When a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in, he has no choice but to become an outlaw.
Nelson Mandela

There has been a spike in criminal activity over the last two weeks a few we must label brazen.

The Attorney General and Commissioner of Police will point to the ‘stats’ to support the perennial concern of Barbadians that criminal activity remains at a low level comparatively so. The blogmaster reminds the goodly gentlemen that the ‘stats’ being quoted are criminal acts reported by the public.

The observation is that when the ugly head of crime raises its head higher than normal there always a hue and cry from the public calling for the police force to be more efficient. For the Courts to efficiently execute. There is a heavy focus on ENFORCEMENT.

Barbados is fortunate – using the word loosely – to be able to study the criminal landscape of our regional neighbours where the crime ‘stats’ are higher than Barbados. A conclusion is that it will not matter if there is an increase in the boots on the ground, whether we co-opt the army to support the police or even arm the police with more firepower. Other considerations have to be factored in the solution to be able to wrestle the vexing matter of increasing crime.

What are the underlying factors driving the dysfunctional behaviour affecting segments in the society threatening to destabilize our society? Bear in mind one of the redeeming and differentiating qualities of Barbados post independence has been the perception and reputation of being an orderly society with citizens showing respect for law and order. To state the obvious the blogmaster’s concern about escalating crime includes blue and white collar crime.

We have had discussions on BU’s pages about the rising crime in Barbados. The focus has been on what is visible, the acts. If we start from a basic position that a society is the “the aggregate of people living together in a more or less ordered community”- the sustainable solution to tackling rising crime must be about influencing behaviours. We have to improve enforcement, however, a more proactive approach to dealing with parental delinquency, maintaining standards in the school system and fostering a culture in our communities where we are our borther’s keeper. Overarching what is required is for our leaders in the political and social sphere to execute on relevant plans that are relevant.

This weekend the blogmaster had reason to be in a rough neighbourhood and was intrigued to listen to a blockman sharing his view about the gun violence and brazen robberies being committed in Barbados of late. He was emphatic that it will get worse. Perpetrating violence by a young lawless group according to him is regarded as a ‘badge of honour’ and often a rite of passage in the communities they exist.  The culture espoused in ghetto music out of Jamaica feeds a mentality that middle class Barbadians removed from village and hood life cannot begin to fathom.

Do we know what we need to do to haul this lawless segment from the morass they now find themselves?

Do we appreciate time has run out on ignoring the situation?

306 responses to “Need to Respond to Rising Crime and Violence”

1. Barbadians for the first time this year will be subjected to a tax on of their favourite Christmas delicacy !

Bajans will have to pay a HAM TAX on all hams…..

Compliments of Peter Wick – HAM !

He supports all the taxes this WICKED government has imposed on Bajans since June 11 , 2018 .

2. The Bishop sure hit the nail on the head. Better late than never. He deserves his salary – THIS MONTH.

3. I have used the term “having an agenda:” only once on BU. To me it means continually espousing views that are patently false, all for nefarious reasons or self-interest.

4. Gabriel dont worry about how i swing
    I asked if u were Commisiong beause of your hastened defence of him
    Also what i stated about him billing past govt in large sums of legal fees is not a secret
    Furthermore i invoke to ask of Commissiong where is his voice after defending “the people’s right”in helping to unplug more holes for criminals to enter this countrt

5. what passes for ham in barbados boggles the mind with the price tag.

6. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Immigration Officers at a bar in Bridgetown and she was found in that bar scantily clad and working as an exotic dancer in contravention of Section 17(1) of the Immigration Act. She was subsequently deported on October 9, 2017, in accordance with Section 13 (6) of the Immigration Act
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I don’t believe the misinformation put out by Edmund Hinkson as to why this Caricom National wasn’t taken before the local law courts as he has alleged fraud.

This Statement yesterday seem to be a cover-up.

Since others have alleged both Immigration officers and Police officers tip off the strippers on raids in the clubs along with the Owners there is obviously a major ongoing criminal conspiracy.

Maybe Jeff Cumberbatch can shed why ALL Strip Clubs and sex bars whose workers are 99 percent visitors to the island and contravene Immigration Act Section (17) 1 why are they allow along with the owners of these establishments to break local laws so easily.

The exotic dancers/strippers are not issued work permits thereby engagingly in criminal activities and should ALL be deported like the Guyanese female in the Press Release by Edmund Hinkson.

There is obviously complicit criminal collusion between the Minister, Police and Immigration if this Policy is not across the Board for all exotic strippers/dancers in the Strip Clubs and sex bars who are mere visitors to the island of Barbados.

7. Donna
    At 08:48, well said. But that is highly impossible.

A slave master’s education will keep this duopoly and its yardfowls, like 45gov and ac, alive forever.

8. Peter Neyroud, former chief constable of Thames Valley Police and now a criminology lecturer at Cambridge university, is clear about why violence is rising. “What you’re seeing here is the effects of austerity — the chickens are coming home to roost,” he said. “There have been cuts in police, as well as all the protective interventions . . . early years funding, social support for teenagers, help for those with special educational needs.”(Quote)

Where does the public health premise fit in this analysis?

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Maripokey

“…I am speaking of the one whose voice is no where to be heard now country is going to hell in a hand basket as criminals roam the street killing innocent people.

Commisiong where is that voice for the people in times of need?…”

Are you some sort of idiot?

On numerous occasions de ole man has told you (& your steadily improving colleague T Inniss) not to show the evident incompetence of the Democratic Labour Party

Imagine you come to this blog and insist that the BLP PIMP sorry lawyer who has shown that he is loyal to his cousin, come back to the blog to represent the DLP’s cause!!!

Girl, that is a special degree only delivered to a “lexicunt” (thank you Brother in Arms Bush Tea for that word)

You mean that de whole DLP imps ent got one lawyer with the grandson it’s to represent wunna interest heah pun BU?

What bout Skeletor Hal Dollop or Ms Depieza dat win de leadership position?

Wunna really ent ready and de ole man going ensure dat it remains dat way.

“Watch muh now”

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance please with an item here thank you

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

When a bullet leaves the barrel of a gun it that is pointing at a man or a woman it has one objective and one objective only – and I the shooter want you to know I WANT TO KILL YOU.

Now all of you Amnesty International capital punishment opposers need go understand this.

I am not interested in any international treaty when I take your daughter or sister or mother into a lonely place and rape and then kill her and when wunna pussies feed me 3 square meal a day, wunna can be assured that, if wunna gives me bail, I will repeat this crime again.

I have no idea about all these fancy concepts that wunna got.

All I know is kill or be killed so I encourage wunna buhkvunts to continue to pontificate about dese various silly solutions.

As a killer I know who is weak and therefore I will seek them out and wreak havoc on their lives CAUSE I KNOW, LIKE THE POLITICIANS KNOW, wunna weak and ballsless.

I stay away from rich powerful people because they are armed and dont play with us and they are liable to shoot back

Me and my druggie buddies does read these riffle articles and laugh CAUSE NOT ONE OF YOU CAN DO US SH#T.

I may come back tomorrow and repeat this blog cause wunna will not have grown a pair by tomorrow nor no time soon.

I looking to rob a few bones for Christmas cause I have no money. If you are a poor body please put your name here cause I may come and rob you.”

The above blog may seem callous but the fact is that it is the letters that these criminals are write us every single day

AND ALL WUNNA SAYING IS YES.

COME SHOOT, RAPE AND ROB ME

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

One more item thanks

13. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

This below will give others locally what goes on inside Barbados Strip Clubs
    ××××××××××××××××××××××

Clash with cop, Diamond Club owner…Investigators will go ‘wherever evidence leads,’ says Crime Chief

Crime Chief Lyndon Alves says police will go wherever the investigation leads regarding the November 3 confrontation between Diamond Club owner Freeman Fordyce and Major Crimes Unit rank Inspector Prem Narine.
    He confirmed that the investigation was launched after Fordyce filed a complaint, which stated that Narine had threatened him with a firearm. He said that investigators are trying to ascertain exactly what happened.

The man (Fordyce) made a report and he said that he will cooperate,” he told Kaieteur News on Sunday. “We will go wherever it (the investigation) leads.”
    Video footage posted online shows Fordyce resisting being searched and then punching Inspector Narine in the face. It is then that the rank draws his weapon.
    The incident occurred outside of the Diamond Hotel and Bar, located in George Street, Werk-en-Rust. Police subsequently removed a number of women, including Venezuelan nationals, from the premises. Kaieteur News understands that Fordyce was taken into custody but was released without charges. A vehicle allegedly owned by Fordyce was also impounded but then handed back to the owner.
    Police reportedly searched Fordyce’s club while conducting a Trafficking in Persons investigation. This happened after police on the East Coast of Demerara intercepted a businessman who was transporting four Venezuelan women in his vehicle. The women were suspected to have been trafficked.
    In January, police had removed 41 foreign nationals from the same adult entertainment bar. Eight employees were also detained.
    Fiona Hopkinson and Rodwell Dempster were subsequently charged for Trafficking in Person (TIP). It was alleged that they recruited, transported and harboured five Venezuelans at Diamond Hotel and Bar for the purpose of sexual exploitation.
    Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan had said that the raid on the Diamond Bar and Hotel in Georgetown was part of a crackdown on suspected strip clubs and their associated illegal activities of human trafficking and prostitution.
    He stated that attempts would be made to have the Guyana Revenue Authority revoke the liquor licences for establishments found to be involved in the illegal activities.
    “We intend to go after those who we suspect to be trafficking in humans for sexual and labour exploitation. We have been getting information that individuals, like the owner of Diamond, have been involved, and of course this information has come from the Police Force,” Minister Ramjattan said.
    He also noted that the crackdown was in keeping with the Ministerial Task Force on Trafficking in Persons (TIP) action plan, which is to conduct various interdiction exercises.
    “We are not going to allow it. We have zero tolerance for trafficking in persons, sexual and labour exploitation of young girls from across our South American and Caribbean territories,” Minister Ramjattan had stated.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2018/11/21/clash-with-cop-diamond-club-owner-investigators-will-go-wherever-evidence-leads-says-crime-chief/

14. Piece
    I do not expect Commisiong to appear on BU or any media outlet to advocate any message towards resolution for advocacy or one as being the voice of the people during this crime wave that is sweeping the country
    So your misinterpretation via your rants and raved as an attack on myself or your supposedly belief of myself to be a member of the dlp rings hallow
    I am aware if you read my comments that Commissiong service to this country is unto himself and serves no other purpose

15. Piece
    Btw it is sheep like you who have given Commissiong the ammunition to blow all pieces of govt legislation apart at your own peril
    Now you sit in fear and cowardice and wonder out loud who will be next
    Have a nice day

16. Since the closure of Harry’s Nitery whenever, there have been no strip clubs in Barbados.

Try locating one in the Yellow Pages and if you think you know the name of any, look them up in the White Pages!!

I admit I haven’t tried The Ins and Outs of Barbados.

17. Now correct me if am wrong, but it has been years that the UN has issued and published reports highlighting the human trafficking…among other CRIMES in Barbados … while Adriel Nitwit former attorney general made out they were lying….and only now since there is no choice…there are government acknowledgements. .

John ya need to get out more, strip clubs literally litter the island, just like the garbage.

“Traffickers Paying Guyanese Girls Airline Tickets to Come to Barbados
    By Andrea Fernandes -November 20, 2018
    SHARED THIS
    Tweet
    Views: 4,730

In the wake of revelations that an alarming number of Guyanese women are prostituting in Barbados, the Island’s Minister of Home Affairs Edmund Hinckson has expressed the belief that a sophisticated human trafficking network is actually bringing a number of young Guyanese women to Barbados to be involved in nefarious activities.

This concern was raised by the Minister who had issued a missive in the wake of the arrest of a Guyanese woman who was subsequently deported, after being found engaging in nefarious activities at a brothel in Bridgetown.

Referring to possible signs of trafficking, the Minister pointed out that after the woman was detained, she became uneasy and afraid after several men visited her while she was in custody.

After the men had left, the woman immediately changed her story and recanted a confession which might have implicated certain people.

“Based on her change in behaviour, it is strongly believed that some form of manipulation was exerted on her by these visitors to her”, said Minister Hinckson.

Another source at Barbados’ Immigration Department, in an invited comment, told the Guyana Guardian earlier today that there is indeed the belief that a network of traffickers is paying the airline tickets to bring these women into Barbados, and then prostitute them.

As a matter of fact, he expressed the belief that there may be up to three separate groups of traffickers that are involved, and that most of the women leave Guyana knowing fully well what they were coming to the Island to do.”

18. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

I have already said beside the Strip Clubs and sex bar owners many many Police and Immigration officers are involved in Human Trafficking identifying females outside of Barbados for sex work and purchasing tickets while adding their large profits margin holding onto passports upon arrival.

This bullshit about 3 groups of individuals is nonsense unless it involves Police, Immigration and private individuals.

19. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

The main locations for these sex workers coming into Barbados are Jamaica, Trinidad, Guyana, Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela and probably now Haiti since the Visa restrictions removed.

20. So we are blaming black music now for black dysfunction? Has there ever ben any form of black music that as not associated with criminality? We must learn to think for ourselves and stop adopting imported nonsense as explanations for social dysfunction.

21. http://www.kerr-fatou.com/tricked-and-trafficked-a-gambian-woman-who-left-her-kidney-behind/?fbclid=IwAR3Z5_9xaATLTyyqgFQeD49weCskZAYRQAPSmquDTu-wcNe9E3-3xtYy0GQ

I remember a dude living in London returned to Barbados and was exposed to the trafficking of females in Barbados ….he warned me not to bathe in the sea…he said I had no clue the filth that goes on due to the gangs of human traffickers Barbados has…..he outlined some of the nastiness which is frightening and puke worthy.

I vaguely remember in their last report… Barbados being labeled as Tier 2 ,I believe, in human trafficking, if it is accurate, my memory, that label in right on par with Gambia who condones trafficking of their own people into the middle east…..meaning. Barbados is doing nothing to stop human trafficking into the island….but we knew that already.

22. “Since the closure of Harry’s Nitery whenever, there have been no strip clubs in Barbados.”

John……..surely you jest!!!

My friend, you can’t be serious….. or perhaps you made the above comment in an attempt to be provocative?

“…………..strip clubs literally litter the island, just like the garbage.”

Yes…….. there are strip clubs in Barbados, but the above comment is an “over exaggeration” of the situation.

23. So wait all this mess hanging over this govt like dog sh.ite and Mia refuses to take these matters into her own hands
    Our does she plans to use the similar plan of action like what she has done as a damage repair for the sewer system and cartload the whole HiNckson and George Payne saga out to sea.

24. On cue the top brass of the police force held a press briefing to share that crime is ‘down’.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

They are not seeing the arrivals data so they now start to realise that something is wrong

so what is happening is that the security bulletins of the first world countries are reflecting the realities of being a visitor in Barbados

And that the killings are daily? sorry weekly

So Mugabe has finally inherited the wasteland

Watch muh Now

26. Quite interesting to watch what is being proposed with corporate taxation.

Is my understanding right … 30% to 5%?

OECD perhaps?

27. No Stoppin Toppin was supposed to come on the 20th … he is a day late!!

Guess it had to do in Parliament.

“However, the OECD’s Base Erosion and Profit Shifting initiative means it is no longer possible for us to have a preferential regime without incurring severe sanctions. Simply put, it is no longer possible to do what we have been doing for forty years; that is, making a distinction between the taxation of companies operating internationally and those acting locally without there being severe sanctions that will affect our capacity to grow at this challenging time.”

“The broad tax principles we are following are that we shall lighten taxes on work and productivity such as personal income taxes or corporate income. The burden of taxation will fall on consumption and wealth, such as VAT, petrol taxes, user fees and Land Tax. We will protect those most vulnerable through the use of the innovative Reverse Tax Credit.”

28. Land Tax …. ah boy!!!

29. @Barbados Underground Whistleblower November 21, 2018 11:55 AM “The main locations for these sex workers coming into Barbados.”

I am wondering just whom these sex workers are servicing, since men in Barbados have the world’s 4th highest rate of prostate cancer and its associated erectile dysfunction and impotence:
    https://www.wcrf.org/dietandcancer/cancer-trends/prostate-cancer-statistics

30. @John November 21, 2018 10:39 PM “Land Tax …ah boy!!!”

And just how many hundreds of acres do you have John?

31. Simple Simon
    November 21, 2018 11:54 PM

@John November 21, 2018 10:39 PM “Land Tax …ah boy!!!”
    And just how many hundreds of acres do you have John?

It has far greater implications for the person with a few acres or square feet who don’t have the land in productive use and paying for itself.

You clearly don’t understand how crooked the system is.

All GOB does is raise the value it puts on your land and automatically its revenue increases.

If you can’t pay, the land is auctioned!!

That is a major way in which the land scams are practiced.

Remember how the Land Tax on Weston (Jackie Stewart) was handled by George Payne et al!!

That was part of the “expenses” that had to be paid by the sale of the land!!

I have heard of one idea where the land tax is gouged by GOB when and if the land is sold.

The GOB gets its cut of the loot at the point of sale rather than force its sale!!

Been there, done that … managed to make the best laid plans of peoples backfire.

Not too popular with some folks as a result!!

32. Not too many land and other frauds I haven’t seen in the decades long battles in which I have become embroiled in as a half a lawyer!!

Been there, done that!!

33. As you see “Land Tax Auction” you know somebody connected using the system to shaft somebody else!!

34. When a country is cursed to remain a Serfdom, there is NOTHING that can be done until that curse is reversed.

Our CURSE will ONLY be removed when God’s people, who are called by his name, will humble themselves and pray and seek his face and turn from their wicked ways, then …HE will remove that curse…. and ONLY then….

Imagine that we had Owen wasting valuable money on CSME; allowing Chicken feed makers to supervise insurance companies; overseeing VECO, 3S, and wuk4Wuk to the point where we voted him out…

Up comes David Thompson with promises of ITAL … only to end up stealing from CLICO ..and dead as a doornail.
    …to bring on Froon – the biggest clown and oaf in politics – until recently Trumped by the Donald…

Finally, we opt for Mia – who claimed to ‘care’ and promises to make light work via many hands…
    and what happens…?

Accelerated borrowing of money on top of our world record debt levels
    layoffs …on a basis that has NOTHING to do with productivity or merit
    Loan default and Government Bonds devalued
    record levels of jobs for ministers and friends while laying off clerks

Now we hear that major decisions are being made for us by the OECD, (the very throne of albino-centrics)
    and that this ‘caring’ government will be forced to now tax any assets that Bajans own to make up for giveaways to businesses…

This is the nature of spiritual curses…
    Our asses are being taken from the plate, to the frying pan, to the fire …and finally to the grass ..with plimplers.

35. Tax waivers for the rich tax cuts for the rich and everbody else eat salt
    By the time 2023 comes around most of barbados would be taken over by criminals and a set of mafia organisations on the run to collecting debt

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

And in the face of all of this, all Mottley and her crew of incompetent Wombats are doing is shouting from the house tops “WE GOT THIS!!!”

Wunna isn’t got badword.

You Mugabe, are a one term government IF A 3RD MOVEMENT PARTY DOES THE FOLLOWING.

They must publicly engage the services of 3 Retired Permanent Secretaries and some people who were trained in running government departments AND RUN A COURSE FOR 2 YEARS FOR POTENTIAL CANDIDATES

come to BU and publicize the course modules.

And create a YouTube channel and publicise video of the classes, every single month.

Show its students, show interactions with the teachers.

MAKE A FSNFARE OF THE EXERCISE.

Seek to get the course accredited by an international entity.

Hire people like the recently retired Dean at The Faculty of Social Sciences Dr Belle or get attachments by people like Dean Jeff Cumberbatch and soon to retire? Leighton Trotman from the Office of the Auditor General

Show the bajan electorate that the 3rd party is ready AND WILL BE RULED BY OUR LAWS.

De ole man guarantees wunna that this, and a few other things de ole man will give you access to, will bring a VIABLE 3RD PARTY THAT WILL BREAK THIS DUOPOLY.

MY GOD HAS SHOWN ME THIS.

& MY GOD DOES NOT LIE!!!

37. Artax…ah guess you need to get out more often too…there are strip clubs…many, many of them…and then there are stripclubs within private home settings…which are still moving stripclubs, ah heard they stagger these venues, something to do with the Brazilian arrangement….ask Donville et al.

38. @Bush Tea

Do not forget to add, still no credible Opposition.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance please with a drivel item here thank you

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

THE ERNIE & BERT SCAM OF THE BLP

GOES LIKE THIS.

The Mugabe Regime rolls out this plan “we tax the shit out the poor and give forever waivers go the rich”

But this is consistent with what BLP wombats politicians, people that shit cubes, figuratively, do.

41. The two new massas are the IMF and OECD.

All they need to do is say jump and Mia will ask how high!!

All we got to worry about is if the IMF and OECD are corrupt!!

42. I still cannot get over and will never get over this govt giving away millions of dollars in tax waivers
    This “thing” is truly mind boggling and even more mind boggling is the media silence without even asking govt who were the millions given too
    This money belong to the people of barbados who honestly paid there taxes and seeing those earnings transferred to most likely the wealthy should be of real concern to any patriotic barbadian .
    Who are these people should be the calling cry from the left as well as the right

43. @John,

Barbados is not a member of the OECD. That is the rich nations’ club.

44. @David
    Do not forget to add, still no credible Opposition
    You almost mek a man sin e soul, I don’t know what you expect but GP is here on a weekly basis flying his “Solution Barbados” flag unless you are secretly “wishing and hoping and thinking and praying” for a resurgent DLP to show its colours but the voters made the decision about having a “Credible Opposition” and if you are not seen or heard in the Upper or Lower chambers it is hard to maintain any semblance of credibility. Perhaps the DLP is keeping a low profile and thinking that 30-0 inspires so much confidence that the BLP may overreach or Ministers may screw up (hello Jonny ma Boy) or the PM may develop paranoia (sabotage anyone?)

Here’s one idea invite “Douglas Leopold Phillips” to submit a weekly column and see where it goes from there…….

45. @ Simple Simon who wrote “since men in Barbados have the world’s 4th highest rate of prostate cancer ”

for the 130 men with prostate cancer there are 9,870 men who don’t have it so the sex workers will do a lot of serviving.

46. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development is an intergovernmental economic organisation with 36 member countries, founded in 1961 to stimulate economic progress and world trade.
    Headquarters: Paris, France
    Founders: United States of America, Germany, France, Turkey, Spain, United Kingdom, Italy,

47. Just so?????? Thing is, this corporation tax cut does not mean that corporations will hire more workers or raise salaries and wages for the average worker. And if the offshore companies come ashore how much will that realize? And new investment is really just a hope. But the user fees and increases in taxes will mean that the average person WILL DEFINITELY have to pay more out of their meagre earnings!

Show me where this ‘trickle down’ ever trickled anywhere other than into a rich man’s bucket!

48. There is nothing to stop the DLP from becoming a viable political party again.

I hope they are focusing on rebuilding the party.

A year from now Bajans will start feeling the real pain of the BLP austerity measures.

49. @Sargeant

Credible meaning electability. Grenville is putting in the work, we wish him well.

50. @ Donna,

Canadian offshore companies might NOT come ashore.

Trudeau’s finance minister, Bill Morneau, unveiled corporate tax breaks worth $14 billion over six years in a fiscal update Wednesday in Ottawa, the government’s biggest support for businesses since taking power.

The changes — which allow businesses to write-off capital investments more quickly, particularly in manufacturing — are aimed at responding to widespread warnings on competitiveness, which grew louder after President Donald Trump’s tax reform.”