ECONOMIST SIR FRANK ALLEYNE says one of the reasons why Barbados was in the current economic mess was the country’s failure to pay workers based on productivity. Sir Frank, one of the Freundel Stuart administration’s trusted advisers, said yesterday that had the various governments followed through on the productivity focus after the 1991 economic crisis, many of the problems the country faced might have been alleviated. […] Sir Frank said the centrepiece of the structural adjustment programme was productivity enhancement.
Prior to May 24, 2018 the constant national refrain was that the economic and social state of the country had deteriorated to an unacceptable level. This position was punished by the electorate in unprecedented manner with the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) being inflicted with a 30-0 defeat. The simple tranlation of the result, the people are not happy.
It should be of concern to sensible Barbadians everywhere the vitriolic and uninformed political debate which has emerged in recent years. It is a predictable debate and often sees a predictable response by incumbent governments. The politically aware have stated the primary job of a political party is to find a way to stoke popularity.
In a well meaning democracy the needs of the people should be the prime objective. There are listed as being able to promote unity and tranquillity in the domestic space, ensure justice for all, defense and safeguard the welfare and liberty of all the people – What is the purpose of government?. The opposite view is that no government is perfect in the vision or execution. How we govern is a man made construct and susceptible to the fallibility of man.
A couple weeks ago the blogmaster was motivated to write about the predictability to what has translated to a worrying crime situation. The same can be transposed to how we have and continue to govern ourselves. This blogmaster has been at the dashboard from 2007 and have been positioned to view the workings of political operatives having reason to interact with prime ministers, senators, ministers in government, surrogates, political talking heads et al. They operate with the same intent. They are driven by greed and an a destructive value system.
Barbados is a tiny island and if well managed with realistic objectives should satisfy the purpose of government. Instead we have allowed behaviours to be greatly influenced by popular culture. This has created the recurring dysfunction of government we have become mired. This week we learned about the many many PSV permits the outgoing government issued before demitting office -on the most profitable routes. A portfolio led by Michael Lashley. Prior, this blogmaster is aware of many PSV permits issued by Gline Clarke. We are aware there was financial benefit accrued to decision makers. This is one example of how greed and corruption as eventually led to an insolvent Transport Board taxpayers are left holdoing the bag.
Look in the mirror people!
Sensible Barbadians should have the capacity to view how systems of government are in decline across the globe. If we fail to show the courage to disrupt the current trajectory there is a predictable inevitability to how it will end for us.
In an situation where austerity measures have to be taken, one expects constituents being impacted to voice concern. One also expects the government charged with managaing the process to admoister it as humanely as practicable. As important is for civil society to be resonsible in voicing feedback.
It seems to this blogmaster we are in danger of being subsumed by a destructive rhetoric motivated by egocentric thinking.
351 responses to “The Rhetoric of Austerity”
Enuff
PSVs strike over a number of issues, including a call for increased bus fare.
Government increases bus fare to $3.50.
PSV oweners/drivers announce they will charge school children the full $3.50.
School starts back, new bus fare implemented and PSVs cry out about the siginificant depletion in the number of school children passengers, while the free TB buses are rammed with school children.
Long delays for all passengers on TB routes.
PSVs agree to take $2.50 from school children on day 3 of the new fare.
General bus fare remains $3.50 and all bulk purchases are now $3 per ride.
New buses, route manager role for TB, cashless system, integrated public transport etc all on the way.
Unsanitary and unsightly terminals are being cleaned and painted.
Any of the many BU experts want to explain and discuss what’s emerging in terms of our public transport system as a whole? 20 points.
#nocomments
Loading…
Donna
On the contrary, just last week I told Piece that I am not in favour of his sensationalist name calling style, his continued derogatory references to her sexual orientation etc etc etc. I have never sought to belittle or berate anyone for expressing reasoned support for her policies. My beef is with hero worship, outright lies, deceptive omissions and cockadoodledos!
But I was expecting you to come with that. That and NOTHING ELSE.
Now away with you! I am matching my pea brain with a brain that could possibly be bigger than mine. There is that possibility, of course. We shall see if that brain works for the common good or has ulterior motives.
Loading…
Donna
Dear Enuff,
Ms. Mottley told me to give her my vote and watch her. I am for once in my life determined to be very obedient. I opined on another blog that this could be a brilliant negotiating move to allow PSV operators to act responsibly. It appears that they didn’t but came to the realization that their bottom line would be affected if they did not.
( I was travelling on a van and heard that from the driver.) Let us also give kudos to the school children whom I saw standing at the bus stops and waiting or walking and the adults who stood in the van stand declaring that they were not standing up in a van and being rammed for that price.
But there is still an issue that needs fixing and I will be watching that too!
And I am not even speaking of the vampire that is killing us – the corruption in government.
Loading…
Sargeant
A public transportation system in shambles, the previous Gov’t introduced free bus fares for all students travelling on TB buses. The new Gov’t imposed a fare hike of almost 100% for all commuters on PSV and TB vehicles, the Gov’t didn’t anticipate that the higher fare would cause a stampede to the TB buses by those students who may have been absorbing the cost of the old fare and the new fare would be an insurmountable burden.
Result? The few TB buses already imperiled by frequent breakdowns and lack of capacity are overwhelmed by the volume of student passengers that want to take advantage of the “free” fares and those who are left standing at the bus stops loudly complain that they are unable to afford the new fare on the PSVs.
For zero points can any Gov’t apologist explain the Gov’ts handling of this situation?
“But speaking to Barbados TODAY this afternoon, the irate owners said the contract stipulated that they pay 12.5 per cent of their earnings to Government. They said during Wednesday’s meeting at Government Headquarters PSV owners had suggested that they pay five per cent.
However, they said the Prime Minister dismissed that figure and countered by offering 15 per cent.
The owners said Mottley eventually settled on the 12.5 per cent figure.
They contended that they should not have to pay such a high price for helping Government.”
Loading…
Donna
Now back to Tron,
Are you aware what Greece’s main problem was? It was the tax system.
We have a proliferation of professionals who have evaded paying taxes, according to a former Commissioner of Inland Revenue who complained about the slap on the wrist the courts administered to them when he took action against them. These were mainly, doctors and lawyers many of whom were educated on the taxpayers’ dollar. There are many others but these are, I suspect, the ones who haul in the most money and whose education was the most costly. These would also be more likely to be in the inner circle of the politicians and the judicial officers.
How is Ms. Mottley doing with that one?
Loading…
Lorenzo
Sarge I would expect that shite response from you.Earlier you were mentioning Thomson,s legacy ,what legacy is that?.In my view Mr Thompson believed that he was entitled to become PM,and after running away from a certain defeat in 2003 returned to oust Mr Mascoll who started to rebuild the party.He had no clue about running anything,told a lot of half truths like Mr Arthur being in bed with the IMF,which he never proved and some St John Development Plan,along with his alleged invovolvement with Clico etc.Therefore you ridiculing Ms Mottley but praising ,in my view a pretender,shows you Dems are an amazing set of people,go take a long rest j/a,you still bitter over your redwash.You got a lot of braying to do ,as I stated Ms Mottley found a country in disarray due to your party,s inepitiude and has her work cut out to bring the country back and unlike the last PM listens to the people and takes action if necessary.
Loading…
Sargeant
@Lorenzo
It is not my fault that when I wrote about Thompson’s legacy of “free” bus fares you didn’t recognize satire unless it is accompanied by a smiley face or a “lol”.
Funny that you brought up Mr. Mascoll in relation to Thompson, do you know who supplied Thompson with the damaging information re “ Hardwood” when Mascoll joined arms with Arthur? I leave that for you to ponder but Clyde ain’t about to talk now.
You still didn’t respond to my assertion about Ms. Mottley starting the fire, however your loyalty to the cause is appreciated, next time I am in Bim I will present you with an Australian Shiraz, its called “The Lackey” and is described by the LCBO as “full bodied and smooth”.
Billy Goat Hill Shiraz 2014
Shiraz/Viognier
750 mL bottle | LCBO#: 261213
$21.40
Loading…
Lorenzo
Sarge and Hants two Dems on board .You both think bajans have short memories?How the Transport board got to the state it is in?Let me refresh your Dem memories,not one bus was bought between 2008 and 2018.Why was that if you all cared about poor bajans having to catch bus?.Instead we had a ex Minister allegedly giving out psv licenses like water,you remember further crippling the Transport Board and it,s revenue.Tell me further why was a consultant from Trinidad being allegedly paid $22,000 per month to upgrade the amont of buses on the road with little success?In addition it has been stated that a fare increase by the Dems you so loyally support was for $5,00,you heard about that or you have convenient memories?Therefore do not come on here like other Dems bellyaching about increased bus fares for the poor when it was alledged that you all planned to to take it to $5,00,bunch of hyprocrites ,added to which neither of you live about here.As I stated do like the ex MP,s and take a long rest from BU as you really ain,t saying nothing and will in my view be in the wilderness for years to come based on the two losers at the helm.Most Bajans who live here are prepared to give this Government a period of time to get the country back on track,bearing in mind we are under the guidance of the IMF.By the way I do not know you or wish to know or see you j/a.
Loading…
Mariposa
The policies which this govt is using To get barbados back on track are enough for people to make rafters and head for the high seas
Loading…
Tron
@ Enuff April 19, 2019 9:40 AM
“Unsanitary and unsightly terminals are being cleaned and painted.”
I fully agree with you here. If you drive with open eyes over the hills of Barbados, you will see repair measures everywhere in the public space. I’ll mention the Charles Duncan Oneal Highway, the Ronald Mapp Highway, the Errol Barrow Highway and the new roundabout at Coverley. By the way, the huts at Coverley are now used wisely for students and are no longer empty. Mariposa has also criticised the new government for this …
In little more than six months, the new government has done more than the old government has done in ten years.
It won’t take much longer, and the foreigners won’t laugh at us any more. The foreign state guests, diplomats, expats and tourists will be amazed like before 2008 and will say: Blacks manage this country much better than whites do in many northern countries.
Loading…
Donna
Indeed the last DLP administration was the final nail in the coffin prepared for Barbados. But we buried them in that coffin instead. No resurrection is anticipated . And it seems that Mia has no punishment in store for them.
Now that we have yet again established that, it’s back to holding the current administration up to scrutiny. We must be obedient and watch them or they will think they can do as they please!
Loading…
Donna
Pray tell, what is the sense in flogging a dead horse?????????? SMH. I will keep flogging the live one that is still in the race.
Loading…
Artax
“PSVs agree to take $2.50 from school children on day 3 of the new fare. General bus fare remains $3.50 and all bulk purchases are now $3 per ride.”
Enuff
To be fair, ALL of this nonsense could have been avoided.
Why??? Check this “line up” and their qualifications:
Mia Mottley, PM, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment
Ryan Straughn, BSc Economics & Mathematics (FCH), MSc Econometrics, National Accounts Statistician
Dr. Clyde Mascoll, PhD, Chief Economic Counsellor to the Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment
Professor Avinash Persaud, PhD, Special Envoy to the Prime Minister for Investment and Finance;
Dr. Kevin Greenidge PhD. economist and Senior Technical Advisor to Government
Mr. Cleviston Haynes, MA (Econ), Governor, Central Bank of Barbados
Ian Carrington MBA, FCGA, Director of Finance and Economic Affairs
I saved “the best for last.”
I’m sure you’re familiar with Marsha Caddle, MSc (Econ), Minister in the Ministry of Finance.
“Marsha Caddle is a bilingual economist whose areas of specialization are institutional and human development economics, including governance, financing for development and POVERTY, inequality, SOCIAL PROTECTION and labour markets. She has worked as a Governance Specialist, International Development Agency; and is a former Programme Manager, POVERTY REDUCTION – United Nations Development Programme.”
Mr. Enuff, with all this “talent” in the current BLP administration, could you please explain to me why any of these guys, ESPECIALLY Marsha, who has experience in human development economics……
……….. could not have “reasonably anticipated” raising bus fare to $3.50, would adversely affect the “poor and vulnerable” in Barbados?
Also, in keeping with the David Thompson’s folly of free travel for school children on Transport Board buses, with ONLY 50 or so buses in service daily, which obviously results in an INADEQUATE school bus service, yuh mean not a boy en anticipated the “fall out” for these children and they having to pay $3.50 on PSVs?
And why did it have to take Cynthia Forde and Senator Kay McConney to tour the Princess Alice and Fairchild Street bus terminals to ask people how the $1.50 increase in fares affected them, and then subsequently submitting a list of concerns to Mottley and she comes up with a “knee jerk reaction,” to give us the impression “Mia Cares?”
Even I, Artaxerxes, who is known in this forum as a deranged, paranoid, intellectual fraud, an appallingly ignorant bookkeeper, who regurgitates things having learnt by rote……….
…………. knows an adequate, efficient transport system is an important factor to productivity. Hence, government’s first priority should have been to invest in the Transport Board, develop a transportation strategy and systematically raise bus fare over a period of time.
Loading…
Lorenzo
Pea Brain Donna ,you can flog all you wish but I will not let you dems get away with pretending that the current mess is only this Government,s fault.This is what you Dems want,to come on here and parade everyday about hardship of the poor etc,which most bajans understands.However when one examines the reasons like the Dems not buying one bus or garbage truck,one can clearly see where the problem started..Most bajans knew including you,,SSS,Sarge ,Hants,Mariposa and others,as far back as 2013,but instead of taking the necessary measres including going to the IMF,the Dems decided to kick the can down the road,bringing failed plan after failed plan talking about turning some imaginary corner.Well guess what the corner is here now and has to be dealt with with tough decisions taken which will result in pain for some unfortunately but hopefully will benefit the majority in the long run.Therefore you r Dems will not be excused for their role which has seen them kicked out of parliament hopefully for about 20 years.
Loading…
@HA
I agree investment should have been in infrastructure, but, it wasn’t. I am less in agreement that a massive increase in the money supply, given the previous increases in recent times was a great idea.
Loading…
Hal Austin
@ Northern Observer,
There has been no investment in infrastructure – by ether government – nor any explanation. That shows contempt for the people. That will come back to haunt us. The use of sovereign currency is basic modern monetary theory.
Loading…
Mariposa
Buzz words on the ground for this govt are bumbling ..inept and incompetent poo
Loading…
Sargeant
@Artax
Surely you’ve heard the old joke about the sinking boat and everyone starts to recite their qualifications and the old fisherman asks “ wunnah know swimology”? You can have all the qualifications in the world but if you are in receipt of a six figure salary an increase of $1.50 in bus fare isn’t going to impact your budget (assuming that you ride the bus) and you will be unable to empathize with the “poor man in the street” to use the politician’s lingo.
Mia should restrict her frequent travel and spend a little time by the folks with whom she used to “slam a dom”
Loading…
Enuff
“There has been no investment in infrastructure – by ether government – nor any explanation.”
What? I musse misinterpret the definition of infrastructure. #nocomment
Loading…
Mariposa
Barbados have a govt that like to do everything BIG
Like BIG MOUT cabinets
BIG MOUT FETES
BIG MOUT austerity measures
BIG MOUT TAXES
BIG MOUT Bus fares
And today exposed a BIG MOUT lie about cannibis investors
By the time the next four years rolled around the whole of barbados would be swallowed up by a govt of BiG Mout liars
Still awaiting for the severence check promised
Loading…
Lorenzo
Wait Sarge you ease back on here like a lamb but I notice you ain,t reply to the Dem facts I presented.What happened the bouncers got you ducking and scrambling for a helmet.I want you to refute those facts as to why we are where we are and your Dear Loving Party role in it.Also when you return put the alternatives on the table to get us out of the mess created by the last Government.As for Ms Mottley,s travel remind us of the travel of the last PM and Foreign Minister.I repeat you all Dems think bajans got short memories but not all of us.As for Mariposa word on the ground states the ex MP,s dissatisfaction with you leader meaning it will be cat piss and hot pepper in George Street soon.Mariposa the beautify workers waited how long for their money again?
Loading…
@HA
I have to admit my last econ class in grad school was early 80’s, and I haven’t kept current on the various modern theories. But I’m ok at modern monetary reality. I have Bds$400,000. The current exchange rate to Sterling is +/- $1=38p or $2.60=£1. I’ll accept a10% discount in £’s for my $Bds. Do we have a deal?
Loading…
Mariposa
Lorenzo i waiting for my severance pay
This govt promised to do much better than past govt
So your finger pointing aint worth wuh patty shot at
Loading…
Sargeant
Pobre Lorenzo
I am too old to play this Party nonsense and I have never been a member of any political Party. I may not live in Bim but I have skin in the game as I have relatives there and an asset or two. If the Gov’t doesn’t perform well, in the words of Trump “we are all F…ed”.
If the DLP screwed up on the TB it doesn’t mean that the BLP gets to have a mulligan on its management of the system and it messed up royally on the bus fare increase.
BTW at least 4 of those highly credentialed people accompanied the PM on her trip to meet with the Financial folks in Canada and the US (never mind the meetings with the diaspora we were just an afterthought). I hope they are better at negotiating agreements than setting the agenda for public transportation rates.
In the meanwhile, stop focusing on the past in the words of Christine McVie “Yesterday’s gone”
Loading…
Tron
If you want to dry out a pond, don’t ask the frogs first if they want to.
The same applies to the increase in ticket prices. Subsidies for state enterprises (here: for children and pensioners) are the main reason for the failure of the public finances, along with the bloated bureaucracy. So why should the new government ask the groups who are to blame for the financial failure?
The new government must act like shock troops to wake up the lethargic natives on the island. This goal has been achieved.
Loading…
Mariposa
The failure of transport system in barbados is the failure of quality management at the top.
Those put in charge over the years
Also ministers who cannot control the public purse for the people
Money might be a problem maybe giving those in charge of the overseeing of the Transport system too much financial free reign might in have attributed to the problem
Maybe those in charge of the financial resources over the years contributed to the failures
Raising bus fair doesn’t correlates to a better transport system but finding dedicated people having the skill and knoweldge in the management of business
Ineptness and incompetence is nothing new in Barbados
Even presently Mia Mottley inept bumblingly performance in 12mths bodes well to say barbadians learn by rot and not having an abilty to analysis first and understand the how what and where when measures implemented how they will impact the entire population
“Barbados is moving to cash in on the growing medical marijuana industry by teaming up with a number of firms in Canada with “great interest” in setting up here, the Prime Minister has revealed.
She said she has held meetings with individuals and company officials in Toronto and Montreal where the issue of medical marijuana was topic one, following the administration’s moves to legalise marijuana for medical use. Canada has fully decriminalised cannabis use, leading to a mushrooming of pharmaceutical industries tied to the herb.
Mottley was giving an update on her nine-day of overseas meetings where she met with a range of officials on a number of issues ranging from the environment to financial matters.”
There are investors and there are bull shitters
Investors identify themselves by names and are transparent
e.g Hyatt
Bull shitters talk a load of crap maybe like those PM speaks about investing in barbados
Transparency is missing coming out of that load of horse dung statement made by PM when she referes to cannibis investors reason why she could not make mention of one potential cannibis investor interested in setting up a cannibis business in barbados
Loading…
@ Brother Hants
I looked at your article about the new drug lords in Barbados.
I was quite comedic
Here we have the state legalizing the very people who may have been the very drug czars from before times
No wonder they have INTERPOL TAKING UP COUNTRY OFFICE RESIDENCE!!
You understand what the word dispossession means dont you?
Well let me show you how these acts of “dispossession” will serve to expand the wide chasm of discontent that Mugabe is creating among the natives.
Short history lesson for you, if you have time.
“…In 1763, Delaware, Shawnee and Mingo warriors, the original native Americans, laid siege to Fort Pitt…”
Sounds familiar? Did I say Rhodesia? Or the Berlin Treaty?
“The fort’s commander, Capt. Simeon Ecuyer, reported in a June 16 message to his superior, Philadelphia-based Col. Henry Bouquet, that the situation was dire, with local traders and colonists taking refuge inside the fort’s walls.
Ecuyer wasn’t just afraid of his Native American adversaries.
The fort’s hospital had patients with smallpox, and Ecuyer feared the disease might overwhelm the population inside the fort’s cramped confines.
Bouquet, in turn, passed along the news about the smallpox inside Fort Pitt to his own superior, Amherst, in a June 23 letter.
In Amherst’s July 7 response, he cold-bloodedly saw an opportunity in the disease outbreak.
“Could it not be contrived to Send the Small Pox among those Disaffected Tribes of Indians?
We must, on this occasion, Use Every Stratagem in our power to Reduce them…”
Certainly an example of where a group of usurpers, the government in this case, linke the invading colonists, seek by germ warfare, in this case, the power of the Laws of Barbados, to dispossess a native people?
And who are these native people Brother Hants?
De ole man puts it to you that, all de Rastafarians who have planted and reaped and been incarcerated for said marijuana WILL NOT SEE ONE CENT IN THIS MEDICAL MARIJUANA CONSTRUCT.
For like MeMoney, dis shy$e is a de facto dispossession of the “natives”
Watch if, like the forgiveness of millions of dollars in taxes for she fadder OR thd cancellation of all cases older than 10 years WATCH AND SEE IF MUGABE GOING FORGIVE ALL THE CURRENT CRIMINALS WHO GOT LOCK UP FOR POSSESSION OF A SMALL? SET OF MARIJUANA?
I going bet you that Mugabe and her now legalised growers and traffickers will not use this sham to sanitize ALL THE GAINS FROM THEIR ILLEGAL TRADE and barring a few token Rastafarians, it gine ALL BELONG TO MUGABE.
GIMME DE VOTE AND WATCH MUH!!!
Loading…
Ammmmm should that read “…will use this sham…?” Or “…will not use this sham?…” ?
A picture is worth a thousand words as govt continues to.polluate the beaches on the South coast by pumping sewage into the sea
Loading…
Mariposa
The video shows the receding of the ocean for miles with exposed dry land in areas where the sewage would have been pumped as it made headway towards the ocean
Nature is very unpredictable and can imposed and dictates what is dam pleases
The dry land being exposed showing puddles of water were there was ocean at high tide should be of concern to those engineers and technocrats looking into a possibility of bacteria caused by sewage pollutants breeding and thriving on that now exposed dry land
The dry land where there was ocean during high tide under more normal or healthier circumstance would not be problematic
Loading…
Enuff
Beware the liars/gaslighters.
PAYDAY
NUPW says former MTW workers in line for severance
‘SOON’
More than 80 former workers of the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance (MTW) could soon receive their severance money.
At least this is what assistant general secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), Wayne Walrond, has been told.
“The NUPW has written the Ministry of Civil Service more than once about the status of this matter and the Government has agreed to advance the gratuity. The ministry has assured us that they are working assiduously to have this matter completed, so hopefully sometime soon these workers should be compensated,” Walrond told the Saturday Sun.
Last October when Government rolled out the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme, MTW was one of the first organisations whose employees were sent packing.
No short order
However, according to the Pensions Act, Cap 25, since they served ten years or more in the Public Service, that meant they would not receive gratuity in short order because they qualified for pension. They however were given a month’s salary, eligible vacation leave pay, and by the end of April, their unemployment benefits would run out.
“Traditionally, workers with ten years and over were never retrenched. This was the first time.
They were pensionable and should not have been retrenched because they were not appointed.
“They should have been relocated under a regrading system. But the difficulty is that once you become pensionable, your pension and gratuity is stored under the age of retirement so that means these workers’ gratuity can only be accessed when they reach that age,” Walrond explained.
In an article last November this newspaper highlighted the plight of three former employees of the MTW’s Drainage Division – Brian Gibbs, Corey McCollin and Sherwin Hackett – who were looking for answers.
Viral video
More recently a video of a woman who also worked at MTW went viral on social media as she voiced her complaints to Prime Minister Mia Mottley after she was told she had to wait until she turned 60 to be paid.
The upset woman also said that her creditors were bombarding her with calls.
“You know when they call at my place, I tell them don’t call me, call Mia, call MTW and the union. I was paying them for 18 years and I can’t get no severance pay,” the woman said.
When contacted yesterday, Minister of Transport Dr William Duguid said he was unaware about when the retrenched workers would be paid, since the matter was now at the feet of the Ministry of Civil Service. Efforts to reach officials in that ministry yesterday were unsuccessful. ( TG)
Loading…
Lorenzo
Sarge typical Dem response.You and other Dems on here every day lambasting Ms Mottley,s every effort to turn the country around,but when your hypocracy gets exposed suddenly you too old,and you ain,t no member of any party blah,blah ,blah..Well I am not a party member either but I support this Government and their efforts to turn things around after the Dems who you obviously,by your contributions support as is your right,messed up the country .Therefore as I stated bring the solutions instead of nitpicking everyday,it will not result in any return for the Dems in the foresable future.Lastly the last Government with in my view are the main reason we are where we are today whether you want to look back or not,as sometimes you have to go back to go forward.
Loading…
Mariposa
Well once again the masses had to turned to social media and in doing so lambasted govt policies
Policies which left them HOPELESS and for some on the verge of homelessness according to voices heard because of unable to pay their monthly loans which include mortgages
Those in govt cabinet assigned to those ministries where complaints are being lodged should hold their heads in shame for their senseless approach in abandoning the needs of those people whose lives have been ignored or basically abandoned by govt
After 10 years of promising hope for the better
This govt have literally pursue a reckless course of policies littered with land mines for the people to step on
Loading…
Hal Austin
@ Mariposa,
Spot on. Government not thinking the impact of its policies. The prime minister should stop travelling and concentrate more on her primary job.
Loading…
TheOGazerts
@Enuff ✋
“Beware the liars/gaslighters.”
“NUPW says former MTW workers in line for severance SOON
“80 former workers of the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance (MTW) could soon receive their severance money.”
At least this is what assistant general secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), Wayne Walrond, has been told.
“the Government has agreed to advance the gratuity. The ministry has assured us that they are working assiduously to have this matter completed, so hopefully sometime soon these workers should be compensated”
✋
Needless to say, I wish things progressed as plan. But what you have written as a refutation of what others have said here, is nothing more than a set of promises.
To some the promises may have the look of pure gold and to others they may be useless. Of course we should all wait and see and hope for the best, but let us not pretend that te matter is solved. Basically what we have is
“Your complaints have been noted and we (government) are working towards resoling them.”
🛑#BewareTheLiars/Gaslighters.”
Loading…
TheOGazerts
“Your complaints have been noted and we (the government) are working towards resolving them.”
The travel experts TravelPulse spoke to say Jamaica’s experience and care for growing cannabis will make the island an even bigger attraction as the drug becomes more acceptable amongst Americans.
“As Jamaica looks to cash in on cannabis, Rastafarians fear being left out”
Loading…
Donna
When a person of your lack of substance can stop me from getting away with something I will voluntarily crawl into the coffin with the DLP because I would have to be approaching brain death. You do not have the wherewithal to accomplish what you are setting out to do. And you are far too stupid to even realize that.
However the actress in me has assigned a rather ridiculous voice to your ramblings and I do derive considerable amusement from my dramatized readings. The writer in me visualizes your character in a barnyard cartoon. I’m regretting not completing my animation course because now I would need an animator.
Alas!
Loading…
TheOGazerts
(Meat and potatoes)
(Not a B thing or D thing)
Yesterday, I had what I thought was a moment of brilliance.
What is the world of some people consisted of just two parties? What if they cannot accept the rejection of one of the parties and must constantly bring that party back to life to justify their actions. They measure their success against the accomplishments of the failed party.
In this binary world, you are either with us or against us.
Each phrase, each utterance or action is placed in these two buckets and you are judged based on the last pronouncement. You may have voted for a party, attend its meetings, convinced your neighbor to support the party, but based on what you just said you are categorized as being against them.
“But I spoke the truth” – they are not interested in the truth.
“My comments identified an issue” – it is judged as a ‘positive’ or ‘negative’
“I am trying to help” – help can only come through a positive support of all policies.
In this binary world, it is “us and them”, “agree or disagree”, and “right or wrong” where right is measured by the level of support for the party in “what you say or do”
They measure success against the accomplishments of a failed party. It is a low bar and as they often fail to meet that bar; we are heading towards a failed state.
Barbados will legalise marijuana for personal use. Put that in yuh pipe an smoke it. lol
Export…… medical marijuana grown by the Corporate sector.
Personal consumption. Locally grown by ” small farmers “
Loading…
TheOGazerts
(Meat and potatoes)
(Not a B thing or D thing)
(Not a black or white thing, but a real thing)
Am I the only one who cannot see the value of this “medical marijuana industry”?
In some states, effort were made to ensure minorities get a piece of the “legal marijuana industry”. Cities and town came up with policies that marginalized the minorities.
Given the way things are done in Barbados. It will not surprise me if the majority group is ‘shut out’.
Loading…
Donna
Tron,
If you want to dry out a pond, don’t ask the frogs first if they want to.
The same applies to the increase in ticket prices. Subsidies for state enterprises (here: for children and pensioners) are the main reason for the failure of the public finances, along with the bloated bureaucracy. So why should the new government ask the groups who are to blame for the financial failure?
The new government must act like shock troops to wake up the lethargic natives on the island. This goal has been achieved.
If you want to drain the swamp don’t ask the swamp creatures first if they want to.
The same applies to the increase in cabinet size. Unnecessary consultancy fees for old political pensioners and professionals, corrupt contracts and the small tax base (minus professional pals educated out of the public purse) are the main reasons for the failure of the public finances along with the bloated House of Assembly Why should the people trust the groups who are to blame for the financial failure?:
The new movement of the people must act like shock troops to wake up the corrupt politicians and pals on the island. This goal will be achieved.
Loading…
Donna
Dear Enuff,
So they COULD SOON be receiving their severance pay?
Well that sure settles that!
We now know that possibly maybe soon they will be receiving their pay.
Come on now!
And as for that decision handed down by the CCJ in the Winton Campbell case is now putting long term workers under pensionable age at a serious disadvantage. They are apparently not entitled to severance pay or unemployment benefit as they haven’t paid into that NIS scheme and they are not entitled to receive pensions or gratuities until the age of retirement. This should have been resolved years ago under the last administration. What is this administration going to do about this injustice?
Loading…
The blogmaster invites you to join and add value to the discussion.Cancel reply