51 days after being sworn in as Prime Minister of Barbados, the Honourable Mia Amor Mottley sits down with veteran journalist David Ellis for a no-holds-barred full-length interview on Barbados, July, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. The state of the economy, talks with the IMF, promises made and promises kept. They will all come under the microscope this Sunday evening at 6:00 p.m. as Prime Minister Mottley talks to David Ellis. View it live on CBC TV and Social Media and tune in to local (CBC in Barbados) radio stations. Sunday, July 15th at 6:00 p.m., Prime Minister Mottley talks with David Ellis….live from Illaro Court!

BLP News

437 responses to “An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley”

1. Those people not cheap between paying off the debt and paying these rich congolmerates
    Barbados might end up in court .White Oak not going take excuses
    Mottley decisions are lining up with those she made for the prison and the World Cup with no thought and rationale how these projects would be paid for

2. Northern Observer,

The only par t of what you have said that I understand is that default devalues the loan. This is similar to the Barrack case and the huge debt the government owed(s) him. If the lenders sell their debt at a reasonable discount (say about 50 per cent of face value) to the vulture funds, they will pursue government for the balance, with the support of the US government and courts ie as in Argentina. Didn’t Antigua have similar problems following the collapse of the Stanford Bank? There is no easy way out.

3. Mottley and the government continue to enjoy a lot of goodwill. It has to be managed.

4. Remind us what the PM stated about not knowing the clauses embedded in the loan agreements that required stealth in announcing the debt default decision?

5. Waffle. The prime minister is a lawyer, a QC, government has an army of lawyers and it can hire outside expertise. If government did not know the clauses in the agreement, then heads should roll. In any case, you can be sure the lenders knew all the clauses. Yet again, this is evidence, if true, of Barbados as a failed state. Our administrative elite is incompetent. Where are the consultants? What is also important is what kind of talks are they having with the Chinese about their debt?

6. Goodwill has a time stamp, until such time, it is best to watch things play out because everything cannot be tackled at the same time, priorities have to be set and managed one by one, there are only 24 hours in a day….

When it is clear that the priorities like the Supreme Court is still being misused and abused, the elderly are still being abused using the Supreme Court, the lawyers who destroy the Supreme Court for sport and greed are continuing their dirty ways and neither Mia or Dale or the CJ and Registrar continue to do nothing about it, then someone has to take a stand….and expose it..

Ellis brought up the Supreme Court last night and Mia groaned…the whole thing needs an overhaul, which should have already been in progress in the last 6 weeks…if not why is the AG, CJ, or Registrar getting paid..she knows that.

…when it becomes clear that the civil servants in the ministries and government departments are not doing their jobs and her ministers are not doing their jobs despite collecting a paycheck every month from taxpayers…and have all been identified, then the people will know that they have to take action…

until then, goodwill is extended while we wait and watch.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I should like to qualify that statement in two regards Honourable Blogmaster

You said and I quote “…It was clearly a strategic decision informed from discussions with White Oak a company experienced with this k8nd of transaction. .

One queries the “strategy” because its was illy informed not because of its necessity but because of its modus of implementation

It nearly had us in a tailspin and were it not for sympathetic world bank officials and the empathy of Madam Lagarde we would have been reeling in caca.

Would you be so kind as to provide a link that gives previous experiences from White Oaks with sovereign Debt restructuring?

Eenquiring minds would live to know…

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    then you understood the important part.

9. Anyone care to tell me what are Hal Austin’s credentials besides reporting for the despicable daily Mail under Paul Dacre and Senior Editor at FT Adviser? The man knows everything!!

10. “government has an army of lawyers and it can hire outside expertise. If government did not know the clauses in the agreement, then heads should roll.”

None of that matters, there are very few lawyers in Barbados who can actually read and translate a legal document, particularly contracts, without misinterpreting the language of the contract…

…..I am glad am not one of the people who paid to learn that, no surprise that it took them a while to see the pitfalls of what these joke lawyers in the parliament signed on to.

Their best and only hope is hiring outside expertise to draft and interpret legal documents so one of their own dumb lawyers don’t sink them…I make no apologies for saying that, I have met too many of them.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

T INIS WROTE
    As per her style a whole lot of talk which amounts to nothing.All the serious issues David ellis raised with her were responded to with just spin

SINCE SHE SPINNING BUT SHE TRYING TO DO THINGS FAST DOES THIS NOT INDICATE THAT MIA IS NOT REALLY A PACER BUT INSTEAD A SPINNER IN A HURRY?Dsince

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    you enjoy arguing for the sake of arguing?
    The PM did not say that certain persons within the public sphere did not know the terms, even her predecessors, she said that SHE and her incoming team did not know. That is perfectly understandable? The prior administration was not required to provide a copy of the loan agreement to the Opposition?
    You just love referring to Barbados as a failed state. Does this give you pleasure?
    Barbados has many challenges. Time will tell if this new administration can find solutions. At 52 days in, I cannot render a verdict. What I can say, is the “mood” has changed, and that is a good thing.

13. Enuff,

My only qualification is I am a Bajan. We know everything. I did not go to school and cannot even read my own name, that is why I debate by trying to be abusive.

14. Norrhern,

An incoming prime minister does not take a rare – in the case of Barbados unique – policy decision without being briefed by senior civil servants. If she was not told the situation is as I have said, a failure of the administrative class, (incompetence) or a failure of the new government to take advice (arrogance). Where were the highly aid consultants, that is financial economics 101. I am sure even in Canada they understand this. Where is the argument for argument’s sake. If you cannot follow the logic, then say so, don’t try to be rude. That is the Bajan disease. We allow people to baffle us with bull.
    The issue is you cannot default on sovereign debt and just walk away, the same way you cannot default on household debt and walk away. There is a price to be paid.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

hal austin asserts
    My only qualification is I am a Bajan. We know everything. I did not go to school and cannot even read my own name, that is why I debate by trying to be abusive.

YOU CAN NOT POSSIBLY GET A MORE ACCURATE OR BRILLIANT RESPONSE!

THRU THE CUVERS NOT A MAN MOVE
    OR AS THE STUPID TINO BEST SAYS ” BRING BALLS” MURDAH

16. The PM explained White Oakes selection, it worked with St. Kitts, Grenada and a few other countries to negotiate with creditors.

She also stated after gaining office and assessing debt obligations in June added to potential risks associated with the hurricane season it informed the decision to default. We can chose to believe her or not.

17. Fractured BLP Avatar

Wow 😳

Last night Barbadians witnessed a comedy show – starring David Ellis & Guest !

Imagine David Ellis guest says the country is out of ” gas ⛽️ ” just running on fumes !

Yet Barbadians can see :

• 32 member Cabinet !

• Sweet jobs for friends & family of his guest !

• IMF at Barbados’ door step !

• Taxes galore on a gullible citizenry !

• Default on loan payments !

It’s Mia Fault

IMF IMF IMF IMF

18. Plse remind me which Caribbean countries Persaud already work for as a consultant?

19. Hal Toyota (not Austin) Avatar
    Hal Toyota (not Austin)

Enuff

That’s a fair question.

For a man who is unimpressed with everyone’s qualifications or credentials, work experience and achievements, while labeling everyone in Barbados as incompetent……

…….it would be interesting to see his CV to know his actual accomplishments and what qualifies him to be critical of everyone and everything.

20. Some people come to the blog and dismiss UWI graduates as inferior, while bigging up red brick, Russell Group and Ivy league alum. When the Russell group and Ivy league graduates turn up, they turn around and question their competence. Schizophrenia, dishonesty or ego?

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

Of course she was briefed by senior officials, but not until she was PM. She had a decision to make, I am sure she had the input of many others. I am confident she was aware, or made aware, of both the positives and negatives of her choice.
    It seems to upset you that she doesn’t give a blow by blow of all of whom she consulted, what they were paid for that advice, exactly what options were tabled, and the precise rationale in point by point form for the decision.
    I am equally confident, if she was not aware, the consequences and timeline post default were thoroughly explained.
    And sir an incoming, or even mid term PM makes the decisions that NEED to be made.
    The current PM had no control over loan payment dates, or even when the election was called should there be a change in administrations, relevant to those dates. One must play the hand one is dealt.

22. @NO

You touched on a useful point. Why would Stuart have extended the general election knowing the country had foreign debt obligations and the sale of BNTCL and Hilton were lengthy transactions to close to name two? He needed those ONE OFF transactions to bolster the forex reserves right?

23. Northern,

Don’t be silly, why should it upset me? Go through the thread. It was said she was not fully aware of the clauses. You now go off in to bullshit that a PM makes the decisions that NEED to be made. So, Stuart made the decisions that needed to be made. End of discussion.
    Let me say again: the government (every minister) should have been briefed on Friday May 25 by their permanent secretaries. The minister would have asked relevant questions. This is not to be a know all, although in Barbados it may seem like it; it is just by keeping abreast of events in a liberal democracy over many years. On Monday May 28 the PM and her top team held a press conference telling us about discrepancies in the state balance sheet. Whatever happened to that? Has anyone been prosecuted? Have they called in the police? Do you remember Dale Marshall waving a piece of paper about? It is all smoke and mirrors.
    This is what a competent press is for – to educate, inform and entertain. Instead of attacking me you should be coming down on the so-called political scientists who have so far failed to explain the recent general election and change of government to the public. You should be questioning the press. That is what they are paid for.
    If I want to know about how Britain is governed I can go to my local paper shop and buy any number of publications; I can go to my local library and read any number of publications; and if I am that way inclined, I can sign up for an evening class on the subject.
    I have referred previously to Plato’s allegory – and that remains the best example of collective failure to engage with reality. I say again, there is no easy way out of sovereign debt, you cannot just refuse to pay and walk away. There is a price to pay. After over 50 days in office nothing this government has done, apart from its PR junkets, tells us the situation is one of crisis.
    @ Northern, I will tell y7ou what upsets me: that a nation that rightly was proud of its level of education is now producing PhDs who can just about talk about their specialism. I have previously mentioned the so-called political scientist at Cave Hill, writing in the Nation, who said there was only one model of capitalism. Not a single letter to the editor followed this appalling ignorance; not a single word of protest on BU; not a word in any rival publication. This is what gets me angry.
    As to being impressed by qualifications, I am not. Half UK school leavers go on to university, and a large number of those go on to do post-graduate work. In the UK an MA is now valued at what an O level used to be in the 1950s. Qualifications have been devalued all over the world. To get a job as a supermarket checkout person you now need GCSE maths – and the government offers those courses free of charge to anyone over the age of 16. I am impressed with intelligence.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

Yes. BNTCL was essentially ‘out of their hands’. Hence the Hilton urgency. While the closing could take a few weeks, they could pledge monies from the Hilton buyer to a loan company, and keep the lid on that can.
    Based on the PM’s comments, and my feelings, we are going to discover a host of patch work deals across the public finances. The avoidance at all costs, was a devaluation or default under their watch. They may have beaten 8 miles of the 10 mile path to Defaults door, but they were not going to open it.
    And if you read your blog, you will realize many of us have been trained to treat default like some incurable disease.
    The political miscalculation is they actually had any hope of re-election. It was all for naught.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    “tells us the situation is one of crisis”. If you haven’t inferred that, then your comprehension and mine are different.
    One doesn’t default because one wants to?
    “discrepancies in the state balance sheet”..I am sure they didn’t appear with a footnote, ‘fire/arrest xxx for this’. it requires investigation, and time.

26. Northern,

It is not for me to ‘infer’ there is a crisis. We have elected a government to tell us we are in crisis and to do something about it – not just have press conferences and appoint a Chinese propaganda chief. The internet is the tool; if you put waffle in you get waffle out.
    Is there an ongoing investigation in to the dodgy contracts, etc this government told us they had discovered? Our job in this blog, given the absence of serious debate elsewhere, is to raise the level of the public discussion. Parliament is meant to be the leading debating chamber in the country, but with a 29: 1 membership, in favour of the ruling party, there will be no serious debate in the House of Assembly and the Senate is neutralised.
    We have two print newspapers that inflict injustice on trees every day and a digital paper that takes up a stronger political position than it does a journalistic one. BU can be that opposition, an objective critic of government policy, an alternative debating chamber.
    One advantage of BU is that those of you overseas and who have worked in different systems can raise some of those other models of government; not to say they are better, but simply to point out here is another idea worth considering.
    But there is a gang of aged keyboard warriors who loiter on BU ad abuse anyone they do not agree with. They do not contribute anything of value.

27. Hal you are on a roll. Keep it up

28. Living in Blissful Ignorance Avatar
    Living in Blissful Ignorance

@ Hal Austin

You are correct in your assessments.

Let me share something about the UWI graduates mentality since I have lectured at Cavehill Campus and have previous experience.

Students attended or attending UWI learn by regurgitation, and not by reasoning.

Hence why there is a lack of vision and reasoning skill.

It is the main reason Barbados is failing in all departments however they feel as a graduate a sense of entitlement.

29. The condescending, arrogant, nuffernarian Hal accusing people of abuse. Stupseeeee.

30. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ LBI at 3 :55 PM

A very interesting observation re the mentality of graduates.

But if the mandate is to have a graduate in every house can you blame the student for taking the easier route of preparing for an examination rather than understanding the subject matter ?
    And if the qualification for a job is the diploma and not the cognitive skills he should acquire in the process of acquiring the diploma, can you blame him?
    One cannot plant potato” slips” and reap yams.

Luckily for Barbados the love of excellence takes precedence for most students and the majority develop their cognitive and creative skills.

31. Like Dr. Shima L. Holder!!

32. A very interesting session today at Lloyd Sandiford.

33. Living in Blissful Ignorance,

Years ago I had an elderly law lecturer and he told us something that I never forgot. In regards to the media, he said if you want to know the quality of the press, just follow reports on a subject you familiar and from that you can tell if they know what they are talking about.
    It was advice I have taken to heart. And, as I have demonstrated in this blog, I restrict myself to a few areas, especially as I know the Bajan state of mind. The first and most important question is: what do you know about the subject? If you stick to what you know, either through experience or training, you often see the weaknesses in what passes for public debate.

34. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Enuff at 4 : 40 PM

Yes, Dr. Holder and many others including you .

35. How can a government deliberately reneged on paying its external creditors and placed blame on the previous government for that decision. Only in Barbados. How can Barbados be broke and we have the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados as well as an unprecedented numbers of consultants including non-nationals being paid exorbitant salaries. Only in Barbados.
    The nincompoop idiot we unfortunately have as our interim Prime Minister told the whole of Barbados the country is broke yet she can appoint the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados as well as a number of so-called consultants paying them exorbitant salaries in the range of twelve thousands (12) dollars monthly as in the case of David Comissiong as CARICOM Ambassador. Only in Barbados
    Nothing fundamental has changed in Barbados only the shit on the South Coast being shifted from the road and is now polluting the beaches at Worthing affecting not only the users of those beaches but also the vendors and other business people who operate from those locations.
    The mini- budget of illusions is now being dissected by ordinary Barbadians and is being viewed as a budget of hopelessness.
    Barbadians are being murdered not only by the bullet daily but also by the punitive measures in that foolish mini-budget.
    The next six moths of so the goon Mia Mottley will not believe that the apparent overwhelming support she received could turn against her and her incompetent government that consisted of a collection of political misfits.
    A one term government.

36. “an unprecedented numbers of consultants including non-nationals being paid exorbitant salaries”

Oh dear. Someone has not received their updated script.

37. These clowns were really still using a Secrets Act from 1911…really??

and they expect to move forward in a legal slave society created just for them…both archaic governments should be ashamed of themselves, not proud of anything, they should be ashamed to be proud..

Hopefully Mia can break that blight.

38. Still using the 1947 Town Planning Act is bad enough, but using a Secrets Act from 1911 is downright insulting to the population.

39. @Negroman

There is local debt and there is foreign debt. Ministers and consultations are paid with local dollars. Unfortunately the printing of money read local dollars cannot service foreign debts.

40. When will Town & Planning get Maloney to dig up that illegal protrusion of death he built at the Coverley entrance exit to kill that young child?

Maybe this white dude can get them to see the error of their ways and upgrade, ya can’t live in the 19th century forever, ya already crashed.

41. Same problems when presenting business plans to the banks, you get your application denied, but somehow your plan gets used to benefit someone else, thieves in the banks selling your plan or keeping it fo themselves…the same accusation levelled at Town Planning in that forum.

42. Glad some one else is noticing how govt is shitwashing the ocean with the sewage coming from the swamp
    Sewage that was dumped in the swamp by a faulty sewer plant that should never have been built in that enviroment in the first place
    The old people say that the sea has no backdoor which means that all that sh.it would eventually destroy plant and animal life and the coral reefs a place where plant and animals used for habitat not to mention the polluants that would become bacteria and remained dormant and invasive moving between land and sea

43. Say what you want Mia has to be the most visible PM in the first 50 days. As she approach 100 days the expectation of the people will increase. Her haste to modernize the Town Planning is interesting given the importance of high powered money to Barbados. Also interesting that several submissions to circumvent worry points in an outmoded legislation was ignored for the last ten years.

44. Very visible indeed making policies to make the rich richer and the poor poorer
    How is that for visibility

45. What hell Mariposa talking about?😒

46. @Enuff

She is talking about what the dems did for ten years………..we are all the poorer while they and their cronies got wealthy.

It is very common to accuse people of what you yourself is doing.

47. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Apart from obtaining funds from the IMF does Mia have a plan B?

The IMF will instruct her government to sell the nation’s public assets and to encourage her to waive her concerns concerning town planning. We will witness a building frenzy beyond our comprehension which will benefit a minority of Barbadians at the expense of the majority.

Mia lacks the stomach to tackle corruption in Barbados and is at a loss to explain how the Barbados economy can become more diverse. This explains corruption is rife and why the drug’s trade has become embedded within our local economy.

I do not see a way out for Barbados. An IMF loan will keep us resuscitated for a short term period. However, without a plan B, it is difficult to see how the average Bajan will benefit with the loss of jobs in the public sector and the non-creation of jobs in the non-performing private sector.

Emigration may be our only hope.

48. Not to mention govt open door border policy. Anyone with a minutiae of commonsense would understand that poverty is the number one reason why people take flight from their homeland to a place of refuge for survival
    Barbados open door policy has now opened the door for Caricom immigrants to leave their places of birth seeking refuge for economic survival
    As if barbados did not have its hands full of their own problems barbados has all but wedge and attached itself to other Caricom island problems in welcoming nationals seeking a place of economic survival

49. I see Joseph Atherley says he is still awaiting word on White oaks – the company brought in by Mottley to negotiate with the IMF – YET NOT A PEEP FROM THIS GREAT TRANSPARENT GIANT -Mia Amor Mottley.

This is why I say people words need to match up with their deeds.

I notice that quite a few people on this blog seem really impressed with an empty press conference,who a rush to make changes which do not seem well thought out – but when it comes down to the real stuff there is a glaring absence of information.

Like:

1.How much are you paying White Oaks;

is Avinash Persaud part of the dealing to contract white oak;

Was there a finder’s fee for him;

Did persaud do work previously for White Oak

As Bishop Artherley stated, Mia in opposition challenged the dlp govt on full disclosure – especially as it relates to Cahill – now the shoe is on her foot – its a different story.

Transparency demands that we know the salaries and terms of contract of:

Billie Miller

Clyde Mascoll

Avinash Persaud

Charles Jong

Jessica Odle

David Commisung

Pat Parris

Any other persons hired as consultants or advisers.

You see some people like fluff.So they make a big to do about press conferences and PR Stunts while all they time major decisions are being made without our full understanding of the implications of these decisions, and what we are paying for during these times of scarce resources.

Yet the old pensioners and single mothers got to pull the pocket and look for $45.00 more to pay their water bill or it going to get tek off – because well you know – everyone got to share in the pain;

And many hands make light work lol

And most of all – remember 30 -0 REDWASH in yuh boxy.Wuhloss.

Not a dog bark.Yuh could ask all yuh want Joe Artherley and others but Mia not answering.

Watch Muh!

I got this !

Lollllllllllllll