Submitted by Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy

jean.png

BROOKLYN: Saint Lucian and Caribbean Clergy and community leaders will on Wednesday, September 19, 2018 lead a memorial service to celebrate the life of Dallas police shooting victim, Botham Shem Jean. The service will take place at 6:30 p.m., at the Advent Fellowship of Brooklyn ย Church, 1666 Bergen Street, Brooklyn NY 11213.

The service, which will be punctuated by tributes, praise and worship, will be attended by Jeanโ€™s parents, other relatives, friends, elected officials as well as Saint Lucian and Caribbean community leaders.ย 

Botham Shem Jean, was a 26 year-old Saint Lucian national and Dallas, Texas resident. He was shot and killed by Dallas police officer Amber Guyger on Thursday night, September 6, 2018 in his own apartment. Guyger claimed she took Jean’s apartment for her own, and entered by mistake. ย 

Dallas police consequently issued a warrant for Guyger for manslaughter and subsequently handed the investigation over to the Texas State police, Texas Rangers. Guyger was charged with manslaughter after turning herself in. The Texas Rangers were widely condemned for giving Guyger preferential treatment; including granting the officer the privilege of turning herself in at a jail in a county outside Dallas, where she was booked and released on $300,000.00 self-bail.

The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID), had written Dallas District Attorney, Faith Johnson, demanding that Guyger be charged with murder based on the facts and circumstances outlined in an affidavit filed in court. Dallas community leaders as well as civil rights leaders nationwide have also called for Guyger to be charged with murder. They also condemned her preferential treatment and questioned why she was not arrested at the scene. District Attorney Johnson has said her office is continuing the investigation. She has not ruled out additional charges.ย  Jean was funeralized in Dallas, Texas, last Thursday.

Jean came to the US from Saint Lucia in 2011 to study accounting and management information systems at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. After graduating from college and completing a brief internship, he accepted a permanent job in the Dallas office of Auditing Firm, Price Waterhouse Coopers in 2015. At the time of his death, he was a risk assurance associate for Price Waterhouse Coopers.ย 

Jean graduated as the top student of his high school, earning the Spirit of Saint Lucia Academic Award. He also attended the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College, in Castries, Saint Lucia before migrating to the U.S.ย  Jean was also an active member in the Church of Christ where he taught Sunday school and was an accomplished singer.ย 

–END–

113 responses to “Memorial Service in Brooklyn for Dallas Police Shooting Victim Botham Jean”

1. The Justice Department says the sexual assault allegation against Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh “does not involve any potential federal crime” for the FBI to investigate.
    The department said in a statement Monday night that the FBI’s role during background investigations is to evaluate whether the nominee could pose a national security risk and then provide that information “for the use of the decision makers.”

https://www.usnews.com/news/politics/articles/2018-09-17/the-latest-kavanaugh-accuser-willing-to-talk-to-congress

That avenue is closed to Christine Ballsey Ford!!!!

So she is in a position of put up or shut up!!

2. what bullshit, a persons career hinges on an unsubstantiated charge dont know when dont know where dont know what year dont know who was there, how do we not know she wasnt with blumenthal in vietnam. when it happened

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for John the Quaker and Lawson

4. โ€ฆ.. well not Vietnam โ€ฆ.

… but this is not unlike the accusation in the Mueller “probe” where it was alleged there was a visit to Prague and the passport of the accused showed up proving the guy had never been to Czechoslavakia.

If a date is provided, who knows โ€ฆ Kavanaugh may have spent the summer backpacking in Europe and his passport will prove it.

5. Condolences to the family of Botham Shem Jean.

6. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/07/10/us/kavanaugh-gorsuch-georgetown-prep.html

Interesting coincidence.

Maybe this is all about discrediting the school!!

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster

I had sought your assistance earlier with a submission in response to the comments of John the Quaker and Lawson but noted that the remark was not posted.

I find it insulting that the two of these comments are not removed from this particular post on Botham Shem John

My earlier comment was

“…@ John the Quaker
    @ Lawson

With all due respect the blog specifically spoke to the memorial services of another one of us negroes slain by one of wunna white cops.

I FOR one find it in poor taste where the two of you non blacks not only show your disdain for the substantive topic, but do so with an item that deals with the inconsequential rape allegations against a next one of wunna who was caught in your customary? modes of raping young girls or boys.

Note that I did not mention the white teacher at Queens College who was caught in similar allegations arrested and then bailed and subsequently fled Barbados.

Some of us don’t really care about your Kavanaugh issues when we are remarking on our fallen black citizens.

There is a time and a place for everything and this is not that place.

For those of us who can see through this strategic highjacking of the murder of a black man by a white cop, we find your red herring insulting in the castle of our skin.

If I were a member of the BU BORG I would delete your two comments from this space forthwith but de ole man isn’t nobody of any consequence any where heheheheh…”

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Once again the assistance of the Honourable Blogmaster is being sought

9. Comments are cleared from Spam periodically, if it is not updated it means it was not found. If you want to engage in childish accusations go ahead.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, did you read the last item from an earlier blog of a long string pf posts re this Kavanaugh issues which encouraged bloggers to continue to post “here”.

Your indignation tho understood on its face is yet absolutely out of order based on the facts of events …just saying bro!

11. piece of rock you arrogant prick I have brought up on more than one occasion why is there no interest in your bajan people killed in jamaica with no real response and try to lecture me on the death of a st lucian that fits your narrative and focus of white cop killings. Typical two faced asshole

12. I responded that the Jamaican police are investigating thedeaths of the two Bajans. But so far it does not appear to be the police killing of a civilian.

No need to curse lawson.

Whatever mind altering substance John is taking, he needs to stop now.

Mr. Jean’s family, friends, schoolmates,etc. are still deep in mourning. If John and lawson cannot extend condolences (and I don’t see why they too can’t mourn the death of this young man) to Jean’s family and friends, perhaps they can maintain a dignified silence?

13. SS

Look through the 687 comments and tell us how many times you find condolences offered during those 687 instances of undignified silence!!

14. JOHN
    stroke Sir!
    left foot to the pitch
    knees bent
    elbows up
    ball gone all along the ground
    thru the covers
    not a man move!
    stroke Sir!

15. …. or woman!!

16. Dear John and GP: Because you purport to be Christians I hold you to a higher standard.

17. ss
    John made a very good stroke and I applaud him again!
    this has nothing to do with Christianity
    the boy dead and done buried
    there is no need to persist with this
    where were the condolences for Rev Jones – a priest who died recently. He was a priest for about 70 years, taught at HC for a good while and was a senator?
    where were the condolences for other worthy Bajan citizens who have died?

18. Simple Simon
    September 19, 2018 9:22 PM

Dear John and GP: Because you purport to be Christians I hold you to a higher standard.

Read the article above submitted by Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy.

No condolences are offered.

Here’s what they did as per the article.

“The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID), had written Dallas District Attorney, Faith Johnson, demanding that Guyger be charged with murder based on the facts and circumstances outlined in an affidavit filed in court.”
    NB: I am not saying that the person who pulled the trigger should not be charged with murder if the facts warrant the charge.

19. I expressed my condolences to Canon Jones’ family in person, face to face.

20. SS
    I AM GLAD YOU DID
    HE WAS A VERY PLEASANT PERSON

21. Agree

I have fond memories of him at HC!!

His nick name was Billy Bones for some unknown reason.

He had high expectations of every boy he taught and treated all equally.

The thing with high expectations is very often they are met.

22. JOHN
    BILLY BONES ONCE SAID ” I ALWAYS GIVE GOOD RECOMMENDATIONS! IF IT IS A GOOD BOY…….I WANT TO SEE HIM GET THROUGH! IF IT IS A BAD BOY….I WANT TO GET THE RID OF HIM!

23. Two lowlife sleazebags..they can never hide that sleazy prep school look.

24. SEEMS TO BE AN EXCELLENT SCHOOL AND A SCHOOL OF EXCELLENCE!

25. I have stayed away from reading this blog for a few days because I literally could not face the boy’s club discounting sexual assault and its impact that reaches deep down into the soul of the victim tearing her life apart. Some of us bury it because we cannot deal with it and so that is the coping mechanism. Unfortunately it rears its head in the face of some stimulus and can still ruin one’s life. That is why it sometimes takes so long for some victims to speak up.

In my life I have met many many fine men who treated women with respect, but I have also met a significant number who have tried to molest me, some with more success than others. From attempted rape on the street near my home fifteen years ago to the uninvited hand running up the thigh I experienced just a few months ago in a public place. From the attempted ripping off of my blouse in an office twenty years ago to the stolen kiss by the old married man in the church office five years ago. From the the young boy pulling at my breast on the streets forty years ago to the man’s hand reaching under my skirt while trying to board a bus at rush hour also forty years ago. From a trusted and beloved relative touching my breast and thigh thirty years ago (which I buried for several years) to every nasty man taking advantage of a packed bus to rub his genitals on my rear end and every man on a dance floor attempting to do the same. I REMEMBER THEM ALL! All these advances were unwelcome and caught me totally by surprise. Most of them were fleeting assaults by unknown perpetrators and not easy to pursue. Those whom I knew were sensitive and dealt with in house and in church. Please note that in none of these cases was actual rape committed but each one took a little of my dignity and peace of mind away from me forever.

You guys having never experienced sexual assault have no clue and would DARE to argue with those of us who have and DARE TO TELL US HOW MUCH PAIN WE SHOULD BE FEELING AND HOW SOON WE SHOULD GET OVER IT. Maybe you guys are too old and we cannot teach an old dog new tricks but I am always up for a challenge; so I say to you – this guy (if he is guilty) should pay some sort of price for perpetrating this act and should not further traumatize this woman by being elevated to the highest court in the land where he can continue to wield power over her. If he had killed someone at seventeen and had lived an exemplary life since then would you still be of the same view – that that victim’s life should be discounted and that he should be elevated? If you can tell me that then perhaps you would have an excuse for your position. Although not quite because in denying the assault and therefore calling her a liar he is inflicting further pain and emotional damage. This is NOT evidence of a reformed individual. There are people threatening this woman’s life. If he is guilty and reformed he should want to stop this.

I will leave this topic with one final thought – the effect of sexual assault is lifelong. There is no statute of limitation on THAT.

26. re You guys having never experienced sexual assault have no clue

YOU DO NOT KNOW THAT. YOU ARE SPECULATING.
    FELLAS WHO COMPLAIN OF SUCH ARE LAUGH TO SCORN
    IT IS MUCH MORE COMMON THAN YOU THINK.
    AND SO IS FEMALES ABUSING MEN IN A VARIETY OF WAYS!

RE this guy (if he is guilty) should pay some sort of price for perpetrating this act

AND WHAT SHOULD HAPPEN IF THIS GUY IS NOT GUILTY?

THIS WOMAN WHO HAS ACCUSED THIS MAN PUBLICLY SHOULD FACE HIM IN PUBLIC AND MAKE HER ACCUSATIONS IN PUBLIC. AND JUST AS HE IS QUESTIONED, SHE OUGHT TO BE QUESTIONED BY THE ASKING OF SIMPLE QUESTIONS THAT BEGIN WITH
    WHEN
    WHERE
    WHO
    WHY
    WHAT

27. Then she should pay a price. Seems to me she already has.

A woman who reports abuse is ridiculed and scorned. You yourself ridiculed the woman. You called the woman ugly and mad.

When we report abuse our whole lives are scrutinized and we are made to look like whores who invited the abuse.

Yes, I was assuming because I figure that anyone who has suffered abuse would not ridicule or dismiss the experience of another who has suffered as they have.

P.S. Note that I have not posted any opinion on whether or not the man is guilty. I did not condemn all men as perverts or abusers neither did I deny the existence of female abusers. I have never and would never ridicule the male victim of abuse.

Is that all you got out of my post? Sad!

28. In my life I have met many many fine men who treated women with respect, but I have also met a significant number who have tried to molest me, some with more success than others

Many men will say the same about some women!!

Two ladies who everybody told me were nymphomaniacs I actually encountered one day โ€ฆ in an office โ€ฆ.. not a word was spoken but all I can say I came away from the encounter a believer in such a creature as a nymphomaniac!!

Until that day I had just laughed โ€ฆ then I realized people were speaking the truth and such ladies do actually exist!!

A lady told me subsequently she nearly lost one of her teenage sons to one of the two!!

.. and the two were not young when I first met them!!

It works both ways!!

29. Donna
    September 20, 2018 5:56 PM

Then she should pay a price. Seems to me she already has.

What price did Anita Hill pay for her accusations of Clarence Thomas?

What is her net worth?

30. i say again without apology

THIS WOMAN WHO HAS ACCUSED THIS MAN PUBLICLY SHOULD FACE HIM IN PUBLIC AND MAKE HER ACCUSATIONS IN PUBLIC. AND JUST AS HE IS QUESTIONED, SHE OUGHT TO BE QUESTIONED BY THE ASKING OF SIMPLE QUESTIONS THAT BEGIN WITH
    WHEN
    WHERE
    WHO
    WHY
    WHAT

when she is done setting all the conditions and procrastinating about coming to testify, she has to come and testify and tell us the answer to the questions above

I hope it is done publicly for all to see and that she is properly cross examined in the usual way for all to see just as they will question the man

she made a serious allegation
    let her come and let it be cleared up
    let us hear both sides

31. @John
    A woman wanting sex for more than a minute does not make her a nymphomaniac ๐Ÿ™‚

32. @ TheOGazerts that was an unplayable inswinging yorker. lol

33. Looks like Ford will testify.

34. Thursday next week

35. TheOGazerts
    September 20, 2018 6:38 PM

A woman wanting sex for more than a minute does not make her a nymphomaniac

+++++++++++++++

I rest my case!!

I was just sharing a traumatic experience I had lived through in my life.

I survived โ€ฆ. untouched โ€ฆ but undressed.

36. Anita Hill? She should have paid for telling the truth? There were other women who were not allowed to testify at that hearing. The boys’ club won.

37. You are a hopeless bunch.

38. Gp,

You are really losing it. Of course she should answer questions in public. How else could anyone assess her credibility. You seem to be having an argument with ….NOBODY.

39. i am not arguing with a soul, ma dear I have just said what I think, and I have no apology to make. and I dont care what you or anyone has to say or think

JOHN YOU ARE NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO WAS SUBJECTED TO A CAT ATTACK! LOL MURDAH! MEAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWW!

BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP!

40. Donna
    September 20, 2018 10:34 PM

You are a hopeless bunch.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Incorrigible!!!

Must be the sleazy prep school!!

WARU
    September 20, 2018 10:28 AM

Two lowlife sleazebags..they can never hide that sleazy prep school look.

41. The United States Police Manual must be obeyed.

42. GP,

Of course you do understand that I make no apologies for what I say either and I do not care what YOU say. But….. if you keep posting the same thing over and over again it suggests to me that you are arguing. Or maybe you have just lost more of it than I thought.

43. Colonel Buggy
    September 20, 2018 11:45 PM

The United States Police Manual must be obeyed.

Good to see you back.

44. ONE MORE TIME DEAREST DONNA

i say again without apology

WHEN
    WHERE
    WHO
    WHY
    WHAT

when she is done setting all the conditions and procrastinating about coming to testify, she has to come and testify and tell us the answer to the questions above

I hope it is done publicly for all to see and that she is properly cross examined in the usual way for all to see just as they will question the man

she made a serious allegation
    let her come and let it be cleared up
    let us hear both sides

45. this is so political, it stinks to high heaven…an educated stormy daniels…who thinks she can trash a mans career, and not be questioned or have to prove that the event even happened.
    have you seen the list of demands before she will testify LOL
    she wants him to testify first LOL and defend himself against what she will accuse him of after he defends himself ????? LOL

46. @Lawson
    You seem to delight in extending gratuitous insults to women, it is usually directed at black women but it appears to be directed at any woman who in your view is not in the Presidentโ€™s column.

Stormy Daniels is a porn star (who just happened to have had a sexual relationship with Trump), the woman who accused Kavanaugh is a Professor at Stanford who was anonymous until a week ago with no scandal attached to her name. I suppose associating her with Stormy is your way of levelling the playing field.

I donโ€™t want to hear that you were just implying that her demands are similar to Stormyโ€™s, keep it for the Daily Caller.

47. I was done with this thread but just to set an example for you guys who do not give an inch in the face of the ridiculous I’ll admit some obvious crazy here. (It’s very liberating. You guys should try it.)

1) The one who brings the charge should OBVIOUSLY go first. THEN, the one who defends knows what he has to refute. Anything else would be RIDICULOUS.

2) He must be allowed in the room. She must have the courage to face the man. It SHOULDN’T be easy to destroy someone’s reputation or else everybody with a grudge would do it.

3) She must be asked some hard questions. This is the only way it can be fair.

But I do have a problem with the third alleged witness not being subpoenaed and they should have allowed an FBI investigation. If Kavanaugh is innocent that would have actually helped him.

Of what are they afraid???????? Do they want the truth or NOT????

Now you guys………I admit…….(FILL IN THE BLANKS.)

48. If maripoka were to accuse Bushie of ‘indecent assault wth a big whacker ….’

Wuh the VERY FIRST THING Bushie would call for …is a FULL investigation by no less persons than Due Diligence and Artax…(or the FBI)…
    …to establish the FACTS…

…unless of course the Bushman KNEW THAT HE DID do some wuk in de garden,
    …or was in the habit of wukking is similar gardens with gay abandon …after a few drinks…

Shiite…
    The VERY LAST option would be to accept a big-ass legal job (such as AG?)
    …. with such a convincing sounding RUMOUR hanging over the bushman’s whacker….

…and this is whether Maripoka was a Harvard professor …. or a Bajan black hat in England…