Barbadians join former colonies to celebrate Emancipation Day on August 1.

There can be no disagreement the Black race had to endure a form of slavery that to this day weighs heavy on the conscience of world citizens. Some will engage in a spurious rebuttal that the immoral act of chattel slavery practiced on Black people should be distilled using a logic that it was the legitimate activity of the day. What cannot be refuted is that until the Slavery Act 1833 Blacks resident in the Mother Country (England) and its colonies were regarded as chattel. Then there was the apprenticeship period where the former slave masters exploited Blacks because it was determined that it was cheaper to pay a rock bottom wage or provide room and board to the former slave in exchange for labour.  A capitalist thinking?

The benefit of slavery is that the White race was able to accrue great wealth to build an establishment that to this day supports how the so called developed world does business to the marginalizing of minority populations. More fundamentally the period of Black slavery practiced by the British empire created a White supremacy mindset the legacy of which is with us today.  Dismantling the legacy thinking to promote an equal global community continues to be a work in progress. The establishment will not yield to demands from former colonies for reparations. It is not in the nature of man to surrender riches even if ill gotten. The blogmaster’s perspective is that demand for reparation by Barbados and other former colonies is not just about compensation in the form of a money transfer – it represents the opportunity for the former colonist to record on history’s page the egregious business of slavery.

We fast forward to 1 August 2018 and so the struggle continues as we celebrate Emancipation Day. Many Black Barbadians – especially the young – will remember today as a day to recover from attending RISE. How many will participate on the Emancipation walk to Bussa statue?  How many Blacks are aware there is a walk?

To Barbadians every where, the struggle continues to nurture a just society for all. One that we can make proud for our children and future generations to cohabitate on the planet. We must never forget what our Black forefathers had to endure to support what we have been able to achieve to date.

The following is the Emancipation Day message from Sir Hilary Beckles, the Chair of the Caricom Reparations Committee:-

Emancipation Day message from Chair, CARICOM Reparations Committee

Press Release

(PRESS RELEASE VIA SNO) – We join annually with communities across the world in marking the moment in which the crime of chattel enslavement was confronted and uprooted from our existential realities. For us, the moment is August 1st; other dates are determined elsewhere and officially recognized.

Marking the moment in a celebratory fashion remains necessary despite the despicable nature of the gesture of Emancipation, legislated by Britain in 1838. It was an act in which black peoples were finally defined by Parliament as property, and their enslavers deemed entitled to compensation for property loss.

Today is an opportunity for descendants of the enslaved, and enslavers, to reflect upon the causes and consequences of these crimes against humanity, and in particular their significance on how we live today, and will in the future.

Rising up from the barbarity of bondage, we have dedicated our development energies to the advancement of democratizing social values, with a primary emphasis on building societies that are free and fair; upon platforms of multiracialism and multiculturalism.

As descendants, we celebrate the values of human decency left as an additional burden for our ancestors to carry. Every day they imagined would be an Emancipation day. They protected and projected the best tried and tested human values – joys of family life, fine spirit of community living, vitality of food security and material production, moral commitment to equity and justice, and critically the overarching, indispensable importance of freedom as the source of all happiness.

Effectively transcending and conquering the legacies of enchainment, impoverishment and racial denigration continue to elude us. Residual elements of the plantation-based past continue to shape our societies and determine their trajectories.

This year, we find it necessary to litigate the restoration of democratic rights and citizenship, illegally stripped away by the British government from thousands of Caribbean descendants rightfully living in that country since the immigration door was opened to passengers aboard Empire Windrush in 1948.

Last year, evidence of hostility against the Caribbean community by the British state erupted against the background of data, unearthed by historians, showing that the finance bond, by which the British government raised £20 million in 1834 to pay reparations to slave owners, remained active until 2015.

This fact powerfully shows that, for the British state, the slavery world persisted well into the 21st century, putting to rest its argument that “slavery was a long time ago”. These contemporary examples show how the effects of historic crimes still surround our societies. ‘Emancipation’ for us remains a work in progress and in no way can be considered a distant event that is settled and closed.

It is specifically for these reasons that we celebrate Emancipation day as a moment in which we demand reparatory justice. The Caribbean calls upon the enslaving governments of Europe, and their national institutions, all enriched and empowered by their crimes against humanity, to return to the region in order to participate in cleaning up their colonial mess. The advancement of economic growth is dependent upon it; social justice is dependent upon it; and a 21st century humanity is dependent upon it.

As we confront the future, let us be guided by Sir Arthur Lewis, who stated in 1939 that the 200 years of unpaid labour extracted by the British from the enslaved people of the Caribbean is a debt that must be repaid to their descendants. This is important, he asserted, if we are to have a fair shot at sustainable development. Pushing ahead with a self-emancipatory agenda is critical, but we must do so fully conscious of this broader context of our development efforts.

Blessings to all on Emancipation day.

298 responses to “Emancipation Day, a Good Reason to Give Pause”

1. “If We Want Change Be the Change”…Set the Example otherwise your Hypocrisy shows Big-time!

Not to Worry I know someone will Send out some Serious Prayer for him.

You know I have asked so many times for the BU Household to share ideas on Building Barbados and some have participated and contributed welcomingly and have also said the look forward to my coming Articles…

But to no Surprise not a Peep from the BU Regulars those who are playing the Race Card here Today.

Hopefully one day they will awaken before too late!! Ya Think?

https://quotefancy.com/media/wallpaper/3840×2160/1308-Mahatma-Gandhi-Quote-Be-the-change-you-wish-to-see-in-the-world.jpg

2. Those house negros are truly frightening, it’s best to run when you see or hear one..good news is they are always the ones to get their tails caught in a sling at the end, poetic justice and Karma all rolled into one.

At the end of the day, we know what needs to be done, the electorate/majority population, would do well to watch the Mia government closely and see if they will do the right thing by the people who elected them.

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Freedom Crier August 1, 2018 4:10 PM
    “If We Want Change Be the Change”
    ++++++++++++++++
    I agree entirely with this sentiment, so now we have found 2 points of agreement, this and Tubman.

I spend all my working hours being the change. You should come visit us at The Entrepreneurial Network (TEN Habitat) on Hincks St. in Bridgetown. In recent months I’ve raised $1 million from the EU and I’m driving economic development in Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean.

I have read your ideas on Building Barbados and there are some wide areas of agreement, but it takes more than BU talk. Are you putting your money where your mouth is? I am.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re You know I have asked so many times for the BU Household to share ideas on Building Barbados and some have participated and contributed welcomingly and have also said the look forward to my coming Articles…

But to no Surprise not a Peep from the BU Regulars those who are playing the Race Card here Today.

Hopefully one day they will awaken before too late!! Ya Think?

DEFINITELY NOT
    THEY LIKE ONLY TO TALK ABOUT THINGS THAT ARE HISTORY WHICH THEY CANNOT CHANGE

5. peterlawrencethompson
    August 1, 2018 10:45 AM

@John August 1, 2018 10:25 AM
    “…. and why isn’t Portugal one too!!”
    +++++++++++++++
    This is actually a sensible question (even though you apparently intended it as rhetorical with your exclamation instead of question marks).
    It has a lot to do with the distribution of the capital flows back to imperial centres of power. In the cases of Portugal, Spain and to a lesser extent France, the profits flowed disproportionately to the crown. Even in this case excessive wealth concentration is a very bad thing for economic development.

… and then there is Spain!!!

Why isn’t Spain a world power?

Portugal had 90% of the slave yet it came to nought.

Spain conquered not one but two empires and got riches untold!!!

So neither slaves nor riches translated into economic world power!!!

So, what is the difference between North America and South America?

South America is essentially ….. Catholic.

North America is protestant … but freedom of religion and thought is standard.

Church and State are separate in the USA, the most prosperous country in North America.

I think it all has to do with the mind and the types of beliefs to which the individual adheres.

6. Everyone has a choice, be happy … or be miserable!!

Both are viable mental states but one is so much more fun.

7. David
    August 1, 2018 3:34 PM

How does one attack the infection of the mind John?

That’s a very personal decision!!!

The State can’t help!!

8. What you are intimating is that persons with an infected mind has to discover the capacity/ability to heal themselves?

9. GP…with all ya big talk..you would not leave Miami or lift a finger to change anything on the island for the good of the majority population..

10. I think Mr. Gp Did More than his share Youngster!

11. I would rephrase that..

if a person(s) has a mind infected with white racism…?????????

12. Freedom Crier August 1, 2018 4:51 PM

I think Mr. Gp Did More than done his share Youngster!

13. Just focus on the topic for a change?

14. @ peterlawrencethompson

At the right opportunity and I am down town I will pop in but I am happy you are working on the entrepreneurial spirit for Bajan and people of the EC this is the only way forward for all peoples.

15. I was not imagining you asked GP why he does not leave America and come and help the people in Barbados…to which I replied I think Mr. GP Did More than done his share Youngster!

The Games People Play !

16. My Topics are About Barbados Improvements…That is about Change!…

See also:
    Merit Based Immigration & Citizenship by Investment:
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/07/13/for-the-good-of-our-country-barbados/

Barbados Improvements Part 1: Bridgetown
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/07/21/barbados-improvements-part-1-bridgetown/

Barbados Improvements Part 2: Thoughts & Ideas
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/07/28/barbados-improvements-part-2-thoughts-and-ideas/

Barbados Improvements Part 3: Agriculture

Still to come Barbados Improvements Part 4: Looking to the Future

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well, Well August 1, 2018 4:49 PM

GP…with all ya big talk..you would not leave Miami or lift a finger to change anything on the island for the good of the majority population..

I DONT LIVE IN MIAMI OK
    AND I HAVE INDEED DONE MY FAIR SHARE AS POINTED OUT to change A FEW thingS on the island for the good of the majority population..

18. Talk yuh talk John King. No the blogmaster did not give him a script.

19. “So neither slaves nor riches translated into economic world power!!!

So, what is the difference between North America and South America?

South America is essentially ….. Catholic”

==

God made man in his own image

Original man was a black man

White man was a mutation from neanderthals

Religion comes from East not West

White man stole and perverted religion too

John’s twisted brain is typical white plagiariser robbing twisting perverting ideas and thoughts

Whites were heathen pagans and fake Christians colonialists warmongers and slavers

They never helped anyone only exploited them

Brits industrialised Slavery shipping and breeding them for their NWO colonies. Americans were Brits.

North Atlantic Slave Trade started Industrial Revolution manufacturing materials brought back from Slave Plantations.

Manufactured goods were taken back to Africa and Rest of World

More Slaves were taken and sold

More materials were taken back to GB

20. “AND I HAVE INDEED DONE MY FAIR SHARE AS POINTED OUT to change A FEW thingS on the island for the good of the majority population..”

That job don’t stop you know, it’s an ongoing work in progress.

21. Forget to say

Slavery started Global Trade and Capitalism

Moving from Farming for food

to economies shipping food and manufacturing goods for sale

John and Freedom Crier have prejudiced brains

working backwards from their prejudice and twisting facts to suit their agenda

their brains are so prejudiced they don’t even notice it

22. Charles Skeete Avatar

Non national Clement Payne is the one whose fiery speeches stirred the masses into action in 1937 and should be accorded the status of the real Emancipator

23. That must be a horrible existence, particularly when everyone knows.

But exposure is good, it clarifies things.

24. One other difference with Spanish and British slavers is

Spanish mixed with slaves and weren’t racist
    Thats why there are so many mixed Hispanics

Brits were racists and didn’t mix with blacks
    (but they did rape slaves)

Brits invested White Supremacy racism to justify / brainwash their people to treat other humans inhumanely and brutalise them

Islamic slaves weren’t racist and treated slaves like servants and rewarded them for loyalty

John will pervert these truths as he is a dog

25. Payne’s mother was a Bajan, did he qualify as a national?

26. PLT

In the cases of Portugal, Spain and to a lesser extent France, the profits flowed disproportionately to the crown.

Isn’t this what happens with socialism, the Government, in this case the crown, takes the lion’s share of the net returns.

So what we may have here is 3 failed socialist countries, long before socialism was “invented”.

In the case of America, whoever worked for the returns, benefitted from the returns.

No taxation without representation!!!

27. Charles Skeete
    August 1, 2018 5:50 PM

Non national Clement Payne is the one whose fiery speeches stirred the masses into action in 1937 and should be accorded the status of the real Emancipator

Clement Payne was a communist agitator sent from Trinidad to foment discontent.

28. […] Barbados Underground […]

29. William Skinner Avatar

I was just here trying to think . Very near Bussa, there is a building called Skymall. It used to be Julie N Supermarket, I think, that was owned by a Black man whose origins, were in Roebuck Street and who came from a solid business background. Today that building is owned by a man who passes for a white bajan.
    I was just thinking of all those beautiful photos/prints that were on BU a few days ago. All the hard labourer in Bridgetown was done by Black bajans. Today Bridgetown is owned by two minority groups
    I was just thinking about the throne speech and how proud we are to dump nice cotton shirt jacks for the European jacket and tie in 90 degree weather
    I was just thinking but I heard a Black man call in to Brasstacks today and he said that he had met some wonderful white people and he named three. He then went on to say he had met some terrible black people but he can’t call their names. Massa day aint done.
    It is obvious from this almost childish back and forth that some of us are not prepared to just say straight up to the white man: You built an empire on the backs of Black slaves that you murdered , raped, completely gutted of language culture, ripped apart families; raped children who were not even five years old; abused our mothers and sisters in unspeakable ways and determined you were right to do so because you said that Blacks had no souls. Now, you want Blacks to say : you did them a favor by removing them from the land of their birth. After all this time you still believe what you did was right and can be justified by rotten propaganda
    And to think that so-called educated Black people on this blog will actually engage in some conversation or debate about slavery and Emancipation with such elements.
    There is no Jew whose families were murdered in the Holocaust that will treat those who murdered their families with such respect. They hunted them down and made sure they paid for the atrocities.
    I was just thinking…………..

30. Has the world leaders misguided the citizens by mixing up race and ethnicity is there a black race or is this just used out of context

31. Long live Caribbean and Latin American solidarity against western imperialism and neocolonialism

32. https://www.google.com/search?q=slave+population+in+america+by+year&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=2_W5amizWOFTzM%253A%252CKrSgF-s1EPdwYM%252C_&usg=AFrqEzcSaIHRV18C8Xz-_v2Q2o9H4PS7jg&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiVldWr0c3cAhXSxFkKHV6nDzcQ9QEwBnoECAUQCA#imgdii=BwAabVxcq9Pr4M:&imgrc=k8pRJXvAp_4f0M:

This is a good graph to appreciate the growth of population (slave and free) in America.

It is pretty clear that America did not depend on slavery to progress.

The growth period in slave population occurred after 1790 with the advent of the Cotton Gin and the need for labour to feed it and the mass market demand for the cotton.

America however was producing millionaires in areas clearly not dependent on slavery.

Here is an example, John Jacob Astor in the fur trade.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Jacob_Astor

The fur trade was one of the earliest economic endeavours in North America.

The Cotton industry attracted capital and by the time of the Civil War that ended slavery.

The enormous profits lasted for about two generations, from the invention of the Gin in the 1790’s to 1860.

Then they were “Gone with the Wind”!!

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/african-americans-many-rivers-to-cross/history/why-was-cotton-king/

“Understanding both how extraordinarily profitable cotton was and how interconnected and overlapping were the economies of the cotton plantation, the Northern banking industry, New England textile factories and a huge proportion of the economy of Great Britain helps us to understand why it was something of a miracle that slavery was finally abolished in this country at all.

Let me try to break this down quickly, since it is so fascinating:

Let’s start with the value of the slave population. Steven Deyle shows that in 1860, the value of the slaves was “roughly three times greater than the total amount invested in banks,” and it was “equal to about seven times the total value of all currency in circulation in the country, three times the value of the entire livestock population, twelve times the value of the entire U.S. cotton crop and forty-eight times the total expenditure of the federal government that year.” As mentioned here in a previous column, the invention of the cotton gin greatly increased the productivity of cotton harvesting by slaves. This resulted in dramatically higher profits for planters, which in turn led to a seemingly insatiable increase in the demand for more slaves, in a savage, brutal and vicious cycle.”

33. John does this conclusion include the British empire as well? Note the link Peter posted yesterday postulates the thesis that slavery was the heart beat of the economic system back then.

34. The blogmaster is of the view the USA in particular has observed how multiculturalism has affected Europe and intends to avoid a similar policy.

35. “Has the world leaders misguided the citizens by mixing up race and ethnicity is there a black race or is this just used out of context”

The Black Race is the African Race

and range from Pink to Brown to Black

They are Identified by Afro hair

Blacks like to call themselves many things apart from African

36. @William

You needed to go further in your contemplation.

Rowe entered a retail space that was controlled by the elite at the time and could have made a success of it if Barbadians supported JulieN in numbers? Some will suggest though that he was doomed to fail because the elite controlled the distribution of items in that sector.

37. The Slave owners who received reparations invested their money in railway schools and universities

The UCL Slave Ownership Database listed the white cunts business evolution

John is a timewasting cunt

38. Many are called many are called
    But only few will be chosen

If you want to be among the chosen few
    you got to ready now

If you want to be among the chosen few
    you got to prepare

God sits upon the throne of the universe
    His eyes are watching you

39. If God and I should chance to meet
    God came to me
    Would I know that it was he
    I would know him
    I would know him that man from Galilee

40. Kiki it is God’s grace that allows all to feel welcome in his presence for what they offer.

In other words, even the religious fanatics and zealots serve a purpose 🙂

41. @William Skinner,

My next door neighbour, a Trinidadian Indian married to a Sikh, is carrying out repairs on her home and all the workers ALL are Sikhs. It is called keeping the money in the community. Some time ago I had some work done and employed a Jamaican builder, the work was late, was done improperly and to this day he has not finished it.
    A sense of purpose, knowing who you are, are all part of maturity. It is cultural. Barbados is a failed state.

42. DofBU

From a Buddhist perspective, Black Race have served a long penance and will be granted a boon in their next life by the God(s)

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John August 1, 2018 9:20 PM
    “Non national Clement Payne is the one whose fiery speeches stirred the masses into action in 1937 and should be accorded the status of the real Emancipator
    Clement Payne was a communist agitator sent from Trinidad to foment discontent.”

A similar description was also made about Marcus Mosiah Garvey who was deemed a persona non grata criminal by the USA.

Wasn’t Sarah Ann Gill accused mercilessly by the Bajan white elites of being a ‘nger -loving mulatto witch’ who should have been burnt at the stake in a cane-field (glebe) owned by the Anglican slave-holding church?

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster David, blogger @John’s spurious reasoning seems to be affecting you 🤣. His contention that the US did not build tremendous wealth or progress off the backs of African slaves defies simple logic, common sense and a completely crooked analysis of the data he offers.

I summarize as this: the US is a large economy and the fact of growth in areas of the country that were not dependent on slavery is not and cannot be a determining factor of the vast areas of that country which depended on the production of slave labour from plantations all across the southern US.

His rationale compared to today would posit that there are a myriad number of tech millionaires thus there is no basis to suggest that immigrant farm workers are not ‘disadvantaged’ by low wages or harsh work conditions and that their employers do not make millions in that industry nor does it contribute SIGNIFICANTLY to the US economy.

It is appalling the level of subjective deliberate distortions he attempts to clothe in his one-sided scholarship…truly appalling!

And that brings me back to your remark which seems infected with his flawed reasoning. You said: “The blogmaster is of the view the USA in particular has observed how multiculturalism has affected Europe and intends to avoid a similar policy”.

Seems to me that the US is well ahead of the multicultural process compared to most EU nations so your statement seems quite odd.

Apart from England and too partially France isnt the US the home , as a principal example, of more ethinically diverse legislalators at the state/country/provincial level than most other places?

Have they not had a relatively diverse and multicultural school system since the 70s (relative is the operative word)?

And what of their monied class which includes more ethnical diverse millionaires than anywhere in the EU!

And basically, are minorities not more ACCEPTED in US than EU as a whole were often they are described as TOLERATED.

Perhaps your assertion should be: a cadre of politicians primarily Republican along with many white supremicists in the USA have observed how a wave of immigration has affected Europe and it has reminded them their country is getting too non-white and they intend to take it back as best as they can.

And one little factoid for what it’s worth …dating back to circa 2012 there were more babies (~51%) born to non-white than white mothers in US…factor in white mothers with interracial infants and you may understand that certain pols in US have had worries for a looong time…they really need not look to EU.

In fact going back in early 2000s the US census bureau et al have published stats showing the burgeoning Hispanic (in particular) and other ethnic population growth…all pointing to the US being a majority NON-white nation within our lifetime if current trends (birth, immigration etc) continue.

So let’s be clear, the noise in the EU is merely the fuel which certain US pols are using to inflame the local hate mongers…the US is TOO way ahead in multicultural acceptance in their view…way too far ahead!

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John August 1, 2018 3:32 PM
    “Remember, the Trans Saharan Slave Trade was in effect for a millennia or more before the Trans Atlantic Slave Trade.
    Slavery was part of the culture of Africa long before Europeans reached there.
    Islam came on the scene in the 7th century and spread through North Africa to the West Coast.
    The horrors of the Trans Saharan Trade are a matter of record.
    It would be natural for our ancestors to hate one another and themselves.”

So, by one stroke of your electronic pen, you have proved the story of the Jews being slaves in Egypt for 400 years to be nothing but a myth.

Well done, John, for proving that it is well-nigh impossible for the Jews in modern-day Israel to have been the descendants of those same Jews in your book of myths and legends.

How then can these modern-day land-grabbers (like the English Christians) claim that the lands formerly occupied by the Palestinians were promised to them by Yahweh over 3,000 years ago?

How can the Jews of today’s Israel claim patrimony when the majority are of European descent and whose ancestors could not have been enslaved by pre-Islamic Egyptians, according to your line of reasoning?

Q.E.D: Moses was an African (black-skin) man; proving that your god Yahweh had to free these easily-captured silly black people on two occasions.

First, by using the eruption of a volcano and a related earthquake and tsunami to lead them out of Egyptian bondage.

Second, by using your brethren the Quakers to put an end to the 300 year-old Transatlantic trade to whom the manumitted blacks should be eternally grateful and should worship like a god called John the mixed race son of Yahweh.

So who, Sonny John, would be saving the same stupid blacks from the mental slavery in which they find themselves today?

KFC Fast food to put them out of their misery for good or should we castrate the males as the Islamic slave traders did to some of their African ancestors?

46. Slavery in any form was and is barbaric and heinous. Arguing about whether the British / European ELITES made fortunes from the sugar industry is a waste of time because we know that in the period around 1750 that the toast at pubs in London was, “to be as rich as a Caribbean sugar cane planter”. We know that Barbados and Jamaica had produced so much money that they could easily harness 25% of the votes in Westminster.The elites dont care about anyone but themselves, never have and never will. Did those top people in the Demonic Larceny Party give a damn for Bajans of any race? Did they work hard to grow the economy for the majority of Bajans? Did they prefer those bearing bountiful gifts? Without any doubt we can say that among so called “leaders” of any race there are evil bastards.

Why dont we spend time coming up with solutions? So what should be conducted and why?

47. Wasn’t Sarah Ann Gill accused mercilessly by the Bajan white elites of being a ‘nger -loving mulatto witch’ who should have been burnt at the stake in a cane-field (glebe) owned by the Anglican slave-holding church?

Never heard that one and very much doubt any the submission has any validity.

She became a Methodist and lived at a time when the abolition of slavery was being pushed and had been pushed from before she was born, I suspect early 1780’s.

I suspect her father was Edward Jordan but there is no record to prove that which I have been able to find.

Early Jordan’s were Quakers.

I suspect her problems may have been religious persecution.

The establishment of Methodism in what was becoming an Anglican dominated society was problematic.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Methodism

It is unfortunate that our historians have reduced the era leading up to abolition to one of black and white when in fact it was a most fascinating era of religious awakenings … and their attached persecutions.

When Wesley came on the scene in 1743, he too experienced the persecution associated with religious intolerance.

https://18thcenturyculture.wordpress.com/conference-papers/methodism-and-the-redefinition-of-religious-intolerance-in-england-1688-1791/

48. So, by one stroke of your electronic pen, you have proved the story of the Jews being slaves in Egypt for 400 years to be nothing but a myth.
    Well done, John, for proving that it is well-nigh impossible for the Jews in modern-day Israel to have been the descendants of those same Jews in your book of myths and legends.

++++++++++++++++++++++

…. and your logic is ?????????????!!!

49. Hal Austin
    August 2, 2018 6:04 AM

@William Skinner,
    My next door neighbour, a Trinidadian Indian married to a Sikh, is carrying out repairs on her home and all the workers ALL are Sikhs. It is called keeping the money in the community. Some time ago I had some work done and employed a Jamaican builder, the work was late, was done improperly and to this day he has not finished it.
    A sense of purpose, knowing who you are, are all part of maturity. It is cultural. Barbados is a failed state.

What I am discovering here in Barbados is that house roofs are usually put on by Indo Guyanese.

All I can surmise is that since roofs contain alot of math, the Indo Guyanese must be gifted at math.