When a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in, he has no choice but to become an outlaw.
Nelson Mandela

There has been a spike in criminal activity over the last two weeks a few we must label brazen.

The Attorney General and Commissioner of Police will point to the ‘stats’ to support the perennial concern of Barbadians that criminal activity remains at a low level comparatively so. The blogmaster reminds the goodly gentlemen that the ‘stats’ being quoted are criminal acts reported by the public.

The observation is that when the ugly head of crime raises its head higher than normal there always a hue and cry from the public calling for the police force to be more efficient. For the Courts to efficiently execute. There is a heavy focus on ENFORCEMENT.

Barbados is fortunate – using the word loosely – to be able to study the criminal landscape of our regional neighbours where the crime ‘stats’ are higher than Barbados. A conclusion is that it will not matter if there is an increase in the boots on the ground, whether we co-opt the army to support the police or even arm the police with more firepower. Other considerations have to be factored in the solution to be able to wrestle the vexing matter of increasing crime.

What are the underlying factors driving the dysfunctional behaviour affecting segments in the society threatening to destabilize our society? Bear in mind one of the redeeming and differentiating qualities of Barbados post independence has been the perception and reputation of being an orderly society with citizens showing respect for law and order. To state the obvious the blogmaster’s concern about escalating crime includes blue and white collar crime.

We have had discussions on BU’s pages about the rising crime in Barbados. The focus has been on what is visible, the acts. If we start from a basic position that a society is the “the aggregate of people living together in a more or less ordered community”- the sustainable solution to tackling rising crime must be about influencing behaviours. We have to improve enforcement, however, a more proactive approach to dealing with parental delinquency, maintaining standards in the school system and fostering a culture in our communities where we are our borther’s keeper. Overarching what is required is for our leaders in the political and social sphere to execute on relevant plans that are relevant.

This weekend the blogmaster had reason to be in a rough neighbourhood and was intrigued to listen to a blockman sharing his view about the gun violence and brazen robberies being committed in Barbados of late. He was emphatic that it will get worse. Perpetrating violence by a young lawless group according to him is regarded as a ‘badge of honour’ and often a rite of passage in the communities they exist.  The culture espoused in ghetto music out of Jamaica feeds a mentality that middle class Barbadians removed from village and hood life cannot begin to fathom.

Do we know what we need to do to haul this lawless segment from the morass they now find themselves?

Do we appreciate time has run out on ignoring the situation?

306 responses to “Need to Respond to Rising Crime and Violence”

1. Amazing comments John. Enough said.

2. Comissiong knew exactly what was his agenda for opposing the biometric testing
    He was able to broadside the people skillfully with using the Constitution as a battering ram
    Hence now all with a eyes to see and. realize that his sound off of protecing Barbadians was one of allowing all an sundry to enter the country without properly scrutinized
    His first call for immigrants to entry without proper immigrantion procedure was his stepping stone and a tell
    A stone which will eventually hit all barbadians in the ass
    As crime sweep a wave of death and mayhem across the country

3. @ David
    Crime is a problem because children are ALWAYS more honest and straightforward than adults.
    If therefore adults create a society where success is about SELFISH pursuits and where materialistic possessions are the measures of achievement, then our children will go straight to the meat of the matter.
    Why would they waste time in school for 10 years…. to end up like Dribbler, Lexicon or GP?
    When they can sell drugs, steal vehicles or rob women and get some money NOW?

Why cares about the environment or the old and needy in society? how does that benefit them in getting money?

This is the problem with the albino-centric philosophy.
    It ONLY works when there is an ‘enemy’ out there somewhere (native Indians, Africans, Communists, Muslims etc) to provide some level of ‘unity’ among the population via US against ‘them’….and to exploit for profit.

Community-Centric philosophy on the other hand, is all about EMBRACING others. …. about selfless commitment to the OVERALL good. It does NOT need enemies in order to provide incentives for its children to be positive, constructive – and to feel GOOD about themselves. It is how LOVE is defined.

BUT we have CHOSEN to adopt (and to try to become adept) at the albino-centric approach…..
    ALL we talk about and dream about…is brass bowlery… like GDP, Forex, Investments, assets and reserves.

What the hell do you expect the children to do….?

4. I am amazed.

I am hearing nationalism being touted here.

Border protection …. wow!!!

No fear, it is natural.

Here are some Mexican nationalists.

5. @Bush Tea

On point, children model behaviours close to them whether physical or digitally these days. There was a time the volume of negativity was managed by the support structures anchored to the old way of living on a small island. These days that volume has increased nd the traditional structures have been dismantled and replaced with jobby.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John November 19, 2018 7:56 AM
    “The OECD would not be involved if somebody wasn’t getting fleeced!!
    Figure out who!!”
    “Why do we have 10’s of thousands of acres in bush?
    What “development” is it waiting for?”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Absolutely correct!! On both counts.

7. I am most certain a senior police said that the Force is having problems recruiting suitable applicants and the Force has a severe shortage of two hundred cops.
    I must say that the two hundred shortage seems a bit too much.
    However against this background, it would be very difficult to execute basic policing far less the difficult crime situation at the moment.
    Perhaps we should consider seconding a number of Defence force personnel to at least assist with managerial /clerical tasks thereby releasing some “desk” police to get busy in the community.

8. John
    November 19, 2018 7:56 AM

lawson
    November 19, 2018 7:48 AM
    john you are wrong if you think there are more people that come to the island to fleece the locals lol….of what. Look most seniors well to do by the way … come for a holiday where the climate is good and its safe certainly not for the sidewalks
    The OECD would not be involved if somebody wasn’t getting fleeced!!
    Figure out who!!

Fleecing of somebody is going on.

In large part, locals are not victims of, but accomplices to the crime!!

Any self respecting accomplice will try to cover up the crime and his/her involvement!!

The real victims however, have immense power.

The clowns in Barbados have a tiger by the tail!!

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

If we wish to reduce what some of us consider to be an ‘epidemic’ of violence, we need to learn from those who actually know how to control and defeat epidemics. The epidemic curves for violent crime and infectious disease are the same, the clustering: one outbreak leads to another, which is diagnostic of a contagious process. Ebola causes more ebola, flu causes more flu, colds cause more colds, and violence causes more violence.

Violent behaviour is formed by modelling and copying. When you’re use a epidemiological lens, you understand that blame gets you nowhere. You try to understand the actual data about violent crime, and you aim to develop solutions based on data and science.

We need to learn from those who are using these principles successfully in other places around the globe. Someone needs to introduce Minister of Youth Adrian Forde, and Attorney General Dale Marshall to organizations like Cure Violence http://cureviolence.org/ which have years of practical experience in stopping “the spread of violence by using the methods and strategies associated with disease control – detecting and interrupting conflicts, identifying and treating the highest risk individuals, and changing social norms – resulting reductions in violence of up to 70%.”

10. @William,

You do not have to be in the defence force to carry out clerical work.

11. Gone are the days when immigration was of less concern to protecting our borders
    People have changed their is a different standard and style which has entered peoples mentality one of survival by any means necessary
    Govts cannot sit idly by and not be effective by any means necessary to protect country borders
    Allowing all abd sundry to enter country without proper back ground checking
    Barbados cannot afford all the sophisticated technology that weeds out the hard core criminal activity through various means by way of overall back ground checking with purpose and intent to stop and prosecute criminals at the borders
    But they should endorse and put legislation in place with a first hand look of protection of people and country.
    It is alright for those to sit in their ivory towers and use the Constitution aided by the courts to slam legislation of security
    However when the reality of the crime wave hits the ground no one will be able to escape the horrors and night mare it brings
    All most would (do) would be that of putting hands over head and cry and holler

12. @Barbados Underground Whistleblower November 18, 2018 11:42 PM “…prostitution, drug dealing, Fraud, money laundering etc and ALL are protected by local police.

EVERY STRIP CLUB OWNER IN BARBADOS IS INVOLVED IN CRIMINAL ACTIVITY IN COLLUSION WITH LOCAL POLICE. This is a known fact yet they exist with impunity. WHY?”

Because sadly some Bajan MEN, not all and NOT whitehill are so insecure that they feel that paying for sex with a white or near white prostitute is better that having sex with their own black Bajan wife. Slavery and colonialism has really messed up our heads, and have messed up the heads of black men even moreso.

Barbados is NOT a failed state.

It is not a failed society.

But some of our black men, NOT whitehill are massive insecure failures.

Fix that and we can move forward with speed.

Better families.

Better society.

No demand for cheap, nasty, foreign sex.

No human trafficking.

Problem solved.

13. @ PLT,

Is that a sound criminological analysis, or shooting from the lip?

14. And some of these short-ne-crutch insecure black men are of the political class, and some are of the business class, and some are of the professional class.

15. Mariposa @ 8:07 a.m.

I always thought that the BLP strategy of opposing everything that the last government did was wicked and misguided.

Ask the man on the street and he would have predicted that the CSME and the 6 months automatic stay would have opened the door for the criminals and the prostitutes to enter their countries of choice to do their evil deeds.

Why would someone who is gainfully employed, or studying, or has responsibilities in their life – want to come and spend 6 months in another man’s country – without the necessary finances – but instead relying on the generosity of the person who is the ‘host’?

Now we see Commissioners of Police across the region, speaking up and lamenting about the cross border criminial activities engaged in by criminals from the different CARICOM countries.

So bajan criminals go to Jamaica and are gunned down before they could complete their mission.

Jamaican criminals whether young,female,male – come to Barbados and do their dirty acts – like the aggravated robbery at Six Roads and the home invasion a few years ago;

or the frequency of Jamaican prostitutes stabbing up other Jamaican prostitutes who crossed their turf –

Then we have the case of Trinidadian criminals going to St Vincent to take out a hit – again confirmed by Vincentian Police officers

We have Guyanese criminals following their victims into Suriname and doing their dirty jobs

We can go on and on – the evidence is before us. Finger printing was one part of the security options that was needed.

However you had opposition from not only Commisung – but a former A.G in Dale Marshall – and the fella who is now the Home Affairs – Edmund Hinkson.

But that is why it is said Satan cannot correct sin – because if that facebook rantings and WhatsApp post going around by a BLP supporter is true – then all Edmund Hinkson underwear (business) exposed – and according to the posts – he would have to voceifourously object to finger printing – because a lot of those non nationals on Bay street and Bush hill will be denied entry.And you couldn’t have that – could we ?

Blogger The Barbados Underground Whistleblower has been telling us for months now of the dirty,open secrets of corrupt police officers,corrupt immigration officers (remember the missing immigration stamp that was in the hands of a Guyanese woman), corrupt politicians ,corrupt so called businessmen.

What do you expect – but now what I am hearing about the current Home Affairs minister is causing me to connect the dots as to why he is always insisting on these open borders.

The apple look red and pretty on the outside – but inside it is rotten,rotten,rotten.

And Satan will not correct sin.

16. David

“Why haven’t successive governments failed to craft and execute a comprehensive youth program”

I continue to hear the same argument from you and those who think that government ought to the sole solution to society ills … yes I do agree that government is one such the solutions to the problems that the youths are facing in Barbados today, but don’t you think that government, the citizenry, the Church and the Business Community, have a part to play in reaching and addressing some of the problems that youths are facing today?

Listen! The onus probandi is on every family, community, and government, as well as those persons that are in a position to effectuate position regarding the young people of Barbados…

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    It is sound epidemiological analysis, quoting those who have actually had success in reducing violence.

18. We can sit here and count all the problems of the youth
    However the youth attitudes and behaviuor can be attributed to adults attitudes and behaviour patterns and lifestyle
    Be that as it may the question of who supply the youth with any form of deadly weapons and their entry into the country must also be addres
    Barbados has always have poor people
    But what barbados never had was an infiltration of a gangster type mentality effecting young and old alike
    The questions of deadly weapons entering our country and into the hands of criminals cannot be dismissed and replaced with an attitude of simply blaming the youth

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss
    Do you have actual data on the percentage of violent crime committed by non Bajans? Or are you simply looking for scapegoats? I, for one, would be grateful for data.

20. @Talking Loud Saying Nothing November 19, 2018 2:35 AM “Syberton Miller, the wife of the late Cecil Miller, has been arrested and charged with the murder of her husband.”

Some people say that they “don’t believe in divorce” and I always wonder what exactly do they mean by that.

I believe in divorce.

Syberton shold have clapped a divorce in Cecil ever since.

If she had done so it is unlikely that that Johnny would be in the grave, and she facing the gallows.

Look ladies. If the marriage ain’t working.

LEAVE.

A good marriage is wonderful. A bad marriage is not worth sh!t.

21. PLT

So because you don’t have a scientific study – the actual examples cited by law enforcement officers should be thrown out ? Steupse.

That is why we in the shite we are in now.

Here we are talking about plugging some obvious holes like the finger printing option etc – and we are being told -;go and do a study and then talk’. What de ?????

22. David,

Unfortunately for me I have to agree with John about the quote because it only served to confuse the issue. I also agree that the laws are basically just but applied in an unjust manner. This is far different from the apartheid situation where the laws were unjust, forcing one to become an outlaw.

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss
    Every competent police force collects such data and I was hoping that the RBPF did so as well. This does not require a “study,” it is supposed to be routine.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss
    Do I put 100% confidence in the anecdotes of law enforcement officers?
    No.
    Do I dismiss their anecdotes?
    No.

I just look for corroborating evidence because, in part, people who know better than I do are telling me on this blog that the police force is corrupt to the core.

25. A good marriage is wonderful. A bad marriage is not worth sh!t.

https://biblehub.com/kjv/proverbs/21-9.htm

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, the questions for you re your 8:22 is WHEN did the dismantling take place and replaced with jobby?… How effective were those supposedly strong support structures if the entire collective we boldly accuse of pervasive corruption today are basically older than 50 and some well into 60s and beyond?…. How did they lose all that tensile morality beaten into us in the 40s, 50s and 60s?

The script always sounds good to pronounce of the wayward youth of today blah blah but as noted by others if we stop that and bluntly recognize how a large swath of our society was always BAD, and how ineptly we allowed children to become parents and for years lamented the consequences but did nothing to resolve and stop it we might get some where.

With all this talk of good ole traditions this is the same Barbados where a cohort of men would say things like 1) ‘I bring she hay so I touching dat first’ or others ‘I don’t understand why my children MOTHERS does don’t chill tho, I got this new ting to hit’ and all such manner of totally immoral actions. The same Bdos, bro.

The situation is now very publicly out of hand …YES…but was a leader who supported taking advantage of a senior citizen…brought up in a home with a strong moral code; or was the one who treats her partners with aggressive sexual disdain …. tutored by mummy and daddy about respect and the value of privacy and so on!.

I can never wrap my head around these debates about current wayward youth as if its some original phenomenon when there are so MANY wayward elders who predated them !

@Mr BushT, if you want to frame your absolutely strange assessment as you did at 7:47 then so be it.

The biblical story of Saul’s conversion is seen times overs since that writing…nothing difficult to see or assess! When one is infused with the power of change then (to mix methaphirs) water can be turned to wine…nothing is beyond complete modification.

Thus the gentleman or any like him could CHANGE under the right power of adoption…so true!

Some people also don’t….adoption is never truly completed maybe!

27. You can push out your chest in a three piece suit, and drive a Merck, and live in a multostoried mansion, and have millions of dollars in local and foreign bank accounts.

But if you haven’t treated your children and their mothers well, ya ain’t saying a t’ing.

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Violence Info http://apps.who.int/violence-info/, a resource from the World Health Organization, draws on published scientific studies to create a comprehensive overview of research into violence and its prevention.

29. Leave it to PTL to obfuscate and put up walls of ignorance
    The evidence lies in the fact that barbados does not manufacture guns
    However guns come into barbados by means of trafficking and human hands are attributed to guns crossing the borders
    The biometric testing was one way of detecting whose hands and finding links to various criminal activity in and out of the country

30. @Barbados Underground Whistleblower November 18, 2018 11:42 PM “Barbados is a lawless, failed state….Locals need to understand that the large quantities of drugs and guns don’t come in on their own.”

Just trying to understand. To the best of my knowledge cocaine is not grown anywhere in the Caribbean islands, to the best of my knowledge guns are not manufactured in anywhere of the Caribbean islands.

So those places which grow cocaine are failed states too?

Those places which manufacture guns are failed states too?

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Mariposa
    All I have done is point towards some successful programs in other countries that have reduced criminal violence. I did not say anywhere that we should fail to stop gun importation. I did ask for data to show whether it was mostly Bajans or foreigners breaking the law… and that includes gun importation. Whoever it is must be stopped, but the first step in stopping them is discovering who they are.

Some people have told me that RBPF members are a big component of gun smuggling. Is that true?

32. One Sabbath he was going through the grainfields, and as they made their way, his disciples began to pluck heads of grain. And the Pharisees were saying to him, “Look, why are they doing what is not lawful on the Sabbath?” And he said to them, “Have you never read what David did, when he was in need and was hungry, he and those who were with him how he entered the house of God, in the time of Abiathar the high priest, and ate the bread of the Presence, which it is not lawful for any but the priests to eat, and also gave it to those who were with him?” And he said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath.”
    The Gospel according to Saint Mark, Chapter 2.

Nelson Mandela was simply paraphrasing Jesus Christ.

We are all made in the image of God. If we treat God’s children badly; and Barbados has a long and nasty history of treating God”s children badly

We will have hell to pay.

Simple.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“The Cure Violence model has not only saved thousands of lives in cities like Chicago, New York, and Baltimore; it also has given hope to millions by demonstrating that violence can be stopped using the strategies of public health.”
    —Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MPH,
    Former President & CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

34. @Dee Word

The short response- while we are dithering Barbados is burning. We have decisions to make because we all know what we are currently doing will not solve the problem. Barbados will continue to sink because of poor enforcement, lack of resources to fund social care and as important declining values. No doubt you will want to debate what values. We debate well.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    I’d welcome your professional opinion on programs like Cure Violence http://cureviolence.org/, that use the proven scientific strategies of epidemiology and public health to combat criminal violence.

36. @Donna

And that is fine, we all have a view.

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mari_AC, please clarify for me: how would the “…biometric testing…[find] links to various criminal activity in and out of the country “ .

Were travel ID prints going to be cross checked by police authories at will…surely you cant be suggesting that…which was a concern of many.

Some were even concerned about misuse of the data.

The main issue first and foremost however was how the plan was implemented.

How can you propose LAWS and then attempt to bring them into force in an UNLAWFUL way!

38. So those places which grow cocaine are failed states too?
    Those places which manufacture guns are failed states too?

Cocaine and guns both kill … true!!!

But never heard of the two being equated!!

Guns have been in Barbados from the year dot, but not cocaine!!

No big problem with guns before … the occasional killing, accidental and on purpose.

Addiction and cocaine go together, addiction and guns don’t!!

It is entirely likely that most owners of guns in Barbados will never use them to kill!!

Most gun owners in Barbados are possessors of guns, and don’t own guns in a legal sense.

You can’t get a license to own cocaine … but you can to own a gun.

39. @whiteHill November 18, 201811:53 PM “…could it be that gran mothers now like Simple Simon are more keen of fooping young men close to their gran children’s age rather than instilling discipline and teaching respect for all?”

Wha’ you call my moniker for?

NO I am NOT interested in fooping young men. Nor old ones either. So you can get lost.

My parents were raised by their parents.

My parents raised me.

I raised my children.

I expect my children to raise their children, and so far they are doing a fine job.

I am always willing to to act as “back stop” as the Americans would say. But raising my grandchildren is NOT my job.

Let he or she who had the fun, raise the kid. I told my children this BEFORE they reached puberty.

Enjoy ya fun, BUT raise the kid.

And that child raising takes 20 years of HARD LABOUR.

If you don’t want to do 20 years of hard labour, you can have a sterilization. I am happy to pay for that.

40. Right again, Bushie.

41. de pedantic Dribbler
    November 19, 2018 9:25 AM

Mr Blogmaster, the questions for you re your 8:22 is WHEN did the dismantling take place and replaced with jobby?… How effective were those supposedly strong support structures if the entire collective we boldly accuse of pervasive corruption today are basically older than 50 and some well into 60s and beyond?…. How did they lose all that tensile morality beaten into us in the 40s, 50s and 60s?

Amazing!!

How is it that systems which worked and had worked for generations suddenly broke down?

I think two reasons.

One is emigration … the strong independent ones emigrated.

The second one is money.

We went from a society where cash was scarce and valuable to one where it is plentiful (for now).

That cash came from outside!!

There is no internal economic sector that could have generated that amount of cash.

We did not have to work for it!!

We sold the family silver.

Money, like cocaine is addictive!!

The addiction creates thieves and murderers of supposed moral upright people.

42. How do we get back the family silver?

Is it possible?

43. Cold turkey?

44. Simple Simon

It seems as though by time or kids have grown we become men and women haters … we lose all interest in the opposition sex, and focus most of our attention on kids and grand-kids like they are going to visit us at the nursing when we are ready to kick the bucket…

45. Why do people in big countries who have made large profits whether legally or illegally need to “process” them through small vulnerable economies?

Socialism.

Governments in large countries can only finance socialist programs by taxation, some say, stealing!!

People/companies who are successful, legally or illegally need to hide their money from their governments!!

Why lose 50% to their own governments when they can avoid .. or evade the loss!!

Those who come by their profits illegally are doubly motivated to hide those profits.

What’s the phrase being used by the OECD …”Harmful Tax Processes”

http://www.caribbean360.com/business/barbados-seeking-oecd-compliance-by-year-end

46. @ Simple Simon, never in my wildest would i have associated bajan men frequenting whore houses where light or fair skin women are plying their goods as a contributing factor to that bread man losing his life by your four sons’ hands. Yours is interesting also that our proclivities for wanting lighter skin pokey versus our own black skin women is contributing to the moral decline. Only last night my girl friend arrived from Europe, now, because of your pronouncement regarding the escalating criminal activities I’m feeling like shit. You see, she’s not of African ancestry, and only because of the long flight no fooping occurred, but I was gonna get busy today. Knowing now, as per you, I’ll try to save another bread man’;s life. by the way, do you know of any black bajan women I can form a relationship with? please, not those who think the trees in my yard are actually money trees. Not those who are argumentative, angry, belligerent and broke as hell.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John November 19, 2018 10:08 AM
    “We went from a society where cash was scarce and valuable to one where it is plentiful (for now).
    That cash came from outside!!”

Since 1627 Barbados has been entirely dependent on cash that came from outside. First tobacco, then sugar (both of which are addictive drugs). After that: Panama, tourism, offshore financial services.

Cash has always been scarce for the majority of the population and it still is. There is no golden age of Bajan history that we can imitate. Most of us do not wish to return to the heyday of the plantation economy, simply because that was, for most of us, a concentration camp economy.

48. Accomplices in Barbados and other jurisdictions are assisting criminals in the OECD and the OECD is putting a stop to it … or trying to!!

The accomplices are also criminal!!!

The reason few see the issue as an issue is that it is couched in all sorts of soft language!!

49. Barbados is signed on to treaties and agreemments to provide and exchanged sensitive information dealing with illegal activity by way of immigration to those countries
    Biometric testing when provided can be source of finding illegal activity
    Technology has ways and means of finding out these activities
    Commissiong abilty to distract the realty and cause for the testing was not a solution and created part of the gun slinging criminalty that is sweeping the country via our borders
    Now yuh all can sit back and tried to push back whatever you think best was unnecessary for the testing
    But what u cant pushed back( that )the security of our borders if left unplugged would be a footholdfor the criminality activity throughout the country
    Where is Commisiong voice for a solution to the crime wave expect to invoke his two cents worth of opening up wide or borders for whom ever wants to enter without proper scrutiny