It has been reported that the sewage problem in Worthing is beyond the technical capabilities of the Barbados Water Authority.  The evidence suggests that that may be so.  However, it is not beyond the technical capability of Barbados. The reason why the problem is allowed to exist is essentially a management problem, and therein lies the solution.

Seeking outside assistance is the responsible thing to do, but only after properly managing the local expertise on this matter.  The problem is not a lack of technical knowledge.  But rather, the management of this knowledge.  Let me explain.

The Auditor General regularly complains about the poor management of statutory corporations, especially in their continual failure to provide audited accounts.  Can members of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados complete the accounts?  Of course they can.  The main problem is that Barbados’ resources are being poorly managed.  Is the solution to deem all local accountants not sufficiently competent and invite accounting companies from the US and China to perform the audits?  Of course not.

The Caribbean Court of Justice regularly complains about the poor management of Barbados’ court system.  Can members of the Bar Association and management consultants improve the system?  Of course they can.  But our national resources are being very poorly managed.  How would members of the local Bar Association feel if the Government invited lawyers from the US and China to displace them, and show them how it should be done?

The sewage in the streets of Worthing is evidence enough of bad management.  Can Environmental Engineers in the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers solve this problem?  Of course they can, but our national resources are being very poorly managed.  The management of our public services is so far beyond redemption that not even raw sewage regularly flowing along the streets of Worthing, for over one year, can get them to improve.

In order to provide quick relief, we offered to train all Board members and Chief Executive Officers of our statutory corporations in the customer-focused ISO 9001 quality management system.  We promised them that after 2 hours of free training, they would have both the knowledge and confidence to implement the system in their organisation the following day.

Their sacrifice of 2 hours being trained was to provide almost immediate relief to their frustrated employees and the long-suffering public.  To their utter shame, not one board member or CEO attended.  Therefore, relief from sub-standard public services must be tolerated a bit more until a Solutions Barbados administration.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

252 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – South Coast Sewage Solution”

1. GP i let u think for me a.ss hole

2. You have to elaborate so that ac will be able to absorb some commonsense and not trying to emit substance like what is coming from those manholes.

3. Tell me why .
    The problems with the Sewer System goes far beyond maintenance at a level where replacement of broken parts would suffice long term
    Again i reiterate that the Pit Toilet did not have the capacity to absorb sewage from an industrial area and residential area.
    The biggest problem is capacity which maintenance cannot control
    Face the fact it was a pit toilet to start with and in the final analysis it operations could not match natural disasters and every daybusage
    A operational flaw from the get go going back to design

4. Tell me Why
    YOU CAN CARRY AN ASS TO WATER………BUT YOU CANT MAKE HIM DRINK
    YOU CAN SEND A FOOL TO COLLEGE……BUT YOU CANT MAKE HIM THINK

THE FOOL REMINDS ME OF WHAT MY CHEM TEACHER USED TO SAY

IF IT IS THERE…….IT WILL REACT
    IF IT AINT THERE…….IT CANT REACT
    THATS AC IN A NUT SHELL ANOTHER ONE TRYING TO BE AN INTELLECTUAL WANNABE

5. Frigg u GP u are an intellectual jack a.ss .could not care less what u think.

6. The plant major design flaw lies in its capacity. Pray tell how much maintence can alter that fact.
    .If a plant was built to with hold a certain level of capacity and it is force to hold more it would soon crack and leak

Now GP go watch the WI get beat .a.ss hole

7. All the more reason why ten years ago addressing the matter should have been a priority.

8. Why do contributors persist in responding to ac, when it is CLEARLY EVIDENT, (as proven by her contributions), the DLP yard-fowl JA is NOT TRAINED or have the REQUISITE experience in environmental engineering; water waste treatment; sewage collection, treatment and disposal; sewage system management; industrial water waste treatment process; or sewage system plant management…………….

……………and therefore is NOT QUALIFIED to speak on those issues.

AC’s comments are based PRIMARILY on POLITICAL RHETORIC, which the JA regurgitated from her political paymasters…….. in keeping in keeping with her role in this forum, of defending and pushing the political agenda of this inept DLP administration……….. and consistent with the party’s theme of blaming everyone, rather than taking responsibility for the effective, efficient management of this island’s resources.

The yard-fowl JA would perhaps try to absolve the DLP from being responsible for the poor management of the transport system, by blaming the BLP for buying 305 omnibuses between 1997 and 2006 for the Transport Board.

As is the current issue with the Transport Board, the blame for the “inadequacies” of the South Coast Sewage System must be placed on the DLP’s lack of maintenance management.

9. Well it is more like eight years when in a time economic constraints limit govt expenditure in all areas .However those who are saying maintenance is the heart of the South West Sewer problem are disingenuous in your comments because if that was the case the problem would have excaberated at a faste rate if govt was doing nothing to contain repair problems
    Simply stated the enormity of the problem only got worse when the floodings intensified over the past couple years .
    Yes i will agree that govt role is not in such situation to let the problem manifest in ways that are detrimental to the nation well being.
    However for govt to take a controlling handle on the problem it would mean financing in order to build a new plant with a capacity level which can handle maxium volume for that area
    Pushing the issue of poor maintenance is the blp way of trying to score political points when the issue starts within poor planning and the vision to underscore an area where industrial and residential growth would become a major factor for the plant ability to function properly in latter years.

10. They have to find a solution today anyway and the economy is worse. There is shit all over the place!

11. Artexerses your assumptions about ac are just as flawed as the South West Pit Toilet designs
    Maybe you ought to talk to your paymasters and ask them why did they make an erroneous misjudgement in selling the public a Pit Toilet instead of a well design Sewer System that can withstand multiple forces of nature like flooding also having a capacity level that does not force it to crack at the exterior and flood manholes leaking sewer in the streets

12. AC

You sound as though elections are a-coming

Geared up in the full regalia of the dlp

Marching as if to war

Ready and sharp to confront all comers

13. ac December 7, 2017 at 1:49 PM #

“We are speaking about a project which the govt of the day told the people in no uncertain terms that the South West sewer system would be a long term solution to that area.”

@ ac

Essentially, your above comment is CORRECT………… the government of the day being the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).

However, I will once again prove to BU that ac does not know what she is writing about and her contributions are based on political rhetoric.

During the early 1990s, the then DLP administration wrote a proposal to the Inter-American Development Bank seeking approval for “two loans to the Government of Barbados: one for up to the equivalent of US$28 million, and the other for up to the equivalent of USS23.2 million, both from the ordinary capital resources, for a SOUTH COAST SEWERAGE PROJECT (BA-0036).

BARBADOS SOUTH COAST SEWERAGE PROJECT (BA-0036) LOAN PROPOSAL: “This document was prepared by the Project Team consisting of: Eúward Agostini (OP3/0DX), Project Team Leader, Juan Aifaro (SDVBUD), Marta Mejía (SDVBUD), Arthur Darling (PRAPAO), Edward Farnworth (ENPENV), and Carlos Sampaio (LEG). Armando Diaz, formerly of the Country Office in Barbados, also assisted in the preparation.”

The loan request date was April 12, 1990 and terms & conditions for the IADB loan was

(1): Amortization period: 25 years

(2): Disbursement period: 4 years, except for the FOR IDB LOAN: amounts required for the monitoring and operational assistance programs which shall be 6 years from the date of the signature of the loan contract.

(3): Interest rate: variable during disbursement, fixed thereafter.

(4): Credit fee: 0.75% per annum on the undisbursed balance of the financing.

The IADB approved the loans on September 30, 1992 (BARBADOS OPERATIONS DEPARTMENT OPS/IRO IDB LOANS APPROVED AS OF SEPTEMBER 30, 1992).

Click on the following link to read the information relative the government of Barbados’ proposal to the IADB for the loans.

http://idbdocs.iadb.org/wsdocs/getdocument.aspx?docnum=37031726

Tell ac that the BLP won the 1994 general elections on September 6, 1994…….. ALMOST 2 years AFTER the IADB approved the South Coast Sewage Project loans.

14. AC is on about rainfall and the sewage plant.

According to the “Variability in Barbados’ Rainfall Pattern: An El Nino/La Nina Perspective,” by Sonia Nurse, Deputy Director (Ag), Barbados Meteorological Services and Issued: October, 2011………..

………..Barbados had total of 74.20 inches or 1884.68 mm of rainfall in 2010.

As at Thursday, December 7, 2017, Barbados recorded 1422.2 mm of rainfall. [Barbados Official Meteorological Services web-site]

In 2010, despite heavy rainfall, there were not any significant problems with the sewage plant. Therefore, this inept DLP administration’s lack of a plant’s MAINTENANCE MANAGEMENT program is responsible for the “sewage crisis” on the South Coast,

Now wunnuh see why I duz tell wunnuh I doan like politicians and political yard-fowls?

15. Let us forget the shitty South Coast for a minute.

The SMELL!
    It STINKS!

The point made on the radio this evening, why have we not seen the BWA trucks power washing the roads at minimum. Doing some shit!

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 7, 2017 at 5:15 PM #
    “Artexerses your assumptions about ac are just as flawed as the South West Pit Toilet designs
    Maybe you ought to talk to your paymasters and ask them why did they make an erroneous misjudgement in selling the public a Pit Toilet instead of a well design Sewer System that can withstand multiple forces of nature like flooding also having a capacity level that does not force it to crack at the exterior and flood manholes leaking sewer in the streets..”

Ac, ye ole shitbucket, why don’t you just shut your fecal flytrap?

Since you are ax expert in ‘shitology’ why didn’t you advise accordingly your political party which was in office during the design and financing of the same project you are now condemning?

Why didn’t you advise them to use the access to financing wasted on building a ‘Pining’ white elephant on the Hill to correct your mistakes on the South Coast?

Instead it was used to line the stinking pockets to turn corrupt people into instant millionaires as if they had won the Lotto.

Since you know the pitfalls to avoid in building another pit toilet when are you going to keep the promise made to the electorate in February 2013?

“THE NEW DLP ADMINISTRATION WILL:
    Commence the construction of the West Coast sewerage system promptly;
    Strengthen its regulatory and enforcement programme;
    Expand the development of green spaces;
    Provide additional play parks with emphasis on high density population and low income communities;
    In collaboration with the University of the West Indies promote Barbados as an International Centre for technical expertise in Green Economy Policy design and implementation;
    Continue work to protect the West Coast beaches.”

17. David Dr. Estwick gave the solution
    Question would the public be ready to accept that the building of a new plant would escalate further debt .
    Or are you like the blp operatives highly critical having a one stop approach in beliving that govt responsibilty to fix is a simple managerial problem

David you must not repeat every thing u hear on radio without first contacting the relevant ministry

18. Rather trying to politicize the issue and casting blame, government should take all efforts to solve this issue before it becomes a serious health hazard.

19. Artexeres how come late into this conversation you have become aggressively active .Did your pay masters send you on a mission to destroy ac
    However please tell them that truth unlike milk does not sour

20. Dont be a jackass, the government was elected to solve these problems. Mia Mottley mentioned that the South Coast was about to become a problem a few months ago and the government ridicule the position as fear mongering.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91133/mottley-calls-pm-address-sewage-issue

21. Miller the issue here is about Solutions
    Here you come like a flaming bee all hot and bothered talking the same shit bucket crap u are accusing me. Shame in you
    When u have a solution i would listen until such time go back to your hive and nestle with the king bee

22. Hmmmmmm

So far, whereas the resident DLP yard-fowl wrote 15 contributions to this topic, “aggressively active” in supporting this inept DLP administration…………….I wrote 4.

However, my contributions caused ac to destroy herself as she has been proven to be a notorious liar…………….. because I REVEALED the TRUTH, which unlike milk, does not sour.

23. Well i’llve dam Mottley speaks but wasn’t she part of the govt that foisted this useless gorrillaphant on the the backs of the taxpayers
    Makes me wonder what are her solutions? Hot air and nuff fluff .
    For one that can make so much noise why doesnt she make equal noise and come clean about her LEC for in my opinion that issue is in equal to the stench and leakage from the Sewer System

24. Artax you just evaginated a.c.🤣🤣

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lying AC Yardfowl…so it was this same present government requisitioned to build the flawed pit toilet in 1992…that is now spewing poop all over the streets.

Tick Tock.

26. Isn’t that why the BLP was booted from office? You define yardfowl. No credibility on the bog.

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Back to the LEC…the pit toilet lie fell apart..lol

28. Well Well, artax with one uppercut knocked ac out cold.🥊

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…he rocked her world…Enuff.

30. AC

We sending Bushie to give you his regular injection. LOL

31. nobody ever knock me out cold , my presence here ruffled some blp feathers causing the bees to swarm
    listen fool berts ac not going any where .

The leader of the opposition has yet to offer any solutions outside criticisms and midday marches
    Why should govt listen to any thing of nothing she has to say especially when it comes to accountability ..phew

32. “Well i’llve dam Mottley speaks but wasn’t she part of the GOVT that FOISTED this USELESS GORRILLAPHANT on the backs of the taxpayers…”

No, she was not ac……….. unless you’re IMPLYING Mottley WAS a MEMBER of the DLP when the IADB APPROVED the project in 1992.

Despite revelation of the truth……….. the yard-fowl JA continues to lie.

Before the IADB loans were approved, the government of Barbados had to satisfy certain requirements. One such requirement was the preparation of an environment impact assessment (EIA).

“Environmental (and Social) Impact Assessments (EIAs) are prepared for projects with potentially substantial environmental and social impacts. EIAs are made available to affected populations and local nongovernmental organizations by the borrower before the Bank conducts its Analysis (or in the case of non-sovereign guaranteed operations, its Due-diligence) Mission.” [IADB web-site]

Obviously, the EIA would have proven that the proposed site on the South Coast would have been adequate for the construction of the sewage plant.

The SCSP was CONCEPTUALIZED and approved under the DLP, but that party loss the general elections in September 1994. Since government operations are a continuum, the then incoming BLP administration undertook the project.

“BA0036 : South Coast Sewerage System”

“Project Status: Approved”

“THE PROJECT WILL CONSIST OF THE COLLECTION/TREATMENT AND FINAL DISPOSAL OF SEWERAGE FROM RESIDENTIAL, COMMERCIAL, TOURIST, INDUSTRIAL AND PUBLIC SOURCES ALONG THE SOUTH COAST.”

33. @ ac

you are a new DLP yard-fowl, so you can be forgiven, but, you should ask your former DLP PM Sandiford, that is, if he can remember about the south coast sewage project.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 7, 2017 at 7:08 PM
    “listen fool berts ac not going any where .”

No where indeed. Old Bajans had the habit of moving their chattel houses to different to rented lots but never have they been known to move pit toilets.

Stay put where you belong worrying about MAM’s LEC.

BTW where is your buddy Fractured BLP? Using the slop bucket in George Street while telling you with your dirty hands what to type on BU?

You keep asking for Solutions. Why not check with Grenville @nextparty246.joker?

The solution is to tell King Fumble to ring the bell for a January poll so that the Estimates can be revised in time to include money for fixing of the sewage situation in order to save your country’s bread and butter earner.

35. i like this new ac. like i like the trump spokespeople. trying to fist convince themselves that they are not defending the mouthing of an imbecile must take a lot of effort. so estwick has proposed to a new plant to solve the problem of a broken pipe. i bet the contract has already been awarded to innotech. the same innotech that built the bwa headquarters. the same innotech that is installing the new desal plants. the same innotech that is to build the new factory at andrews. the same innotech that brought in the new water trucks. brilliant.

36. @ ac

Please take a second to notice, the # of DAYS on the right of screen for disposing the DLP sewage.

37. btw other than water trucks barbados didnt need any of those things. and we only needed the water trucks because he failed to fix the water pipes

38. shit shouldnt be political, are the people of the south coast being held ransom until they vote dlp hardly this is an incompetence problem, the people today trying to fix what was poorly designed years ago . putting band aids on band aids doesn’t work . What is tourism worth if it nothing dont do anything, if it is a mainstay of the economy go crazy and fix it,

39. ” During periods of intense, heavy rainfall however, the volume of stormwater that enters these combined sewers may exceed the system’s capacity and some of the combined sewer flow (a mix of stormwater and sewage) must be diverted (or overflow) untreated, directly into creeks, rivers and the Lake.

Combined sewer overflows (CSOs) were designed to act as a relief valve, preventing overloading which could lead to flooding of properties, public spaces or even the sewage treatment plants.”

https://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=fc8807ceb6f8e310VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

40. My summary…
    There is a problem and up comes a gut who say, “Give me two hours and I will give you tools to help you fix the problem”.

The political savants in their infinite wisdom say “Dude we aren’t listening to you. We had this problem for years and couldn’t fix it. You gun teach us to fix it two hours?

Now if it was me, I would go sit and listen with the hope that I might learn something. I can always cuss him and call him an idiot.

41. I saw Abrahams and Thorne this evening with BT or the Nation down by a manhole that was spilling the effluent down Worthing. Looking out for the article with them.

42. @AC, whey did the government waste money burying the pitchfork at the Garrison instead of make plans to fix the problems being experience with the sewage system on the South Coast?

43. Just read BarbadosToday. Bare shite in Hastings.

Somebody is going to make a shit load of money.

44. If there is shit all around me, how can I eat my ice cream?
    S. Balaram

45. Ac
    One can’t recognise a solution if one can’t , or does not want to, understand it. I repeat, WORK and LEADERSHIP are two solutions. Tell your party to try both. More importantly, the electorate also has their own solution.❌

46. What work and what leadership what?
    Enuff, you could REALLY hush!!!
    The WHOLE reason we are stuck with this shitty DLP is because you and your pissy BLP provided NO WORK and NO leadership back in the days even when we HAD money….

Wasted all our damn money on CSME shiite….
    and preparing “bribery ground” for DLP monkeys to run on..

The DLP are shitty indeed -REAL shitty…, but wunna was( still are) pissy too….

Ralph Thorne’s solution is to sue the government????!!
    … mean like Barrack…? …and CLICO?
    Well Payne got his free money ….now Thorne wants his too….

THE ONLY ONE MAKING SENSE IS GRENVILLE….

#sixishalfdozen

47. Enuff whar kinda leadership has Mia demonstrated woman cannot even lead a march .
    The party which she leads is splintered into several factions with former members forming their iwn political parties and others filing litigation her .
    So if Mia cannot be a leader for her own party how can anyone expect much of her to lead a country of 275thousand people.

48. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

ac Yardfowl…tick tock….dont you look like the villlage idiot this morning, do ya own research before you allow ya equally dumb masters to set you loose on BU to be the usual laughing stock.

The government could find millions in taxpayer’s money to fete tourists, bury pitchforks, give away pensioners and taxpayer’s money to Cow, Maloney, Bizzy and a host of parasites, build a new BWA building to elicit bribes and kickbacks, build shit apartments and houses to do same.

…..BUT…..Fruendel and Sinckler could not find money in 10 YEARS to buy a new sewage plant because of the badly managed requisitioning of an inadequate one by this same government…….in 1992.

Yall should get a class action lawsuit for the sicknesses now plaguing the CITIZENS.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/108320/claims-sewage-sick

“Claims sewage making some sick
    ALEX DOWNES, alexdownes@nationnews.com
    Added 08 December 2017
    0 0 0 0Google +0Instagram0Print
    ray-george
    Ray George is blaming the effluent for recent bouts of illness. (Picture by Alex Downes.)
    MORE ARTICLES

South Coast resident and businessman Ray George said yesterday the defective South Coast sewerage system was severely affecting his health.
    Related articles
    Businesses worry sewage leak may…
    Mia: Plant has not worked in 3…
    Big stink!
    He pointed out that he had spent thousands of dollars in medical bills because of the constant presence of sewage around his property.
    George reported that the issue had seemingly become worse over the last two weeks, with the sewage appearing to flow nonstop.

He said the effluent had stopped him from easily accessing his home in Worthing.
    “The last two weeks, we spent over $ 1 000 on blood tests and every kind of tests,” George added.
    He was speaking outside the Worthing Post Office, where the Barbados Labour Party’s candidates for the five Christ Church constituencies held a Press conference related to the issue.
    BLP candidate for Christ Church West, Dr Wlliam Duguid, said the sewage floating in the area could create a myriad of health issues.

“Exposure to sewage gives you a significant risk of gastroenteritis, Hepatitis A, significant enterovirus problems, significant retro-virus problems, Escherichia coli and a whole host of problems with diarrhoea and all sorts of issues that can be a major health issue,” he said.
    “No wonder we’re having a major problem with gastroenteritis in Barbados,” said Duguid, who is a dentist by profession.

Duguid said he wanted Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and the Government to urgently address the sewage issues, as the people in Christ Church would no longer be treated like second and third-class citizens.

While Duguid described the situation as “disaster management”, another nearby residentemerged to vent her frustration.

The woman, who declined to give her name, said she had been sick for weeks and her medical bills were mounting. (A”

49. But ac…
    yuh mean you have NO SHAME at all…?

This is one of those rare occasions where you SHOULD just disappear for a few months….
    …at the very LEAST that would reduce the amount of shiite flowing ’bout in Barbados.
    ha haha
    How yuh like dah one??

50. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

A government of shithounds…literally and figuratively. .

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/12/07/legal-push/

“Legal push
    BLP nudges south coast residents and businesses to take action

Added by Emmanuel Joseph on December 7, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Pin It
    As the public outcry over the worsening south coast sewage mess intensifies, two frustrated business operators today said they were ready and willing to take legal action against the state-run Barbados Water Authority (BWA) for losses incurred over the past year.

This is in keeping with the free legal advice dished out to them this afternoon by Queen’s Counsel and Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) candidate for Christ Church South Ralph Thorne, who strongly advised the affected residents and businesses to seek legal redress, amid the out-of-control situation, which now poses a health hazard.

“I am ready to take legal action along with other businesses and residents,” said businessman Ray George, who has been forced to shut down his catering company at Worthing, Christ Church due to the sporadic overflows of effluent, which have flared up at various points over the past 12 months.

Queen’s Counsel Ralph Thorne (inset) has strongly advised the affected residents and business operators, including Ray George (right) who says the sewage water is now surrounding the front of his house, to seek legal address.

However, he made it clear that he was not about to mount a legal challenge on his own but said he was quite amenable to being part of a class action suit against Government.”