[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. The worse types of criminals are the ones that are never caught AND who always proclaim their innocence.

2. @John July 29, 2018 9:50 AM “Does your friend the manslaughterer (oops, woman slaughterer got to be politically correct) have a job?”

Nope. No job. His second wife and the state support him. He is an OAP. Old age pensioner.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Simple Simon July 29, 2018 9:16 AM

Virtually ALL of the problems in Barbados are caused by MEN.

Black MEN, white MEN, religious MEN, non-believing MEN, political MEN, rich MEN, poor MEN.

Barbados is NOT a failed STATE, but our MEN fail themselves, their mothers, their wives and their children DAILY.

Wunna need to fix wunna selves before wunna can presume to lead anybody.

SS
    MANY YEARS AGO I HEARD ONE OF MY NURSES SAY MEN CAUSE ALL THE PROBLEMS
    SHE SAID THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR

MENses
    MENstruation
    dysMENorrhea
    aMENORRHEA
    MENorrhea
    MENorrhagia
    woMEN
    she said anything in the book starting with MEN, or got men in it, is caused by MEN!

DIS BRITE SUUNY SUNDAY MAWNING I SAY AMEN!

4. Simple Simon
    July 29, 2018 10:06 AM

@John July 29, 2018 9:50 AM “Does your friend the manslaughterer (oops, woman slaughterer got to be politically correct) have a job?”
    Nope. No job. His second wife and the state support him. He is an OAP. Old age pensioner.

So having killed his first wife, a second woman marries him!!!!

That has to be the highest form of trust placed in him!!!!

SS, for heavens sake, think before you write!!

5. Caswell Franklyn
    July 29, 2018 9:03 AM

John
    What involvement? I don’t use illegal drugs nor do I import or facilitate the importation. Or are you referring to the fact that I am now a senator. Let me set you straight: my outspokenness on radio, BU, in the Nation and elsewhere has contributed me being a senator. Why should I change?

Caswell

Your involvement is interesting for a few reasons, here is one.

There are 6.500 employees at Goddard’s whose jobs you have called in to question by suggesting it is into Drugs!!

You are by all reports a Trade Unionist.

Doesn’t employment turn you on?

… and here is another

It is obvious that drugs have infiltrated all aspects of Barbados, from top to bottom.

The Government was implicated as long ago as 1989 with the Diplomatic Dope scandal and if gossip had it right, it was alleged that Tom Adams was held in Miami with Cocaine.

Many people, offenders and ex offenders work for a living and are involved with Drugs.

Suppose all employers in Barbados decide to fire any employee who is an ex offender given the GEL experience.

Suppose they also decide to institute mandatory drug testing on their employees and make it a condition that their jobs are conditional on passing the testing.

Will you represent any member of your union who is fired and what will your position be if you do?

There are other aspects of your involvement that I find even more fascinating but time will tell!!

The above are but two!!

6. So who yall think the money in the treasury and pension fund belong to …it certainly don’t belong to 7,500 minotirities and would not be there if not for the 265,000 majority black population….pretending it belongs to you and ya ilk and thinking ya can tief it at will, does not make it yours, capice.

The sooner these dumb black governments keep yall away from the people’s money….the sooner financial growth and progress for the whole population, will be achieved on the island.

7. SS, did the second wife, a woman I presume, cause the man to kill his first wife?

8. @akenateni
    A white man (Swayne ) back in the 50’s shoots and kills a black bajan boy because Swayne’s wife tells him that the black boy was shaking his penis at her.
    Not only is the decade incorrect but the reason that you provide is also wrong. Wasn’t this our own “Monkey Trial” Yuh know Barbados always like to follow the “Big Boys” but for different reasons, thus there was the “Scopes Money Trial” in the US and our little- known (to the outside world) trial here.

The real reason that the man was shot (his name escapes me now but if I make a phone call today I can bring you up to date) was because he and Swayne were shtupping the maid and Swayne shot him to get rid of the competition.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re the black boy was shaking his penis at her.
    IN OTHER WORDS HE WAS EMPLOYING HIS FLEXOR CARPI ULNARIS

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

John

If an applicant at interview informs you that he was jailed for importing drugs by sea; would you then hire him as a sailor? If your answer is yes then I could only assume that you would want him for his expertise in that area.

I am a very different type of trade unionist from the ones that you have come to accept as trade unionists over the years. I know that workers are not always innocent and as a result, I work with employers to rehabilitate those who have run afoul of the rules. On occasion I have had to tell workers that they were wrong and that they should apologise before the matter gets further. I don’t encourage wrongdoing but I would assist a wrongdoer within reason.

Mandatory drug testing is an invasion of privacy, need I say more.

The Mafia had more than 6,500 workers yet prosecutors in Italy still went after them. Are we in this country going to wait until criminal employers start to eliminate witnesses and the competition before we start to ask questions.

11. A word to the wise
    John is knowledgeable on some topics.
    However, he is also good at kicking a can down the road and making a lot of noise.
    After a couple of exchanges, you will discover you are wasting your time.
    Let the can rattle by itself.

12. Caswell, you need to update yourself on what is happening in the outside world!!

https://www.workplacefairness.org/drug-testing-workplace#1

13. WW, Careful with your cockroach analogy, only the sea roaches are white. Just meking lil sport wid U.

14. The fact is that drugs and alcohol are a problem in the workplace.

Breathalizer testing on the road is routine in most countries …. you lose your license to drive in many cases.

Having an employee operate a lathe, milling machine, tractor or any dangerous equipment is dangerous not only to the employee but also to anyone nearby.

A car is dangerous ,,, and in some cases, part of the workplace

Once we accept that drugs are pervasive in our country … from Government back down .. we need to do something about it.

Legalising marijuana while it may left off the risk averse, cowardly marijuana farmer, does not address the impairment it will cause in the workplace.

Privacy is not the issue, safety is.

15. The Mafia had more than 6,500 workers yet prosecutors in Italy still went after them. Are we in this country going to wait until criminal employers start to eliminate witnesses and the competition before we start to ask questions.

An absolutely intriguing response!!

16. Theogazerts

I am glad you see John’s motives.

His aim is to disrupt the discussion pointing at Herbert being charged with the importation of drugs and to have the bloggers running all over the place discussing all sorts of side issues or red herrings he throws out.

The aim is that you will eventually will get frustrated and leave the topic alone .Thereafter he can continue to post his defence of Herbert or his racist stereotyping of the black guy Presod or he will end his discussion of the issue.

This issue showed me a side of John that was hidden and I must confess I did not expect.

Same like Herbert I suppose.

As we are told straight from the Holy Bible: ‘The human heart is most deceitful and desperately wicked.Who really knows how bad it is?

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright July 29, 2018 9:34 AM
    “Why I use de calculator 5 times Ask BU and dat is me answer”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Just pointing out that 267 pounds x $2,000/pound = $534,000

18. HAL,
    please dont exhibit stupidity pun here so, surely that is beneath you. So if I get a D or E in A Level Math I can Waltz in to Edin Uni just so????????????????????? CH would have a grade A+, they dont giway Bdos Schols so, unless you moved to Bdos Community College!!! Actuaries are NOT a”dime a dozen” anywhere on Earth, it was one of THE toughest degrees and Professional Qualifications on EARTH.

Hal U should be renamed —Appalling HAL!

19. http://www.jailtojob.com/companies-hire-felons.html

It is absolutely normal to find felons (ex-offenders) employed in all sorts of companies, from airlines like British Airways to Home Depot’s.

In fact, Obama made it easier for felons to get employment in his term as president!!

You will also find many aspiring felons employed as well!!

20. Moneybrain,

With an A level in mathematics one can study for an actuarial qualification in the UK. Are you saying that is wrong? In fact, although I am not quite sure about actuarial sciences, you do not even need A levels to get in to university in the UK. You can get an unconditional place with GCSEs. Happens every year and is about to happen this Autumn.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@MoneyBrain July 29, 2018 12:00 PM
    PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT BU IS COMEDY CENTRAL AND HAL IS ONE OF THE HEAD CLOWNS ALONG WITH ANGELA COLE

22. Charles left HC with three A levels, Math, Physics and Chemistry.

I can’t remember anyone studying Actuarial Science in those days … not only was a university degree required but also a slew of other exams after entering the workplace to qualify.

It is only after he went and blazed the trail that I begun to see students studying it after A levels.

I think the second guy I remember was a Steinbok who worked with him after gaduation.

It is highly mathematical which automatically limits the numbers to a select few.

At HC, Charles was supremely gifted at Math and Physics, each more difficult than Chemistry in my view.

Not many Bajans do STEM at University, that’s why Barbados is in the mess it is.

23. John,

It is obviously part of the Bajan disease – whether you are black, white, male, female, short, tall or just dumb. I will say this for the last time. I do not know or care what A levels Mr Herbert left HC with, or if he had a Barbados scholarship. I said you do not need a maths degree to study to be an actuary.
    I know Bajans argue for fun, but two London colleges- City University and London School of Economics – both offer actuarial sciences at undergraduate level. The entry requirements are A levels.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ JOHN
    RE Charles was supremely gifted at Math and Physics, each more difficult than Chemistry in my view.

I AGREE CHEMISTRY IS EASIER
    IF IT IS PROPERLY TAUGHT BY SPENDING TIME JUST CONCENTRATING ON BONDING, CHEMISTRY CAN BECOME EVEN MORE EASY, AS YOU CAN THEN WORK MOST OF IT OUT, AND NOT HAVE TO DO MUCH MEMORY WORK AT ALL
    E.G THERE ARE ONLY REALLY FIVE REACTIONS IN ALL ORGANIC CHEMISTRY
    ONCE YOU UNDERSTAND THE MECHANISMS OF THESE…………AND YOU CAN SHOOT YOUR BOWS AND ARROWS……..IT IS QUITE EASY

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Hal Austin July 29, 2018 12:53 PM

John,

It is obviously part of the Bajan disease – whether you are black, white, male, female, short, tall or just dumb. I will say this for the last time. I do not know or care what A levels Mr Herbert left HC with, or if he had a Barbados scholarship. I said you do not need a maths degree to study to be an actuary.
    I know Bajans argue for fun, but two London colleges- City University and London School of Economics – both offer actuarial sciences at undergraduate level. The entry requirements are A levels.

YOU ARE SPITTING UP IN THE AIR AND ITS FELLING DOWN IN YOUR FACE
    IF THE ENTRY REQUIREMENTS FOR ACTUARIAL SCIENCE AT THE UNDERGRADUATE LEVEL, THEN CLEARLY MR HERBERT, ON LEAVING HC WAS SUITABLY QUALIFIED TO ENTER ACCORDING TO WHAT JOHN SAID IN PLAIN SIMPLE ENGLISH!

26. MoneyB..I have seen the white cockroaches too, very rare, but they exist..lol

John can rattle on and waste his time as much as he wants…this is a new dawn, they need to embrace it and move on instead of whining and moaning…genuises get convicted, look at it as another degree in life.

27. HAL, I am obviously discussing the mid 1970s and Edinburgh Uni. Some other bogusASS Uni and today are irrelevant. Unless you had very high marks in Math there is absolutely no way you could have gained entry into Acturial @ EU even if a pack of very fit Pitbulls were chasing U down!

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Just in the interest of accuracy, if my memory serves Herbert did Cambridge A levels in Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Further Mathematics at A level because he was in all my sixth form classes with me. We were the first cohort allowed to do four A levels rather than three at Kolij. When I went to one of the top engineering universities in Canada, University of Waterloo, I discovered that Cambridge A level Further Mathematics was then roughly equivalent to 3rd year undergraduate math in engineering.

But Hal is right that lots of people got A levels and got through undergraduate studies in Mathematics without being all that bright, although perhaps not with first class honours. My appraisal of Herbert’s intellectual capacity is not based on scholarships or A levels or degrees, but on simply talking to him about interesting topics.

29. PLT…ya are a UW Alumini..small world.

30. I know Bajans argue for fun, but two London colleges- City University and London School of Economics – both offer actuarial sciences at undergraduate level. The entry requirements are A levels.

But … A levels in what?

You think a mathematically challenged student will choose to go into that field?

Guaranteed 99.99% to fail.

The only person I know in Barbados who did A levels in languages, Latin Spanish and French, and then took up math is my sibling.

Math is the great divider!!

I know from teaching university students in the sciences that most are severely mathematically challenged, even in the sciences where you would not expect it!!

What happens in universities is if a student enrolls in a field he/she cannot do, they change.

I had qualifications that would/might have allowed me to enter university and do medicine or law or many other things …. however, I can’t stand the sight of blood so since I had an inkling a lot of blood might be involved in medicine, I did not choose to go to university to do medicine!!

Charles did too!!

https://study.com/articles/Actuary_Employment_Info_and_Requirements_for_Becoming_an_Actuary.html

Job Description of an Actuary

Actuaries are business professionals who deal with the financial impact of risk, usually involving an individual or business. They use their understanding of mathematics, statistics, historical data and financial systems to evaluate the likelihood of events and their inherent risk. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), actuaries use many sets of data to estimate the probability of events, including deaths, injuries, disabilities, sickness or loss of property. Common duties include gathering relevant figures, using computer software to analyze data, developing and testing strategies to manage the economic impact of certain events, compiling reports and providing information to clients.
    Most actuaries are employed by insurance companies and may specialize in an area such as health, life, property and casualty insurance. Some also work with pensions and retirement benefits, serve as risk managers for businesses or consult on a variety of actuarial needs. They often work on teams with other financial and insurance professionals. Although most actuaries work full time in offices, consulting actuaries may travel and work longer hours to meet clients’ needs.

Education
    Bachelor’s degree in mathematics, finance, or economics

Certification
    4-6 year associate certification, and 2-3 year fellowship certification

Job Skills
    Analytical, business, computer, and customer service abilities

Median Salary (2015)*
    $97,070

Job Outlook (2014-2024)*
    18% increase

Source: *U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

31. Just in the interest of accuracy, if my memory serves Herbert did Cambridge A levels in Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Further Mathematics at A level because he was in all my sixth form classes with me.

I thought Charles went to University in 1974 and did not stay on to do Further Math with the four of us who did.

32. WW, it is true that some of the very best Scams have been committed by Elites and Oxbridge / HarvYale Grads. I was invited to stay at Brocket Hall, nth of London, the country estate of a RichAss fella, who rented out this estate to Investment firms. Soon learnt he was charged with a Rare Auto insurance scam and convicted.
    Slater was an investment gent, Oxbridge or Camford Uni trained, who scammed a whole bunch of people in the 1970s. The cleverer you are the more complex the scam that could result. The real defense of this CH case is more to do with knowing the person and what he would have to lose and gain by risking all. The profit on sales would be like $200k and CH may well be worth north of $25mn—makes no sense hence why I stated they would have to show me Med evidence of Brain damage.

Any top notch lawyer would employ a top Botanist to check the age of the ganja. It may have been lying around in the evidence locker for some time?

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John July 29, 2018 1:49 PM
    I think you are correct John, my apologies. I did not leave until 1975, so Herbert leaving in 1974 would not have given him the chance to do Further Mathematics.

34. WW, I believe that Bim needs cleaning up with regards to Corruption and Perversion. Really dont care who the perps are but who is going to do said cleansing when all kinds of people involved?

35. MoneyB…Mia and her government whom the people elected on May 24, 2018,..and who pay them all a monthly salary..they are being paid by the PEOPLE…to clean up the corruption no matter who is doing it, particularly if they themselves and their minority masters are doing it..everyone is watching them and they know it.

They all owe the people…and have to clean up their dirty acts.

36. “WW, it is true that some of the very best Scams have been committed by Elites and Oxbridge / HarvYale Grads.”

lol…on the other hand, I know some from Dartmouth and the same Ivy League halls who do some wonderful things, it depends on personalities I guess, but their egos remain big and they believe they can do anything and get away with it…but the criminals in that elite group are many and varied.

37. The major problem in NthAm regarding Education is the teaching and learning of Math. My son was in Gifted and he and a friend were doing Grade 8 Math in Grade 6 and had to correct their teacher at least twice a class!!! Furthermore the “experts” at the Board were/are arrogant as hell, as when I pointed out how far ahead places like Singapore, Sth Korea and Germany were, they would give me very poor responses. SAD!

38. “makes no sense hence why I stated they would have to show me Med evidence of Brain damage.

Any top notch lawyer would employ a top Botanist to check the age of the ganja. It may have been lying around in the evidence locker for some time?”

Those are two defenses right there, none of which will play well on the island, they are not that sophisticated and blaming the police for planting evidence on the boat…hmmmm.

39. Students these days who start out with actuarial science as a major …switch courses by their second year…it is not as popular as it once was and the world of business and technology have now merged so much that companies are upgrading and will need less actuaries..

40. But MoneyB..it is a good idea to check the age of the marijuana…and if it’s fresh..then what??…do you know what will happen next???

41. Even though an actuary makes a large salary and demand is high, enrollment is small because not many can do the math.

Here is an example in the US.

There was a fourfold increase in enrollment between 2006 and 2016 at the college blow, from 10 to 45 … and the total enrollment is 2,700!!

Not many A level students will choose to become an actuary because like me and my fear of blood, they have a fear of math and an inkling they will have to do it if they choose to become an actuary!!

They will run a mile to avoid math, even though the financial rewards are high!!

https://www.northcentralcollege.edu/news/2017/01/09/demand-actuaries-fuels-enrollment-growth-actuarial-science-major

“North Central College has 45 students enrolled in the discipline for 2016-2017, a monumental increase from 10 students in 2006. The College’s current undergraduate enrollment is 2,700.”

42. John Carter 1.48am

Let me register my disgust at the foul language being used by some of your commentators. I am appalled that they are not censored.(Quote)

Thank you.

43. William Skinner Avatar

This is the most hilarious thing to have ever entered BU: A prominent white bajan, has been charged with drug traffiking and we are here trying to prove how brilliant he is. Mind boggling. If a prominent Black bajan at the level of Herbert, had been caught with $500,000 in drugs, we would be saying how ignorant he is; was living above he means; he was a thief from small; he father get into Harsun College; he gay; he bi; he beat up women and we gine loss he way in prison but wid Massa we got to mek he look good.
    As Bussa asked Smokey Burke : Is this what we died for ?
    The way we trying to big up Herbert , I believe we gine soon hear that the police mistake the marijuana and it was really some common bush used to make bush tea !!!
    Only in Bim…………….

44. William,

Bigging up the ordinary.

45. @William

Relax, what we have here are a few of Herbert’s schoolmates reminiscing and engaging in related talk about experiences shared. It is a human condition to be sentimental.

#chill

46. William Skinner Avatar

What this whole Herbert/Rogers thing proves is that white people are not expected to be caught in criminal matters. As funny as it seems, this is a telling indictment about race , money and power in this country. Quite frankly, if there was not a Black suspect in the mix, we probably would have never heard about this matter.
    There appears to be two Barbadoes only difference this time is that the two were in the same place , at the same time on the same yacht.

47. TheOGazerts
    July 29, 2018 11:21 AM

A word to the wise
    John is knowledgeable on some topics.
    However, he is also good at kicking a can down the road and making a lot of noise.
    After a couple of exchanges, you will discover you are wasting your time.
    Let the can rattle by itself.

Like any person when faced with a can when walking on the road, I am going to kick it and kick it hard.

So don’t make contributions that begged to be kicked or else I will kick them to kingdom come … and enjoy it!!

48. … once I have the time and inclined to get some fun.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well, Well July 29, 2018 2:34 PM
    “Students these days who start out with actuarial science as a major …switch courses by their second year…it is not as popular as it once was and the world of business and technology have now merged so much that companies are upgrading and will need less actuaries…”

A lot of myopic contributors on Bu underestimate your ability to display, occasionally, scintillating emissions of the rare twins of perspicuity and perspicacity which others like Shallow Hal Austin would love to die for.

Actuarial science is nothing more than glorified fortunetelling using so-called mathematical techniques instead of the ‘traditional’ crystal ball.

It’s a field ripe for Artificial Intelligence with the inevitable disappearance of the mathematical nerds behaving like ‘human’ robots.

It’s more than suspicious than these same highly-trained ‘human robots’ programmed to look into the future of the world of business and finance were unable to perceive the fall of CLICO or the pending collapse of the Bajan NIS about to get the biggest haircut of its life.

They (the highly educated book-learnt human robots) cannot even spot the coming nose-diving of Sagicor as a profitable player and continuing cash-cow performer as investment returns and opportunities in the Caribbean start to dry up with the frighteningly stark spectre of facing the demographic time bomb made up largely of a graying and dependant sector and an inverse unproductive workforce not possessing the requisite skills for a digitalized global labour market.

Maybe the international banks are employing people with ‘informed’ commonsense instead of actuaries to forecast their future role in the Caribbean sub-region.

Isn’t ‘Life’ in dying Barbados one hell of a paradox?
    Barbados (as its chatterati like to boast) is so heavenly blessed and so well endowed with this ‘excess-to-requirements’ of these high-flying professionals in the world of business and finance, yet it now finds itself on the doorstep of the IMF with its forex begging bowl outstretched and having to use the services of a fly-by-night medici type organization called the White Oaks to undertake its loan-negotiating responsibilities with one of the biggest loan-sharks swimming in the ocean of public financing.

50. And don’t forget all the thousands of economists, whatever that is, infesting the island, but none have workable solutions, another major to be struck of university curricula ….both will shortly be extinct.