It has been reported that the sewage problem in Worthing is beyond the technical capabilities of the Barbados Water Authority.  The evidence suggests that that may be so.  However, it is not beyond the technical capability of Barbados. The reason why the problem is allowed to exist is essentially a management problem, and therein lies the solution.

Seeking outside assistance is the responsible thing to do, but only after properly managing the local expertise on this matter.  The problem is not a lack of technical knowledge.  But rather, the management of this knowledge.  Let me explain.

The Auditor General regularly complains about the poor management of statutory corporations, especially in their continual failure to provide audited accounts.  Can members of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados complete the accounts?  Of course they can.  The main problem is that Barbados’ resources are being poorly managed.  Is the solution to deem all local accountants not sufficiently competent and invite accounting companies from the US and China to perform the audits?  Of course not.

The Caribbean Court of Justice regularly complains about the poor management of Barbados’ court system.  Can members of the Bar Association and management consultants improve the system?  Of course they can.  But our national resources are being very poorly managed.  How would members of the local Bar Association feel if the Government invited lawyers from the US and China to displace them, and show them how it should be done?

The sewage in the streets of Worthing is evidence enough of bad management.  Can Environmental Engineers in the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers solve this problem?  Of course they can, but our national resources are being very poorly managed.  The management of our public services is so far beyond redemption that not even raw sewage regularly flowing along the streets of Worthing, for over one year, can get them to improve.

In order to provide quick relief, we offered to train all Board members and Chief Executive Officers of our statutory corporations in the customer-focused ISO 9001 quality management system.  We promised them that after 2 hours of free training, they would have both the knowledge and confidence to implement the system in their organisation the following day.

Their sacrifice of 2 hours being trained was to provide almost immediate relief to their frustrated employees and the long-suffering public.  To their utter shame, not one board member or CEO attended.  Therefore, relief from sub-standard public services must be tolerated a bit more until a Solutions Barbados administration.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

252 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – South Coast Sewage Solution”

1. But wait does the blp think it has any advantage in scrutinizing govt on the sewage issue .
    If memory serves correct was it not the same blp party who gave planning permission to build apts on land havi g underground caves which resulted in the Arch Cot tragedy
    The same mentality of a blp govt that approved plan giving birth to the pit toilet on the South Coast.

2. ac December 8, 2017 at 10:06 AM #

“The same mentality of a blp govt that approved plan giving birth to the pit toilet on the South Coast.”

Yuh mean you wun learn to write the truth? This particular ac must be Chris Sinckler.

Stop writing lies, nuh!!! Why are you continuing in your attempt to mislead this forum by implying the BLP approved the plan for the South Coast Sewage Project, when you know it’s your Deceitful Lying Party (DLP)?

I produced documents to BU that PROVED the former Erskine Sandiford led DLP administration CONCEPTUALIZED the South Coast Sewage Project and applied to the IADB for financing.

The IADB accepted the EIA prepared by the DLP and approved the project and financing. The loan was approved in 1992.

As Bush Tea & WW&C suggested, perhaps you should take leave of this topic……….

3. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

Looks like Mia Mottley has secured the endorsement and support of the powerful sisters Elizabeth and Abigail Johnson, USA.

Abigail Johnson – President-CEO, Fidelity Investments

Real Time Net Worth — as of 12/8/17 US$17.9 B
    Abigail Johnson’s grandfather, Edward Johnson II, founded mutual fund giant Fidelity Investments in 1946.
    She reportedly worked summers at Fidelity through college and joined full-time as an analyst in 1988 after receiving a Harvard M.B.A.
    She took over from her father Edward “Ned” Johnson III as CEO in 2014 and as chairman in 2016.
    She owns an estimated 24.5% stake of the firm, which has $2.3 trillion in managed assets.
    Her two siblings, Elizabeth and Edward IV, own estimated stakes of just over 5% of Fidelity Investments
    She is active in global women’s issues particularly Women in Leadership

4. The same blp mentality that cause taxpayers to shell out million of dollars to Barrack. The alexander debacle. The Arch Cot devastation. and on and on a never ending cycle of stinking lefovers and passed on to present govt. Phew
    Yet the blp has the nerve to point accusing.

5. Bush Tea – Your wacker need to turn on you for your diatribe.

You said “THE ONLY ONE MAKING SENSE IS GRENVILLE….” I read Grenville’s empty analysis. He said “The reason why the problem is allowed to exist is essentially a management problem, and therein lies the solution.” What management problem he talking about, if you employ friends and expect miracles you are wrong. You need funds to deal with constant maintenance and if more and more businesses are connecting to the system, you need to get back to the drawing board and device a plan to increase capacity. It is simple, the sewage is escaping on the western side only, which is low and must be pump upwards to the base. Maybe grease might be a contributory factor in these blockage along with various type of soft paper which will become solid if not dealt with. Stop blaming the rains and deal with the business houses who divert everything to the system.

You said members of BAPE can give professional direction in solving these shitty problems, why then the said ministerial managers talking about hiring overseas consultants to deal with the issue. Bushy, we don’t need no ISO-9001 to deal with the shit that is happening in our beloved country. We need workers, planners and non-procrastinators who don’t sit in an air-conditioned office grabbing every mic talking about a stupid LEC instead of doing the people’s work.

6. Bushie

There is evidence, then rhetoric and emotion. What sense Grenville mekkin? ISO? #lmbao

7. Bush Tea the more you speak the more I am of the view that you are a total loudmouth jackass.What Grenville Phillips solptions you talking about?A lot fancy airy fairy gibberish,that cold impress a simpleton like yourself,by all means you go and vote for them,or even run for them,problem is you only got one vote,so knock yourself out.I mean you were on here praising David Thompson as this great bright leader when all he turned out to be was a bullshitter of long talk and nosubstance whatsoever,so I can see your judgement of leaders is questionable and weather you like it or not Ms Mottley should be our next PM,LEC or not.This is not the time for newbies,but experienced people who have been there and done that.

8. AC,did not your party twice seek the vote to manage the economy.Why are you making excuses constantly?Is it because you bit off more than you can chew.You are the same as that guy William Skinner who could only convince 2 out of every 100 voters to make him a Member for the constituency of St Michael Central in 1991.Having failed miserably he now spends his winter years cussing the BLP but of late added the DLP to the mix.A guy who knows him said he should never bite the hand that fed him……politically that is.

9. @ The BLP lackies and soon-to-be yardfowls (TMW, Lorenzo & Enuff)
    Get wunna behind Bushie’s donkey do!!

Besides Grenville, WHO has said anything even worth repeating?
    …That the citizens should hire BLP lawyers and sue the Government?
    … that they plan to ‘bring in’ equipment? … where the current equipment came from?
    what’s new?
    The damn problem is that IDIOTS are running the show.

They have DEMONSTRATED that they do not have the competence, or ability, to manage the system.
    There are only two VIABLE options…

Fire them and hire new idiots …..who ALSO, (based on other issues ISLANDWIDE) are incompetent

OR…

Implement INTERNATIONAL MANANGEMENT STANDARDS that FORCE – even idiots – to adopt best industry practice.
    Cuh shiite Men!!! is it not OBVIOUS that this is why our Credit Unions work successfully?
    Look and see how they are FORCED to follow Cooperative standards….

Shiite man Lorenzo … if this is above your mental capacity, why not seek some guidance from Gabriel?

Bushie said that Grenville was the ONLY one making sense…..
    …Who makes MORE sense …. or indeed, who else makes ANY sense…?

@ Tell me why
    Your 1.57 p.m. post is a long roll of shiite – straight from the sewer outside Lanterns….
    Bushie won’t even whack that – cause it would only splash the innocent tourists like Sargeant and Hal strolling innocently by….

Boss, de whacker barely idling now…. piss Bushie off – and it will be FULL revs yuh hear !!!

10. The problem can be remedied quite easily instead of worthing call it little haiti

11. “At a meeting of Citizens Action Partnership on Wednesday December 6, it was unanimously agreed that Citizens Action Partnership should cease operations to facilitate a merger with United Progressive Party (UPP).”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/108773/cap-upp-merge

12. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

Lawson …. king of the one-liners

13. Bushie and based on your comments your are a disgruntle Dem,who is trying desperately to stop the BLP from winning the next Election by rambling on about some shite LEC,when your inept Government has shite running all over the South Coast.What is Mr Phillips solution to this problem?Let me spell it out for you ,the Solutions party members will be lucky to save their Deposits capiche,soSTFU.

14. Up to yesterday, many of the Manholes I usually see running were not!!!

Conclusion, the BWA has fixed the problem or at least has it under control!!!

Not half likely.

Seen the cycle already numerous times!!

Will look and see if over the weekend the situation gets better with “lower” high tides following the Super Moon last Sunday and its unusually high, high tides.

Dr. Estwick put it pretty simply.

If I understand him right, the 5 foot diameter concrete casings in the porous tunnels through limestone have been breached somewhere!!!

Might just be a couple of places.

To make matters worse, some of the sewage pipes in the concrete casings are leaking.

I think this is part of what we see.

The tide as it rises infiltrates the concrete casings and wherever there is a sewage leak sweeps the product to the nearest exit for the water from the casings.

Those exits are the manholes.

Sounds like BWA have to get the ability to send cameras through the casings underground and see where the problems are.

So the question arises, when did the problem start?

This year, last year, year before.

Well, look at the report done for the Graeme Hall Nature sanctuary and you will see how the concentration of fecal coliform is distributed.

Worse back then was behind Chicken Barn.

I remember commenting on it a while back on BU.

If you look at the Chicken Barn Manhole, you will see as it overflows, the effluent travels back toward the swamp.

Suspect this has been going on for years and years!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoLjs2xeTvg ….. small scale for home use just to show some of the problems on a miniature scale, how difficult they are to find and some tools to find them.

15. “Next Supermoon December 2017. The next Supermoon will be on December 3, 2017. The Supermoon on November 14, 2016, was the closest since January 26, 1948. The next time a Full Moon will come even closer to Earth is on November 25, 2034 (dates based on UTC time).”

Next time we will see a super moon is in 17 years!!!

The Sewage system will, once again, be under test!!!

Last November when we had all the problems culminating in the 6 inches and 64 parts of rain on 29th September there was also a super moon, closest since 1948.

Funny thing, if you look at rainfall data back to 1847, you will find 1948 was a flood year.

No sewage system back then!!

Could of course be pure coincidence!

16. The latest with shit overflowing on the South Coast is that equipment and expertise in on the way to the island to attack the problem. The diagnosis is major blockage in the Worthing area.

On Saturday, 9 December 2017, Barbados Underground wrote: >

17. Lorenzo December 8, 2017 at 6:59 PM #

Bush Tea the more you speak the more I am of the view that you are a total loudmouth jackass.

Never a truer word. Covering your appalling ignorance with second rate jokes and smears. It is an old trick.

18. It really does not matter at this point in time, why the sewage problem exists. It does, and as a tourist to Barbados for over 50 years, I am reconsidering my vacation plans. You can make of that what you will. However it is less money coming into the economy !

19. Bushie

Neither you nor Grenville/Solutions has a clue about sound public policy. Go have several RH seats do. Stupse.

20. At a meeting of Citizens Action Partnership on Wednesday December 6, it was unanimously agreed that Citizens Action Partnership should cease operations to facilitate a merger with United Progressive Party (UPP).”
    ……………………………………………………..

Wuhloss………….we all knew that Wendell Callender is the most successful failure.

He went hot and sweaty saying he forming his own party and cannot even get it going…….wuhloss………

This man told Corey on Brasstacks that he had cnadidates in place……..these people must be so disillusioned with Mr Callender……..wuhloss……..loser!

21. David

Was it not reported earlier this week that the equipment ordered is not compatible to what is currently there?

22. @Prodigal Son

Have not heard read that reported. The equipment ordered and foreign expertise is to assist with diagnosing the problem how to clear blockage. It does not reflect well on Patricia Inniss and her team.

23. Bushie this the same Grenville Phillips,who like David Thompson you think so highly of that turn up to aconsultation to an almost empty room recently?It seems only William Skinner ,SSS and William Skinner thinks highly of this Solutions Party,so why don,t you join them to help guide them JA,might help some save their Deposits

24. Lol.If William Skinner anything to do with Solutions the dog dead.I say again,not one damn seat for allyuh.

25. @ Gabriel
    Can you and Lorenzo kindly get thee behind Bushie….?
    Thanks…

Why does it bother wunna that jackass Bushie ‘thinks highly’ of Grenville? …or if jackass Bushie ‘is a DLP yardfowl’?

..and this based on what??… Bushie saying that Grenville is the ONLY ONE saying anything sensible on the shiite situation.

Steupsss…
    You (wunna) are not helping the BLP in the circumstances…
    Perhaps the two of wunna should see if wunna not looking at a big ass mirror and think wunna seeing Bushie yuh…

Imagine wunna pissy BLP party holds a meeting at the shiite site and the BEST offer is that ‘the businesses should sue the government’…… How the hell does THAT fix anything – except lining wunna thieving-lawyer-pockets?

Boss, the ONLY difference between the BLP and the DLP is that the DLP bunch are ALSO arithmetically challenged (with decimals in one case, multiplying in another) and with ugliness in most of the specimens…..

BUT ALL of wunna (B’s AND D’s) are challenged with DISHONESTY, incompetence, shamelessness and greed…. but mostly incompetence.

BTW
    Bushie IS a yardfowl … and a ‘B’ at that….
    in fact …TWO ‘B’s …..AND and ‘E’…. 🙂
    So TEK DAT!!

…and stop envying a bright Bajan like Grenville….
    Especially Enuff – who spends HOURS coming up with his 4-word posts
    …and corny hashtags…

#GrenvilleforPM

26. It does not matter, who has left this legacy in Barbados, the important issue is , how soon is it going to be resolved ? Does Barbados have the ability or are they going to have find off shore experts?

27. Bushie I know you are a Dem yardfowl,not think anything,same as Mr Skinner,just too ashamed oftheir current performance to defend them.As for suing the Government why should businesses suffer without compensation for incompetence for those responsible for the upkeep of the System on the South Coast,it would send a strong message that going and diving in the sea and other PR stunts and long talk by the Minister will not be tolerated.As I have asked has the Minister or the PM visited the area as yet?Maybe Bushie you can answer for us yardfowl.The BLP does not have to provide a solutions the Government has to do so asap.

28. The blogmaster took a drive along the South Coast last night to sniff the situation and the two problem areas based on smell are the lantern KYC area and the CIBC to Lucky Horse Shoe area. In these two areas the fould stench emanated. Tourists and locals who live, staying in the area, dining and transient all affected. It appears that this matter has started to be discussed on Tripadvisor.

29. on my next trip to the island I will bring a level and we can get this sewage problem solved. the years of eye balling it are over. The sewage business is not rocket science..water goes up…shit goes down…and dont bite your fingernails.

30. The blogmaster took a drive along the South Coast last night to sniff the situation and the two problem areas based on smell are the lantern KYC area and the CIBC to Lucky Horse Shoe area. In these two areas the fould stench emanated. Tourists and locals who live, staying in the area, dining and transient all affected. It appears that this matter has started to be discussed on Tripadvisor.

You need to go by Big B as well!!

They were back running as well last night but not as strongly as I have seen them …. funny thing, high tide last night.

Low tide at 3:10 this morning so I wasn’t going to see!!

If the sewage pipe to the plant inside the concrete casement is fractured, raw sewage will be in the casement. Floaters TP etc should be visible coming out of the manholes if they are being pushed out by the tide or positive pressure from the pumps at the plant or lift stations along the supply line.

If only the effluent pipe to the Hilton outfall is fractured then primary treated effluent will be in the casement. Should be no floaters, TP etc.

If both are fractured, then we should be seeing floaters, TP etc coming out.

I have never seen toilet paper coming out of the manholes by Big B.

But there is/was toilet paper coming out of the manhole in Chicken Barn.

Coming out of the manholes by Lanterns I have never seen toilet paper but have not passed that way as much as I have Chicken Barn and Big B.

My impression is that there is a combination of problems giving a combination of symptoms.

The difficulty I would imagine is seeing what is happening underground.

Pity the BWA won’t just state what is meant by “technology” and bring the public into its confidence!!

That would share the problem and encourage the public to help them solve the problems by simply saying what is being witnessed all along the sewage system.

I guess it is a state guarded secret which will affect national security.

But lord, they are taking a beating so we get the us and them dynamic which will only delay and obfuscate!!

BTW, if the casement is fractured as well as the pipes, when low tide occurs all the juice appears in the sea.

Just to show how crazy the two ministers were last year who decided to take a sea bath to show the public there was no big deal!!!!!

I called them poppets last year … I haven’t changed my mind.

Complete disappointments.

These problems have been there for years if my surmise from the report of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary from 2010 is correct.

Both parties bear responsibility for sweeping them under the rug.

We all know now … why not deal with the problem openly and solve it.

Barbados is not the only country on earth with these problems, that’s why experience and technology exists worldwide.

31. O shite!!!

32. The Super Moon may have been a complete coincidence but …..

http://astropixels.com/ephemeris/moon/fullperigee2001.html#closest

Super Moons occur many times, but it just so happened the one last year in November was the closest (356523 m) since 1948

2016 Sep 16 19:05 n 364754
    Oct 16 04:23 358475
    Nov 14 13:52 356523 m
    Dec 14 00:06 359450

2017 Jan 12 11:34 366880
    Nov 04 05:23 364004
    Dec 03 15:47 357987 m

2018 Jan 02 02:24 356604 m
    Jan 31 13:27 t 360199
    Dec 22 17:49 363368

The one this year on 3rd December, was not as close, (357987m) but, the one in January next year, that one will be closer (356604 m) than the one earlier this month.

Next month around January 2nd, it will be interesting to see what happens with rainfall and tides around full moon …. and of course the sewage system on the South Coast.

33. John December 10, 2017 at 9:18 AM #

What is your discipline?

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John December 10, 2017 at 9:18 AM
    “Next month around January 2nd, it will be interesting to see what happens with rainfall and tides around full moon …. and of course the sewage system on the South Coast.”

Sir John, please, why don’t you stop trying to explain what’s going on with the South Coast sewage fiasco by blaming it on Acts of God?

Full moon my donkey. The moon has been there for hundreds and millions of solar years and is indeed responsible for the existence of life on this planet called Gaia.

If you want to find a scapegoat for the current Bajan brand of incompetence being exercised under this ‘blackened’ administration you only have to look around and see the filth and litter decorating the country, both urban and rural.

Do you really expect an administration- which cannot even oversee the simple task of removing garbage from the streets or the detritus placed on the pavements after a bout of weeding and de-bushing- to fix the massive problem of shit overflowing on the South Coast?

Why not kill two birds with one brick (apologies to the ornithologists on BU) by first getting rid of the crap in government and then the shit on the South coast will follow suit?

35. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

If tourism dies under the DLP it will not instantaneously come to life as soon as a next party come to power. What was destroyed with a few careless words in a few days could take years to recover.

Let’s try to fix this problem without destroying the industry, Cheap shots can be taken, but let’s not shoot ourselves in the foot.

36. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

“plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose”.
    Thought I would begin the day on a positive note, but I see Hal is about to lick John’s behind.
    It sickens me.
    Dude get some pride your damn self.

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Shithounds.

I will avoid the poop stench thank you very much.

Let’s see how long the shithounds take to fix it, they got months left in office..if they cant fix it by the …in the next 5 months, they will be forever known as the Shithounds of Parliament.

38. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

Hit the restart button

A beautiful morning all the inhabitants of BU

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Another disgusting shithound of the negro variety..yuk.

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bueno dias Theophilis.

41. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

Somethings must exist outside the realm of pure politics. Too many people wold hurt if the tourism industry is severely damaged. If your eggs are in one basket then one has to handle the basket with care.

I wish them success and perhaps the start of a winning streak.

42. BushTea

It is called being PITHY. Try it, instead of rambling and trying to convince people you’re an Oracle. #GrenvileforProject Manager(PM)likehewasonprojectsfundedbyborrowedmoney?

43. Hal Austin December 10, 2017 at 9:22 AM #
    John December 10, 2017 at 9:18 AM #
    What is your discipline?
    +++++++++++++++++++

Short answer, ….. Electrical/Electronic Engineer.

Long answer …

I learnt how to learn along the way so will pose questions to myself in many different disciplines and try to answer them.

When I get answers that make sense to me, I will share them in the hope they will be challenged.

That way I can either get better answers or satisfy myself I have done my due diligence and can move on.

The flow of water and current are in many ways similar so most of my questions are in this area.

History fascinates me as does agriculture and the geology of Barbados.

Luckily, through the Greenland experience and Richard Goddard, I met and learnt from Professors Bob Speed now deceased and Hans Machel.

I rubbed shoulders with Colin Hudson, a genius.

I try to keep away from medicine, blood and guts turn my stomach but I have looked at some issues in detail!!

Latest one is sleep apnea!!

I am realizing a lot of people, including myself, have or had a problem.

I never knew I had one until early 2015 although my family and friends kept telling me from the 1990’s I was snoring bad!!

The solution I was given gave me a new lease on life, a clearer and less cluttered mind and a completely different quality of life!!

The doctor who sent me for the study also suffered from the same sleep apnea and never knew till recently. Now he told me of his improved quality of life.

Another one wanted to know what it is that is so great about its solution because he has patients who tell him the same thing as excitedly as I do!!

Been in the courts since 1995 starting with Greenland and constantly since.

Experience has made me a piece of a lawyer too!!

Not many people except perhaps practicing lawyers have my experience in that area!!!

The longer I live the more things intrigue me.

I overcame the fear of challenging the status quo a long time ago.

I don’t set out to be an idiot, but I am not worried if people think I am, so long as I have done the work that justifies my position!!

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Theophilius Gazerts 233 December 10, 2017 at 10:29 AM

The real shitty problem facing the country, TG, is that the current administration is refusing to deal with the problem as a matter of urgency now transmogrified into to a national emergency for which any Cabinet worth its salt (and financial cost) and headed by an effective leader ought to make its No.1 Priority.

The gravamen of the sewage situation was brought to the administration’s attention many moons ago, (super moons even) by informed and concerned citizens with no political axe to grind and by those sitting on the opposing political fence.

But what have you been getting other than a lot of pissy excuses and hot-air explanations for pure PR political purposes like swimming in the sea containing e-coli.
    Even the residents were blamed for their hygiene habits forth cause of the problem.

Let the people understand that British people will NOT be visiting your country- once their former ‘preferred’ winter retreat- unless you get your act together and manage your waste and shit in accordance with proper health and safety standards.
    They will not be coming to wade, waddle or paddle through shit, whether brown black or blue.

So piss off until then, ya hear Baje?

The person(s) who deliberately cause(s) a problem should not be trusted to solve the same problem.

45. Popular restaurant Chicken Barn officially closed its branch at Worthing, Christ Church, yesterday after battling with the problem of raw sewage flooding its compound for over a year.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/108932/barn-closed

46. LOL @ Enuff
    It is called being PITHY…
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Pi**Y…?
    Sr. Malaprop … having trouble with your ‘ss’s … ???
    You interested in joining a ‘REAL REAL’ party Enuff?
    We got some vacancies in the BBE constituency councils…
    You would like the wuk…..

47. @ Miller
    The person(s) who deliberately cause(s) a problem should not be trusted to solve the same problem.
    …actually cannot be EXPECTED….

So are you agreeing that BOTH the BLP and DLP shiite-hounds are INCAPABLE of solving our problems?

Boss…
    If you were not already on the ‘other side’, Bushie would send you an invite to the BBE constituency council too…. but we don’t want no Trojan Horses…

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea December 10, 2017 at 11:20 AM

Your mouth can be likened to a windmill; swinging in any direction the wind is blowing.

You don’t want the miller to join the BBE genetically-engineered family

Now you want to ban me from your current johnny-come-lately Solutions Barbados bandwagon of which Grenville No.2 is the Number One chief, cook and bottle washer as the solution to everything under the Bajan sun.

You are making Grenville out to be some modern-day Bajan Moses washed and blessed in the blood of the lamb of engineering.

What both you and Grenville should ‘overstand’ is that ‘what’ you are unwittingly recommending for the proper management of Barbados is just a long dose of COMMONSENSE to get rid of the existing managerial constipation choking up the socio-economic system.

ISO 9001 is nothing more than a marriage between technical competence and Commonsense.

By putting the cart of degrees earned from the paper qualification mills before the horse called ‘Commonsense’, Barbados now finds itself between a rock made of jobby and a hard place full of sewage.

49. Exactly Miller….
    That is what ISO is….common sense ..and a small dose of technical competence.

It is as welcome in Barbados as is cleanliness embraced.
    We like brass bowlery…

50. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bushman….this one is even better..a note to TripAdvisor.

“We cancelled our reservation for Hastings area, and are now in Speightstown area. Here there is also an intense sewer smell in certain areas, but thanks God not near our place, so we don’t feel it, and we learned to avoid the stinky areas. Add to this the cement plant nearby, blasting heavy smoke in the air, and for the life of me I can not imagine anyone calling Barbados beautiful or considering it suitable for tourism. Honestly!!! We travelled throughout the island, and we found Barbados to be the dirtiest country we have ever been to (DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY!), with garbage and litter strewn everywhere. And I assure you – it’s not the tourists to blame, because it’s the same situation everywhere on the island, even in the countryside where there are not many tourists. It’s a major epidemic waiting to happen. We are never coming here again! Too bad I can not post pictures to show you how it looks around. Stay away, people! It’s not worth it! Barbados is waaaay overrated. The same goes for the beaches – those that are not rocky, are either sewer contaminated, or are having harsh waves. You will rate Barbados beaches as good only if you have not actually seen a good beach. Add to this the very dangerous, poisonous Manchineel trees that grow in abundance on the beaches, and you get the picture… Even the so called platinum coast is disappointing. Go elsewhere! Mexico, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Cuba, Aruba, Bahamas, Bermudas, Cayman Islands, etc. – they all have fine white sand beaches that are prettier, calmer, CLEANER, and so much better. If I have to characterize Barbados with one word, it’s cesspool. Never, never again! Anonymous Tourist”