When a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in, he has no choice but to become an outlaw.
Nelson Mandela

There has been a spike in criminal activity over the last two weeks a few we must label brazen.

The Attorney General and Commissioner of Police will point to the ‘stats’ to support the perennial concern of Barbadians that criminal activity remains at a low level comparatively so. The blogmaster reminds the goodly gentlemen that the ‘stats’ being quoted are criminal acts reported by the public.

The observation is that when the ugly head of crime raises its head higher than normal there always a hue and cry from the public calling for the police force to be more efficient. For the Courts to efficiently execute. There is a heavy focus on ENFORCEMENT.

Barbados is fortunate – using the word loosely – to be able to study the criminal landscape of our regional neighbours where the crime ‘stats’ are higher than Barbados. A conclusion is that it will not matter if there is an increase in the boots on the ground, whether we co-opt the army to support the police or even arm the police with more firepower. Other considerations have to be factored in the solution to be able to wrestle the vexing matter of increasing crime.

What are the underlying factors driving the dysfunctional behaviour affecting segments in the society threatening to destabilize our society? Bear in mind one of the redeeming and differentiating qualities of Barbados post independence has been the perception and reputation of being an orderly society with citizens showing respect for law and order. To state the obvious the blogmaster’s concern about escalating crime includes blue and white collar crime.

We have had discussions on BU’s pages about the rising crime in Barbados. The focus has been on what is visible, the acts. If we start from a basic position that a society is the “the aggregate of people living together in a more or less ordered community”- the sustainable solution to tackling rising crime must be about influencing behaviours. We have to improve enforcement, however, a more proactive approach to dealing with parental delinquency, maintaining standards in the school system and fostering a culture in our communities where we are our borther’s keeper. Overarching what is required is for our leaders in the political and social sphere to execute on relevant plans that are relevant.

This weekend the blogmaster had reason to be in a rough neighbourhood and was intrigued to listen to a blockman sharing his view about the gun violence and brazen robberies being committed in Barbados of late. He was emphatic that it will get worse. Perpetrating violence by a young lawless group according to him is regarded as a ‘badge of honour’ and often a rite of passage in the communities they exist.  The culture espoused in ghetto music out of Jamaica feeds a mentality that middle class Barbadians removed from village and hood life cannot begin to fathom.

Do we know what we need to do to haul this lawless segment from the morass they now find themselves?

Do we appreciate time has run out on ignoring the situation?

306 responses to “Need to Respond to Rising Crime and Violence”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Actually Mr Blogmaster no I dont want to debate “what values”. My only bone of contention is this regular wringing of the hands with these public outcries after every significant criminal act.

But be that as it may this thing started long ago…

You surely recall that under Commissioner Durant policing in Bim started to get very progressively modern…in that, issues of gangs were been chronicled (not publicly noted by pols of course), and he reintroduced police into communities and even (as I recall anyhow) issues were raised above like suitability of personnel for force… and too they sought all types of international input re understanding sociological issues re crime (the PLT point). This was all very topical and being examined in depth.

So again why is any of this even mooted as freaking NEW and fresh. Nonsense.

Our pols are wayward, our people are wayward and every generation since Grantley have had a number of their youth wayward and lawless…maybe this cohort are ‘worst’ or rather, just bolder and have more weaponry to create mayhem…I don’t have the answers senor…if I did I would be famously in great demand 🤣… but we cant (again to your point) keep BSing on the issues.

To do that ‘I’ ting again 😁…. I had the pleasure to visit Hal’s hometown for first time some 38 plus year ago (oh lordie I old nuh) and being taken from my Bajan comfort zone and myopia I was STRUCK by this: the number of young women who smoked and too who were pushing prams (as we called them then) but seemed too young to be doing either.

That to say…I was then bluntly aware on return just how many Bajan girls were sexually frolicking and becoming teenager or early twenties mothers…so then I realized …oh gee that’s why Fred Gollop is so vociferous about family planning.

David…good heavens this today are the fruits of that ‘waywardness’ nearly 40 years ago…no lotta long talk…it dred…we DO know all the awesome metrics and psychology of what causes crime and dysfunction…we cant freaking bring it under control….it seems!

2. @DPD
    oh gee that’s why Fred Gollop is so vociferous about family planning.
    ++++++++++++
    Yuh got de wrong Gollop, Clyde Gollop was head of BFPA

3. David, I apologise beforehand for an “I” post.

My brother had a habit of giving my son money EVERY TIME he saw him. I asked him not to do that or to give it to him periodically because I did not wish him to degrade the relationship by reducing it to money terms. I did not want my son to have a Pavlov ‘s dog response.

The world has reduced everything to terms of money. Our children have been taught to love money. When you teach children to love money they will do anything for it. We should teach our children to LIKE money and to have a healthy respect for it as a tool for good. We should also teach them that there are more important (and enjoyable) things than money, like good relationships.

I wrote on another blog that this greed thing is an addictive thing that just like drugs seems never to bring lasting satisfaction. Those who have money never seem to have enough. So they seek more and more.

These are the things we need to teach our children.

P.S. 45 trashed my post as drivel so I wonder what he will say now that John says the same.

4. Donna – where did I trash your post as drivel? I have only posted once, and haven’t mentioned you. As it ha[pens I agree with you above and have ‘liked’ it.

5. @peterlawrencethompson November 19, 2018 8:33 AM. @John November 19, 2018 7:56 AM
    “The OECD would not be involved if somebody wasn’t getting fleeced!! Figure out who!!” “Why do we have 10’s of thousands of acres in bush? What “development” is it waiting for?”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Absolutely correct!! On both counts.

Can’t believe that John and Peter have agreed on something.

There is hope.

6. Americans and people world wide had to give up some of their freedom for security protection
    Yet here in this tiny islands we have misfits who parade as concerned citizens with sole interest in mind using the Constitution as a way forward to help funnelled criminal activity in the island

7. The savages operating in Barbados, like their counterparts in the UK and US are a cancer. They need to be removed, permanently, pour encourager les autres.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Correct Sarge..oops. Thankfully I didn’t say Patrick . 😀

Sir Clyde not Sir Fred…totally different vintages.

Thanks…strange error of association.

9. The problem with the boys on the block is that their basic needs are not being met and they have been taught by the “Big Ups” that crime does pay – and quickly. Unfortunately, cat luck not being dog luck, the poor fools ultimately pay the price while the ‘Big Ups” rake in the profits.

Interventions such as those PLT posted would seem to be in order here.

10. Not on this blog, on another. Maybe you disagreed with something else in my submission.

11. Since 1627 Barbados has been entirely dependent on cash that came from outside. First tobacco, then sugar (both of which are addictive drugs).

Barbados depended on trade, not sugar or tobacco which were merely elements that happened to fit the overall economic model.

Tobacco fell by the wayside … wrong climate, wrong soil.

Plus, its land size is minute!!

Provisioning ships was more important than sugar or tobacco.

It was all done by hand!!!

That’s why St. Michael (18,274) had more slaves in 1817 than the agricultural parishes of St. John (5,469), St. Thomas (5,164) and St. George (6,767) combined!!

The real economy happened in St. Michael, and more specifically in Carlisle Bay … not in the agricultural parishes.

Sugar happened to be the ideal crop to keep land in order for growing food for provisioning ships on their way to the Americas!!

It also provided a means to financially break even and justified the economic existence of the island.

That’s why cash was so scarce.

The economic activity was never financially profitable but it made economic sense.

So, what is the economic rationale Barbados could find to justify its existence today?

The folks the OECD is fixated on just used the reputation Barbados had built up through thrift and its contribution to world history, it’s brand if you like, to cover their activities.

They will just move on to the next easy mark as necessary, except marks are getting harder!!!

We on the other hand ……………….!!!!

12. What I find amazing is that even though Barbados probably has the highest rate of criminal convictions through the confession of persons committing crimes (of their own free will and accord), we appear to be unable to have those same criminals who use firearms in the execution of their criminal activities disclose the source of their weapons procurement.

Has anyone on this blog EVER received a package, no matter how small and insignificant, through the GPO, FEDEX, DHL, AEROPOST or any other package handler and not had it opened and inspected by Customs? Yet, AK-47’s, Glocks, 12 gauge shotguns, 9 mm machine pistol appear to be an easy acquisition. Am I missing something here? There was a time if you were engaged in a fight and it was not progressing to your advantage, you were hard-pressed to find a large enough stone in order to change the balance of power. Not so with firepower today.

13. @Donna – best to stick to the subject at hand to avoid confusion – if you read what you wrote again, it should be clear to you.

14. Donna
    November 19, 2018 11:03 AM

The problem with the boys on the block is that their basic needs are not being met and they have been taught by the “Big Ups” that crime does pay – and quickly. Unfortunately, cat luck not being dog luck, the poor fools ultimately pay the price while the ‘Big Ups” rake in the profits.

I have heard another theory … no money no love!!

To get sex the boys on the block need money!!

So if this is true, where do the women get this insatiable appetite for money!!

15. @Dee Word

All manner of subjects are discussed and recycled on BU. Has nothing to do with reacting to the flavor of the news cycle.

16. The problem with the boys on the block is that their basic needs are not being met

Profound!!

17. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ PLT

Some people have told me that RBPF members are a big component of gun smuggling. Is that true?
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I don’t know you personally or the people who gave you that insight however from personal experience this is a FACT.

The youth did not become criminals on their own they saw it around them and coming from small communities they learn from observing and hearing.

There are many blocks all over the island that are also supplied drugs through the main drug lords supplied and protected by the local police for kickbacks and favours.

The horse has bolted a long long time ago.

Every major institutions in Barbados is rife in corruption and COLLUSION Police, Customs, Immigration, Barbados Defense Force and Coast Guard.

No technology, finger printing, research or study can assist because the inner core is rotten.

Now with IMF hardship on the way crime will increase through more drugs, guns, Fraud, money laundering, human trafficking etc fully aided by the usual suspects.

18. @PLT,
    Where is the evidence? In case there is doubt, when you say crime, or violent crime, is a public health issue, what exactly you and your experts mean? Epidemiology deals with the study of disease contagion, explain its relevance t o crime, and especially violent crime?

19. @de pedantic Dribbler November 19, 2018 10:42 AM “That to say…I was then bluntly aware on return just how many Bajan girls were sexually frolicking and becoming teenager or early twenties mothers.”

The age of first birth nBarbads has changed little in mor than 100 years. The everage Bajan woman gives birth to her first child before the age of 20.

Chances are your mother did so.

Chances are your grandmother did so.

Chances are your great grandmother did so.

Birth before the age of 20 is nothing new, anywhere in the world.

However please note that Barbados’ ss birth rate dropped significantly during the period of the Panama migration, since 40% of the young men had migrated.

So my mother’s mother of that generation did not have her first child until she was 30. Much fewer men. Fewer pregnancies, and much later pregnancies.

And my father’s mother of that generation did not have her first child until she was 22. Much fewer men. Fewer pregnancies, and much later pregnancies.

20. The elites of Barbados and elsewhere are to be blamed for what will continue to be the proliferation of ‘crime and violence’.

The establishment was never interested in a violence-free environment. Such a circumstance would mean an absence of historical violence and would necessitate actions to prevent present official violence especially the economic violence by corporations, with successive governments as their agents.

So when they make these pleas for order they are about making Barbados safe for their masters, the national/international corporate elites. All under the cloak that average people will receive some crumbs from a trickle-down effect. The people have collectively decided that they will not fall for that shiiite any more. And they guns are well-directed!

These popular responses were predictably obvious. And no amount of appeals to a dead White man’s god; resorting to well-worn notions of reason; threats of more state-sponsored violence and violence-workers; promises of more mis-education; on the one hand, while keeping failed societal structures in place, will work no more.

Where were these tired refrains when corporate/government sponsored violence was being meted out to the poor people of Barbados? How much more should the poor, the dispossessed be expected to absorb?

This society has sown these winds. Now, let it reap the world wind. And it must!

21. Hence we have the elites like Charles Herbert a noise maker screaming when govt tries to put policies in place to secure our borders

22. Simple Simon

Now that de love run out men are all dogs and women are all whores … it is sad how some women who have had a bad experienced with one man and hate all men … some men who had have bad experienced with one woman and hate all woman … so they decide that it is best watch four walls … rather than allow another man or woman into their pace… and even though the Apostle Paul implore us to abstain from sexual desire if we aren’t married … God said it’s not good for a man neither a woman to be alone … The Bible does not advocate nor does it supports singleness … it tells us that marriage is Honorable … and the bed undefiled … but whoremongers, and adulterers God will judge…

23. So, we are all agreed that the boys on the block are just a symptom and not the cause of what ails us?

24. We have this mindset that what is happening now is nothing new to what has been rolling from years past. So we continue to hold to this view as Barbados sinks further into the muck.

25. Drugs, Crime and Public Health provides an accessible but critical discussion of recent policy on illicit drugs. Using a comparative approach – centred on the UK, but with insights and complementary data gathered from the USA and other countries – it discusses theoretical perspectives and provides new empirical evidence which challenges prevalent ways of thinking about illicit drugs. It argues that problematic drug use can only be understood in the social context in which it takes place, a context which it shares with other problems of crime and public health. The book demonstrates the social and spatial overlap of these problems, examining the focus of contemporary drug policy on crime reduction. This focus, Alex Stevens contends, has made it less, rather than more, likely that long-term solutions will be produced for drugs, crime and health inequalities. And he concludes, through examining competing visions for the future of drug policy, with an argument for social solutions to these social problems. (Quote)

26. We have not been parenting well. Especially we have not been parenting our sons well. Parenting is hard work. Real hard work. And too many of us excuse ourselves from the critical task of nurturing the our young people, especially our sons.

No. I don’t hate men. I get along very well with the men in my life. I love them, and they love me. We are good to each other. LOVE is the ONLY way.

27. Donna

A certain amount of personal responsibility has to be attributed to the boys on the block … the boys on the block know when to eat, when to shower and when to sleep… so they obviously have some concept of right and wrong… I would agree that you cannot blame child for making poor decisions because he or she does not have the mental architecture/ resoures to know the difference based on his or her brain development…

28. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Mariposa

govt tries to put policies in place to secure our borders
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Stop coming with the same shite.

How will they secure against crooked LOCAL Coast Guard, Immigration, Defense Force, Customs officers and Police working in COLLUSION with the MAJOR players?

We are not talking about a few people in the group above we are talking on a large large scale.

You think repeating the same shite will resolve a broken and corrupt system in place.

29. Well done Pachamama, you get the prize for most cretinous drivel of the week.

30. The age of first birth nBarbads has changed little in mor than 100 years. The everage Bajan woman gives birth to her first child before the age of 20.

Too much variability to try and generalize today.

I would agree that the majority of marriages I come across in my research back to the 1600’s occurred when the woman is late teens or early twenties.

I would agree the Panama migration had an impact.

I came across an entire family of women who migrated too at the time of Panama … but to the US.

In my era, one of my siblings was 23, the other 26 when they first gave birth.

My mother was 32 when she had her first child in 1954.

Her mother, my grandmother, was 31, that was 1914 … could have been Panama, her husband was 13 years younger than she was.

My great grandmother was 20, that was 1883.

Her mother was 24., that was 1863.

Do you know there are some air headed young women today who will have a child so they can claim the financial benefits from Government?

So much for 20 years of hard labour.

I got that from a friend who went out of his way to find out how his staff, at one time mainly young “black” females thought.

He had frank discussions with them on colour and differences in attitudes to money.

They were absolutely shocked to be told that many “white” girls their age would not be allowed to accept money from their boyfriends.

Just could not believe it!!

Their fathers/families ensured that did not happen through their support. up to marriage.

The obvious result is that the boyfriends of those girls are able to save their money and plan marriage and a family with the girl … the objective of the father/family.

Same principle I observe in the Indian community … the daughter is protected by the family more so than the son.

You could argue poverty begets poverty but I know of enough examples to contradict the thesis.

It depends on the individual, upbringing and how strong the family is.

Incidentally, I found some Quakers disinheriting sons and daughters!!!

I have an ancestor who died in 1672 that left 12 acres to his daughter, but only if she did not marry that man ….!!!

If she did, she would only get 12 shillings!!

The language of disinheritance is delightful!!

31. David,

If we believe that the cause of the crime is that the whole system is corrupt then anything other than an overthrow of the system is the equivalent of putting plaster on a gunshot wound. I do, however believe that we can mitigate against the more violent effects of the crime by enlightening the young men on how they are being used and pointing out that thy are just doing the bidding of the exploiters. I really do not believe they think about these things. And I have had more than one conversation with more than one “bad boy.”

32. … she didn’t marry the guy her father was opposed to, Edward Jollop (or Gollop?) .. she married another, surname Peacock!!

His surname is attached to a 12 acre field now part of a plantation in St. Philip!!

33. All holes need to be plug. U speak of police
    I speak about border control
    U speak about law enforcement i do not crticize your input
    Have a nice day

34. @Donna

This is a messy matter made all the more so because there are no proactive measures being taken to address.

35. I do, however believe that we can mitigate against the more violent effects of the crime by enlightening the young men on how they are being used and pointing out that thy are just doing the bidding of the exploiters.

It is a two way street.

Males and females are equally culpable!!

Here is a lovely story about a centenarian.

He was 44 when he married a 19 year old …. girl if you like!!!!

Makes you realise how different times and thinking was back then 1955!!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/11118/56-wedded-bliss

36. Barbados underground whistleblower

Good point: there is obviously a moral breakdown in all facets of our society … but the question we ought be asking is this: “How do we regain our moral standard once more?” Now we have concluded that the civil law has done little to effect this trajectory … so obviously, the only true change will come when we return to what once worked for us in the past … our parents and grandparents looked to a high source that man when trouble was on horizon … and there is where we ought to look again if there is to be any real and lasting change in the current state of affairs … I know that the people of this age could care less about God … because many of them envisioned Him to be this far and distant entity in sky … but I am here to tell you that He is as real as Bush Tea two wooden legs he puts on every morning before her put in his dentures..

37. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Mariposa

Who control the Border if not Customs, Immigration and Coast Guard?

My point with you is stop having a one track mind.

I did not limit local shenanigans to just the Police I included other entities such as above who are Majorily involved.

Most crimes in Barbados are not conducted by foreigners they are done by home grown and many US Deportees who hide in the shadows.

38. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

FearPlay
    November 19, 2018 11:09 AM

[What I find amazing is that even though Barbados probably has the highest rate of criminal convictions through the confession of persons committing crimes (of their own free will and accord), we appear to be unable to have those same criminals who use firearms in the execution of their criminal activities disclose the source of their weapons procurement.]

I co-sign your observation its one that bewilders. After years of capturing and charging young block criminals with gun possession, robbing, shooting and murders our sleuths ought to have a sharp picture trial of where the guns originate how they get here ,how the young undesirables procure them and from whom.

The police seem at a loss to who supplies firearms to the cockroaches on the block. When gunmen are arrested the police should disclose where they said they got the guns. This would empower law abiding citizens with the knowledge of origin and create more information sources from the public for the cops.

39. Lexicon,

The trouble with telling is that talk is cheap. Actions speak louder than words.

40. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

trail not trial

41. Mariposa

This kind of corruption isn’t knew to Barbados it has been going on since the early 70s… I remember quite vividly, this deceased police son who used to rob tourists on the beach… and when the honest police would arrested him and bring him to District Police Station … his mother who knew the inspector of the station would make one call to him, and then the inspector would instructed the station sergeant to released the kid … this went on until the inspector finally retired … and then he was arrested and jailed … after many years of engaging in this kind criminality…

42. Does ANYBODY believe that the police don’t know where the guns come from?

43. Mariposa

I knew police who knowingly engaged in sexual relations with underage girls after the enterschool sports at the national stadium … and some of them even committed these sexual acts with these underage girls right in the police barracks… and at times in my presence …

44. Bear in mind that a lot of police men were in their twenties and these girls were in their teens …

45. Lexicon
    November 19, 2018 1:07 PM

Mariposa
    This kind of corruption isn’t knew to Barbados it has been going on since the early 70s… I remember quite vividly

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/11118/56-wedded-bliss

How do we go from the 1955 Barbados of Leslie Clarke (44) and his wife (19) to the 70’s and now the shambolic mess we have today?

How come Leslie Clarke’s approach to find a wife was so formal and structured among these two plantation workers?

How come mothers controlled their children at all levels of society?

How come at 91 Leslie Clarke was still a plantation person and had to be gently pushed to retire?

Why didn’t the fall in standards occur prior to the 1970’s, say between 1937 and 1955?

Brainwashing started in the 60’s with Erroll Barrow and his lot, that’s why and most Bajans fell for it hook line and sinker!!!

This is how the hijacking started.

46. Donna

Also remember this escalation in crime is due in part to the sort of police we have in the force today ( soft) … back in the day when police like Dirty Harry, Tracksuit Top, Starsky, invader 1 and 2 two brothers) and Rat Brown tell a bad boy to present himself at the station by a certain time … he had to get there with a quick dispatched or else it was going to be licks like peas when he got caught…

47. John

I am talking about what I know and not what I have heard or read …

48. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

Everyone in Barbados should listen to these two voicenotes by Patrick King a Staunch BLP Supporter outing BLP Minister Edmund Hinkson who is a fair (whore) picker and the Chief of Immigration of an illegal recent deportation of a Caricom national.

If this is not proof Barbados is a failed island nothing else is.

Listen below or copy and paste in a browser:

https://zeno-devlab.s3.amazonaws.com/39047/media/703712.mp3

49. John

If I tell you about the things I seen in Barbados as a kid you wouldn’t even believe me anyway…
    I knew prominent superintendent of police … who stole the training school money and I fled overseas … foop quite a few of childhood females friends who were minors …when I say minors I am talking about 11 and 12 years of age … but I am not calling any because he is dead now … Simple Simon had it right about some of these men back in the day with these young girls…

50. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar