Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

Dear Mr. John, we can All agree that Slavery was an Abomination. I have heard that the Americans liken the dependencies of their population on Social Programs to that of the Slave Plantations. Although I know this to be true and could see in a broad way that it is so, I was blown away by how simply you made it personal to us in the Caribbean.

By your facts and your numbers, you have really brought into Sharp Focus how the True Nature of Socialism is Servitude. They are so many today willing to embrace Socialism as a means of somebody taking care of them instead of them exercising their God Given Talents and Abilities to Create an Increase that ultimately benefits everyone. Freedom is Always Shocked and Appalled to see how many people WILLFULLY Embracing this SERFDOM/SLAVERY that is Socialism.

The Information that you have contained in your Submissions, I have Saved for use at a later date. The Data Presented and explained in our Context is SOOOOO Revealing that I want more, I would love to hear you expand on this Subject more in the Form of an Article on BU or a Series of Articles, so that Barbadians may educate themselves that when they give up Freedom they in Essence Choose Serfdom.

Harrison’s College has always had the best Brain of the Country but not all men choose Correctly and most because of their Superior IQ have become Prideful and Seek to use the IQ to be above men. I use the Nom De Plume Freedom Crier because I am appealing to my fellow Barbadians to Recognise the Inherent Evils of Socialism.

Some of your Fellow Schoolmates and even the writer of this Article have not seen what you have understood and have chosen the path of Advocating Tyranny. Once again, Freedom thanks you for your Perceptive Comments.

DAVID PLEASE EXCEPT ARTICLES FROM JOHN IF HE IS WILLING TO WRITE THEM…PLEASE PUBLISHES THEM.

https://www.facebook.com/FrederickDouglassAmericanHero/photos/a.309430002529568/1368741839931707/?type=3&theater

2. @GP

But out.

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    “…SURELY LIFE UNDER THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS IS MUCH WORSE…”
    This is a demonstrably false and racist lie. It is the sort of falsehood that Harrison College house negros spread. Thanks for proving my point.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE David his point as he has so pellucidly shown over these many posts of many seasons is to demonstrate his warped almost completely rejected ‘spin’ on a very depressing, harsh era of our life history .

THIS IS EMOTIONAL BULLSHIT
    SLAVERY WAS NOT PART OF MY LIFE HISTORY OR YOURS!

THE HARSH ERA OF MY LIFE HISTORY WAS THE ATEMPTS TO CRUSH ME BY OUR BLACK COLONIAL MASTERS

THE HARSH ERA OF MY JOHN’S LIFE HISTORY IS THE ATTEMPT TO CRUSH HIS CONTRIBUTIONS HERE ON BU BY MORONS

When I first read his diatribe I felt so incensed that I wanted to spew the most Bajan of epithets but that’s not me as a person and I bluntly realized how insidious people like this man can hide behind words of scholarship and incite generally mild mannered folks to sin their soul…

I HAVE NEVER FELT INCENSED AT READING YOUR DIATRIBE OR THE DIATRIBE OF OTHERS ON BU—INSTEAD I LAUGH AT IT

I HAVE NEVER FELT INCENSED AT READING YOUR DIATRIBE OR THE DIATRIBE OF OTHERS ON BU TO THE POINT OF SPEWING the most Bajan of epithets NOR HAVE I THOUGHT YOU ALL TO BE INSIDIOUS

NOR HAVE I BEEN INCITED TO SIN MY SOUL

I MUST CONFESS THOUGH, THAT I HAVE OFT FEARED THE CONSEQUENCES OF FALLING OF MY CHAIR, OR OF NOT HAVING SUFFICIENT TOILET PAPER TO WIPE MY COMPUTER SCREE OF THE WORDS OF YOUR FAILED PSEUDO INTELLECTUALISM

5. @ Greene
    Off the scale – love it.

6. it is time some of you well educated people realize that that so-called history was written by the white man, the same slave owner. So, please give us a break. As regards to their records, they could record anything to make themselves look good and caring. i dont believe one word of it. The slave owner cared about one thing and one thing only….MONEY.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE @Georgie Porgie
    “…SURELY LIFE UNDER THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS IS MUCH WORSE…”
    This is a demonstrably false and racist lie. It is the sort of falsehood that Harrison College house negros spread. Thanks for proving my point.

NO PETER
    I AM NOT A RACIST AT ALL, BUT I CAN HONESTLY TELL YOU ABOUT HOW
    THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS SENT MY BROTHER WHO HAS/HAD AFFILIATIONS TO THE RULING PARTY TO TELL ME ” YOU BETTER LEAVE BOUT HEY……..THERE IS NOTHING BOUT HERE FOR YOU”

THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS SENT MY BROTHER, AND THE THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS IN THE MINISTRY OF HEATH HARRASSED ME BECAUSE I WOULD NOT SLANT A MEDICAL REPORT SO THAT ONE OF THE MEMBERS OF THE LEGAL FRATERNITY COULD MAKE SOME MONEY OFF THE INSURANCE COMPANY

I DIDNT LEARN ANYTHING ABOUT BEING A HOUSE NEGRO AT HC, SIR
    AND MANY OF THE HOUSE NEGROES IN BARBADOS DID NOT ATTEND Harrison College

8. Eric Williams produced a book … Capitalism and Slavery … which numerous historians have used as a basis for their qualifications and life’s work.

Twenty years ago, … almost a whole frigging generation … the basic pillar on which it stands was shown to be false!!

How many historians do we hear with this?

Will any retract their work?

The thing is, it is pure common sense,

How the learned Dr. Eric Williams missed so elementary a point is beyond me.

He must have been applying the Marxist model of the market, and looking at the labour hours.

Was he a Marxist?

That model would have supported his assertion because as the slave population rose and output stagnated it seems also commonsense to postulate that the economy shrunk!!

The reality was, once Haiti … oops sorry, Saint Domingue was destroyed as a producer the sugar price shot up, determined by the laws of supply and demand … screw the labour hour model … its back to reality!!

Economies grew in Louisiana, Trinidad and Guyana as I have shown and profits abounded for those associated with the sugar industry!!

… and then Beet Sugar arose!!!

When it isn’t one thing it is another!!

Life’s a bitch, and then we die!!

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE
    it is time some of you well educated people realize that that so-called history was written by the white man, the same slave owner.

WHICH OF US well educated BLACK PEOPLE DONT KNOW THAT?
    SOME OF US well educated BLACK PEOPLE DONT DWELL ON IT, AS FOR THEM IT WAS NOT A PRESENT REALITY

RE The slave owner cared about one thing and one thing only….MONEY.

SO DOES THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTER AND THE BLACK COLONIALIST

ITS ABOUT MONEY POWER AND CONTROL
    THEY LEARNED WELL FROM THEIR WHITE COLONIAL MASTERS

PETER I SUSPECT THAT YOU LEARNED HOW TO BE A HOUSE NEGRO IN YOUR HOME

TIME FOR CRICKET

10. Dame Bajans
    May 9, 2019 9:56 AM

it is time some of you well educated people realize that that so-called history was written by the white man, the same slave owner.

++++++++++++++++++++++

So what colour was Eric Williams?

Did you know his ancestors ran slaves after the slave trade was abolished?

I found something about that a while back somewhere on the internet … go see if I am wrong!!

11. I believe John can defend his positions without you being his proctologist.

John posts something some consider controversial and you rush to his defense like a good house negro and attack anyone who challenges it. Stop being silly.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The tragedy of what Harrison College education produced in the 60s an70s is on lurid display here today. Georgie Porgie is a bit older than I am and I did not know him as a boy. But John and I were in the same year and he was not this evil at that time.

This is what I meant when I accused Harrison College of incubating House Negroes. I can only assume that their bitterness at the way their lives have turned out is what has warped their souls in this profoundly evil way… there are lots of other HC house negroes who lead mostly harmless lives in the Heights and Terraces of Barbados without descending into the hellish depths of the racist tirades that these two spout on BU.

There are also a bunch of HC house negroes sitting in Parliament and on corporate boards in Barbados stealing the country blind, but that is a different pathology. It is the hatred of this latter class that seems to trigger the racism in John and Georgie Porgie. Is it envy? I hope not because that is yet another mortal sin and these two are self professed Christians. It cannot escape notice, however how un-Christ-like their behaviour is in this forum.

It is my contention that the root of their dysfunction is that they drank the Harrison College Kool Aid— the mythology that we were the best and the brightest, and if we studied our Latin hard we would inherit the massa’s house and be able to exercise dominion over all the beasts of the earth (which included Black people in their cosmology) on this little island. So Georgie Porgie and John, having been cheated of this in real life, show up here on BU to try to exercise their dominion. It is sad, truly.

13. @ PLT

Spot on. When you work at it you can say the most wonderful things. This analysis extends to the hole of the ruling elite in Barbados. Well done.

14. Freedom Crier Avatar

Freedom Crier May 9, 2019 9:57 AM

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

David Freedoms Release Post

“WE TALK A LOT ABOUT CRITICAL THINKING AND THINKING FOR YOUR SELF ON BU

THIS ACTUALLY MEANS

1- FOLLOWING THE CROWD

2-SAYING WHAT IS EXPECTED

3- NEVER GOING AGAINST THE GRAIN

4- NOT EXCELLING

IF NOT YOUR POST WILL BE DELETED OR YOU WILL BE MODERATED

IT IS THE BAJAN WAY!”

“BUT THE DAILY SCOFFING AT JOHN IS RUBBISH THAT TENDS TO PROBIBIT THE JOINING IN THE DISCUSSION, CAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

ITS ALL FACADE
    THATS THE BAJAN WAY”

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I AM NOT AN “AMATEUR PSYC” LIKE THE MORONIC DPD….I WAS ALWAYS GOOD AT MAKING A DIAGNOSIS IN THAT SPHERE

WHAT IS VERY CLEAR TO ME PLT IS THAT YOUR ANGER AND HATRED OF HC, AND YOUR REBELLION THERE WAS A FUNCTION OF WHAT HAPPENED IN YOUR HOME.

YOU COULD NOT ACT OUT YOUR BEHAVIOUR AT HOME, SO YOU ACTED IT OUT AT HC.

FOR MANY HARRISONIANS IT WAS A PLACE WE WENT TO PLAY.

I STARTED SERIOUSLY TO LEARN AFTER I LEFT THERE, AT WHICH TIME I MET THE HOUSE NEGROE TRAINERS IN THE CIVIL SERVICE AND OTHER AREAS OF THE FACADE AND FARCE THAT IS BAJAN LIFE

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    ” YOU BETTER LEAVE BOUT HEY……..THERE IS NOTHING BOUT HERE FOR YOU”
    Yes, this is routine. I got back to Barbados in April 2017 and that is precisely what I was told. They assumed I was a “B” because my father supported the BLP. Then I was seen talking to UPP people when I met them in Cheapside Market on Saturday mornings so the BLP yardfowls decided I was the enemy as well. I am still here and have raised millions for the Barbados economy in that 2 years.

If you think that being threatened by stupid yardfowls is persecution on the scale of enslavement then all your education, HC and beyond, has been a waste.

Your statement “…SURELY LIFE UNDER THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS IS MUCH WORSE…” is a profoundly evil racist falsehood. If you fail to retract it I will understand everything you say in the future accordingly.

17. whole…… (I need a new lap top)

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    “WHAT IS VERY CLEAR TO ME PLT IS THAT YOUR ANGER AND HATRED OF HC, AND YOUR REBELLION THERE WAS A FUNCTION OF WHAT HAPPENED IN YOUR HOME.”
    +++++++++++++++
    Now you are being truly pathetic. I had a wonderful childhood which I did not allow HC to spoil in any way. You can ask any of my many schoolmates who came over to play at my house in Shop Hill. I was blessed with loving parents and siblings. My parents understood that true education did not happen inside the classroom, so our home was filled with books on every subject. (When my parents got around to teaching me about sexual reproduction I had already educated myself by reading my Dad’s medical texts and my Mom’s nursing texts on our bookshelves.)

HC education of our era was based on regurgitating information for GCE O levels and A levels. I did that well enough for the scholarship which I did not need and which should have gone to a more needy individual. HC based everything on providing answers which could not be questioned; I preferred to ask questions which could not be answered, and that drove HC crazy.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

• Redguard
    John posts something some consider controversial and you rush to his defense like a good house negro and attack anyone who challenges it. Stop being silly.
    WHY SHOULD I? IT SENDS YOU STARK RAVING MAD…….JUST LIKE JOHN DOES WITH HIS POSTS

• peterlawrencethompson
    The tragedy of what Harrison College education produced in the 60s an70s is on lurid display here today.
    WHAT TRAGEDY?

Georgie Porgie is a bit older than I am and I did not know him as a boy. I KNOW YOU THOUGH AND YOUR BROTHER TREVOR AND YOU DEPARTED DAD

RE I can only assume that their bitterness at the way their lives have turned out is what has warped their souls in this profoundly evil way…

I COULD BE BITTER, BUT I HAVE LEARNED HOW TO ABASE AND HOW TO ABOUND.
    I HAVE LEARNED ALSO HOW TO RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME
    I HAVE LEARNED ALSO HOW TO GIVE THANKS, BECAUSE HIS MERCIES ARE NEW EVERY MORNING.
    I AM EXPERIENCING THE PEACE THAT PASSETH UNDERSTANDING
    AND WITH LOTS OF PRECIOUS TIME ON MY HANDS TO ENGAGE IN WHAT YOU CALL “descending into the hellish depths of the racist tirades that these two spout on BU” BECAUSE IT IS SO MUCH FUN!.

RE It is the hatred of this latter class that seems to trigger the racism in John and Georgie Porgie. Is it envy?” WHY SHOULD I ENVY CROOKS? I COOL AND SATISFIED WITH PEACE IN MY HOME WITH MY SWEET WIFE

RE It cannot escape notice, however how un-Christ-like their behaviour is in this forum.
    WHAT DO YOU KNOW OF CHRIST SIR? HAVE YOU EVER MET HIM?
    IS BEING CHRIST LIKE TOWING THE BU LINE WHICH IS DOMINATED BY NON CHRISTIANS AND EVEN HATERS OF GOD’S WORD? SURELY YOU JEST.

RE It is my contention that the root of their dysfunction is that they drank the Harrison College Kool Aid
    APPARENTLY I MISSED OUT WHEN THAT WAS SHARING, SIR CAUSE I DIDN’T GET ANY
    — the mythology that we were the best and the brightest,
    NOT MYTH—WE WERE

RE and if we studied our Latin hard IT WAS ENJOYABLE TO STUDY LATIN, FRENCH AND SPANISH

RE we would inherit the massa’s house and be able to exercise dominion over all the beasts of the earth (which included Black people in their cosmology) on this little island.
    I DON’T REMEMBER THAT BEING TAUGHT AT HC, IN MY HOME, IN MY VILLAGE OR AT CH CH PARISH CH
    I INHERITED MY FATHER’S HOUSE NOT the massa’s house AND ADDED 5 MORE TO IT

RE So Georgie Porgie and John, having been cheated of this in real life, show up here on BU to try to exercise their dominion. It is sad, truly.

I SHOW UP ON BU TO HAVE FUN AND I DO
    NOT SAD AT ALL IT HELPS PASS THE DAY TIL MY DARLING COMES HOME

NOTHING SAD BOUT MOCKING THE BETZPAENIC BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS IN THE BU RUM SHOP

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    Being Christ Like is being anti racist… fighting against that dysfunction in all its vile forms. You fail.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster the fact that some can actually parade their level of debris laden discourse as a supposedly serious review of the era of slavery is shocking….

That supposedly intelligent folks would echo the tattle about ‘anecdotal’ tales of massa largesse in providing all the base comforts of home on slave plantations is insidious and absolutely mind boggling.

@PLT, well noted but as also noted what u say of HC can be said for all the schools of that era and many years later.

I used to be troubled of how these gentlemen paraded here…very troubled … but u offer a solid counterpoint so clearly it’s reasonable to project that for every thinker a la those two there is at least one free thinker in the mix produced by our society and our educational system …

… maybe still too loop sided a ratio but it only takes one spirited voice to start a revolution…so to speak!

And although I refrain from engaging with IDIOTIC comments from YOU @GP…let me say this bluntly: sense and clear understanding is not vested in you alone because of awards won or professions completed as daily u display a nastiness that is unmistakably very rancorous.

I believe my father would say that any jackass would appreciate that we who are descendants of slaves would have “slavery as part of their life history “.

We have become so cushy and comfortable that we find ignorant solace in anecdotal fables about massa largesse when other historical narratives or depictions like “Roots” paint in harsh terms the realities of many of that
    era.

But dude this is NOT about you in the least because anyone who would so regularly describe people with whom they disagree as “scum” and “morons” and label the first Black head of state of the world powerful US as a *”nigg**”* and worst simply because of policy and ideological disagreements is disgustingly despicable and is best left alone to enjoy their retirement time on BU in the noxious way they do.

By your fruits we all know you sir.

And @Greene..cool piece above…kudos!

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie,
    Being Christ like is loving your neighbor as yourself, not “MOCKING THE BETZPAENIC BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS…”

23. Freedom Crier Avatar

It has been my Experience that when you accuse someone it is Usually that They themselves are guilty of it. Therefore, when I observe PLT accusing people of Rewriting History through the Lenses of Race it shows that their mind is On One thing All the Time and they see Race in Everything. That a man cannot Reason, he cannot Ponder, he may not reach an understanding unless you put on PLT Lenses of Race and if it disagrees, you are called more Racial Epithets like House Negro.

PTL cannot have an honest Discussion or Debate. Grenville Phillips said that PLT is a Dangerous man and I maintained that by in my earlier submission, “HAL HAS EVERY RIGHT TO QUESTION PLT… A LIME TREE SAYING IT IS A SWEET JULIE MANGO YOU MUST QUESTION… NOW HAL IS GLOATING @ PLT PUT DOWN OF GP.

IN THE NUT SHELL, IN REALITY IT IS PLT THAT IS THE ENVIOUS ONE AS WHAT HE BELIEVES IS BUILT ON MARXIST/SOCIALIST DOGMA OF THE GOSPEL OF ENVY.

https://thefederalistpapers.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/imageedit_2300_4824673134.jpg

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE SURELY LIFE UNDER THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS IS MUCH WORSE…” is a profoundly evil racist falsehood. If you fail to retract it I will understand everything you say in the future accordingly.

YOU GOT YOUR OPINION AND I HAVE MINE

I SINCERELY BELIEVE THAT SURELY LIFE UNDER THE BLACK CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS IS MUCH WORSE, AND I WILL SAY IT TILL I DIE

I DONT PARTICULARLY CARE WHAT YOU WILL OR NOT UNDERSTAND ABOUT ANYTHING I WILL SAY IN THE FUTURE

I WILL SAY WHAT I BELIEVE AND I WILL ENJOY SAYING IT WITHOUT FEAR, CAUSE AS THEY USED TO SAY BACK IN DE VILLAGE ” I DONT RICE AT NONE OF WUNNA”

AND YOU CAN CALL ME HOUSE NEGRO OR FIELD NEGRO OR WHAT EVER

IF I HAVE NOT BEEN RUN OF BU BY THE DEVIL’S SON HIMSELF AND HURLED ALL KINDS OF INSULTS BY TOM DICK AND HARRY, OVER THE TEN YEARS YOU TINK YOU WILL RUN ME

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE @Georgie Porgie,

Being Christ like is loving your neighbor as yourself, not “MOCKING THE BETZPAENIC BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS…”

YOU APPARENTLY DO NOT KNOW THAT THE LORD JESUS CHRIST HIMSELF MOCKED THE BETZPAENIC BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS…” OF HIS DAY.

MAN HE CONTINUALLY MADE A MESS OF THE SCRIBES PHARISEES AND SADUCESS
    SO DID PAUL

ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE LORD AND PAUL DID NOT LOVE THEIR NEIGBOUR?

BIBLE IS NOT YOUR STRONG POINT PETER

26. From now on, i will be scrolling past the racists and arrogant egoists like i do the MonkeyBrain.

27. IF I HAVE NOT BEEN RUN OF BU BY THE DEVIL’S SON HIMSELF

but you ran from Barbados. I think there in lies your problem, coward in real life, hero online.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@Georgie Porgie

Being Christ Like is being anti racist… fighting against that dysfunction in all its vile forms. You fail.
    HOW CAN THIS BE SIR?

WHERE DOES THE WORD OF GOD TEACH THAT Being Christ Like is being anti racist AND THAT BELIEVERS ARE TO FIGHT against that dysfunction in all its vile forms?
    PLEASE KINDLY CITE THE REFERENCES

RE You fail.
    WILL YOU BE MY JUDGE AT THE BEMA SIR? I KNOW YOU WONT BE
    BIBLE IS NOT YOUR STRONG POINT PETER

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NO DUMMY I DIDNT RUN FROM BARBADOS

I LEFT BARBADOS TO GO TEACH MEDICAL SCHOOL
    I STAYED IN THE USA AFTER I MARRIED A LOVELY GIRL HERE

YOU ARE WRONG AGAIN
    HERO IN REAL LIFE
    ZERO ONLINE

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Mr Blogmaster the fact that some can actually parade their level of debris laden discourse as a supposedly serious review of the era of slavery is shocking….
    REALLY?
    I FIND IT SHOCKING THAT FOLK DWELL ABOUT AN ERA THAT THEY DIDNT EXPERIENCE

RE That supposedly intelligent folks would echo the tattle about ‘anecdotal’ tales of massa largesse in providing all the base comforts of home on slave plantations is insidious and absolutely mind boggling.
    REALLY? anecdotal’ tales of massa largesse IS MIND BOGGLING WHY SO? HOW SO?

RE I used to be troubled of how these gentlemen paraded here…very troubled …
    LOL YOU DON’T HAVE ANYTHING ELSE TO DO BUT BE RUN RAGGED BY JOHN AND GP?

RE but u offer a solid counterpoint so clearly it’s reasonable to project that for every thinker a la those two there is at least one free thinker in the mix produced by our society and our educational system …
    EXACTLY! JOHN AND I ESCAPED THE BRAINWASHING THAT WE WERE SUPPOSED TO HAVE HAD AT HC.

… maybe still too loop sided a ratio but it only takes one spirited voice to start a revolution…so to speak!
    WHY DON’T YOU START A REVOLUTION—EITHER WITH SPIRITED VOICE OR WITH SPIRITS GIVING SPIRIT TO YOUR VOICE. LOL

And although I refrain from engaging with IDIOTIC comments from YOU @GP…let me say this bluntly: sense and clear understanding is not vested in you alone because of awards won or professions completed as daily u display a nastiness that is unmistakably very rancorous.

LOL I AM THE NICEST DUDE, BUT I LOVE TO SEND FOLK LIKE YOU STARK RAVING MAD ON BU. ITS MUCH BETTER THAN WATCHING TV LOL

RE I believe my father would say that any jackass would appreciate that we who are descendants of slaves would have “slavery as part of their life history “.
    MAYBE YOUR FATHER WAS A JACKASS LIKE YOU

RE We have become so cushy and comfortable that we find ignorant solace in anecdotal fables about massa largesse when other historical narratives or depictions like “Roots” paint in harsh terms the realities of many of that era.

MANY OF US LIKE TO DWELL ON A PASS THAT WE DID NOT OUR SELVES EXPERIENCE.

RE But dude this is NOT about you in the least because anyone who would so regularly describe people with whom they disagree as “scum” and “morons”

IF YOU ARE “scum” and “morons” YOU ARE “scum” and “morons”

RE and label the first Black head of state of the world powerful US as a ”nigg”*
    BUT HE IS a *”nigg
    SIR. HE AINT WHITE

RE and worst simply because of policy and ideological disagreements is disgustingly despicable
    IS IT ALSO disgustingly despicable TO SAY THE THINGS THAT YOU AND THOSE OF YOUR ILK SAY ABOUT THE CURRENT head of state of the world powerful US?

RE and is best left alone to enjoy their retirement time on BU in the noxious way they do.
    ENJOYING BUT NOT NOXIOUS SIR
    YOU SEE YOU CANT DEFEAT ME INTELLECTUALLY AND I WILL DEBUNK YOUR RUBBISH EVERY TIME

By your fruits we all know you sir.
    YES YOU DO I AM THE ONE THAT MOCKS YOU FOR TRYING TO DECRY MY SCHOLARSHIP ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES AND EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

31. Freedom Crier Avatar

It is of Interest to Understand Postmodernism and Cultural Marxism | Jordan B Peterson

Jordan Peterson, Canadian clinical psychologist and professor of psychology at the University of Toronto, speaks with The Epoch Times about Postmodernism and Cultural Marxism.

Communism is estimated to have killed at least 100 million people, yet its crimes have not been fully compiled and its ideology still persists. The Epoch Times seeks to expose the history and beliefs of this movement, which has been a source of tyranny and destruction since it emerged.

32. By the 1860s, the limited physical space began to prove insufficient. More white and coloured upper and middle-class sections of the Barbadian community were demanding higher education and thus number of pupils grew which brought increasing requests for the expansion of the school. In addition, the premises on Spry Street had by then become surrounded by open roads and the absence of a playground for the boys was proving problematic.

On October 18 1870, the House of Assembly passed an act which facilitated the reestablishment of the school. So, the building in Spry Street was sold and the proceeds, along with a Government loan, allowed the administration to purchase the Mangrove Lodge and its surroundings (the current site of Harrison College). The Lodge was the property of the late Thomas Crumpton and the purchase was concluded at a cost of £1,500.

The management of the school, now called the new Harrison School, was entrusted to an Education Committee. Reverend Charles Clarke was appointed Headmaster and the school opened on June 4, 1871. A press release at the time stated: “The School is intended to supply a thoroughly sound education – firstly satisfying all the requirements of pupils intended for commercial pursuits, and secondly preparing both for the English public Schools and Universities and the competitive examinations through which every department of the Public Service is now accessible. Arrangements will accordingly be made for enabling pupils to pursue whatever course of study may be suited to their special circumstances”
    The Education Committee was mandated to see that the curriculum should provide for a sound liberal education, and to further the cause of scholarship, funds were denoted to maintain a number of Foundation Scholars. Additional support came from money votes from the House of Assembly for a number of Exhibitionemain_buildingrs. Success was not slow in coming. Harrisonians won the Gilchrist Scholarship between 1874 and 1880 when it was replaced with the Barbados Scholarship – the Highest Award for Academic Achievement in the Island.

At that time the actual school was housed in Mangrove Lodge, which was the Headmaster’s Residence and is presently the Administrative building. Both upstairs and downstairs were used as classrooms. The Headmaster himself, along with some students, boarded a little distance away at “Kent”. In 1875 the “Big Sc
    hool” Building (which now houses the Bell Tower) was opened, and in 1879 the Main Building with its spiral staircase was erected. In 1905 when the British Military Garrison left
    Barbados, the building now known as the Retreat was handed over to the School, thus affording an entrance by the Crumpton Street gate. This building immediately became the Masters’ quarters.

33. From 1966- 21st Century: The Kolij We Love

Mr. Hammond was followed by Mr. Albert “Tank” Williams, first local Headmaster who led the School through Barbados’ Independence Celebrations in 1966. Mr. Williams was a Mathematician and the Sciences and Mathematics began to dominate the School during that time. The adjoining Government Agricultural Complex was acquired and converted into new first forms, a Biology Laboratory, two Art rooms and Geography and Language rooms. While girls had previously attended various classes at the School and had been admitted into the Sixth Form, in 1980 the first group of girls was admitted to the first form. Mr. Williams retired in 1982 and was followed by Mr. Warren Thorpe, Mr. Clarrie Layne (1988), Dr. Robert Belgrave (1993) and our late Headmaster, Mr. Winston Crichlow (2004-2014).

Harrison College is still considered an elite school in present day due to our excellent academic record, overwhelming participation in extra-curricular activities and great sporting achievements. Each year, we compete for and gain many Barbados Scholarships and Exhibitions, as well as outclassing others in Sports and the Arts locally and internationally.

Harrison College is now headed by Headmistress, Juanita Wade and Deputy Headmaster, David McCarthy. Along with over 60 other staff members, they guide a little over 1100 students, tomorrow’s future.

http://harrisoncollege.org/our-school/

34. We must learn to differentiate between the waffle BU bloggers post and the reality. Separate the two: the substance and the fakery. @Georgie Porgie is a good case study.
    I have said on here before that New Barbadians do not have the same loyalty as those traditional Barbadians. Only today new figures have come out for children born to foreign mothers and they are staggering: about 58 per cent of births in London are to foreign mothers and a total of 75 per cent in the UK overall.
    In about five years’ these figure will impact our school system and in a further 20 years or we will see the real demographic impact of these figures. Remember this as we look at the good doctor.
    It is the same with our super doctor: Harrison College, medical training, working for the ministry of health and, in his own words, came in to regular conflict with his colleagues. Underachieved as a doctor in Barbados.
    Left Barbados at about the age of 50 to settle in the US; but because of arrogance and/or pride, refuses to take the US regulatory exams, so cannot work as a doctor in the US; trains nurses at offshore medical schools, a job normally done by senor nurses. So, over-qualified for his task. Teaches some doctors mainly to take US exams, which he refuses to take. Has he got US citizenship, or just a green card?
    He is obviously devoted (obsessed) with theology and Biblical Studies, and tells us he is not connected to any one particular church, so we can dismiss any idea that he works as a preacher in the US, if not as a doctor. He also spends an inordinate amount of time on BU, so we can assume he is not particularly busy.
    So, it is not unfair to suggest that, now in his late 60s, when he looks back at his HC days, his training and his self-worth, he is convinced his has been career failure.
    So, he comes on BU and pretends to be the everyman: general practitioner, pharmacologist, cardiologist, nephrologist, oncologist, neurologist, gerontologist, obstetrician, etc. All his good childhood memories are tied up in Barbados. Of course, no one person can be an expert on everything.
    But this is the man we deal with every day.

35. @John
    Here we go again. Often the comments you post are so obviously incorrect, easily shown to be so and so demonstrate your lack of understanding of the basic points being discussed, that I wonder if you make these comments because you genuinely believe them or if it’s a kind of attention seeking behaviour.

These are undisputable facts which I agree are difficult to take on board for the brainwashed but they remain, undisputable facts!!
    #######
    First of all any statement is not a fact. A statement becomes factually accurate (a fact) when evidence demonstrates that the statement accurately represents something that is happening in the real world or has already happened. There are two elements in this process. First the evidence must be presented and secondly, the conclusion drawn on the basis of the evidence must actually be supported by the evidence. So it’s pretty clear that there is a lot of room for disputing whether something is a fact or not. Previously you have stated as fact that “non–sugar trade accounted for more than 87.5% of the trade in which Barbados was engaged” in the 1840s but were unable to provide any evidence to support this claim. So this remained a belief that you have and not a fact. Then you stated as a fact that the value of a commodity was not related to the amount of labour necesssary for its production but was simply a reflection of what people are willing to pay for it. Eventually faced with the overwhelming evidence from the actual real world that this idea could simply not be accurate, you conceded that the value of a commodity is a reflectiion of the labour necessary for its production, although you tried to cover this acknowledgement by introducing a new expression of ‘minimum cost price’. At least with your statements on slave life expectancy, you have stated the evidence you are basing these on, namely Schomburgk’s presentation of the 1817 slave returns on page 146 of his book. Your error is that the conclusion you draw from the evidence is not supported by it. You assume that if the 1817 returns show that over 700 people were over the age of 70, this is evidence that they were being treated well by the slavemasters. It has never crossed your mind that these slaves could have reached this age despite their treatment by the slavemasters. The blogmaster has already attempted to point out your logical fallacy to you but apparently to no avail. Without knowing a gret deal more about these 700 old people, it’s impossible to draw any conclusions about whether they reached 70 because of the way they were treated by the slavemasters or despite the way they were treated.

Your reason for presenting this line of argument is to attempt to bolster your central claim that the ‘plantation system’ was ‘a social welfare state’ based on ‘communist principles’. This argument demonstrates that you lack a basic understanding of the plantation system, a social welfare state or communist principles. For example, one important communist principle is that those who do the work should own in common not only the raw materials and tools of production but also the wealth created by their labour. Therefore in the context of plantation slavery in Barbados, this would mean that the slaves owned the plantations, the windmills and the sugar and molasses they produced. The income from the sale of these commodities would go directly to them. If you know of any plantations which operated in this way, then your statement that it was organised on communist principles would be a fact. However, unless you’re able to provide such evidence, then your statement is just a belief that John has, although there’s no evidence to support it.

Even your idea that the slave plantation was some kind of ‘social welfare state’ in which the slavemasters cared for the slaves with love and attention is contradicted by the evidence. It is tedious having to explain this to someone born and brought up in Barbados. Richard Sheridan on page 21 of his article ‘Africa and the Caribbean in the Atlantic Slave Trade’ states, “The evils of Barbadian slavery in 1680 were given point by the Reverend Morgan Godwyn, resident clergyman and early critic of the peculiar institution. He wrote that the planters were not very constant “to that first and so very agreeable Principle, of preserving these poor Wretches for Labour (their only end in purchasing of them) by a due provision of Food . . . and Cloathing.” Godwyn was righteously outraged to find that some planters deliberately overworked and underfed their slaves to induce mortality among the superannuated, who, in turn, were replaced by young and vigorous slaves. These cold-blooded practices, which were apparently profitable under the circumstances of plentiful and cheap imported slaves and costly provisions, were more common among the “richer and mightier” than among “the Middle and Meaner sort; who do usually find it less convenient to buy new, than (having but a few) to preserve their old Negro’s.” Richard Dunn in his article ‘The Barbados Census of 1680: Profile of the Richest Colony in English America’, states on page 25, “Between 1700 and 1750 the Barbadians kept importing three thousand Negroes a year, but they worked their slaves so hard and fed them so skimpily that they died off as fast as new ones were being brought in’. The 1688 law “An Act for the Governing of Negroes” passed in the slavemasters’ parliament in Broad Street on the 8th of August that year states in part, “And be it further Enacted and Ordained, That if any Negro or Slave whatsoever shall offer any Violence to any Christian, by Striking, or the like, such Negro or other Slave shall, for his or her first Offence, by Information given upon Oath to the next Justice, be severely whipped by the Constable by Order of the said Justice; For his second Offence of that nature, by Order of the Justice of Peace, he shall be severely whipped, his Nose slit, and be burned in some part of his Face with a hot Iron; And for his third Offence he shall receive, by Order of the Governor and Council, such greater Punishment as they shall think meet to inflict”.

Now this evidence may suggest to you that the plantation system was a ‘social welfare state’ or it might make you aware that this idea of yours is just another one of your beliefs which has no evidence to support it.

36. If you look at emigration from Barbados you will find that it was high from the beginning.

The “white” population stayed reasonably stable because they were free to leave and there were always some migrating here if only to emigrate later!!

The “black” population grew geometrically until the end of slavery when they too were free to leave, and leave they did.

Slavery ensured they were provided for.

Those Bajan who left went to find greener pastures … they simply faced the reality that Barbados was too small!!

These were the ones who would take the risk and go find alternatives.

Some did well, some did ok and some did not.

What most did was to support their families here.

That was true from the beginning.

That is what we really need now if we want to move forward.

We need our people to find opportunities outside of Barbados and then support their own kith and kin.

Our problem is that most of the get up and go has got up and gone and the emigration alternatives are shrinking.

It is unlikely you will find a Bajan who thinks the world owes them a living roughing it in the interior of Guyana even though Guyana seems to be the natural place to go.

When I was young I knew a Bajan who loved diving who found work on a North Sea Oil platform, believe he made a good living.

I met a guy recently, a Bajan, perhaps a few years older than I who worked on rigs and had now retired.

Did well.

My father spent 16 years in the oilfields of Venezuela.

We have a population problem bigger than any one we ever had before!!

We need to develop the mentality and skills that allow us to go where the employment is.

Wallowing in all sorts of myths and fantasies of our past will not do it for us … face the realities and move on!!

All the crutches and excuses that keep us stuck need to be gotten rid of.

That’s one of the reasons I am being so brutally frank!!

37. If I offend … tough sh!t!!

38. … but I am sticking to facts I know to be true!!

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR ASSTIN SIR

YOU ARE MORE HILARIOUS THAN DPD BUSHSHIT AND ALL THAT HAVE GONE BEFORE

We must learn to differentiate between the waffle BU bloggers post and the reality. Separate the two: the substance and the fakery. @Georgie Porgie is a good case study.
    Remember this as we look at the good doctor.

It is the same with our super doctor: Harrison College, medical training, working for the ministry of health and, in his own words, came in to regular conflict with his colleagues. Underachieved as a doctor in Barbados. REALLY? WHAT MORE COULD I HAVE DONE SIR? I THINK I MADE A MEANINGFUL CONTRIBUTION SIR FOR 20YEARS

Re Left Barbados at about the age of 50 to settle in the US; but because of arrogance and/or pride, refuses to take the US regulatory exams, so cannot work as a doctor in the US;

Mr asstin I passed the ECFMG in late 70’s, as my colleagues did as our practice exam before finals, but decided even then I would stay in Bim and RAISE MY SONS THERE RATHER THAN work in the USA

Re trains nurses at offshore medical schools, NO I TRAINED MEDICAL STUDENT SIR BUT I VOLUNTARILY HELPED TRAIN NURSES IN BARBADOS FOR11 YEARS

a job normally done by senor nurses. THERE ARE LOTS OF THINGS THAT SENIOR NURSES CANT TEACH

RE So, over-qualified for his task. ALL MEDICAL TEACHERS ARE OVER QUALIFIED TO TEACH MEDICINE IN MY OPINION

Teaches some doctors mainly to take US exams, AND I ENJOYED IT

which he refuses to take. DO I HAVE ANY CHOICE IN WHAT I DO WITH MY LIFE SIR?

RE Has he got US citizenship, or just a green card?
    HOW IS DAT YOUR BUSYNESS SIR?

RE He is obviously devoted (obsessed) with theology and Biblical Studies, IS THAT A SIN TOO?
    and tells us he is not connected to any one particular church, NEVER SAID THAT

RE so we can dismiss any idea that he works as a preacher in the US, IN MY CHURCH GROUP PREACHERS ARE NOT SALARIED, SO I DON’T PREACH FOR FILTHY LUCRE’S SAKE (C.F 1 PETER 5)

RE He also spends an inordinate amount of time on BU, so we can assume he is not particularly busy. TRUE TRUE LIKE YOU I AM RETIRED. DO YOU STILL WORK SIR? DOES IT BOTHER ME?

RE So, it is not unfair to suggest that, now in his late 60s, when he looks back at his HC days, his training and his self-worth, he is convinced his has been career failure.

I THINK I HAVE ADDRESSED HOW I FEEL ALREADY TODAY.

RE So, he comes on BU and pretends to be the everyman: general practitioner, pharmacologist, cardiologist, nephrologist, oncologist, neurologist, gerontologist, obstetrician, etc.

I DON’T PRETEND SIR. TEACHING MEDICAL SCHOOL RESULTED IN ME HAVING TO TEACH A LOT OF THESE DISCIPLINES. THIS BROUGHT ME UP TO SPEED. YOU THINK I WILL STAND UP IN FRONT OF CLASSES OF BRIGHT MED STUDENTS UNPREPARED? ARE YOU NOT UP TO SPEED IN YOUR VOCATION SIR?

RE All his good childhood memories are tied up in Barbados. ARE NOT YOURS SIR?

RE Of course, no one person can be an expert on everything. TRUE. BUT WHEN I COME HERE AND SPEAK OF THINGS MEDICINE, I STICK TO WHAT I KNOW WELL, SIR.

YOU DID NOT MENTION PHYSIOLOGY, HISTOLOGY OR PATHOLOGY ABOVE; THAT IS WHY I CAN SAY WITHOUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION THAT THERE IS NO MUSCLE TISSUE IN THE BRAIN.

But this is the man we deal with every day. LOL WHAT YOU WANT ME TO DO SIR? LEAVE SIR?
    WHAT IS THE POINT OF YOUR RANT SIR?

IS THIS AN APPROPRIATE ANSWER SIR?

40. Next up … how disability benefits were administered in the mini welfare state that was the plantation.

41. Homework Assignment – Read Page 217 of Schomburgk about a “sad accident”

42. @John
    Here is an historian, Eric Williams, now deceased, who has had a whole book rendered null and void!!
    #####
    It quite simply doesn’t work that way. Academic disputes and arguments are a standard feature of the world we live in as are political disputes and arguments. These reflect the different outlooks and underlying interests of those involved in these arguments. The idea outlined by Williams in his book that Atlantic chattle slavery is the foundation of modern capitalism is not one that Williams invented and Gad Heuman is not the first one to attack it. To judge which explanation they find more convincing, each individual would have to evaluate the arguments presented by the two writers and judge the strength of the evidence presented in support of the contending points of view. Gad Heuman’s argument is his argument and does not make Eric Williams’ argument ‘null and void’. I’m pretty sure that you are aware of the work of David Irving who, along with other historians, have written books claiming that the Nazi holocaust against Jews never took place. Therefore, by your logic, the entire argument that Nazis committed a holocaust against the Jews is now ‘null and void’. You may want to consider that Irving was sentenced to 3 years in prison for denying the holocaust against the Jews. You might find yourself in a tricky position when we get to a similar stage with regard to denying the holocaust against Africans.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ASSTIN

IF YOU WERE BEFORE ME AS I EXPOUNDED ABOVE, I WOULD BE BOWING IN SARCASM THROUGHOUT. IT WOULD DRIVE YOU UP THE WALL AS IT OFTEN DID TO MY INFERIOR SUPERIORS, HERE AND THERE.

44. John

read Gearbox 1980, p1, about a good abortion

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ASSTIN

So, it is not unfair to suggest that, now in his late 60s, when he looks back at his HC days, his training and his self-worth, he is convinced his has been career failure.

WITHIN THE LAST SIX MONTHS OR SO THREE MEN I KNEW FROM SCHOOLDAYS WHO WERE HIGHLY REGARDED DRS IN BARBADOS DIED! ANOTHER MAN , AN AMERICAN, WHO WORKED IN THE OFFICE NEXT TO MINE ALSO DIED.

THIS MORNING I WOKE UP AND THANKED GOD THAT HIS MERCIES ARE NEW EVERY MORNING BECAUSE IT IS WRITTEN THIS IN Lamentations 3:22-23
    It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

wE USED TO SING ABOUT THIS THUS AT SCHOOL

New every morning is the love Our wakening and uprising prove;
    Through sleep and darkness safely brought, Restored to life and power and thought.

New mercies, each returning day,Hover around us while we pray;
    New perils past, new sins forgiven, New thoughts of God, new hopes of heaven.

If, on our daily course, our mind Be set to hallow all we find,
    New treasures still, of countless price,God will provide for sacrifice.

The trivial round, the common task, Will furnish all we ought to ask;
    Room to deny ourselves, a road To bring us daily nearer God.

Only, O Lord, in Thy dear love,Fit us for perfect rest above,
    And help us, this and every day,To live more nearly as we pray.

46. @ Georgie Porgie,

I wish you well. But do not let your bitterness destroy your humanity.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“If I offend … tough sh!t!!”
    ++++++++++++++++
    You don’t offend me John, you are not that important.

You do sadden me, however. Your racism is a truly sad commentary on the degeneration of what was once reasonably good mind.

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Geoegie Porgie
    “the root of their dysfunction is that they drank the Harrison College Kool Aid— the mythology that we were the best and the brightest,
    NOT MYTH—WE WERE”
    Even in your seventh decade you seemed to have learned nothing to temper the arrogance that HC bred in you.

We were not all the best and the brightest. Some of us were bright, that is true; but being bright is not a moral quality, just a combination of genetic fortune and material fortune (many Bajan children of our era were badly malnourished because of the poverty of their parents and this compromised their mental development). So we were not the best; we were simply among the most fortunate. You might have learned some humility somewhere along the line. I myself am too arrogant, but I’m not anywhere close to the arrogance that leads me to swallow the mythology that we at HC were the best and brightest.

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hal Austin May 9, 2019 1:25 PM

@ Georgie Porgie,

I wish you well. But do not let your bitterness destroy your humanity.

NOT BITTER ASSTIN ——-JUST BETTER!

PLT

HC DID NOT BREED ANY ARROGANCE IN ME..

Some of us were bright, that is true; YOU MUST AGREE SOME OF US ARE STILL LOL LIKE YOU AND JOHN

but being bright is not a moral quality, WHO SAID IT WAS?

just a combination of genetic fortune and material fortune MAYBE

(many Bajan children of our era were badly malnourished because of the poverty of their parents and this compromised their mental development). MAYBE BUT NOT NECESSARILY. THESE FACTORS DEMONSTRATE HOW GOOD THEY POSSIBLY WERE DESPITE THESE POTENTIALLY CRIPLING FACTORS

we were simply among the most fortunate. SOME OF US WERE SOME OF US WERE NOT. I VISITED MANY OF THE HOMES OF MY CONTEMPORARIES

I’m not anywhere close to the arrogance that leads me to swallow the mythology that we at HC were the best and brightest. WELL THEY WERE SHARPER THAN ANY I HAD MET BEFORE OR AFTER IN BIM.

ONE OF MY JOYS IS TO RECOUNT CONVERSATIONS OF MY HC FRIENDS
    AND LATER THOSE OF MY FIRST SON AND HIS HC FRIENDS

IF DRIVING SOME MEN ON BU CRAZY BY SAYING THAT WE ARE THE BRIGHTEST AND BEST, MAN I WOULD SAY IT EVERY AND ANY DAY

I ENJOY THE RANTS LOL

50. Because you enjoy the rants that makes them cogent?