When a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in, he has no choice but to become an outlaw.
Nelson Mandela

There has been a spike in criminal activity over the last two weeks a few we must label brazen.

The Attorney General and Commissioner of Police will point to the ‘stats’ to support the perennial concern of Barbadians that criminal activity remains at a low level comparatively so. The blogmaster reminds the goodly gentlemen that the ‘stats’ being quoted are criminal acts reported by the public.

The observation is that when the ugly head of crime raises its head higher than normal there always a hue and cry from the public calling for the police force to be more efficient. For the Courts to efficiently execute. There is a heavy focus on ENFORCEMENT.

Barbados is fortunate – using the word loosely – to be able to study the criminal landscape of our regional neighbours where the crime ‘stats’ are higher than Barbados. A conclusion is that it will not matter if there is an increase in the boots on the ground, whether we co-opt the army to support the police or even arm the police with more firepower. Other considerations have to be factored in the solution to be able to wrestle the vexing matter of increasing crime.

What are the underlying factors driving the dysfunctional behaviour affecting segments in the society threatening to destabilize our society? Bear in mind one of the redeeming and differentiating qualities of Barbados post independence has been the perception and reputation of being an orderly society with citizens showing respect for law and order. To state the obvious the blogmaster’s concern about escalating crime includes blue and white collar crime.

We have had discussions on BU’s pages about the rising crime in Barbados. The focus has been on what is visible, the acts. If we start from a basic position that a society is the “the aggregate of people living together in a more or less ordered community”- the sustainable solution to tackling rising crime must be about influencing behaviours. We have to improve enforcement, however, a more proactive approach to dealing with parental delinquency, maintaining standards in the school system and fostering a culture in our communities where we are our borther’s keeper. Overarching what is required is for our leaders in the political and social sphere to execute on relevant plans that are relevant.

This weekend the blogmaster had reason to be in a rough neighbourhood and was intrigued to listen to a blockman sharing his view about the gun violence and brazen robberies being committed in Barbados of late. He was emphatic that it will get worse. Perpetrating violence by a young lawless group according to him is regarded as a ‘badge of honour’ and often a rite of passage in the communities they exist.  The culture espoused in ghetto music out of Jamaica feeds a mentality that middle class Barbadians removed from village and hood life cannot begin to fathom.

Do we know what we need to do to haul this lawless segment from the morass they now find themselves?

Do we appreciate time has run out on ignoring the situation?

306 responses to “Need to Respond to Rising Crime and Violence”

1. @ David BU, I have this eerily feeling you’re not long with this Blog. For over ten years you’ve provided Barbadians with a vehicle whereby they can bring about positive changes to life around us. I’m sure one of your goals is that through this medium we the contributor can hit upon some solutions that will affect meaningful and positive turn around with life here as we presently experience. Instead, day after after, week after week, year after year some ass holes hijack the topic with bull shit. Very often, reading the submissions by others I’m reminded of an experience in primary school. This white peace corp. teacher who didn’t brutalize us like the black teachers was teaching us about the solar system, for aids, he grabbed a number of balls; cricket, basket, soccer and so on. I couldn’t believe my ears when he told us that the sun and moon were larger than Barbados; those fifty cent looking discs in the heavens, shit, I wanted to hear more. Now, the remainder of the students decided this is what we are going to do, some started to pretend they were Garry Sobers with the cricket ball, others became Pele with the soccer and some were the Harlem globe trotters with the basket ball. The white peace corp teacher unable to get those students to focus called upon a bajan teacher who proceeded to beat those student with a leather strap worst than runaway slaves. Do you have a leather strap David? After that thrashing, all of us kept quiet, were more prone to staying on topic and definitely stop pucking around in class.

2. @whiteHill

Everything under the Sun has a shelf life and will wither and die in the fullness of time.

3. I find many people born in the decade 1946-1956 are more politically and racially brainwashed than older or younger folks.

I reckon most of the really miserable folks here are from that era.

This group came of age in the 60’s and many have that experience imprinted on them.

These are rebels.

Life tends to be centred on them and many didn’t acquire or pass on the wisdom and experience of the older folks.

They rather questioned it rather than benefit and build on it.

The older folks, 1946 and before, old fogeys if you like, tend to be more religious.

Those folks passed on their wisdom and knowledge as they came and found the custom.

Some of those born between 1946 and 1956 benefitted from their association with these old fogeys and are indistinguishable except they are 20 or 30 years younger!!

Not much disturbs those old fogeys, their faith keeps them strong and happy!!

That’s why I think the centenarians, really old fogeys, are so happy.

I suspect very few of the old fogeys, born 1946 or earlier, if any of them are on BU.

Fewer of the folks after 1956 had access to the old fogeys as they came of age in the 70’s and came under the influence of those born in that decade, 1946-1956.

The old fogeys were being “swept away” by the 60’s generation.

This is entirely natural.

The problem which many from the decade 1946-1956 face is that after all that rebellion and force for change, things have actually gotten worse.

They did not make a difference except to make things worse.

The 60’s made responsibility their weak suit so it does not matter to many.

4. @whiteHill November 19, 2018 8:05 PM
    RE @ David BU, I have this eerily feeling you’re not long with this Blog. For over ten years you’ve provided Barbadians with a vehicle whereby they can bring about positive changes to life around us. I’m sure one of your goals is that through this medium we the contributor can hit upon some solutions that will affect meaningful and positive turn around with life here as we presently experience. Instead, day after after, week after week, year after year some ass holes hijack the topic with bull shit.

YOU AND DAVID BOTH THINK THAT DAVID KING CAN ACCOMPLISH WHAT KING SOLOMON COULD NOT ACCOMPLISH

DAVID KING IN NO SOLOMON MAN
    THE DAILY DRIVEL ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT

HERE THE PSEUDO SOLOMON HERE
    Everything under the Sun has a shelf life and will wither and die in the fullness of time.
    THIS OPINION IS CONTRARY TO SOLOMON’S OBSERVATIONS IN ECCLESIASTES 1:4-7

THE FUTILITY OBSERVED IN THE CYCLES OF LIFE 
    NOTHING SEEMS TO CHANGE – 1:4-7
    1. The earth appears to abide forever, even as generations of men come and go
    2. The sun is constant with its rising and setting
    3. The winds continue their whirling cycle
    4. The water cycle also, as rivers run into the seas, and then through evaporation and rain return to the rivers again
    — Looking at nature, it seems nothing ever changes, it just goes in circles and remains the same! 

SIMILARLY SO DOES THE DAILY DRIVEL ON BU

5. The topic of your blog Honourable Blogmaster is “…Need to Respond to Rising Crime and Violence…”

When Eddie is in the nightclubs (purportedly) rubbing his face in the laps of the “visitors to our island” it might be that he is seeking inspiration from the perspiration of their gyrations for a strategy to deal with “rising other things.”

De ole man beleives that, if the bloggers here are incensed at Eddie’s proclivities for these visitors, purportedly of course, all that they need to do to stop his “public examination of the difference in the perspiration of one Jamaican over another guyanese visitor” is to take a picture, one which is readily available using the available technologies so that you can have the proof that others affirm so vociferously.

In fact since Mariposa is so much au fait with the handprinting technology de ole man volunteers her to go down to the nightclubs and show her face there.

Indeed, if the description of Mariposa is true, this alone would cause Eddie to “Cease and Desist” for fear that while he is going into the laps of a young lady it ma be switched into Mariposa’s lap.

De ole man will say that, once one of those pictures or videos get circulated via whatsapp, Mugabe will have little choice other than to tell Eddie to stop his public outings since they are overtly embarrassing to her regime.

THereafter, Eddie and others of his consort,will have to go to private parties where his proxy agents will invite these visitors for private “viewings”.

But seriously barring the common denominator of “rising” in the description of your article and what the romping should cause Eddie, what do these remarks, INCLUDING MY OWN, have to do with solving the problem?

You see when do ole man says dat a gallows needs to be constructed, how people doan tek on de ole man, but for de week how many people get kill dey?

And John de qualer talking he ususal flax out how people in de heights getting affected.

If a Simpson, or a Williams or a Simmonds get kill, all de criminals going be lock up or dead overnight!!

@ Pachamama,

I am not promoting anarchy, all i am doing is stating fact, there is a nuanced difference, I AM AT THE DESTINATION, while you are grappling with how to get there with all the preamble

6. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item of drivel here on the blog thank you

7. 😩SIMILARLY SO DOES THE DAILY DRIVEL ON BU😏
    You could really shut your trap and get lost with your childish commentary.

8. There is a strong correlation between the impunity given to politicians, littering of the environment and a crime rate. As humans, we echo the behave of those held in high esteem. Check existing case studies. Examine crime in Saudia Arabia, Singapore Vs Nigeria and Haiti.

When we get serious about corruption in road construction and other capital works projects give me a holla….Yawn!!!!

9. @8:32 p.m.
    You are a funny man (at times).

10. Now yuh see how things does come back to bite yuh.

If Eddie Hinkson and the others in the BLP crowd did not oppose the finger printing policy – then this guyanese woman who was deported before and came back on another passport – under a different name – would not have had the opportunity to leave the precincts of the Grantley Adams Airport in August this year when she returned.

But with Mia motley and the opposition BLP at the time – it was a case of opposing the policy ( as with anything else Stuart or Sinkler proposed) strictly for political gains.

They were not concerned about the cost to the country.

Karma I tell you is a b * i * tch.

The stone that the builder reject will become the head cornerstone.Not so ?

11. @November 19, 2018 12:22 PM “In my era, one of my siblings was 23, the other 26 when they first gave birth. My mother was 32 when she had her first child in 1954.

So your eldest sibling came to the age of consent (16) in 1970, well after the oral contraceptive pill was introduced in 1962.

The pill had a tremendous impact on fertility.

As did HIV from 1981 onwards.

12. Since Mia Mottley became Barbados’ PM crime in this country has risen to an alarming level .

Now the said woman talking about sabotage !

She knows that word very well !

Mia Mottley SABOTAGED the Hyatt hotel

Mia Mottley SABOTAGED the BNTCL deal !

Mia Mottley SABOTAGED the Transport Board !

Mia Mottley SABOTAGED the South Coast Sewage Project !

While she was Opposition Leader !!

Watch muh !

So did we really expect anything better now that she is in charge !?

A bloated frog 🐸 in red !!!

13. @Gabriel November 19, 2018 9:20 PM

😩SIMILARLY SO DOES THE DAILY DRIVEL ON BU😏
    You could really shut your trap and get lost with your childish commentary.
    SORRY FOR TOU SAH
    GP WILL SPEAK FREELY IRRESPECTIVE OF WHAT YOU TINK
    AND IF I OFFEND YOU—-SO MUCH THE BETTER

I LEARN TO DRIVEL DAILY RIGHT HERE ON BU
    AND I CAN DRIVEL LIKE YOU AND THE OTHERS
    AND IF I OFFEND YOU—-SO MUCH THE BETTER

14. Inniss
    You fail to state the truth just as the well known DLP henchman engaging David Ellis today seeing no conflict in Guyson Mayers Chairing of the PSC and his role as General Secretary of the DLP. The Government apparently intends to incorporate the Police ,Prison Officers and Customs and Immigration under the umbrella of a reorganized and rebranded Protection Services Commisssion to replace the existing Police Service Commission.Rightly or wrongly he sees this as a means to an end and threw up the red herring of Ian Gooding-Edghill and Colin Jordan being permitted to serve on boards without let or hindrance during the DLP rain of economic terror.That neither of the two held any political office in the BLP and that they both were serving as members of the institutions which selected them to represent the interest of their groups,was conveniently left out of the discourse.Ellis would have none of it and clarified the comparisons for the listening public.You conveniently left out the real bone of contention and that was the mandatory finger printing of Barbadians leaving and entering their home country and the sanctions for non compliance.One unenlightened Senator made reference to treason..No pride,no industry as EWB encouraged.

15. The pill probably made the 60’s!!

16. Piece
    You are one vulgar ole man the type that would let women pee in your face jus for the hell of it
    Yes i agree with plugging all port holes including your a..ss hole
    ALL GOVTS have a right to protect their borders especially from fanny poochers just like you
    Next time u see me walking the halls of BU stay on the opposite if not i will drop kick your backside as if i was holding a hot potatoe
    And for your information i can openly boast i am a beautiful person

17. Wuh dam.Barbadians and all citizens of international countries has to go through special.immigration screening in irder to depart or enter the country
    No exceptions and no outburst are made
    And yes their are fees
    and sanctions applied for non compliance
    As previously stated Commissiong used his skilled as a lawyer to fool the justice system and the whole of barbados that the legislation would take away rights from the citizens
    Btw where is Commissiong voice in all the mayhem blood and gore that has taken root in barbados because of the illegal weapon trade and drugs in barbados
    Commisiong agenda was to get Caricom nationals ft3om countries like Haiti to work as farm labourers
    However Haitians are not fools and like Barbadians not going to work in the broiling sun for free
    So yes the borders remain open for all criminal elements far and wide to land on our shores and ply their trade as drug and gun toting business men
    Thanks fir Nothing Commissiong

18. The “political spin doctors” are pushing their political agenda ………and making the task of camouflaging their “yellow and blue undergarments” an extremely difficult undertaking.

One “spin doctor” is suggesting the REASON why the Immigration Biometric Regulations 2015 WERE NOT IMPLEMENTED was because the then Opposition BLP OPPOSED the finger-printing measures.

Perhaps he may want to remind BU of any occasion when a policy initiative introduced by ANY ruling administration had to be deferred because the Opposition was opposed to its implementation.

As far as I can remember, the former DLP administration sought to introduce the finger-printing of passengers entering and leaving Barbados via a port of entry/exist.

David Comissiong, through his attorneys in the matter, Edmund Hinkson and Lalu Hanuman, challenged the measure on the grounds that an immigration officer had no right and power to PROHIBIT or RESTRAIN a Barbadian citizen from LEAVING or ENTERING the country if that person refused to provide the officer with biometric data.

They argued from the view point that the measure BREACHED the rights of a citizen under Section 22 of the Barbados Constitution as well as the Immigration Act Chapter 190, and infringed on the statutory and lawful rights of a citizen or permanent resident.

On June 30, 2016, the case that was heard in chambers after government FAILED to FILE a DEFENCE WITHIN the REQUIRED 28 days….. and Justice Pamela Beckles ruled the Immigration (Biometric) Regulations null and void and unconstitutional.

Under these circumstances the apologists should ask two questions:

(1). Why did government FAIL to file a defence within the required 28 days?

(2). On March 19, 2016, Acting Chief Immigration Officer, Wayne Marshall, said the decision to defer the start of the biometrics screening programme was taken to allow the department more time to re-examine some of the issues, especially the legal issues, raised in the public arena, both orally and in writing, and to increase public awareness about the initiative.

Taking the above information into consideration, why did the former DLP administration not RE-EXAMINED the biometric regulations?

19. “As previously stated Commissiong used his skilled as a lawyer to fool the justice system and the whole of barbados that the legislation would take away rights from the citizens….”

Hmmmmm…….

Are you suggesting that Comissiong TRICKED Justice Pamela Beckles into ruling that the biometric finger printing measures breached the rights of a citizen under Section 22 of the Barbados Constitution as well as the Immigration Act Chapter 190, and infringed on the statutory and lawful rights of a citizen or permanent resident?

Are you also suggesting government’s refusal to implement the finger printing measures is responsible to recent spate of shootings?

After all… they REFUSED to FILE a DEFENCE in the Court within the required 28 days.

Wait…. Kellman, Jeptar Ince and Reggie Hunte duz help you write these contributions?

Thine ignorance knoweth no bounds….

Hahahaha

20. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Excerpt below from Edmund Hinkson Press Release:

a warrant was executed by the Police and Immigration Officers at a bar in Bridgetown and she was found in that bar scantily clad and working as an exotic dancer in contravention of Section 17(1) of the Immigration Act
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This clearly shows that the Laws in Barbados are broken every day by the Strip Club owners and their exotic dancers/strippers who come into the Island as visitors and represent 95% of the employees of the ALL OF THE STRIP Clubs.

These Strip Clubs and SEX Bars are frequented by many many Police and Immigration who also solicit in clear breach of the Law.

The Strip Clubs also have Police on their staff as Security at the door and in some cases inside the Strip Club.

Money and pussy too too sweet.

21. Patrick King win this round.

IMAGINE HE GOT EDDIE HINKSON TO RESPOND TO THE MATTER HE RAISE IN THAT VOICE NOTE – BECAUSE THAT INFORMATION KING SENT OUT WAS QUICKLY MAKING THE ROUNDS.

If a picture count paint a thousand words – then Eddie Hinkson’s face tonight on the news said it all.

I am begining now to understand why a few weeks ago Hinkson was talking about Immigration speeding up the process for non nationals from the region waiting on extensions etc.

Piece just painted a very vivid picture of where imagination can take the mind in a very probable scenario, however;

Think about the implications of the man who holds the portfolio for Immigration – as Home Affairs Minister – also holds the power to say nay or yeah to the Jamaican,guyanese,columbian or any whore – who may come up against a road block at the port of entry in Barbados.

Imagine then the following night a visitor to these unsavoury establishment finding himself sitting alongside said high official – partaking of the offerings of the said Jamaican,guyanese or Colombian sellers of pokkerts.

Something wrong with this group of 30 yeah.Their leader no longer seems to care about the Optics.

You have allegations of stealing of a senior citizen land by 2 senior ministers going unanswered

You have charges of conflict of interest by a holder of high office in a very sensitive ministry – who according to a ‘hired gun’ like to pick fares

You have a man entering the hallowed chambers of parliament and putting on the Speakers Robe and the next day going down in a Drug Den to be present at a police raid of his client,or at a murder scene;

But most egregious of them all is the Leader of the Country – the Prime Minister herself – inviting 5 known drug lords to attend the official opening of the Parliament..

Have a selah moment folks.We have arrived at that place.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

An act of violence has been declared against de ole man here on BU

The resident Wombat Mariposa did declare and I quote

“…Next time u see me walking the halls of BU stay on the opposite if not i will drop kick your backside as if i was holding a hot potatoe..”

Now there are two things that I would want to have clarified

How does one spell “potato?” Again

The second is most frightening and I hope that you intercede for de ole man in this distasteful situation

Let me explain.

Suppose dat Mariposa decide to drop kick de ole man while wearing a skirt?

Imagine the anguish is, instead of her planting her feet in de ole man chest, she miscalculate and dat swibbly maripoki hit de ole man in me face?

Can you imagine de agony?

Man fe ole man prefer if Eddie’s girls was to pee pun muh for a week as opposed to Maripoki to place dat ting pun de ole man

Help an ole man nuh?

23. TORONTO — Victoria-based author Esi Edugyan says her second time winning the $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize for her latest novel “Washington Black” felt all the more meaningful amid a climate in which truth is “under siege.”

Published by Patrick Crean Editions, the novel follows the saga of an 11-year-old boy who escapes slavery at a Barbados sugar plantation with the help of the owner’s kinder brother.

https://www.ctvnews.ca/entertainment/esi-edugyan-wins-scotiabank-giller-prize-for-washington-black-1.4182645

24. The funny thing about the people who claimed others aren’t staying on topic … is the fact that they themselved are the ones who are deflecting or digressing from the topic to counter personal attacks … and this has led to the mess we now see on BU daily…

Yes BU has changed …I remember being the only person here who was guilty of changing the topic … because of the constant personal attacks from Bush Tea, Piece, Lawson Georgie Porgie, Artax Sun Shine Girl, Simple Simon and Sergeant … now it seem as though all are guilty of the common practice here … but the blog could still regain its credibility if mature people can show that they are beneath the personal attacks…

25. But I believe that David King is now offering his assistance to his beloved party the BLP … and the new blogmaster really do not care so long as the focus is off the BLP … but it is all good… because truth crashed to the ground shall rise again…

26. This PM Mia Mottley has no shame
    With all the disguting and illegal wrong doings being said about her ministers namely George Payne and Hinckson
    One would thing she would release a press statement with haste acknowledging that as PM she would deal with such matters according to rules and regulations which governs parliament as an indictor that none of her ministers actions would be given a free pass or swept under the carpet and none are above the law.
    But no! she says or does nothing to the effect that she is serious about being transparent on such matters and most importantly in the name of integrity she would not allowed the name and character of her ministry to be tainted and drag across social media in the most despicable and vile manner
    Therefore she is willing and able to respect the laws of Parliament and deal with such matters efficiently and effectively and called for resignations if need be

27. Later i will deal with Comissiong and his dirty guerrilla tatics of blocking legislation which could help in identifying criminal activty at our borders and his role in allowing our borders and keeping our borders open as a playing field for criminal activity
    Activity which is causing the nation reputation to be soiled and tarnished by drug dealers and gun toting activist.of death and mayhem

28. if mature people can show that they are beneath the personal attacks…
    Mature people tend to be ABOVE personal attacks Lexi…
    You probably mean those of your ilk …. Lexicunts… who are below..

29. Today is a new day and a new blog quickly appears.

But the stench of the Patrick King voice note with him asserting that the Minister responsible for Immigration is a known connoisseur of the offerings by the non national – Jamaican,guyanese whores – otherwise known as picking a fare – will remain in my memory for a very ,very long time.

It is good that we know this things are people speak out loud about it – because you will know what to do when suddenly out of nowhere you hear from certain BLP corners – representation being made to legalise prostitution;

or representation being made to legalise homosexuality – so people can bite freely – all day every day.

WHO IT IS PEOPLE REALLY ELECTING TO PONTIFICATE OVER THEM AND MAKE LAWS WITH THEIR SPECIAL INTEREST IN MIND.THE MORAL COMPASS SEEM NON EXISTENT – AND THESE ARE THE PEOPLE WE CALL ‘THE HONOURABLE SO AND SO’

In 5 and a half months time these are some of the things that Mia Mottley is presiding over.

Add to that the spectacle of a most chaotic form of layoff where the most junior of workers are being thrown on the unemployment line with an uncertain future – yet a cabinet of almost all the elected members are enjoying their free lunch and dinner at taxpayers expense at the parliament, plus the travel,entertainment and duty allowances.

The Consultants and the Tsars like Avinash Persaud, Clyde Mascoll, Billie Miller, Commisung, Analese Babb, Ben Arrundell, Jessica Odle,Pat Parris,Charles Jong – are all enjoying their big salaries and allowances while the Maids, Security Officers, Cashiers, School Meal Workers and others like them pay the sacrifice so Mia and her ministers can live large.

Don’t worry she told you to – give her the vote and watch her and you did.

30. T Innis dont expect better from David he is a pooch licker for govt
    He is comfortable eating the spoils off govt table
    In the meanwhile people suffer and govt ministers are caught up in a tangle web of lies and deceit and he couldn’t care less
    Hang in there man day dies run until night catches with it

31. So for clarity’s sake – we are arguing that the DLP was corrupt but that should not matter because the BLP is corrupt too?

Can’t you people even see the futility of your arguments? Throw off the party shackles and see that this only enables this corruption. This is time for ALL of us admit where our foolishness has got us and change our ways. We are well on our way to being a “shithole” country.

Wuhnuh like the smell uh SHIT?

32. @Donna

No they can’t. It is why we are in the position we find ourselves.

#yardfowlism

33. You know for the most part whenever I address other bloggers comments/posts – I usually reserve commendation or agreement for these posts.

I never feel I should have the temerity to be so outrageous to tell bloggers how they should respond or what they should think – so you have to excuse me if I call out these circumspect, self righteous persons pronouncing on persons ‘THEY HAVE LABELLED A DEM’ – and who rarely – though not never – direct their anxiety to the rabid members of the Bee hive – who have been at it for 10 years criticizing the last government – but feel comfortable in endorsing the same behavior now.

For the blog moderator who is so quick to label persons who consistently show up the hypocrisy of this government – as a yardfowl – well then all I would say is – it takes one to know one.

And for the those who seem to want to tell persons how to address issues that they are concerned about – I say – keep your unsolicited advice.

This could only be pure unbridled hubris – where people think they must dissect and pontificate and judge others contributions – especially when some of them have no moral authority to do so,or can’t untie the shoe lace of the contributor.

I will reserve my other comments – but I tell you this place was like an echo chamber before 24th May 2018 – now it seem some persons can’t handle “pushback” or an alternative view.

Like I said My method is USUALLY to commend or indicate my agreement with the blogger – rather than think I should lecture them on how to think, what issues they should respond to and how they should respond.

I hope you understand that you have shed no light on any of the issues by these idiotic responses. Steupse.

34. Lexicon,

You are quite right about the unnecessary crudeness. (And by the way, I would bet my life that Willie gets swibblely just like Maripoka), The problem though is that you tend to stray far far away form the point on EVERY topic and you do so at length hardly ever returning to base and ignoring the blogmaster’s prodding. And recently you have taken to playing preacher, counsellor, zoologist, knower of all things feminine, knower of all things DONNA .and you go on and on and on…… ad nauseum.

Don’t get offended! I really do not mean any offence. I’m just saying…….

35. There is none so blind as he who WILL NOT see.

36. Good news

Two of Trump’s appointed judges and one Obama’s one ruled against the Trump Aministration policy of deporting illegal aliens without due process yesterday …

37. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar
    The Truth Shall Set You Free

Are there more than one person writing as T. Inniss?

You are a self righteous hypocrite. I hope you realize that you are also telling bloggers that they should not respond to what you post. Did David die and made you king of BU that you believe you are above criticism? You could only be some kind of idiot. This is a public blog, as long as you post contributions anyone is entitled to either criticize, agree or disagree with it or offer their opinion and you can’t stop that. But you have your agenda and believe people should join you. If you want people to agree with your comments only and not criticize you, then go and open your own blog,

38. Would the Real Comissiong please stand up
    I am speaking of the one who fought govt tooth and nail in every policy
    I am Speaking of the one who billed govt for millions of dollars in legal fees
    I am speaking of the one who held past govt to a different form of goverance under the disguise of the people’s rights
    I am speaking of the one whose voice is no where to be heard now country is going to hell in a hand basket as criminals roam the street killing innocent people
    Commisiong where is that voice for the people in times of need

39. Having an agenda is a phrase quite often used on BU. Can those making the claim plse explain themselves.

40. “Can’t you people even see the futility of your arguments? Throw off the party shackles and see that this only enables this corruption. This is time for ALL of us admit where our foolishness has got us and change our ways. We are well on our way to being a “shithole” country.”

If only…then half the battle would have been won…

41. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hal
    Having an agenda is a phrase quite often used on BU. Can those making the claim plse explain themselves.
    ×××××××××××××××××××××××××

This remark is used by those who seek to dismiss another person’s viewpoint who does not mesh with theirs to distort the narrative of the individual comments.

42. “Are the British poor people happy with their lot? Why not.?”

UK is sinking furthee and further into poverty,so that would be a real life no.

“The main difference that I have noticed between people who are younger than I am and those that are older is that the older ones seem to be more brainwashed by politics, religion, or some other mental opiate.”

Part of the problem that aids the mental destruction right there.

43. Mariposa @12.10p
    Can you name ‘every policy’ for which you apportion combat Commy vs the Crown.
    Can you name those matters for which he billed ‘millions’?I didn’t know he was hired in the first place.
    If the Courts ruled in favour of ‘people’s rights’,why are you seeing that as a minus.
    Most Bajans should conclude that the country is on the mend,saved from the hellish cliff our last government was heading towards.If his voice made a difference, he should be complimented.

44. Can we say the bishop has had an epiphany?

These types of sudden life changes leads to all types of societal problems and social challenges..

… let’s see if the Mia government is in tune to any of it or has the ability to understand or recognize the root cause of decades of disenfranchisement and marginalization of a whole population….as it manifests itself…ah won’t hold my breath.

“Earlier today, Leader of the Opposition Bishop Joseph Atherley, released a statement responding to comments made by Prime Minister Mia Mottley about how the retrenchment of Government workers is being handled.

The following is the statement in its entirety.
    Government can’t take credit when things go right and shift the blame when they get it wrong. Prime Minister Mottley is alleging sabotage of government’s restructuring and retrenchment programme. Government then should identify and deal with the saboteurs.

There are too many recurrent reports of people being unfairly treated in this layoff exercise. Too many stories of people being favoured, unjustly and illegally so over others.

We must stop playing with people’s lives. These layoffs, I have said, are a terrible thing. There are terrible at any time; there are even more so at this particular time.

The numbers announced by government are likely to be more than indicated. Add to that the ripple effect in the private sector. Then see the compounded effect when you consider that about 4 000 just came out of the education system this summer. The situation becomes more tragic when you also reflect on the thousands who graduated in the last ten years and can’t yet find a job or must settle for gross under-employment.
    I call on the Prime Minister to ensure that there is a proper mechanism in place to manage this already painful process.
    We are playing with the lives of people – parents and children, people with debt obligations, people who were struggling even before being laid off; and now having to face this nightmare.

There must neither be negligence nor callous indifference in the management of this process. (PR)”

45. Hal Austin & Underground whistleblower

My sentiments exactly.

That’s why I choose who or what I respond to.

46. Gabriel are u Commissiong. If the shoe fits then wear it
    I have nothing to explain all that i said is known public record
    Maybe u ought to search for u findings in Mia direction who has yet to release the 26 balloned advisors and speculators. ( cabinet ministers) wages some of whom are not citizens or residents of barbados like Jong who can feed off the taxpayers trough while the rest of the country is sand papered
    Btw what happen to the white oaks meeting with Atherley after Atherley got up in Parliament and demand answers as to how White oaks was being paid
    Gabriel those are the issues you need to pay attention instead of putting firewalls in place to defend the low life actions of Payne Hinckson and to some respect Commisiong ( a man who has left barbadians to fret and find solutions for the ongoing crime wave which is sweeping the country)
    Bye yardfowl extraodinare

47. So let me get this straight, the Mia government has some kinda problem with bajan land in Barbados that it CANNOT offer it to the average bajan for farming??..

…. Suriname also makes sure that every one of it’s citizens, every family has a piece of land to call their own to put up a dwelling house and plant food without having to purchase it, maybe Mia should try copying that…

….why would bajans go all the way to South America to farm land when they got land in Barbados they can farm, land that is growing cow itch and pond grass…..I mean those who are interested can go, just saying.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/20/suriname-offers-land-for-bajan-farming-pm/

“Agricultural powerhouse Suriname is offering land to Barbadians interested in farming, the Prime Minister said Sunday.

She told journalists that on her recent visit to Suriname, she signed an economic, technical and cooperation agreement with the Dutch-speaking CARICOM member state, which, in addition to other provisions, outlined the fact that the South American government is prepared to provide “significant tracts of land” for Barbadians to farm.

“We visited farms, acres, and all we can see is pineapples. We visited other farms and saw all kinds of fruits. And the truth is that the Caribbean shall, and should never starve, and should never be wanting for resources and commodities, with Suriname and Guyana as part of the other Caribbean countries. Our problem is that somebody has to make it happen, and somebody has to come to work every day to make it happen,” Mottley said.”

48. @T.Inniss

You are aware that key to learning and growing is butting heads with others with different perspectives?

49. Mariposa
    You swing generally and wildly in your commentary and when asked to provide specifics you seek to do a ‘trump’….lie.Recognise one sure thing.The Democratic Labour Party as envisioned by the founders is dead as a door nail,sent to the nethermost parts of Hades by a colossal 30-0 defeat for which Stuart,Sinckler,Boyce the Quisling and Jepter the man holding the ‘unbiblical’ cord of the huge ‘physical deficit’ will forever be remembered in this 21st century.