The cut and thrust of the 2018 Barbados Election campaign has tossed up many issues which confirm the political party that wins the election will have to hit the ground running to rescue and restore the country to the pedestal it once occupied in the region and the world.

There is one issue which has not received the airplay it deserves in the opinion of the blogmaster.

On more than one occasion the leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – delivering on the 2018 election campaign platform – hinted at the fact should her party win the government, there will be an effort made to hold certain actors involved in the CLICO mess accountable. The blogmaster is aware promises made in the heat of a political campaign must be taken with some salt. However, given the black eye the CLICO collapse has given to Barbados, AND, the potential it poses to continue to deliver given its impact across the region, the blogmaster will continue to invite discussion on the matter in future blogs.

What the CLICO debacle exposed was that there was a catastrophic failure of the regulatory system- of which the political class and other key actors were complicit- to more efficiently manage the downside risk of the local insurance sector. An IMF report leaked in December 2017 identified the systemic risk posed by Sagicor – the dominant insurance player in the region – and the challenge posed to the local regulator (Financial Services Commission (FSC)) to effectively regulate given the complexity of Sagicor’s business model.

The IMF report found that the FSC, which was established in 2011 and is assumed to be the group supervisor of Sagicor, has neither developed, not implemented group-wide supervision processes and practices since its establishment.

It should be noted that to its credit the FSC was responsible for commissioning the report.

What has intrigued the blogmaster is the recent announcement that Sagicor acquired Harmony General insurance company. Harmony General was a small player in the sector, however, if the size and complexity of Sagicor was identified before the acquisition as a source of concern in the IMF report- the acquisition will serve to add a few more questions.

The blogmaster has no interest in the sale directly, it is more a quiet concern about how the sector is being regulated to militate against a recurrence of a CLICO.  The NEW leadership of Barbados must demonstrate firm leadership to implement learnings arising from the collapse of CLICO. We must punish those who failed to honour fiduciary responsibilities.  In this regard we have taken careful note of the lead role being played by Leslie Haynes Q.C. in BLP affairs. You may recall Haynes was very close to Leroy Parris and CLICO before its demise.

The blogmaster has also observed – lost in the din of the 2018 general election – general insurance companies have been disclosing end of year financial statements as required by law. A perusal of ALL of the finacials published so far list companies under financial stress. What is not clear to the blogmaster is how a sector that is under ‘financial pressure’ has not seen the urgency to significantly raise premiums to bolster the profit and loss. What is the blogmaster missing?

It is the expectation of sensible Barbadians the incoming government will demonstrate the leadership required to make available adequate resources to the FSC to do its job effectively. The other expectation is that players responsible for the CLICO collapse will do the ‘time’.

See the Financials of CGI, Brydens and Sagicor General insurance companies:-

135 responses to “Mia Promises Jail time to CLICO Offenders”

1. @ David MIA will not lose especially with the backing of queen Ri Ri. lol

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with another (my vpn really over wukking now)

3. BREAKING NEWS

Operations at the Bridgetown Port have been temporarily disrupted as a result of a bomb scare.
    Workers are on the outside of the facility as personnel from the Bomb Squad conduct their investigations.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/23/bomb-scare-disrupts-operations-at-the-bridgetown-port/

4. Fake bomb, steuuppps ..such desperation..lol

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

And so the disruptions begin…as we wend our way towards the Emergency Powers invocation

6. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

They have skeletons in the closet and not just in Barbados.

7. PUDRY

We don’t follow your higher truism

Though much of what you say is true, overall you seem to be making an arithmetic error.

This is how we see things.

The BLP came out of the gates as overwhelming favourites to win by a landslide, our view. They were indeed challenging the DLP for a fight for a few years prior.

By the end of the first weekend, momentum had already begun shifting in favour of the DLP. We tried to send out an alert but few would listen.

This because of the political mismanagement of the BLP, and by Mugabe in particular.

We refer to the fiasco of the mini-manifesto, which has not, up to now, been straightened out. We reckon that the party will not now be able to publish its full manifesto. This is no less than political mal-practice. Somebody should lose their head for this!

It was inconceivable to us that a team of advisors including Mascoll, Mottley, Caddle and Straughan and all the other resources of the BLP, having had more than 5 years to prepare, could have made such a mess of the single most important campaign document. Opening the party to frontal attacks, attacks from all sides This, by itself, could be fatal.

It at least represents a tactical defeat for the BLP, if not a strategic defeat. This was a self-inflicted wound.

Then there were the other decapitation efforts of the DLP relating to MAM’s questionable actions when last in government.

Thirdly, we had the Nigerian issue, simmering still.

Fourthly, BLP candidates and platform speakers seemed to have ‘instructions’ from the high command that Mugabe was to be lionized, constantly, by every speaker. To us a represented a mendicancy inconsistent with a party which had every reason to exude high confidence. As contagious as confidence is in politics.

On the other side we did not read such a need to stroke FJS’s dictatorial ego.

Together these present Mugabe and the BLP as at least as incompetent of the DLP, if we could consider past and present actions as determinants of future behaviours.

These together, took the wind out of the sails of the BLP. As a results, they have spent most of this campaign on the defensive. Unable to mount sustained attacks on the DLP where it matters most. Burning their barley fields, as was required.

This was not an election of a classical opposition party looking to unseat an incumbency. Instead, it was two incumbents fighting against each other, as to who should succeed.

The DLP was basically given a free ride and hardly any of the issues which we were opining about to confront them, made them defend for extended periods of time, like the DLP did to the BLP.

Some talk about the ‘eager 11’ on the side of the DLP. Mugabe herself, and the BLP, also have documented cases which reflect deep fissures within as well.

This campaign may end up revealing more about the BLP than the DLP.

We will have more to say tomorrow night.

8. Piece…they only got hours left to play games, don’t mind them, in hours it will soon all be over…and they will all, the politicians who are now stabbing each other in the back and exposing each other’s criminal acts against the people, will revert to being best friends and business partners in their political cabal and view the same people they are begging for votes from as the enemy and people only good for robbing and to victimize…while their new and best buddies will be the cucharachas, criminals and white, Indian, Syrian thieves in the minority business community whose only goal in life is to project entitlement to rip off the treasury and pension fund of the majority black population, aided by the house negros ministers of parliament who will continue to enrich them because that is what house negros do. …do not look for any deviation from the norm in the behaviours of the mentally enslaved and colonized.

there is however something more devastating to Caribbean Black people that is unfolding in UK, I want to hear Hilary Beckles telling it to people in the Caribbean also..instead of mouthing this only to those in UK, I want them to hold townhall meetings, because this will never go away.

I would suggest Black Caribbean people living in UK stop feeling that they are safe, they are not..whatever lie the UK has to tell to rob black people of their human rights and very existence, they will, that is called an existing threat.

These fly by night politicians could never be trusted to protect their own people…they will not start now, too programmed to be their own people’s enemies..

The Guardian newspaper is pushing the home office on the fact that black Caribbean people born before independence in the various Caribbean islands ARE british citizens, were born as british subjects and should not need to show evidence outside of a birth certificate to prove this.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2018/may/23/go-die-not-interested-windrush-citizen-feels-neglected-by-britain

“As the 70th anniversary passes under a cloud in Britain and Jamaica, the saga still threatens to undermine the historical relationship between the two countries. At a meeting of the Centre for Reparation Research in the Jamaican capital last week, senior Caribbean dignitaries likened the treatment of Windrush victims to a 21st-century version of the Atlantic slave trade.

Sir Hilary Beckles, vice-chancellor of the University of the West Indies, said it was the latest example of Britain’s “project approach” to black people – “you mobilise them for a project and when you’re finished, you demobilise them” – and had far-reaching implications for the Caribbean Commonwealth.

“It is a very deep and severe problem,” he said. “You can read Windrush as a morality tale but it is about the future of black people in the Caribbean. Where next will they want us to labour? Where is the next place they will take us? Why do we not focus on building our own economies and societies? We need to put all hands on deck to get our economies to function at a higher level. That is the only cure to all of this.”

“Bristol was born a British subject in Grenada and, at the age of eight, moved to the UK in 1968 to join his mother who was working as an NHS nurse, and spent the rest of his life in Britain. In 2017, he lost his job because he had no passport and was unable to prove he was in the country legally. He was also unable to claim benefits despite having no income.”

That british citizen born in Grenada died from the stress of it all, his mother said, the only thing he should have had to produce to prove british citizenship, should have been his birth certificate, the brits still have records of every live birth of their british citizens in Grenada and the other islands born before independence…so as the Guardian is proving, these acts against Caribbean black people are deliberate, malicious, racist and evil on the part of UK…and are intended to institute even more evil against black people as it intensifies.

9. The link above shows that not even black Caribbean people with british passports and all the required documentation are safe, whether they reside in UK or not, they are not safe.

10. So while the outcome of the election is important to identify the new house negros of parliament who will sell out the majority population…it is very important to be vigilant and keep an eye on the UK and all white majority countries…as it relates to Black Caribbean people especially.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

I am no political scientist but i have an acute understanding of how people think and respond to disinformation

Like you i am going to reserve my response until after the polls close tomorrow because, to speak today would detail my similar disappointments in this slam dunk…

You said and i quote “Fourthly, BLP candidates and platform speakers seemed to have ‘instructions’ from the high command that *** was to be lionized, constantly, by every speaker…”

That unfortunately is not the real reason…but you dun know and have previously stated the real issue which is when you assess the *** you dun know that dem *** really ***

But here is where i take another route as it related to what you call “deep fissures”

Mia Amor Mottley the next Prime Minister of Barbados is no fool.

The “fissures” have been allowed to coexist solely because it is expedient until the 24th but thereafter a next thing going play mark me words…

PS you must be laughing about my redaction of your quote.

You and others here (and she too) note its absence and many wonder as to what has prompted this “Damascene moment” and de ole man’s response is that not only Saul has had Damascene moments

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    “Instead, it was two incumbents fighting against each other, as to who should succeed.”
    Did you/them really expect anything different?
    As others have explained, a Manifesto is largely a waste of trees and ink. Have it online only. 90% of the electorate don’t read it. The “campaign” becomes what the media, both mass and social, “discuss”. And it usually has nothing to do with past performance. Or any prediction how this might apply to the future.
    Going in, I felt the third parties, and more the votes they might grab than the seats they would win, maybe the determining factor.
    It has been a listless campaign. On the few occasions when the ‘shiite talk’ began the crowds would increase volume. It was as if ‘nobody wanted to make a mistake’ vs wanting to win.

13. PUDRY

So we’ve been noticing.

Unfortunately, we hold no such proclivities.

14. NO

Our references to the manifesto or mini-manifesto is just short hand for the inconsistencies, imprecisions, not well-thought-out ideas, contained therein.

Need we adumbrate them?

15. Pachamama: Are you for real!!!!. From the first week, the incumbent had destroy Barrow’s image by the vile comments about the leader of the opposition. Using the PM’s word casting “aspersions” on Mia. Pachamama, you thought that by refusing to go into the gutter was a show of being defensive. No siree. the behaviour of the candidates were a controlled act not to behave like certain candidates who is of the opinion that laughter is acceptance.

These questions need to be answered.
    Why wait for Parliament to be automatically dissolved?
    Why did you loiter over 50 days instead of announcing an election date?
    Why did you take so long to publish your manifesto?
    Why take so long to get you political posters out?

I am of the believe that all the above questions is a clear reason that the incumbent prefer to sail in the sunset instead of continuing with a home-made remedy laced with IMF medication.

The electorate will make the final decision Thursday Night and we will see a weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth by the disappointed lot.

I ready fuh muh “X”

16. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

So it definitely angers me to hear slave minded jackasses like Grenville of SB…still espousing to use the criminals in UK system of demoralizing black people by awarding them shit titles that are meaningless…

..Grenville has no idea how he pissed me off with his uninformed and clearly mentally enslaved tool of the UK self…and he was not even born as a british subject as those in my age group were…. but mentally colonized he is nonetheless, , what a damn shame.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

Whuloss looka why de ole man come to!

I ent got nuffin but respect for you and whaplax – adumbrate!

An ole man like me had was to immediately open a next tab to search for dat word!

Good thing that de other bloggers did not see how many times I had to come back here and get the proper spelling

Pachamama “…She is also an ever-present and independent deity who has her own self-sufficient and creative power to sustain life on this earth…”

Your choice of a name is informative for ingrunt menses like me

The form you express here daily IN EVERY SINGLE SUBMISSION indicates not only the level of your learning and letters thereof but suggests to me that you also instruct in such disciplines that are either composed of the social sciences and economics

I try to “see” the writer in mens oculus while reading a submission here since I do not have email nor IP addresses

I said I would wait until tomorrow but life of late has impressed on de ole man dat I ent got that put down so I shall speak partially to the subject…

“…has her own self-sufficient and creative power to …”

The critical element that will inform on if Barbados survives the malaise that is the Demonic Labour Party lies in the very description of your non de plume

The ability to auto generate the elements of self sustenance and thereafter manifest them into being Pachamama

How many of the first wave of the duopoly of representatives have that element in their being?

Is such a characteristic capable of being created ?

And the resounding, deafening cacophony that assails your ears, surpassing even the silence of angels wings in flight, is the negative for both queries

So here is the thing Pachamama

In a situation where what de ole man has alluded to in my prolix speech and you have adumbrated here oft aforetimes what MUST THE INCOMING ADMINISTRATION OF PM MOTTLEY DO?

Will she surround herself with the “tabula rasas” (nearly said a bad word) of these deep fissures that you mentioned earlier OR MOVE TO EMBRACE MORE STOLID PERSONS LIKE YOURSELF WHO WANT MORE FOR THIS COUNTRY THAN A PENSION?

I ent know bout you but where I soon gots to Demi’s this sentience and go, doan spend no sort of paper dollars nor bitcoins

18. Freedom Crier Avatar

On Thursday May 24 2018 Vote for your (1) Religious Freedom, (2) a Free Barbados (not one shackled by debt repayment) (3) the Freedom that we and our children will not have to pay for the debt and mismanagement of past administrations through Excessive Taxation planed for us. (4) Vote for a party who have Real Solutions not a Manifesto of the Same-o Same-o that brought us to this point in the first place.

The Goal of the IMF and first order of business is that we repay our debt by making foreign exchange so expensive we will all have to do without so that the foreign exchange we earn goes to repay debt. When the IMF has rendered us Poverty Stricken after we have repaid everyone, we then are left alone to mess up if we have the same Type of Leadership with the Same Ideology.

Seek Gods guidance through Prayer and Do Right and Let The Consequence Follow.

Choose Wisely Barbados.

https://www.facebook.com/laughingcolours/photos/a.10150471189319578.388832.173770089577/10153476005094578/?type=3&theater

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance please

20. We see Wickham, in BT, forecasting a 5% swing against the DLP.

He also, laughably, suggests that St, John maybe in play for the BLP.

It is stuff like this which makes Wickham more of a political actor and less of a professional consultant, pollster.

This coming from a writer who has previously supported his work, encouraged the unique mixture of art and science he argues for, in terms of regional factoring.

And he maybe even proven right by the real population, tomorrow night. But we doubt it!

This thinking is a hangover from the period before the election was called.

We are still unconvinced for the reasons why apolitical polls were not carried out.

That polls which were conducted not to be made public suggest population sentiment was not to somebody’s liking.

21. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Pachamama

We are learning organisms. We learn from past experiences. Both Peter and his hirers have learnt from their experiences. Intelligent and rational voters factor new information into their decision making, especially in this age of fake information.

You seem disappointed.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

Skipper(s)…adumbrate…is beyond me. a-dumb-rate, sounds like the interest being offered by banks in Bim?

Surprised none of the very politically inclined are putting Numbers to their predictions. If I had to bet a few dollars, I would lean to a 66-33% seat split favouring the B’s.

23. Bernard C

‘Disappointed’ is not the word we would use.

For his forecast was ours, for some years before the elections were called.

It is more like his reading of events, without known information, known by us.

Against our reading of circumstances based on criteria including some mentioned by you.

Not long now, we’ll know who is right.

24. THE END IS NEAR. Barbados is ready, not for IMF, but for the World Bank.

The unions demand a wage hike and more lazy laggards in the civil service after T E N Y E A R S of economic decline and depleted foreign reserves.

One wonders what is the worst: unions, public service, slavery, pest, ebola, Baloney or hurricanes.

Only Saint Bussa and Goddess Bim can save this island now.

We need a grand purge amonsgt the civil servants.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Freedom Crier (aka SB fan)
    I had great hope for SB. That hope has all but vanished. The IMF debt-GDP GUIDELINE, has been adopted by SB like if it is some kind of law. This from a leader, who on BU, admitted that up to a few years ago, he had no idea of the financial challenges facing Barbados. Then came the faith based opinions. Questionable taxation strategies, which have apparently passed undocumented “rigorous discussion”,and ISO as a panacea for management shortcomings, all of which add up to the next miracle of massive financial surpluses.
    And why? All they needed to promote, they were decent people, who via careful and astute financial management could stabilize the good ship Barbados, and then adjust the navigational settings towards sustainable prosperity.
    They may all be business people, but obviously none have faced the ‘large business turnaround’ dilemma. It is nice to think we can turn an operation which has lost money for 8+ consecutive years, added huge debt, has a large workforce and associated future expenses into a profit machine tomorrow. Yet the path is usually one of reducing losses, breaking even, and all the while changing the causes behind the losses. And you NEVER find what you expect, they are always a few surprises.

26. @ethel layne May 23, 2018 9:03 AM “We must bring to an end this stranglehold the christian people have on Barbados; we must turn their religion on its head.”

But Ethel. But I have always heard from the gay community that it is possible to be both gay and Christian. And I certainly came up in a church where it was well know that some of the congregation was/is gay. If this is indeed the case why do you want to turn the Christian religion on its head? And since Christianity is all about the love thing, love of God and love of nieghbour why do you as a gay woman wish to negate all that loving?

And exactly what do you mean by turning on the head?

27. @Well, Well May 23, 2018 10:29 AM “My daughter just told me she saw online where Michael Carrington is asking…”

Somebody needs to tell Mikey that there are no sexually active post-menopausal women in Barbados. Once we get to a “certain” age, we ask God to call us away from that nastiness, and God always answers our prayers.

28. @Hants May 23, 2018 12:53 PM “their tolerance for cheating, horning, outside women and men should make them tolerant of members of the LGBT community. Politically I would rather support a buller or wicker than a thief.

All true.

But what if the person is a buller or a wicked AND a thief?

Homosexuals being like all the rest of us are fully human, and like the rest of us are capale of sexual sins AND thiefing sins.

Life is complicated man!

29. Carrington got himself into the proverbial red ants nest with the comments by readers in Barbados Today.One comment suggests Carrington portrays himself as an Anglican and a faithful member of All Souls however the comment by the reader says in all her 25 years attending All Souls she has never seen Carrington in that church.Not once in 25 years.
    Then Carrington tells us another lie.He says Freundel Stuart is a faithful Anglican,but did not say which Anglican church he attends.One commentator gives us a clue.Staurt was the Pastor of the Marchfield Church of God,performing baptisms and preaching the word.Then he got into a scandal with 2 females and had to leave the church.And these are the former speaker and the former Prime Minister being taken to task for their holier than thou attitudes.He that is without sin pelt de first rock.

30. lol…it was too funny, one commenter asked another if he was sure it was two female sisters and not too males with whom this affair took place…lol

31. Tell them Simple…they are acting as though Mia is some 20 something year old young girl in her prime like my last daughter…we all had our fun, some more than others, but Mia is a full grown mid age, mature to life female and should be respected as such.

When women reach a certain age of maturity, most women tend to respect their bodies, even if men don’t respect their own…Carrington the senior citizen abuser is way out of line.

32. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ NothernObserver…Thank you for your Comments, we have Very Few Choices in front of us…

The Choice of the D’s is UNTHINKABLE, we would not recover for another 60 years.

The Choice of the B’s will in Inevitably lead to the IMF because our Debt is a 150 % of the GDP…The Only Solution they can Impose is a DEVALUATION which will bring Untold Hardship for Everyone, for at least 15-20 years.

Solutions Barbados is Offering the ONLY Plan that Does NOT Lead to the IMF.

How Long did it take America to turn around under President Trump?

IT CAN BE DONE…IT JUST REQUIRES THE RIGHT THINKING THAT SUITS BARBADOS.

Of all the Choices that are before us Solutions Barbados is by FAR the Better Choice

Enjoy your Election Day and Remember to Choose Wisely.

https://timeonhands.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/thomas-jefferson-public-debt-is-the-greatest-of-the-dangers.jpg

33. @ Well Well and Simple Simon de two ah wunna need counseling. lol

34. @Well, Well May 23, 2018 7:00 PM ” if he was sure it was two female sisters.”

i should not be curious, but I am.

Was this two biological sisters, or two sisters in Christ?

Trust me and Jane Austen, a man of a certain age and certain financial stats must have a wife…and must stick to her, otherwise for sure his doggie will trip him up.

Ask Sampson the strongest man

Ask Solomon the wisest man.

Ask John Prufumo

Ask John Kennedy

Ask Bill Clinton

35. Where is Freundel’s wife?

36. Been worshipping in Anglican churches for near 70 years, from St. Lucy to Christ Church and St. Phillip.

Never saw Michael there.

Never saw Freundel there

Saw Mia there a lot, from the time she was a little Sunday School girl in shoes and socks and ribbons.

Good girl.

Good woman.

37. lol..let them call us crazy…we already pass the worse.

38. [wpvideo KXZ0q0Iu]

39. Where is Enuff to explain, this is so wrong on so many levels and this is not the first accusation of elder abuse attributed to Payne et al..

Enuff had nuff tuff talk for me this morning, but yall are going to get cut off at the knees….all of you…

you do not abuse senior citizens

you do not steal from senior citizens

you do not drag senior citizens through the Supreme Court to destroy them, they have rights and protections from human rights abuses the day they reach 60 years old.

you do not forge the wills, conveyances or any other legal document belonging to senior citizens…and rob them..

lawyers who do this need to be made a worldwide example of, they have been doing it for too long…and getting away with it….but no more..

ah go tell all alyuh victims what to do with alyuh

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole man posted this on one of the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch ‘s blogs earlier but, GIVEN THE ATTENTION SPAN OF BAJANS, de blog is dead within the usual attention defecit disorder period of our sheeples

So de ole man going post it here again hoping tat, among other things, it will show how outdated our mechanisms and governance processes are

41. They know who to do that wicked shit to, they cannot do that to everyone, cause there will be now where to hide since the island is surrounding by nothing but water, meaning there are no forests, so they can all be found.

This is where the bar association, the land registry and the Supreme Court will be implicated in fraud.

Including the two governments who have condoned this level of criminality and fraud in all their politicians and government ministers for the last 52 years, condoned judicial corruption….condoned crimes against abuse of the elderly.

..this is called Karma making her presence known on the eve of election.

42. They have all condoned crimes against AND abuse of the elderly.

This is not going away, I will see to it.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Freedom
    drawing an analogy between the state of the US economy and Barbados will get you nowhere.

Using the IMF as a scare tactic is inappropriate. You know SB will not get a majority so whether your pie-in-sky plans would have worked or led to the IMF will be unknown.

Your plan is as financially unworkable, as those offered by the current MoF. You needed to offered tweeks, not cut down and replant. You just need to balance.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

De Ole Man hath been chomping at the bait for some months now waiting for the right opportunity to ask a few questions of you

I, whom am known as an accomplished internet teif, do here and now verily rely on another such teifed excerpt to provide the central topic for said questions

“Election silence, pre-election silence, electoral silence, or campaign silence is a ban on political campaigning prior to a …general election…”

De ole man would have inserted one of my Stoopid Cartoons here to emphasize the point that electronis warfare cannot be stopped but because of my respect for you (it has in the RH bad word albeit an acronym) I did not add it

Your other article about obstructing (the police) set the context as it related to

(1) virtual advertising which the internet affords for such meaningless campaign ads as the Stoopid Cartoons

And

(2) SMS texts that can originate anywhere in the world, sent to every DIGICEL and Lime phone tomorrow AND AGAINST WHICH THERE IS NO DEFEAT MECHANISM

BARRING, OF COURSE, THE INTERNET BLOCKAGE THAT THE DLP WILL BE EMPLOYING TOMORROW

But back to my two part question

Is there any law which debars internet campaigning which our archaic laws can legally employ heheheheh and, the second question is, given the virtual nature and “originations” of this intangible phenomenon, do you think that any current or future administration can legislate electioneering silence for the internet?

I do beg thine indulgence for one more query notwithstanding only asking for two

Who would be prosecuted for this hypothetical virtual crime if say Party A, knowing that virtual dissemination of electioneering materials is a crime after 12 pm, continued to disseminate material that is Party B’s with the intention to incriminate party B?

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

46. Piece..have you noticed how scarce yardfowls are today, they will all be too busy biting their nails tomorrow, they will have no time for the internet, except to peep now and again to see what else they are getting exposed about.

I got a bottle of Wray and Nephew Jamaica rum creme and a bottle of Ponche Kuba just for the theatre tomorrow, I will probably fall asleep early, but that is ok…they can’t sleep, but I will..lol

47. Hopefully after all of this is exposed and someone pays a very heavy price for elder abuse and fraud, we do not see anymore senior citizens who are 60 years and over, disabled or injured or sick being dragged through the supreme courts by stinking lawyers and insurance companies….their human rights dictate that all legal matters regarding these elderly and vulnerable persons, be expedited, not dragged from year to year by savage people who lack empathy for anyone.

….my bet is all of them will have to pay, lawyers, land registry, supreme court, bar association…all of them, this will be a major and long lasting embarrassment, for years to come.

48. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Is there any law which debars internet campaigning which our archaic laws can legally employ heheheheh and, the second question is, given the virtual nature and “originations” of this intangible phenomenon, do you think that any current or future administration can legislate electioneering silence for the internet?

@ Piece, I bet you thought that I would not have replied (heheheheh).

Certainly when the law was legislated, the internet as a means of mass communication was not yet around.Indeed, most of the offenses are of a physical nature, for example-

Voting more than once in the same constituency or in more than one constituency

Supplying or wearing apparel bearing a political slogan, photograph or image advertising any candidate or party

Tampering with nomination or ballot papers

Selling intoxicating liquor during the hours of the poll

Using, wearing or supplying any public address apparatus, loud-speakers, bunting, ensign, banner, standard/set of colours/flag as political propaganda on polling day

Hiring or using a band of music on polling day

Congregating within 100 yards of any polling station

Influencing any elector to vote for any candidate on any public road within 100 yards of any polling station during the hours of the poll

Seeking to ascertain what candidate any elector has voted for

Making or publishing any false statement in relation to the personal character or conduct of a candidate

Thus unless the relevant law may be infringed through the use of the internet and is capable of detection, there can be np offense committed.

49. Piece

You have raised some good questions , nobody other than you have raised these scenarios.

Certainly there will have to be some consideration given to electronic campaigning ONLY to address it FOR POLLING DAY. For the 24hrs of polling day, the internet/ browsers will have to engage their censorship and filter mechanisms to disallow all electronic campaigning. At this eleventh hour, highly unlikely unless censorship will be engage unknown to the general public.

On your last query..
    …”Who would be prosecuted for this hypothetical virtual crime if say Party A, knowing that virtual dissemination of electioneering materials is a crime after 12 pm, continued to disseminate material that is Party B’s with the intention to incriminate party B?

You know that anything electronically exported can be had even from levels deep in the intelligence ocean. Remember Hillary’s server and the email/drafts/ password system of communications among the coverts.

Legislation is a must going forward.

50. @ Jeff,

So there is no law to stop the political parties from campaigning on the internet until the polls close tomorrow.

Unless the websites are suspended the campaign videos can be accessed,