ECONOMIST SIR FRANK ALLEYNE says one of the reasons why Barbados was in the current economic mess was the country’s failure to pay workers based on productivity. Sir Frank, one of the Freundel Stuart administration’s trusted advisers, said yesterday that had the various governments followed through on the productivity focus after the 1991 economic crisis, many of the problems the country faced might have been alleviated. […] Sir Frank said the centrepiece of the structural adjustment programme was productivity enhancement.
Prior to May 24, 2018 the constant national refrain was that the economic and social state of the country had deteriorated to an unacceptable level. This position was punished by the electorate in unprecedented manner with the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) being inflicted with a 30-0 defeat. The simple tranlation of the result, the people are not happy.
It should be of concern to sensible Barbadians everywhere the vitriolic and uninformed political debate which has emerged in recent years. It is a predictable debate and often sees a predictable response by incumbent governments. The politically aware have stated the primary job of a political party is to find a way to stoke popularity.
In a well meaning democracy the needs of the people should be the prime objective. There are listed as being able to promote unity and tranquillity in the domestic space, ensure justice for all, defense and safeguard the welfare and liberty of all the people – What is the purpose of government?. The opposite view is that no government is perfect in the vision or execution. How we govern is a man made construct and susceptible to the fallibility of man.
A couple weeks ago the blogmaster was motivated to write about the predictability to what has translated to a worrying crime situation. The same can be transposed to how we have and continue to govern ourselves. This blogmaster has been at the dashboard from 2007 and have been positioned to view the workings of political operatives having reason to interact with prime ministers, senators, ministers in government, surrogates, political talking heads et al. They operate with the same intent. They are driven by greed and an a destructive value system.
Barbados is a tiny island and if well managed with realistic objectives should satisfy the purpose of government. Instead we have allowed behaviours to be greatly influenced by popular culture. This has created the recurring dysfunction of government we have become mired. This week we learned about the many many PSV permits the outgoing government issued before demitting office -on the most profitable routes. A portfolio led by Michael Lashley. Prior, this blogmaster is aware of many PSV permits issued by Gline Clarke. We are aware there was financial benefit accrued to decision makers. This is one example of how greed and corruption as eventually led to an insolvent Transport Board taxpayers are left holdoing the bag.
Look in the mirror people!
Sensible Barbadians should have the capacity to view how systems of government are in decline across the globe. If we fail to show the courage to disrupt the current trajectory there is a predictable inevitability to how it will end for us.
In an situation where austerity measures have to be taken, one expects constituents being impacted to voice concern. One also expects the government charged with managaing the process to admoister it as humanely as practicable. As important is for civil society to be resonsible in voicing feedback.
It seems to this blogmaster we are in danger of being subsumed by a destructive rhetoric motivated by egocentric thinking.
351 responses to “The Rhetoric of Austerity”
Enuff
Loading…
Donna
The fact is – corruption in high places is killing the whole world. The rich are getting richer and the poor are getting poorer. Politicians and the rich are working hand in glove transferring almost all of the world’s created wealth into the hands of a tiny group.
Watch CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera etc.etc. etc. The people are protesting this corruption ALL OVER THE WORLD. .
Loading…
@ Hants at 9;39 AM
Of course you know Usain was not fast out of the blocks. But he won most of the times. Let us hope Jamaica equals his success and wins.
Loading…
Lorenzo
Pea Brain Donna,,it is a pity eveytime I say something that you have to respond.This tells me thatyou are reading my lack of substance contributions.On top of that I seem to have you worried despite your shite talk.Your agenda like Piece,SSS,Gazzerts,Mariposa,Sarge,and Hal Austin most of whom do not live about here is clear to lambaste this government at every turn and my purpose is remind bajans of your Dear Loving Party,s role in the country being where it is today.Therefore if looking back offends any of you too bad.The Dems will not be let off the hook,as this government struggles to return the country to past heights,so hurry up and get in that coffin,because only the blog master can stop me from exposing the hyprocracy of as Enuff calls wannu,the pickanoise crew.
The People’s Republic of China is ready to join hands with Barbados for the second phase of the Belt and Road Forum for International Cooperation in Beijing, China, from April 25 to 27
” Last February, the two countries signed the Memorandum of Understanding on Cooperation within the Framework of the BRI in Beijing.”
The first time i came to the realization that this govt did not care for the struggling small business person was when govt sent stormtroopers and cabinet ministers to remove the small business persons who were selling lunchables out side the gates of. Grantley Adams school
Then last week after giving permission for a gentleman to set up a small business once again sent stormtroppers to harrass him
This govt seems to be over its head with making small local decisions
Can’t see how givt will manage the making of decisions that affect our economy in respect to debt and other financial problems
Loading…
TheOGazerts
Seem as if I will not be removed from the group.
I w as not paying attention to all of “the members” so I now welcome Sarge 🙂
Hope the binary guy does not see”the big hug and warm handshake”
You are now branded for life 🙂
At our next meeting I will suggest the expulsion of Mariposa 🙂
Loading…
Donna
When life gives you lemons ya gotta make some lemonade. Your previously annoying posts have now become a source of sweet amusement for me as I picture you strutting in the barnyard with a funny rooster voice trying to do learn to speak as the humans do. But no matter how hard you try the only sound you can make is “Cockadoodledo!” I have been wanting to write a children’s book for years. This may be the original idea I needed. Oops! It may turn out to be a children’s version of Animal Farm. I gotta watch that.
Loading…
Donna
I’m trying to remember what happened to the yard fowls at the end of Animal Farm, I don’t think it turned out very well. for them. They were on the outside looking in at the greedy pig politicians, I think.
Will the government put a sign at the airport that states.
SMOKING MARIJUANA IS ILLEGAL IN BARBADOS. ?
If I was de PM I would make it LEGAL from the 25th to May 3rd.. lol
Loading…
Tron
We’ve been driven into the abyss for ten years. It will also take ten years to rebuild the country and regain the trust of international investors.
The only thing I can say over and over again is that the alternative to the austerity programme would be an uncontrolled currency devaluation (or rather rapid currency collapse). But then the whining in the country would be even bigger.
If the government hadn’t taken brutal countermeasures last summer (including default), the currency reserves would now be at zero and the shelves in the supermarket would be empty and there would be no more medicines in the hospital. Newborn sick children would have to die. I think a slight increase in ticket prices for a bit of bus travel is the better alternative.
Surely critics will also be found in ten years’ time when Barbados will once again be a thriving island under the government of our beloved Prime Minister. Everyone should then look back with gratitude and come to the conclusion that the small sacrifices were necessary here and now. The question will then only be whether Mia Mottley will follow the old Barrow as a national hero or replace him as such.
Loading…
Lorenzo
Tron i do not think the j/a Donna understands you.The tag team thinks you wave a magic wand and everything is well again.zthe pea brain is so dumb she and Gazzerts beleives insulting me will stop me exposing their ignorance.Newsflash i will continue to remind bajans of the reasons why we are here and if looking back annoys them tough.No one voted for you two.By the way what is your claim to fame and what have you jackasses ever run except your loud mouths.
Loading…
TheOGAZERTS
Dude take your BP medication.
Chill…
BTW.. your writing style is improving.
Just put a space after the period.
You should thank me for my constructive advice.
Mugabyte (not Mugabiter) fah life
I
Loading…
Baje
Will the government put a sign at the airport that states.
SMOKING MARIJUANA IS ILLEGAL IN BARBADOS. ?
If I was de PM I would make it LEGAL from the 25th to May 3rd.. lol
Its already legal that’s to some untouchables which are why the dirty BLP Politicians invited 5 of the biggest local Drug lords to Parliament in 2018 after elections along with Freddie Hill Reggae Promoter conman, money launder, human trafficker and briber.
Loading…
Tron
Baje,
This is called realpolitik. We don’t want drug freaks from St. Vincent, Jamaica or Guyana in Barbados. These animals do not simply kill other drug soldiers, but slaughter the population like cattle.
Loading…
Sargeant
@TheoGazzerts
Seems I was conscripted or was it frog marched into the group because I had the temerity to suggest that the arsonist deserved no credit for trying to put out the fire.
Some people don’t know that if you implement a policy and then had to change it within a week then the original policy was an abject failure.
Loading…
Donna
What a tag team! The smooth sinister sounds of the sycophant and the belligerent barnyard babbling of the foolish follower.
I say again, Ms. Mottley told me to give her the vote and watch her and that is what I am doing. As she has not yet taxed my mouth I shall also be speaking on what I see. When Ms. Mottley reduces her obviously useless cabinet (since she alone seems able to fix things) and reduces the consultancy fees by more than half bringing them to less than what they were before the election (only fair since she did not see the need for them before the election) and deals with the corruption as she said she would and stops writing off certain taxes without explanation then austerity will not be the bitter pill it is at present.
Let us ALL tighten our belts! Let them lead by example!
Your attempts to make scapegoats of the ordinary citizen shall not convince anyone outside of the barnyard. Neither shall your attempt to make Ms. Mottley a shepherd worthy of blind trust. We shall grow into a mature participatory democracy where our SERVANTS are forced to serve and not RULE.
To those overseas being courted for your support look at what happens to people like me who were asked to give her my vote and did so. Abuse and calls to shut up and take all the blame for the country’s ills. A far cry from what was said at election time!
Loading…
Tron
So I see significant progress in the fight against corruption:
1) We get a modern anti-corruption law.
2) Donville Inniss has to go to court in New York.
3) Old DLP gov contracts are rolled up and renegotiated.
4) IMF credit with low interest rates instead of CS credit for 10% with many kickbacks.
If you complain that the local police chief and the DPP are not acting, then look who appointed these two figures. It was the old DLP government. If our dear Prime Minister Mia Mottley just fired both of them, the screams of the opposition for alleged abuse of power would be huge. Somehow contradictory.
Of course you can criticize the size of the cabinet and other decisions. But we shouldn’t confuse criminal corruption with alleged or real bad politics. These are completely different situations.
Loading…
TheOGazerts
I will shut up after this..
I remember some of the discussion we had here about the anti-corrution laws. Some felt it was window dressing and did not really addressed corruption.
I thought this was done by the US.
In fact, a few here wants/wanted to know if he was the only corrupt DLP politician. Surely one or two who are moving freely on the islands are dirty. No action from the corruption fighters
—–I leave 3 and 4 to others. I gone before I get a next honorable mention —————-
HAGD. See you Sunday
Loading…
Donna
THAT IS DEBATABLE. WE DEBATED IT HERE ALREADY.
THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG. AND ARE YOU IMPLYING THAT THIS GOVERNMENT HAD A HAND IN THAT?
3) Old DLP gov contracts are rolled up and renegotiated.
AND NEW BLP CONTRACTS ISSUED?????
f you complain that the local police chief and the DPP are not acting, then look who appointed these two figures. It was the old DLP government. If our dear Prime Minister Mia Mottley just fired both of them, the screams of the opposition for alleged abuse of power would be huge. Somehow contradictory.
THAT DOES NOT SEEM TO BE STOPPING HER WITH OTHER POSTS.
Of course you can criticize the size of the cabinet and other decisions. But we shouldn’t confuse criminal corruption with alleged or real bad politics. These are completely different situations.
i AM NOT AT ALL CONFUSED. LIES AND CORRUPTION USUALLY GO HAND IN HAND. I DO NOT TRUST SPLIT PERSONALITIES OF THE PRE AND POST ELECTION KIND.
THIS GP STYLE SAVES LOTS OF TIME!
Loading…
Donna
A few “cockadoobledos” never hurt anyone! Accept your honours!
Typing with all caps is only required if you have VISION problems.
You could also buy a touch screen laptop and ZOOM in and out.
Loading…
Lorenzo
Sarge actually it shows you are listening to the people as you will not get every thing right…..perhaps you can recall Mr Thompson introducing a bicycle tax which was shekved because the tax could not be collected,or Mr Sinckleris cell phone tax which was also abandoned,nothing new,perhaps you have convenient memory,so I have to jog it.Tell me have you heard the Dems planned to raise the bus fare to $5,00,knowing you perhaps not.The agenda you pushing ain,t ,ain,t bearing much fruit except among the pickanoise team..Take a rest and carry long the j/a know all Donna and Gazzerts with you,bunch of hyprocrites.
Loading…
Dame Bajans
I really do think this Lorenzo person is mad. He seems unable to let people comment without attacking and insulting. Is this what free education in Bim has produced.
Loading…
Sargeant
@Lorenzo H
Leh me jog my memory but the taxes you mentioned were budgetary proposals weren’t they? And you do know that many of the items in the budget never see the light of day, don’t you? I expect a man in the bosom of politicians would know these minor things
Wuh happen yuh very busy bout here Barbados Today ban you from their pages?
Loading…
Talking Loud saying Nothing
@ Donna,
I see that you have returned to the BU arena. Has Tron become Mia’s personal storm trooper? Over the past year he has become cold and heartless towards his fellow Bajans.
I have to confess that I have become indifferent towards Barbados’ plight. I recently spent a substantial time in the country and was underwhelmed with what I encountered. Hal Austin commented that recent governments have not invested in the infrastructure of the country. That was what I witnessed. So where were the monies diverted to?
As for me, I have dropped my interest in Barbados. My citizenship obtained through my parentage will never be utilised. I have argued over a number of years that Barbados majority population has become surplus to requirement. Note Mia’s enthusiasm to open the doors to foreign companies to exploit the marijuana industry in Barbados. We as a people have know of the benefits of medical marijuana for centuries. Our government have tied the hands of its very own people over the decades with regard to the use of marijuana and the growth of marijuana industry; yet it is now intent to invite with open hands Canadian companies who will, no doubt, exploit our desperate labour force, our favourable climate and our soil to grow in abundance “green gold”.
Both political parties are uncomfortable to create an environment that will encourage the majority population to thrive. They have been poorly advised.
As for me, I have rightly concluded that Barbados is not the right environment for me. I have found a bolt hole in a fantastic European country which is far healthier than the country of my ancestors. Sadly, this is Barbados loss.
Loading…
Lorenzo
Sarge nobody have not ban me from anywhere yet.Do not worry about me,i do not worry about you.It seems that my constant attack on you for your hyprocracy have you rattled.Perhaps it is because every biased thing you have posted have been answered by me and you cannot refute anything I have said.Like you I have been around politics a long time so your agenda will not stand up to scrutiny.As for Dames Bajan I wonder how you only see me insulting persons but do not see when Donna,Gazzerts,SSS Piece and others insult my intelligence and myself regularly.Oh I forget you and them in the same camp.Well too bad if you and others can criticise others including a democratically elected MP/PM,then be prepared to be criticized,if not too bad.I hate hyprocrites.
Loading…
De ole man wonders if the Mugabe Regime is listening to the Voices in the Streets of Barbados
I wonder if they are seeing the rampant loud voices of people who are hurting BUT WHO, WHILE PREVIOUSLY WERE CONTENT TO SUFFER IN SILENCE, are shouting out!
They are not scared anymore to voice their anger to the WhatsApp corridors or newspapers or in the town halls
And they are unafraid of the police because, even though the police have guns, the people, they have video cameras.
And they are using them.
Here is the conundrum Mugabe is facing.
They have to clean up the drug money right?
For that to happen she has to plant enough legal drugs to justify the illegal money count.
SO HOW YOU GOING DO THAT? How is she going to hide and buy the land AND HIDE AND WUK UM TOO?
The pretend revenues of the illegal drugs, WHEN THEY COME TO BOOK, will satisfy the drug czars
Already look how one of them now “online” to make it seem like dem doing more business, but all this is to hide the background noise and illegal activities
The average poor man a d woman, AFTER 5 YEARS, will not see any of that illegal nor legal medical marijuana money AND MUGABE WILL PAY FOR THAT AT THE BALLOT
SAY THE CURSE, ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!
Loading…
@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you
Loading…
Donna
For the record, you were the one who threw the first insult. I criticized MIA’s policies and actions and out jumped you throwing insults at me. Is she your mother?
Who the hell am I? What is my claim to fame? I am just a yard fowl etc, etc etc. This was your approach. You did not argue against my position. You tried to belittle me and made it personal. That is all you ever do.
And thus you insult your own intelligence, if you do indeed have any, by keeping it hidden.
Loading…
Donna
Hants,
I was borrowing from GP and making Tron’s words and mine distinguishable form each other.. I find that format conducive to certain responses. Sorry if it bothers you.
Loading…
Donna
Talking Loud,
Disappointments don’t have to be permanent. We can work to make things better. That is what I intend to do here in the land where I am part of the majority. II wish you well wherever you are. You don’t have to lose interest in us though. Keep in touch!
Article by
Barbados Today Published on
April 20, 2019
Source – THE NEW TODAY: Chairman of the LIAT Shareholders Government Group of Countries and Prime Minister of St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Dr Ralph Gonsalves has expressed fears that the closure of the regional island hopping carrier, LIAT is imminent as most of the countries which use the carrier services are not responding favourably to the airline’s request for US$5.4 million to ensure its survival.
Gonsalves made the statement as a guest on a popular current affairs programme in St. George’s run by the Grenada Broadcasting Network (GBN).
The Vincentian leader told the programme host that Grenada is the only government that acceded to LIAT’s request by pumping approximately $1 million into it.
“…Prime Minister Mitchell has put in approximately 1 million dollars EC towards emergency funding because he is interested in seeing LIAT remain in the sky”, he said.
According to Dr. Gonsalves, due to the lack of financial input from the other shareholding countries, LIAT’s closure is imminent.
He said that LIAT has a compliment of 10 aircraft – seven are leased and three are owned by the Barbados-based Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) due to monies borrowed and a decision will soon have to be made on the way forward.
“…We probably will have to ask the CDB to sell those three aircraft and operate seven of them and then get other smaller airline like One Caribbean to fly between here and St. Lucia, rather than get LIAT to fly on one of the routes which is going to Trinidad which is not economical to cut it”, he remarked.
“… The governments have not been responding so the shareholders are reaching a critical point now and if you ask me, what is likely to happen … there will be a transitional restructuring leading to a closure of LIAT,” he said.
Dr. Gonsalves pointed out that a new airline would then have to be the next option for the region if LIAT is closed.
However, he said that there will be consequences in terms of job losses.
Gonsalves said: “If you sell the three aircraft which are owned by the CDB, immediately that’s 33 pilots who would have to go. Then other workers will have to go, flight attendants etcetera, etcetera, because over 7 million US is required in some immediate savings, 2.53 million US required from the workers but you ain’t getting the number near to that.
“We wanted a 10% cut across the board, but we not getting that and the pilots have agreed to a 6% cut on the basic pay, that ain’t going to do anything much, and the question of the agreement…the legacy agreement, they don’t want to have new contracts.
“…So, what you probably will have to do is to start a new airline and you hire people on specific contract but I can’t guarantee that there would not be disruptions.
Dr. Gonsalves disclosed that the Leasers of seven of the LIAT planes in far away some places like the United Arab Emirates (UAE) are prepared to give cuts of between 17 and 20 percent and other stakeholders are prepared to do cuts in order to save the regional carrier.
“…I don’t think the employees fully grasp what is at hand”, he said.
Two years ago, Gonsalves said that CARICOM member states collaborated with the CDB to have a consultation on LIAT.
He said the problems facing the airline were diagnosed and three options were put forward as measures to be taken to resolve the issue.
According to Gonsalves, the first option was a proposed restructuring of the airline where “countries served by LIAT have to come into the mix and the workers themselves have to take a salary cut and the other stakeholders have to chip in.”
The second option, he indicated was to give the airline to the private sector completely, while the third option was to close it down and start afresh.
“If you even close it down and I fear that that is an option which is becoming more and more realistic, but if you close it, you have to manage in the transitional period and we need to have resources…”, he said
Loading…
Sargeant
@TLSN
Our government have tied the hands of its very own people over the decades with regard to the use of marijuana and the growth of marijuana industry
Do you honestly think that any Barbados Gov’t could promote the cultivation and use of marijuana or any of its by-products prior to its recent legalization in some pockets of the US and throughout Canada? Do you know how quickly Uncle Sam would apply the term “narco state” and its attendant penalties on the island if it tried to market the product “over the decades”?
The Barbados Gov’ts were wise not to bring down the wrath of the US Gov’t on Bajan citizens, blame them for many failings but this is not one of them..
Loading…
@Lorenzo
Boss you are on the verge of becoming a modern BLP version of ac or Fractured.
“actually it shows you are listening to the people as you will not get every thing right”
The issue isn’t raising the bus fares, it is about timing, and doing so when you do not have the supply of TB buses to meet the demand. It has sweet eff all to do with listening. Somebody effed up, and now it must be fixed. Albeit, a surprising miscalculation of basic supply and demand.
And please don’t become a BLP version of Carson Cadogan, where anybody who isn’t Bajan or living on the island becomes an enemy. The GoB needs all the help it can get. To besides you maybe surprised at the assets in Barbados, those living abroad own.
We know that former administration was a nightmare, hence the resounding drubbing at the polls. Avoid the blame game, it gets us nowhere.
Loading…
Mariposa
Liat in the news again but for all the wrong reasons
The Turkey is on its sick leg
Gonsalves is running his mout to the point of telling the truth
This Turkey is flying on a wing and pray
A wishful pray that these debt laden economies would fork up millions to keep Liat sky high
In the world of economics trying to get blood out of stone equals a Doomed Failure
Loading…
Hal Austin
@ Sargeant,
The government is sending a mixed message to young people. On the one hand they are talking about a cannabis industry, while on the other possession of the drug is illegal. Which is it?
Loading…
Hal Austin
@ Talking Loud,
Keep the faith.
Loading…
Donna
These troopers are doing a very poor job of representing the BLP.
“You catch more flies with honey” is a saying it seems they have never heard.
If I wanted the “lethargic NATIVES” (read simple, lazy savages) to “Stay the course” this is definitely not the way I would do it. It is a fact that we need a paradigm shift in our attitudes to fit our circumstances. We need to develop mauby pockets until we can afford champagne. We need to become more innovative, productive and self-reliant. We need to create employment for ourselves rather than depend on government as a matter of course. We can even serve ourselves by growing some of our food in cut off cans and tyres to reduce our household expenditure. We need to cook at home rather than eat fast food every day. We need to exercise more to reduce the incidences of NCDs that inflate our health expenditure bill, We need to be more sexually discriminating and reduce our exposure to STIs some of which can cause cancer and AIDS. We need to be more aware of our impact on the environment and we need to reduce, reuse and recycle. We need to properly dispose of our garbage. etc etc,etc.
These are all areas in which we the citizens of Barbados can ease the pressure on our own finances as well as those of the public.
But these spokes people here seem to think that insults and abuse will bring the people to that point. They do not attempt to have a conversation with Barbadians. They hurl insults and abuse. They want us to fix ourselves but they do not want us to demand that the politicians also fix themselves. But we know that politicians are much more to blame for this mess than we are. They have dangled promises before the electorate that gave them false expectations. They competed with each other on that score rather than having serious conversations with the masses and bringing them along as leaders should do. They are the ones who created this attitude of dependence on government by their politicking.
And I have not even mentioned the rampant corruption among politicians that has created this culture of corruption among the people. The people see the corruption these days. They are not blind like they were in the old days. They demand a piece of the pie and now see this as the only way to get it.
The politicians have created this jungle where they reign as kings/queens of the beasts.
Now, can we have a reasoned conversation on becoming responsible human beings again – AL:L OF US? Or shall we be cowed into beast-like adoration of a Lion Queen who shall, as lions do, feed upon us?
Loading…
Enuff
For those naysayers, vacillators and gaslighters, promises being fulfilled.
SLASHED – NIS making inroads into backlog of claims
The backlog of claims at the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) is finally being cleared.Government says 11 027 or 41 per cent of the outstanding claims were settled in the last three months.
strong>At the same time, $12.7 million was paid to 453 claimants since the new board assumed office last July – including $5.07 million paid to 100 former workers at the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation and 22 at the Transport Board last December.<
The outstanding claims relate to contributory and non-contributory pensions, invalidity, sickness, disability, disablement, survivor/death, retirement, maternity, unemployment, severance, employment injury, medical/travel for employment injury and funeral grants. NIS chairman Ian Gooding-Edghill disclosed the progress on reducing the backlog in claims to date in response to a complaint to the Sunday Sun from an elderly woman who said she was struggling to survive because she had not received the sickness benefits.
Gooding-Edghill said he was fully conscious of, and sensitive to, the pressure that this long-term situation has been placing on the public. Since his board took office last July it has been working with the NIS management and the staff to right this wrong it inherited, and by January had reduced the backlog to 26 302. “The board made it a special project. We approved a number of initiatives including payment of overtime, increased authorisation limits and other measures to speed up processing of outstanding claims. As a result of this aggressive attack on the backlog of outstanding claims, we hope that by July we would have processed 80 per cent of the remaining backlog of claims for the period 2014 to 2018, and all by August,” said Gooding-Edghill.
He added: “We still have to improve the conversion rate, that is, the measure of outstanding as against settled claims. However, while we have been realizing significant reductions in the outstanding claims, in particular sickness which accounted for 49 per cent of the total outstanding claims over the last five years, we have also had significant reduction success with unemployment, contributory pensions, funeral grants and maternity benefits.”
Gooding-Edghill, however, stressed that treating the backlog issue as a special project would not interfere with the ongoing daily processing of claims at the National Insurance.
“We deliberately treated this as a special project on separate terms to avoid creating another issue of backlog,” he said.
Another issue to which the board gave urgent attention was that of severance payments. The board took steps to also reduce its backlog, and paid more than $5.95 million to severed workers within the last four months.
“We have made a commitment to process these claims within the shortest time possible.
“The severance fund, which is financed by the employers, is very healthy – more than $100 million – and is doing exactly what it is supposed to do, that is to fund severance when employers are not in a position to do so,” he said.
The St Michael West Central MP said the NIS board was also paying attention to areas of public concern other than the backlog of claims.These include customer relations, one-stop shop for laid off people to facilitate the processing of their unemployment benefits, the completion of outstanding audits, a review of the software, the upgrade of facilities management at buildings owned by the NIS to ensure they do not denigrate into unhealthy spaces for the tenants, a new investment code and guidelines to reduce geographic risks and dependence on Government paper, and the strengthening of NIS corporate governance, critical to the management of public pension funds.
#nocomments
Loading…
Donna
Correction – ALL OF US
Loading…
Mariposa
This govt said a lot made a lot if promises
Still waiting for my Severance pay
“The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Group says it will give Government access to US$300 million in “sovereign-guaranteed loans” over the next five years.”
Case in point – “naysayers, vacillators and gaslighters”
I would actually call us (most of us, at least) citizens of Barbados who rightfully question the policies and actions of our elected leaders, provide them with alternative views from the people and attempt to hold them accountable. After all, there is no credible opposition in the house. And it is the duty of citizens of a participatory democracy so to do.
“Fool me once, shame on you! Fool me twice, shame on me!” We Bajans have been fooled too many times. Enough is enough!
And as the vacillator to whom you refer, I see nothing wrong with second guessing myself. I would think you would call that open mindedness! It is in fact an admission that I could be wrong. SMH.
PS. Why are so many of you using Trumpian language ????? “Promises kept” invokes terrible emotions for the average Barbadian. Be careful with that!
Loading…
Donna
Next thing we will be hearing is “I alone can fix it!”
Loading…
The blogmaster invites you to join and add value to the discussion.Cancel reply