[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Can’t release the video if it’s evidence, on the other hand, if someone other than the court or law enforcement has a copy lying around, it would be in the public interest to release it and stop the Herbert gang from spinning lies to influence the weakest minds in the prosecuting office of the police, in the judiciary and those who may be jurors.

That’s how minorities influence what goes on in the majority population, they spin lies, release it among those blacks who work for them and immediately it spreads to the whole population…and stays there, influencing all types of dumb shit.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

That comment should be ignored, excons should get no problem finding jobs, there should be programs in place for them to assimilate back into the society….there should be more medium and large sized black businesses on the island…creating more job opportunities for everyone including excons…. self employment should also be a first option…

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service July 29, 2018 6:48 AM
    “…it would be in the public interest to release it and stop the Herbert gang from spinning lies to influence the weakest minds in the prosecuting office of the police,”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    I have not seen the video of the Ecstasy being loaded with drugs. If it shows Herbert and Rogers loading the contraband then it will prove their guilt. If it shows other people loading the drugs it will prove the guilt of those other persons, but will it exonerate Herbert and Rogers in the public mind?

4. A rhetorical comment no doubt? No it will not because this debate as you astutely observed is stoked by an underlying race discomfort in the Barbados society.

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Is there any evidence at all, be it physical, documented, or testimony, which would exonerate Herbert and Rogers in the public mind?

6. How many videos have bern used in the courts as evidence on the grounds to convict but has been ignored or rejected by jurors resulting in the accused going free
    The fact being that Herbert and his lawyers might have already made a sound determination to pursue a convition of the black man based on blackmail
    One that can easily stick in the jurors mind with a reason to belive that Presocod having a past criminal back ground has the capability
    Furthermore when Rogers and Herbert stories are webbed together after being lawyered up who is going to believe Prescod words anyway

7. The Herbert matter is anchored to a widely held perception that people with money that reside in the minority segments are responsible for financing the illegal drug trade. If the evidence were to exonerate Herbert and Rogers the perception will be inflated because of the very occurrence of the incident and the strange/questionable post-arrest events e.g. length of time being questioned. The tangential issues remain as well with this case – the Redland manager who was employed, Prescod to be caretaker of a boat owned/controlled by prominent individuals who would normally fly under the radar as far as surveillance at ports of entry etc.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David July 29, 2018 7:19 AM
    Sadly I agree with you. The actual facts of the case with verifiable evidence do not enter into the equation at all for public perception of this case.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The following query was received by BU under confidential cover.

Is it true that the three crew members cleared immigration, customs and were at home when they were called back to the boat by the Coast Guard?
    Is it true that several people were seen on the boat after the crew left the boat and the Coast Guard arrived?

THIS IS THE VERY SCENARIO I WAS SUGGESTING WHEN I ASKED THREE QUESTIONS TO NORTHERN OBSERVOR YESTERDAY..MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am all for giving ex-convicts a chance to redeem or rehabilitate themselves. However, I would not hire a person who was sent to jail for stealing money to be a cashier. Neither would I knowingly hire a man who spent time in jail for importing illegal drugs by sea to be a sailor, unless I wanted him for his experience and know how.

This being the case, it leaves me to wonder if cannabis is one of the items imported by Goddard Enterprises, and if so, I can now understand their phenomenal growth.

In an earlier comment I asked Herbert if he gave instructions to hire Prescod. It was subsequently pointed out that Herbert was not the Chairman at the time of hire. Herbert’s answer should have been that I was not the Chairman that gave the instruction. And at that point I would have asked: Who else at Goddard is tainted by this unfolding drug importation scandal?

11. “The fact being that Herbert and his lawyers might have already made a sound determination to pursue a convition (conviction) of the black man based on blackmail….”
    ++++++++++

Can you please explain and provide us with the evidence that caused you to come to the above conclusion?

Or are you presumptuously making these wild statements based on your dislike of Herbert……a dislike cultivated as a result of him participating in a protest March against your DLP administration?

12. In Caswell above comments where he question motive in hiring Presocd it can go to the mindset towards judgement and intent as to why Prescod was hired
    However proving sinster motives on the part of those doing the hiring can be easily removed in the jurors mind and replaced by compassion with a consideration that the Charles Herbert/ Goddards has been an outstanding contributor to the development of barbados and has helped many impoverished people .
    This case is going to deal with many factors mostly in relevance to the human side and benevolence of Charles and Rogers and the criminal aspects of Prescod.

13. A question to whom it may concern:

Was the GEL yacht officially booked on company business or were the occupants just out partying and burning shareholders’ equity?

14. Artax i stand by observation on lawyers ability to string a web of doubt in minds of jurors for the purpose of rebuilding the accused image which can lead to a not guilty verdict or hung jurors
    The believability factor most of the time in high profile cases always give the accused the edge

15. peterlawrencethompson
    July 29, 2018 6:57 AM

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service July 29, 2018 6:48 AM
    “…it would be in the public interest to release it and stop the Herbert gang from spinning lies to influence the weakest minds in the prosecuting office of the police,”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    I have not seen the video of the Ecstasy being loaded with drugs. If it shows Herbert and Rogers loading the contraband then it will prove their guilt. If it shows other people loading the drugs it will prove the guilt of those other persons, but will it exonerate Herbert and Rogers in the public mind?

Suppose it shows Mr. Prescod acting alone at a time when Charles Herbert and Chris Rogers were in Barbados!!!

Whatever it shows, whether it exists or not, one has to wonder at the clairvoyance of the Grenada Police.

They put camera surveillance in place at exactly the same time as the boat was being loaded.

Grenada must have geniuses employed in their Police Force.

Why is there a drug problem existing in the Caribbean with such astute law enforcement?

… and then the $64 million question …

What do both Barbados and Grenada have in common at this point in time?

16. Who else at Goddard is tainted by this unfolding drug importation scandal?

There are 6,500 employees!!

17. Caswell … your involvement is quite fascinating!!

18. John

You like you got some skin in the game brother.

Your post to Caswell @ 8:48 and your earlier post @ 8:46 got my eyebrows raised very high .

19. Is there any merit to the query if the GEL yacht was not on company business and there are many such personal-usage trips in a tax year, BRA may be interested in whether such benefits are being declared by the recipients and the shareholders about the use of their assets?

20. @July 29, 2018 1:42 AM “Mr. Charles Herbert a prominent white business man and corporate high flyer, declared that he was charged, for drug trafficking because the country was under tremendous stress, due primarily to the rough times , experienced under Stuart and company and it was looking for blood.”

Nobody is looking for Mr. Herbert’s blood.

All Bajans are looking for is that JUSTICE is done.

However if anybody including wants blood, including if Mr. Herbert wants blood I’d be happy to give him a unit as I have done nearly a hundred times for family, friends, and completely strangers. In spite of some people on this blog calling me racist, when I go to the blood bank I have NEVER EVER told the officials there that my “black” blood is for black people only. White people too are welcome to my blood any day, and I have no doubt that many have benefitted from it.

But I like most Bajans wish to see JUSTICE done.

And I would wish that stupid and or dishonest people on this blog would stop calling me racist, just because I wish to see JUSTICE done.

I wish to see JUSTICE done in the case of another HC man, Rodney Wilkinson too, and Rodney is not white.

My honest blood cries our for JUSTICE.

JUSTICE FOR EVERYBODY.

21. Why should Caswell post – or involvement as you put it – be interesting ! But look at this fuh muh do nah.Steupes.

Caswell is a citizen,a trade unionist,an open critic of govts (plural -both Blp and Dlp) as he sees fit and a recently appointed senator.

Which of any of the above would debar him from giving his carefully constructed comment – or make his involvement so interesting.

I notice a lot on here including and especially the blogmaster keep referencing the issue of race and how black bajans seeing this through the lens of race – and the white man,but I would suggest that they look carefully at some of the subtle and at times overt bigoted comments of persons defending the white bajan accused.

Really Now !

22. (1) “I have not seen the video of the Ecstasy being loaded with drugs. If it shows Herbert and Rogers loading the contraband then it will prove their guilt.”
    (2) If it shows other people loading the drugs it will prove the guilt of those other persons, but will it exonerate Herbert and Rogers in the public mind?”

Re (2): Should it exonerate Herbert and Rogers?
    We have heard that Herbert is a Barbados scholar with enough brain energy to power the sun.
    We have heard the $3M is like lunch money to him.
    Now we are being told that we cannot convict unless this rich brainy man is performing the ‘menial task’ of the drug smuggling operations.

It would not surprise if the black man was the only man seen loading the drugs, but it would not convince me that the brains an money was innocent.

Please cut it out…..

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

John

What involvement? I don’t use illegal drugs nor do I import or facilitate the importation. Or are you referring to the fact that I am now a senator. Let me set you straight: my outspokenness on radio, BU, in the Nation and elsewhere has contributed me being a senator. Why should I change?

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Notwithstanding my contrary agitations, this is the Caswell that one is accustomed to

@ John the Quaker

See how you project your racism and disdain of us niggers?

You said and I quote “…Grenada must have geniuses employed in their Police Force…”

Imagine that!

Herbert your boy here commending police and you are here calling the Grenadians goats!

25. @William Skinner July 29, 2018 1:42 AM “Two or perhaps three years ago, a regular brass tacks caller committed suicide…Mr. Charles Herbert a prominent white business man and corporate high flyer, declared that he was charged, for drug trafficking because the country was under tremendous stress, due primarily to the rough times , experienced under Stuart and company.”

At the time of the boys’ deaths I felt that on a day of very heavy rainfall the children were physically and emotionally incapable of doing the job of extracting the sheep from the pond, one boy went in his brother followed to help and he too died. Some jobs are too complex to be done by children, even on their own family farms. The children died by misadventure. The father could not cope. The sudden death of a young child is the hardest thing in the world to bear. The bereaved parents will need lots of emotional support for the rest of their lives, and they must be willing to access and accept that support. The argument that prominent businessmen have been charged because of hard times in nonsense. Elderly black working class women permanently experience hard times yet their rate of drug trafficking and of suicide is very, very low.

We should all ask ourselves why this is so.

Where do our grandmothers find their resilience? Why don’t they commit suicide? Why don’t they traffic drugs? Why do they live to be 100 or more?

Why?

26. People can ALWAYS find excuses for bad behaviour.

Don’t we forever see young and middle aged black mothers claiming that their bad behaved sons are “good boys, who would do anything for anybody” when if fact these young men have no respect for anybody, including no respect for their very mothers.

27. Virtually ALL of the problems in Barbados are caused by MEN.

Black MEN, white MEN, religious MEN, non-believing MEN, political MEN, rich MEN, poor MEN.

Barbados is NOT a failed STATE, but our MEN fail themselves, their mothers, their wives and their children DAILY.

Wunna need to fix wunna selves before wunna can presume to lead anybody.

28. David
    July 29, 2018 8:57 AM

Is there any merit to the query if the GEL yacht was not on company business and there are many such personal-usage trips in a tax year, BRA may be interested in whether such benefits are being declared by the recipients and the shareholders about the use of their assets?

I thought that it was established by contributors, that the boat leaves Barbados waters once a year for maintenance.

Pretty sure it was PLT who said that the boat is used once a week on the west coast.

Correct me if I am wrong!!

Like PLT, I have been on the boat as well on its weekly sail.

29. @Crusoe
    “As for ‘white man’s island’. You are joking. It was not a white man who ran rampant the last eight years sucking the island dry.”

I seem as if those who were “sucking the island dry” were sharing the spoils with just a select few. To me it appears that most of that select few happen to be white folks

Now isn’t life a bitch….30-0, 12-18, 15-15… the one thing black Bajans can count on is getting the shitty end of the stick..

30. Herbert your boy here commending police and you are here calling the Grenadians goats!

How do you get goats out of words like geniuses, astute?

31. @Hal Austin July 29, 2018 2:01 AM “Akenantyl, Swayne was not in the 1950s, but the 1930s. Grantley Adams represented Swayne. Not your fault, pal, it is the poor job done by our historians.”

No.

None of our historians have ever claimed that Swayne killed the boy in the 1950’s. You are being dishonest to claim that our historians have done a poor job.

If Akenantyl did not pay attention to his parents, grandparents and his history teachers how is that the historian’s fault?

If I did not pay attention in my biology and chemistry classes how is that the teacher’s fault.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster

The question that was sent to you namely “…Was the GEL yacht officially booked on company business or were the occupants just out partying and burning shareholders’ equity?…” was not sent to ascertain anything about the BRA.

This is a question from an insider at Goddards Enterprises Limited who is pointing the police in the direction of the company register!

I GOING have to give up my Job as the Leader of the Opposition because Enuff of Lorenzo duo tell me so and go and lead these RBPF policemens who John calling goats!

Sorry John the Quaker only call the Grenadian policemens goats. Apologies John the Quaker

I got to go now though heheheheh to the beach

Dem could send de video to de ole man ef dem like Heheheheh

33. @Tinniss
    ” I would suggest that they look carefully at some of the subtle and at times overt bigoted comments of persons defending the white bajan accused.”

On point,
    You should have also mentioned, the mental gymnastics of a few who construct silly arguments to free Herbert.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance please Honourable Blogmaster thank you

35. ell Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service July 29, 2018 6:26 AM “Ah want to see who is brave enough to go pick up more shipments..lol”

Not me.

Lolll!!!

I declare 2 things right now. ONE: I am a bona fide coward.

TWO: I like good food, and i don’t think that I could tolerate the Dodds menu. My apologies to the good men and women who work at Dodds, some of whom I know very well, in their non-work capacities.

36. Gabriel,

Plse clarify for me what ‘facts’ have I got wrong. About Charles Herbert being terribly clever, in a limited talent pool even two O levels make one out to b a genius. Just ask David, Easy Boy’s younger bother.
    Mr Herbert has a first degree in mathematics from Edinburgh University and an actuarial qualification from the Institute of Actuaries. Where is the genius in this? Edinburgh has the highest per capita number of actuaries in the UK, and maybe in the whole of Europe, because it was the centre of the UK insurance sector. There are two a penny there. Anyone with A level maths can study to be an actuary. Even the public relations people are qualified actuaries.
    On another matter, do we have a Proceeds of Crime Act in Barbados? Also, if the Ecstasy is company-owned and was not on official business when it was impounded, then there is a clear case for the tax man to investigate. Leisure sailing on the company’s boat is tax deductible.
    By the way, is there a clear need for the government to launch a formal investigation in to the legacy issues at the Barbados Mutual? I know a Jamaica-heritage woman who did her PhD on Equitable Life; she would make a good consultant on any such investigation.
    Finally, let me ask again: Is Mr Herbert an executive or non-executive chairman of GEL? Has he been formally suspended from this position? Is he a committee member of the Social Partnership?

37. Simple Simon,

Plse read the posts on the blog properly. Who said anything about claims by historians? I promise for the sake of my blood pressure, I won’t get annoyed with some of the appalling ignorance on BU.

38. “Barbados is NOT a failed STATE, but our MEN fail themselves, their mothers, their wives and their children DAILY.

Wunna need to fix wunna selves before wunna can presume to lead anybody.”

None of them will want to take responsibility, the whites one won’t want to take responsibility fo tiefing from the black population, for trafficking and selling guns and drugs, for keeping racist, oppressive, exploitative and slavery institutions alive for their own tiefing gain..

The black ones especially those who rotation in and out of parliament won’t want to take responsibility for allowing all the above to continue or their collusion in all of it for financial gain each election cycle since the 80s…they are all repulsive, immature, greedy and losers and at the end of the day and because of their nasty behaviors they will all become very famous.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Including PLT?

Look how he is here recalculating the value of the drug haul and telling fe ole man I cat multiply!

Why I use de calculator 5 times Ask BU and dat is me answer

40. the whites one won’t want to take responsibility fo tiefing from the black population

In the same breath you will also refer to the “poor black man” oblivious to the fact that it is impossible to tief from a poor man!!

41. @David July 29, 2018 6:47 AM “due to mistrust”

But David, who but an idiot trust an ex-con? Especially a drug dealing ex-con. Sensible people understand that you may hire such people, but you have to be very very careful what you put them to do, and you have to have them in a situation where you can watch them during their hours on the job.

Some people deserve lifelong mistrust. You never heard of lifelong parole? A friend of mine in another place manslaughtered his first wife in a drunken rage. He served 7 years and is on lifelong parole, and his country has told him that he can NEVER have a passport. That is how it is sensibly done.

Trust what.

i mean would you hire a convicted child rapist to babysit your children? And go on an overseas trip and leave him in the house with your children?

Stupssseee!!!

I can’t believe that we the people have more sense than those MEN who would presume to lead us.

42. Agree with your comment.

43. It is Sunday morning. Let us all sing. ‘Onward Christian (when we want to be) Soldiers Marching As To War’…. quite apt for Barbados.

44. My friend the manslaughterer is also forbidden from consuming alcohol for the rest of his life. And the parole officers have the authority to pop in anytime, or to call him in at anytime.

45. “And I would wish that stupid and or dishonest people on this blog would stop calling me racist, just because I wish to see JUSTICE done.”

Simple…they got fed up of calling me racist..they got fed up of calling me racist…they need a new “racist” to torment..lol

“In the same breath you will also refer to the “poor black man” oblivious to the fact that it is impossible to tief from a poor man!!”

The “poor black man” is not allowed access to billions or hundreds of millions of dollars belonging to the black population…but many white and other business people are…so guess who tiefing billions and hundreds of millions of dollars from the black population…I assure you it is not a “poor black man” he is busy tiefing corn beef, sardines, picking up bottles or robbing another black brother and sister…..ya see the chain reaction poverty created by minority thieves and stupid black governments…

46. Simple Simon
    July 29, 2018 9:43 AM

My friend the manslaughterer is also forbidden from consuming alcohol for the rest of his life. And the parole officers have the authority to pop in anytime, or to call him in at anytime.

Does your friend the manslaughterer (oops, woman slaughterer got to be politically correct) have a job?

Does any one trust him?

Does he live cooped up in his house unable to go out because someone will make him pay for his crime again?

47. John,
    If it was returning from maintenance, then it was on legitimate company business. Bust read the posts and you will see the leisure issue was raised. If it was not on legitimate company business, then leisure activity is tax deductible.

48. TheOGazerts July 29, 2018 9:02 AM “We have heard the $3M is like lunch money to him.”

O!!! How I wish that I had $3M in lunch money right now.

On the other hand maybe not.

Otherwise I would be big guts, fat and pop-down.

Lemme remain fit and slim like those 100 year old country women.

49. We are bombarded daily about the need to give ex-offenders another chance.

Here is an example.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2017/12/07/bteditorial-a-case-for-giving-ex-offenders-a-second-chance/

50. … and yeah, some ex-offenders blow their second chances and become repeat offenders.

Maybe Mr. Prescod is another example!!