH Wirl !?!
    LMAO LOL LOL.
    WUH loss muh BELLY

37. It is time that I go to have my lunch but I gine leave this wid all of you. Somebody tell me that I am not kind or nice to Mia after saying to her that the BLP needs her. But I Tacitus say to you that candor and generosity, unless tempered by due moderation, leads to ruin. I am not going to ruin my chances to rule Barbados again because I know the cookie jar would be full again. If Bajans want someone that shows candor and generosity, they could go to the DLP. Barbados wants a strong ruler who will bend the rules to suit his purposes since no woman can lead.

38. TACITUS
    ya hopeless.

obedient/obediant/obeduant
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhh rite pun dem lushus lips a yourn

Hants
    I tell ya a’reddy dat we is His ‘chosen -fu’.

Owen is dat YOU
    LOLLL. Tacitus is a nut-case. He mo madda dhan all de mad-munz down by Jinkins. I serious.
    I luv um badddddddddddd.

Dese postses pun BU does kill ya.

39. TACITUS
    but waittttttttttt, I got a ‘queer-ry’ fa yu Tacitus. I ondastan dat wunna-all chooze Jerome ova Mamma Mia. But waittttttt, eff she lifestyle in question, wah his is tu. She is a he-he n i was made ta ondastan dat he is a she-she. wunna-all seemz ta like dis cross-genda mix-up ting.
    What sayz you Tacitus????????????

40. @Bonny Peppa

Looka ma crosses though! Bonny they are not as smart as you. I big dem up and den trample dem down. We all have our crosses to bear but my demon stays with me. Bonny, if you join the BLP and support me bilndly, I will give you the chairmanship. My boy Clyde does not want to be chairman; he wants just to be finance minister sitting in Parliament. The truth is he wants a easy seat, and I will give it to him becaause he and I have some things in common. You know what I mean, he is a rammer like me, he is an economist like me, we both live with hardwood in memory, and most of all, we are 2 would be criminals that get away scotch free.
    Bonny Peppa, I am Tacitus and if I say you belong to the fold, you belong to the fold. I have the last word, I am ruler of the BLP and Barbados. You do not have to worry about the crossers, crosses, crossdressers, or the cross that you must bear as a christian. The next election is no longer about morality but about economics. It is I Tacitus that is shaping how the next election will turn out. Keep loving me Bonny, do not do like MAM or Bevs. When I destroy a woman, she gone through the edoes, so agree with me because i am never wrong, I am Tacitus your ruler for ever.

41. Tacitus
    murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, Tacky, ya got ma ccryinnnnnnnnnnn n dribblinnnnnn. ma false-teets now drop out. Lord have mercyyyyyy.Tacky tek ya tablits, tek ya tablits.
    Nah,nah, nahhhhhhhh, I doan wannna be na chairMAN. You n dis cross-genda cannnnnn seem ta part man. I wanna be de chairWOMAN. But den again, ef I axcep dis chair-body ting, I gun haffa cross de floor. Dah is mo crossin again. Sus croissss. You tink I name Hammie La La or wah. Dah lotta crossin gun tun my head so lemme stan whay i is. I cumfart-able whey I is.
    Anedda nex ting, ef I axcep dis chair-ting, i gun gotta start smokin, drinkin, gamblin, hornin my udda-haff, tiefing, wikkin, bullin. Looka Tacky, tanks but noah tanks. Sumhow I smellin a dead rat, or dah is me arm-pit. O shoiteeee.

• The two constituencies will be interesting to monitor, Irene will have to overcome the Orange Hill box and not even the great Peter Wickham can explain the Dale Marshall anomaly of bucking the national swing to overcome Rouse last election.

One would expect in an austere climate conditions will be more favourable to Marshall next election.

42. The ongoing fiasco and irreparable rift within the BLP is worthy of serious analysis, if only because it demonstrates how very over-rated those who feel that there have a right to rule Barbados and now hold the BLP hostage (both at the political as well as the administrative level) are. The electorate are able to see that while the DLP is getting on with the people’s business, a power-hungry BLP, under its re-conditioned opportunistic leadership – is trying to eliminate all of the competition, in order to validate Owen Arthur false claim, that there is a clamour in Barbados for him. It is almost laughable that Owen Arthur would feel that he is best suited to rule Barbados, ONLY BECAUSE he was Minister of Finance fourteen years ago when the world was completely different.

Two years ago, Barbadian hurdler Ryan Braithwaite blew away the best in the world. But at the last championship, he did not even qualify. The simple point I am making is that the game changes, others get better but there are those who live in the past, desperately in need of transitional counselling because there are unable to let go. Owen Arthur is one such character: power-hungry and dangerous. He has no new social or economic plan, no new ideas and while others who do – simply want to serve – he wants to rule Barbados and has even convinced himself that there can be no Barbados without him. This is the source of the problem. To understand the widening rift within the BLP even better, one has to go back to the infamous: “Prior Park Accord,” when the seed of treachery was sown by the “gang of five,” or the “Geriatric Brigade of the BLP.”

Owen Arthur, George Payne, Ronald Toppin, Gline Clarke and Dale Marshall, as sitting BLP Parliamentarians (some of who had only warmed benches in Parliament for the two-years-seven-months prior or merely went to Parliament to get their names marked) hearing that Prime Minister David Thompson was terminally ill – joined by MEDICAL DOCTOR, Jerome Walcott and others – hurriedly met at BLP’s Chairman George Payne’s, Prior Park house, with the sole intention to take over the BLP. These desperate power-hungry men are hoping to benefit at the ill-health and ultimate death of David Thompson. That is what it was all about then and what it is about now. It is not about any members and supporters of the BLP or even the country, but an unquenchable desire to feed at the trough.

The deal was that Owen Arthur would become Leader, but George Payne’s demand was that his buddy Dale Marshall would become Owen’s deputy and eventually Prime Minister when Owen Arthur hands over to him. Seeing a way to oust Mia Mottley and a route to Bay Street, Owen Arthur agreed to George’s plot. Meanwhile, George set to work to out-fox Owen Arthur by using the same skills he used against Miss Nola at Orange Hill and in relation to the Standard Cricket Club – to get the candidates he wanted. It would seem that some superiorly intelligent person saw how the games could be played and immediately set to work, manipulating the pieces. That person perhaps knew that – the geriatric brigade was bond to make mistakes and the glue was bond to dry sometime, so why not apply heat and speed-up the process.

It was at that point that Mia Mottley stated that she was running for the office of Chairman of the BLP on a campaign: “one man one vote,” that her statement might have immediately sent the required signal to Owen and his gang, that they were under attack. George Payne went to work and shocked DLP members who received letters stating that their application for membership within the BLP had been approved. Mia Withdrew and the public got the message. A year later, and now much closer to general elections – Mia again indicated that she was running for the post of Chairman of the BLP. Owen Panic and said that he wants Mascoll. George Payne sprung into action and on this occasion, the BLP’s Standing Orders were tampered with, resulting in the disenfranchisement of the youth and women.

Secondly, even before nominations for the post were closed or a single vote could be cast by delegates at its October Conference – elements of the ‘gang of five’ – namely Owen Arthur the Political Leader; Dale Marshall the Deputy Political Leader and George Payne the Chairman – were spooked and appeared in a paid BLP advertisement – indicating to the country that Jerome Walcott (said to have been at the meeting when the Prior Part Accord was signed) was: “The Incoming Chairman.” This was a clear statement that ‘rigged democracy’ will take place but it was the confirmation that the public needed, in order to be satisfied that these boys really cannot help themselves. The implications of the ‘gang of five’s’ advertisement was skillfully brought to the public’s attention resulting in it being said that George Payne’s St. Andrew branch was responsible for the ad in the paper. The plan seems to have been working but George’s shocking revelation shows just how silly he really is. With Arthur already calling for Clyde Mascoll and with Jerome Walcott now as the Chairman, the arena is therefore prepared for the BLP’s war games to intensify.

All that is needed is to stroke the fire and playoff Jerome; Arthur and Mascoll (on the one part) against George and Dale (on the other) by highlighting the fact that Owen has out-foxed George and don’t need Dale, once he has Mascoll. Again, statement having been made to the public, Mia Mottley withdraws because the ‘gang of five’ and the system had already selected their man: Jerome Walcott as the “Incoming Chairman” and George Payne will hereafter get the justice he deserves for treating Owen Arthur like a little boy and a poppet on a string..

The point has to be made ‘once and for all’ that George Payne is no strategist or king maker and is even more stupid than he was originally being given credit for. If he had half a brain, he would have worked to ensure that Mia become Party Chairman, which would have kept Owen guessing and Mascoll out, thereby protecting Dale. As is being rumoured, having used his resources to get most of his BLP candidates elected, all he had to do then – was get the BLP home to victory – using Mia’s appeal with the youth as well as nationally. But as it is, George Payne is now just another geriatric wannabe, who – in coming months – will receive the justice he deserve. The only thing that can save him is if a general election is called soon. And that’s what you call: strategy, game plan, checkmate and game over.

43. Rigged Democracy, Borrow-and-Spend record – proves BLP not fit to be a government

“Bonasera… Bonasera… What have I ever done to make you treat me so disrespectfully? Had you come to me in friendship, then this scum that ruined your daughter would be suffering this very day. And that by chance if an honest man such as yourself should make enemies, then they would become my enemies. And then they would fear you.” – Vito Corleone: The Godfather

“Campaign Donation” deposited to Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s personal bank account. Barbados political elites break laws without fear.
    BLP Resistant to Change, Above the Law and Answerable to No One

by an anonymous reader

It would seem that on two occasions now, Mia Mottley tried to use the existing rule and electoral system within the Barbados Labour Party to run for the Office of Chairman of the Party and on both occasions she has had to withdraw because of “RIGGED DEMOCRACY.” A woman, coming-up against an unfair system and against the most powerful men in the BLP – who had already announced an: “Incoming Chairman,” long before nominations for the post were closed and even before a vote was cast – did not stand even a sporting chance.

The BLP is now functioning like a law unto itself and it must be held accountable.

Perhaps that is why Miss Mottley seems to be pleading with the people of Barbados for justice and to hold the BLP accountable, in order to preserve our stable democracy, the rule of law and good governance. The very strong is never supposed to take advantage of the weak. When that happens, the society has a duty to act.

Having become the victim of a unfair system on two occasions now (and after sounding the alarm and signaling to the country that all is not well within the BLP) it is up to the electorate and the taxpayers of Barbados (who pump an annual subvention into the BLP) to recognise that the BLP is just not ready and give it a lot more time to try and get its act together. Secondly, since the BLP does not seem to be able to regulate itself, creating much political disturbance in the country annually, that is the surest sign to the country – that it is simply not ready to lead.

The BLP seems to be of the view that Barbadians like money so much that the mere talk about the economy will automatically cause the entire country to ignore everything else that is not right within the BLP and change the present stable-Government. But on careful analysis, the BLP’s argument that Barbadians should vote for them because they managed the country well 14 years ago – seems seriously flawed!

The truth is that fourteen years ago, the world was being run on debt and huge deficit financing, which now have to be repaid or brought under control. Simply put: the alleged growth of the past ‘decade-and-a-half’ or so – was a “mirage.” Plain and simple! Tourists incurred huge debt by way of loans and credit just to travel to Barbados. That debt now has to be repaid and until it is – people will not travel as before. Reduced arrivals to Barbados are therefore not a fault of the present Minister of Tourism.

Years of plenty but borrowed money to travel or not – tourists came to Barbados in mass and yet – the then BLP Government kept borrowing!

It played fast and loose! A massive bill for the Warren’s Building; then Clico and the BONC debt are some of the examples of its alleged: “sound economic management.” If after 14 years as the Government and the BLP cannot even pay its phone bill – that should tell you something about its allegation of sound economic management. Vote for what and why? Even after being given time in 2008 to reflect, there is nothing new or fresh about the BLP! Instead, it still seems tired; stale; resistant to change – above the law; answerable to no one and unable to connect with the youth.

44. Everyone seem to forget that David thompson backed off from being DLP party leader because of a series of losses at the polls. However, when he saw that the BLP was weakening and a DLP victory was possible, be bulldozed himself back to the top, just like Owen is doing now. The result is that the party won but he won the battle but lost the war, The Creator has a nice way to equalise things; ” you fool, tonight your life will be taken from you.”

45. Every one seems to forget the turmoil cause within the DLP, just a few months before the general elections. Stuart painting David all kinds of evil colours, David Estwick going on radio call-in programme and declaring he would never be part of a government led by David Thompson, Michael Lashley was reported ready to cross the floor and we all know about Denis Kellman and the David Thompson love affair. That same party with these same individuals were able to win the government just over a year after their near breakout, the reason, the people were fed up with the performance of the BLP, if Owen thought he would have lost the last general elections, he could have called elections a year earlier and win a landslide. The reason I’m saying this is simple, if the DLP concentrate on laughing at the BLP and don’t perform, a quickly reorganised BLP will still beat them at the next elections. The DLP made a number of promises that were not carried out, many have nothing to do with the economic state the country is in right now, If the DLP wants to put the next win beyond the reach of the DLP, they will have to lower the cost of living by lowering the VAT on essential items and pass the transparentcy law; failing to do this would leave the door open for a reorganised BLP, with or without Mia, to win the next elections.Remember the BLP didn’t win their first term in office under Owen; the DLP lost, Sandi handed Owen on a silver platter.

• @The Scout

Yes there was confusion in the DLP camp, the difference with what is happening in the BLP at the moment is that Mia seems not to be going anywhere i.e. crossing the floor.

You need to factor this in your comparison and conclusion.

46. I am tired but cannot go to sleep until I stamp my authority on these postings that seem to read into my plans. I gine tell BU the truth. I am the true ruler of the BLP and Barbados. Yes, I needed Georgie and Dale and I may still need them, but Clydie and the Doc with my parrot (puppet) Gline Clarke can out fox Georgie and Dale. It is not that I did not see MAM could be an asset, but she is clever and no woman should lead Barbados. If I want a woman, I gine back to Lynette cause she got an idiot for a husband if he cannot see that I had my piece already (I got caught with my hand in the jar). I Tacitus am no respector of women, youth, or poor people. My fund raiser Hallam is off to Britain to get me money because like it or lump it, Bajans will forget the deals that we sowed and reaped great rewards. It is all about money in my pocket and ruling. Money is power. The DLP gine slip up and when they do, I will be back at Ilaro court. I gine be there and all of those who oppose me now will see the real Tacitus in action. They will pay, I gine make them pay, I gine cuss them but most most of all, I gine do to them what I did to that idiot that was at the Advocate and now up at CBC. I gine deal with them the same way I get the negrocrat Hoyte to fire Neville. Hoyte is not there but Kaymar in my hip pocket and she from St. Peter. She is a woman and women are to be used and abused; I can trust her because she did not tell nobody bout the problem with latex although I nearly breed she too. Kaymar cannot stand MAM and that help me set up MAM for the fall. My philosophy is rule and abuse, cuss and destroy, and if you doubt me, ask Bevs. I have ordered my closest people to stop talking, they are still some people out there that know things that I do not want in the public. I gine do the talking cause I am the ruler and Bajans love me more than any other leader they ever had although that foolish foreigner Mara thinks differently. I cant stand these queens and women, they upset me when they talk about morality and justice. I believe in fear, fear me, fear Tacitus.

47. Scout try as you might you fail to find excuses for the deadly plots and counter plots in the BLP which alarms the public because make no doubt about it were Bajans to vote that Grenada scenario ( Coard backstabbing Bishop then murdering him in conspiracy with Austin et al) into office Barbados staring at possible mini Afghanistan solutions. It may seem far fetched but examine the trickery and treachery happening in the BLP examine the dark wickedness the no trust no boundaries no scruples thirst for power . Where is the moral obligation for truth in the BLP? The secret manouvers by various factions and cheating is unprecedented. Its scary never before in our beloved great island state have we seen the nasty level of skullduggery, hate, plots and political greed. Stalin would smile in approval of the BLP’s naked pursuit of power by the use of political assasination, rigged elections, deceit and purges.

48. @Scout

The result is that the party won but he won the battle but lost the war, The Creator has a nice way to equalise things; ” you fool, tonight your life will be taken from you.”

Since you brought the “Creator” into the political wars could you tell us in whose interests did he act when he decided “to equalise things”. Is the “Creator” pro BLP or pro Stuart?

49. $3 million in taxpayers money gone thru the eddoes in Nigeria the capital of fraud in a misguided solar water venture. The BLP governemnt minister who made the decison to send hard working Bajans money-investment- to Nigeria of all places should be made to pay back every cent. Hardwood not a one off after all.

50. @ Already Tampering with Documents and Manipulating Rules: The BLP Gets Practice for Government

Dont bother with the Ryan Braithwaite analogy, from the time Irene Sandiford and the publicity seeking Dems touched that young man, he was doomed just like the Dems. He has not won a race since then, they blight the poor boy just like the blight on poor Barbados.

51. If I were a Dem, I would be ashamed to touch this Mia drama being played out.

It bears much similarity to what happened in the DLP when David Thompson came back to claim what he always assumed was his by right, the leadership of the DLP. Mia was ousted and she believes she is on a mission to reclaim what she thinks is hers by right, the leadership of the BLP. No wonder they were such good friends.

Thompson returned when it was becoming clear that the BLP would lose the next general election, all hell broke loose but he did not care, he was on a mission. He and Fumble Stuart fought for the presidency, he won, Peter Wickham then told him he must go after Mascoll’s position, when Mascoll refused to resign, the elders and him came up with a position for Thompson to lead the party into elections, not Mascoll. The rest is history of how the wild boys signed a letter which they did not even read to get rid of Mascoll.

Tacticus and BP, does this refresh your short memories. The BLP will regroup, once Mia is out of the way and save this country from the Dems.

Or is this a diversionary tactic, an economist from the J’ca Money Market Brokers said yesterday that the rating agencies are about to downgrade B’dos, if this happens, he contends that the B’dos dollar will be devalued. Now surely this is more important that Mia. The BLP does not belong to her and unlike the dead king who thought leading the DLP was his birthright, not so in the BLP.

To solve this problem, I would suggest to the BLP, expel Mia now, to leave this, the cancer will get only worse. She is not a team player now.You have not seen her pictured with the Bees since she was removed, only the Dems. She is not indispensable. If Mia thinks that a wrong was done to her, let her come to the public and tell them what was the false charge brought against her.

52. @David | September 22, 2011 at 5:04 AM | @The Scout
    Yes there was confusion in the DLP camp, the difference with what is happening in the BLP at the moment is that Mia seems not to be going anywhere i.e. crossing the floor. You need to factor this in your comparison and conclusion

David, talking about YOUR conclusion, which scenario do you think would be more advantageous for Mia?

(1)Crossing the floor, where she would have AT LEAST one great colleague of collusive mind in Sinckler. I could hear Sinckler now:

“Mia, you are welcome to come and strengthen we numbers, but don’t for one minute think of going after what is mine over hay …. you know real good that I mean the Prime Ministership! It just waiting for ME. One single slip from Freundel, and all is mine. So get that straight Mia, before you even think ’bout coming over hay! What you trying to do in the BLP, i.e. working hard to be Prime Minister can’t work out hay!”

(2) Staying inside the BLP, and try as hard as possible to destroy what she has described as “this great political party of Sir Grantley Adams” How do you think this would help her, especially when the time comes that the base fully recognises her selfish ploys, and decide enough is enough?

• @nlmaddocks

Mia has some support in wider Barbados. How she is able to leverage that support which transcend party will be a challenge.

She needs to work with the BLP because her popularity is defined by the BLP.

There is definitely a class fight going on which potentially could set back the BLP for years.

53. PRODIGAL SON@

Prodigal, every word of that piece you just posted stinging hard man!. To this quote of yours: “The BLP will regroup, once Mia is out of the way and save this country from the Dems” ….. add to it : “and from MIA too”.

54. @Prodigal Son

Uncle Owen, are you the very one named Tacitus? Yes I am my dear Raquel. You are a loyal woman except to our husband but that does not matter as long as you are loyal to me. I am Tacitus and it is I that rule the BLP and Barbados.

55. @Bonny

Tacitus(hope ah go the spelling right) really got yuh. He offering yah a position. Girl accept um and get big up. He does got mah laughing like you. But why he aint giving me a position too. He aint think ah could mak a contribution even if um is stealing.

Look, stop referring to he a jinkinite cause he might soon kill all we on this site.

@Scout

Barbados is a socitey and not only an economy, i want you to ponder over that for a while. If those countries that are in such turmoil had recognized that their counties are not only econpmoes but socities the world would not be in such a sordid.

The Barbados labour party did not used the vat money to develop a socitey, what it did was to produce some economic crooks who ferry our money to overseas bank accounts. What was in the report owen arthur had threathened to release.?

56. Obediant
    Quite frankly, I’m sick and tired of hearing about the crooked BLP, all these accusations that were hurled at the BLP really convinced me to vote DLP last elections. However, after almost four years in government, NOT ONE CASE has been brought against anyone from the party, so it’s time the DLP stop talking about the wickedness the BLP did. To make matters worse, the DLP is just as guilty as the BLP because neither of the two wants transparicy laws passed. Too much hot air “a lotta long talk” but no action. The lack of bringing somebody to court will hurt the DLP during the election campaign, they cannot come with the same foolishness again because it will blow up in their face. From what I’m hearing a reorganised BLP stands a good chance of recapturing the government next election unless the DLP have some special thing up their sleeves but they can’t hold it back fot too long, the timing has to be right.

57. The Dems think that playing that corruption card will always work for them. Yet we are hearing about corruption in every ministry. In their rush to share the fatted calf, it is a free for all. The Dems can start by checking the most glaring one, the Ministry of Housing, then the ministry of Public Works, next QEH, Urban Development and Rural Development.

The Dems who keep pushing the dead king’s talk about B’dos being a society not only an economy, says a lot of how they follow blindly. If you dont have a good economy, pray tell me how can you have a society. That’s the reason this country is in such a mess.

58. @Prodigal Son

I know how badly you want to switch the subject but when the Thompson/Mascoll saga was going on it was well covered here and we know how that turned out. Mascoll left and went on to his just reward i.e. Junior Minister of Finance.

The BLP contretemps is the topic du jour and we Bajans love a good Bassa Bassa, we gwine sit back and enjoy and even shout an occasional Aaiiieee! Aaaiiieee! when someone lands a good blow.

• @Sargeant

To cover your tot of Milo with two Eclipse biscuits, the speed with which Mascoll transitioned to the BLP gives fodder to the view that he was uncomfortably friendly with Arthur while he was Opposition leader.

59. @David

During the last campaign Sinckler alluded to the rapprochement between Mascoll and Arthur, perhaps Mascoll saw the writing on the wall with the DLP and turned fifth columnist before he defected.

Interestingly despite his former position as LOO Arthur sees him as his natural heir (now if he can just find a seat for him).

60. Stuart said he continues to be worried by the stark deficit in the enjoyment of basic domestic amenities in urban Barbados. “I am given to understand, for example, that out of the total number of households which have to do without waterborne bathroom facilities, 50 per cent are located in greater Bridgetown and the South East,” he said. “Government cannot any longer turn a blind eye to the need for a serious project aimed at urban renewal and is determined to tackle this problem systematically over the next two years,” he said.

Any progress with this ‘stimulus’?

61. But Prodigal Son, you are about to confuse me, you said that the BLP does not belong to Mia … at what time in history did the BLP become owners of the electorate and and island of Barbados?

You said that the BLP will save this island from the DLP … Rihanna’s team was able to host a concert here in Barbados. Wuh losss!!! Woooh … Barbados Los Barbados.

Is Barbados failing during a plentiful time worldwide? Are our banks and other financial institutes calling in mortgages? Are fresh produce and other goods staying on our s/market shelves? Have bread sales declined?

Prodigal, let us put the truth on the table – tell the BLP supporters to discuss what’s happening on the ground here in Barbados and compare it to what is happening internationally, then convince Barbadians that we are in worse state today during recession than we were when money was flowing and at every major junction in St. Michael there was road resurfacing, building, repairing. When businesses along Baxters Road, Tudor Street closed their doors because of dust. Traffic including pedestrians changed their route into the city unable to patronize whatever bakery remained open.

Contrast and compare based on current economic happenings. Then, tell the voting public what percentage of monies borrowed was being repayed.

Aqua Sol got millions for Nigeria with cap in hand, Barrack now has to be paid from what is earned in this recession. Manufacturing and Building the life blood of this economy.

Regardless of whom I support B or D these are real issues that should be discussed and put on the table. You gave $2.5 million to manufacturing and did not pay a contractor who resides on this island. If Mia and Arthur were in good relations I believe that one would have cautioned the other during their time of plenty on the prudence of these ventures. Don’t you?

62. Owen really does not have to look very far for an opening for Mascoll … he can give up his seat to Mascoll if he thinks so much of him and believes that Mascoll is the best ‘thing’ that ever happen to the BLP.

Owen is giving Mascoll his full support – he can do that from St. Peter and hear from his constituents their feelings and see if they throw all their weight (vote) behind Mascoll.

My humble opinion.

63. Regarding Mia. She is heir to the throne. She is not leaving the BLP and her seat is sure. If there is one seat won for the BLP it is hers. Even Owen can lose his seat next election – but Mia is sure to win hers. The youth in SMNE grew up with her and whatever secret the BLP is hiding from them will not change the facts that she has invested in their education, school meals (parents’ jobs), patching of roads (even now), socializing with them (at every opportunity). She will win her seat.

64. Prodigal
    ‘Home’ answer you fa me causen I in sa brite. Aaightttttttttttttttttt??????

Obediant
    LOLLL. ya instigata.
    I in want na position wid Tacitus n he rogues man, n he is drink tummuch rasthole rum. Nex ting ya kno, I is a short-me-krutch drunkard like he. I stannin whey I is.
    LOLLLL

“To cover your tot a milo wid two eclipse biskits”
    I luv dah whun baddddddddddddddd David. YOu gettin like Tacitus now, gotta keep a eye pun you.
    LOLL

65. @Home

The buildings in Newton how much did they cost to construct and the contractors were paid off before the buildingd were completed with shoddy workmanship and I am wondering how much loss the gove sustained on them, as i have been told that they have bee sold.

66. Obediant .. do you mean like the road works when the Overseas company was paid and work incomplete? isn’t it all construction? the legacy left apparently was a precedent set and continued with current gov’t where construction is concern. Hopefully the Min of Housing will present his findings on those buildings in his next presentation. In the mean time, I ask the others to share info on them.

David/BU can you help us out here on these costs for constructing building in Newton and actual sale price?

One thing for sure regarding the sale of Newton buildings, monies were received however small compared to write-off of Aqua Sol whereas you can not even sell a galvanize sheet from the manufacturing panels. I may be wrong and am prepared to humbly apologize when/where necessary if some of these panels can be sold to at least get the $150,000. that Aqual Sol (I know the name has changed) is being asked to pay.

67. Hi OBEDIANT!
    Do you mean the following:

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, May 25 /PRNewswire/ — The Government of Barbados is constructing Newton Business Park, a 23.5-acre state-of-the-art business complex. The first phase of the development, an environmentally friendly 21st century architectural design, valued at BBD BBD$21 million (USD $10.5)will be situated on 6.5 acres of land on the outskirts of Bridgetown, the capital city. The first two buildings, scheduled for completion by August 2006, will provide more than 60,000 square feet of operating space for information technology, high-technology service and manufacturing companies.

Newton Business Park is the latest addition to a series of strategically located business parks owned and managed by the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation (BIDCBIDC Business and Industry Data Center
    BIDC Barbados Investment and Development Corporation
    BIDC Basic International Development Corporation (New York, NY)
    BIDC Business Industrial Design Consultants BV
    ….. These complexes serve as an efficient base of operations for a wide range of indigenous and foreign-owned companies – and are essential to Barbados’ continued economic and social development.

The Newton Business Park will further enhance the country’s appeal as an emerging international business center. In fact, Lenstec, a US-based manufacturer of intra-ocular lenses, has already agreed to lease a significant portion of the office and production space.

68. @Home

You are bang on and they cost much more than the stated price, an investigation needs to be undertaken into how the contractor was paid before work was completrd as that was a violation of govenment’s fincancial rules, but then again anything goes in barbados, when race and class are involved.

Every time i pass by those building i cringe to see Gildan is accupying one and the next one has a for lease sign. I wonder what happened to the pretty talk about the purpose for which they were being constructed.

69. @Prodigal Son
    Which Bees you expect to see Mia with? The five ‘sabbassas’ dat sell she out? Her Deputy who was fooling her all those months?

I see her with nuff BLP faithfuls in the paper and all ’bout the place.

I got to confess though your most recent rumour is boss. Don’t say what it is so she can’t confirm or deny, but make it seem horrible enough as to be career ending.

But what you care ’bout that when you promoting that the Bees should expel her. You like you got a small dick too, like the rest of them that won’t stand for a woman leading them.

You think you so smart but we cud see right through you Son.

I had a good laugh at Owen as the defender of all morals though. A man that does get drunk and curse people, hit people cars, had two children from two different women while he was married to Bev, put money for the Party in his personal bank account and lie about being absent when Cabinet made the decision to go with VECO to build the prison. Right there I could reckun five or six broken Commandments. In fact the only one I could think of that he aint brek yet is thou shall not kill.

@Tacitus
    If only Heads Marshall knew what he was portending when he gave you that nickname, I am sure he would have chosen Augustus instead.

@Bonny Peppa
    Ya fuhget to tell Prodigal that tree-quarters of Owen’s support is from men that win duh seat by a “pack a cigarettes’ or loss duh seat and ain’t going win none eider. Wuhloss! Especially the in-coming Chairwoman Dr. Quinn. He tek a 1,000 vote majority from Bree and turn it into a loss. What de shoite. I sorry as ass Mia ain’t run and lick in he snozzert.

70. J for Jerome
    Waittttttttttt, ya got ma confuze now. He bringin in a Dr.Quinn now. Dis is de same Dr. Quinn dat nuse ta show pun me tv? Wait, wait, wait man, I tawt he seh dat he gun mek de ol bulla J’Roam he chair-ting. You wanna trick me or wah? you trickin me man. Tell de trute J fa Jerome. chawwwwwwwwwwwwww
    LOLLLLL

71. Mia Mottley smarter brighter more intelligent than the men in both parties. However being a women and whatever her sexual preference has become a bone of contention for the ignoramus men in the BLP lead by the “overthe hill” outdated OSA.OSA does not get it that with all the poison he has managed to inject in the other four to outwit and push Mia to the side the BLP_ IS NOT GOING TO WIN THE NEXT ELECTION..He might be able to out maneuver Mia in the back alley a place where he is used to winning fights but he has also given the public a perception of himself in doing so which leaves a awful taste and and insight of what he is capable of.

72. @ Obediant
    And how come Government offices like BWA were not relocated to this complex instead of having staff sick out in order to be relocated. If Gildan can occupy a section surely another space is fit for occupancy. I really would like the Gov’t to tell us why that complex was not used?

Government funded buildings cannot house govt departments not even temporarily! May be the former Min. of Housing or former Min. of Finance under the last administration should shed some light on this complex.

And also explain why the current govt sold it. Yes, the Opposition is good at telling the public why the govt do what they do. These issues are what the Opposition need to highlight for us today. When they settle their sexual preference issues, executive council and candidate selection maybe they will have time to see what we want to hear and respond to issues and not assassinate their own characters in broad daylight.

73. The proble that I have with the DLP is that even after almost four years in government, they are still in the campaign mode, instead of doing what they claim they would do when they come to power, they are still finding fault with things the B’s did. We know what they did wrong and we also know of the things they were accused of that we bought, now prove yourselves right DLP or it can/will backfire.

74. @Bonny Peppa
    You pretenning you aint know dat Dr. Jerome nickname is Dr Quinn? But you can’t trick me Bonny. I know you is too much in de know fuh dah. LOL.

De problem wid de short dick men in de BLP is dat Mia got more balls than any o’ dem and Bajans loves she for it.

75. J for Jerome
    LOL. I jess jessin man. I read you lowd n klair. LOLL

De short-man dick long doe, causen um does stretch from village ta valley. ya in see hummuch pickney he got all ova de place? A short dick cannnnn strech dah long man. LOLLL

76. Scout, the problem with dems is, as you see here on the blogs is that politics for dems is blood sport, attack, spread rumours, call people derogatory names and laugh. That is their idea of how a country should be run. They are not concerned about the cost of living, the general malaise that engulfs this country, their party in power and they will do all the nastiness to keep it. Good luck to them.

77. @Prodigal Son… To your above…

It can be argued that the “Dees” won by the (unfulfilled) promise of Integrity Legislation and Freedom of Information Legislation.

Might we (us), the small people, hope that these two issues will again be on the table this next election?

And might the winning party fulfil the promises they made to the people, rather than simply “eating at the trough” at the expense of the people?

78. Pingback: Dr. Agard Elected by the People but… | Barbados Underground

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.