George Pilgrim, General Secretary, DLP

Dear Editor:

It has become quite apparent that the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), under the leadership of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, is disillusioned. The DLP no longer has the moral compass to look itself in the mirror and project an image of progress and prosperity for the Barbados nation. Notwithstanding that the DLP has been churning from one crisis to another without the successful relief one would hope for, it is painful to grasp the numerous ways in which Barbadians are being taken for granted, ignored, and in a myriad of ways they are being disrespected.

Indeed, there must be an apology forthcoming to Gercine Carter of the Nation Newspaper. In addition, Leroy McClean, the St. John electorate, and Barbados as a nation ought to be given both explanation and apology regarding Mara Thompson’s clandestine exit from the political arena. While the ‘childless women’ across Barbados, and the thousands of disappointed constituents may find relief in having the opportunity to elect a parliamentary representative who understands the importance of service and putting the people first, it is regrettable that ‘Mara’ would depart from political life (though unimpressive) through the back door.

Equally disheartening is that the leadership of the DLP would remain silent while the General Secretary of this beleaguered party allows himself to be introduced as the likely successor although it became public knowledge that Dr. Leroy McClean wrote to the party machinery indicating his interest in carrying the banner for the DLP. Perhaps, Senator Andre Worrell must be wondering how many more ridiculous defences must he put to be considered in the eyes of the ‘Elders’ or whomsoever has the say within the DLP for undemocratically selecting candidates.

There must be a contradiction that the DLP would resort to perceived sneakiness and stealth, either to keep out Dr. McClean or Senator Worrell. Why introduce or endorse George Pilgrim, as opposed to allowing the democratic way to prevail?

Nonetheless, Charles Griffith of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is homegrown (Edgecliff). Charles Griffith is selfless in his interactions with the youth and persons from all walks of life across St. John. Mr. Griffith will not refuse to defend the hardworking St. John People. Despite many constituents in St. John have over the years settled into the thinking that the DLP will no longer make them sacrificial lambs, the last eight years have cemented the idea that change is necessary. Charles Griffith will not depart from his humble moorings of working alongside the people of St. John. St. John needs a new light and a caring representative because the DLP has become darkened by perceptions of ruse and deception. Mara Thompson has decided to run for cover.

George C. Brathwaite (PhD)

112 responses to “Mara Thompson’s Clandestine Exit from St. John”

1. Will Leroy clean Pilgrim’s political house or will George send him on a pilgrimage?

2. The BU household will put our collective hands up high to say that we thought Mara would have pursued the path of calling out for transparency in government a key tenet her husband ran his platform in 2007/8. When the CLICO affair dismantled his legacy to the point Combermerians now disown him her political stock rapidly and dissipated, nothing to do with her stiff and sterile parliamentary contributions.

3. Mara? When the estate of her late husband was acquired by anything but what you are calling for or were hoping for?

4. Is Mara the beneficiary of her husband’s estate valued at some say $39 million.And how many pensions she is going to be getting from the treasury of Barbados.And is she relocating to St Lucia with all her loot?The good people of St. John were used and abused by the DLP since 1958.Seasoned and well educated old Lodge boys would admit openly that St John is the least developed parish of Barbados followed by St Lucy.Mara ran from Mapps and went to live in a Clico conceived project in St Thomas because she said she could not put up with the riffraff of St John knocking on her door, literally 24/7.

5. BU now sides with the view that a safe seat like St. John should be given t a solid candidate.

6. George Pilgrim? Fa real? Don’t get me wrong……I love it cause this certified clown is guaranteed to lost what was considered to be a safe seat. That said ,this question readily comes to mind. If Owen Arthur is correct in his deduction that the Barbados Labour Party has lost its soul, exactly what is it that Freundel ‘s Dems have lost? …..then again, how does one lost what one never did possessed?

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Who are these Combermerians that now disown David Thompson. He was a Combermerian that can never change. Was he perfect? He was not but that has never been a requirement to be a Combermerian. If that were the case, I would have to return my tie. He made mistakes and he could have done some things differently but that is not enough for me to disown him. He was a Combermerian and also my friend. I don’t require my friends to be perfect either. I will not seek to judge him now. That is not my role.

8. @david, 10:01

who is more solid in your mind?

Pilgrim? McClean? Worrell? a Newcomer??

To sideline McClean a 3rd time in favor of a 2 time losing candidate may be just too much to hold a nose and swallow.

Methinks the Dems are now officially in danger of a significant loss.

Just Observing

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ observing

The most solid person in the configuration is Dr Leroy McClean

He is undoubtedly the most competent of the three and represents one of the few DLP who has the gravitas to stand in Parliament

He is a highly qualified scientist and a humble man.

He is the type of skilled trained professional that would be a credit to the BLP administration when the BLP wins.

He is a patriot

Unfortunately he, like Rodney Grant have chosen the losing side and Bajans going vote de DLP to RH out so….dem ent going win.

Now as to the second fellow Pigrim.

Steupseee…

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The substantive article seems to query why Mara Thompson would seek to slink away in the night as a prelude to her emigration

De woman is not an idiot.

She has been part of the Failed DLP administration and knows first hand how she had to dodge the electorate while she was part of their administration.

She dun been hearing from disgruntled voters how the Democratic Labour Party is going lost Barrow seat and get cat spraddle.

The author of this BLP article seems to be “trying a ting” to gauge public sentiment around Mar here on BU

Say what you will about her singularly bland representation as MP and Speaker or Deputy in the House, one thing dat peeple can’t say about her is dat she sleeping bout wid De menses dem or dat she does shout bout “yuh muddah badword” or pull gun pun a feller…under executive privilege

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster exactly how does it work well when the fox is the guard of the hen house!

Pray tell therefore how you coukd have expected “…Mara would have pursued the path of calling out for transparency in government” when it was her beloved spouse whose “legacy” was dismantled by the grave corrupt practices of the CLICO mess.

This “Combermerians now disown him” must be seen in context. Kolig boys from way back and now girls dont disown a fella. Dem didnt disown a CJ, PM et al embroiled in homicidal and homosexual scandal; nor did Queens alumni disown a vaginal monoloogue style scandal biting old girl…. and I could go on, and on.

So according to those from Waterford I know Caswell is right…..BUT only just however.

If he is honest he would attest that there can’t be mere scant coincidence between the deplorable circumstances surrounding that institution related to the plant, staff issues, PTA and too most telling the Old Scholars and his old friend’s dismantled legacy.

But heh…we all have great memories of school dazes and friendship there formed so why tarnish them with reality!

12. If Verla Depeza could not break through in Ch Ch west in 2013 against the unknown Maria Agard, how does she climb this mountain of inefficiency that is the identity of her party, to challenge a person so well entrenched that he was warmly embraced, even after an abrupt resignation a few years ago? Are you telling the nation that George Pilgrim is more of an asset than Verla Depeza? Don’t answer that…….cause after all Freundel Stuart is mentioned in the same conversation as EWB and JMGM.

13. The dlp will likely lose the government in the upcoming general elections and as st. John is said to be a secure seat for the dlp they should look for some one who can represent the party in the event of a terrible defeat at the polls. I believe that verla depeiza is a promising rising star among the dlp and she would be a good candidate for st. John

14. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Gabriel March 6, 2018 at 9:57 PM ?The good people of St. John were used and abused by the DLP since 1958…she could not put up with the riffraff of St John knocking on her door, literally 24/7″

The “good people” of St. John chose to vote against their own best interests.

MP’s should have set office hours. They do get paid, right? They spend a few hours per week in Parliament, if they are not Cabinet Ministers who have to be available at their Ministry headquarters, then MP’s should have regular daytime and evening hours during which they can meet with the pepole who elected them.

What is so hard about that?

MP’s get paid to do at least a 40 hour week right?

15. If the blp wins as expected I don’t believe it will be by a landslide. I still think the dlp has a chance to hold on if it maintains st. Philip seats like st. Philip south namely and through the Christ church constituencies . There is minimal room for error though

16. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Caswell Franklyn March 6, 2018 at 10:19 PM “I would have to return my tie.”

A Simple Response: You still have your old school tie? Seriously?

@Caswell Franklyn March 6, 2018 at 10:19 PM “I will not seek to judge him now. That is not my role.”

A Simple Response: You may choose not to judge him, but history has already begun the process of judging him. I wonder if history will be kind? Or not.

17. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@pieceuhderockyeahright March 6, 2018 at 10:55 PM “…The substantive article seems to query why Mara Thompson would seek to slink away in the night as a prelude to her emigration…one thing dat peeple can’t say about her is dat she sleeping bout wid De menses dem.”

There is no place like home sweet home. It may be that she feels the same way about her place of birth as we feel about ours.

Another thing, a woman who has been widowed for 8 years should have a man. What is this thing about trying to impose celibacy on widows?

Does anybody try to impose celibacy on widowers?

Stupsseee!!!

18. THE “PM IN WAITING” CHECKING UP ON THE FISHERMEN,

Opposition checks up on marine operators in the north.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/03/06/opposition-checks-up-on-marine-operators-in-the-north/

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Another thing, a woman who has been widowed for 8 years should have a man.”

Now I appreciate you have a few years on me….but…..this is an archaic view. She is free to do as she pleases? She doesn’t need one for financial support? Maybe she would prefer a woman? Or some man NSA (no strings attached). She is a grown lady, capable of doing as she pleases?

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Why introduce or endorse George Pilgrim, as opposed to allowing the democratic way to prevail?”

Like how the lady dentist, a winner, was allowed to democratically contest the nomination for her constituency?

21. @Caswell

Sure, be a loyal friend but it does not change the fact that Combermerians everywhere are embarrassed by the role he played in the Clico mess.

22. @Observing

Man for man McClean is by yards a better candidate but at this stage does he have the energy for Opposition politics if such were to play out?

23. Another reason why Freundel has had to encroach on the 90 day period? At the 11th hour the DLP has to prep a candidate for its flagship seat of St. John?

24. Caswell Franklyn March 6, 2018 at 10:19 PM #

Who are these Combermerians that now disown David Thompson. He was a Combermerian that can never change. Was he perfect? He was not but that has never been a requirement to be a Combermerian. If that were the case, I would have to return my tie. He made mistakes and he could have done some things differently but that is not enough for me to disown him. He was a Combermerian and also my friend. I don’t require my friends to be perfect either. I will not seek to judge him now. That is not my role.(Quote)

David Thompson was a dignified and honourable man, whose place in Barbadian political history was cut short. He deserves better than he gets in this blog and more generally in political discourse.
    My uncertainties are different: an Englishman of Guyanese heritage, with a St Lucian wife, becoming prime minister of Barbados. But that is me.
    As to Clico, I say again: that was a fault of poor regulation, mainly an administrative problem. Allegations of political interference are silly. Ethical workers will tell politicians to bugger off, or, alternatively, resign.
    More substantively, the nation is in a very bad spot: every one is agreed that the DLP government is grossly inept and should be rejected; but no other party has won voters’ confidence hands down.
    Given this, we could be heading for a hung parliament and, or, a coalition government. In the meantime, opposition parties should be flooding St John and St Lucy, the two strongest DLP seats, making sure that the electorate knows what is going on.
    For the DLP to lose those seats would inflict a deep psychological scar on them.

25. And Mara was Office Manager of Thompson & Associates? When was the cheque issued to Thompson & Associates? Why was the cheque issued? What are the names listed on the invoice? Was Sir Maurice King one of those names and did he deny delivering a service as stated on the invoice? How does this murky unethical transaction not tarnish the reputation of Thompson? Can be continued…

The $3.33 Million Cheque Issued by CLICO International Life Insurance to Thompson & Associates

thompsonparrischeque

The following was extracted from the Forensic Audit of CLICO International Life Insurance Ltd (under Judicial Management): Report as of December 5, 2011

“Included in the balance owing by CHBL is a payment for $3.333mm made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates (legal advisors to CIL and CHBL) in January 2009, pursuant to an invoice dated December 2008 purportedly for fees or retainers related to various legal matters involving CHBL. Mr. Leroy Parris, the former Chairman of CIL and CHBL authorized the invoice for payment. We have been advised that although payment was made to Thompson & Associates, it was in fact to the benefit of Mr. Parris as partial payment of a “gratuity”. We note that this transaction was not disclosed in the Minutes at that time but was discussed by the Board following the appointment to the Board of the Government representative in mid-2009.”

https://barbadosunderground.net/2014/07/02/the-3-33-million-issued-by-clico-international-life-insurance-to-thompson-associates/

26. David
    Dream on!
    It would make some political sense to have a strong opposition leader when the large defeat arrives

27. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Hal Austin’s comment at 3:49am highlights exactly what is wrong in my country. Loyalty to friends and love ones shall always supersede responsibility of office. Dignified and honorable? You do know that the late Mark Young ‘s friends hold similar views of their dearly departed,don’t you?

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ha, Ha the clown also loves to uphold the behaviors of corrupt, interfering government ministers and their tiefing criminal friends…..despicable and repulsive.

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Agreed, @Hamilton. I would only add: his views are what are wrong with practicsl life discourse generally! Thankfully Bajans dont have a unique corner on this type of hypocrisy.

As much as Mr Austin speaks of an honourable Thompson there are former mates of his who speak of his ability to be ruthless even as he was being disarmingly charming…and this from his youthful days.

Life is never some analog on or off perspective.

Those who love this man and see him as honourable will do so despite the damning evidence quoted by the blogmaster.

Those who loved the man and saw him as a flawed but charming and ambitious being can recognize his gross perfidy and accept that he ultimately failed to be a man of true honour and integrity.

30. Hamilton Hill March 7, 2018 at 7:34 AM #

David Thompson was not a personal friend of mine, but someone I respected. In any case, integrity means more to me than loyalty to a ‘friend’ or school.
    I know it is a fundamental part of Barbadian popular culture to accuse those they disagree with of corruption, dishonesty, conspiracy and other failings which could all be personalised.
    It is however more difficult for these same people to accept that there is systemic incompetence, that officials often are not trained and equipped to undertake the positions to which they have been appointed, that the rules and regulations governing many activities of the state do not work because they are flawed. To accept this is to accept hat we are not the great nation we imagine ourselves to be. ,
    First, by now there would have been probate, and probate records are public records, so the Thompson estate would have been officially detailed.
    In this case, the largely foreign-owned financial sector has been allowed to function without proper regulations or supervision.
    I do not want to repeat all the gaps in our regulation and supervision of Clico, the corporate at the centre of the defamation of Mr Thompson’s name (and before the poorly qualified book keepers and other keyboard warriors jump in, supervision is not a task for a single person, it is team work), but the entire regulatory oversight, including the so-called judicial managerial review failed beneficiaries and, in so doing, the entire nation.
    A judicial managerial review that lacked powers to subpoena witnesses, that failed to carry out a proper forensic audit of Clico, that – if it had found evidence of wrong doing – failed to pass that evidence on to the appropriate authority. And, a court-appointed judicial managerial review that asked other public bodies to undertake function and they refused.
    Even as we speak, not a single person involved ass a director of executive of Clico has been barred from being a director of a listed or limited liability company i9n Barbados. This is inexcusable.
    It is easy to smear the name of a dead man; it is easier to excuse one’s own failings by blaming criminality and corruption on the part of others; it is cheap politics and is very Barbadian. To do otherwise means thinking, but why think when you can deny the reality.
    As we speak the government has still failed to properly resolved the Clico affair; the ‘good’ insurance it is connected with, which is intended to carry out the obligations of Clico is equally flawed.
    Locking in beneficiaries and other annuitants who want to exit the company is bullying of the worst kind; if they walk away they stand to lose their benefits. That is blackmail. Yet, not a word has been said.
    I can go on, but won’t. As we sink deeper and deeper in the cesspit of our own making, we will continue to grab at straws and shout and scream that others are to blame for our own collective failure.

31. Fractured BLP Avatar

As the a female and leader of the Barbados Labour Party can direct your readers to Mia Mottley’s words of encouragement to women – in commemoration of International Women’s Day 2018 ?

And by chance if you don’t know of such a speech or there was no such speech by MAM……could you give a reason for this ?

Especially since MAM intend to aspire to the highest office in the land ?

32. I don’t know why people here should castigate Mara Thompson for her lack of representation of the electorates in St. John, the fault lies not with her, but those blithering idiots in that Parish. Just like the people of Barbados, PM Stuart and his ministers clearly demonstrated their intentions during the middle of their first term in office the people still returned them to office. Many jack ass bajans ” skin their teet” and declared ”dah is de man style.” This is the response when I asked so call intelligent people about how they feel toward a PM who is not engaging his public. With so many young energetic well educated young ladies in the Parish of St. John, if the fools wanted a woman to be their representative, why haul this block headed fool kicking and screaming? They wanted a queen…lol,

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Amazing @Hal. Simply amazing. You value integrity but can still dismiss the cheque evidence as cited above and proclaim remarks about Mr Thompson as defamatory and jealous political chat.

Amazing sophistry.

34. de pedantic Dribbler March 7, 2018 at 9:49 AM #

What has been the outcome of the probate? Why did the judicial managerial review not carry out a forensic examination of Thompson’s private assets and those of his law firm? Why did it not carry out a forensic examination of Clico and, if any wrong was suspected, pass the evidence on to the appropriate authority? Why was it not given powers to subpoena witnesses and evidence?
    I am not here saying that Mr Thompson’s involvement in Clico was right and above board, or that things were dubious; what I am saying, and I know this won’t go down well, is that all the aggressive accounting, all the inappropriate management styles, all the investment flaws, all the actuarial shifts in Clico could (and should) have been discovered by competent regulation and supervision and with a well structured and authorised inquiry. Clico failed because of poor management.
    The judicial managerial review was hocus pocus and no fit for a country that considers itself advanced and intelligent. It was nonsense, a joke, a waste of time and money.
    David Thompson was not perfect; we had different views on how best to develop Barbados. But he was always polite and well-mannered, a decent man. Are we now to throw him to the wolves because of badly trained and ill-qualified public servants, including judges out of their league, who could not do their jobs? Or because of verbal thugs and keyboard warriors squatting on a website everyday chasing off people who they dislike?
    I have said before and I repeat: a few years ago a former UK regulator, David Jackman, gave a workshop in the Caribbean; at the end of the session he was approached by a Bajan senior civil servant who asked for his assistance. David was only too glad and generously suggested s/he should talk to me.
    What he did not know was that I was in regulator contact with him/her by email for some time and s/he had been effectively lying to me all along. But I had suspected that s/he did not have a clue and was bluffing.
    As it happened, I do not think I had the necessary skills, but his/her reaction was interesting. I believe this is typical right across the Caribbean public sector.
    I have also told, and repeat, of a joint Trinidad/Barbados meeting in the City of London, when some Trinidadian permanent secretary, a Dr Joker, started preaching to the City, fund managers in the biggest financial sector in the world after New York.
    I soon realised that he was talking nonsense, and moved next to minister Billie Miller and gave her a business card and suggested I would like to talk to her(Barbados is my interest). It never happened.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler March 7, 2018 at 9:49 AM

Amazing sophistry indeed!

On the one hand he blames some imaginary lax regulatory framework with untrained personnel while on the other he fails to recognize that competent and trained people who tried their level best to enforce the law were sent on administrative leave to get them out of the way and with their reputations and careers left in tatters to provide grist for the Bajan rumour mill which he so often, and rightly so, puts down. Ms Braithwaite could testify if so required.

Why were the same alleged perpetrators involved in this act of fraud, tax evasion and money laundering politically chosen to act of chairmen on statutory boards and continue to this day to act in such a capacity?

Hal must stop blaming the system and focus his criticisms at the players especially those carrying the political power.

We can only wish he would heed his own advice encased in his own statement (“David Thompson was not a personal friend of mine, but someone I respected. In any case, integrity means more to me than loyalty to a ‘friend’ or school.”).

If Integrity ought to trump everything (friendship and all) let him ask who are the pals the PM brags about being his bosom buddies.

36. In the 1987 bye-election for the St John constituency David Thompson was seen by hundreds of Bajans holding up a piece of paper,legal size foolscap paper, declaring to the night air throughout that constituency “this document you see here in my hand is the blueprint of my plan for the development of the Parish of St John.Elect me and reap the benefits and good things I have for this beloved parish”.The rest is history.St John was known and to this day is known for 3 landmarks which are St John’s Church,Codrington College,both almost 400 years old and in our time the huge satellite dish installed by Cable and Wireless in the 1960’s.Thompson was one of the biggest purveyors of untruths Barbados ever had the misfortune to elect to Parliament.Another big,stinking lie was when he got up in Parliament and extolled the virtues of Clico and its top class management and pretended to Parliament that he had so much faith in that company that he was voting a figure of $10million to place at that company’s disposal.Court testimony however point that figure in another direction.I think it safe to conclude that Thompson is more an embarrassment to Combermere School than a product worthy of emulation.He tried to walk like Tom,talk like Tom,write like Tom,caffuffle like Tom but did not have the brilliance and foresight like Tom.Tom left us at 53 and Thompson at 48.Who knows,he might have redeemed himself had he lived longer.

37. BU can write more not flattering things about Thompson but unlike others who write what the know one Rh about David Thompson was a friend of the blogmaster.

38. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Miller….someone is missing their daily dose of slave brainwash and wrongfully blaming us for chasing people off the blog, that same someone can so clearly see the government interference in the 4 Seasons scam, which tied the hands of those public servants yet unknown to us, who would have had a problem with and who could have stopped the theft of taxpayer’s and pensioners money, had there not been that level of government interference, ….

…… but the same Ha, Ha clown cannot see the parallels with the same interference and government footprint in the CLICO scam, where those public servants known to us lost their jobs trying to stop the CLICO thieves Thompson, Leroy Leper et al from ripping off policyholders and the whole country…..with the government at that day being Owen Arthur et al.

ah told yall he aint to bright..

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Somehow de ole man dont seem to understand this “David Thompson the Saint” ingrunce.

How does “he was my friend” not only equate to “an absolution for his collusion with CLICO financial matters” but “such perfidious acts forever tarnish Cawmere?”

It seems a leap of unintelligible reasoning to ascribe to a school the sins of a student of tha school who, being human, is going to err.

Whuloss de next thing that is going to happen is that everyone who when to Garrison Secondary is going to be tarnished with the incompetency brush of mathematical incompetency of Chris Decimals Bond Stinkliar, 0.07 Minister of Fine Ants.

What school did Jester Inches go to?

What does “being the class idiot or the black sheep in the family” mean? if not to say that among other so-called intelligent students or well behaved family there was someone who did not meet the standard.

And then incredulously ascribe such aberration to all the rest of the grouping thereafter.

The facts are that David was friend to many and father to to a few. There are things that he has done for lots of people in his personal and political life.

Undoubtedly given all the pronouncements about integrity and all the rest, given that he was once prime minister one would expect more of such office but morality CANNOT BE GRAFTED on the immoral.

De ole man remembers that Queens College i think had a girl who murdered a taxi man and is now incarcerated so does that make all QC students murderers or do they need to be similarly held to account for one of their fellow students?

Whuloss, whu de next thing that will happen is that we will be debating the fact that “The Blogmaster and de ole man got de same doctor as LowDown” so de two of we tarnished and probably got STIs as well”

Steupseee

40. It was very clear that Caswell and Thompson were buddies when Caswell wrote that Thompson consulted him for advice on handling a top civil servant who was evidently not enjoying Thompson’s trust nor confidence.Almost akin to what Trump experiences with several senior public servants today.However,Caswell admitted he gave Thompson a way out and that public servant made his exit from the Service.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP March 7, 2018 at 8:58 AM
    “As the a female and leader of the Barbados Labour Party can direct your readers to Mia Mottley’s words of encouragement to women – in commemoration of International Women’s Day 2018 ?”

How can Mia “Aman” Mottley give a speech about International Women’s Day 2018?

How about ‘Step-Hen’ Lashley? Isn’t (s)he more suited to make such girlie speeches?

Why not the androgynous Mara T who not only insulted millions of childless women around the world but has spit right in the DLP ugly face of shame and humiliation?

Let’s see if we can put you back on your hobbyhorse.

MAM has not yet produced her LEC. Why don’t you get back in the saddle and ride that one-foot horse down the South coast to enquire why ‘(s)he’ has been issued with a licence to take legal bets that your deceitful lying party will soon be riding off into the sunset?

What odds would you be placing on a departure time? “29 to 1?

Why not nominate a day during 2018 in recognition of the electorate in Barbados who has been abused by Fumble and his goons for the past 5 years. Why not make it Friday, April 13th?

At least the Bajan people who were once full of pride would be saved the embarrassment of being the laughing stock at the upcoming talk shop for Commonwealth HOGs.

42. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“It seems a leap of unintelligible reasoning to ascribe to a school the sins of a student of tha school who, being human, is going to err.”

A high school no less named after a slave owning governor of the day Comberemere, who relished the mistreatment of slaves.

Grown old men in 2018 really need to raise their level of awareness, even worse being Black and still that level of ignorant…how many times have I said that samevone and other older schools should be renamed to exorcize the remaining blight…and remnants of self destructive, self demeaning rhetoric.

Please lead by positive example so the young can follow fir once…as things stand, there really is absolutely no positive role models on the island for the young to follow…all the older folk seem to be still marianated in deluded brainwash.

I think it was Lodge school Piece the young lady went to school, another old relic which should also be renamed.

The renaming is not because of the schools themselves, but because of all the embedded stigmas associated with their names and which Bajans refuse to free themselves from…. mental self enslavement.

43. Gabriel

You do know that that development plan was never a plan…… Thompson made it all up.

I heard Richie Haynes say so at a meeting in Carrington Village. He said that when Thompson pulled out the paper and started saying that the plan was devised by the party, as they all sat on the platform, he turned to Sandi and asked him what is Thompson talking about. Richie said that they had to go back to George Street and hatch a plan all night. He said the senior members cussed Thompson stink, stink all night, telling him that he did not have to lie like that as he knew he would win the seat.

Richie said that Thompson started out his political life telling lies and that he would always be a liar………….true, true, true!

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

@miller
    International Women’s Day 2018 is tomorrow, March 8th.
    Fructured does a very good job at mis-direction.

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Thank you Well Well, de ole man apologizes to Queens College for this derogatory comment.

One forgets that GC only harbours pedophile white expatriot teachers who are quickly exported back to the UK, without facing any charges from the Royal Barbados Police Force, because certain pillars of the community with handlebar moustaches, stand bail for them

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Piece……the place needs a cleansing.

They got a racist up in there terrorizing children with dark skin, mostly boys that the ministry of education has enabled for years and refuse to get rid of…that is what I meant about excorcizing these remaining vestiges of evil, still lurking around these schools and still being visited on generations of young people.

maybe they are waiting for someone to get real freaking angry, take a photo of her and spread it across social media network and around the world as being the vile, evil, black childing hating racist she is…teaching black children to hate themselves….right John?

Piece this is one I will go after with a vengeance, should they not do something about her…she has been there too long and had no right bringing herself to my attention because she sees herself as untouchable.

47. I am not surprised at the Mara Thompson decision.

She is a liar just like her husband, she told Gercine Carter of the Nation that she was not running even without Gercine asking her a question. When the story was printed maybe under pressure from George Street, she denied what she told Gercine.

The dlp’s plan was apparently that she would run to secure the seat and then resign later.

However, Ronald Toppin’s contribution during the Estimates must have inflicted too much shame on her. She was sitting right there in the chair when Toppin launched a broadside at her. He spoke of the 3.3 million dollar cheque which was passed through a law firm with which you would be familiar with having been the office manager. He said people whose names were on the invoice denied any knowledge of the work invoiced…………..

The woman was shamed ………….she quickly told him…….honourable member, your time has expired, please take your seat………..ha ha ha…………it was true but funny as hell.

48. Any school in Barbados having teachers who are racists or who are otherwise unsuited by their immoral acts towards school children must be got out of the school system.There is an explicit video making the rounds showing a teacher at a secondary school,name and school provided, which he sent to a female student at that school.

49. Prodigal@1.12p
    It is true.I heard it.As Bree would say….it is a fack.On another matter,the press should force the PM to announce an election date by use of a Front Page byline….”Election Day not yet made known to the public”,and do a twice weekly sampling of citizens and their feedback.If as suspected the citizens want to know the date it will soon move Mr Dolittle to act

50. What Mara has done to the DLP at this time is tantamount to what Don Blackman did to the DLP in 1991.

Don Blackman waited until Nomination Day to announce that he was not running and left the DLP scampering. They had to hustle up Johnny Tudor to file his papers to get on the ballot.

What a party!

Does anyone still wonder how we are where we are……… with a man like Freundel holding our country to ransom………….he claimed he is taking all the time the people gave him but that time ran out on February 21.

So sick of the dems……….where is Donville the so called out spoken man? Does he not have a responsibility to speak up on what the PM is doing, after all Donville has nothing to lose, parliament has dissolved itself.