When a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in, he has no choice but to become an outlaw.
Nelson Mandela

There has been a spike in criminal activity over the last two weeks a few we must label brazen.

The Attorney General and Commissioner of Police will point to the ‘stats’ to support the perennial concern of Barbadians that criminal activity remains at a low level comparatively so. The blogmaster reminds the goodly gentlemen that the ‘stats’ being quoted are criminal acts reported by the public.

The observation is that when the ugly head of crime raises its head higher than normal there always a hue and cry from the public calling for the police force to be more efficient. For the Courts to efficiently execute. There is a heavy focus on ENFORCEMENT.

Barbados is fortunate – using the word loosely – to be able to study the criminal landscape of our regional neighbours where the crime ‘stats’ are higher than Barbados. A conclusion is that it will not matter if there is an increase in the boots on the ground, whether we co-opt the army to support the police or even arm the police with more firepower. Other considerations have to be factored in the solution to be able to wrestle the vexing matter of increasing crime.

What are the underlying factors driving the dysfunctional behaviour affecting segments in the society threatening to destabilize our society? Bear in mind one of the redeeming and differentiating qualities of Barbados post independence has been the perception and reputation of being an orderly society with citizens showing respect for law and order. To state the obvious the blogmaster’s concern about escalating crime includes blue and white collar crime.

We have had discussions on BU’s pages about the rising crime in Barbados. The focus has been on what is visible, the acts. If we start from a basic position that a society is the “the aggregate of people living together in a more or less ordered community”- the sustainable solution to tackling rising crime must be about influencing behaviours. We have to improve enforcement, however, a more proactive approach to dealing with parental delinquency, maintaining standards in the school system and fostering a culture in our communities where we are our borther’s keeper. Overarching what is required is for our leaders in the political and social sphere to execute on relevant plans that are relevant.

This weekend the blogmaster had reason to be in a rough neighbourhood and was intrigued to listen to a blockman sharing his view about the gun violence and brazen robberies being committed in Barbados of late. He was emphatic that it will get worse. Perpetrating violence by a young lawless group according to him is regarded as a ‘badge of honour’ and often a rite of passage in the communities they exist.  The culture espoused in ghetto music out of Jamaica feeds a mentality that middle class Barbadians removed from village and hood life cannot begin to fathom.

Do we know what we need to do to haul this lawless segment from the morass they now find themselves?

Do we appreciate time has run out on ignoring the situation?

306 responses to “Need to Respond to Rising Crime and Violence”

1. Lexicon
    November 19, 2018 1:34 PM

John
    I am talking about what I know and not what I have heard or read …

++++++++++++++++++++++

So how did things change so drastically between 1955 and the 1970’s?

2. Simple Simon had it right about some of these men back in the day with these young girls…

So how come Leslie Clarke, a 44 year old plantation person in 1955 could be so different?

What changed between 1955 and when you saw what you did?

How many years did it take?

3. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/116968/louise-thorne-barbados-super-centenarian

Another plantation person, at 110.

How come their values don’t seem to change … and why are they so happy?

4. John

I know for a fact that back in the 70s as boy associating with the police … I saw a lot of white female tourists in the station complaining about being raped … but to protect the Tourist Industry this was hidden from the general public…I can even give a case were these four guys from Bush Hall Yard Gap raped the blonde hair female from Canada for several days in the 70s … and the words that really stuck with in that case … was when tourist said she didn’t mind …but it was too much …the police were laughing at what she had said… I vividly remember that much …

5. Why are people from the pre Barrow era so much happier than many of those who grew up under Barrow?

Go look at the various Barbadian centenarians and be amazed at the difference.

Read the clear misery of the contributors on here!!

… and they can’t do a thing about whatever they claim to be making them miserable!!

6. “Most crimes in Barbados are not conducted by foreigners they are done by home grown and many US Deportees who hide in the shadows.”

Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Some detectives are of a view similarly to the one you expressed in your above comments.

Mariposa is “singing for her supper” with a silly and flawed argument. The underlying theme of her “political argument” seems to be following the narrative that the BLP is responsible for the escalation in crime, because David Comissiong (whom they have labelled a BLP operative), challenged in Court, the introduction of fingerprinting people entering and exiting Barbados as stipulated under the biometric regulations…….which was subsequently ruled as unconstitutional by Justice Pamela Beckles.

What use are the biometric regulations when a container of firearms and ammunition, stashed among tyres or in engine parts land at the Port? Duh gine fingerprint de container?

Anyone returning to Barbados from a trip overseas and knows a Custom Officer can clear customs without their bags being searched or an Officer referring to the tariff to charge duties.

Anyone who is personally acquainted with an Immigration Officer can apply and receive their passports on the same day or within 2 days. Some Officers allow their friends’ girlfriends visiting Barbados from certain Caribbean territories “hassle free” entry into the island.

If you have a mate who is a police officer, you can get your report for speeding squashed. These are regular occurrences in Barbados.

I have heard of cases where former soldiers are teaching criminals how to use firearms.

For years it has been a known fact that some unscrupulous Police, immigration and Customs Officers are involved in the sex trade. You ever wondered why certain non-national prostitutes working in certain clubs “disappear” on the nights when police and immigration carry out an operation?

Recently the police raided a fete and found a number of weapons, marijuana and arrested off duty police officers who were providing security services.

In May 2013 an Immigration Officer was granted $5,000 after he appeared in Court on the charge of misconduct in public office. And this was as a result of an on-going investigation into the human trafficking cases of five of female Guyanese nationals in April after a police operation at a Bar at Nelson Street, Bridgetown on April 18, 2013.

There are corrupt law enforcement officers all over the world.

7. Underground Whistleblower

Patrick King said nuff nasty things about the Dems – and the Bees in de hives laugh real bad every time he post that crap on social media.

So now he letting out the stories about the Bees – and as you said he telling the world that Edmund Hinkson Minister of Home Affairs with responsibility for Immigration (and the non national whores) – does pick fares with the whores – all I got to say is ‘COME OUT TINGS’. LOL.

Mia and them should realise when you lie down with dogs yuh will catch fleas, not so ?

I NOW SEE WHY MIA HAD TO GO TO HAITI AND SURINAME.

SHE HAD TO GET SOME OBEAH TO TEK OFF THE BLIGHT ON THIS GOVERNMENT.

IT BAD MAN.

FUH TRUE – IT REAL,REAL BAD.

8. Artax

Man de place is corrupted …

Listen! Two years ago I met the former Acting Deputy Commissioner of Police Oral Williams in my very state …he was on vacation here…

I knew Mr. Williams from a boy … because he used to visited his two brothers who were members of tne police band … while he was in university … and he told me that Barbados is corrupted … and I ask him in what way …?” and he told that the entire place is corrupted…

Shortly, there after he gave speak in which he said that: ” The all of the illegal gun that were flowing Barbados were coming in by legal port of enter … then the most honest man in the police force of Barbados was demoted to Assistant Commissioner of police…

9. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

Anyone who is personally acquainted with an Immigration Officer can apply and receive their passports on the same day or within 2 days. Some Officers allow their friends’ girlfriends visiting Barbados from certain Caribbean territories “hassle free” entry into the island.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The Strip Clubs owners in Barbados have for many years paid Immigration Officers $200 per girl going to work in their Strip Club for clearances.

We are talking about thousands of girls over a minimum of 15 year period as they have been quite a number of Strip Clubs locally.

There are also a large number of Policemen who import females outside of Barbados for the Strip Clubs.

Some of these same females on coming into Barbados bring drugs by swallowing.

Swallowed Drugs could be either Marijuana or Cocaine.

The Strip Club owners and Police importers pay for the flights and Immigration kickbacks normally there are no more the $1000 total.

The female is then told she has to pay $2000 (at least $1000 profit per female) to repay the expenses and normally given a month whether they are working in a Strip Club or Nelson Street or massage parlour etc.

The passport is taken away until the money is paid.

It is a big business for Strip Club owners, Immigration and Police.

So Mariposa argument is mute because those who are supposed to protect the Border is only concerned about protecting their deep and crooked pockets.

10. First it was George Payne and Dale Marshall – and now it is Eddie Hinkson. Who next ?

De ting is – that unlike what they were doing – this is not the work of the Dems – this is all at them.

11. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

Some detectives are of a view similarly to the one you expressed in your above comments.
    ××××××××××××××××××××××

I can tell you that most of the detectives don’t need similar views, they would know as many of the Barbados Police detectives are partners in crime with US Criminals Deportees involved in major ongoing local crime and work with the major drug lords in each of the 11 local Parishes.

There is a pandemic of crime in Barbados from top to bottom.

Easier to beatup on the suppressed youth and cast blame.

12. What the hell???

These people are “jumping up and hollering fuh murder” at shiite……… behaving as though Patrick King recently came on the scene

How can people take political opportunist such as Patrick King seriously?

I recall prior to the 2008 general election, King was a regular contributor to “Brass Tacks” cussing the BLP on a daily basis, on behalf of Denis Lowe. And in those days the DEMS in George Street “laugh real bad every time he came with that crap on the radio.

He was given the nickname “Pig Pen Man” because he used to talk about the then BLP administration built a house as small as a pig pen for a man in Farley’s constituency.

King, Lowe and the DEMS fell out and he converted and began “preaching the gospel” according to the BLP. Callers used to warn the BEES to be wary of King because if he did not “get what he wanted” he would treat them similarly to how he treated Denis Lowe and the DEMS.

The HYPOCRISY of POLITICAL OPERATIVES never ceases to amaze me.

How is it that on one hand…….those who previously frowned upon and admonished King for his social media attacks on Denis Lowe, Maureen Holder and other members of the DLP………deeming the attacks as UNACCEPTABLE and UNTRUE……………

………. but on the other hand…….. they are now “ready and willing” to ACCEPT what he is now saying about Edmund Hinkson as TRUTH.

And then they would accuse those who highlight these “double standards and hypocrisy” of being “BLP yard-fowls.”

13. Isn’t Patrick King a big Christian? If yes one must wonder how he explained the need to use such vile language to express himself in a public forum.

14. David

I agree with you there – because he claims to be a Christian.

But the bigger thing is not if he is a Christian – but what he is exposing.

He was cussing so before 24th May 2018 – even when he was claiming to be a 7 days Adventist.

He got Eddie Hinkson in he crosshairs lol.

15. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ T. Inniss

So that we are on the same page I don’t care for either BLP or DLP as it is pretty obvious they are all cut from the same cloth of exploitation and corruption.

I am not blinded.

I highlighted Patrick King as being a BLP staunch supporter to have once again seen the light in both Major Political Parties and his efforts for justice.

I support Patrick Roach speaking out %110 against shite going on in both Barbados major Political Parties whether it is BLP or DLP..

16. David

Jesus kicked over the tables when the Saints were using temple as a gambling Den … so if someone cusses in public that doesn’t make him or her a Christian…? The difference between a Christian and a Sinner … is one lives in Sin and the other Sin and ask for forgiveness…

17. @T.Inniss

Where is King’s credibility to be found?

18. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

Patrick King doesn’t need credibility or anyone approval they are not the Almighty.

Judge not yet ye be judged.

Patrick King exposure of all and Sundry playing Dirty and Corrupt is good enough for me.

19. You know that is info is accurate how?

20. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

How do you know that Patrick King info is inaccurate?

I have seen Edmund Hinkson in local strip clubs and engaged in soliciting the dancers/strippers.

This is fact not fiction same as I have seen Richard Sealy and Donville Inniss do same among others.

21. Underground Whisleblower

I agree with all you said above.

The Dems took their lashes like a man but now the Bees asking about credibility.

They were not coming here and asking about credibility before 24th May.

This is what I try to show up – the hypocrisy of those whose voices were loud in condemnation of the last lot – and there were instances when the criticisms were justified.

But after 24th May and the same thing or worse happening – and not a squeak from certain quarters.

This information about Eddie Hinkson apparently was out there for a long time.People like Patrick King was just waiting to ‘out’ him.

George Payne must be laffing all like now.

22. Is the blogmaster saying it is not? However you are promoting that it is. On what basis, his word?

23. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ T. Inniss

This is what I try to show up – the hypocrisy of those whose voices were loud in condemnation of the last lot – and there were instances when the criticisms were justified.

This information about Eddie Hinkson apparently was out there for a long time.People like Patrick King was just waiting to ‘out’ him.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You have nailed it.

24. If wunnah don’t no noting bout Christianity wunnah fah shut wunnah mout …

Cussing in public doesn’t preclude one from the Kingdom or make him or her less of a Christian … Jesus brouht Grace and forgiveness of sin

… I come that you may life and have it more abundantly…

25. That 30 love potion got the Dems swinging and swiping worse than deandra alias big dikhe.Small island politics driving these Dems crazy.What a legacy Staurt and Sinckler left!!!

26. People are tired of it. The BLP in Opposition same thing. The DLP in Opposition same thing. To what end? It is any surprise the place is sinking fast?

27. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

People should be tired of ALL THE CORRUPTION.

FULL STOP.

28. “People are tired of it. The BLP in Opposition same thing. The DLP in Opposition same thing. To what end? It is any surprise the place is sinking fast?”

David BU

I agree!!!

And when you read the diatribe from the members and operatives of both BLP and DLP, they never raise any GENUINE CONCERNS about Barbados and its citizens……..

………. there are more concerned about their political party.

When the DEM’s 2014 retrenchment program saw over 3,000 public sector employees being retrenched, some BLP supporters were “glad because duh vote fuh de DLP.”

I hearing similar coming from some supporters of the DLP as it relates to the BEE’s retrenchment program. This morning I heard my neighbours, who are supporters of the DLP, saying they were “glad duh getting lay off because all uh dem so vote fuh Mia Mottley.”

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Are they really Mr Blogmaster “…tired of it” ?

If Min Hinkson likes the ambiance of strip clubs – which as far as I am aware are legally operated in Bdos – then is that not an issue for his wife, daughter and other family, his church community and the electorate to decide as acceptable or not.

The allegation of picking fares is another matter entirely as that is an illegal act, again as far as I know.

One wonders if it’s not a game of internal tail pulling by other BLPites to shift the spotlight from their own infelicities….anyhow the minister will handle this public folly accordingly one assumes…if he has broken no laws then it’s a humbug and nuisance

30. So Patrick up de thing..lawdie

31. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

Is this more Political partianship or blacks deceiving and screwing each other?

Is no wonder crime will continue to skyrocket, 30 to 0 BLP.

BWU wants details on Govt’s proposed VSEP

Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU) is distancing itself from a memo sent out to workers of the Barbados Transport Board last Friday, asking those interested in voluntary separation or early retirement to state their intentions by Friday, November 23.

General Secretary of the BWU Toni Moore told members of the media at the union’s Solidarity headquarters tonight that while the correspondence also stated that the BWU had agreed to the proposed packages, this was not the case.

Following a meeting with Transport Board workers, where the memo was one of many issues discussed, Moore made it clear that the Union would never agree to workers opting to go home, without knowing the terms and conditions of the packages.

“The Executive Council of the Barbados Workers Union wishes to distance itself from this approach as it relates to central government, as it relates to statutory corporations. Where there is going to be any agreement that carries the Barbados Workers’ Union’s signature to it, it would be an agreement that specifies to people up front, what they are entitled to, when they will be entitled to it, how it will be paid out to them,” The general secretary assured.

The memo to Transport Board workers, titled voluntary separation, read that further to the meeting of November 1, 2018, between the Board and the BWU, it was agreed that the Board would engage employees in a process of voluntary separation and or early retirement to those persons who have reached the legal retirement age of 60 years, in the first instance.

The letter also stated that in this regard, all interested persons were asked to submit their names on or before Friday November 23, 2018 to the Manager-Human Resources and Marketing.

“While at the national level the Barbados Workers Union does not distance itself from the proposal made to Government that where retrenchment of any kind was being contemplated that voluntary separation should be one of the first steps taken so that you ensure that people who might want to go have the opportunity to express it and can go as opposed to forcing people out who don’t want to go, and who perhaps can’t go because of their financial situation.

“So we are not going to distance ourselves from what has been a good proposal from us that voluntary separation should be considered. But where we have a concern is that we have not discussed with the Transport Board what form that voluntary separation should take, how it should be applied, and the Transport Board has gone ahead, giving the impression that it is final,” Moore said.

The General Secretary argued that management of the Transport Board has not given workers any indication regarding what they would receive if they volunteer to leave their posts.

“And this relates to a memo that would have been sent out from the Head of the Civil Service on Friday last week as well, asking Heads of Departments to entertain voluntary separation with a cut off date of the 23 of November.

“But get this, you fill out an option form to say I want to go and you get the details after. Does that make sense? Would the Barbados Workers’ Union, or anybody in their right mind agree to a situation that would have workers exposed to raising their hands for something and then finding out what they are going to get from it afterwards,” she said.

Meanwhile, President of the BWU Division of the Transport Board Frederick Lovell told Barbados TODAY that the union never entered any agreement with the Transport Board, about asking workers to go home voluntarily.

“So, to have said that the union would have agreed to it, is not factual. We would never agree to something to put our colleagues blindly to accept a pig in a bag. It was distasteful. Workers are left in a quandary as to how they should approach the situation. We cannot allow persons to sign off on anything, not knowing if they are signing their death wish,” Lovell said. (AH)

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/19/bwu-wants-details-on-govts-proposed-vsep/

32. Personally i have no beef with Patrick. King however he picks fares of the political persuasion running between B &D and should be left to drown in his vomit
    In any case his utterances make for good political drama and makes good and well for the outing of the gutter rats in parliament who take liberty on f..ing up peoples lives at the expense of receiving a monthly paycheck

33. John,

Some of them were happy because they did not know any better. They accepted their lot in life because they had been taught so to do. But others knew better and they did not accept that lot for their children. They worked hard for their children to have a better life OFF OF THE PLANTATION.

P.S. I personally am not miserable but I am disappointed in my country and want better for the masses of people.

You should really stop insulting us with your assertions that we were happy under the colonial rule. Are the British poor people happy with their lot? Why not.?

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2018/nov/18/theresa-may-tory-rebels-brexit-deal-uk-immigration

34. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ DPD

Do you think that it is right for ANY Government Minister to be in a Strip Club soliciting Strippers/Dancers who enter Barbados as visitors with no work permits and engage in illegal activities NIGHTLY by working and engaging in open prostitution?

Second how could Strip Clubs be engaged in legal business when ALL the foreign dancers/strippers are visitors and not legal workers as required by Law via work permits.

That is why the Police and Immigration are both attracted because it is a hive of illegal cash activities including drug smuggling and dealing.

Who said common sense is common?

35. Methinks that Patrick King is the new Eric Fly.

36. You should really stop insulting us with your assertions that we were happy under the colonial rule. Are the British poor people happy with their lot? Why not.?

Forget foreigners.

There isn’t a centenarian that appears in the paper that doesn’t praise God and isn’t happy.

Find me just one who complains and is unhappy.

Those centenarians spent the majority of their productive time in their lives in the pre Barrow era.

That is a fact.

They are outrageously happy even though they lived through the post independence era.

Why does Barrow and the post independence era so depress so many people who only know this era?

The people who you feel know better are the most miserable of the lot.

What will they be like if and when they get to 100 and have only ever known the post Independence era.

37. Steupse!

These were not foreigners.

38. Simply put, any Bajan born before say 1946 is more likely to be happier than a Bajan born after say 1956.

I do know extremely happy people born after 1956 but Lord have mercy, there seem to be a whole lot of miserable people from my era and after!!

I can’t think of any unhappy people I know or knew …. older than 70, …. and the older, the happier!!

Think about the people you know and see if you don’t find the same.

39. Which year were you born, John?

40. So why are so many of the folks who lived through the 1937 era so happy?

41. If I am 62, that would make be born in 1956!!

42. Like all people, I know people born before me and people born after me.

The people born before me are generally speaking happier and more positive than the people born after me.

In theory, it could be me who is making all the people born after me so miserable and the people born before me praise God they had some peace!!

43. John,

Are you retired?

44. Nope!!!

45. I know a lot of working people who are happy.

I also know a few retired people whose health has deteriorated and are not happy.

46. “Minister of Home Affairs, Edmund Hinkson, releases a statement today on a joint operation conducted by The Royal Barbados Police Force and the Barbados Immigration Department on night clubs in Bridgetown, on Thursday, November 8, and on other related events.”

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John,
    I’m your age and I’m extremely happy. I know lots of happy people younger than I am.

There are very few younger people on BU… they seem in general to be older than I am and on balance fairly miserable.

The main difference that I have noticed between people who are younger than I am and those that are older is that the older ones seem to be more brainwashed by politics, religion, or some other mental opiate.

48. @ peterlawrencethompson,

don’t be fooled by the online “persona” of BU bloggers. They are not as miserable as they want you to believe. lol

49. I am younger and not miserable at all. There are some issues that we face in this country, as in many other countries and we need to work on them. I am frustrated sometimes by our lack of action. That bothers me because I like action and progress.

50. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

So is Edmund Hinkson going to arrest his BUDDIES IN BEING ALL LOCAL STRIP CLUB OWNERS, THE HUNDREDS OF IMMIGRATION AND POLICE OFFICERS ENGAGED IN HUMAN TRAFFICKING IN BARBADOS?

following is the statement in its entirety Nation Online.

As a result of several complaints regarding violence and prostitution, a joint Police and Immigration operation was conducted at certain locations in Bridgetown.

During the operation, a Guyanese national was among those apprehended. She was found in a particular bar clad only in a man’s shirt. She ran from Officers and was located hiding in the cellar of the bar. She was not in possession of any means of identification and was detained by the Police for further investigations to be conducted.

After the investigations, she was released into the custody of the Immigration Officers to be detained in accordance with the provisions of Section 13 Subparagraph (8) of the Immigration Act, Chapter 190 of the Laws of Barbados. The departmental records indicated that she arrived in the Barbados on August 5, 2018, and requested 30 days as a visitor, but was granted six months in accordance with the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

On further checks it was revealed that this particular female Guyanese national has a distinct resemblance to a Guyanese national by another name who was previously deported from Barbados on October 9, 2017, on the signature of a deportation order by the then Minister of State in charge of Immigration, Darcy Boyce.

This lady according to the records arrived in Barbados on that particular occasion on April 30, 2017, requesting 21 days in Barbados, but in fact was granted six months as a visitor. She had previously entered Barbados. As a result of several complaints received, a warrant was executed by the Police and Immigration Officers at a bar in Bridgetown and she was found in that bar scantily clad and working as an exotic dancer in contravention of Section 17(1) of the Immigration Act. She was subsequently deported on October 9, 2017, in accordance with Section 13 (6) of the Immigration Act.

Subsequent to the police operation on November 8, 2018, she was interviewed by members of the Investigation Unit and admitted that she was the same person who had been deported from Barbados on October 9, 2017.

Subsequent examinations by the Police Force’s hand writing experts of her various signatures on travel documents on her multiple entries into Barbados found that it is extremely highly probable that the Guyanese female national who was deported last year is one and the same person who is the subject of this episode. “Extremely highly probable” means in this case that the conclusion is very near identification with reasonable certainty.

She expressed fear for her life and that of her family and declined to reveal any further information regarding her entry into Barbados or the acquisition of the passport in another name. She entered Barbados on this occasion with a passport other than what she entered on last year when she was deported.

She, however, indicated that she wanted to return home to Guyana as soon as possible. She was not in possession of her passport. However, she was allowed, as her human and legal right entail, to contact a friend via telephone who she stated was in possession of the passport.

While in conversation with that particular individual, members of the Investigation Unit who were in close proximity overheard her informing the individual that she admitted her real identity to the Immigration Department. The individual to whom she was speaking was overheard ridiculing and rebuking her for doing so. It was agreed that the passport would be brought to the Immigration Department at the Airport in order to facilitate her exit from Barbados to her homeland. To this day, that passport has not been received or brought.

Male visitors subsequently visited this Guyanese national and subsequent to those visits, she appeared uneasy and agitated and in fact recanted her admission. Based on her change in behaviour, it is strongly believed that some form of manipulation was exerted on her by these visitors to her.

Given her expression of fear for her life and that of her family and the withholding of her passport, the Human Trafficking Unit of the Royal Barbados Police Force was informed and is presently conducting investigations.

The Consulate of Guyana, the country of her citizenship, as well as the Interpol (the International Police Department) were also informed of this situation.

It is important to note the following provisions of Section 21 of the Immigration Act Cap 190.

21 (7) A person against whom a deportation order is made shall leave Barbados in accordance with the terms of the order and shall thereafter, so long as the order is in force, remain out of Barbados. In other words, this lady had no right to enter Barbados again since she was the subject of a deportation order made in October last year. That order has not been revoked by any minister of Immigration.

Sub-paragraph 8 of section 21 states:

A person who re-enters Barbados in contravention of a deportation order may again be deported under that same order.

21 (9) A person who contravenes or fails to comply with subsection (7) or (8) is guilty of an offence under the Immigration Act.

21 (10) A person who, having been removed or otherwise lawfully sent out of Barbados, enters or resides in Barbados without the permission in writing of the Minister, is guilty of an offence under this Act, and, in addition to any other penalty provided by this Act, is liable to be again be removed from Barbados.

During the period that this Guyanese national was in detention at the airport, several arrangements were made for her to travel back to her homeland. However, she refused bluntly to go to the aircraft on each occasion. This is important because an airline is not going to take someone who is resisting on the airline because of possible security issues on the flight.

Last Friday, November 16, I as the Minister responsible for Immigration instructed that she be detained at a secure location in accordance with the authority given to me under Section 22(1) and (2) of the Immigration Act. She was in fact detained along with three other female Colombians, who were pending deportation as well.

On Saturday, November 17, this Guyanese national was examined by a medical doctor practicing in Barbados and was found to be medically fit. She consequently agreed to travel back to Guyana on the same day. She was accompanied to the airport by personnel, including a female immigration officer and this was yesterday, Sunday, November 18. She was witnessed by several persons, including airport personnel and Immigration Officers, willingly boarding the flight. There was no issue of resistance or her dragging and kicking to board the flight. Had that been the case she would not have been allowed on the flight.

She eventually travelled on a Barbados Emergency Passport along with the copy bio-page of the passport on which she last entered Barbados. These are the facts of the case.

Barbados is party to the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime. This Convention was signed on November 15, 2000, by Barbados. Barbados would have been one of the first countries signing that Convention on the day it was opened for signature on the first occasion. This Convention was entered into force as an international obligation on September 29, 2003.

This Convention has been enacted into the Laws of Barbados so a person who for the purpose of exploiting, and by exploiting it includes by abusing their position of vulnerability; fraud, deception and such a person who recruits someone into Barbados is guilty of trafficking in persons and is liable to a fine of $1 million or 25 years in prison, or both. This is an Act which passed the Barbados Parliament in 2016.

You would see from the weight of the fine – $1 million, or imprisonment of 25 years or both, that the Parliament of Barbados as it should, takes very, very seriously the issue of human trafficking.

Human trafficking is an international problem where the vast majority of the world unites in its fight against this – exploitation of women, and of children; exploitation in fact under the 2016 Act of Barbados includes the giving or receiving of payment or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person. It is to be noted in fact, that the alleged consent of the victim of human trafficking to the exploitation is not a defence.

Under the particular Act of Barbados which is said to give effect to the United Nations Protocol to prevent, suppress and punish trafficking in persons, especially women and children, supplementing the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime and for matters connected there to.

Under this Act, a person who acts as another person’s manager, employment agent or as their solicitor of clients, who knowingly procures, destroys, conceals, removes, confiscates or possesses any travel documents, including a passport, belonging to another person; or a document establishing their identity or immigration status, is guilty of an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine of a quarter million dollars or to imprisonment of 20 years or both. Again, it is an extremely serious offence.

A person who receives or obtains a financial or other benefit knowing it has resulted from human trafficking is guilty of an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine of $1 million or imprisonment for 25 years or both. These are very serious offences and Acts.

I say no more other than a word to the wise is being sent. The police of Barbados have the authority to investigate human trafficking and are obliged to do that under the laws of Barbados and in pursuance of the international obligations of Barbados under this United Nations Convention.

I as Minister of Immigration am sworn to comply with the Laws of Barbados. The Immigration Department, which falls under my Ministry of Home Affairs, together with the police, are also sworn to carry out their duties in accordance with the Laws of Barbados.

I am fully satisfied that this is what the officials of the Police Force and the Immigration Department have done pursuant to the arrests which were made arising from that operation two Thursdays ago. We will not be threatened or abused in any way from complying with our duties under the Laws of Barbados in our various capacities and in seeking to ensure that the Laws of Barbados are complied with, and that issues relating to human trafficking are as far as possible removed from the territory of this country. I thank you. (PR)

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/215481/hinkson-speaks-night-club-raid