justice
Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce

It is unfortunate that when Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce speaks these days, his words inspire little confidence in the blogmaster. The reason: last year, on Kadooment Day, a uniformed policeman slapped a civilian. Boyce said he would investigate and report the outcome. One year later, the public is no wiser.

Policeman slapping a civilian on Kadooment Day 2024

There is no need to be prolix about the importance of the Barbados Police Service (BPS) nurturing public trust—especially during a crime wave. The fact that Boyce felt comfortable issuing a broken promise does not augur well for him or the BPS in fostering a culture of openness and trust.

Listen to the Commissioner’s broken promise

Another worrying observation is the supine approach of the fourth estate AND the so-called social media influencers, given the lack of probing of Boyce on this matter. One wonders how a Commissioner of Police can be allowed the comfort to promise an investigation and report on a slapping incident captured on video—then, one year later, feel no obligation to deliver. The blogmaster was raised to believe that a man must honour his word if he wants to be taken seriously.

It is obvious to the blogmaster that Commissioner Boyce’s laid-back style may not be the best leadership approach in the current environment. As they say, the tone must be set from the top; otherwise, the criminal element will remain neither intimidated nor deterred by current policing interventions.

See the latest crime stats as reported by Amit on barbadoscrimeblog.

12 responses to “Commissioner Richard Boyce broken promise”

1. “…As they say, the tone must be set from the top…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Why are you holding Commissioner Boyce to a promise – while ignoring MULTIPLE examples of broken promises by his various BOSSES?

Where is the damn CONSTITUTION?
    Is there a report on HOPE?
    …on the STEAL houses?
    …what about Four Seasons write-off?
    … Have we been briefed on the Vaccine Scam – beyond what we see in the US courts?
    …What about the PAC?
    Have you seen the PM’s Law certificate yet – that Lowe asked for in the HOA?

Leave the damn COP alone do!!!

Next thing you will be harassing certain bloggers who ran away from BU in a huff – promising never to come back, ….only to break their words.

A promise is a comfort (reassurance) to a brass bowl.
    What the Commissioner did was therefore just reassurance…

what a place!

2. @Bush Tea

Are there not blogs posted on BU that are/were critical of Mottley, Stuart, Arthur and the lot?

3. “Are there not blogs posted on BU….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not Enuff!

But MORE critically, when you see a fella going “mad as shiite”, yuh DO NOT set about healing his HANDS or feet…
    The problem is with the damn HEAD…. not with the hands of the law.

If the PM / Senior Jokers / mock Ministers / Senior Public Lackeys etc were to keep THEIR promises (to uphold the damn Constitution and the Law) then Commissioners, army officers, Fire Chiefs, Prison officers and public servants would do likewise NATURALLY…

Wait wuh happen boss?
    You like you frighten to spot the light in the FACE of the monster yuh..
    …but not stinking Bushie doh!!!

4. The problem is with everyone and the need for citizens to hold them accountable. It does not take resources for Boyce to have come to the public and look us in the eye about the outcome of what looks like a routine investigation. All public officials should strive for levels of integrity. We make too many excuses.
    One year!!!

5. SHOULD

U and bushie SHOULD for a party and run instead of wishing and hoping

6. why put yourself through all the mental pain?

several years delay for a report in Barbados is the industry standard

It’s not the note you play that’s the wrong note – it’s the note you play afterwards that makes it right or wrong. Miles Davis.

7. Matching whites. PMMIA and a deputy?

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John2
    You have me howling.
    Form a party for what?
    Are you suggesting persons in a political party can influence accountability amongst persons like COP, or other public bodies?
    Or that lacking accountability is a contagious disease.
    I feel it mussee in de water.

9. Minister working hard.

“Splash Pun De Road was celebrating another successful Kadooment lime. Organiser Wilfred Abrahams, the Minister of Home Affairs,”