Introduction

Elton ‘Elombe’ Mottley

As we celebrated our 50th Anniversary, the question came to my mind about where will we be in the next 50 years? Even tho I ask myself this question, I am not expecting that my imagination can provide you with concrete images of what that culture will be. I donโ€™t intend to even try, but what I would like to do is offer you a framework of ideas to consider.

Barbados is an island of 166 square miles sitting in the middle of a sea with our nearest neighbour 100 miles away. We are not on the beaten path. Any one coming to Barbados has to have a purpose. Can we create a purpose or several purposes to make it worth the while for people from wherever to step off that beaten path and fly or sail to Barbados? When they do, how can we persuade them to pay us for that privilege? What do we as Bajans have that has the power to make Barbados such a desirable destination?

Let us look at what we have that we think are unique:

• Our beaches. Not at all unique. Everybody got beaches. But if they come our beaches are a bonus not a reason.
  • Our weather. Not unique either. Everybody got weather. But if they come our weather is a bonus not a reason.
  • Our environment. Not unique either. Everybody got environment, some with rivers, trees, pristine agricultural lands, golf courses. But if they come our pristine environment is a bonus not a reason.
  • Our people. Not unique either. Everybody got people. But if they come we must be the reason not a bonus.

What do we have that would create the reason and desire for visitors to step off the beaten track?

There was a time when cricket attracted the world because of the quality of our cricketers. In 1966, we had 10 players in the West Indies Test Team. We played cricket between houses, on raw ground, and on hillsides where the umpire had to tell the batsman that the bowler was coming up. The game has changed but have we changed? Partially. Franklyn Stevenson is showing one way it is done with his cricket school.

In order to survive as an independent country, we must sell the world

• The pleasure of knowledge, health, caring, happiness and blissfulness by creating a desire for non Bajans to want to remain or go and come back again, and again. We will rent them that time to be with us. That rental is a combination of accommodation, food, transportation, entertainment and service. We must be the landlords.
  • Barbados as the center of education and health across the internet to the world โ€“ websites mastering social media as businesses to sell Barbados as the center of Education. ( e.g. Airbnb)

Barbados must develop the reputation across the Caribbean as having the best education and health systems in the Caribbean. If it isnโ€™t so, let us make it so. Our goal is to market Barbados as BARBADOSThe CENTER for EDUCATION in the Americas.

EDUCATION INDUSTRY

BARBADOS – The CENTER for EDUCATION

UNIVERITIES

Our goal should be to have 10-15 Universities based in Barbados by 2025. A major part of this number should be Medical, Law, and Religious Universities.

MEDICAL SCHOOLS

• When the new hospital is built, it will continue to have a relationship with UWI โ€“ Cave Hill.
  • The Old (60 year) Queen Elizabeth Hospital should be leased to one of the Medical Schools to be refurbished and used as a teaching hospital and school.
  • The Old General Hospital on Jemmottโ€™s Lane should also be leased to another Medical School.
  • St Joseph Hospital in St Peter should also be leased to another Medical School.
  • The Psychiatric Hospital (Jenkins, Black Rock) occupies 25 acres and can also be leased to a Medical School. Modern Psychiatric centres should be established for psychiatric patients across the island. Alternately, this facility because of its location could be used as the location for the new National General Hospital with enough space to expand the UWI Medical School (Including nursing). UWI would most likely to get accreditation, a very important status for Caribbean Medical Schools – technicians, veterinary medicine, pharmaceutics, medical sciences, etc.

RELIGIOUS COLLEGES

• Codrington College (600+ acres) should be developed into the Barbados International Spiritual University. It has already expanded as a University of Christian Thought by training members of other Christian churches.
  • Inviting the Chinese to establish and build a Confucius Institute to teach Chinese religions and philosophical thought and language.(Already being built at UWI- Cave Hill Campus.)
  • Inviting the Japanese/South Korea similarly establish a Buddhist, Zen, South Asian Religious College.
  • Inviting Saudis and Iranians to build Islamic Colleges.
  • Invite the International Jewish community to build a Centre for Jewish Studies especially recognizing the first Jewish Synagogue in the Americas in Bridgetown.
  • Inviting India to construct a Hindu College as well as other Indian religions.
  • Invite Nigeria and other African States to build an African Religions Centre to study African traditional religions and religious thought.

BARBADOS UNIVERSITY

1. COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Extended training in the Fine Arts โ€“

o Animation

o Art

o Design

o Music

o Dance

o Theatre

o Film Production

o Fashion

o Web design

o Critical analysis

ยท Accounting

ยท Management

ยท Project Management

ยท Other traditional areas

SAMUEL JACKMAN PRESCOD POLYTECHNIC

• Extended training of Craftsmen in joinery and reproduction of Bajan furniture for export.
  • All students in wood-working stream would be required to individually or as teams reproduce a piece of traditional furniture, or sets in order to graduate.
  • Training of wide range of technical graduates in maintenance and construction.
  • Medical technologists and maintenance of highly sophisticated technologies.

ERDISTON TEACHERS COLLEGE

• Training is use of new technologies
  • Training how to use of proverbs to establish values

PRIVATE HIGH SCHOOLS FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

Barbados has had a number of private secondary schools for over 70 years viz.

The Barbados Academy, The Modern High School, The Federal High School, Mappโ€™s High School, St Winnifredโ€™s High School, St Cyprianโ€™s, (Green) Lynchโ€™s Secondary, St Ursulaโ€™s Secondary, The Co-operative High School, Seventh Day Adventist High School, Callenderโ€™s High School, Metropolitan High School, Christ Church High School, and Codrington High School.

• Barbados should encourage the use of many of the old plantation estates to establish private accredited high schools with or without boarding for local and foreign students to pursue the International Baccalaureate (IB) program.
  • Provide access to foreign students thru accredited schools, especially South and Central American students to access our High Schools so as to be immersed in English while boarding at former South Coast hotels converted into hostels.

SPORTS AND LIFE STYLE INSTITUTES

• Education opportunities – coaching in sports, health farms, health spas and related rehabilitation services to develop talents of Bajans
  • Develop support services such as volunteers for the development of Sports in Primary, Secondary and National meetings.
  • UWI and its Institutes must conduct research aimed at encouraging new businesses that can be developed on the internet, in marketing of our music, artistic and cultural industries outlining the types of jobs and services required and existing Worldwide. This would include festivals that could hire our artistes to perform as professionals during the summer and fall. We need to capitalize on the Rhianna Effect.
  • Barbadians should also be encouraged to develop and practice the art of Sticklicking and Road Tennis.

HERITAGE

HERITAGE AND GENERAL NATIONAL EDUCATION

• To strengthen the moral authority and respect for people, Barbadian students should be taught proverbs as training tools from preschool to the end of their secondary schooling.
  • NIFCA – the platform for exposing our youth to the arts, should emphasize its developmental role by establishing competition first at all primary schools where other students, teachers, family and friends could see their childrenโ€™s works.
  • The winners in each category will go to the Parish level where they compete again and the winners next to the National Level. This process would also allow parents and friends to once again follow the childrenโ€™s work and successes at all levels.
  • The finals would consist of those winners from the Parish level.
  • Parents and teachers would be encouraged to be judges alongside National judges who in their deliberations would raise the knowledge base of the parents, friends and the community at large thru the discussions.
  • The establishment of a series of voluntary National Orchestras and choirs to perform in public regularly at the National Bandstands โ€“ The Hastings Rocks, The Bay Street Esplanade, Queenโ€™s Park, George V Park, Speightstown Esplanade and other areas. The purpose is to re-develop a solid heritage of musicians to enhance the quality of life in Barbados. We did it all before with Church Choirs and Village Choirs.

LANDSHIP

One of the critical requirements for Bajans is the need to strengthen our own self-awareness and self-esteem of what and who is a Bajan. The Barbados Landship Movement is unique to Barbados and gives us the singular identity second to none. The survival of the Landship Movement must be part of our National Identity. Without it we have a face without a nose.

The only country that has a Landship Movement is Barbados. Landship for adults will die out because most of the communal conditions e.g. savings and burial benefits have been replaced by National Insurance and individual insurance. This unique Bajan indigenous institution should not be allowed to die. It must be recreated and reimaged as an organization in Primary Schools to inculcate several traditional values from the Original Landship plus. We had no qualms of introducing Boy Schools, Girl Guides, Church Lad Brigades, Mother Unions and Cadet Corps because it was mandated by the British Government. All of these organizations required discipline, cooperation, and development of leadership skills

The Landship Movement should be converted into a youth movement like the Boy Scouts or Girl Guides or cadets to maintain this unique aspect of Bajan Culture. These youth Landships would become crucibles of this traditional dance and its musical heritage. Competitions with each other in a series of categories will be organized annually.

The former Barbados National Bank, now Republic Bank, had developed a business program for students that can be incorporated into this Landship Movement. This program can be used to teach money management and savings culture.

CARTS CULTURE

Over the years, Bajans developed a series of carts to move goods and provide services to each other. When compared with Caribbean Islands, the Bajan carts are unique in their design and use. Some of these carts should be adapted and used to provide modern day services while maintaining and projecting our unique heritage. These carts can be decorated and painted to capture individuality of the vendor.

• Donkey Cart taxis to move visitors from Cruise Ships to Bridgetown and around Resort Areas like St Lawrence Gap, Holetown and Speightstown
  • Bread Carts can be converted to serve hot or cold foods at temporary roadside locations.
  • Rumshops recreated as restaurants serving indigenous food as cuisine with appropriate training available.
  • Snowball Carts selling Bajan ices with locally made fruit juices โ€“ Bajan Cherry, Bajan shaddock, Sugar apple, Golden Apple, Packaged Sucking Cane (made from earlier soft varieties), Sea Grape, Guava, Gooseberries, et al
  • Luncheon Carts for food
  • Coconut Carts

MASTER CRAFTSMEN OF BARBADOS

Furniture

There is no doubt that furniture craftsmen/joiners of the past have produced a fantastic array of unique designs. Let us imbue that furniture with the prestige that it deserves`. The palaces/warehouses that some of this furniture is located are

• Government House, St Michael
  • Ilaro Court, St Michael
  • The Barbados Museum, St Michael
  • Grantley Adams House โ€“Tyrol Cot, Spooners Hill, St Michael
  • The Barbados National Trust Headquarters โ€“ Wildey Great House, St Michael
  • Keith Melvilleโ€™s Sunbury Plantation House, St Phillip

There are many other collections across Barbados that can be used to earn income for the owners as well as for the country.

Training of persons to produce reproductions should follow the same path as training artistes for all types of endeavours โ€“ art, music, dance, writing, programing, etc. All Wood Working graduates should be required to reproduce a piece of this furniture in order to graduate. Do it once, do it again! On visits to these locations there are signs indicating cost of item plus shipping costs to rest of the world. Exactly what fine artists do. All art work would be signed and certified as authentic reproductions by a special Reproductions Standard Institute. Marketing will be thru Internet web sites using National ID Codes.

Why are there no tours of Government House? Or Ilaro Court?

• Bajan Furniture galleries where signed reproductions are also marketed and sold with short histories.

ยท Chattel houses should be used for restaurants, boutiques especially in the growth areas of St Phillip, St John, St Peter and St Lucy.

ยท

Each area needs to be given prestige thru media and the internet coverage

Computing systems. Knowledge systems. Cognitive. Will still need people contact.

Pottery

Chalky Mount Barbados should be designated as a National Brand as is given to Cropover. This brand should be accessible to all potters operating out of IDC Facilities Island wide. BIDC needs to change its focus to giving full support to developing local entrepreneurs in these areas.

ATTITUDES โ€“ Service and Servitude

Actions needed to strengthen our perception of self.

National Heroes

• A popular edition of book on National Heroes to be sold for $5-10.
  • Comic book versions of National Heroes for primary schools.
  • Cartoon video stories about National heroes.

The Bajan Experience

• Recreate Rumshops architecturally and spatially not just in the country but in the city extended to the street. Baxterโ€™s Rd, Nelson St, Roebuck St, Palmetto St
  • Use of Donkey cart taxis to move tourists from harbour to the Inner Bridgetown Mall (Swan St, Broad Street, Trafalgar Square, Palmetto St.)
  • Street food using traditional bread carts to serve from
  • Chattel house as hotels etc.

The Rastafarians of Temple Yard

• Rastas have been around for the last 40 years, manufacturing products, many inbreeding designs, use of hard leather limiting their market primarily to fellow Rastas.
  • Need to develop wider designs especially to reach the visitor and middle class market.
  • Need access to better quality leathers and other products like the high quality leathers made from the Barbados Black Belly sheep skins.

Barbados Black Belly Sheep

The Barbados Black Belly Sheep is a unique animal that evolved in Barbados over time. Studies have shown that the mutton obtained from the Black Belly Sheep produces high quality Triple B (Barbados Black Belly) lamb for both the local and visitorsโ€™ market. It also produces some of the finest leather from its skins.

To support the Black Belly development program, unused agricultural lands must be converted into grass pastures and/or growing miamossi plants, also known as river tamarind (Leucaena leucocephala).

This plant exists in Barbados and has a high protein content suitable for feeding ruminants when it is still green. It was introduced by the Ministry of Agriculture in the Pine but has been allowed to grow wild to maturity scattering its seeds across neighbouring fields. Penalties must be implemented against land owners who allow their lands to become infested by those responsible for administering environmental standards.

This plant if managed correctly, will be an important feed ingredient for the Barbados Black Belly sheep. It is from these animals that we can produce –

• Leather for leather workers (Consultant – Dr Leroy McClean) โ€“ bags, shoes, amulets, hair products, books marks, wrist bands, earrings, jackets, head bands,, etc
  • Food (Consultant – Rosemary Parkinson)
  • Reduce foreign exchange spent on importing animal feeds.

Industrial Development Corporation Services

The Industrial Development Corporation must be restructured to invest in the development of future Bajan entrepreneurs by bringing them together in one location at vastly reduced rent to allow them to feed off of each other. IDC is a landlord of buildings at the industrial Estate outside the Bridgetown Harbour. These buildings are deteriorating and are not being maintained. Certainly IDC could offer discounted rates to bring young entrepreneurs together to feed off of each other to supply services to the outside world.

• Legal Drafting for countries, states and municipalities worldwide
  • Computer software development
  • Video and sound studios
  • Graphic artists
  • Heritage joiners
  • Clothing Designers and manufacturing
  • Animation

Bridgetown Port Duty Free Facilities

Access to duty free facilities at the port should be two-fold:

• Wholesalers who sell to retailers.
  • Retailers who sell to visitors.

This will allow retailers to use traditional concepts of hawkers to sell products in various combinations. This tradition of bargaining and combining products allows them to determine their own profits but more importantly share in the spoils of the hospitality industry. These newly defined hawkers at the port will be costumed having acquired training at the Barbados Community College (BCC) and Barbados Institute of Management and Productivity (BIMAP).

Other Developments

• Dr Carmichael – Restoration of Facades on Roebuck St, Swan St, Bay St etc
  • Paul Altman – Enhancement of Jewish Synagogue, oldest in the New World of the Americas.
  • Tyrol Cot Chattel House Village should be a functional village redesigned as a mini tenantry village with a bakery providing freshly baked traditional breads, rumshop, chickens, palings, bread carts, snowball carts, coconut carts, troubadours, et al.
  • Villagers should wear period costumes.

This is about US. This is about Jobs. This is about Pride. This is about Survival.

Baba Elombe Mottley
January 1, 2017.

969 responses to “The Next FIFTY YEARS of PRIDE and INDUSTRY!”

1. Sir Maurice Byer – Public Health and Sanitation

Sir Frank Ramsey – Maternal Health

There must have been a third doctor who has to have been responsible for the Barbados Family Planning Association.

I do not know who it was.

It was set up in 1954, before I was born.

It was not uncommon for women to produce 14 or more children.

It happened in both lower and upper class families.

A mother has difficulty dealing with that many children and in many cases some will die in infancy.

Queen Victoria for example produced 9 children.

Granville Sharpe was one of 14. Only 5 of his 8 brothers survived infancy.

My grandmother had 7 and her mother 2, one of which died very early in life.

Her grandmother produced 10.

My grandfather was one of 7 children.

The introduction of the Barbados Family Planning addressed reproductive health.

I have heard of a Doctor Hawkins and wonder if any one knows how Family Planning got established in Barbados and if he was associated.

In later years Sir Clyde Gollop was associated but I doubt he was in at the inception and he was not a doctor.

This was another way infant mortality and maternal health was addressed, by giving control over reproduction.

2. @ Simple Simon
    …why don’t you stop talking out our business?
    Bad enough that people like John already see Bushie as nothing but a boy-in-the-yard, you now gone an let them know Bushie’s poor diet as a young lad…?

…anyway we were better off than you were – cause we had the occasional tin of ‘herring in tomato sauce’ (for eight persons) ..to go with the rice, which sometimes had split peas or green peas from the garden…

3. @John September 10, 2017 at 1:44 PM “If there was all this starvation, it would not only have been children but adults who died.”

ALL Barbados scholars KNOW that where there is a shortage of food that the children with their smaller more fragile bodies are more likely to die.

Even I, a Simple Simon knows this.

4. There was hunger in Barbados, there was starvation in Barbados, people, mostly children died from hunger/malnutrition/starvation.

Even today it exists.

Children are the most vulnerable.

In the US there is a department of Government that will remove a child from its parent or parents if the child is threatened in any way.

Parental neglect is definitely a problem anywhere in the world.

Government provides food stamps for the poorest so there is no excuse.

I first went to the US in 1980 and the way children were protected always amazed me.

My niece at an extremely young age once told her mother, my sister, that she was going to call that department to report the discipline she received.

Completely different to Barbados.

In Barbados I think we are getting there and we have come along way.

A lot of people did a lot of things to ameliorate it.

I was blessed to grow up in a household based on love.

Not much money to go around but always had food.

To this day I clear my plate completely because of the admonition I always got to do so because “there are children all over the world who don’t have any”.

I wish I had not been so programmed as losing weight is a beast!!

I was one of three children, I see you were one of eight … no doubt it was tough … but you had loving parents who doted on you all.

All children are not that lucky.

If you read MoneyBrain you will see his parents moved to save $1.00 a month in rent so the baby could have more food.

Sounds like he was one of two.

Government instituted the School Meals Service to address the situation way back in the 60’s so the deprivation people, in particular children, experienced is known.

Prior to the 60’s the Mothers’ Unions at Churches and many other organisations provided charity for the underprivileged.

Various service clubs came into existence and became involved … I served in one!!

Things have definitely changed for the better in this aspect of life in Barbados.

…. one thing we cannot whine about when we berate our governments and their performance over the past 50 years.

So we got one keeper from the past 50 years.

We don’t have to pelt way everything.

5. https://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2017/09/10/new-book-on-canadian-racism-firmly-refutes-were-not-as-bad-as-the-us-sentiment-paradkar.html

“Self-deception has repeatedly served as a bedrock of cruelty. It has transformed greed into gallant heroism, where invasion of lands is adventure, displacement of natives is about saving the savages, and theft and self-enrichment is ingenuity. It has rationalized subjugation as the โ€œnatural orderโ€ of things…and offer us a bold, unblinking and frankly, shocking rebuttal to the widespread sentiment that โ€œweโ€™re not as bad as the U.S…white settler society was not benign. It brutalized physically and psychologically. Black women would be beaten, sexually abused, used for โ€œbreedingโ€ and have their children torn from them.โ€

6. Bush Tea September 10, 2017 at 8:08 PM #
    @ Simple Simon
    โ€ฆwhy donโ€™t you stop talking out our business?
    Bad enough that people like John already see Bushie as nothing but a boy-in-the-yard, you now gone an let them know Bushieโ€™s poor diet as a young ladโ€ฆ?

Don’t worry, my Grandmother served in the Christ Church Mother’s Union, my mother was active in her church and I served through the 90’s in a Service Organisation!!

My Grandmother was alive long before there was independence, mother too!!!

My Grandmother’s contemporary was Sir Randall Phillips.

People paid him with chickens for the medical attention they received!!

So, I know people were poor!!

One thing I came along and found in my stint in the 90’s in a service club at one of the Children’s homes in Christ Church was just how overwhelmed they were with physical comforts.

I guess in former times the Childrens’ Home would have been called an orphanage.

I realized my civic duties lay elsewhere so directed my energies to a different end.

7. Black women would be beaten, sexually abused, used for โ€œbreedingโ€ and have their children torn from them.โ€

Not only black women

8. Bush Tea wrote ” The discussion on racism is NOT a distraction from Elombeโ€™s blog……You are misguided. ”

Since you claim to know everything I will cease and desist from commenting on this blog.

9. Good plan Hants…..cause..
    You behaving like the damn woman at the well…

For the umpteenth time – Bushie NEVER claimed to know everything… It is YOU that started that rumour on BU…

As the original bushman told the woman from Samaria at the well, “if you knew to whom you were speaking, …far from me asking you for a drink of water – YOU would be asking me for a drink of LIVING water… ”
    At the end of that famous discussion, the woman ran into town excitedly telling people there, that she had met a man who seemed ‘to know eva shiite….’

It like it is a bushman thing yuh… !!!

…and note that the lotta talk happened ‘at the well’ … which, like the later ‘stand-pipe’ was the blogs of those days…
    Murda!!

10. John should spend a little less time in the archives and in the cemeteries and a lot more time talking to real, real living people, we black Barbadian people who share this rock with him.

We are not hard to find.

We are everywhere.

11. Simple Simon

You have come a long way.

You are blessed.

Find persons less well off than you and give back.

Find something that needs fixing and fix it.

You can do it through the various service organisations, Lions Clubs, Kiwanis etc, through your church or through a myriad of other avenues.

“For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall much be required; and to whom men have committed much, of him they will ask the more”

Get going!!

12. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Do we know whether those Caribbean nations that avoided the worse excesses of the current hurricanes have offered their assistance to those unfortunate countries that have been destroyed by Irma and Jose?

I’ve just heard a report on the BBC that ten billion dollars will be required to rebuild those Caribbean countries that were devastated by those hurricanes.

Given the fact that the vast majority of Caribbean countries economies are heavily tourist dependent we may need to ask a searching question: where next for our region?

The flip side of this devastation is that we may finally diversify the region’s economy. The politicians will now be under pressure to usher in drastic social and political reform. These hurricanes have exposed the mis-management of Caribbean governments. Let’s us see how events unravel.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/hurricane-irma-latest-fighting-streets-looting-food-supplies-military-st-martin-caribbean-a7939921.html

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/irma-hurricane-jose-latest-caribbean-recovery-cuba-st-martin-a7939886.html

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Don’t mind John…he still thinks he has some kinda power to dictate how black people should think, believe, do and say on the island, the Johns are spent forces, not worth listening to, only good for staying far away from to prevent their blighted KARMA riddled past from infecting everyone eith their duseased minds..

The blight emanating from the racists on the island who are still fighting to preserve and conserve it to continue to be parasitically attached to the majority population, must be removed, every last cursed element, remnant, stench and trace of it must be scrubbed clean off the island so that the cursed history of racism and white supremacy will only remain in books to teach and warn future generations of the majority population of bajans starting from kindergarten level on upward, how to prevent any repeats of enabling, condoning or accepting those dark forces of centuries old evil handed dpwn from evil european ancestors, that has captured and enveloped generation after generation of the minority likes of John and from which they can never escape until they are put in a box in the ground and their evil intent toward the black race, sealed in with them….that evil is real and has been living and breathing for centuries……but it’s dying days are fast approaching, just do not feed it…..while…

Karma is on the march.

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

the Johns are spent forces, not worth listening to, only good for staying far away from to prevent their blighted KARMA riddled past from infecting everyone WITH the masked hatred being spewed FROM their DISEASED MINDS…..haunted and tormented,

……they are demons consigned and bound to walk the earth in darkness for many thousands of years going forward to pay for theirs and their dead ancestors crimes against humanity for the last 500 years, the darkness is real and all encompassing, stay away from it or they will pull you in with them, misery loves company.

15. @Hants

B’dos PM to receive report on how citizens view island 50 years after independence
    Sunday, September 10, 2017

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) โ€” The Barbados government is to receive a report on Tuesday outlining what citizens want to reclaim, retain or discard, in keeping with the questions posed by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart last year during this islandโ€™s 50th anniversary of political independence from Britain.
    โ€œBarbados At 50: The Barbados National Values Assessment 2016 Report, was undertaken by the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies and will be presented to Stuart during an Evening of Appreciation, on Tuesday.
    The report is expected to inform government of the views of the population in relation to where โ€œwe are as a people at this juncture of our 50th anniversary as an independent nationโ€.
    Stuart has said he is eagerly looking forward to receiving the report and having a national dialogue on where the country should go, particularly in light of several recent incidents among young people that have led to concern by Barbadians, and generated widespread discussion.
    โ€œIt is my hope that this important research would be the platform for a series of in-depth studies that would inform our policy formulation, development and implementation over the next 50 years and beyond,โ€ he said.
    In January last year, Stuart had asked Barbadians โ€œWhat are those features of Barbadian life that we have lost and that we need to reclaim? What are those features of Barbadian life that we have not lost and need to retain? and What are those features of Barbadian life we have not lost but we have to try and discard as quickly as possible?

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Uf Fruendel does not know what is destroying the society, what needs to be exterminated from the island, although he is an old ass man and has seen these demonic, destructive forces at play his whole life…he is not worth answering.

This is what demons who roam the earth do.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/amazon-tribe-uncontacted-killed-massacred-dismembered-gold-miners-brazil-funai-a7940081.html

“They were members of an uncontacted tribe gathering eggs along the river in a remote part of the Amazon. Then, it appears, they had the bad luck of running into gold miners.

Now, federal prosecutors in Brazil have opened an investigation into the reported massacre of about 10 members of the tribe, the latest evidence that threats to endangered indigenous groups are on the rise in the country.

The Brazilian agency on indigenous affairs, Funai, said it had lodged a complaint with the prosecutorโ€™s office in the state of Amazonas after the gold miners went to a bar in a town near the border with Colombia, and bragged about the killings. They brandished a hand-carved paddle that they said had come from the tribe, the agency said.”

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

And in keeping up with european lies, rewriting black history and replacing it with more lies, ya can guarantee that the Caribbean islands were also already heavily populated with indigenous black and indian natives before the white savages arrived. That is why it’s so important that Caribbean people, particularly in Barbados do ancestral genetic testing.

Californiaโ€™s Native American Identity

The original indigenous inhabitants of California were the descendants of West Africa, South Americaโ€™s Olmecs โ€“ Xi Empire, 1500 โ€“ 400 BCE, Egypt, Asia and the Pacific Islands, creating a mix-cultural nation that thrived for thousands of years in peace.

They were California blacks, or Califians. Also referred to as Khalifians.

The California blacks were one of the largest and oldest native nations in the Americas. They were the people Europeans originally referred to as the โ€œRed Man.โ€

The California blacks were followers of the principles of Maโ€™at and they studied, exulted and sought to emulate mythical Gods of Kemet. Including and most importantly: Isis, Horus and Ra. They believed in one supreme God, life after death and heaven on earth.

They were lovingly ruled by a matriarchal secession, descendants of African queens. Most notably the legendary Queen of California and the Pacific Island Nations; Califia ( Khalifia).

Their true linage, a powerful existence across the globe, has been systematically erased. A world wide genocide of biblical proportions was launched and is still in play to this very day.

American Holocaust Quotes
    โ€œThe truth of the first settlers has been deliberately changed, โ€œsaid Lowell. โ€œbecause the truth was too shameful.โ€
    โ€œThey stayed in America because their mission had been a failure, they came in search of gold.โ€ โ€“ Robert Beverly, American Holocaust
    โ€œThere is no force in Indian societies, no prisons, no officers to inflict punishment.โ€ โ€“ Ben Franklin

18. Might almost be tempted to say “God is a Bajan” except for the fact that I know He is a citizen of the world!!

19. In the past when disasters befell our neighbours we would do whatever we could to help.

When Ivan nailed Grenada there was a flotilla of boats taking supplies down until they started being met by pirates trying to take what they were bringing in aid.

I was told that by a boat owner … a white man … who was involved.

Also was told that the Gendarmes from Guadeloupe were sent in and had to fire on the groups of looters.

We never heard that in the news …. understood it was brutal

What will happen in Barbados if such a disaster befalls us?

Will the violence be justified on the grounds of past injustices?

I suspect most of the violence will be directed at black people … the majority population.

We really have lost our way … we have no core values to cling to in time of trouble.

… In plenty and in time of need …. so there were times of plenty!!

20. There goes John again …with his ”the fact that I know’…. shiite….
    Yuh mean by now you have not worked out that you do not know squat??!!?

God is no ‘citizen of the world’
    The whole damn world is nothing but a fleeting tenant of God’s creation..

…and God is no damn Bajan….

He just happens to have an adopted son who is….
    …and some tiny interest is a piece of property currently on island…
    to wit…
    ..a whacker.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Dont mind John…right now Richard Branson’s son is in Barbados getting supplies for people in BVI because the UKs response is so slow and people are starting to starve on british and french “owned” islands….Branson has been begging them to move their lazy asses to help the people because it is going to take hundreds of billions of dollars in rePAIRations to get them back to pre Irma days.

The destruction of most of those islands including his own island is total. ..

In plenty and in time of need the majority populations of the Caribbean islands always come together to help each other…as they should. …as they have done for thousands of years due to hurricanes and long before colonialism…….Barbados has no need to worry.

Just ask Branson…

The only people who are worried about that cohesiveness among the majority population are the Johns….who feel threatened by majority black populations…coming together.

The looting in the ravaged territories, though dumb in instances that do not involve securing food…is being directed toward, white, indian, syrian and other minority owned businesses.

22. John has come out with all the pathetic white apologist arguments for slavery that he could find
    such as :
    O blame muslims for atlantic slave trade
    O thank the white saints for freeing unworthy negroes
    O blacks should love each other, themselves and whites to progress

white narrative about their slavery is for racist dogs
    proving all whites, americans & brits are shallow
    and unworthy of wasting any time or thought with

slavery and reparations is all about black narrative about white crimes

https://youtu.be/L0csdw9-lg0

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

John’s god is now a weak and powerless demon….the real gods are showing their powers from the coast of Africa through the Caribbean …….and on to the Americas….

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John September 11, 2017 at 6:33 AM
    โ€œMight almost be tempted to say โ€œGod is a Bajanโ€ except for the fact that I know He is a citizen of the world!!โ€

โ€œWhat will happen in Barbados if such a disaster befalls us?โ€

And all along we thought your God was a Quaker!

Come on Sir John, you really have to make up your mind about who really is the chairman of your god business.

If your god is really โ€œa citizen of the worldโ€ then how come there arenโ€™t large Quaker-managed branches of his business in places like the Middle East and SE Asia where there are large markets of Muslims looking for salvation from the slavery-like conditions and widespread violence as being witnessed in Myanmar modern-day Burma?

On the one hand you promote yourself as a student of Science proudly โ€˜showboatingโ€™ your DNA credentials with your recently acquired African-slave ancestry accounting for a sizeable portion of the tapestry of your miscegenation.

On the other hand, in quite an enigmatic contrast, you evangelize the myth of creation of Adam &Eve as outlined in a 10,000 year old plagiarized story as told by Judeo-Christian scribes of tall tales written to massage the jingoistic egos of kings and military rulers.

If all humans were descended from Adam & Eve (or Cain and his sister) then they would share a common DNA profile with no variation to reflect European, West African, Asian, Oriental or even Neanderthal or ape.

Given your dominant Anglo-Saxon heritage it would make more convincing sense for you to promote the authenticity of the Arthurian fables and the Loch Ness monster than those of a vicious vindictive desert god called Yahweh.

You hubristically ask: โ€œWhat will happen in Barbados if such a disaster befalls us?โ€
    Shouldnโ€™t that be: โ€˜What will happen in Barbados WHEN a disaster befalls usโ€™?

As you quite rightly pointed Barbados has been hit by both tsunamis and hurricanes in the past long before the advent of your Quakers, their gods and idols with their โ€˜boughtโ€™ West African slaves and has survived as a land mass of an atoll in the Atlantic Ocean.

But it is not the land which will be the intended target of Mother Nature but the human cesspool of wickedness, injustice, hypocrisy, corruption, lack of care and total disrespect for the natural environment currently on display in Barbados.

Karma, along with her loyal handmaiden Mother Nature, has Barbados squarely in Her crosshairs.
    You, John can only be courting some sort of retributive justice for the Barbados (like what befell the fictitious Egyptian slavers) for you to argue in the most muscular of fashion on this blog that slavery was justifiably ordained by your god as it was not only good for the Quakers fleeing religious persecution in Britain but also much better for the black slaves trying to avoid their Muslim captors on that dark satanic continent.

It was only through a stroke of โ€˜Christianโ€™ fortune- like in the story of the good Samaritan- these lucky escapees boarded European-manned and Jewish financed ships and, as was the case of those 19th and early 20th century migrants from Europe heading to the Land of the Free and the Brave departed the west coast of Africa heading for safe havens in the Americas and the paradise called Barbadoes.

Itโ€™s just a matter of time before the face of the real God turns its face towards your land of smug hypocrisy, lies and deceit and indicate to Mother Nature to fix what is required to bring balance and harmony to the former land of the flying fish and sea eggs.

To extract a piece from your book of psalms, proverbs and sagacious sayings โ€˜stolenโ€™ from Sumerian/Egyptian/Babylonian works of literature:

โ€œYou turn people back to dust, saying, “Return to dust, you mortals.
    A thousand years in your sight are like a day that has just gone by, or like a watch in the night.โ€

25. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

rePAIRations….

Branson appealed for financial help, while saying that the UK government “will have a massive role to play in the recovery of its territories affected by Irma – both through short-term aid and long-term infrastructure spending.”

26. Keep calm and carry on! The northern Caribbean has been a strong competitor on the tourist market. That is history now.

Barbados is the only safe destination to build villas and mansions in the Caribbean, since Poseidon is a Bajan.

27. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Tron….not only is the hurricane season not over, but there will be hurricanes next year and every year going forward for thousands of years, just as they existed for thousands of years every year before, no island will know when it`s time will come….but come it will.

Grenada which is off the beaten path of hurricanes had 2 destructive ones within an 8 month period years ago.

it`s a very thin line.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger September 11, 2017 at 10:08 AM

Karma is one bitch isn’t she?

Britain is almost broke and with the massive Brexit bill looming large she is in no position to rescue her now discarded colonies in the Caribbean far less find resources to settle any claim of reparations for economic and moral sins of her ancestors.

The Caribbean no longer has things of economic interest to Britain since sugar and bananas are almost dead and any plans for โ€˜fair-tradingโ€™ (EPA and all that) are just figments in the minds of West Indian politicians and bureaucrats.

We don’t think with tourism being such a financially fickle and environmentally-vulnerable business it would find many investors willing to take such high risks to immediately rebuild or expand.

Now there goes the Hyatt erection becoming just a flaccid memory of a scam!

The future for the tourism business in the Caribbean is under threat given the โ€˜scientificโ€™ assumptions that storms of the magnitude being witnessed could become the norm as Nature extracts her pound of flesh for the degradation and excessive abuse of the environment by selfish greedy humans taking more from Gaia than is necessary for their survival but through pure worship of materialistic excesses.

Where do you think all those billions of litres of kerosene go when discharged from long-range jet airplanes high up in the stratosphere?

29. millertheanunnaki September 11, 2017 at 10:00 AM #
    @ John September 11, 2017 at 6:33 AM
    โ€œMight almost be tempted to say โ€œGod is a Bajanโ€ except for the fact that I know He is a citizen of the world!!โ€
    โ€œWhat will happen in Barbados if such a disaster befalls us?โ€
    And all along we thought your God was a Quaker!

I’ll explain how I think the saying “God is a Bajan” originated.

If I understand Quaker thinking they believe God’s light shines in each of us.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inward_light

So if a Quaker were to tell a gathering of his beliefs and do so in Barbados a logical conclusion could be “God is a Bajan”

30. Poseidon is a Bajan. I believe in the old powers. Chris Sinckler sacrificed more than 270,000 Barbadians to the financial market during the last nine years. Therefore, we wonยดt expect any major hurricane in Barbados for the next thousand years. Barbados suffered more hardship than any other island in the Caribbean after 2007.

31. Peter

Before GOB provided a safety net for mothers and children that work was done by dedicated women, wives and mothers of “White” Bajan planters.

Here is one shining example!!

https://barbadosdialect.page.tl/UNSUNG-HERO-OF-ST-.-PHILIP.htm

I have no doubt Dr. Humby was motivated by the same spirit that motivated them.

Once he raised hell in Barbados, put a grenade under Sir Grantley and pulled the pin the GOB had no choice but to provide a health care budget that addressed mothers and children.

Sir Frank Ramsey’s work was thus made easier.

Sir Maurice Byer’s likewise.

… and whoever the unnamed pioneer in Family Planning was.

It isn’t surprising that he/she is unnamed.

Bajans did not like talking about family planning.

I went to school with a Brethren fellow … he left in 5th form as usual and quickly married.

You might remember the Brethren’s at HC.

… usually did vocational subjects, invariably left in 5th form and did not attend prayers.

Even ate separately.

He fathered 8 children.

He was one of 12 children himself!!

If I get time I will tell a true story about just how reticent Bajans were about Family Planning.

32. Simple Simon

Try also the Red Cross and the Salvation Army.

Involve the younger members of your family and show them it is the right thing to help people less fortunate than themselves.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I am informed this morning that the offensive and misleading interpretive signage that I complained about has been removed from Cotton Tower. Now the job is merely to get it replaced with the truth.

34. Good start Peter.
    A man who actually GETS THINGS DONE….
    Now…
    Let us see if you can somehow ‘fix’ your old doltish school mate…..

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Who says Barbados always has “implementation deficit disorder?” Complain on social media on Saturday morning, and prompt action before Monday noon. I’d tip my hat if I wore one.

36. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Karma is one bitch isnโ€™t she?”

Lol…the irony is hilarious Miller….we have now moved from discussing the dreaded, to the likes of John, word reparations for blacks, to the bankrupting words billion dollar rePAIRations for european “owned” islands in the Caribbean…

…..and KARMA keeps marching along…..ya noticed everyone against reparations are really, really quiet on BU, they gone dark.

“Now there goes the Hyatt erection becoming just a flaccid memory of a scam!”

Lol…that one is even better, let me see them putting a 15 story hotel on a little pile of sand on Browne’s beach , with the Irmas capable of sucking up 30 and 40 feet of water from 2 beaches all in one day, I saw hotels toppled, split in half, rooms ripped open, doors peeled back, residents of St. Martin said the world is not being given the accurate death tolls….

“Where do you think all those billions of litres of kerosene go when discharged from long-range jet airplanes high up in the stratosphere?”

Lol…fuel for the Irmas and Joses..lol

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Kudos PLT…..silence is acceptance, never stay silent.

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I was planning to take a trip to the french isles, St. Martin and St. Barts, but just the thought of getting stuck on any island post destructive hurricane Irma or whoever…., and the horrors being reported by people who currently are, no food, no water…….never mind, am good.

Tourism will slow down significantly and for a while.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

These destructive flooding, monsoons, cyclones, typhoons are not currently just happening in the Caribbean and North America, from Africa to all across Asia in the last month, there have been thousands of deaths from mudslides and freak weather…..

let’s see how dumb and greedy governments on the island and across the Caribbean remain and continue running down tourism, which cannot even pay their bills, instead of securing their islands infrastructure.

“The world is going to be hit by more horrifying weather events like the hurricanes Irma and Harvey. And it isn’t at all ready.

Countries across the globe need to start planning their response to such events or they are at risk of only allowing rich people to survive them, experts have warned. Global warming is likely to trigger a run of extreme weather events, they say, and like the recent hurricanes they may unfairly hit the poor.

At the moment, such events are rare โ€“ but with time, such cyclones are going to occur less often but with far more intensity. The fact that we have seen two such extraordinary events in one week should be a sign of what is coming, they said.”

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Here is the text that I am going to tell the Barbados National Trust to use on the replacement signage:

The British built Cotton Tower as one of a chain of six signal stations in response to the revolt of enslaved people in Barbados in 1816 known as Bussaโ€™s rebellion. Although this rebellion had been quashed within three days it led the British colonial authorities to state that it โ€œbehoves us to be upon guard, to keep a watch that we may not again be caught so shamefully unprepared.โ€ There would probably have been two or three soldiers stationed here, armed with standard issue Brown Bess muskets. They relayed messages from station to station to the Regiment at the Garrison by hoisting semaphore arms and flags which have not survived. The small apertures in the walls all around Cotton Tower are called embrasures; their function is to allow the occupying soldiers to aim their weapons at anyone who approached the tower without exposing themselves to return fire. Later the structures were used for non-military purposes related to shipping or weather warnings until they were superseded by telephone communication. Cotton Tower was opened in 1819 and named after Lady Caroline Cotton, daughter of Lord Combermere, British Governor of Barbados. Lady Combermere laid the foundation stone located within the building. To see other British military installations, please visit Gun Hill in St George, Grenade Hall Forest and Signal Station in St Peter, and the Garrison Historic Area in St Michael.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@John September 11, 2017 at 10:51 AM
    Iโ€™ll explain how I think the saying โ€œGod is a Bajanโ€ originated.
    If I understand Quaker thinking they believe Godโ€™s light shines in each of us.
    So if a Quaker were to tell a gathering of his beliefs and do so in Barbados a logical conclusion could be โ€œGod is a Bajanโ€

At least we are getting somewhere to an understanding of the common concept of God.
    Given your exposure to scientific information you clearly know the main source of the Light which is shone on this orb called earth.

So the Quakers should let their light shine among those who are in darkness.
    Barbados is overflowing with religion with Christianity having the largest share of the market bordering on a monopolistic position.

Why don’t the Quakers, in their zealous proselytizing, establish points of light distribution in those Islamic countries to drive the love of Saytan out and the fear of Jehovah in?
    Then you will be able say that not only is god a โ€œBajanโ€ but he is also a reformed terrorist and ISIS trained suicide bomber.

As you can โ€˜seeโ€™ there is a god shining in each one of us with a star as a halo. Even that devil called the BU Bush-whacker-man has his own BBE star boy as his adopted Sky father.
    John here is a reward for you as a token of appreciation of the efforts you are displaying in walking through the door of enlightenment.

It is taken right from the โ€˜sameโ€™ concocted book you have blindly adopted as the font of all knowledge without checking its Literary DNA involving many cultural incarnations and products of contrived academic miscegenation.

There is no wonder why you have shed you ‘slavish’ name of ignorance and have wisely adopted the name “John” as proof of your ability to be converted to the Light of Truth.

โ€œThis is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all.

If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth.

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.

If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.โ€

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ah guess the truth was bound to come out one day ah guess today is the day…they themselves are unraveling their lies within lies. Centuries worth of white lies and fraud being exposed, not it’s to educate and expose these white lies to black people in Barbados, across the Caribbean and around the world…and half the job will be done,

http://atlantablackstar.com/2015/04/09/6-scientific-theories-and-facts-about-the-origin-of-europeans-that-contradicts-the-white-supremacy-narrative/3/

First Europeans Were Not White

When a forensic artist paired up with BBC for a special report, he unraveled one of the greatest myths of the white supremacy narrative. Forensic artist Richard Neave used ancient bone fragments that may have been up to 36,000 years old to create what is believed to be one of the more accurate depictions of the first Europeans. The resulting human, however, revealed the face of a sub-Saharan African rather than a white man.

hite people often place themselves deep into ancient history, but a team of scientists recently discovered that the likelihood of white people existing for as long as other races was slim to none. According to Gary Leupp, a history professor at Tufts University, explains, โ€œThe new research supports the theory that the spread of agriculture in Europe beginning only around 6,000 years ago favored survival of people with the genetic mutation producing fair skin.โ€ This ultimately suggests that โ€œwhite people in Europeโ€ may have only appeared โ€œas recently as 7,000 years ago.โ€

The origins of blond hair have long been credited to the โ€œgenetic legacy of Europeans,โ€ but research suggests that the genetic mutation that causes blond hair actually formed independently from any racial barriers. โ€œA new study fingers a random mutation instead, suggesting that blond hair evolved independently at least twice in human history,โ€ a 2012 report by Science Magazine revealed. Sean Myles, a geneticist at Nova Scotia Agricultural College in Canada, explained that the new findings โ€œhelp deconstruct a Eurocentric view of the world in thinking about where blond hair comes from.โ€

The Trait of Blue Eyes Also May Not Have Originated From White Europeans

Despite a general belief that white people are the original carriers of the trait of blue eyes, a report by National Geographic reveals the existence of a blue-eyed mummy uncovered by archaeologists working at Peruโ€™s Huaca Pucllana ruins. A team of researchers from Copenhagen University also unveiled that the earliest common ancestor for those with blue eyes was likely a dark-skinned man born as recently as 6,000 to 10,000 years ago in a region near the Black Sea. The boy in the photo above is, perhaps, the best example of a Black African, non-mulatto, non-albino, with blue eyes

Many European People From the Caucasus Mountains Have โ€˜Black Negroโ€™ Origins

The very name โ€œCaucasianโ€ originates from 19th century anthropologist Johann F. Blumenbachโ€™s belief that the purest white people came from the Caucasus Mountains. As it turns out, however, these people are far from โ€œpureโ€ white people. Many of the people who originated from the Caucasus Mountains were actually classified as โ€œblackโ€ in ancient history and had strong links to โ€œBlack”

http://atlantablackstar.com/tag/black-europeans/

People Classified as White Werenโ€™t Present at Dawn of Civilization

Despite the belief that civilization started with the white race, enough evidence has surfaced to suggest that white people werenโ€™t around long enough to have originated civilization. โ€œWe all thought that Caucasian meant the so-called white race, (actually a pink-pale colored tribe from Central Asia) who today dominate Europe, America and the rest of the world,โ€ an article by Africa Resource noted about the modern research suggesting the white race is only a few thousand years old and much younger than other cultures. โ€œThis tribe was the last civilized tribe of humanity, yet it claims to be the first world nation.โ€

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I am happy and feel blessed to be the one to share this information warning who may not have known before about these frauds on the earth..the ones who denigrate the Black race and other races.

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

NOW…..itโ€™s to educate and expose these white lies to black people in Barbados, across the Caribbean and around the worldโ€ฆand half the job will be done.

PLT…the truth does not hurt or destroy who can see it, only lies do.

45. @PLT
    I have been observing the debate between yourselsf and John, but good manners prevent me from intervening in a row between two old boys from that place.
    However, I do not know about the history of the Quakers in Barbados, but in the UK they have an impressive record: most banks, including Barclays, were founded by Quaker families; companies such as Rowntree, Seebohm, Jordans, Cadbury’s, and others were founded by Quaker families and, even now, still continue to do good work.
    Jordan’s, the breakfast and cereal company, even has a village named after itself in Buckinghamshire. What is interesting about Jordan’s village is that no alcohol is allowed to be sold in the village. So, years ago, when playing cricket in the village, we would all rush off to the border here the pubs and restaurants were.
    There is Bourneville village in Birmingham, which was built for workers at Cadbury’s. Quakers have a central place in British social history.
    If Weber thought capitalism was rooted in protestantism, he missed out on the social gospel of the Quakers.
    What they did in Barbados I do not know. Our academic historians do not write about our social history, which makes Elombe Mottley’s place in our popular cultural history even more important. Future generations ill celebrate him as a hero.

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Barclays bank…famous for funding the slave trade along with so many other savages, ah guess John forgot to mention or boast about that quaker involvement when he was extolling the nonexistent virtues of those beasts….lol

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin,
    I like the Quakers. They are one of a handful of Christian sects that I respect specifically because of their social gospel. Sadly, John’s Quaker affiliation has done little to curtail his White supremacist ideology.

48. Hal

That’s how the Industry got into our motto …. Pride and Industry.

… but the idiots we have become can’t figure it out!!

It is a Quaker value.

The reason that Quakers were so prominent in industry is because it was all they could do to make a living.

They could not go to university, could not serve in Parliament as they would not swear an oath of allegiance to the monarch, would not join the army or navy, would not become a priest in the C of E … yet they could not practice their beliefs and pay fines without a source of income … and they were persecuted from 1648 to1689 when the Act of Toleration was passed.

That’s why they came to the New World, Barbados first, because the Puritans of New England also persecuted them … Church of England!!

So, they went into industry.

You will find them prominent in the Industrial Revolution, Railways, Steel etc.

Google Quakers Business and you will find the extent of their involvement.

Wiki has an A to Z which also includes Sony Corporation!!!!!!!.

It is easy to show that most if not all of the early planters in Barbados were Quakers.

Once you get to that point you have to question the whole history of Barbados as is promoted now.

Then you begin to realise the extent of our bankruptcy and wonder how could it have happened!!

If you ever get to that point, reread the to and fro on this blog … but I warn you, you will do so in abject horror.

Austin/Oistin

Talk to Bobby Morris about this family.

Quaker through and through.

Ann Austin was one of the first Quaker itinerants to the New World.

She came to Barbados in 1655 with Mary Fisher (Fisher’s Pond??) then went to Boston from which they was deported after being whipped …. the Puritans!!

Quakers were viewed as being dangerous!!

It isn’t surprising to find the Austin Name in the list of the Big Six who founded BS&T!!

Manning, Wilkinson, Challenor etc. all early Barbadian Quakers!!

Quakers are few in number but it makes you realise just what a few good people can do.

There is Hope for Barbados!!

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Now if we can get the modern day quakers in Barbados to get off their lazy asses and go plough the field and plant food instead of waiting for the black masses to do it for them, while using their begging bowls to access tax dollars and pension money from the same masses through dumb governments.., we would not even be discussing any of this….

….do ya beast of burden, donkey work yaselves…stop looking for slaves in the majority population to latch on to for ya own self enrichment while paying them starvation wages, recruit beasts of burden from among ya own people..,there are over 7,000 of you, utilize them from high school..