Donald Trump declared the winner of the US presidential election by the Electoral College

We will contend that what is generally referred to as a progressive socio-economic-political flank, located primarily on the โ€˜leftโ€™ or the โ€˜left of centreโ€™, but less so on the โ€˜rightโ€™ or โ€˜right of centreโ€™, has been dead for 50 years. The media fiction, on the left, has been keeping a dead political current alive as master narrative to mek money and mislead publics.

This subject is important because if progressives in North America and Europe are as useless as the evidence demonstrates, there can be no global convergence to protect small island states, like Barbados, from the most rabid Alt-Right forces which are preparing to descend on us all.

The Alt-Rightists will soon be controlling the IMF, the World Bank, the machinery for war, among other power levers. A country like Barbados could expect to surrender any perceived advantage (soft power) accumulated over time. Begging these criminals will not help. It would be encouragement to the enemy.

We will indict these so-called progressives for the emergence of a Donald Trump. The re-emergence of far-right parties in Europe. And the hollowing-out of any gains ordinary people have made in the past. Surely, Trump must signal a new era.

We will cast these โ€˜progressivesโ€™ as a bunch of spineless sycophants who allowed, in the case of the USA, a succession of ignorant, backward, Republican minded idiots, to take power. And do so from minority positions.

Our point of departure could be 1968, you choose. Since then weโ€™ve had Nixon, Carter, Ford, Reagan, Bush 1, Clinton, Bush 2, Obama and now Trump. So from the height to the nadir of โ€˜progressivismโ€™, in this recent incarnation, weโ€™ve had less real progressives elected to the highest office than during the period of the first half of the 20th century โ€“ FDR, Teddy Roosevelt, for example.

The American โ€˜progressiveโ€™ has acquiesced so much that it is no wonder the best policy to be contrived, recently, had to do with the institutionalization of an agenda against mother nature herself.

The mainly White, highly โ€˜educatedโ€™, progressives are all about form not function. They are cowards, lacking a scintilla of courage. All about an empty rhetoric, as a means to blur the lines between themselves and the Republicans. The progressive agenda has always been a White man’s trick.

The republicans or conservatives play no such games. They see politics as war by other means and are prepared to move heaven and earth to their will.

In the Obama presidency alone, the Republicans have given us government shutdowns; illegal wars; mass defunding of social programs, developed to help the poor; filibustered an Obama Supreme Court nominee for over 300 days; gerrymandered the country to make certain of perennial control of the House of Representatives and the Senate; consistently stole elections by the disenfranchisement of primarily Black and Latino voters.

Not even when confronted with irrefutable evidence progressives have no meaning responses. They possess the worst kind of cowardice.

In North Carolina, a Republican Pat McCrory, the incumbent, was ‘defeated’ by a Democrat, Roy Cooper, in the Governorโ€™s race, 2016. But since November 8th and several recounts, McCrory has failed to concede despite a nearly unassailable 10,000 vote lead by Cooper.

What is more, the Republican State Legislature in NC, in anticipation of the defeat of the Republican Incumbent Governor, has acted to severely cut the constitutional powers of the incoming Governor. Powers the current Governor enjoyed.

In the UK. We are not convinced that the Labour Party of Jeremy Corbyn has laid out anything new. He too seems wedded to traditional progressive agendas. But the political environment has markedly changed and requires different responses from hollowed-out labour parties. Maybe the alt-Right of Farage and company will repeat, in the UK, the Trumpism progressives in the US have made flesh.

In Barbados, it may take a decade or more for us to see some official recognition of the death of progressive โ€˜idealsโ€™ as historically constructed.

All this is happening and there is hardly a whimper from the supine progressives in the Democratic Party, in the USA, or even Barbados. Maybe they are used to being in a submissive position with the ruthless Republicans driving home an advantage no minority should have.

Moreover, the case of the defeat of Clinton is indeed emblematic of the perennial weakness of progressives. With over a billion dollars and an ability to raise much more; possessing a far superior case than Trump; currently having control of the Obama presidency; and with all of these advantages, the pooch-pickers called progressives could not defeat a demagogue, a narcissist, an apolitical madman like Donald Trump.

Progressives, in an age of Trump, cannot be expected to offer any determined, courageous, resistance to the Hitler of our times. Already, we are seeing that they intend to be as supportive of Trump as they were of Bush#2. Even if they had majorities on Capitol Hill, which they do not, they will be just as compliant.

Progressives will be more interested in notions of working with the devil, Trump, than defending their constituencies which are largely anti-Trump. They are sell-outs. It is the progressives who have people of colour voting for agendas for which there is no benefit to the voter. And Black people make no demands of the system. Not even on matters of life and death, like police shootings.

Presently, progressives on popular media are still licking their wounds from the Clinton defeat. When all the sobbing and gnashing of teeth is over, aided by their media bosses, people like Rachel Maddow, Lawrence Oโ€™Donnell, Chris Matthews, Joy Reid, Anderson Cooper and others on MSNBC, as well as those on CNN, will be brought to heel. It will be unsurprising when the Trump administration demands more favourable coverage, like any dictator has, in return for access, pretenses will have to come to an end. Without access these media houses might as well play dead.

This is how the game is played by โ€˜progressiveโ€™ media bosses, on the left, who are only committed to money, in the final analysis. The same media bosses who gave Trump, in kind, the equivalent of 2.5 billion dollars in free advertising/coverage because ratings were high and the spectacle of the pre-election season meant more to their top and bottom lines, a measure of success! In sum Trump has been, and is more so now, a creature of mainstream media. And the progressives will never apologize for imposing him on us. Their attitude was that Clinton would win, regardless. Now, let them consign themselves to being the anachronistic dead-beats they have long been.

The peoples of the world were, long time ago, sold out by the progressive agenda. It was, of late, essentially a response to Communism and gave yeoman service to right-wing forces thus creating the illusion of political pluralism, mass mobilization around social needs. Now that the Right has discovered that they can create populism, of the Right as well as the left, those alt-Right forces will soon deem left-wing populism and progressives themselves totally unnecessary.

269 responses to “Mainstream Media and the End of ‘Progressives’”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Despite all the critism leveled against Obama, some are deserved, but none of his achievements can be disputed.

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/barack-obama-obamacare-legacy-donald-trump-white-americans-race-a7494001.html

“The global economy was in tatters, battered by the worst recession and banking crisis since the 1930s. In that respect at least itโ€™s been job well done. Thanks in part to the record $800bn stimulus package passed by Congress early in his administration, the US economy has staged the best recovery of any advanced industrial economy.

By past standards, growth has been nothing to write home about. But unemployment is low, stock prices have soared, and at last real earnings are starting to rise for less well-off Americans. On matters of Wall Street reform and banking overhaul, Obama may have had to accept half a loaf, but the US banking system is far stronger now than when he found it. On Obama and the economy, history will look kindly. So, probably, will it on his broader domestic legacy as well.

The 44th presidentโ€™s misfortune has been to confront the most partisan dysfunctional climate in Washington in memory; Mitch McConnell, the Senate Republican leader, declared that his goal was to make sure Obama failed, and that approach continued until the end, with the Senateโ€™s refusal to even consider Obamaโ€™s nomination of Merrick Garland to the Supreme Court, in defiance of every constitutional norm.

Thatโ€™s why polls show that Obamacare, the largest expansion of US health care since Medicare yet passed through Congress without a single Republican vote, is seen by Americans as both his greatest success and his greatest failure. But history will not lightly dismiss an initiative that gave 30 million Americans coverage for the first time.

Nor may it be the instant victim of the Trump era that its Republican foes promise. Yes, they can repeal it quickly. But you donโ€™t take away a prized welfare benefit without some form of replacement. The Republicans donโ€™t have one, and it may be years before they do. Obamacare may have a long afterlife. Nor will Obamaโ€™s conduct in office be quickly forgotten. He was a class act. Not a single scandal of note has besmirched his eight years in the White House. He has worn the presidency with unceasing grace and good manners. He never publicly lost his cool, and privately expressed displeasure less through volcanic displays of temper than icy disdain. With Obama everything was to be approached rationally โ€“ too rationally, his critics would say, but at least with thoughtfulness and a sense of proportion. That too will weigh in historyโ€™s judgement “

2. ”The global economy was in tatters, battered by the worst recession and banking crisis since the 1930s. In that respect at least itโ€™s been job well done. Thanks in part to the record $800bn stimulus package passed by Congress early in his administration, the US economy has staged the best recovery of any advanced industrial economy.”

WW&C

Don’t buy this official narrative.

All the events of 2008-2009 were about was the hijacking of the government by bankers to steal money from the state to cover gambling debts.

Look at what happened. Qui bono?

And we can maintain a counter for all the points supportive of Obama, except bulling, which he is absolutely credited. LOL

3. @Pacha

Read mortgage crisis and credit default swaps. A purge was required.

4. @ David

This is our primary area for concentration.

If, as you said, there was a need for a ‘purge’, why is it that the banks are in the same position again?

In fact worse, in addition we are on the end of a sovereign bond crisis.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“All the events of 2008-2009 were about was the hijacking of the government by bankers to steal money from the state to cover gambling debts.”

Lol..Pacha, the same crime families who have been committing the same crimes againe the world’s population for centuries will continue to do so until all the paper is taken away from them or they find a replacement crime syndicate.

Happy Holidays Pacha. .

6. Perhaps we should take time to look at Obama’s presidency in its totality rather than cherry pick. The question is whether his presidency, looked at totally,was a failure when analysed from what the “American” Presidency represents. Its just like looking at Sinkler and declaring him a failure, when in natural fact, he is following the same script of all his predecessors! Another example, in West Indies cricket, we tend to be cavalier and were dominant for nearly two decades. The current crop tends to be cavalier but have failed miserably. Obama has not failed as an American President. Quite frankly he is seen as a considerable improvement of his predecessor. The question should therefore be: Has Obama failed as a president or has he failed as an “American” President?

7. The regulations governing banks have not changed in a material way under the Obama administration. The banks have declared enormous profits after being bailed with taxpayers money. We have to understand that US sucess is based on its greenback being the world’s reserve currency. It is why it can comfortably run obscene deficits read trillions.

8. “Its just like looking at Sinkler and declaring him a failure, when in natural fact, he is following the same script of all his predecessors!”

Absolute nonsense skins- ever so often you seem to drift off into illogic

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David December re”The regulations governing banks have not changed in a material way under the Obama administration. ”

David, what do you mean by ‘material way’? That is a very broad statement and you can surely find some cover but if we look at the fact that there is a concerted effort by the new administration to repeal the major piece of legislation (Dodd-Frank) which affected the banks then your statement sits on shaky ground.

I am sure the people like Sen Warren with all her efforts in the last several years and the excellent ‘dental work’ she finessed at the CFPB for example would also not agree with you.

That group is about to have a painful root canal and removal of all teeth!

So yes it’s indisputable that the “banks have declared enormous profits after being bailed with taxpayers money”. In fact it is ‘amusing’ that they can pay some of the supposedly insanely large billion $$ fines without batting an eye and still make those large profits.

It serves no practical purpose to let a Wells Fargo or a Deutsche Bank fail. Such failures would affect economies spanning many countries as we saw during the ’08 crisis.

Not offering any excuse for bailouts because at the end of the day the only people who suffer from these debacles are the average folks. When a major entity fails the lawyers, consultants et al share a bounty of fees and all the senior executives/managers land on their feet.

The tellers, loans officers and the other general employees and all those small business which depend on them are the ones who suffer big time.

It may not be popular but it makes more sense to prop them up, demand repayment in a timely manner (as happened well with the banks and car companies bailed out) and put strong oversight regulations in place.

The Republcans call that socialism. But their policy simply allows their buddies to come in, clean up the carcass and then control all business on the ‘farm’. Orwell already wrote THAT book!

This question of too big to fail is as pertinent now and will always be…that’s just the nature of economic life!

10. David December 25, 2016 at 2:44 PM #

โ€œThe regulations governing banks have not changed in a material way under the Obama administration.โ€

Your above comments are very interesting.

I remember reading about the Banking Act of 1933 (the Glass-Steagall Act), which was introduced by President Franklin Roosevelt a few days after he took office in March 1933 and signed into law on June 16, 1933.

This bill was designed โ€œto provide for the safer and more effective use of the assets of banks, to regulate interbank control, to prevent the undue diversion of funds into speculative operations, and for other purposes,โ€ (i.e. reform and restore confidence in the banking system).

However, the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, which was passed on November 12, 1999, repealed the Banking Act, thereby allowing banks to use deregulated derivatives, and is believed to be responsible for the 2008 global crisis.

On July 21, 2010, Obama signed the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform Act into law. The Act was basically introduced to regulate the financial markets, in an effort to prevent a reoccurrence of another economic crisis.

Recall, for example, credit rating agencies were blamed for misleading investors, by overrating mortgage-backed securities and derivatives. As a result, the Dodd-Frank Act facilitated the establishment of an Office of Credit Ratings at the SEC to oversee the regulation of credit rating agencies such as Moodyโ€™s Standard & Poorโ€™s.

11. If Obamaโ€™s veto is so inconsequential why is it attracting so much vitriol from Netanyahu? Trump will be President in less than 30 days he can restore the world according to Netanyahu and all will be well.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/12/24/world/middleeast/israel-benjamin-netanyahu-united-nations.html?action=click&contentCollection=Middle%20East&module=RelatedCoverage&region=Marginalia&pgtype=article

12. @ Sargeant
    Trump will be President in less than 30 days he can restore the world according to Netanyahu and all will be well.
    That is EXACTLY the point.
    Trump CANNOT undo the new UNSC resolution (INTERNATIONAL LAW) which now deems Israel to be in breech with their illegal settlements…. unless he can block serious vetoes.

Iran, Russia, China and all LAW-ABIDING nations now have the RIGHT to enforce compliance…. ‘viet armis’ if needed….

Obviously Netanyahu understands this VERY well……
    It won’t be long now….

13. @Bush Tea

Are you sure about that? Here is part of the RNCโ€™s Xmas message:

โ€œMerry Christmas to all! Over two millennia ago, a new hope was born into the world, a Savior who would offer the promise of salvation to all mankind. Just as the three wise men did on that night, this Christmas heralds a time to celebrate the good news of a new King.”

Let me paraphrase that โ€œA new Kingโ€ refers to Trumpโ€™s inauguration , surely youโ€™ve heard of โ€œThe divine right of Kingsโ€.

14. LOL @ Sargeant
    Surely you have heard of the UNSC veto…

For years, the USA used it to defy world opinion on Israel…. until recently when Obama chose not to do so…
    For the new king to reverse the resolution (LAW), he now has to manage the other four nations with similar individual veto power to stall resolutions…. including Russia, China, France and the UK.
    Good luck with that…. ๐Ÿ™‚

With Netanyahu ranting and raving; Trump suffering from delusions of grandeur (stemming from his stint on TV reality shows); and Putin pissing vex about lack of due respect from the West, …all is now set for a REALLY BIG showdown….

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant, Bushies’s counter analysis of the FIVE kings of the round table, if you excuse my badly mixed metaphors re Knights of the round table, is right,…so indeed: “Good luck with thatโ€ฆ.”

I disagree with him however that this act will lead to any ‘vi et armis’ combustion. Surely he knows that Israel is a nuclear power and he thus harks to the biblical prediction that any combined attack on the Lord’s chosen people could result in a modern day nuclear retaliation: Armageddon in sum.

I certainly will not get into a futile questioning of him or the bible’s ‘divinely written’ word but I do not fear that this political ‘stunt’ by New Zealand, Senegal, Venezuela and Malaysia backed completely by a conspiratorial Obama administration will lead to world annihilation in our lifetime (next 50 years).

The palaver coming from this act is that the US supports the ‘language’ of the resolution but condemns the UN for ‘not being sufficiently pro-Israel’ and continuing with perfect double-speak that the UN’s entire purpose is at peril for allowing such resolutions…one which they could have stopped! Go figure.

Either Barack Obama is a master diplomat or a very hard-nosed fellow who took the slights from the Israel president very personally and is repaying him as best he knows how.

He certainly has made his post-presidency speaking circuit most stimulating and filled with excitement and given the men and women of his post secret service detail greater chance of unwanted action.

But additionally this sets up a rousing climax to the Russian cyber-hacking and his final jabs at Putin.

If he can create such convoluted rhetoric to cease the US unstinting support for Israel on this matter then he should be willing to give Putin and by extension Trump a hay-maker punch by declassifying as much damaging details from the report he will have on his desk prior to Jan 20th.

Now, that could start serious war mongering too!

16. Artax

Has the Obama administration -pass legislation- arrested any of the Wall Street executives who participated in the Wall Street collapse? Did he pass legislation to prevent big banks showing obscene profits while being funded by bail out (taxpayers) money? Did he pass legislation to prevent any member of his administration from taking up a lobbyist jobs? Eric Holder comes to mind. Has the legislation you referenced adequately addressed electronic trading and how brokers handle mutual funds as one example? Like Trump who has abandoned his campaign message to drain the swamp so too has Obama who flew on the back of a promise to change Washington. Whatever the reasons we will offer he failed.

17. @ Dribbler
    I certainly will not get into a futile questioning of him or the bibleโ€™s โ€˜divinely writtenโ€™ word but I do not fear that this political โ€˜stuntโ€™ by New Zealand, Senegal, Venezuela and Malaysia backed completely by a conspiratorial Obama administration will lead to world annihilation in our lifetime
    Interesting comment.

1 … You ‘do NOT fear that this political stunt’ …. or you DO fear…?

2 … Why not question the bible’s ‘divinely written’ word…? are you afraid that the answers you get may scare you to death…?

Israel IS a nuclear power…. and like a ‘badboy’ playing bully in his village with his firepower, the day is coming when they will meet their SWAT….. No doubt you know how THAT goes…
    It is highlighted in the bible precisely because of its unprecedented nature…..

Finally, the KEY point that you need to understand is that we are now into an unusual period of history …where decision-making is being led almost exclusively by dark forces. Previous ‘BALANCE’ has left the scene. Reason has departed. If you had eyes to see, this would be clear from almost everything happening around us – from Bajan ministers bathing in jobby to first world America choosing George Bush a few years ago – seeing the results, ….and now choosing an even bigger idiot.
    ….and you think that rationality will prevail because ‘Israel has nuclear weapons’…???!!!
    ha ha ha ha ha!!1
    Oh Shiirt!!

Good luck with DAT!

18. @ Dribbler & Sargeant
    The other point to note on this issue is that while the breaking point comes on the issue of settlements in the West Bank, the resolution is so worded, that the Jewish Quarter of Jerusalemโ€™s Old City and the Western Wall, the holiest place where Jews can pray, falls under this resolution.

HAVE YOU ANY IDEA OF THE FEELINGS BEHIND THE RIGHTS TO JERUSALEM …BETWEEN JEWS AND MOSLEMS?

Essentially, the UNSC has now ruled that Israel is illegally occupying the Jewish quarter of Jerusalem….and that LAW ABIDING world powers now have the LEGAL right to remove them.
    Why would you now be surprised to see Jerusalem ‘compassed with armies….’?
    (or encompassed …to reinforce Jeff’s point…. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

@ Pacha
    Still think this is a minor matter….?

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David December 26, 2016 at 6:30 AM re your …” Has the Obama administration -pass legislation- arrested any of the Wall Street executives who participated in the Wall Street collapse? Did he pass legislation to prevent big banks showing obscene profits while being funded by bail out (taxpayers) money?….”

Mr Blogmaster is this just a ‘punchacream hangover!!!

You are asking about legislation…seriously! Apart from the already cited Dodd-Frank and the brand new (although some of that stuff was previously done) Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) there was – some would argue – a noticeable over-emphasis on regulation.

A significant part of the employment growth in the financial industry came from regulatory new hires, for example!

How does anyone STOP a company from making profits unless it’s a charity. Your comment is incendiary but rather impractical.

The purpose of government is to establish the conditions for legal and ethical money making by well-run corporations and to derive taxation from them for that privilege. Whether there is a bail-out or standard business ops that’s the expected role.

When there is an exceptional ‘insurance bail-out’ then the US tax payers are expected to be handsomely repaid. They were by most of the supported companies – and certainly ALL the banks. What is your problem therefore!

Any additional fines is a function of the aggressive regulatory review. A good thing.

There are already ‘stringent’ rules re lobbyists moving from government and he certainly held his team to the highest standards. Your remarks are lacking validity as Eric Holder is not registered as a lobbyist (as far as I know) and to highlight the former AG who was a senior law partner before he took the job as somehow ‘specifically trading on his AG status’ is rich. (bad pun, maybe)

Unfortunately that is the nature of the beast. Not a tic-for-tac but for practical balance let’s note that Robert Gates and Condi Rice are consultants. They advised recently that Rex Tillerson the former Exxon CEO was an absolutely ideal man for Sec of State. Did you also read that Exxon is and has been a major client for their company.

Let’s get real bro!

Comparing Trump’s self-serving glib ‘drain the swamp’ to the real and significant attempts by Obama is beneath your level of astute analysis. And thus not worth a further retort other than to note that Trump finally admitted it was just a catchy phrase which resonated with his base and he milked it. Steeupse.

And re “arrested any of the Wall Street executives who participated in the Wall Street collapse”. That is the big one and surely that’s a big no.

Yet it’s not as easy and doable as we often think. Getting a criminal conviction with its burden of proof evidence requirements in many of the bigger cases was challenging,,.at least that’s what the experts said.

I would agree that the SEC is a bit behind on policing “electronic trading and how brokers handle mutual funds”. But you clearly dismiss all their other efforts to corral front-running by the super-fast systems, the major shifts towards inversion and recently the push back they have received on new rules to address exactly the point of how funds managers handle customer a/cs.

Obama’s regime did not get it all right re Wall St rules and redress but they did an absolutely resolute job of cleaning the mess they found.

Berate the man as much as you want but do so with balance and reality infused, please.

Incidentally, anyone who pretends that any President’s promise to supposedly “change Washington” is worth more than a can of organic beans surely did not do all this real hard work of building such a lovely blog to allow me to be critical of his writing…LOLL.

How da hell can anyone dramatically change (n four, eight or 10 years) that entrenched Washington money making engine that took eons to be built and has so many powerful protectors.

Please David. You are a businessman not a fairy god-father; stop wid the fairy-tales!

20. @dee word

And you are a defender of the establishment come what may. The debate continues about obama’s meaningless abstention from the UN vote.

21. The jews arent going around lopping of heads, they are not blowing themselves up causing grief all over the place so really think hard about this on a list of people that the world could do without where do you think the jews place. I can see a lot more peoples being swatted first. Dont think for a moment that China and israel are not close, israel was the first to recognize their govt. Even though china voted against them as well . The US isnt the only game in town.

22. Netanyahu bah!Obama gave him the finger at last..about time this clown and all such who think these Jews are special know the con game is falling apart.Israel has never admitted to being a nuclear power but want to tell any other aspirant that they have no rights to such and deny Palestinians access to a peaceful existence like any reasonable human being ought.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea December 26, 2016 at 8:16 AM ….Yes that is a bit ‘ticklish’ to understate. Netanyahu has cited just that in calling the resolution a nonsense.

You are interpreting next steps from your divine prophesies. No one can refute the bible, can they.

Maybe you will be proven right that our WW IV is upon us…but as yet I do not share your conviction,,,regardless of its founding source.

Oh, WW III is the war on terror!

re “โ€ฆ.and that LAW ABIDING world powers now have the LEGAL right to remove them.”

Ok, so who would be the first brave, foolhardy one to commit their nation to that? Does the International Court not have to be involved FIRST.

Bushie I understand your almost apoplectic frenzy that you will see the fruits of the end-day but no amount of your skillful words will bring us a war over this resolution, directly.

However will Trump pull funding from the UN? Israel has said they will.

If the US also does that through aid agencies from the countries who supported the resolution then maybe there is your ‘war’…more famine, diseases etc.

Interesting times ahead. On that I agree with you completely!

24. India conducts fourth experimental trial of Agni-V missile

The Times of India’s video https://www.facebook.com/TimesofIndia/?hc_ref=NEWSFEED&fref=nf

25. @ Vincent
    Why don’t you stop trying to outdo Dompey nuh?

No one speaks more about ‘religion’ here than you do. If you really think that it is shiite and should be discarded, how about leading by example …and not talking about it…?

steupsss!
    One gets the impression that you scour the internet looking for other people’s opinions on the subject…. perhaps this is your REAL problem…. no confidence in yourself to form YOUR OWN reasoned opinion.

Think about it…. there are some things that are UNIVERSAL, and often universally WRONG. Things like drug addiction, sexual deviance, heterosexual relationships, and funeral rituals…. But what they all have in common is an unquestioned association with a VITAL aspect of human life.

Religion is therefore in ‘good’ company.

26. @ David

Your original comments were confined to โ€œregulations governing banks,โ€ (to which my original response was directed), and not โ€œlobbyist jobsโ€ or โ€œarresting any of the Wall Street executives who participated in the Wall Street collapse.โ€

โ€œDid he pass legislation to prevent big banks showing obscene profits while being funded by bail out (taxpayers) money?โ€

Recall that during global financial crisis, investment banks such as Morgan Stanley and Goldman Sachs changed their portfolios to that of commercial banks, in an attempt to take advantage of receiving tax funded bail-outs.

The Volcker Rule was included in Dodd-Frank financial reform bill, to PREVENT/PROHIBIT banks from โ€œspeculating,โ€ i.e. using depositorsโ€™ funds or deposits that are insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation [FDIC] from owning, sponsoring or investing in private equity funds, hedge funds โ€œor proprietary trading operations for profit,โ€ and attempting to โ€œgain commercial bank statusโ€ if these investment initiatives fail, thereby leaving the FDIC and taxpayers to bail them out.

As it relates to โ€œbig banks showing obscene profits while being funded by bail out (taxpayers) money,โ€ you must take into consideration the โ€œexcess profitโ€ the Federal Reserve [FR] has paid to the Treasury, as a result of the bail-out funds extended to banks.

Fannie Mae and Freddy Mac, for example, received a bail-out US$187.5B, courtesy of US taxpayers. As at January 1, 2015 these firms paid US$225.4B into the Treasury, leaving the taxpayers with a โ€œprofitโ€ of US$53.5B.

If you were to peruse the FRโ€™s balance sheets from 2009, for the past 6 years the FR has been paying approximately US$30B of โ€œprofitโ€ a year to Treasury. In fact, according to the Princeton, New Jersey firm, Stone & McCarthy Research, the FR has paid approximately US$474B to the Treasury between 2009 and 2015. And these firms are still paying the FR.

โ€œHas the legislation you referenced adequately addressed electronic trading and how brokers handle mutual funds as one example?โ€

Yesโ€ฆ specifically for managed portfolios such as hedge funds, but more regulatory through the Securities and Exchange Commission [SEC] as it relates to mutual funds.

Also included in the Dodd-Frank Act is the Private Fund Investment Advisors Registration Act of 2010, which requires certain unregistered investment advisors to register with the SEC under the Investment Advisors Act of 1940.

In other words, hedge funds must register with the SEC and provide data about their trades and portfolios so the SEC can assess overall market risk.

The Dodd-Frank Act also empowered the SEC to conduct a study evaluating the standards of care for broker-dealers and investment advisers and comparing the relative regulatory standards for broker-dealers with those for investment advisers.

According to the study Regarding Mutual Fund Advertising, the Government Accountability Office [GAO] is charged, subject to a one-year time deadline, with reviewing and recommending improvements to mutual fund advertising, in order to improve investor protection and ensure informed financial decisions by retail investors purchasing mutual fund shares.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David December 26, 2016 at 9:00 AM re “… And you are a defender of the establishment come what may. ”

A wise man said that to ignore the facts does not change the facts!

I do not defend establishment folly or missteps I simply like to deal in facts. Obama has made terrible mistakes. Of that there is no doubt (broad examples: that Syria red-line remark; promising to close Gitmo).

And yes he made some re Wall St and the overall bank and finance industry but to suggest that in the main he ‘failed’ is to ignore the facts.

Fah sure, “the debate continues about Obamaโ€™s meaningless abstention from the UN vote.”

For resounding geopolitical action re the Palestinians it is ‘meaningless’…for all the inter-personal posturing that really dictates political action it is absolutely profound.

In five years the insider book that explains the working of this decision will properly inform our thoughts but right now this looks like a very personal smack-down from Obama to Netanyahu…

How dare he come into the well of Congress and lambaste the President as he did.

Obama jabbed back. Big time.

Now having said all that I would factually say a US President cannot operate on personal pique (Lord, protect us from the Trump onslaughts).

But PC be damned. WTF… did ‘Bibi’ think he was…he is taking this ‘God’s anointed’ ting way too far. Well, not according to Bushie!

28. If you have an hour listen to the audio (imbed) of Obamaโ€™s parting interview with his old friend and campaign manager David Axelrod.

http://www.cnn.com/2016/12/26/politics/axe-files-obama-transcript/index.html

29. @Artax

Yes the reference to banks was too loose. You have made some reasonable points but you are fully aware the US system facilitates lobbyists to achieve the desired result for Wall Street interest by winning support with congress. Now they will have Trump and a Republican House to do their business. Main Street will continue to struggle for equality Dodd-Frank or not. You are aware these banks that supported low credit risk policies which led to the sub prime crisis rewarded their CEOs and executives with obscene bonuses? The US capitalist system will always reward Wall Street.

30. @Dee Word

How dare he come into the well of Congress and lambaste the President

We agree Obama is flexing feeble muscles as he closes the door on 1600 Ave behind him in a few days and that is all. You seem to forget though that the US governance system gives the Speaker some autonomy away from the Executive read by allowing Bibi to speak to Congress knowing t would piss Obama. That is how the land of the free is so designed ๐Ÿ™‚

31. @David

I watched the video and then perused their website and viewed their leadership, do you think that they would be honest brokers?

32. David in your last comment to Artax you are trying to divert attention from the pivotal point of the issue which you brought to table as one of Obama failures to reign in the banking institutions …which is not true

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea December 26, 2016 at 7:56 AM
    “@ Dribbler
    I certainly will not get into a futile questioning of him or the bibleโ€™s โ€˜divinely writtenโ€™ word but I do not fear that this political โ€˜stuntโ€™ by New Zealand, Senegal, Venezuela and Malaysia backed completely by a conspiratorial Obama administration will lead to world annihilation in our lifetime
    Interesting comment.
    1 โ€ฆ You โ€˜do NOT fear that this political stuntโ€™ โ€ฆ. or you DO fearโ€ฆ?
    2 โ€ฆ Why not question the bibleโ€™s โ€˜divinely writtenโ€™ wordโ€ฆ? are you afraid that the answers you get may scare you to deathโ€ฆ?
    Israel IS a nuclear powerโ€ฆ. and like a โ€˜badboyโ€™ playing bully in his village with his firepower, the day is coming when they will meet their SWATโ€ฆ.. No doubt you know how THAT goesโ€ฆ
    It is highlighted in the bible precisely because of its unprecedented natureโ€ฆ..”โ€

Bush Tea, your paradoxical mutterings sometimes get the better of you. Your fork-tongue has more prongs of pending disaster than the broken pitchfork recently buried at the Garrison.

From one corner of your indecisive mouth you speak profusely of the โ€œdivinely written wordโ€ of your BBE inspired book. While, from another twisted corner of confused contradiction you reject the birthright of the Jews to take total possession of the lands which their god Yahweh gave to them over 3,000 years ago.

If you argue against the Jews being your BBEโ€™s chosen people then you are flying in the face of the โ€˜divinely inspiredโ€™ Word of your very BBE.

So, whom would you be backing in this race to Armageddon? The political gamers of convenience at the U N which totally depends on the largesse of Jewish contributions for its very existence or the written evidence to support the favouritism of the Jews in the eyes of your BBE?

Bushie, you just cannot โ€˜eatโ€™ your Jewish cake of BBE anointment and still have those โ€˜recaptured and occupied landsโ€™ return to those disinherited by the same indecisively temperamental and one-sided BBE.

Happy Hanukkah!

“For you are a holy people to the LORD your God; the LORD your God has chosen you to be a people for His own possession out of all the peoples who are on the face of the earth.โ€

“And what one nation on the earth is like Your people Israel, whom God went to redeem for Himself as a people and to make a name for Himself, and to do a great thing for You and awesome things for Your land, before Your people whom You have redeemed for Yourself from Egypt, from nations and their gods? “For You have established for Yourself Your people Israel as Your own people forever, and You, O LORD, have become their God.โ€

34. One can be ‘chosen’ to be made an example of……

35. Bushie

Cuddear…….yuh dus tak bovine excrement according to your buddy GP nonstop about BBE…….so tell muh wha dah reason is dah ah cyant tell yuh so nonstop…..doo fuh doo.

36. Bush Tea December 26, 2016 at 2:32 PM #

One can be โ€˜chosenโ€™ to be made an example of ;

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

oh ra..ss hole totally out of context/ .Bush sh.it you are flying in the face of BBE you will be condemned to death by firing squad

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/EIMm307t0Fp

2016 is ending on a wonderful note.

http://ow.ly/6QU6307t0JB

We always knew US, UK, Russia etc supplies the most weapos to the Middle East and Africa to murder millions of people.

38. President Barack Obama’s approval rating is at a seven-year high, according to a CNN/ORC national poll released Wednesday. Obama enjoys a post-election approval rating of 57 percent, his highest mark since September 2009, when his approval rating sat at 58 percent.Nov 23, 2016

Say what you like about Obama the american people gives him a high passing grade.

The contrast between the election results and high rating approval for Obama which extends as a stamp of approval for a well managed economy is mind boggling ,
    One would believe that an electorate would cast their vote for efficiency and not on meaningless political rhetoric which help to elect DT

39. Ironic Israel has suspended diplomatic relations with 12 countries in reaction to how they voted recently at the UN BUT NIT NOT the US. What hypocrisy!

40. @ David
    It is not ironic, it is strategic.
    You need to look at this as a matter being engineered by ‘higher forces’ towards a particular end. Poor Netanyahu is following the script to a T.
    By further pissing off these UNSC members with his childish immature reactions, it is not very difficult to predict how they will respond to Palestinian FORMAL requests now for sanctions against Israel based on the UN resolution….
    Remember that the USA set the precedents with sanctions against Iraq, Libya, Syria etc based on similar UN resolutions.

This should be interesting…

@ Dribbler
    For your information, the bible does not claim to WANT to achieve the end-time scenarios described in Revelations. It merely REPORTS the results achieved by the actions taken to cause those results….
    When one operates OUTSIDE of the constraints of time -as does BBE, the idea of ‘prophecy’ is rather meaningless…. It is just what it is.

41. Two undiplomatic blow hardsNetayanhu and Donald Trump at the helm shaping Israelis relationships throughout the world.
    The blow by blow process driven by hurt feelings and antagonistic revenge would be interesting to watch
    Israel is showing its true colours like a brattish spoiled child always wanting to have its way.
    Obama leaves office with a legacy which would show that he as an american President has shown loyal support for Isreal as a country within the voting block of the United nations.

42. Your head must be screwed on backwards ac.

By allowing this vote to pass, Obama has done what no other US president in living memory would dare. Of course he was goaded into it by Netanyahu’s immature, bullying antics, but even so, no other president would have been able to pull off such a slap-in-the-face with such aplomb. It required unusually high ratings, lame duck status, a cool calculating mind …and a black attitude honed by a decade of racial insults.

All who think that all this is just a coincidence of circumstances, please raise their hands…

43. Bush sh.it where in my comment did ac reference the UN vote to that of americas stance for or against Israel. But fot the record i do support the Obama adminstration diplomatic approach on the vote.