Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. May 6, 2019 1:08 PM

@Tee White

Thanks for your submission. It is a long time now the blogmaster has become resigned to the fact we lack the ability to discuss the underlying issues that affect our country.@@@

Yes agree the under-telling lies issue is land fraud , that also killed banking,, yes in DEED,The True under-lying issue ,

2. Lexicon
    May 6, 2019 8:58 PM

John
    Question: in Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana from 1838 to 1918 planters went India and China for the labour to fill the vacuum left by the Africans who refused to work on the plantations after emancipation … how does Barbados play into this equation since Barbados does not have an Indian or Chinese population?

Barbados had an over supply of labour at emancipation!!

The population doubled between the census in the 1680’s and the slave registration in 1817.

Sugar output however did not!!

The sugar price fluctuated but fell.

By the 1850’s, the population had about doubled again.

The output of sugar stayed about the same.

There was a rise in the sugar price with the demise of Haiti … oops, sorry, Saint Domingue which subsequently fell with the advent of Beet Sugar in Europe..

That’s why Barbados’ biggest export has been its people!!

The only possible conclusion is that Barbados had another major source of economic activity besides Sugar, I say trade!!

Schomburgk seems to say the same!!

That’s the reason why one of the most successful families has to be the DaCosta family.

3. Trade does not create wealth. By definition, trade is the exchange of goods of equal value. The goods arrive at the trade transaction with their value already in them and are exchanged for different goods of the same value.

If you thought for a moment you would not make such a claim!!

Here are examples of trading companies!!

Dutch East India Company

Hudson Bay Company

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hudson%27s_Bay_Company

East India Company

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/East_India_Company

One reason why trade is so successful is because of diversity.

It is quite ok for there to be a decline in one area because inevitably it will be followed by new business in another.

That’s how life works!!

Britain’s success was based on trade.

There has never been an empire that comes close to rivalling it.

Wars were fought based on trade!!

4. Quite frankly I find the whole back and forth about HC rather amusing.

I agree!!

… but it also drives the brainwashed bananas!!

Can you tell us how many of our 10 National Heroes went to HC?

Let’s see, in case you don’t know their names here they are!!

Grantley Adams
    Erroll Barrow
    Bussa …. a figment of the brainwashed’s imagination so lets set him one side
    Sarah Ann Gill
    Hugh Springer
    Frank Walcott
    Clement Payne
    Gary Sobers
    Samuel Jackman Prescod
    Charles Duncan O’Neal

5. @PLT

I simply quoted the dictionary because you made a statement which seemed to betray an ignorance of contemporary English language usage.
    I gave you MY opinion in crystal clear language: “I personally loathed and despised Harrison College as an incubator for house negros…”(Quote)

@PLT, first, do not fool yourself that you are familiar with contemporary English. More importantly, you constantly talk about your days in the sixth form of Harrison College, then you come with the double bluff of pretending you disliked your time there.
    Quit e clearly you were too busy attending seminars on economics to listen in on those on rhetoric.
    Repetition has been a device in public speaking since the days of the Greek and Roman senators. Maybe you are not familiar with the discipline of rhetoric, but the purpose of your repetition serves the same purpose – I went to Harrison College, I was really clever and won a scholarship, some of my friends and fellow sixth formers now own yachts and invite me to go sailing with them; I hated my time at Harrison College, but I still cannot stop talking about my time there. Ipso facto, even if I disliked my time there, Harrison College must be the best.
    @PLT This duplicity does not fool intelligent people. When asked to state why HC is ‘best’, you go in to your fake rejection about quotation marks of the institution. Stop it.
    The real debate is the quality of our secondary schools and how to improve them; how even our ‘best’ fails to win the CXC annual school award (St Lucia outperforms us) and why this government, after a year in power, still cannot come up with a workable education policy.
    By the way, when is the government going to make CXC, GCSE and A level results public for each individual school so parents and citizens can make proper comparisons?
    One of the best things to come out of HC was Briggs Clarke.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

Gary Sobers?

7. NO!!

No,

.. but he really is in my view the only National Hero who merits his elevation because he is the only one who united Bajans!!

8. Hal

I see you do psycho analysis in your spare time!!

9. @Peter

There is no need to explain your position here, anybody with a modicum of understanding will understand what you meant to convey.

10. The planters in British Guyana must have envied the plentiful wind power available to their competitors in Barbados.

Who needs wind power when you have this!!

… and you have the Dutch who besides knowing a thing or three about windmills also are masters of water!!

Here’s an example of how you get power for milling from water.

24/7

Notice that not only does the water wheel extract energy from the river, it pumps its water for distribution.

Wind is extremely fickle!!

11. Is hydro electric power possible in Barbados?

Yes!!!

Put something like this in the underground streams in caves in Barbados.

Could cut fuel imports bigly!!

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

several might argue that claiming he attended HC is no elevation?
    next thing you might pen is that Malcolm Marshall went to HC too, because he had friends who did, and spent nuff time there when he was attending Parkinson.

13. However, look what Guyana has!!

14. @John
    Trade does not create wealth! If I break into your house, steal your household goods and go and sell them, I will certainly be wealthier that I was previously but I haven’t created any wealth. I have simply redistributed already existing wealth. My gains from selling your household goods will be exactly equal to your losses as a result of me stealing them. If, however, I set up a factory and start producing household goods, I will be creating new wealth which did not exist previously. Wealth is created in the production of goods and not in their exchange.

The mercantile companies, like the Dutch East India Company (1602-1799) and the British East India (1600-1874) were building blocks in the establishment of the modern global capitalist economy and Europe’s domination within it. Through military superiority, these companies established patterns of unequal trade on countries in various parts of the world thereby leadng to a net inflow of wealth into Europe and a corresponding loss of wealth in those countries on the receiving end of the unequal trade.

Let us take the Dutch East India Company. This company started life as a government protected monopoly trading in spices from Southeast Asia to Holland. Obviously the spices had already been produced, otherwise the company would not have been able to buy them for resale in Europe. Although the company was seen as a trading entity, in reality, it represented the earliest form of European colonialism in South East Asia. As early as 1619, the company violently occupied Jakarta in Indonesia, creating the origin of its colonial territory, which it afterwards continued to expand. Furthermore, it did not limit itself to trading but also engaged in the production of commodities, including spices and sugar cane in its Southeast Asian colonies.

It is a fact that mercantile conmpanies like the Dutch East India Company made fabulous fortunes for their owners, but this wealth came directly from colonial looting through unequal trade and from the production of commodities through the use of forced and slave labour.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE @Peter

There is no need to explain your position here, anybody with a modicum of understanding will understand what you meant to convey.

BULLSIT
    I HAVE MORE THAN A MODICUM OF UNDERSTANDING AND HAVING BEEN TO HC FOR 8 YEARS IN THE SAME TIME PERIOD AS PLT DID I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT HE WAS TRYING TO CONVEY
    BECAUSE I DID NOT EXPERIENCE THIS BULL SHIT HE TALKS ABOUT

WE HAD A WHOLE LONG BLOG ABOUT TANK AND HC A FEW YEARS BACK, AND NOT ONE SINGLE EX HARRISONIAN TALKED ANY BULL SHIT ABOUT HOUSE NEGROES

HC WAS SCHOOL!
    WE HAD FUN, AT LEAST I DID
    NO ONE TAUGHT US TO BE LITTLE ENGLISHMEN OR TO BE HOUSE NEGROS AND ALL THAT SHIT
    MAYBE I WAS TOO DEAF OR I WAS TO DUMB TO BE BRAINWASHED

DID DAVID KING GO TO HC AND BECAME A HOUSE NEGRO TOO?
    WHY DONT YOU TELL US ABOUT IT, AND STOP TALKING SHITE

16. @Tee White

Enjoying your comments.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, with your Marshall example it seems you are suggesting that @John claimed Sir Garry went to HC when he posed the query about National Heros and offered up the list of them…if you are then its easier generally to grasp @Hal’s screed off on @PLT’s high school journey: both give us the ‘clarity’ of how facile it is to read the SAME material and have totally different interpretations.

One…the list was just that, as I interpreted the remarks there was no suggestion that all the persons listed went HC but that maybe some and even several did.

Two…@Hal, reading PLT overtime I interpreted the man as being quite proud of his rebellious – big Afro and the many Tank Williams admonitions- days at school; quite disappointed with many of the teachers trapped into society’s class biases whom he suggested taught in a manner that did not empower the Black youth of his day (my words, not his) ; but also overjoyed by the relationships he made with other boys!

And @WSkinner, the discussions on HC that intrigues me is not the tale of 60 year plus men waxing fondly about their youth but rather the wonderful complexities of life (as exemplified here on BU) that show how these lads grew into the indoctrination they received: the self aggrandizement of being heralded as the smartest …having passed for the school in the first place … but then how that and their school exam and life results propelled them into these VERY different creatures today.

That is a study that is well worth the MS or PhD study on Barbadian society and as Hal proposes our education system!

And to that point @Hal, you have spoken (less fondly and in depth here, for sure) of your secondary school days but with verve and passion in other places, seems to me. Everyone should be proud of their school dsys unless they were the ultimate “trouble tree” or had learning challenges that were not diagnosed and thus felt lost and were treated that way!

And that piece starting at “Quit e clearly you were too busy attending seminars on economics to listen in on those on rhetoric….” was quite snitty….wow. You should go do a consultancy in the PR dept. for that Barr guy!

BTW, I agree completely on the comprehensive educational results needed from the sitting govt admistration…the lack (publicly) of data is absurd.

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler

I once heard Errol Barrow on a platform in Independence Square say that he no longer wanted to be associated with Harrison to College because Tom Adams went school there.He said that as far as he was concerned he went to Wesley Hall.
    There were quite a few of my friends at HC who were radicals and members of the Black Power movement. We never looked at the school tie; we were more interested in the political happenings of the 60s and early 70s.
    It is not surprising that many disadvantaged black students would have seen the lines of social demarcation well drawn at HC.
    So, in many ways PLT’s rebellious nature and his brutal put downs of his alma mater, do not surprise me.
    I gather that PLT was not among the disadvantaged so his comments are quite interesting.
    I remain fully amused. It’s quite a refreshing departure from the piffle we endure daily from the Bess and Dees apologists.
    We should therefore thank Tee White for the breath of fresh air with his piece.
    Man it’s a strange a thing but imagine passing part 2 and then ending up as a house negro……..being facetious of course.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@TWhite, you are being exceedingly esotheric with your attempts at precise economic analysis on the jargon of wealth creation. I presume you could (or maybe you have) written a treatise on the subject but realistically let’s cut the jargon of economic palaver and step into real life.

If you are going to take the position that valid wealth creation can only be initiated when “I set up a factory and start producing …” then you are being blissfully academic and focused on narrow models which do not embrace modern business realities.

Many (“progressives” first and conservatives,these days – go figure) have used your same argument about factory startups for production to ALSO argue about simply redistribut[ing] weatlh. In this case, the argument offered is that moving factories to cheap labor sources (in China, for ex) from locations in high labour markets facilitates that similiar theft of household items you described.

In short, nothing is that facile. Of course wealth CAN be created by a trading firm. Fundamentally, the markup on the trade is its OWN profit component and a necessary cost to get the goods to market…to simplistic/academically opine that’s its a mere redistribution/theft is to focus on ideological perspectives rather than reality.

Consider further than many goods found a limited market (in modern world and historically) when produced and only via distribution/trade/marketing to a different market were sales grown (coupled of course with other factors).

Anyhow, no lotta further long talk, I merely wanted to highlight that your assertions are misplaced…the basic fact that a product MUST first be produced to ideally reach a profit position is obvious and accepted but to dismiss trade as its own business profit center is misplaced…. the argument about the status of the trading facilities during the historical period mentioned can be made but certainly in modern business realities there are stark distinctions to be made…much different game these days.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    u r correct, i mis-read John’s post, as fact versus a question

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes @WSkinner, the point exactly: “It is not surprising that many disadvantaged black students would have seen the lines of social demarcation well drawn at HC…I gather that PLT was not among the disadvantaged so his comments are quite interesting.

We are all amateur psychs here so isn’t that a lovely take-off point!

I hesitate to thread into the other societal quicksands….

You noted that lots of your friends … never looked at the school tie [as] we were more interested in the political happenings of the 60s and early 70s…I presume some were radical while at school but surely most were after school!

But where the sand draws one in is this: other Bajan Black boys who may speak often of ‘wannabees’ lived through that same era at same school and blissfully made themselves unaware of such happenings or its impact on school life; they surely fulfilled the academic potential recognized from their very early years and seemingly evolved to be disdainful of other black folk who dared question their superior intellect and many of them have become as ‘white’ in thought and pronouncements as their pale skin colleagues from school.

How many brothers and sisters in ethnicity @WSkinner, do you know from Cawmere, Lodge, QC, etc who displayed those qualities…it makes the gilded spoon PLTs of Bdos even more interesting ! Such is life, isn’t it.

Anyhow, I gone!

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR SKINNER SIR

RE There were quite a few of my friends at HC who were radicals and members of the Black Power movement. We never looked at the school tie; we were more interested in the political happenings of the 60s and early 70s.

THAT IS THE EXPERIENCE I HAD….We never looked at the school tie;AFTER SCHOOL WE DID AS IS WRITTEN IN JOHN 7:53 THUS 53 And everyone went to his own house. WE WENT BACK TO WHENCE WE CAME AND ENJOYED THE COMPANY OF OUR FRIENDS AND COMRADES IN OUR COMMUNITIES, AND PLAYED OUR BAT AND BALL, MADE AND FLEW OUR KITES OR WENT TO THE BEACH AND PELTED ROCKS AT FRUIT…….THEN WE WENT BACK TO SCHOOL THE NEXT DAY OR THE NEXT TERM.

OF COURSE IN THE EARLY 60’S THEY WERE NOT THAT MANY POOR , BLACK HARRISONIANS DISPERSED THROUGHOUT THE ISLAND. THAT NUMBER GRADUALLY INCREASED AFTER THE ADVENT OF THE SCREENING TEST AND COMMON ENTRANCE EXAM IN 62

THERE WERE TWO HC BOYS FOR MILES AROUND WHERE I LIVED BEFORE 62– VINCENT MCCLEAN AND RICHARD BENTHAM FROM ST LAWRENCE

MY VERY BEST FRIEND, THE LATE RICKY RICHARDS (LATER CRAIG) WAS A COMBERMERIAN

It is not surprising that many disadvantaged black students would have seen the lines of social demarcation well drawn at HC.

I WAS FORTUNATE NOT TO BE DISADVANTAGED, BUT I WAS TOO BUSY HAVING FUN WITH MY PALS AND LEARNED ABOUT the lines of social demarcation OF WHICH YOU SPEAK AFTERWARDS

I NEVER THOUGHT I WAS PRIVILEGED TO BE A HARRISONIAN. IT WAS MY RIGHT. I PASSED THE APPROVED TEST! AND WAS TRANSFERRED FROM BFS WITH FOUR OF MY CLASSMATES THERE.

5 OF MY CLASSMATES WENT TO LODGE

I ENJOYED HC AS MUCH AS I ENJOYED BFS, I ENJOYED FOUNDATION STUDENTS IMMENSELY AS THEY LIVED AROUND ME, WENT TO SUNDAY SCHOOL WITH ME AND SANG IN CH CH PARISH CH CHOIR. THERE WERE NO HARRISONIANS IN THAT CHOIR, AND ONLY TWO LADS WENT TO THE PARISH CHURCH THAT WERE HARRISONIANS AT THAT TIME

RE So, in many ways PLT’s rebellious nature and his brutal put downs of his alma mater, do not surprise me.
    I BELIEVE THAT HAD ITS ORIGIN IN HIS HOME NOT IN CRUMPTON STREET

I gather that PLT was not among the disadvantaged HE CERTAINLY WAS NOT. HIS FATHER WAS PERHAPS THE FIRST BLACK “EYE DOCTOR” IN BARBADOS.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh BTW, @Skinner, I have a friend who bragged incessantly (and annoyingly) that EWB went to Cawmere too….based on your comment he seemingly never did (yes, I know) or didn’t put too much stock in time there?

Anyhow, it tells us that those 7-8 years spent developing into men/women carry some of the the most profound of our life’s memories.

All good. Tally ho !

24. No discussion about Barbados is complete without “wuh school yuh went to?”, usually followed by the respondent’s heaping praise of the school especially if it is one of what is considered to be a top tier school. Everyone’s recollection of their school days is different, in the “older” Secondary schools, students like water slowly found their own level and gravitated to others who were of the same socio-economic background. Groups comprising certain individuals of similar backgrounds were common and it is not rare to find that some people who were at school in roughly the same time period did not know of the others existence until they were long past those days and met later in life.

Hal A has extolled the teachers and virtues of his school while Peter has poked holes in the architecture of his. I see no reason why one should be critical of the other as both experiences are theirs and theirs alone although some revelations grow out of “Remembrances of things past” (acknowledgement to Proust).

I knew many people who attended HC, one the son of a highly placed Civil servant hated the Headmaster (tank) because Tank disapproved of what he wanted to do professionally and where he was trying to direct his efforts while he was at school. The other a product of the working class disliked the School and its administration because of what he saw as the blatant disrespect accorded to those who were of the same background that he came from.

25. @Dee Word

You should reread Tee White in context.

26. @ William,

Have you read the independence issue of New World magazine. In it Austin ‘Tom’ Clarke wrote an essay about the canal between Combermere and Harrison College of his day – now the Transport Board. I was powerful. You must also remember the social division within the schools; teachers and fellow pupils never allowed the poor kids to forget their backgrounds.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE We are all amateur psychs here
    WHAT IS AN amateur psychs ?

other Bajan Black boys who may speak often of ‘wannabees’

SUCH Bajan Black boys WHO ARE TRAINED “psychs ” CAN EASILY IDENTIFY ‘wannabees’ LIKE YOU
    lived through that same era at same school and blissfully made themselves unaware of such happenings or its impact on school life;
    SURELY THAT WAS THEIR PREROGATIVE
    SCHOOL IS JUST LIKE PLAY FOR ANIMALS. PLAY AND SCHOOL WAS FUN FOR ME

they surely fulfilled the academic potential recognized from their very early years and seemingly evolved to be disdainful of other black folk who dared question their superior intellect
    YES IT IS QUITE FUNNY WHEN YOU SOUGHT TO ARGUE WITH ME ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES AND EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

I MAKE NO APOLOGIES FOR SCOFFING AT AND MOCKING THOSE WHO CHALLENGE MY EXPERTISE AND “superior intellect”.

RE and many of them have become as ‘white’ in thought and pronouncements as their pale skin colleagues from school.
    BEING WHITE IS NOT A SIN DUMMY
    I FOUND IN BIM THAT WHITE FOLK INCLUDING MY pale skin colleagues from school HAD MORE RESPECT FOR ME AND MY ATTAINMENTS THAN Bajan Black boys .wannabees’

I NEVER LEARNED WHAT ‘white’ in thought and pronouncements WERE EITHER AT BFS WHERE THEY WERE SEVERAL WHITE BOYS IN MY CLASS OR AT KOLIJ BECAUSE VERY FEW OF THEM WERE IN MY GROUP OF FRIENDS AND AFTER SCHOOL WE DID AS IS WRITTEN IN JOHN 7:53 THUS 53 And everyone went to his own house. WE WENT BACK TO WHENCE WE CAME AND ENJOYED THE COMPANY OF OUR FRIENDS AND COMRADES IN OUR COMMUNITIES, AND PLAYED OUR BAT AND BALL, MADE AND FLEW OUR KITES OR WENT TO THE BEACH AND PELTED ROCKS AT FRUIT…….THEN WE WENT BACK TO SCHOOL THE NEXT DAY OR THE NEXT TERM.

IT WAS FUN AND SIMPLE FOR ME .

RE How many brothers and sisters in ethnicity @WSkinner, do you know from Cawmere, Lodge, QC, etc who displayed those qualities?

STUPID QUESTION FROM A STUPID MAN AND amateur psych AND ACCOMPLISHED DUMMY

I ENJOY MOCKING YOU EVER SINCE YOU TRIED TO TEACH ME ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES AND POST MORTEMS

28. The subjects taught during my sojourn at Weymouth were:
    ENGLISH language
    ENGLISH literature
    ENGLISH history
    RELIGIOUS KNOWLEDGE limited to THE ACTS by Marshall
    LATIN
    FRENCH ( I opted for SPANISH in place of Latin but was denied)
    GEOGRAPHY….The World by Dudley Stamp
    MATHEMATICS
    I share PLT’s opinions as I have always thought I was given an English Grammar School education in the Barbados of the 50’s.

29. Sargeant,

This silly discussion started with @PLT claiming HC was considered by man to be the ‘best’. I asked him to explain what he meant and he drifted in to duplicity about quotation marks. If asked why I think the St Giles of those days was the best, I will be only too glad to say why, using any metric. I won’t engage in waffle.
    But that is the Bajan way of debate: make a general statement and if asked to qualify it then drift off in to double speak, quoting Webster’s and making bogus claims for the English language.
    Let us press the government (ministry of education) to publish the full results of external exams as we used to back in the 1950s and early 60s. I was told they get the full results from the CXC; Trinidad publish theirs.
    In this way parents, pupils and fellow citizens will know how each individual school performs. Some Bajans prefer romantic claims rather than facts. So Barrow (an old Combermerian) is Father of Independence and gave us ‘free’ secondary education.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Everyone’s recollection of their school days is different, in the “older” Secondary schools, students like water slowly found their own level and gravitated to others who were of the same socio-economic background. Groups comprising certain individuals of similar backgrounds were common and it is not rare to find that some people who were at school in roughly the same time period did not know of the others existence until they were long past those days and met later in life.

THE ABOVE IS VERY TRUE
    I ENJOYED MY YEAR AT FOUNDATION AS MUCH AS THE EIGHT I SPENT AT HC
    I SPENT MANY ENJOYABLE DAYS AT CRICKET IN THE 90’S SEATED WITH EX FOUNDATION BOYS OF THE 60S IN THE GEORGE CHANELLOR STAND TALKING ABOUT SCHOOL DAYS, AND TALES OF “SPUDS” AND “JUNGLE RAT” AND “MOBY DICK”

RE I knew many people who attended HC, one the son of a highly placed Civil servant hated the Headmaster (tank)
    THIS IS ALSO VERY TRUE.
    TANK WAS ECCENTRIC AND NOT PLEASANT AS HEADMASTER. I DIDNT LIKE HIM EITHER
    BUT LATER IN LIFE I FOUND HIM AMIABLE WHEN HE ATTENDED AUCTION SALES AT BABCO

RE ‘Tom’ Clarke wrote an essay about the canal between Combermere and Harrison College of his day – now the Transport Board. I was powerful. You must also remember the social division within the schools; teachers and fellow pupils never allowed the poor kids to forget their backgrounds.

WHEREAS TOM CLARK ATTENDED HC IN A DIFFERENT ERA THAN I , IN MY TIME AT HC I CAN HONESTLY SAY THAT I NEVER SAW OR HEARD ANY teachers and fellow pupils WHO never allowed the poor kids to forget their backgrounds.

31. Poetic licence allows the creative writer to make some mischievous statements..The canal of which Clarke is quoted to have written never divided HC from Cmere.The canal follows the same course today as it did in the 40’s of Clarke’s time but such a statement would suit the man who grew up stupid under the union jack.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I have always thought I was given an English Grammar School education in the Barbados of the 50’s.
    QUESTIONS:
    WHAT WAS TAUGHT IN THE OTHER ISLANDS AND BRITISH TERRITORIES AT THE TIME?
    WAS THIS APPROPRIATE FOR THE TIME?
    SURELY YOU KNOW THAT THE CURRICULUM HAS CHANGED FROM WHAT OBTAINED IN THE 50’S AND 60’S?
    HOW DID YOUR English Grammar School education in the Barbados of the 50’s. DISADVANTAGE YOU IN LIFE?

HAVE NOT MANY BAJANS WITH SUCH A “POOR” EDUCATION NOT GONE TO ALL PARTS OF THE WORLD AND SUCEEDED?

DOES SCHOOLING NOT SERVE THE PURPOSE AS PLAY DOES FOR ANIMALS?

I AM SPEAKING AS A SECOND AND AN AMATEUR PSYC

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MY GOD GABRIEL!
    YA DIDNT HAVE TO HIT HE SO HARD!
    BUT TO THINK OF IT WEYMOUTH DRAIN OR THE DIPPY TO A NEWER GENERATION never divided HC from Cmere.
    MURDER!

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BACK TO THE PSEUDO INTELLECT AND AMATEUR PSYCH DPD

reThat is a study that is well worth the MS or PhD study on Barbadian society and as Hal proposes our education system!
    The MS or PhD study on Barbadian society that is needed is how morons come on BU AND TALK SO MUCH SHITE WHILE TAKING THEMSEVES SERIOUSLY WITH THEIR PSDEUDO INTELLECTUALISM.
    LISTEN TO THE MORON TRYING TO IMPRESS………… lads grew into the indoctrination they received: the self aggrandizement of being heralded as the smartest …having passed for the school in the first place …
    YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT! SOME OF MY CLASSMATES WERE DAMN SMART—THE SMARTEST I HAD THEN MET. I HAD NOT MET SMARTER BOYS ANYWHERE UNTIL I ENTERED HC! SUCH BOYS DID NOT NEED the self aggrandizement of being heralded as the smartest..DUMMY. THEY WERE THE SMARTEST!

SINCE THEN I HAD THE CHANCE IN MY LATE 40’S TO PLAY SOME GERIATRIC BAT AND BALL WITH SOME YOUNGER EX HC BOYS OF MY SON’S ERA AND WAS AMAZED THAT THEY TOO WERE SMART! AND THAT THEY SPOKE SIMPLE ENGLISH AND DID NOT SEEK TO IMPRESS THAT THEY HAD A VOCABULARY

SUCH BOYS WERE SMART ENOUGH NOT TO COME IN A PUBLIC FORUM AND SEEK TO ARGUE STUPIDLY WITH A SEASONED PROFESSIONAL ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES OR POST MORTEMS AS DPD—THE DUMMY DID.

THEY WOULD HAVE OFT BEEN TOLD AND REBUKED AT SCHOOL “MAN YOU CANT SAY THAT MAN”

The MS or PhD study on Barbadian society that is needed is THE EFFECT THAT BEING THE BEST AND BRIGHTEST HAS HAD ON THE DUMBEST. THE ENVY THAT THEIR PRIMARY SCHOOL FRIENDS WERE NOT DROPPED OFF AS THEY WERE AT ELLERSLIE OR CHEFFETTE HIGH, AS MY BOYS’ GENERATION USED TO CALL ST LUCY SECONDARY

The MS or PhD study on Barbadian society that is needed is THE EFFECT AND THE SCHOCK THAT TEACHERS HAVE WHEN FOR THE FIRST TIME THEY MEET DUMMIES OF THE CALIBRE OF THE BOYS I WAS ASKED TO TEACH AT ST LEONARDS IN 1974

The MS or PhD study on Barbadian society that is needed is THE PSYCHOLOGICAL SCHOCK BEING A DUMMY MUST HAVE HAD ON SOME, WHO NOW COME ON BU TRYING TO MIX IT UP WITH THOSE OF OBVIOUS SUPERIOR INTELLECT.

LISTEN TO THE MORON! HE CAN NOT HELP BUT REVEAL HIS TRUMP DERANGED SYNDROME AS HE CRITICIZES HAL

You should go do a consultancy in the PR dept. for that Barr guy!

THIS MAN DPD HAS SERIOUS PSYCHOLOGICAL PROBLEMS!………SPOKEN NOT AS AN AMATEUR PSYCH

35. and all this time i thought Barrow went to school at Lodge.

anyhow getting back to Tee White’s submission, where do we go from here? how do we, the general public, decide the direction in which we want our country to go?

do we continue in hope to vote for the DLP which often behaves indifferent when in power or should we from now on support the BLP which behaves arrogant?

or do we vote in a third party and start anew?

36. Georgie Porgie

Sir, if you taught at St. Leonard’s in 1974 then you ought to have remember Mr. Archer, Mr. Danial the head master, Mr. Phillips the Duty head master, Mr Dottin and the Calypsonian Adonijah who taught round about the same time as you did …

And GP, for your information: a lot of the students you taught at St. Leonard’s in 1974 were some of Barbados most notorious criminals like Peter Bradshaw … And many others from Bush Hall …

37. anyhow getting back to Tee White’s submission, where do we go from here? how do we, the general public, decide the direction in which we want our country to go?

It isn’t for the general public to decide nor for that matter the GOB!!

It is for the people who can seize the day and make an honest living providing opportunities for the general public.

The public will follow once they see it work and if the GOB has any sense it will keep its hands off this time around!!

38. @John

Yours is an empty position. The people are gripped in a political system divorce from the needs of the people. The people know their personal needs which do not always align with national priorities. This is where leadership should rise. This is what is lacking.

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re It is for the people who can seize the day and make an honest living providing opportunities for the general public. The public will follow once they see it work

SURELY THIS IS LEADERSHIP

40. Freedom Crier Avatar

John May 7, 2019 11:59 AM

anyhow getting back to Tee White’s submission, where do we go from here? how do we, the general public, decide the direction in which we want our country to go?

RE…”It isn’t for the general public to decide nor for that matter the GOB!!

It is for the people who can seize the day and make an honest living providing opportunities for the general public.

The public will follow once they see it work and if the GOB has any sense it will keep its hands off this time around!!

Agreed John your thinking is the difference between a Free Market Capitalism and Socialism”…

Socialist/Leftists’ behavior is utterly illogical to a degree one might call unscientific. Their irrationality is based on illusory knowledge — i.e., knowledge acquired through a system of beliefs, expressed by well-known authorities (Marx, Engels, Lenin, Bernstein, Stalin, Hitler, Trotsky, Mao, and many others). Socialist/Leftists’ acquired their false, Utopian beliefs throughout the entire history of human civilization. Their undisputed belief of multiplying wealth by dividing it (i.e., by redistributing it by force) was the basis of numerous failed social experiments.

To avoid any confusion, let us provide adequate definitions of socialism (promoted by left-wing ideology) and its antithesis, capitalism (promoted by the free-market, or conservative, ideology).

Socialism is a state of society where most wealth, either de jure or de facto, belongs to a government.

Capitalism is a state of society where most wealth, both de jure and de facto, belongs to its citizens.

Communism is a Utopian state of society where all wealth, both de jure and de facto, belongs to a government.

The adherents of both Socialist and Conservative philosophy have knowledge; however, the Socialist got their knowledge from the system of beliefs, while Conservatives got their knowledge from the trial-and-error development of human civilization. As historian Lee Edwards noted, socialism is “a pseudo-religion grounded in pseudo-science and enforced by political tyranny.”

Conservatives (Free Market Capitalist) are, the creators and multipliers of wealth, are condemned to an agitated coexistence with, the divided Socialist/Leftists’of wealth, forever, just as Good is continually confronted by Evil.

As in a social life where leftism is the ideology of mostly lumpen (lazy bums), autocrats, and elites, the pseudo-science feeds on real science as left-wingers feed on civilization built mostly by Conservatives (Free Market Capitalist).

https://www.facebook.com/FrederickDouglassAmericanHero/photos/a.309430002529568/1367391426733415/?type=3&theater

41. Politics is the domain of the influential who through legislation dictate the lives of powerless and voiceless with the help of the poor for the benefit of rich and powerful

42. Socialism is a state of society where most wealth, either de jure or de facto, belongs to a government.
    Capitalism is a state of society where most wealth, both de jure and de facto, belongs to its citizens.
    Communism is a Utopian state of society where all wealth, both de jure and de facto, belongs to a government.(Quote)

To describe socialism and communism as one and the same says a lot about the believer, the sort of stuff you get on US radio programmes..

43. Hal,

perhaps “Utopian” is the big difference

44. @ Greene,

‘Utopianism’ has a definite meaning in political philosophy.

45. Utopian socialism is a label used to define the first currents of modern socialist thought as exemplified by the work of Henri de Saint-Simon, Charles Fourier, Étienne Cabet and Robert Owen. Utopian socialism is often described as the presentation of visions and outlines for imaginary or futuristic ideal societies, with positive ideals being the main reason for moving society in such a direction. Later socialists and critics of utopian socialism viewed “utopian socialism” as not being grounded in actual material conditions of existing society and in some cases as reactionary. These visions of ideal societies competed with Marxist-inspired revolutionary social democratic movements. The term is most often applied to those socialists who lived in the first quarter of the 19th century who were ascribed the label “utopian” by later socialists as a pejorative in order to imply naiveté and to dismiss their ideas as fanciful and unrealistic. A similar school of thought that emerged in the early 20th century is ethical socialism, which makes the case for socialism on moral grounds.(Quote)

46. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Getting back to Tee White’s excellent submission “… we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over.”

Neither Keynesian economic model which was dominant between about 1940 and about 1980, nor the Hayek based neoliberal economic model which has been ascendant for the past 40 years is going to be of any use to us for social and economic development in Barbados in 2019. The IMF and BERT are still based on neoliberal ideology and that is the root of their weakness.

Keynes’s economic prescriptions came to prominence after the stock market crash of 1929 and the Great Depression that followed; after WW2 poverty relief and low unemployment were common goals, top tax rates were high and most governments sought social equity outcomes by developing new public services and safety nets. This consensus started to break down in the mid 1970s with oil price shocks, economic stagnation and increasing government deficits. This created the opening where neoliberal ideas gained credence under Thatcher and Reagan: stomping on trade unions, deregulation across the economy, privatisation of public services, big hikes in user fees for things that were previously subsidised.

Neoliberalism’s bankruptcy was made clear by the economic crisis of 2008, but it limps along because no dominant alternative has emerged.

We cannot get to prosperity through Keynesian high tax rates, nor can we get to prosperity through neoliberal slashing of tax rates.

We need a new model. I’ve frequently heard fragments on BU that could be amalgamated into a new model; these often come up in conjunction with discussions about changing governance models. Changing governance models to make us less beholden to a corrupt government as well as less vulnerable to a corrupt private sector point the way towards the insight that we also need to rescue our economy from both the government and the private sector in parallel fashion.

If we are going to reduce our dependence on both the government and the private sector, then what institutions do we need to build to lead us out of our current mess? The fragments that I have come across on BU and elsewhere suggest that we need to build civil society organisations akin to cooperatives as the major engines of economic activity in Barbados.

47. @Hal A
    To describe socialism and communism as one and the same says a lot about the believer, the sort of stuff you get on US radio programmes.

++++++++++++
    To be more precise US radio right wing call in programmes or Conservative radio

It always amuses me when at the end of the submission they place a quotation by a black intellectual, Frederick Douglas is a favourite even though the man they admire in the WH didn’t know if he was dead or alive.

48. Neither Keynesian economic model which was dominant between about 1940 and about 1980, nor the Hayek based neoliberal economic model which has been ascendant for the past 40 years is going to be of any use to us for social and economic development in Barbados in 2019. The IMF and BERT are still based on neoliberal ideology and that is the root of their weakness.(Quote)

Is this accurate economic history or just a personal idea? Which country had a policy of Keynesian economics in 1940? I neoliberalism based on Hayekian heterodox theories? Are you sure? Plse elaborate.

Neoliberalism limps along because no dominant alternative has emerged (Quote). Are you sure? What has been the dominant macroeconomic theory since 2008?

49. And here we are again – the usual !

The Jungle Crew is on the prowl! Survival of the fittest! Or the most crooked and avaricious and ruthless! Or eventually just the richest.

If capitalists would only pay workers what they are worth we wouldn’t be having this discussion. How is it that workers actually do the producing that creates the capitalists’ wealth and every year they capitalists and their CEO’s get richer and the workers get poorer. Nobody thinks workers should get rich without stepping out of the assembly line. But they should be allowed a larger share of the wealth that they help to create! The gap should not be getting wider and wider every year!

And we all know that the free market could never be free when with great wealth comes great power forever skewing the system in your favour.

For instance, has anyone noticed how Facebook keeps eating up anyone who ventures into the arena?

And why is it that when banks etc that become “too big to be allowed to fail” do fail the taxpayer must bail them out only to see the abusers rise again to continue their abuse?

And does not Amazon use the workers educated through the public system to create its wealth? Does Amazon not use the infrastructure paid for by the taxpayers to ship its goods? How about the police force and fire service? Does Amazon not expect to use these services as needed? Why should they not pay taxes for their usage?

Why is it then that Amazon did not wish to pay any taxes to NYC for the use of its facilities?

But Jeff Bezos, sitting in some air-conditioned boardroom where HIS BROW DOES NOT SWEAT AT ALL is somehow deemed to be alone in his CREATION OF THE WEALTH HE POSSESSES. What could one man do to deserve 800 billion USD?

Talk about blinded by ideology????? You are so blind you cannot even see yourself.

50. @PLT

i posted something comparable but with less words-

—–Tee White,

not a bad submission at all.

but it seems to me something is missing.

if Bim has not yet reached the point where social programs are gutted why protest against something that may not occur?

beyond that, what are your alternatives to what is labelled as neo liberalism whereby the rich get richer and the poor get rhetoric?

i posit that neo liberalism (the feudal system) is nothing novel. we just got blinded by a short period – the FDR and LBJ years- when unions and the politics of the day, much to the chagrin of the rich, managed to wrestle away a small piece of the pie for workers. other than that, the feudal system, dressed up in the language of the day, has always been with us—–

man that must be the difference between HC and Cawmere-lol

nonetheless i agree to a large extent with your solution such as it is.

BTW- i enjoyed my school days hahaha