Austerity is defined as a set of economic policies a government implements to control public sector debt. Austerity measures are the response of a government whose public debt is so large that the risk of default, or the inability to service the required payments on its debt obligations, becomes a real possibility. Default risk can spiral out of control quickly; as an individual, company or country slips further into debt, lenders will charge a higher rate of return for future loans, making it more difficult for the borrower to raise capital.

Source: Investopedia

One of the outcomes from an austerity program is criticism from those impacted. This blogmaster addressed the climate at play in the local environment in which BERT is being aggressively implemented by the government – The Rhetoric of Austerity.

Until there is improvement in the economy which took a precipitous dive under the last DLP administration, it is the right of the people and other stakeholders in civil society to express concerns. As always, government’s mandate is to implement policies to breath and sustain life in the economy and supporting sectors.

So far the Barbados austerity program has been following the script. The blogmaster has added our dissenting voice to those criticizing the prime minister for allowing her father to be conferred a knighthood. Against the background of the imbroglio of waiver of tax penalties to Elliot Mottley. And of recent the significant hike in the bus fare, a measure that will impact the most vulnerable in the society. Government’s remit will never change, the vulnerable MUST be protected – Pay the $3.50 or Alternatively Drink the Poison.

Another enduring criticism of the Mia Mottley led administration since the unprecedented mandate from the people on May 24, 2018 has been the size of her Cabinet. It is easily the largest in the world per capita in the world. Mottley’s response at the time of the announcement was – “Given the dire state of our economy and the tremendous work that would be involved in rescuing and rebuilding this country, the salaries of a few extra ministers is relatively insignificant given that there will be tremendous savings from the containment of wastage and the curtailment of corruption in my Cabinet”.

An effective Opposition should file Mottley’s promise and use it to measure government’s performance of the country in the coming months.  In  summary, if the Prime Minister holds the view that many hands make light work, during a time of austerity the optics of decisions and the uninspiring and demotivating influence they may be having must be evaluated AND reassessed if the situation demands it. Does the political reward of employing an unprecedented number of ministers, supported by a bevy of consultants worth the risk of voter disaffection?

The point about the size of the Cabinet is important, it will continue to generate criticism for another reason. The Prime Minister to her credit has demonstrated a high work rate since assuming the office. This cannot be refuted by a simple measure if compared to  a slothful predecessor. She is leading the CSME project, meeting with IMF, World bank and other global players and the list is long. What is disturbing is that Prime Minister Mottley has had to insert her presence into many ministries to lead the narrative or resolve ‘disputes’. Why should she have a large Cabinet if she is always exerting the influence of being in primus inter pares mode?

One example that should give the Prime Minster pause is the meeting called recently with stakeholders in the transport sector. A meeting to deal with the public backlash to the $3.50 bus far hike. Another meeting she had to intervene.

Prime Minister Mottley continues to enjoy good public support informed by the fact John Citizen is aware tough measures have to be taken. And a discombobulated Opposition. Mottley will have to tread clearly to ensure her policies do not create so much opposition that it railroads what she is attempting to do. Perhaps a midterm reshuffle is in the offing.

A word to the Prime Minister should be enough.

325 responses to “An Invisible Mottley Cabinet”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Artax…does this make sense to you…a friend of mine is actually negatively impacted by the actions regarding that same disability benefit….don’t you think it made sense to post what is going around so we can not only have a discussion…but arrive at the truth of what is really going on…although i already know what is happening..

…. your mission should you accept is to educate us with further information…

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I will even help you along, my friend is not a pensioner, still working, still have another 9 years to go for pension…so explain why those who need disability benefits are ALSO having a problem..

3. I noticed the Transport Board has advertised for General Manager. The successful candidate must possess:

(1). A minimum qualification of a Bachelor’s Degree in business or related discipline.

(2). A minimum of five (5) years senior management experience, preferably in the transportation industry.

Given TB’s poor choices for General Managers over the years, I was surprised the prerequisites did not include transport economics, public transport planning and management or even logistics.

Could this be a case of the BLP wanting to recruit their version of the DLP’s Sandra Forde?

4. As usual the backtracking starts. Popcorn in hand.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

rope in one hand…cross in the next…

#knockknockwhoisthere

6. Artax
    Dem degrees you list available in Bdos? In any event I dont think a specific degree is necessary but the person’s track record in managing change, operations etc. Given the ‘expertise’ on BU, that person may very well be here.🤣🤣🤣

7. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Could this be a case of the BLP wanting to recruit their version of the DLP’s Sandra Forde?”

does DBLP duopoly know any other way…no, they don’t.

8. I think what happened is that the invalidity benefit was deducted from the pension from the Treasury so that a person would receive no more than what their pension would have been. This was determined years ago but wasn’t enforced. Is it now being enforced?

9. I expected you to “say” you “already know what is happening,” so that comment did not come as a surprise.

What actually surprised me is you mentioning your “friend” is receiving a disability benefit……. and is STILL working. If that “friend” is receiving a disability benefit from NIS, then, I find it difficult to believe he/she is still working.

What makes sense to me is, if you had actually posted the comments to solicit discussion and “arrive at the truth of what is really going on,” you would not have prefaced the post with: “More for the yardfowls to fret about, the lights are on.”

As far as I’m aware, the only problem individuals receiving disability benefits are having is their cheques are late in forthcoming.

Perhaps you may want to enlighten BU about these “problems.”

Since you posted the comment, you already “accepted the mission” and the onus is on you to “educate us further.”

But I have already anticipated your response…….. “IARKWIGOAIANGTS”……. or something to that effect.

However, I’m not in the mood to engage in a useless “back and forth” with you today, which won’t get us anywhere or would BU “be the wiser.”

As such, I will respectfully yield to your superior knowledge and wisdom.

10. I should have said wasn’t enforced immediately. I thought they had done so a while back though.

11. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Edghill from NIS scam is now at Transport Board….someone opined…that was FAST..lol

I repeat…does DBLP duopoly of thieves and crooks know any better….i repeat…NO..lol

Art…ya wasting way too much time..

12. Ian Gooding Edghill is the new chairman of the state-owned Transport Board.

13. Ian Gooding-Edghill
    HR Director at Elegant Hotels
    Barbados
    Hospitality

14. Waru it seems to me you have been caught spreading half truths yet again by Artax.It is time for you to stop with this petty behaviour and comment on what you know as a fact instead of copy and pasting other persons comments and rushing to present them as facts.Now you want Artax to connect the dots for you.You and the rest of the tag team needs to take a break only making yourselves especially you look stupid.

15. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239580/gooding-edghill-appointed-chair-transport-board

yardfowl…look for ya own kind to dialogue with…ah don’t even want to be seen commenting back and forth with yall anymore…am repulsed…something that is not easy to do to me…but yall repulse me…

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Just a general question for anyone who can answer….do yall have anyone else for the Nation government pimp Newspaper to contact…lol…just give me a headsup next time …aight…

17. @ Artax, ” did not include transport economics, public transport planning and management or even logistics.”

They can hire three consultants with those qualifications. Many hands make light work.

18. Enuff

RE: ““Dem degrees you list available in Bdos?”

You are an intelligent man and I cannot believe you asked that question.

Firstly, UWI offers a MSc Transport Economics.

Secondly, they are many people employed in the civil service with “degrees” that did not originate in Barbados or at UWI Cave Hill. For example, your own Marsha Caddle, who is listed as a “developmental economist,” is a Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment and has a MSc Economics from the Universidad Católica, Santo Domingo.

What about people who win “island scholarships” and “exhibitions” who, rather than attending UWI, opt to attend universities abroad……. some of whom return to Barbados and contribute to the development of the island.

RE: “In any event I don’t think a specific degree is necessary but the person’s track record in managing change, operations etc.”

Do you believe your above comment is specific to TB or in general?

As I previously mentioned, given the poor choices for managers at TB and its consistent deterioration over the years, I don’t believe recruiting a “specialist” would do TB any harm in the short or long terms.

RE: “As usual the backtracking starts. Popcorn in hand.”

It has become the norm and is expected.

19. Disappointed Avatar

The Barbadian populase allows the politicians to prostitute them as they please. Not a fucking fella will be held accountable. Michael Lashley cousin who was the chairman used his personal credit card to buy goods and services for transport board. Talk about over-invoicing and corruption.

Permits was sold for $10,000 and my boss at BRA refused to do anything about the rumors.
    Over 200 permits were issued by DLP
    The Police Financial Intelligance Unit and the DPP have access to the information but police compromised
    With the rumors of communication interception of passwords, messages text you mean not a politician going to jail.

Hope my green papers come true before shit hit fan

20. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“It has become the norm and is expected.”

better believe it, especially when the riffraff have all these grandiose delusions of grandeur and all these elaborately designed les plans directeurs……for a whole goddamn population….

……and let’s NOT FORGET all the INDIVIDUAL setups…where NO ONE IS SAFE ….that has become the norm…that have produced thousands of unaware victims who never knew they had been set up…by trash posing as human.

21. Donna

RE: “I think what happened is that the invalidity benefit was deducted from the pension from the Treasury so that a person would receive no more than what their pension would have been. This was determined years ago but wasn’t enforced. Is it now being enforced?

Yes, Donna………. apparently, it’s now being enforced.

And, as far as I’m aware, if you’re receiving an invalidity benefit from NIS you are not supposed to be “still working,” unless that “rule” has been changed recently.

There is a friend of mine who retired from the Fire Service medically unfit; I’m also acquainted with several police officers who also retired from the RBPF medically unfit. They are all receiving invalidity benefits from NIS. Some of these individuals have been offered jobs performing security services on either a part-time of full-time basis….. and have refused in fear of losing their benefits and having to repay what they already received.

What I find disturbing is certain vulnerable groups are not represented appropriately. For example, I know of a lady who worked as a Maid at a private residence for 40 years. After having to under horrible conditions at hands of her “mistress,” such as having to go on her hands and knees to scrub floors with a scrubbing brush. Although she was in pin from arthritis, this lady tried as much as she could to work because of her bills, but she had to retire medically unfit.

Do you believe it’s fair because she was forced to retire medically unfit, her former employer is not obligated to pay her severance for 40 years of service? And to make matters worse, her former employer did not “pay in” all of her NIS contributions, which meant her IB was calculated at less than it would have been if those contributions had been remitted?

22. @Artax

No you are not suppose to work if receiving invalidity benefit.

23. Lorenzo u can include yourself in the stupidity category after your insipd comments about banning

24. Waru any kind is better than your kind a liar and strife maker would not be caught dead associating with you.Put that in ya pipe and smoke it.As for Mariposa this is David BU, site and I would not come on here and disrespect the person permitting me to blog here,it would be like going in someone,s house and disrespecting them.What kind of crazy person does that?As I have stated David is a very tolerable man because had it been me,all like you would know which god you serving every since but it is David,s blog and I commend his patience.

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Too bad the change in strategy CAN’T WORK…

#nowheretorunorhide

26. Whatever has transpired at the TB to have forced Nicholls to resign it is a good sign people are being held accountable. We wait…

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    what an interesting submission
    “Whatever has transpired at the TB to have forced Nicholls to resign……… it is a good sign people are being held accountable”
    May the opposite not be true…..that whatever transpired, people were NOT being held to account….hence the resignation?

Hoping the ‘provisional report from the special audit by the AudG’ is dropped off by mistake in your inbox LOL

28. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

The International Court for Arbitration in Sport ( CAS ) has ruled that female athlete Caster Semenya has to take medication to lower her testosterone levels !

Since PM Mia Mottley – mekking sport with Bajans – does the CAS ruling bound her as well ?

Just asking for a friend.

29. Artax, should NIS not gone after that employer and made her pay up with interest, plus a fine. That is how it is done in other countries. CRA would have been after her like white on rice. I miscalculated my remittances in 1983 for a domestic and they came and did an audit and went through my paperwork. I got off without fines because I was submitting my portion the same as the employees. Mine should have been one and one half times the employee contribution. Simple mistake, but an audit non the less.

30. Artax
    Yes, I don’t believe a transport related degree is required to effectively manage the TB. What is needed is the right technical staff and a GM to get the best out of the drivers, mechanics, transport planners, schedulers etc. The head of Transport for London is a chartered surveyor. I never knew UWI offered transport econ.

31. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Northern Observer

“…Before you ask me if I have read the SB website, the answer is yes.

In fact, I re-read it in the last hour, and for the life of me I cannot discover, where is the indication, or explanation, “why our calculations cannot be publicly shared”

That is because AS PETER LAWRENCE THOMPSON WENT TO PAINS TO EXPLAIN, none it the information that lied Grenville would wish to suggest exists IN FACT EXISTS!!!

You are having smoke blown up your pooch

32. Dame Bajans

RE: “……..should NIS not gone after that employer and made her pay up with interest, plus a fine?

Yes……….under ordinary circumstances.

A problem arises when unscrupulous employees refuse to issue pay-slips to their employees, which creates a difficulty in determining if NI contributions were actually deducted from their salaries or wages. Additionally, many employees are unaware there is a system at NI, whereby any individual could assess his/her account, on-line, to verify if their NI contributions are being remitted to the NIS.

However, the BWU decided to take on the plight of domestic workers, after several maids and their families shared troubling experiences of inhumane treatment by employers.

On September 1, 2018, while addressing the 77th Annual Delegates’ Conference at Solidarity House, BWU’s General Secretary Toni Moore, “declared intentions to demand Government ratify and implement Convention 189 of the International Labour Organisation as it officially takes up the fight to attain decent and fairer working conditions for domestic workers.”

I believe pay-slips and treatment on the job will be among the issues to be discussed.

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ my Dearest SSS

Much has transpired here on Barbados Underground which leaves one aghast but…

My new email address is available from the Honourable Blogmaster

They had compromised the old email and password so…

Mr Blackman is a good man but he is not a young man so we have to forgive him.

You have noticed the remarks from the pooch licker?

Girl dem frighten bad by us

And they don’t want us communicating among ourselves because that would lick dem up

Podcasts and Simulcasts

They understand that Mugabe is a 5 year term so it is imperative to get us banned or disillusioned and to give up

2 weeks ago I was going to do precisely that

Just stop!!

I had blogged my final blog

And I said that was it

I was tired intellectualizing tired cajoling, tired pointing out the crookery, tired wukking with the grandson with the fliers and biopics

I was tired with the sheeple

So I emailed the Honourable Blogmaster the article and just paused

That was around the time you cussed him out

That happened and then …

So de ole man heah still but this is a very hard burden SSS

34. Enuff

RE: “Yes, I don’t believe a transport related degree is required to effectively manage the TB. What is needed is the right technical staff and a GM to get the best out of the drivers, mechanics, transport planners, schedulers etc.”

Okay, if that’s your case, then surely you’ll agree there isn’t really a need for hiring Drs. Mascoll, Persaud and Greenidge as consultant economists in the Ministry of Finance, when technical advice could have been provided by the Director of Finance, his staff and the Governor of the Central Bank.

As I previously mentioned, I don’t believe TB would be affected in the long or short terms if, especially at this time, a specialist is recruited as GM.

35. “No you are not suppose to work if receiving invalidity benefit.”

David BU

I know this to be the case. However, you can’t blame me if I became curious because of the following comments:

“………..a friend of mine is actually negatively impacted by the actions regarding that same disability benefit……. “my friend is NOT a pensioner, STILL WORKING, still have another 9 years to go for pension…”

And this is one of the reasons why I prefer to tread carefully.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    “I noticed the Transport Board has advertised for General Manager. The successful candidate must possess”

I missed this earlier. But the request for applications was made on Jan 2, 2019, closing on Jan 18,2019. To be sent to “The Chairman”. So if they haven’t hired somebody as of May 2019, the process may now begin again? Wasn’t the tender for the EB’s post January?

37. @Northern Observer

Have you seen this Whatsapp message making the rounds?

Hey , Bim me here again I told you this morning about Happy Mia Day and how it came about .
    Today, while Toni was at BWU the board of TB was meeting to discuss what they already are aware of. Jokers
    I also read online a comment which I sharing with you from the former chairman of the TB. Well very reliable sources at UCAL are reporting that Gregory Nicholls has interest in a company that was started opposite ICBL for the repair of buses.
    Alliance was once owned by a man who is now dead David Inniss while the garage they operate from also belongs to a man who is dead too, Patrick Carter, two dead men and a living business doing repairs to buses. So Mia tell Gregory to stop talking online as he can’t shift the reality that a company called Alliance really does exist so I passed to check for myself.

38. How can a member of par lament, chairman of the NIS, and allegedly a pad employee of Elegant Hotels, be appointed chairman of the Transport Board?
    Something is wrong. Where are the voices in protest?

39. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I liked that master plan yesterday, only thing that went wrong with it, too many people have been ALREADY EXPOSED to yall master plans of DECADES WORTH OF SETUPS against your people …so it’s now kinda ..OLD…OVERUSED…

ah know yall and ya yardfowls have been left kinda, sorta SPEECHLESS…but thanks for the try..

one would have thought that yall would have learned something after what yall maliciously did to poor Dr. Roleric Hinds..

40. Saw a comment somewhere about debt to GDP ratio falling below 100%. What does this tells us?
    Here are some old GDP statistics. Note Greece’s, Japan’s and Italy’s ratios.
    Belgium at 105.4%
    France at 116.1%
    Greece at 188.2%
    Ireland at 132%
    Italy at 147.4%
    Japan at 232.5%
    Portugal at 142.2%
    Spain at 111.5%
    The United Kingdom at 103.1%

Could ut be that our economy is so small that the usual metrics do not really apply to us?

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Some still don’t know their place in the pecking order of the world’s food chain..

shite titles and delusions of grandeur got them dizzy…thinking they got some kinda powers..lol

besides…ah heard that the honeymoon period has finally dried right up, so reality should now become part of their daily lives..

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal

The elders have a way with proverbs yuh know. Is is that “many hands make light work” or the “devil will find work for idle hands” …….

43. NorthernObserver

RE: “I missed this earlier. But the request for applications was made on Jan 2, 2019, closing on Jan 18,2019.”

The most recent Transport Board’s General Manager vacancy ad was printed in the Sunday, April 28, 2019 edition of the “Sunday Sun,” and “the closing date for all applications will be May 6, 2019.”

It is interesting to note Ian Gooding-Edghill was Chairman of the Transport Board under the former Owen Arthur led BLP administration.

44. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“many hands make light work”

president Enuff had us going with that one for a minute…11 months and a thousand consultants later to tell president Enuff what to do…, paid for by taxpayers of course…with one consultant getting a whopping US85,000 PER MONTH..the results of which we are yet to see…TAXPAYERS money paid in 11 months that could have bought buses..

ah wonder how many more taxpayer paid consultants HANDS they need to “make light work” and actually get something useful done..

US85,000 dollars a month appears to be nicely syphoned off..and we are yet to see WHY.

45. Artax

Disablement Benefit and Invalidity Benefit are two different things. One can work while receiving a disablement benefit but not while receiving invalidity benefit. The thing is, one can receive an Invalidity benefit because one is unable to continue in a particular job full time but still be able to do a little thing for yourself to supplement the slim pickings. For instance, one may not be able to handle a teaching job in a school but one could handle giving lessons to a couple of well-behaved children for a couple of hours. Or one might be unable to stand on one’s feet all day baking in a bakery but one might be able to bake a few loaves of sweet bread one day a week and have your family and friends purchase them. The invalidity benefit regulations tend to condemn some people to living under financial stress for the rest of their lives. I was recently told a story of a woman who served in her mother’s village shop for a few hours while her mother went to town and was warned and even worse a woman who was clipping her own hedge and was warned that invalids can’t cut hedges. She now has to pay a man out of her meagre invalidity benefit to cut her hedge. I still can’t believe that one but the person who told me swore she was being truthful. I am wondering if growing vegetables in cans to reduce one’s food bill would be permitted. It requires very little physical effort if the cans are elevated.

I think these things and a lot more need to be revisited.

46. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Yes Donna..

47. @Donna

In the invalidity scenario it is recommended those people communicate with the NIS to avoid any complications.

48. They understand that Mugabe is a 5 year term so it is imperative to get us banned or disillusioned and to give up

2 weeks ago I was going to do precisely that.

Just stop!!

I had blogged my final blog

And I said that was it

I was tired intellectualizing tired cajoling, tired pointing out the crookery, tired wukking with the grandson with the fliers and biopics

I was tired with the sheeple.

Well…. I would say that if what you are saying is true then you should continue. And if it is not then you should stop.

On another blog you said this……..

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right April 30, 2019 9:01 PM

My whole long boring blog, obe which Goering and Lexicunt dont like, is not directed at you specifically Donna, as much as it wishes to point out to other people the dangers of this BLOGGING thing

And simple innocent clicks!!!

And I said this……

Well now I am confused!

Seems to me that you were doing way more than pointing out potential dangers. You were saying that the process of collecting the information is underway.

Sooo…. have you evidence that the process is underway or not?

See, I believe that the only ethical way to counteract lies is by speaking the truth.

I do NOT believe that the ends justifies the means.

PS. I know very well that it was not directed at me alone. I am saying that if what you are saying is true then I am not worried about myself.

49. David,

And who will make the determination as to whether you are crossing an arbitrary line?

50. Like you said Donna if it is some light work earning harmless income no issue but make sure better than cock sure.