Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. PLT could you tell us which of the myriad theories mentioned Tee White is using?

He/she seems to be blissfully unaware of all these complicated theories.

2. @John

The determinants of oil price has nothing to do with what the market will bear.

3. PLT

All you have to do is read Tee White and you will understand where the theories he espouses originate!!

No rocket science is needed!!

All I am doing is prodding Tee White to be more explicit … like I do to you sometimes.

4. John
    May 8, 2019 7:44 PM

PLT
    All you have to do is read Tee White and you will understand where the theories he espouses originate!!
    No rocket science is needed!!
    All I am doing is prodding Tee White to be more explicit … like I do to you sometimes.

FC has it figured out too!!

5. PLT

Besides prodding TW, I also want to find out who will step up and defend TW’s crazy theories!!

6. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

peterlawrencethompson May 8, 2019 6:14 PM

Freedom Crier “ALL THE COMPANIES THAT YOU HAVE MENTIONED STARTED BY ONE MAN IDEAS AND THEN OTHER PEOPLE GOT INVOLVED AFTER THAT IDEA WAS FORMULATED”
    RE …Completely wrong… you don’t have a clue what you are talking about. Do your research.

PLT… IT IS BECAUSE FREEDOM IS GROUNDED IN RESEARCH OF BOTH POLITICAL & SCRIPTURAL KNOWLEDGE THAT FREEDOM UNDERSTANDS AND CAN SPEAK WITH CONFIDENCE ON WHAT FREEDOM BELIEVES AND SAYS.

IDEAS HAVE A NUCLEOLUS THEY DO NOT START IN A GROUP…

PLT,… YOU PROBABLY ARE ONE OF THOSE WHO BELIEVE IN THE COLLECTIVE SALVATION OF YOUR god THE GOVERNMENT….

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS COLLECTIVE SALVATION, WE MUST EACH ANSWER FOR OUR INDIVIDUAL DEED/EFFORTS/INCREASE AS IN THE PARABLE OF THE TALENTS.

What is the Opposite of Capitalism? Statism, in Any Form!

Statism is the Concentration of Power in the State at the Expense of Individual Freedom or its Populace. Free Market Capitalism is the Only System which Protects the Freedom/Sovereignty of the individual`. However the Variety of Political Systems which Violate Individual Freedom are Numerous: Socialism, Communism, Fascism, Nazism, absolute Monarchies, Military Dictatorships, Theocracies, Cronyism or the Welfare State are All Systems which Infringe upon The Individual Rights of the Populace, which means they Institutionalize the Initiation of Force Against their Citizens.

It must be Realized that there are only Two Fundamental Political Philosophies: those who are for Freedom and the Sovereignty of the individual with his attendant Rights and those who are Against Them.

The Types of Political Systems who are Against Freedom and Individual Rights are Numerous, for there are Many Ways to Violate the Rights of Man, but there is Only One Political-Economic Philosophy which Upholds that the Rights of Man are Absolute and Immutable— Free Enterprise (Capitalism)… (NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH CRONYISM (CRONY CAPITALISM), WHERE BIG BUSINESSES COLLUDE WITH GOVERNMENTS FOR FAVOURABLE OUTCOME.)

https://i.imgur.com/BsdGYL1.png

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Yes John, Marx is the most widely known proponent of the labour theory of value, but it predates him and goes back to David Ricardo and even Adam Smith.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

So according to you both Tee White and Adam Smith have fallen victim to “crazy theories”.

9. @John
    “The cost of labour determines the minimum base price at which the product can be sold”.
    ######
    …so you do accept the labour theory of value. Here you acknowledge that the cost of the labour needed to produce the product is what actually sets what you call its “minimum base price”, in other words its value.

“However, the selling price is determined by what the market will pay”.
    ######
    Exactly, but the issue is slightly more complicated in that supply and demand will to some extent determine what people are willing to pay and changes in technology will bring down the amount of human labour necessary for producing a product, thereby leading to a drop in its price in the market place.

“If no one wants the product, the value of labour is precisely zero!! If profit is not an issue, and it usually is, then anything goes”.
    #########
    Under capitalism, products are produced primarily to be sold in order for the capitalist to make a profit. That is the aim of the economy. It is also true that products can be produced but for various reasons find no buyer. These might be due to oversupply in the market or the inability of the producer to bring their products to the market at prices similar to their competitors. In these cases under capitalism, such companies would go out of business. This however, does not mean that the value of the labour in the products is zero. The products which have been produced can still be used to meet a human need. In fact this is one of the criticisms of the irrationality of the capitalist system in that it is wasteful of human productive capacity by destroying perfectly good products because they couldn’t be sold at a profit, even though there are people who are in need of them. You may be aware that in England recently there has been a backlash against big supermarkets dumping food which they couldn’t get sold even though it was perfectly edible.

In economics it’s not an issue of anything goes. What happens within an economic system is driven by what the aim of the economy is. All economic decision making will flow from this.

10. peterlawrencethompson
    May 8, 2019 3:44 PM

@Freedom Crier
    “Which Community or Committee was the Inventor of the Anything…”
    ++++++++++++++++
    The irony of your question is absolutely profound as you write it on open source WordPress blogging software invented by a community. WordPress is runs using PHP and MySQL, both open source technologies invented by communities. It all runs on the HTTP protocol invented by a committee. All of it on the internet which was invented by a committee and a government committee no less.
    All of this would be funny if your ignorance was not so sad.

What you are not telling the low information bloggers is that WordPress is the idea of a guy called Matt …. who lent his name to a company called Automattic!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automattic

“Low Information Bloggers” is a play on the “Low Information Voters”!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low_information_voter

11. peterlawrencethompson
    May 8, 2019 8:21 PM

Yes John, Marx is the most widely known proponent of the labour theory of value, but it predates him and goes back to David Ricardo and even Adam Smith.

Do you realize that the plantation and its ownership of slaves is also a mini state operating on communist principles?

12. @John
    Do you realize that the plantation and its ownership of slaves is also a mini state operating on communist principles?
    #####
    I’m guessing that since slavery was the foundation stone of the capitalist system, your view is that capitalism is based on communist principles. Very interesting idea indeed…….

13. Adam Smith used the deer/beaver model of the economy.

“The labor theory of value suggested that two commodities will trade for the same price if they embody the same amount of labor-time, or else they will exchange at a ratio fixed by the relative differences in the two labor-times. For instance, if it takes 10 hours to hunt a deer, and 20 hours to trap a beaver, then the exchange ratio would be two beavers for one deer. Since it was developed in the 18th century, the labor theory of value has fallen out of favor among most mainstream economists.”

So, if a guy shot a deer in 10 hours he could take it to someone who had trapped two beavers in 40 hours and avail himself of the two beavers!!!

Seems like the less time it took to produce a product the more valuable it was!!!

Am I right?

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/l/labor-theory-of-value.asp

I could be crude but I won’t!!

14. I’m guessing that since slavery was the foundation stone of the capitalist system, your view is that capitalism is based on communist principles. Very interesting idea indeed…….

You would be wrong because your fundamental assumption is wrong!!

The plantation model is a mini welfare state.

From cradle to grave slaves/workers are provided with board and lodging, meals and medical insurance!!

15. So, why did Adam Smith reduce the economy to deers and beavers?

Three words … “Hudson Bay Company”

He is trying to model the fur trade!!

The furs were produced in Canada, traded for various items, then taken to the UK for sale.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fur_trade

16. … and beaver fur was highly sought after!!

17. Ping Pong
    May 8, 2019 8:51 PM

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-48185246

Ah Ping Pong, you got it.

The same way the Austins and other families went to Guyana and were able to prosper, Bajan’s also have to realise a second opportunity is opening to them!!

You good?

18. @john;

“The plantation model is a mini welfare state.

From cradle to grave slaves/workers are provided with board and lodging, meals and medical insurance!!”

now you have gone from the sublime to the ridiculous. What meals? the slaves had to scrunge and eat the castaways…hog guts, etc, and plant their own provosions after psending 12 hours in the fields. What clothes…a shift and the children were kept naked, what medical care…they were left to die. They worked for nothing john.

you have to be one sick man or a dyed in the bone racist.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“The plantation model is a mini welfare state.”
    WT’there were fine people on both sides’ divisive, mind numbing foolishness is this!

This is unbelievable, head shaking commentary…

You said it well @Dame…“now you have gone from the sublime to the ridiculous”.

Slave plantations were “mini welfare states”… Finally we have been enlightened.

And all these years we thought it was such a dehumanizing, racist assault of the powerful against the powerless…what a revelation… Incredible!

20. From cradle to grave slaves/workers are provided with board and lodging, meals and medical insurance!
    I used to be surprised at some of the comments from a few of the bloggers here but that was in the past. I thought the notion of calling slaves “workers” had been put to bed after the outcry that was spawned when it was spotted in a textbook produced for the Texas Dept. of Education a few years ago. The same textbook referred to slaves as “immigrants”, that these things come out of Texas is no surprise, a few years ago when the Democrats were in the ascendancy nationally. Texas Republicans set their sights on control of local school boards where they could set the agenda as to books, curricula, history etc.to whitewash historical events e.g.Slavery and Jim Crow; and to put a Southern spin on the US Civil War.

This was an effort to capture young minds a la the Biblical admonition found in Proverbs 22.6 “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it”.

It is still a work in progress in Texas but a Bajan?

https://www.latimes.com/books/jacketcopy/la-et-jc-texas-textbook-calls-slaves-immigrants-20151005-story.html

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

You are illustrating, much more vividly that I ever could, the profound damage that a Harrison College ‘education’ inflicted on a talented colonial mind. It is a tragedy that you can look at a genocidal crime against humanity and call it a mini welfare state. Your own humanity is slipping away John.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Dame Bajans
    “you have to be one sick man or a dyed in the bone racist.”
    ++++++++++++
    Actually, John is both…

23. Robert Goren Avatar

@ Dame Bajans

John is a racist and he romanticizes slavery. What angered me was him saying the slave owners provided medical insurance for slaves.

If so, the the whites were the beneficiaries. When a slave tried escaping more then once, they would cut off his toes or whip him. How about injuries women sustained as a result of being raped?

Did the medical insurance covered that too, John?

Sometimes if John don’t know what to say, he could keep quiet.

24. On some topics he is very good
    On other topics he is horrible…
    I am wondering how he arrived at his version of history…

25. The oldest slave in Barbados in 1817 was 114 years.

There is no way that any person could have survived that long without being cared for and well fed.

Her name was Moll and she lived on Haywoods Plantation, St. Peter.

Her owner was George Williams.

She was not the only centenarian in Barbados.

There were 6 others!!

Centenerians could not have survived that long without proper medical care, none whatsoever.

I don’t have to be a medical doctor to know this!!

…. and if there are centenarians the numbers over the three score and 10 allotted must have been large.

In fact the slave population over 70 in 1834 was greater than 700.

Should be in Schomburgk but leave you to find the reference to dispute it.

These are undisputable facts which I agree are difficult to take on board for the brainwashed but they remain, undisputable facts!!

They are all part of the record of slave returns made from 1817 onwards …. every 3 years, … like clockwork … tick tock!!.

The simple fact is that the plantation cared for, fed, housed and clothed its slaves, from cradle to grave, whoever happened to own the plantation, free negro, free mulatto or white.

Of the about 6000 slave holders about 10%, more than 600, were free coloured people.

The population on the plantation kept growing.

The 1689 (c.) census puts the slave population at about 40,000.

The 1834 slave returns put the population at about 80,000, actually 77,493.

If you read Schomburgk (1848) page 503 you see the problem faced by Barbados because of its ever expanding population.

Back then a proposal was to make the five Windward Islands into one province.

Slavery created a welfare state in Barbados which was impossible to sustain.

Slavery was thus closer in nature to communism than it was to capitalism.

Long before Karl Marx came on the scene it was apparent communism/socialism could not work!!

26. @John

What was the age of the oldest Jew that survived the Holocaust?

27. David

You can google it.

Here is an example.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_victims_and_survivors_of_Auschwitz

What you will see is that the old died, the young survived.

The reason is very simple, the old require medical assistance, the young don’t.

Do you want the age of the oldest survivor to walk out of the death camps?

I can give you the age of the youngest survivors more easily.

This unfortunately is what happens as we age.

https://www.msn.com/en-us/health/medical/most-common-health-issues-for-people-over-60/ss-BBNAWad?ocid=spartandhp

28. peterlawrencethompson
    May 9, 2019 1:54 AM

You are illustrating, much more vividly that I ever could, the profound damage that a Harrison College ‘education’ inflicted on a talented colonial mind. It is a tragedy that you can look at a genocidal crime against humanity and call it a mini welfare state. Your own humanity is slipping away John.

What I am doing is accessing facts, assimilating them and giving my interpretation of those facts.

29. @John

You are spouting nonsense.

30. Instead of attacking me, attack the facts!!

31. Gad Heuman states:
    In Capitalism and Slavery, Eric Williams argued that the declining economies of the British West Indies led to the abolition of the slave trade and of slavery. More recent research has rejected this conclusion; it is now clear that the colonies of the British Caribbean profited considerably during the Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars.

Gad Heuman “The British West Indies” in Andrew Porter, ed., The Oxford History of the British Empire – Vol. 3: The 19th Century (1999) 3:470

Here is an historian, Eric Williams, now deceased, who has had a whole book rendered null and void!!

So if slavery underpinned Capitalism then it should not have ended.

Slavery and the plantation system was more akin to socialism than it was to capitalism!!

But that isn’t what ended slavery!!!

The Quakers did!!

Christianity did!!

32. … capitalism did!!

33. God created us all as individuals and socialism an-nihil-ates the individual in favour of the state.

NIHIL means nothing!!

34. @ John,

I am not sure about ‘medical’ care, but the slave owners did provide much in the forms of clothing and food. The records are there in the National Archives at the Kew in South West London. In fact, back in the 1970s I was doing some research at the Records Office as it then was in Holborn, and was surprised at the detailed records the slave owners kept, including the annual budget on clothing.
    In fact, the records are more detailed than those kept since November 1966. Some time ago I spoke to former Magistrate Bourne (whose former home is not the site of the Springer Memorial) about a certain case she had tried back n the 1950s. I was surprised she remembered the case and directed me to the Barbados Archives to look up the report.
    When I got to Black Rock, the young lady sent me to the old court building, to a tall light-skinned man, dressed in a shirt-jac. All he wanted to know as why I wanted to read about the case. It was a demonstrable example of ignorance of research.
    Since then the offices have moved, but I am not sure if the system has changed. To this day I have not been allowed to read the records. In the UK, after 30 years, all records are available to the public, unless there is a special bar. The Library of Congress has similar rules.

35. Hal

No one gets to 80 far less 100 without good medical care!!

There are fields on some large plantations called Hospital Field.

Many Doctors in the 1600’s were Quakers!!

It seemed to have an attraction for the Medical Profession!!

… plus, it is commonsense to make sure a slave is properly tended to for the simple reason that a slave costs money to replace.

One of the reasons the 1854 cholera outbreak killed 20,000 Bajans in 3 months was because the medical system on the plantations was no more and people were left to fend for themselves.

Infant mortality also increased after emancipation.

36. @John

You are aware prisoners in the penal system receive medical care? So what is your point?

37. David
    May 9, 2019 8:24 AM

You are aware prisoners in the penal system receive medical care? So what is your point?

If you haven’t got it yet you probably never will!!

38. @John

i can see it now.

a few Europeans ruck up on the west coast of africa
    and told Africans about a new system called socialism
    whereby they work work all their lives
    on plantations in the new world
    they wouldnt have to forage for food
    all their medical needs would be take care of
    their children would be fed and clothed
    and belong to their white benefactors
    to work all their lives on the plantations
    and could live up to 100 years

the offer was so good
    that when the Europeans couldn’t persuade Africans
    to take up the offer voluntarily
    they paid other Africans to volunteer
    their prisoners for this new experiment
    and off they went across the ocean in shackles
    packed like sardines, defecating on each other
    on the bottom of cruise ships
    destined for a new life in the new world

landing in South America,
    landing in North America
    landing in the Caribbean
    the new socialist system was implemented
    by the Europeans with vigor and vim
    in huts Africans lived like they were transported
    in the field they worked like they were transported
    in graves they were buried like they were transported
    and the Europeans grew so rich
    but they were never satiated

more ships voyaged to Africa
    more Africans joined the new socialist system
    more plantations were created
    more churches and more religious sects sprang up
    preaching and extolling the virtues of socialism
    Africans take care of your socialist masters
    because as the our bible says
    the meek shall inherit this earth
    after it is polluted by that other system
    called capitalism and all its attendant issues

but word got out that socialist system
    was like slavery for the Africans
    and some rather than joined in moved to the interior
    or jumped off the cruise ships in the middle of the ocean
    instead of living a life of being taken care of
    from cradle to death by the Europeans
    plantations were not as successful as they used to be
    churches and others flush with socialist money and largess
    grew a conscience and decided that socialism was old
    and capitalism should be the new socialism
    they agitated and released the Africans from their contracts
    and allowed them to join the new capitalist system
    for a life of individuality and reward

the Europeans patted themselves on the back
    they had created a socialist system that took care of Africans
    and when it proved too burdensome
    in true European fashion they created another system
    called capitalism so that the Africans could be rewarded
    so why werent the Africans praising them more profusely
    how could any of this be called slavery
    didnt the Africans benefitted, werent all their needs taken care of?
    who changed socialism to capitalism?
    so that the Africans could benefit and be individuals?
    history has to be corrected to reflect the truth they argued
    Slavery was socialism and capitalism is the proof

39. You are aware prisoners in the penal system receive medical care? So what is your point?(Quote)

What does this mean?

@ John,

Have you read Panama Money In Barbados by Bonham Richardson? Good read.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN

CONTINUE TO SAY WHAT YOU HAVE TO SAY
    DO NOT BE DETRACTED BY THE DUMMIES ON BU

THERE IS A LOT OF TRUTH AND MERIT IN YOUR RESEARCH
    THERE IS ALSO A LOT OF BIAS AND IGNORANCE ALSO ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED DURING SLAVERY SPEWED BY SO CALLED HISTORIANS OF BOTH HUES AND PERSUASIONS
    NONE OF US WERE THERE

ABOUT 30 YEARS IN THE LOCAL PAPERS THERE WAS AN INTERESTING ARTICLE ABOUT A VERY ELDERLY LADY FROM SWEET BOTTOM WHO SPOKE ABOUT STORIES SHE GOT FROM HER GRANDMOTHER WHO DESCRIBED MUCH OF WHAT YOU HAVE SAID

SHE SAID NOT ONLY DID THE SLAVES GET FOOD HOUSING CLOTHING ETC THERE WAS NO COMPETITION FOR SEX! LOL

I HAVE BEEN INTO HOMES OF CIVIL SERVANTS IN MY DUTIES AS PMO IN THE 80’S & 90’S THAT WERE SHAMBOLIC

THERE IS A LOT OF POVERTY EVEN AMONG MANY LOCAL WHITES ALSO AND MUCH OF BAJAN LIFE IS FARCE AND FACADE!

I DID NOT SUFFER UNDER THE WHITE SLAVE MASTERS THANK GOD

BUT SURELY LIFE UNDER THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS IS MUCH WORSE

SLAVERY UNDER THE WHITE SLAVE MASTERS ENDED ALMOST 200 YEARS AGO, BUT SLAVERY UNDER THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS CONTINUES AND WILL NEVER NEVER END!

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Q You are aware prisoners in the penal system receive medical care? So what is your point?(Quote)
    What does this mean?

A IT MEANS THAT SEEKING TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, SINCE YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE IS A BU FACADE WHICH MEANS NOTHING.

IT MEANS YOU MUST ONLY SPOUT THE PREVAILING VIEWS AND ALWAYS TOW THE LINE——IT IS A FORM OF SLAVERY PERPETUATED BY A BLACK SLAVE MASTER

WHEN IT IS DIRECTED AT JOHN IT IS A FORM OF REVERSED SLAVERY

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WE TALK A LOT ABOUT CRITICAL THINKING AND THINKING FOR YOUR SELF ON BU

THIS ACTUALLY MEANS

1- FOLLOWING THE CROWD

2-SAYING WHAT IS EXPECTED

3- NEVER GOING AGAINST THE GRAIN

4- NOT EXCELLING

IF NOT YOUR POST WILL BE DELETED OR YOU WILL BE MODERATED

IT IS THE BAJAN WAY!

43. “THERE IS A LOT OF TRUTH AND MERIT IN YOUR RESEARCH”
    “NONE OF US WERE THERE”

So…………how you arrive at there being truth and merit in his research if none of us were there.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

CAUSE I GOT A BRAIN THAT WORKS
    YOURS IS THE TYPICAL ATTACK ON SOMEONE THAT ADDS NOTHING TO THE DISCUSSION

THERE IS A LOT OF TRUTH AND MERIT IN YOUR RESEARCH”
    “NONE OF US WERE THERE” IS A STATEMENT THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED CAUSE EVERYTHING HE SAYS CAN NOT BE WRONG

THERE IS ANECDOTAL EVIDENCE HANDED DOWN THAT SUPPORTS WHAT HE SAYS

45. Everything he says can be wrong or it can also be right too. You don’t know because as you said “NONE OF US WERE THERE”. Stop being silly

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Everything he says can be wrong or it can also be right too. You don’t know because as you said “NONE OF US WERE THERE”.

AS YOU CORRECTLY SAID Everything he says can also be right too……………..AND MIGHT VERY WELL BE SO TOO

47. Any historian will confirm that the history of slavery is recorded through the eyes for the most part by those responsible. There will always be contentious. Understand this, no White man will dictate how this blogmaster views certain events of our past unless empirical evidence supports it.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David his point as he has so pellucidly shown over these many posts of many seasons is to demonstrate his warped almost completely rejected ‘spin’ on a very depressing, harsh era of our life history .

When I first read his diatribe I felt so incensed that I wanted to spew the most Bajan of epithets but that’s not me as a person and I bluntly realized how insidious people like this man can hide behind words of scholarship and incite generally mild mannered folks to sin their soul…

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Understand this, no White man will dictate how this blogmaster views certain events of our past unless empirical evidence supports it.

NO BLACK MAN (OR WHITE MAN) will dictate how this BARBADOS SCOLAR (I/E SECOND NOT FIRST) views certain events of our past unless empirical evidence supports it EITHER.

BUT THE DAILY SCOFFING AT JOHN IS RUBBISH THAT TENDS TO PROBIBIT THE JOINING IN THE DISCUSSION, CAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

ITS ALL FACADE
    THATS THE BAJAN WAY
    ITS THE BASIS FOR WHY WE ARE A FAILED STATE THAT WILL NOT RECOVER