51 days after being sworn in as Prime Minister of Barbados, the Honourable Mia Amor Mottley sits down with veteran journalist David Ellis for a no-holds-barred full-length interview on Barbados, July, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. The state of the economy, talks with the IMF, promises made and promises kept. They will all come under the microscope this Sunday evening at 6:00 p.m. as Prime Minister Mottley talks to David Ellis. View it live on CBC TV and Social Media and tune in to local (CBC in Barbados) radio stations. Sunday, July 15th at 6:00 p.m., Prime Minister Mottley talks with David Ellis….live from Illaro Court!

BLP News

437 responses to “An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley”

1. Why did she say she had to consult with her cabinet – in response from ellis for info on a matter – the subject matter eludes me right now she said she couldn’t answer him because she has to consult with the cabinet- Bare cop out answer.I hope she consulted with her cabinet when she agreed to remove visas for hatians,or decided to hire Jong etc – yuh get the point.

Currently consulting with social partners – so what big and new about that.I must agree she got all yes men now who are partners – but at the end of the day she will do what she feels like and the IMF will give the instructions necessary.

The public to be included in integrity legislation.As Ellis had to tell her – they will be in joint committees – and she replied – well they can write or give evidence – all this as though it was an afterthought

Wuh is only obvious that you have to hold many public meetings and consultations if you want to change legislation as important as the Town Planning Act

Finally the one on holding referenda was the jokiest to me.When pressed by ellis as to the areas to be considered she talked about – Euthanasia, medical marijuana and some other nonsense.

Now tell me during the election were the people talking about euthanasia or were they not talking about NOT DECRIMINALISING HOMOSEXUALITY AND ALLOWING FOR SAME SEX MARRIAGE.

She better be careful and don’t play with the people.,

2. Did you also ask for the names of the long,long lists of consultants under the last BLP administration.Like Peter Simmons as consultant at the CBC? Or Denzil Agard? or George Belle? Mackie Holder To name just a few

Man wunna too sweet .

3. If she intends to prove she is transparent then name all the consultants past and present:

Then tell us why you hire Billie who already getting a big pension from the taxpayers.And what is her salary and job functions?

What is clyde mascoll salary?

What is Avinash Persaud salary and his job functions?

What is Jessica odle salary?

What is pat parris salary as communications director in the prime minister’s office?

What is Commisung’s salary?

What is clyde Jong salary?

How much are we paying white oaks firm and is there a conflict with their services and Avinash persaud or with persaud and Mascoll?

What about the other firm to deal with creditors – how much are we payng them for their services?

The people want to know.

4. You cannot recall what it is she wants to consult with her Cabinet but you know it is a cop-out. Understandable you would rubbish building partnerships with the social partnership because DLP never saw the value. If it is obvious to include the public why the DLP didn’t tell Maloney so regarding the Hyatt? We will have a time in the future to judge before we place the X. So far she is on the right track by chatting with the people. Her next interview she should be in a position to be definitive on the issues because it is 50 days in office to date? Based on the interview if she does what she says many will be happy.

The one markdown is the ambiguity around managing matters arising from the Auditor General report.

5. So if George pilgrim was getting a consultant salary in the PM’s office – does it make it right what she is doing – when according to her we are facing ‘dire economic circumstances’?

That is what the voters wanted stopped but its like the kadooment now start.

6. @T.Inniss July 15, 2018 6:35 PM “And while these consultants and tzars getting nuff money the pensioners have to look for $45.00 every month..”

Dear T. Inniss: Please see the NIS notice on page 16A of today’s Sunday Sun.

As of July 9, 2018, the pensions of “non-contributory” pensioners goes from $155 per week to $225 PER WEEK. A weekly raise of $70.

Those people who receive the minimum contributory pension as of July 9, now receive $235 per week, up from $190 per week. A raise of $45 per WEEK.

I know that you love the D’s, but cuhdear man you don’t have to tell lies.

7. Underground

What you’re saying at all.Wasn’t there a public meeting held on Bay street with the Hyatt people and Malone present?

8. Didn’t she say the extra salary for the Cabinet is 1 million and the consultants is another 750,000? You carry on smartly. We look forward to the DLP’s AGM next month where people can be striped to contribute to the blogs and inform the dissenting view. We need it!

9. Therefore T Inniss this consultancy stuff,is nothing new as you Dems trying to make out .Do not worry T Inniss when the names of the Dems consultants come out you may have to run for cover ,all the big mouth you have..You are dealing wiyh a real leader now a la Tom Adams,who she would have been around not ,in my view an absentee leader.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T Inniss

I haven’t seen all of it cause we still driving but…

Let me comment on her engagement style.

De ole man got to day IT WAS SUPERB.

Whuloss it must be de air in me face but she understanding statesmanship and how to engage with your physical and virtual audiences, neophytes and enemies.

Let me explain. Like I said I ent see everything cause dere was deadzones here but…

She managed that 90 minutes exchange about upmanship well.

She DID NOT BECOME ANGERED OR RUSTLED IT WAS SMOOTH.

That means that she has been immersing herself in materials both written and visual about leaders and leadership.

It is of note that she allowed Ellis to do this verbal banter so either it displays her comfort and maturity or dem say dat Ellis’ currency regarding asking the hard questions is truly at an all time low so in order to give him some points this is how she let him start.

I would advise you all to review what The Prime Minister said about Atherley in her own words.

And look at her attitude and her eyes.

Her voice was without any of the fire rage of the followers and neophytes.

She covered that seeming defection in about 45 seconds made reference to The Power of Repeal AND MIA MOVED ON!

She carries no animosity against the Reverend Bishop Atherley.

And she should not because she can’t – it was expedient that she effected this Leader of the Opposition construct in the absence of a plurality. And Atherley stepped up to the batting plate admirably.

Looka I gine share a secret wid wunna. IF WUNNA CAN KEEP A SECRET.

It is a practice called ammmmmm *** I ent going tell wunna it’s name but I GOING TELL wunna how it is effected.

Atherley still has a constituency office right?

Is he going to that office? How many people will see him there? Will he be able to assist them? Will the BLP put anoyher outlet in his constituency?

Why? Why not?

Wunna understand whu de ole man saying? If wunna see the unspoken code ghat Mottley spoke to when she mentioned the 7 out of 10 people from his constituency who approached her den wunna comprehend this.

45 seconds of watching her and what she said and you start to get an idea of who the better Mottley can be IF SHE CONTROLS THESE GUNAS.

I watch the rest later tonight I think cause OLE PEEPLE WHO CAN’T SEE, DRIVING AT NIGHT, IS NOT GOOD FOR YOUR BLOOD PRESSURE especially when you are a passenger…..

11. Not arguing whether it is right or wrong, The blogmaster has already opined that the optics look bad and she will be judged down the road on what she delivers. It is about both parties using consultants to get the job done if you believe them.

12. Are you serious?

13. @T.Inniss July 15, 2018 6:42 PM ” Britain who is a developed country with myriad of problems including Brexit has only 23 ministers but lil Barbados has 26 ministers plus 2 Ambassadors who now attend cabinet.

@System is Broken July 15, 2018 7:02 PM “Britain population up to 2015 65 million plus / 23 Ministers or 1 Minister for every 2.8 million people.”

But Britain has extensive local government, does it not?

14. Like the DLP what!

The pensioners have to look for $45.00 every month on their water bill.You give with one hand and you take with the other.

There has been no reduction in food and basic commodities prices,but rather a steep increase.We were told to expect a drop in prices but if you reduce the NISRL but you increase gas prices what you expect.

15. Don’t tell us what you estimate this large cabinet costs to be and that of the consultants and tsars – publish the figures with not just the basic salary but all the extras and any gratuity at the end of the contract – and let us use our calculator for ourselves.

16. You really think I losing sleep over what going down at George Street? Steupes

There are more critical things at hand than who is the new President

17. It is a million extra, what does breaking it out matter? Focus on the bigger issues. If her Cabinet does not deliver then there is a good reason to nail them. Think big, you are wrapped up in the minutia.

18. Right!

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item about our PRIME Minister Madamoiselle Mottley from the Demonic Labour Party supporter Piece

Enuff of Lorenzo duo say so and you dun know who Enuff of Lorenzo is heheheheh

ENUFF OF LORENZO DUO what are you being paid per month?

20. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

@ T. Inniss

If she intends to prove she is transparent then name all the consultants past and present:

You seem to have a balanced view even more than those accusing you of being a DLP yardfowl and who can easily be categorized in this BLP category based on their feedback and comments.

I have based my sole opinion on Mia’s affiliations and management decisions.

1) The brazen open hobnobbing with major criminals in Barbados including invite to the Parliament of Nigel ‘Bounty’ Pinder, Promoter Freddie Hill conman, drug dealer and human trafficker along with several other dubious characters who are major in Barbados criminal Underworld.

2) Current Selection of known crooks both as BLP Ministers and Ambassadors who played a major role 10 years ago when the BLP was voted out.

In life you are the company you keep.

Facts are facts.

I have nothing against Mia I am opposed to poor judgements as it is a continuation of both past and present foolishness which the masses are continuing to have to suffer the consequences.

I wish Bajans were like the Haitians as by now there would be rioting on the streets and this foolishness come to end instead of the wicked continue to exploit the vulnerable because of the masses docile attitude and ignorance.

21. Did we hear the Prime Minister say that she received Internet access in the prime minister’s office last week?

#wth

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHY DONT YOU JUST KEEP QUIET AND WAIT
    MY GRANNY ALWAYS USED TO SAY
    “DAY DOES RUN TIL NIGHT CATCH IT!”

23. Systems

Your last post is so spot on.I WANT my country o succeed ,but because of what you mentioned above and other things that I am extremely worried about the future.

And the kool aid like it have a lot of people in a deep sleep – they are not dissecting and observing carefully.

24. We agree, this is why the public kicked the DLP out. If there was a credible alternative they would have ignored the BLP too. This is where we find ourselves, in the grip of two tired political parties.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I know this question is sort OF LATE for David Ellis to ask our Prime Minister Mottley but he might get a second chance.

” ..Madadame Prime Minister given all of the mayhem and murders occuring in Barbados and given that 60% or more of these weekly killing are drug related IF IT WERE FOUND THAT ONE BOUNTY WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY OF THE KILLINGS would you and your government prosecute him with a view to locking him up?

And if he Ellis does not want to ask the question maybe Reverend Bishop Atherley can ask it

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Say that it ain’t so!!!!

Pleaseeeee!!!!

You said and I quote “…Was George Pilgrim not promoted as an entrepreneur who owns five businesses on the DLP platform?

Was he named this evening as one of the consultants in the PM’s office. The blogmaster is willing to be corrected. ..”

No siree dat jes is not possible

Not Walther PPK?

NO SIREE man dat man was pun heah praising Fumbles to high heaven talking bout how he stab Sandi but he would not stab FUMBLES and you mean he in Mia office?

You lie man I sorry to say so but dat cyan be true!

Why I ent know what to do

Fuh real!

You going got to retract dat statement doah

Whuloss whuloss…

Dis is really de last days whuloss I hope my peeple Doan jump pun muh for saying that but say it ent so…

Both of de duo of Enuff of Lorenzo ent see he postings here? And report him to you know who…?

27. John, this is great. Thank you.

28. Time to start privatization program PM MAM
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/176825/mia-help-govt

29. Living in Blissful Ignorance Avatar
    Living in Blissful Ignorance

This is one of the things those that write on the blogs including David Commissong should be concerned with fairness and transparency.

EDITOR’S NOTEBOOK: Different strokes for BCC?

It seems as if this new administration is favouring students attending the University of the West Indies (UWI) over those at the Barbados Community College (BCC).

This can be the only logical conclusion given Government’s non-payment of fees for students pursuing degree programmes at the BCC, at a time it is re-introducing state payment of fees for all Barbadian students attending the UWI campuses.

Is the ministry and indeed Government by extension stating that, based on this position, the BCC is a lesser institute of learning and the students pursuing its degree programmes are not deserving also of its financial support?

The BCC offers bachelor degrees in fine arts [major in studio art, graphic design], arts [arts and entertainment management, media and journalism], education [physical education, technical/vocational training]; bachelor of science [tourism and hospitality, pharmacy, nursing and clinical laboratory science].

Attorney General Dale Marshall should offer an opinion to the Minister of Education and the technocrats in the ministry on this matter. He needs to state whether Government is standing on solid legal ground and also morally right in being selective in the payment of tuition fees.

Consumer advocate Malcolm Gibbs-Taitt, CARICOM Ambassador David Comissiong and even the Fair Trading Commission should also publicly address this matter.

In the meantime, the BBC’s Students’ Guild, as well as parents and guardians of those at the BCC so affected and offended by Government’s decision, should also consider bringing a class action case against the state for what can only be considered a denial to equal and fundamental rights in accessing funding for education.

Is there a case for review under the Administrative Justice Act? (ES)

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/175444/editor-notebook-strokes-bcc

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

In general, a big breath of fresh air.
    The rationale on several matters was sound to me, at least financial. I haven’t a clue what the proper sewerage fix is. We saw signs of a complete management breakdown, which she alluded to, confirming the data does not exist in several cases. The lack of annual reporting has been alluded to here on BU many times.
    Still not excited about the Cabinet size, then again, nor was I about the previous continuing deficits and projection misses, but once you vote them in, you have to work with them. At least she seems willing to talk. Not only to others but to the people. The FJS sporadic lecture series to his choir are over.
    The lease vs buy decision for major eqpt has its pluses and minuses, a form of BOLT. Typically the vendor controls the maintenance. Sounds like she is going to push up savings rates. It will be very interesting to see how Bajans “participate” in the unspecified opportunities, something they historically have not embraced on a large scale. She referenced ownership local, management divested? A point discussed recently. And MAM you putting a lawyer to head Management Principles? please. I didn’t see you putting a management guru to be your Attorney General?

31. Northern,

We live in a culture in which a law degree gives a person an automatic knowledge and expertise on any subject – finance, regulation, auctioneering, politics, you name it. That is why I have said the only way to cure this is to get rid of lawyers out of parliament.

32. T.iniss will be miserable for a long long time.
    or he will die early from high blood pressure.

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I noticed she did not touch the UWI tuition issue, neither did Ellis, it should have been mentioned.

“Both of de duo of Enuff of Lorenzo ent see he postings here? And report him to you know who…?”

From Mia’s mouthings the yardfowls on BU don’t know shit about anything and are just an extension of exyardfowl ac, all they do is spew and attack on BU they are toothless, empty headed wonders hoping to be noticed….what Mia and Ellis said confirms what we already knew about them:

Yardfowls need to stay in their corners since they never seem to know what the hell they are talking about or what is really going on despite it sitting and staring at them or smacking durectly in their numb heads….the auditor general’s report covers and outlines all instances of corruption on many levels in various ministries and government departments as is very plain too see,

The PAC report covered only one instance of corruption, as outlined by Mia and Ellis.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And since Mia confirmed the uselessness of the procedures in the court system which she admitted dates back to the 1950s and cannot function in 2018….hence the court process has ground to a permanent halt…how soon will Dale AG be doing something to upgrade the processes, new rules and procedures particularly for judges which should be immediate, they are not children and ALL are lawyers, they should be able to adapt to new procedures and immediately expedite matters hanging around in the court system unnecessarily. ..particularly those Civil cases left to linger in limbo for decades.

I understand one judge on being appointed in 2016 gushed to the media that she would deliver judgements in 3 months….to date she has not delivered one judgement…next April she will be on her third year on the bench.

Mia knows only too well something needs to be done about the judges…..AND the scum lawyers who delay the court processes…it is not going to go away, will continue to be exposed and will bring down her government if not urgently attended to, investors do not put their money in any country that does not have a functioning supreme court.

Marshall should upgrade these processes as a matter of urgency and should be the sole focus of his attention…..as a matter of urgency….he is getting a salary and I believe attending to a stagnant court system is more important than installing a toilet and bath for his vanity.

Hell, as I have said on here a month ago, since April they would not even update the Supreme Court’s website.

35. The government is broke which explains her flying a kite on the matter of sovereign leasing. We need buses, garbage trucks and other essential vehicles in the government fleet.

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Yes it is increasingly obvious the government is broke and has little foreign exchange and wants private companies with its over $1 billion US that it has loss way and list way overseas to assist in funding these opportunities

That has its self evident benefits namely the provisioning of much needed FX

But and here is the kicker

Do you remember the Mercedes Super class that Michael Lashes was driving round or the $20K per month bulldozer that MTW was leasing?

It is these backdoor smart leases that are going to be the new modus of fooping the economy.

Cause when my kickback is prearranged with you during our meeting at Sandy Lane Golf Club nary one of us going see how much bobol Enuff of Lorenzo duo getting as kickback and how much of ghat going in Kerrie and buddy’s hand.

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

particularly those Civil cases left to linger in limbo for decades.

I understand one judge on being appointed in 2016 gushed to the media that she would deliver judgements in 3 months….to date she has not delivered one judgement…next April she will be on her third year on the bench.

I should make it clear that this comment relates to this particular judge’s Civil matters, I am not familiar with any of her criminals matters…and can only talk about the civil court.

It is very clear Mia is in an unenviable position she inherited but which she asked for, dont expect it to be easy when you inherit a broke country infested with corruption, but the first order of business is to immediately upgrade the Supreme Court and eliminate ALL the corruption that is festering in that hole so that the country can start moving again.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ To Whom it May Concern

De ole msn almost said “to the lackeys Enuff of Lorenzo duo but i dun know dem going turn up for their job.

The Nation said this about the Prime Minister’s plans.

“…Mottley announced last evening that having started consultations with the Social Partnership on Friday, her administration would this week engage the public in ELECTRONIC POLLING to help determine where it should trim expenditure….”

Who will be hosting the electronic posting?

If it is a reputable international polling entity the de ole man would endorse it

IF NOT AND IT IS SOMETHING DONE BY “Charles Me Love You Long (time)” de ole man recommends that all bajans stand way from it causing dem going put something pun wunna devices via its API.

Just Google the polling station entity on webutation.com and if it is reputable they will be listed there with a high rating and if not IT IS DEM BACK DOOR TING.

I GOING GET de grandson do a Stoopid Cartoon bout dat AND THE REAL REAL QUESTIONS DAT MIA ENT ANSWER …

39. You cannot have your cake and eat as well? What we will have to insist on is transparency with the transaction -the rub is that only a very few (and they are rich already) have the capacity to supply the vehicles the government will be in the market for. We are between a rock and a hard place are we not? Let us hope the integrity legislation is a piece to the puzzle to keep this lot honest.

40. She listed Jong’s qualification which is impressive in web design etc. We will need to step up our game here.

41. I laugh when I read about breath of fresh air.

As per her style a whole lot of talk which amounts to nothing.All the serious issues David ellis raised with her were responded to with just spin and not answers to the questions.For example,when pressed about her publicly position taken in 2017 (which ellis quoted the date) about not defaulting but just refinancing – she immediately started to dance around the word refinance and accuse him of one-upmanship and ignore the monster of ‘bdos defaulting for the first time’.The ripple effect of this default is still being felt and her answer about payments and the hurricane season coming up etc does not match up with what others have said about the money that was available.She had enough wriggle room to pay her loans and even go to the IMF if she so desired.But is easy to sell to guillible people that she was in a trap and had to get out.

I have begun to realisethat she was waiting on Sinkler to do that dirty job of going to the IMF, take all the hard decisions about cuts and social services and,then she would be able to cuss the Dems for hurting the poor people and she then ride in like a hero after the dirty work has been done.

This is exactly what happened to Erskine Sandiford and all his hard work and the BLP came in on an excellent wicket.Now all of the Bees luv Sandie bad.They always quoting him (but not in the proper context however)

Mia really does not have an economic plan,all this talk about blue economy shite and tsars and Bitcoin.Look we really have to find real fast alternative realistic areas that would generate foreign exchange and accelerate economic growth.

Bajans have to stop their wild consumption patterns ( read drining foreign exchange – see what Guyana did in the 70s under Burnham) and get resourceful in small ways and big.

But if you are part of the business class like Bizzy or someone so you will indeed think that last night press conference was a breath of fresh air.

All I ask citizens is to think for yourself,compare and contrast,match up morning words with evening words and keep asking questions and demanding answers – that’s how you were under the last administration – be even more vigilant now.

42. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

To ensure the island never finds itself in that position again, the Mia government has to open all doors for job creation and business advancement to the majority population to stimulate wealth creation….the difficulties she is now experiencing is because meduim, large businesses, wealth and jobs creation was left only in the hands of a few by two stupid blighted governments for 52 years…..now they are reaping the whirlwind after decades of sowing the wind.

The government should also have the option of sourcing trucks etc from any number of vehicle owners in the majority population….had they not been stagnated and prevented from engaging in order to facilitate small island monopolies and satisfy bribery/corruption/greed..

Her job is to undo decades of disenfranchisement. …to facilitate growth and wealth creation.

43. A word about David Ellis.

Clearly he wanted to be careful having snared the first interview with with the prime minister after being shutout by Stuart and his government for the last ten years. Those who expected a hard talk type of exchange were disappointed. The Prime Minister controlled the interview by using words and phrases that she knew the meaning and which Ellis was unfamiliar. Many of the questions were as a result of matters raised by Mottley. It was an ok interview. The follow up should be better to discuss phase two activities.

44. I acknowledge the many problems facing the Barbados Government at this time. I sincerely believe that P.M. M.A. Motttley wants to do what is best for Barbadians. She has asked that she and her administration be judged on performance. It is against that metric i.e performance that I would strongly advise her to put much distance between Mr A. Persaud and the affairs of the Barbados Government.

45. You peiple need to get it in your thick heads.
    1. Mottley defaulted on barbados debt
    2. The IMF soon would be the managers of Barbados debt
    3. Mottley interview was just another talking point show of smoke and mirrors
    4. The days of smoke and mirrors are over
    5.The bottom line focus would be that of cutting spending an area where govt would have limited power to control in order to secure the IMF loan
    Read this morning that Mia would engage the Social partnership and citizens seeking their opinion as to where to cut spending(if that be the case whhst is the purpose for all the consultants and advisers on taxpayers payroll)
    Either Mia is going to listen to the IMF advice to secure the loan or listen to the advice of social partnership and local advisers and get nothing
    Mottley is pretending as if barbados economy is stable enough to get in house advice when clearly barbados govt is in no position to call the shots after involving IMF support for a loan
    We cannot have our cake and eat it too

46. Did not listen to the interview but after reading the morning tea leaves
    The interview deserves a big YAWN

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It is indeed a breath of fresh air not to see or hear Fruendolittle’s ugly ass…or any of his corrupt ministers…

Current and exyardfowls need to take several sests….they are all embarrassments to any current or defunct government/political party….and never seem to know what they are talking about.

48. Wily just came across this interesting article from CBC, Canada that is, has this ever happened in BARBADOS.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/government-fired-misconduct-incompetence-1.4746602