The cut and thrust of the 2018 Barbados Election campaign has tossed up many issues which confirm the political party that wins the election will have to hit the ground running to rescue and restore the country to the pedestal it once occupied in the region and the world.

There is one issue which has not received the airplay it deserves in the opinion of the blogmaster.

On more than one occasion the leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – delivering on the 2018 election campaign platform – hinted at the fact should her party win the government, there will be an effort made to hold certain actors involved in the CLICO mess accountable. The blogmaster is aware promises made in the heat of a political campaign must be taken with some salt. However, given the black eye the CLICO collapse has given to Barbados, AND, the potential it poses to continue to deliver given its impact across the region, the blogmaster will continue to invite discussion on the matter in future blogs.

What the CLICO debacle exposed was that there was a catastrophic failure of the regulatory system- of which the political class and other key actors were complicit- to more efficiently manage the downside risk of the local insurance sector. An IMF report leaked in December 2017 identified the systemic risk posed by Sagicor – the dominant insurance player in the region – and the challenge posed to the local regulator (Financial Services Commission (FSC)) to effectively regulate given the complexity of Sagicor’s business model.

The IMF report found that the FSC, which was established in 2011 and is assumed to be the group supervisor of Sagicor, has neither developed, not implemented group-wide supervision processes and practices since its establishment.

It should be noted that to its credit the FSC was responsible for commissioning the report.

What has intrigued the blogmaster is the recent announcement that Sagicor acquired Harmony General insurance company. Harmony General was a small player in the sector, however, if the size and complexity of Sagicor was identified before the acquisition as a source of concern in the IMF report- the acquisition will serve to add a few more questions.

The blogmaster has no interest in the sale directly, it is more a quiet concern about how the sector is being regulated to militate against a recurrence of a CLICO.  The NEW leadership of Barbados must demonstrate firm leadership to implement learnings arising from the collapse of CLICO. We must punish those who failed to honour fiduciary responsibilities.  In this regard we have taken careful note of the lead role being played by Leslie Haynes Q.C. in BLP affairs. You may recall Haynes was very close to Leroy Parris and CLICO before its demise.

The blogmaster has also observed – lost in the din of the 2018 general election – general insurance companies have been disclosing end of year financial statements as required by law. A perusal of ALL of the finacials published so far list companies under financial stress. What is not clear to the blogmaster is how a sector that is under ‘financial pressure’ has not seen the urgency to significantly raise premiums to bolster the profit and loss. What is the blogmaster missing?

It is the expectation of sensible Barbadians the incoming government will demonstrate the leadership required to make available adequate resources to the FSC to do its job effectively. The other expectation is that players responsible for the CLICO collapse will do the ‘time’.

See the Financials of CGI, Brydens and Sagicor General insurance companies:-

135 responses to “Mia Promises Jail time to CLICO Offenders”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“In this regard we have taken careful note of the lead role being played by Leslie Haynes Q.C. in BLP affairs. You may recall Haynes was very close to Leroy Parris and CLICO before its demise.”

It’s very difficult to take Mia seriously with this when Haynes was not only on the board of Clico, was their lawyer, but is also being sued for the destruction of many lives in the Clico scam.in some 128 million dollar lawsuit..and is Mia’s lawyer for her defamation lawsuits, while being a member of BLP, and attorney for all CGI Insurance/ Peter Harris’ personal injury lawsuits……whose newspaper barbadostoday, Mia sued….it will be fair for the voters to think that they are indeed being taken for fools…by BLP.

AND… Haynes.is reportedly now some chairman of the electoral and boundaries….in this very election in 2 days, as usual delaying cases in the supreme court with all that conflict in his life…..how can anyone take what Mia says seriously with all these destructive conflicts of interest involved…between her and Haynes, that none of them, as attorneys, see anything wrong with..

She not only has the proof to lock up the clico crooks and question ex government officials and those heads from the former insurance regulators still on paid leave at taxpayer’s expense, but she also has the auditor general’s report to investigate and arrest all those exgovernment ministers and current civil servants responsible for the billion or more dollars missing from the treasury and pension fund.

We will know what she is made of, if she is elected.

2. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

But Leroy Parris is BLP! How can he go to jail?

3. Hamilton Hill Avatar

One can only hope that she does remain committed to her promise. I am hoping that there is truth in the adage that Hell hath no furry like a woman scorned. The misguided and pathetically disrespectful theme chosen by the Democratic Labour Party to kick off their campaign should give her the impetus to look even further than CLICO. She could write her name on history’s page by going after the most brazen bunch of bandits this country has ever known.

4. lol….make it much more difficult why dont ya…

that is the tangled web of decades of conflicts of interest they are ALL now trapped in.

5. Hamilton Hill Avatar

For four and a half years they chose to diss you. In desperation they now are attempting to deceive you. So yea Barbadians….DO D THING.
    DISMISS what is by far and away the most incompetence group that ever was elected. Decimate Dem!

6. Those who here act as supplicant to the emergent religion should have insisted on a right to recall.

A right unencumbered by any official, governor general and all.

But to expect this BLP or the DLP to cut off its right hand with its right hand should be assigned to the category of known lies.

Rotten eggs should have soiled the red!

In the first place a legal limitation on prosecution may well be effective.

Secondly, any such prosecution of people like Parris et al would directly lead to an examination of the role of David and Mara Thompson and maybe the DLP more generally.

Even the money flows to the BLP itself, from CLICO.

Only a fool would even narrowly expect MAM and a BLP ruling party to initiate any judicial procedure which is likely to trespass anywhere near the family of own god daughter.

Bajans toooo foolish!

Certainly, when such bold political sophistry emits from the shithole of belligerents it should be accompanied with a call for a right to recall as a precondition.

Maybe, those who are still apt to take these kinds of political promises seriously should also ask for justice for Mark Stokes or Pele Parris or the cane field murders yet unsolved.

Indeed, if the treasury is as bare as it is, MAM should sell the Brooklyn Bridge to the buyers of this craven political shiiiiite..

These are the lies of desperation from a party and political leader who should have been winning easily, but because of here own political ineptitude, finds herself in a close race with a DLP which has brought a new level of fecklessness to public affairs.

7. Hamilton Hill Avatar

It was right here on the Underground that I referred to Owen Arthur as a wicked and spiteful old man driven by hate.I referenced the saying that hate is like an acid, for it damages the object on which it is poured as well as the vessel in which it is stored. Owners Arthur in his hate driven quest to facilitate some “bombshell ” may well have done irreparable damage to his legacy….I hope to God that they are all taken to the cleaners.

8. And lastly, there have been at least two DPPs over recent years.

In this system the politicians have no authority to decide who is to be prosecuted or not.

It rests entirely with the DPP

The Constitution gives that office an absolute responsibility in determining who is to be prosecuted or not.

This statement from MAM amounts to the kind of political interference within the administration of justice which the DLP and FJS have been recently cited for, in connection with the CCJ, covered here with overt political bias by people who should know better.

But this kind of political interference with justice, as promised by MAM, is somehow more welcomed. As though it is not a more fundamental intrusion than that promised by FJS in relation to the CCJ.

9. @Pacha

Yours is a limited interpretation. There is the opportunity to make information accessible. As a people we have to advocate and live in the hope that a citizen will rise up. For example, there is a high expectation of Brother Comissiong to prosecute these kinds of matters.

10. Where was David Comissiong?

Does he not see this political interference with judicial process more threatening to ‘just-us’ than the CCJ matter, as promised by FJS?

This overt interference threatens the Constitution, It threatens the rights of 99.99% of Bajans. All the Bajans, not elites capable of employing expensive lawyers and refer matters to the CCJ, average Bajans are threatened.

Where is Comissiong’s irrighteous indignation?

Such are the contradictions once one attempts to straddle social activism with craven political motives.

The views and political machinations of MAM and those of Comissiong are now indistinguishable.

A conjoining of elite forces.

11. @Pacha

You must have observed the substance of the blog is anchored in the need for there to be enhanced surveillance of the insurance sector?

12. David

You are still talking like a political supplicant. And we emphasize ‘cant’.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service May 23, 2018 6:15 AM
    “In this regard we have taken careful note of the lead role being played by Leslie Haynes Q.C. in BLP affairs. You may recall Haynes was very close to Leroy Parris and CLICO before its demise.”
    It’s very difficult to take Mia seriously with this when Haynes was not only on the board of Clico, was their lawyer, but is also being sued for the destruction of many lives in the Clico scam.in some 128 million dollar lawsuit..and is Mia’s lawyer for her defamation…”

Well observed, Well, Well!
    That move to appoint Haynes to the EBC board to replace Billie was a most stupid move.
    It can only provide grist to the mill which the likes of SSS love to grind.

What makes Haynes more qualified in Constitutional matters than the many other lawyers associated with the BLP and much steeper in knowledge of electoral matters?

How can she seek to bring charges against Greenverbs when the same leper has the likes of Haynes in his back pocket in more ways than just financial?

Greenverbs is so well connected that the only thing Mia can do to him at this stage of the game is to seek to recover the taxes due on that $3.3 million heist from the CLICO policyholders.

We shall if Mia would tempt fate and fly in the face of that bitch Karma.

Her refusal to do the right thing and recover some of the millions bilked from the taxpayers would result in the sealing of her fate in less than 2 years.

The ball is in your court, Queen Mia!
    “Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?”

Who will guard the guards? Well, well, only Lady Karma!

14. A new BLP government cannot jail anyone, only courts of law can do that. What a new government can, and should, do is put in place a proper regulatory system and new laws for the insurance sector and at the same time carry out a proper review of the Mutual and Clico, not with the view to prosecute anyone, but to learn lessons for the future.
    Any such review should look at the actuarial and legacy issues surrounding the Mutual, and ignore the politics led by Beckles which dominated the issue. It should also look at the so-called judicial management review and re-set that grossly incompetent experience.

15. If Husbands is telling the truth, which Massey emphatically denies it’s own involvement, since this is the nastiness that political corruption and campaign financing from businesses brings throughout the cycle of any government….just ask Parris and DLP what happened when he put 10 million of policyholders dollars in the 2008 election, or so Thompson said and then Thompson claimed he paid it back to Clico , so I wonder who is funding DLP campaign for 2018, hope it’s not the suffering taxpayers….that would be a definite double loss.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/22/no-right-in-this/

“If you are using your supermarket to distribute T-shirts for a political party, distribute T-shirts for all the political parties. They should have yellow shirts distributing in there. UPP should be distributing in there, you should got [independent candidate] Natalie shirts in there. I am saying tonight to Massy if you choose a side and you lose, there are consequences. You have no right in this,” he warned.

However, in a statement this evening in response to Husbands, the management of Massy Stores said it wished to “categorically state that it has not given any political party or affiliate permission to distribute any political paraphernalia within or on our premises.

“While we are aware of a related incident involving one of our tenants who sought to engage in this activity within one of our stores, this action was subsequently averted by the management of the store.

“We wish to reiterate that Massy is not affiliated to any political organization nor has it been engaged in the distribution of any political paraphernalia,” Massy said in its brief, three paragraph clear-the-air statement on the matter.”

16. Mia will soon run out of promises. A promise is a contract with a fool.

17. Miller…they do not yet realize that there are people on the island and off the island who know what they are tying to pull…Haynes is not anyone you want around this election or in the Supreme Court for the matter, too much conflict and of course none of it will end well, not in this current era.

As dizzy as Billie the goat is, she has been quiet for a long period and though a diehard BLP would have been the more sensible choice.

As things stand Mia is tempting fate, because she is totally unaware of certain events that were put in motion 6 years ago, of which none of them have any control and will cause them all to be severed at the knees over. time..

18. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

The FSC is understaffed and has a disparate range of financial institutions to supervise. I am a bit surprised that the staff from the Insurance Supervision Dept was not transferred to it.

19. It is not surprising most of the comments so far fail to make contact with the substance issue, preferring to be lured to the headline deliberately designed to pull readership about a governance issue which is usually ignored.

20. Thank you Bernard, there is hope!

21. My fellow Barbadians citizens who are members of the gay community, the day of liberation is hours away.
    We now have a real chance to finally bring this country in line with the rest of the world, by supporting and voting for the Barbados Labour Party.
    For years we have been struggling to have issues in our gay community addressed in a meaningful way, but to no avail.
    Peter Wickham has been out front in leading the battle over the airwaves, and his efforts are about to bear fruit.
    We must bring to an end this stranglehold the christian people have on Barbados; we must turn their religion on its head.
    Our time is now, and we must be vigilant.
    By supporting and voting for Mia Mottley and her BLP, we will be actually voting for our full rights and freedoms to love and marry whomever we desire.
    Of course, there are a number of our gay admirers and supporters that comprise the top level of the BLP organisation, so our battle in society is about to be won.
    This is our time now comrades, let us unite and give the Barbados Labour Party our vote.
    Thank You!
    Sincerely,
    Ethel Layne
    A proud member of LGBT International

22. That type of thinking could only be the product emanating from the mind of a fool.

We are one day before a critical election, elections

One antagonist has made a promise vastly more illegal, more irrational than another.

A CCJ promise which was troubling to most but far less profane.

And somehow we must suspend critical thinking and point to bureaucratic bullshiite instead.

23. More Election tomfoolery or is that Mia tomfoolery, first Freundel threatens to withdraw from the CCJ and PC without a Plan B, now the BLP electoral equivalent of a slam dunk. One remembers Thompson promising Forensic audits to discover the roots of malfeasance, defalcation and outright fraud.

We are still waiting.

24. There is no sense in itemizing how the process from investigation to arrests and convictions work re Clico thieves or exgovernent minister’s corruption and thefts works…Mia’s attorney general will be tasked with that job and a DPP/police commissioner, if they are so inclined…

public enquiries are the love of governments and lawyers, they get to suck millions of taxpayer’s dollars without reaching any solution, conclusion or having any answers or prosecuting anyone for theft…and they get to do all of that for an extended period of time, 10 years later an enquiry could still be ongoing, with taxpayers hundreds of millions of dollars power…so that is just another useless suggestion.

How many years was the government created Alexandria affair ongoing, how much was charged by the thieves overseeing it…was it $600,000 dollars, was the money paid.

Even more useless is insurance executives not paying for the crimes of raping policyholders, or government ministers and their friends not paying for raping the treasury or pension fund, which gives the same crooks and thieves incentive to do it all over again and actually helps new crooks and thieves and their friends and business partners in the political arena…to find inventive and creative ways to get away with those crimes all over again..

There is something called CRIME & PUNISHMENT..and it is not only for the poor while allowing politicians, lawyers and their criminal leper friends and business partners to get off scott free every time..

25. It is critical thinking to be led by the narrative emanating from the political class?

26. Wondered when the G-card would have been pulled. Saw Michael Carrington made the play last night. Let us see who is punished with laughter.

27. Has anyone here considered that Fumble is the smart one amongst us? On lead up to the last election, the DLP produced a manifesto that was as empty of content as the cranium of the MoF. So sure were they that the election would be lost that when Fumble was asked to comment after midnight, he mumbled some nothing statement while appearing like a deer in the headlights. He was as surprised as Wickham that the DLP had won and therefore had no plan or victory speech for the country. This has been evident for the past five years.

We now come to the present. Again expecting to lose after five miserable years of governance, the intent is to lose the election with a flourish. He let Parliament expire without announcing a nomination or election date; set an election date only when forced to do so; not giving the party enough time to canvass; distribution of posters and flyers at the last minute, printing and distribution of visionless party manifesto at the last minute; allowing the manifesto to be leaked to the opposition; poorly organized and mounted public meetings; deliberate attack on the CCJ. Now you can begin to see how smart Fumble is. At age 67, he is a burnt out shell of the burnt out shell that he was, has no plan for the country and wants no part in ruining the country further. All he wants to do and is capable of doing now is to retire quietly and spend his easily earned ministerial, Prime Ministerial and NIS (if any money is left there) pension money and any other monies that may have been left for him in his mother’s will.

A fool can see that he wants to lose the election (again) and to leave his and the DLP mess for someone else to clean up.

To those of you who hate Barbados so spitefully that you would vote DLP again, please consider this – vote BLP now and do so for the next ten years (the length of time it will take the BLP to return the country to buoyancy and to refill the Treasury) and then you can vote DLP again for another ten years of destruction and pillage without violence.

28. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/160039/trevor-prescod-facing-challenges-head

” The above is a paid political broadcast sponsored by the Barbados Labour Party. The views and opinions expressed in this broadcast are those of the speakers and do not necessarily reflect or represent the views and opinions of the Nation.”

The Bees paying their way to victory.

29. My daughter just told me she saw online where Michael Carrington is asking when Mia will admit to the public she is gay…well who told him to do that….I understand bajans asked him point blank, when will he admit to the public that he is a thief…lol

I have to give the people credit, bajans have come a very long way, in the last 10 years and particularly in the last.. lol..

hopefully now he will stay out of Mia’s bedroom business unless she bites him.

30. Guess who wrote that.

“Baby it’s ok to be scared but it’s more important to be who you are,” she wrote. “ You are who you are, and as hard as it may seem, the best s**t ever is freedom and peace with yourself. Your family may not understand, but luckily you live in a generation that does!! And not to mention the community here amongst us, we will hold you down boo!!”

31. @ David,

Bajans will not punish MIA at the polls because of what is nothing more than a rumor.

No photo. No video. No proof.

32. ethel layne May 23, 2018 9:03 AM

We must bring to an end this stranglehold the christian people have on Barbados; we must turn their religion on its head(Quote)

What has being a Christian got to do with homosexual rights? Would a secular society, or any other religious group be more tolerant?

33. Carrington should be more concerned with asking the MoE if he is a lesbian.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

“What is the blogmaster missing?”
    Insurance companies are seeking ‘homegrown solutions’. They are not RE-insuring to adequate levels, hoping this will boost their profits. I note for example Sagicor General took a big hit, attributable to hurricane damage elsewhere, and their top employee is now elsewhere.

35. @Norther Observer

Forgive any ignorance, does the FSC have a role to play regarding the reinsurance levels that should be maintained by local insurance companies? In the case of Sagicor is has an AM Best rating, this is an indicator that would be reviewed to maintain accreditation?

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

I do not know.
    I would presume that regulations governing General Insurance and Life Insurance/Financial Instruments are different.
    In the cases cited one is dealing with General Insurance.

37. Insurance regulation is an umbrella, which has nothing broadly to do with life or general insurance, apart from the basics of treating customers fairly, provisions for liabilities and the appointment of senior executives, the influential persons regime.
    Re-insurance is a board/executive decision which is of interest to the regulators only in terms of knowing how the company is managed (it is an indicator of being responsible) and of its liability provisions. Sagicor’s problem appears to have been bad liability provision, the once in 200 years event.
    To paraphrase Tony Blair, the problem with insurance in Barbados, is regulation, regulation, regulation.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin

It would appear as if de ole man got a lot of time pun he hands while in this departure lounge to spend my time explaining tings dat I ent know nuffing about

Look carefully at the Ethyl Layne article

Look at the salutation

“My fellow Barbadians”

Look at the writing style and at other salutations here on BU

A gay person PARTICULARLY A WOMAN would not use that male chauvinist word “fellow”

You need to understand the psychology that pattern the speech of people and why then how we say what we say

Fumbles is a small man who uses big words because it gives him a feeling of accomplishment

This article has been falsified and submitted here by a political party

It is a puerile attempt to sway people to reject the BLP because they must be seen as “others” in their sexual orientation

Now had the writer ONLY SPOKEN TO their “gayness” the message if crafted by a wiser man, would have had a modicum of impact, NOT SEISMIC, but a likkle heheh

But here is where the infantile and amateurish psychology enters the reasoning

He adds the “christian” community to the reasoning

Now let the ole man expand on this infantile juxtaposition

So he has balled up Peter Wickham in his assault right

Then he says that the gays and lesbians are going to be marrying everyone right

But because he is trying to appeal to the christians because he believed that bajans are mostly christians, he tries to append this group to the emotive argument

But he does not know how to do this

So he now incredulously insults the very group he wishes to seduce…

Pure simplistic childlike reasoning WHICH, GOD FORBID, WILL NEVER MAKE IT TO THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item

40. Any body who needs jail time is the blp gang of which Mia was a minister for allowing 187 million dollars of taxpayers monies to be handed over to friends and croonies.
    Hypocrisy of all hypocrisy for anyone in the blp party to be talking about sending people to jail
    Maybe all of them should first take a look in the mirror and see who is looking back

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

I believe HA is correct, in the umbrella nature of insurance. A quick scan of the Insurance Act at the FSC website, does break out specific types, but they seem to have similar requirements.
    I expect the Blogmaster’s friend Mr WB is likely best to offer comment.

42. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

I am a supporter of the rights of LGBT persons in Canada where I live.

Bajans living in Barbados can support whomever they choose but their tolerance for cheating, horning,

outside women and men should make them tolerant of members of the LGBT community.

Politically I would rather support a buller or wicker than a thief .That is why I am voting for Kathleen Wynne.

I gine an listen to Glennis Grace. Smokin hot and a voice like honey.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Politically I would rather support a buller or wicker than a thief .That is why I am voting for Kathleen Wynne.”
    Interesting from you. While I have nothing against Ms Wynne, her predecessor was a thief. And unraveling his actions has been a handful. We haven’t seen the last of that gas plant fiasco or the Green energy program.

44. @ NorthernObserver,

Not much of a choice. Could never vote for Doug Ford and the NDP having challenges.

45. @ NorthernObserver,

If I were living in Barbados in MIA’s constituency I would vote for her.

46. I know Lawson will also be voting for Kathleen Wynne, that is a no-brainer.

47. Give Todd the Nod Hants.

48. Back to Bajan politics. The BLP has been running a powerful expensive campaign.

They have been using mass media effectively including some very good ads on VOB.

The DLP seem to be cruising.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

You said and i quote

“These are the lies of desperation from a party and political leader who should have been winning easily, but because of here own political ineptitude, finds herself in a close race with a DLP which has brought a new level of fecklessness to public affairs…”

The first issue here is that Prime Minister Mottley saying “she will hold people accountable” is not the same as the sensationalist “Jail Time” headline article that the Honourable Blogmaster has affixed to this blog

De grandson made a Stoopid Cartoon recently along the same vein and ever promised to repeal many of the ingrunt DLP laws and taxes so we done know what the effect anticipated by the psychographics should be for an electorate with a 10 second attention span

But back to your statement

De ole man shall try to give a framework of reference for other readers, not for you, cause i dun know you already know this

The facts are that the “material” that exists in the BLP that Prime Minister Mottley has to deal with are ….

I ent going elaborate now on that aspect of things cause it is imperative that every DLP candidate looses their seat. FULLSTOP

I too queried the nature of the campaign and the fact that it avoided the “jugular” of the most incompetent government we have ever had

Why?

Is it that there are skeletons in the closet? External issues of which the DLP is cognisant

Or is it a matter of “internal politics”? Internal to the BLP and which present an immediate threat?

There was enough material to obliterate the DLP yet it seems to have been kept in abeyance and not released

Which would suggest one thing Pachamama

The Title to this article IS TRUE