Submitted by PUDRYR

To Every Bajan Patriot,

First, this message IS NOT FOR THE SHEEPLE – it is ONLY FOR PATRIOTS! If you are NOT a Bajan who loves Barbados, DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER!

After seeing all the Mugabe Dictator actions like (i) the changes of our Constitution, (2) her importation of people from Canada, (3) hiring 28 ministers/senators (4) firing 5,000 Bajans, (5) increasing MP salaries, (6) defaulting on Government savings bonds, and all the other shyte all Bajans want to know one thing.

How can WE PATRIOTS MAKE this Mugabe regime a ONE TERM, 5 year government? 

Every day, we hear the suffering of our friends and Bajans across the island. We hear the suffering and the victimization and the dishonesty of this BLP regime

We see, and also, RIGHTFULLY SO, FEAR, THIS “ONE MAN STATE”, and need to know how we are going to counter Dictator Mottley.

Many think that our choices are few and alternatives fewer, given our “EITHER BLP dictator OR DLP alternative ”.

Do we have other choices? I strongly believe Barbados does have choices. We have a few qualified Bajan men and women who want to serve AND HAVE THE COMPETENCIES to do this. 

And what we MUST do is to give these Patriots what is the Third Party Movement the means whereby they can be advertised to our citizens where every bajan can see them and see what they are doing.

I SAID “ARE DOING”, NOT WHAT THEY ARE PLANNING TO DO.

Today de ole man wishes to suggest a “Matrix” within which these Patriots CAN OPERATE.

The Third Party Movement

This chart is purposely simple cause it is critical that everyone INCLUDING THE OLE MAN  understands the objective – WE WANT PERFORMERS whose track records we can see.

It breaks up the elements of running our country into 3 simple sectors so that any idiot (ME) can understand it

Citizen Needs, Corporate Needs and Government Facilitations/Operations. 

Any, and all activities required to run the affairs of a country will be “sub elements” within the Keep It Simple and Stupid Orgchart

It is simple and stupid cause, if we cannot manage a community club, AS IS EVIDENCED BY OUR CURRENT LEADERS, and our neighbours in Venezuela, we ent going manage de economy

De ole man suggests that for the Third Party to be successful and MORE IMPORTANTLY, be so attractive to our electorate and gain the vote, it must have a working programm IN ADDITION TO ALL THE PLANS & MANIFESTOS.

And de ole man suggests that any Patriot who is embraced by this Movement, MUST FIRST SUBMIT A WORKING PROGRAMME under one, OR MORE, of the three parts of this LIVING SOLUTION. 

So if for example, a candidate purportedly suggests that they have the skills to create a solution for Citizen Employment, dem going have to bring a working solution and then employ unemployed people.

It must be scalable and more importantly sustainable.

When 2023 rolls around, persons who has submitted such viable elements to the Third Party Movement  would be able to show that they employed “x” persons successfully for “y” dollars for “z” time VERIFIED UNDER THE BRA & NIS.

We HAVE TO ABANDON de lotta long talk and engage with people who can deliver

ELSE WE GOING END UP WITH THE BDLP all over again

274 responses to “Bajans – We Must Save Barbados from Mugabe!”

1. Hal,

what is your gripe with Barrow?

2. How do you overthrow a system when it is your nature to be docile.
    How do you overthrow a system when the arm of cronyism will neuter you, the embrace you and give you a job.
    How do you overthrow a system when the education system prepares you to maintain the status quo.
    They enter the university and meet a few radical ideas, but by the time they graduate those ideas are winnowed out.
    The next generation of law crooks are entering, midway or graduating from UWI this year.
    The transformation that you seek cannot or will not emerge from our schools or our leadership.
    Our society is locked in inertia,. We have reached equilibrium.
    We know we need to change the system but are afraid of making any real change.
    We are a people of words and not of action.
    Not failed, but failing…

3. @ James Greene,

Not a gripe, just that there is a cult of the personality when there is no evidence of greatness. He was an outstanding leader. His 1961 government was remarkable. I still have a mental picture of the changes he introduced. He ran out of ideas after independence.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife February 9, 2019 10:27 AM
    “The Transport board collects ALL of its fares in cash only. Millions, and millions of dollars every year. Some of those dollars are MINE.”

Look how far you have travelled on the omnibus of hypocrites to expose your ‘lying’ self!

You have told the BU household on numerous occasions that your only mode of public transportation has been in the backseat of the ZR boys’ vans for the past 2 decades.

What do you think your ZR pimps would think when they read that the Lady Simple Simon(e) is giving away their ‘pick-up’ fares to an unreliable tout called ‘TB”?

“Shavvvvving cream”, anyone?

5. Why must the Bajan who is PM be one of the smartest persons in the world?
    When does the ‘transfiguration’ occur?
    Is it after the votes are counted?
    How does it work? Does the leader get smarter or the people more foolish?

6. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David February 9, 2019 7:08 AM “Being circulated on social media.”

Dear David: The people sending out that foolish post would get more respect and if they could read, write and count. As somebody else pointed out the numbers given add up to $40,000 not $50,000 also the language is that of a semi-literate. The new staff are not “paying” anything. They are being PAID by us the taxpayers.

I can’t believe that these innumerate, semi-literate people were infesting the Transport Board.

If they can’t count. If they can’t write a simple sentence how can they run a transport system?

i feel real, real bad that my tax money has been wasted on such people.

Stupssseee!!!

7. You, with your 1.7 persons per square miles, should not point fingers.

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TInniss “Owen Arthur – Opposition leader David Thompson,- Freundel Stuart – ,Magistrate Faith Marshal-Harris – ,the Police security driver of Owen and Thompson -the phones of private citizens.”

None of these people were private citizens. None. They were all public officials, being paid from the public purse. And even while I agree that if their phones were being tapped that was wrong, and even while I am not in favour of bringing old “has-beens” back to work, to call the officials mentioned private citizens is a lie.

As my old auntie used to say “when you tell lies, people lose all respect for you”

9. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David February 9, 2019 8:01 AM “@T.Inniss. How the blogmaster is motivated to operate is way above you pay scale.”

David. Yuh kill’ we den.

Lolll!!!

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife February 9, 2019 10:38 AM
    “If those people responsible for “managing” the transport board over the past many decades let the fleet decline to 50+ buses, even while collecting tens of millions of dollars from fare payers like me, why did the board still have 300 drivers on staff. Ask yourself in order to run a proper transport system do we need to have 300 drivers to keep 50+ buses on the road, in a system which does not have a single 24 hour service.

Nonsense was going on long, long time. It is not only a DLP thing, nonsense was going on under the BLP also. The politicos destroyed the Transport Board by giving every single lucrative route to their family and friends in the ZR and yellow bus sector. Then they keep 300 driver’s on to drive 50 buses and we the taxpayers are expected to continue paying and saying nothing”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Simone, you are speaking simply the Truth there, SS!

Well done! It’s time you are promoted to a more challenging class.

If the TB cannot currently generate sufficient revenues to save its financial ass from IMF-imposed privatization how the hell can it operate electric buses as proposed by these headless jackasses?

Are they planning to employ monkeys as drivers and pay them with bananas while nightly recharging the buses with lightning strikes from Jehovah?

11. @T.Inniss

Many have come to BU and tried to poke at the credibility of the BLP. Would you be of that opinion when the blogmaster has Owen Arthur in his gun sight?

You may have the last word on this matter.

12. Hal,

so you are just trying to put into proper prospective his legacy.

let me say this. no man is perfect and Barrow certainly was not. but i have heard many people black and surprisingly white people speak v well of Barrow and not from a political point of view but a personal one.

politically because our independence happened when he was Premier he will be forever renowned as the father of independence, however you view that. Barrow expanded free education which had been introduced by Sir Grantley. and he was largely responsible for growing the black middle class which Arthur humorously and perhaps rightly referred to as negrocrats.

i benefited form the free education and particularly from the school text book rental scheme. i dont know how my grands would have managed to buy those books and that believe it or not it what endeared me to the DLP.

i worked in a certain govt for about 2 years under the BLP and i could tell you that they were a cravicious, arrogant and corrupt lot. that was in the early 80s. again that is why i generally prefer the DLP.

the last iteration of the DLP deserveD what they got. they solved no problems and from all reports were as greedy as any BLP govt.

saying that, i have no time for people who think it is their god given right to lead. i get that from Mottley. i get that from the whole host of these new bred politicians who seem to think they must behave like American politicians; always in the news leading some PR drive. instead of letting the civil servants (technical officers) do their jobs while they (the politicians) concentrate on policy.

so far this Regime is pleasantly different from the past DLP in that they engage the public but that is the extent of it.

i wont even get into the sewage and water tax, the tax forgiveness and the bestowing of that Knighthood, the hiring of Jong and Dottin and all the Czars, consultants and 30 Ministers. she is pulling the wool over bajans’ eyes but we love it so

maybe you are right- we are a failed society

13. At the bottom of page 5 of Barbados Today, there is a report of Government’s intention to review indirect taxes in light of the recent lowering of corporate taxes. So the ordinary citizens can expect to pay higher taxes while businesses pay lower taxes.

14. @ donna
    re GP

We have already determined the answers to some of your questions.
    THEN THERE IS NO NEED FOR TODAY’S PALAVER

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TheoGazerts February 9, 2019 10:58 AM “You, with your 1.7 persons per square miles, should not point fingers.”

Why don’t you stop telling lies. As my old auntie used to say “when you tell lies, people lose all respect for you.” Please try to remember that.

I made a typo, and when Hal kindly pointed it out, I immediately corrected it. Thanks again Hal.

I never said that Barbados has 1.7 people per square mile.

I said that the birth rate is 1.7 per woman.

I said CORRECTLY that the population density is 1,709 per square mile.

I’ve spent a lot of time in more than one country working with census data. I know a thing or two about demographics.

Get lost do.

16. @ James,

I do not blame you for mis-interpreting our social history. Ignore the group-think. As I said, the 1961 DLP government did a lot of good things in terms of transforming the Barbados economy, but they built on a base established by Sir Grantley. It was Sir Grantley who built the Port; it was Sir Grantley who built the QEH; it was Sit Grantley who established the Transport Board (it was very competent then); and it was Sir Grantley (along with Ernest Deighton Mottley) who opened up our first and second grade schools to ordinary working people.
    I believe you went to the University of Waterford (built by Sir Grantley, who also built Parkinson, Princess Margaret and St Joseph’s). This was an incredible expansion in the late 1950s, early 60s. Finally, the man responsible for freeing the British colonies was a Jewish American who worked in the US State Department, Harry Dexter White. The evidence is in the Library of Congress and the Public Records Office in Kew.
    My main obligation is not to the reputation of Barrow, but to the accuracy of our political and social history.
    I will end o the notion of the black middle class. As pointed out above, part of the social compact was that the sons and daughters of ordinary working people would go off to what we called high schools (the Modern, Federal, et al), and in the process, graduate and get ‘good’ jobs and lift the entre family. Instead, that 1960s generation of ‘educated’ young men and women set out to look after themselves and leave their families (and class) in the traps they grew up in. It is a betrayal best represented by the lawyer class and the egotists..

17. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Who all yuh? Abigail learn sarcasm and to connect dots.🤣🤣”

in the future, remember the happy laughing days…ah sure Donville is…

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@millertheanunnaki February 9, 2019 10:52 AM “You have told the BU household on numerous occasions that your only mode of public transportation has been in the backseat of the ZR boys’ vans for the past 2 decades.”

Why don’t you stop telling lies. As my old auntie used to say “when you tell lies, people lose all respect for you.”

I do catch ZR vans, although some of the boys of BU seem to feel that should enrich a European car maker and drive a BMW or something. I am stepping out soon to catch a ride to town with one of my favourite ZR guys. But I have NEVER said that they are my “only mode of public transportation”

“When you tell lies, people lose all respect for you.”

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

IMF in we ‘rass. If we need the IMF to wipe our noses and behinds, and to tell us to wash our hands after we use the toilet, and to tell us to use the taxes, fares, fees, and duties collected for the purposes for which they were collected, then so be it.

IMF in we ‘rass.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“At the bottom of page 5 of Barbados Today, there is a report of Government’s intention to review indirect taxes in light of the recent lowering of corporate taxes. So the ordinary citizens can expect to pay higher taxes while businesses pay lower taxes.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Wouldn’t be surprised if in the upcoming Estimates cum Budget presentation there is an announcement to move the VAT rate to 20% or even 22%; with the number of zero-rated items reduced significantly to make up for the inevitable falloff in corporation taxes and to satisfy the IMF-set revenue targets to qualify for further balance of payments funding.

21. “When you tell lies, people lose all respect for you.”

??????????

22. Hal

Must be a Cawmere ting because i am in agreement with you on the black middle leaving their relatives to flounder in the villages and city slums especially.

you know coming form the country i could believe how people lived in the city so closely crowded. i mean the tennantries were kind of slummy too but at least we had land.

yeah those were able to get a job in govt or be taken on by the white private sector immediately gravitated toward the terraces and heights forgetting their relatives in the villages.

i wonder what they could have done differently but it left a void in those areas and socially and perhaps economically

23. The electorate are NOT oblivious. They are hopeless. Look at what the UWI students said!

24. @ James,

The big escape was migration.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife February 9, 2019 11:41 AM

So what are your other forms of public transportation? ZM or Z?

Don’t you think that using the mock doctor title “Sir” is simply just one big fat lie needed to underscore your false claim that you have worked at many jobs including your long stint overseas while travelling the world at the same time?

You ancestors are not very pleased with your propensity to embellish your simply insular life spent entirely in some village in St. James spending half your day in the ground growing imaginary plants.

26. Hal,

i messed up that last post but i believe you understood what i meant.

please elaborate on the migration escape

27. David
    A job description proves nothing, one can write anything in a JD!! Wait and see whether the targets are met i.e. delivery.

depedantic
    Please stop! Where did I support illegal wiretapping? I simply said I did not read anywhere that those individuals’ phones were tapped as TInniss stated. Futhermore, didn’t Dottin categorically deny doing such?🤣🤣 Boss, all I ask for is accuracy; once we start to accept lies and half truths, credibility becomes an issue. #iamnotac

28. Or is that the electorate is… brainfreeze.

29. Don’t belive Barrow ran out of ideas but more or less his ideas ran into the political machinery of those wanting to maintain the status quo
    An almost replicate of what was being taking place for the past ten years and delivered and underscore by the May victory

30. GP,

I said SOME of the answers not all. It is a continuation and I’m sure it will be continued at a later date. Also it will be repeated many times before everybody gets it.

TheO,

That is my point. Why after all this “education” are we sitting hopelessly cpmplaining?

Obviously we need to change our education.

31. @enuff

Do not agree!

A government committed to making aggressive structural changes must be as transparent as is practical to eliminate noise. This is the climate it has to manage well to massage the fears and understandable uncertainty which abounds.

You are correct about how a JD can be manipulated but the JD/Contract serves a purpose in the times.

32. In the 1950s, pre Cave Hill, all we had was the Extra-Mural Department of UWI. Ambitious young men and women had to leave the country to work in the British army, the national health service, Lyons Tea Shops, London Transport. Canada took in only those who were skilled and the US had not yet opened to allow in relatives or citizens/residents.
    The other lucrative escape was down the islands: teaching, the police and prison service were the popular jobs.. This is why down the islands, as we called them there are substantial Barbadian populations a repeat of Panama, Cuba, Aruba, Curacao, Guyana, and Northern Brazil, etc.

33. @Donna

A brief and interesting comment.

Our educated middle class must become a greater influence of the change needed to sustain a wholesome society. The downside of a growing middle class is that it is a voracious appetite for consumption. This is the dichotomy.

34. I agree that the idea was to give a leg up to at least one family member who was supposed to lift the other family members up. Instead families were abandoned. Our problem is that we have abandoned our notion of the extended family for the foreign concept of the nuclear family. These days grandmothers don’t even want to deal with their grandchildren. It is not just the young people who don’t want to deal with their grandparents.

Miller,

If they raise that VAT I think we may yet have “riots in de land”. Remember, Steve Waugh dodged bottles at Kensington. After we saw the replay.

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@millertheanunnaki February 9, 2019 12:00 PM

Ga ‘long do!!!

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna February 9, 2019 12:24 PM “Remember, Steve Waugh dodged bottles at Kensington. After we saw the replay.”

It wasn’t bottles. Or at least not many bottles. I mysef did not see any glass bottles.

It was mostly chicken bones, left over macaroni pie, and plastic cups and cutlery. Lolll!!!

I was there.

The second time in my life that felt unsafe at or after a “sporting” event. A crowd can become unruly real, real quick.

37. A crowd can become unruly real, real quick.(Quote)

The mob.

38. @Miller
    Well bowled.
    Hoisted on her own petard.

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna February 9, 2019 12:24 PM “I agree that the idea was to give a leg up to at least one family member who was supposed to lift the other family members up. Instead families were abandoned.”

Well not entirely.

We are accustomed to seeing migration as being entirely good. It isn’t. Migration even while economically valuable, can break the emotional/social bonds of family. And elderly parents are abandoned, children are abandoned, but it does not have to be so. I believe that love, responsibility, and loyalty have to be taught. I doubt that they are natural.

In my own family I have seen extremes of abandonment, and extremes of love. including an only child who visited the elderly declining parents only twice in decades. Yes the elderly parents suffered enormously.
    And I have seen people who returned home and remained at home specifically to look after the welfare of aging parents. and extremes of love.

40. Hal,

ok i see what you mean.

wasnt migration viewed as a social release or relief as the case maybe, from the harsh conditions and lack of working opportunities for blacks in Bim at the time?

the private sector then was the same as it is now; ran by whites and dependent on Govt largesse

41. Take a Step Back in History even Further…How Barbadians Rose to Prominent Positions in Liberia

The Barbadians produced two Presidents: Arthur Barclay and Edwin Barclay:

https://i2.wp.com/www.afrikanheritage.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/liberia-1.jpg-edwin-barclay.jpg

Mr. Barclay came to Liberia in his boyhood, in 1869 being then about 12 years of age. He was one of the youngest members of a more than ordinary family, for no one could see and converse with the parents and with their sons and daughters, eight in all, without being struck with both their character and their intelligence.We put the word character first, for while indeed well freighted with knowledge, acquirements, and culture, they presented the unusual peculiarity of being heavy weighted with the moral excellence as with the intelligent brightness of right-minded people. They were seen at once to be a group of thoughtful, self-restrained, upright and orderly people, and their life and character during their long residence in Liberia have fulfilled the bright promise of their first coming.

Crummell then gives credit to the success of the clan to the role played by the matriarch Sarah Ann Bourne Barclay:

The father of this family died in less than a year, but such as the strength of the motherhood in the bereaved widow that his children, under her guidance and direction, have passed from youth into manhood and womanhood, honorable in character and useful and beneficent in life and conduct. They have risen, without any exceptions, to high positions in church and state, as teachers, merchants, lay readers, vestrymen, and statesmen. He then turns again to Arthur and signals him out, alerting the audience to expect great things to come from this young man: Mr. Barclay received his education as a boy in the schools of Monrovia; thence he passed to Liberia College, holding a high position in his classes in both the languages and in mathematics. Since his graduation his acquirements, coupled with his manifest uprightness, have made him a necessary factor in the public affairs of the young nation, and he has held several political positions under the government, always acquitting himself with intelligence and honor. It is remarkable to find time and again commentary on the character, skills and accomplishments of the Barclays. These children who migrated were from exceptional families. Both Sarah and Anthony grew up in elite activist households where public service was a way of life. They were also deeply religious households, particularly in the case of the London Bourne clan. London’s only sister Susannah had married Reverend Joseph Hamilton who was also active in the political and social issues of the day. As their families became the leaders in the emigration societies, sponsored discussions and other events on Africa, African civilisations, these children were imbued with the principles, ideological consciousness and commitment that would signal them out as leaders. The same can be said of the other families which have distinguished themselves so well and most of whom are now all related.

42. Waru Crazy, Unstable & Hogging the Blog Avatar
    Waru Crazy, Unstable & Hogging the Blog

“ANTHONY DA SILVA HAS THREE FILING CABINETS IN HIS OFFICE DEVOTED TO MCHALE, OCEAN REEF, RBC, FCIB, ETC.

Now ..i am more concerned with the word etc. so…as alledged does DaSilva’s filing cabinet have files on DLP ministers exiled, BLP ministers past and current and all the viper lawyers we know, are their recordings too ..wuhloss..lol

43. The Presidency of Arthur Barclay (1904-1912 ) spans that time period. Arthur was the son of Sarah Ann Bourne and Anthony Barclay. Unfortunately, the matriarch, Sarah Ann did not live to see her son become President, but the various articles written about him are a credit to her upbringing. For example, in an article written by Alexander Crummell in 1894 for the ACS publication, Liberia, the background of the Barclays is explored. At that time Arthur was the Postmaster General of Liberia and was seen as an important political leader. As Crummell states in his article: Mr. Arthur Barclay, Postmaster General of Liberia, whose portrait we present to our readers in this issue of the Bulletin, is one of the rising men of that Republic. Crummell describes the family background and belief system that created Arthur Barclay in this manner:

Mr. Barclay came to Liberia in his boyhood, in 1869 being then about 12 years of age. He was one of the youngest members of a more than ordinary family, for no one could see and converse with the parents and with their sons and daughters, eight in all, without being struck with both their character and their intelligence.We put the word character first, for while indeed well freighted with knowledge, acquirements, and culture, they presented the unusual peculiarity of being heavy weighted with the moral excellence as with the intelligent brightness of right-minded people. They were seen at once to be a group of thoughtful, self-restrained, upright and orderly people, and their life and character during their long residence in Liberia have fulfilled the bright promise of their first coming.
    Crummell then gives credit to the success of the clan to the role played by the matriarch Sarah Ann Bourne Barclay:

44. The following is a list of the persons who moved into key positions of authority who were either on the Cora or were direct descendents. The Barbadians produced two Presidents: Arthur Barclay and Edwin Barclay:

President Arthur Barclay (1904-1912)

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/b/b6/Arthur_Barclay.jpg/220px-Arthur_Barclay.jpg

Five Secretaries of State: Ernest Barclay, Arthur Barclay, Edwin Barclay, Louis Arthur Grimes and Joseph Rudolph Grimes: two Secretaries of the Treasury: James T. Wiles and Arthur Barclay; two Attorney Generals: Henry Waldron Grimes and Louis Arthur Grimes; two Postmaster Generals: James T. Wiles, the first Postmaster General of Liberia and Arthur Barclay; one Secretary of War, George S. Padmore; One Secretary of the Interior, Richard N. Holder; two Secretaries of Education, George S. Padmore and Edwin Barclay; one Secretary of National Public Health Services, Edwin Murray Barclay; one Director of the National Planning Agency, James Milton Weeks, one Administrative Assistant to the President, Everett Jonathon Goodridge. In the Judiciary: Louis Arthur Grimes, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court; in the Legislature: Richard S. Wiles, Speaker of the House of Representatives. In the field of education, it is noteworthy that the first Liberian President of the University of Liberia was Dr. Rocheforte L. Weeks. The list also includes a host of Undersecretaries and Assistant Secretaries of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives, Associate Justices and a number of Ambassadors. Also included are many of the gospel, among them the names of Clarke, Holder, Padmore, Porte and Weeks. In the army we can boast the names of Col. James B. Padmore, whose gallantry brought the Gola War in Crozierville to an end. George S. Padmore, who twice fought bravely in the Cape Palmas wars and on the second occasion in 1910 resigned his post as Secretary of War to head the military mission to that county.

When we recall that the state of Liberia had been in existence since 1815 and the numbers of African-American settlers in the country numbered around 13,000 in 1865, the upward mobility of this small group of people, in such a short period of time, was remarkable. Further, although educated in the basics of reading, writing and arithmetic, and many of them obviously well read- especially the Barclays, Wiles and Grimes- nevertheless, perhaps with the exception of Sarah Ann Bourne, they were not wealthy, they did not have university degrees; none were professionals except the three Barclay women schoolteachers. They were principally artisans coopers, blacksmiths, sugar boilers, masons and other self-employed persons., predominantly from the middle strata of Barbadian society. Yet, within one generation they were able to become sufficiently upwardly mobile to enter the highest chambers of power on an individual basis. By the period of the second generation, they were able to entrench themselves into the upper class and form a significant power bloc. In terms of the goals of the research for this paper, how did the Barbadian section of settlers see themselves, both as Barbadians and as Africans? Were the goals of evangelical Pan-Africanism that had brought them to Liberia still valid in their cosmology? Most of these questions are difficult to answer at this stage of the research. This is due primarily to the horrific loss of virtually all the archives and State papers of the Republic. To look for the answers one must travel to Washington D.C. and examine the records of the American Colonization Society, which includes missionary work, and the documents of the Republic of Liberia that the Library of Congress has in its repository.

However, in terms of research to this date, personal correspondence with the descendants of the Barbadian emigrants, records of speeches and commentaries such as have been presented in this paper allow us to make some tentative appraisals. First, in all of my conversations with the descendants their Barbadian heritage burned strong as a principal element of their identity. In the Liberian social stratification system the Barbadians continued to be perceived, and perceived themselves as a distinct social group.
    Text is from Dr. Carla Karch of the Society of Caribbean Historians.

45. “i worked in a certain govt for about 2 years under the BLP and i could tell you that they were a cravicious, arrogant and corrupt lot. that was in the early 80s. again that is why i generally prefer the DLP.”

Hmmmmm………

We have our individual experiences and personal preferences. I always refer to the actions of an acquaintance of mine as an example of exhibiting one’s personal preferences. Let’s call him George.

Supposed George has two friends, let’s say Bill and Richard………but his personal preference is Richard. Upon hearing Bill stole a senior citizen’s purse, George quickly admonishes him for committing such a dastardly act. And he will continue to make his feelings about the situation known to all and sundry.

The following day, Richard stole money from 5 senior citizens. George remains silent, while trying to focus the attention on Bill’s act the previous day.

It is interesting to note that Greene mentioned he “worked in a certain govt for about 2 years under the BLP and i could tell you that they were a cravicious, arrogant and corrupt lot.” But he did not mention ever having worked under the DLP for any length of time. Hence, I am at a loss how he could come to that conclusion without working under both administrations and in the absence of a comparative analysis.

But……is this an example of one’s personal preference, which prevents them from being rational and objective?

I worked in the civil service under BOTH administrations and I could tell you that BOTH the BLP and DLP “were a cravicious, arrogant and corrupt lot.”

I did not find any DIFFERENCES in their MO. When the DEMS won the government, they found all sorts of reasons the fire those who they perceived to be BLP supporters and replaced them with their lackeys, under different job descriptions…….

………..all the goods and services were purchased from and contracts were approved to be distributed to DEMS supporters.

Similarly, the cycle continued when the BLP won the government.

Under BEES, for example, goods and services were purchased from a hardware store owned by a former BLP candidate……..under the DEMS, Barbados Hardware and Shamrock.

I witnessed politicians from BOTH the BLP and DLP bring their lackey constituents into the department for jobs they were unqualified to perform; political lackeys telling their workmates: “de ministuh send me hay…….so nuhbody cahn do me nutten,” or if an attempt is made to discipline them: “I gine to de ministuh fuh you.”

A BLP minister sent one of his lackeys for a job which did not require him to travel. However, one month he submitted a travel claim for over $700. When the Director told him he was not a travelling officer, he told the Director: “you better sign my claim before I kick you down the stairs.” He called the minister, who in turn instructed Director to sign the claim.

DLP ministers would hire lackeys to perform specific functions, but gave them job titles that would entitle them to more pay and benefit from travelling allowance and car loans. A woman was performing the duties of an administrative officer, but was given a different job title so she could apply for a car loan and claim travel.

ALL the DEMS supporters in the department were APPOINTED 1 day BEFORE a general election.

I could go on and on. But these are my personal experiences……..

…….. and this is the reason why, UNLIKE Mr. Greene, I DO NOT have any personal preferences for any political party.

I will always maintain the political philosophy and ideology of the BLP and DLP are the SAME.

46. i dont disagree with that. i only gave my reasons for generally supporting the DLP based on my experience

47. In the mid-1860s the total number of freed slaves and persons of color who had left the USA to settle in Liberia amounted to nearly 19,000. After the Civil War (1862-1865), the emigration of black people from the USA to Liberia virtually came to a standstill.

In 1865, 346 emigrants from Barbados sailed to Liberia, among them, Anthony and Sarah Barclay with their children. A couple of thousand more would follow their example in the following years.

President Arthur Barclay (1904-1912) A Barbadian…
    The ‘father’ of Liberia’s Open Door Policy

“We need external help to develop Liberia” – Arthur Barclay…

President Arthur Barclay (1904-1912)

http://www.liberiapastandpresent.org/images/Illustraties/BarclayArthur.jpg

The life of Liberia’s last President who was born outside Liberia/Africa started in the Caribbean

Arthur Barclay was born in Bridgetown, Barbados, the British West Indies on July 31, 1854 and he was the tenth of twelve children of his parents, Anthony and Sarah Barclay.

The Barclay family came to Liberia when Arthur was eleven years old, in 1865. They settled in Monrovia where young Arthur engaged in petty-trading in the streets of the capital city. Monrovia may have had some 5,000 inhabitants in those years.

He was educated at Liberia College, studied law and became a counsellor-at-law. He was called to the Bar of Montserrado County in 1877. Three years later he joined the Supreme Court. He also gained reputation as a scholar. He taught at his Alma Mater, Liberia College, and even served some time as Acting President of Liberia’s highest institution of higher learning.

Arthur Barclay also engaged in politics and in 1874, at the age of twenty, he became President J. J. Roberts’ Private Secretary. Eventually, he became General Treasurer of the True Whig Party.

In the mid 1860s the total number of freed slaves and persons of color who had left the USA to settle in Liberia amounted to nearly 19,000. After the Civil War (1862-1865), the emigration of black people from the USA to Liberia virtually came to a standstill.

In 1865, 346 emigrants from Barbados sailed to Liberia, among them, Anthony and Sarah Barclay with their children. A couple of thousand more would follow their example in the following years.

In 1892 he was appointed Postmaster-General in the Cabinet formed by President Cheeseman (1892-1896) who promoted him to the position of Secretary of State in the same year.
    Four years later, in 1896, he became Secretary of Treasury, a position he held until his election as President. Consequently, he was a Cabinet member during twelve years and serving three presidents: first President Cheeseman (who died in office, in 1896), then President Coleman (who resigned, in 1900, also under his – Arthur Barclay’s – pressure) and, finally, President Gibson.

Arthur Barclay was for the first time elected in 1903. He was elected President on the slogan ‘Internal Development’. He had very outspoken ideas about the country’s economic history and future, the contribution of the colonists as well as the – discarded – role of the Liberian tribes.

He was inaugurated as Liberia’s fourteenth President on January 4, 1904 and was twice re-elected. Daniel Howard succeeded him in 1912.

After his 8-year presidency, Arthur Barclay at various occasions participated in Government (secretary of state, treasury, war and interior).

In 1929 he represented Liberia in the three-member Committee of the League of Nations, which investigated the forced labor scandal in the republic, the allegations of slavery, and the involvement of highly placed government officials. The Committee’s report eventually led to the resignation of President King and his Vice President Allen Yancy.

President King was succeeded by Edwin Barclay, nephew of Arthur Barclay.

On July 10, 1938 Arthur Barclay, one of Liberia’s most important presidents – who successfully led the country through one of its most crucial stages – died at his home in Monrovia, almost 84 years old.

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal

Any history of great leaders of our country, cannot exclude Frank Walcott.
    It was Walcott who defined real leadership in terms of what has been accomplished to date.

49. When I worked in the service and the DEMS “were in power,” tickets for overseas travel on behalf of government, were purchased from GEM Travel, which, according to public knowledge, is owned by Philip Greaves and his wife, who is David Simmons’ sister.

When the BEES took over, airline tickets continued to be purchased from GEM.

I hope one observes the DLP/BLP connection.

I do not believe there have been any significant changes in the way the BLP and DLP operate that differs from the past.

Hence, I would not be at all surprised if airline tickets are now being purchased from……….

……..INDAR TRAVEL CENTRE.

50. @ William,

I agree. I always link Walcott with Blunt. Two dynamic leaders in the days when our trade unionists were honourable.