Donald Trump declared the winner of the US presidential election by the Electoral College

We will contend that what is generally referred to as a progressive socio-economic-political flank, located primarily on the ‘left’ or the ‘left of centre’, but less so on the ‘right’ or ‘right of centre’, has been dead for 50 years. The media fiction, on the left, has been keeping a dead political current alive as master narrative to mek money and mislead publics.

This subject is important because if progressives in North America and Europe are as useless as the evidence demonstrates, there can be no global convergence to protect small island states, like Barbados, from the most rabid Alt-Right forces which are preparing to descend on us all.

The Alt-Rightists will soon be controlling the IMF, the World Bank, the machinery for war, among other power levers. A country like Barbados could expect to surrender any perceived advantage (soft power) accumulated over time. Begging these criminals will not help. It would be encouragement to the enemy.

We will indict these so-called progressives for the emergence of a Donald Trump. The re-emergence of far-right parties in Europe. And the hollowing-out of any gains ordinary people have made in the past. Surely, Trump must signal a new era.

We will cast these ‘progressives’ as a bunch of spineless sycophants who allowed, in the case of the USA, a succession of ignorant, backward, Republican minded idiots, to take power. And do so from minority positions.

Our point of departure could be 1968, you choose. Since then we’ve had Nixon, Carter, Ford, Reagan, Bush 1, Clinton, Bush 2, Obama and now Trump. So from the height to the nadir of ‘progressivism’, in this recent incarnation, we’ve had less real progressives elected to the highest office than during the period of the first half of the 20th century – FDR, Teddy Roosevelt, for example.

The American ‘progressive’ has acquiesced so much that it is no wonder the best policy to be contrived, recently, had to do with the institutionalization of an agenda against mother nature herself.

The mainly White, highly ‘educated’, progressives are all about form not function. They are cowards, lacking a scintilla of courage. All about an empty rhetoric, as a means to blur the lines between themselves and the Republicans. The progressive agenda has always been a White man’s trick.

The republicans or conservatives play no such games. They see politics as war by other means and are prepared to move heaven and earth to their will.

In the Obama presidency alone, the Republicans have given us government shutdowns; illegal wars; mass defunding of social programs, developed to help the poor; filibustered an Obama Supreme Court nominee for over 300 days; gerrymandered the country to make certain of perennial control of the House of Representatives and the Senate; consistently stole elections by the disenfranchisement of primarily Black and Latino voters.

Not even when confronted with irrefutable evidence progressives have no meaning responses. They possess the worst kind of cowardice.

In North Carolina, a Republican Pat McCrory, the incumbent, was ‘defeated’ by a Democrat, Roy Cooper, in the Governor’s race, 2016. But since November 8th and several recounts, McCrory has failed to concede despite a nearly unassailable 10,000 vote lead by Cooper.

What is more, the Republican State Legislature in NC, in anticipation of the defeat of the Republican Incumbent Governor, has acted to severely cut the constitutional powers of the incoming Governor. Powers the current Governor enjoyed.

In the UK. We are not convinced that the Labour Party of Jeremy Corbyn has laid out anything new. He too seems wedded to traditional progressive agendas. But the political environment has markedly changed and requires different responses from hollowed-out labour parties. Maybe the alt-Right of Farage and company will repeat, in the UK, the Trumpism progressives in the US have made flesh.

In Barbados, it may take a decade or more for us to see some official recognition of the death of progressive ‘ideals’ as historically constructed.

All this is happening and there is hardly a whimper from the supine progressives in the Democratic Party, in the USA, or even Barbados. Maybe they are used to being in a submissive position with the ruthless Republicans driving home an advantage no minority should have.

Moreover, the case of the defeat of Clinton is indeed emblematic of the perennial weakness of progressives. With over a billion dollars and an ability to raise much more; possessing a far superior case than Trump; currently having control of the Obama presidency; and with all of these advantages, the pooch-pickers called progressives could not defeat a demagogue, a narcissist, an apolitical madman like Donald Trump.

Progressives, in an age of Trump, cannot be expected to offer any determined, courageous, resistance to the Hitler of our times. Already, we are seeing that they intend to be as supportive of Trump as they were of Bush#2. Even if they had majorities on Capitol Hill, which they do not, they will be just as compliant.

Progressives will be more interested in notions of working with the devil, Trump, than defending their constituencies which are largely anti-Trump. They are sell-outs. It is the progressives who have people of colour voting for agendas for which there is no benefit to the voter. And Black people make no demands of the system. Not even on matters of life and death, like police shootings.

Presently, progressives on popular media are still licking their wounds from the Clinton defeat. When all the sobbing and gnashing of teeth is over, aided by their media bosses, people like Rachel Maddow, Lawrence O’Donnell, Chris Matthews, Joy Reid, Anderson Cooper and others on MSNBC, as well as those on CNN, will be brought to heel. It will be unsurprising when the Trump administration demands more favourable coverage, like any dictator has, in return for access, pretenses will have to come to an end. Without access these media houses might as well play dead.

This is how the game is played by ‘progressive’ media bosses, on the left, who are only committed to money, in the final analysis. The same media bosses who gave Trump, in kind, the equivalent of 2.5 billion dollars in free advertising/coverage because ratings were high and the spectacle of the pre-election season meant more to their top and bottom lines, a measure of success! In sum Trump has been, and is more so now, a creature of mainstream media. And the progressives will never apologize for imposing him on us. Their attitude was that Clinton would win, regardless. Now, let them consign themselves to being the anachronistic dead-beats they have long been.

The peoples of the world were, long time ago, sold out by the progressive agenda. It was, of late, essentially a response to Communism and gave yeoman service to right-wing forces thus creating the illusion of political pluralism, mass mobilization around social needs. Now that the Right has discovered that they can create populism, of the Right as well as the left, those alt-Right forces will soon deem left-wing populism and progressives themselves totally unnecessary.

269 responses to “Mainstream Media and the End of ‘Progressives’”

1. @ ac
    ….he as an american President has shown loyal support for Isreal as a country within the voting block of the United nations.

2. The UN Resolution didn’t specify any specific penalties for Israel because it realized that any harsh repercussions would turn an abstention into a US veto. Israel knows that the US is still in its corner and they know that the Resolution doesn’t mean a hill of beans to the incoming President so t continues to thumb its nose at the UN or in Bajan parlance “skin its botsie” at the UN.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/12/26/world/middleeast/israel-settlements-un-security-council-benjamin-netanyahu-obama.html?ref=politics&_r=0

3. Bush shit my comment goes against a narrative which states that Obama is anti Israel which is an untruth since more than any other president he has shown loyal support for Israel
    Americas absentee is also in line with many other american administrations proposals that Isreal expansion is illegal
    The only difference here is that this vote came to UN wherby other administrations did not have to cast or participate in such resolution

4. @ Sargeant
    Skippa, why don’t you leave this kind of strategic analyses to commissioned officers nuh? This is not NCO stuff … it is way above the pay grade.

Did you recall that Saddam skinned his pooch at UN resolutions too…?
    Gadaffi did not skin his pooch – he gave up his weapons …. with the same result.

What the US has been able to do so far was to prevent the situation where the UN made a LAW against Israeli aggression. The many Jew-haters were thus hindered by the LEGALITY of harassing Israel….
    Now even the USA will be acting illegally in defending them…

Netanyahu has dug a well …and he keeps on digging….
    … you know how the saying goes….

5. What is this evidence Israel says it has that the Obama administration lobbyied UN members to vote the resolution. Why sit on the evidence if they have it?

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant December 27, 2016 at 1:10 PM
    “The UN Resolution didn’t specify any specific penalties for Israel because it realized that any harsh repercussions would turn an abstention into a US veto. Israel knows that the US is still in its corner and they know that the Resolution doesn’t mean a hill of beans to the incoming President so t continues to thumb its nose at the UN or in Bajan parlance “skin its botsie” at the UN.”

Of course this anti-Israel ‘last-kick’ move by a crippled president is nothing but the final sentence in his political eulogy.

As long as Saudi Arabia continues to buy arms from Jewish-owned and controlled armaments manufacturers and dealers to protect its most undemocratic and feudal system the poor people of Palestine would always be the outcast.

The future major war in the ME is not one of Israel versus the world of Islam but one arising out of the internal conflicts of Islam itself.

Israel is not the enemy of Iran but the friend of Saud.

“The enemy of my enemy is my friend.”

7. Obama is fighting to defend his legacy.

8. Islamic countries like Saudi Arabia have one thing in common with Israel, they all fear the Iranians and just as Israel lobbied against the nuclear deal with Iran Saudi Arabia’s opposition was much more muted. The Saudi’s predicament lies in the fact that they are both Muslim countries but Iran is Shiite while Saudi Arabia is Sunni and the two branches don’t see eye to eye and that putting it mildly.

Saudi Arabia and other Muslim States as well as Israel all look to the US for protection against possible Iranian aggression and that’s why Netanyahu lobbied Egypt to withdraw the Resolution. Trump has nominated an Ambassador to Israel who favours expansion of the Settlements and Trump has promised to tear up the Iranian Agreement which should further inflame tensions in the area.

Never fear Russia backs Iran but Putin is Trump’s new friend fuh life so they will be able to settle differences over a bowl of borscht and some high-octane vodka.

9. LOL @ Sargeant
    Bushie is hoping that you are right, …but betting that you are not…

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David at 1:37 PM re “What is this evidence Israel says it has that the Obama administration lobbyied UN members to vote the resolution. Why sit on the evidence if they have it?”

Well if he is, then he is using a very perplexing method.

He will now be remembered for carving out a different policy stance on Israel then every other President before him although essentially he hasn’t.

So if that’s the legacy he was aiming for then he certainly went over the cliff with it!

Words from a wiser man:

George Mitchell; former US Senator, arbitrator of Brits-NI peace accord and mid-east envoy.

“Every American president, since the beginning of settlements 50 years ago, from Johnson and Nixon, down through Bush and Obama, has opposed Israel’s policy on settlements.”

‘He went on to say that statements made in the television media that Obama failed to “protect Israel as other presidents have at the U.N. Security Council” are “completely false” and said there have been more than 75 resolutions critical of Israel over the past five decades that have been allowed to pass by every U.S. administration.’

Mitchell also said however that: “I do think […] that President Obama would have been wise to veto this resolution, Not because of the policy implications but because of the timing and the circumstance that it leads to with respect to trying to get the parties together.” —–

Obama was being forceful (some make say petty or vindictive) and we will see what the future says about his decision. The events after Jan 20 will flesh things out.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ooopps. David, I captured the wrong quote above. It is the 2:02 PM post to which I was responding.

Also can you resurrect another post from your trash bin! One only. Submitted twice and neither appeared.

12. @David

Any worry over Obama’s legacy is premature.

I listened to Obama’s exit interview with David Axelrod and he invoked the MLK phrase “the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends towards justice” but I would borrow a phrase from my Christian brothers “God writes straight with crooked lines”. If Obama had won the Congressional seat when he ran for Congress in his earlier days we would not have had a President Obama, instead he was crushed by Bobby Rush and that fortunate event eventually led to the 2004 Democratic Convention, Election to the Senate and ultimately the Presidency.
    Trump is poised to undo everything that Obama did e.g. he appointed an EPA Administrator who was part of a suit against the very Dept. he is now tasked with running. According to Trump Global Warming is a hoax perpetrated by the Chinese. I have a long view of history if Trump rolls back everything that Obama did with regards to the EPA, if he puts programs in place that accelerates the effects of Climate change, his Estate in Florida will go the way of Atlantis by that time we will be all gone but others in the US will be lamenting the loss of common sense and mourn the path taken by Obama’s successor.

I take a sanguine view of these matters, tweets can only go so far sometime he will have to go before the US public and explain his policies, there is no Hillary to compare and contrast, people will begin to see the Emperor with no clothes behind the bombast.

13. Sarge by any yardstick Obama is a failed experiment, you ask a lot of the people in the middle east if they were happier under the dictators and the answer may surprise you. Less interference by the US and more by China and Russia will leave them broke and america the powerhouse. The US has never had any experience as China and Russia in keeping diverse populations in line it is time to take a back seat and let the bad boys show how it is done.

14. Obama made a promise to the american people that he would drawn down on any military engagements in that american soldiers are actively involved. he has stuck to that promise with success but when necesary actively involved in war zones with limited engagements.The american people said that they were sick and tired of americans fighting and dying on foreign soils and returning home crippled or in body bags.Obama listened and he responded.
    How quickly we forget.
    But Obama did not.
    The war in Syria is a civil war the one and only interest that has given concern to the Obama administration is driven on a humanatarian crisis a crisis that the Obama administration took the initiative to have policies which would impact the humanity of those in the war torn areas to seize and control a crisis that need all of humanity to participate calling on international countries to give refuge to those in the most need
    Obama use a philosophy of humanity that closed a vacum of death and destruction on innocent lives .However for some who only see bombs as a way towards peace may a lesson too hard to learn

15. @Sargeant

Obama is following the script of his predecessors in the second term -legacy building on the foreign affairs front. Why is he in Japan again?

16. @David
    He is not in Japan, today’s appearance is from Pearl Harbor, Hawaii

17. Thanks for the correction Sargeant, the substantive point stands?

18. obama wants to be the next Dag Hammarskjold do you think he is going to go back to being a civil rights attorney

19. This piece really speaks to people who spend too much time ingesting the diatribe of the american news media. It is being spewed out with little regard to thought or sophistry!!

20. WellJohn Kerry gave it to The bully on the block Netanyahu who belives that the devil reincarnate Donald Trump would live up to the expectations of grandeur he promises that would aid Israel.

21. Kerry on the impasse

Meanwhile Netanyahu says he is done dealing with the present US Administration he will only deal with Trump, in that vein he said he has evidence that the USA colluded with other countries to bring the SC Resolution and he will only share it with Trump.

Trump will probably put it the same area that he has placed the evidence that Obama was born in Kenya.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/12/28/us/politics/john-kerry-israel-palestine-peace.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=first-column-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news&_r=0

22. “Kerry Rebukes Israel, Calling Settlements a Threat to Peace

By DAVID E. SANGER

December 28, 2016

Secretary of State John Kerry argued that Israel could not survive as both a Jewish state and a democratic state unless it embraced a two-state plan.

The New York Times ”

Mr Kerry is so out of touch with reality- no wonder he allowed Iran to blackmail the US into arriving at a Iran deal and as Secretary of State of the nation whic dubs itself as leader of the free world must be held responsible by his inaction for the massacre of millions of Syrian refugees and the refugee crisis which followed in its wake by refusing to enforce the “red line” drawn by his other out of touch with reality boss. . There has been no peace between Israel and the Palestines since the establishment of Israel and the Oslo process has been dead and buried for more than a decade. More than 350,000 Israelis have settled in the West Bank and East Jerusalem since 1993.

23. @ Sargeant
    Vote 14 – 0 against Israel
    No US veto …or even a token vote in support…
    “We did not take this decision lightly,” said Kerry…

Surely you must be beginning to worry that Bushie’s analysis is sound… 🙂
    This is a watershed point in world history skippa….

24. @ charles
    You may be the one who is “out of touch with reality”.

The ‘REALITY’ is that the USA is no longer in any position to stand against the rest of the world on any issue – far less one as sensitive as Israel. This was only possible in times when they had the wherewithal to blackmail countries with financial ruin, military pressure, or crude CIA backed internal disruptions.
    Now, like Barbados, they owe too much to too many…

Since Vietnam, even when acting with huge ‘coalitions’ the USA has continued to face defeat after defeat…. and they have now retreated to their current state of ‘homeland security’.
    Sorry for Israel, Japan, Barbados or any ‘outsiders’ whose faith and security rests there now…

Kerry is just being pragmatic….but it is misguided nostalgia such as yours, that will lead some to make rash and hasty decisions … with apocalyptic consequences.

25. there should have never been a state called Israeli in the first place . the wheels of injustice would continue to be reaped upon the children of isreal for generations to come because of illegal and unjustifiable property rights afforded to israel for which there is not god given right in order to be acclaimed
    Netayanhu spits in the face of america a country who have backed all and every illegal action Israel has done against the Palestinian people and Yesterday Netayanhua Declares to a world wide audience that America has betrayed the trust of Israel .
    Netayanhu has now found friendship with the re-incarnated serpent from the garden of Eden Donald Trump a man who has mastered the art of deception and a man who can present evil as being the backbone of good
    The world would now wait and see how DT put all the fallen pieces that remained from the burning fuselage of the downed UN vote and put them all together to form peace but from what little that he has said the task of DT ever doing so is monumental and most likely impossible
    Fasten your seat belts the world is in for a bumpy ride

26. The reality is that history has revealed repeatedly the problems in the ME are complex. Some of us continue to regard the issue as Israel vs the Arab world and there must be ONE winner. The solution in the ME must be that ALL countries must find a way to CO-EXIST.

27. “David December 27, 2016 at 1:37 PM #

What is this evidence Israel says it has that the Obama administration lobbyied UN members to vote the resolution. Why sit on the evidence if they have it?”

True but not surprised because its synonymous with the childishness associated with Netanyahu decision making.

28. There is on sale here a UK edition of the Nation. It looks and reads like it has been put together by sixth formers.
    What is the use of the nonsense by one Toni-Ann Johnson, Yuh Gawh Be Kiddin’, It semi-literate waffle. Senior managers at the Nation obviously think she is the bees knees; in fact, it is nonsensical.
    What is the point of Richard Hoads’s Lowdown, apart from being journalistic foam?
    Do they carry out any surveys of their UK readers? Or do they just assume they know best – the Bajan syndrome?
    I have cancelled my weekly order.

29. “Bush Tea December 29, 2016 at 5:17 AM #

@ charles’
    You may be the one who is “out of touch with reality”

Let’s wait and see Bushie

30. I have just read a review of The Black Presidency, by Michael Eric Dyson, which is very positive. I shall get a copy next week.

31. @ charles
    Let’s wait and see Bushie
    Deal muh brudduh!!

…but don’t just sit and wait – like the five foolish virgins….
    Not that you would qualify anyhow….!!! 🙂

32. @David December 29, 2016 at 7:28 AM “the problems in the ME are complex. Some of us continue to regard the issue as Israel vs the Arab world and there must be ONE winner. The solution in the ME must be that ALL countries must find a way to CO-EXIST.”

I don’t know that the problems are so complex. I know that the people in the Middle East are a bunch of miserable, unforgiving bitches, who somehow drag the rest of the world into their misery and hard heartedness…and that we let them.

33. What if they gave up our religious delusions and searched for a pragmatic AND just solution.

But you know what we too hold those religions delusions…

And so no solution.

34. Obama kicking a.ss in his final weeks as President . Giving them all the finger.Hoping before he leaves he would blow Trump a big botsy kiss

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/KJxI307yc74

Hahaha…Obama just handcuffed Trump the Conman, let’s see him try to roll back those sanctions against Russia.

Lol..

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/russian-hack-latest-diplomats-president-obama-white-house-donald-trump-presidential-election-a7501356.html

36. “Well Well & Consequences December 30, 2016 at 2:06 AM #

http://ow.ly/KJxI307yc74

Hahaha…Obama just handcuffed Trump the Conman, let’s see him try to roll back those sanctions against Russia.”

Actions taken out of spite more often than not turn out to be more harmful to the perpetrator- I hope this does not happen to Mr Obama by this decision which appears to be an attempt to railroad any steps by Mr trump to improve relations with Moscow which is vitally necessary to prevent the re-emergence of the ‘cold war’ which was a threat to world peace.

37. Obama’s actions are the tantrums of a child.

The Obama terrorist state has been exposed by the Russians, Iranians, Syrians and even Turks.

He has been bested by lower tier nations.

Why see these as anything but self-aggrandizement, legacy building, the selfishness of a buller.

Sanctions will be easily wipe away or duly ignored.

Why not do something, in your last days, like freeing the 70 or 80 political prisoners held for up to 5 decades in America’s dungeons.

Trump cannot reverse that!

Including our friend Leonard Peltier

38. @ Pacha
    It is not Obama that you should be cussing, but the FBi and CIA. Surely you know that any and all US presidents are but a PR spokesman for these state terror groups.
    It is the US intelligence agencies that are setting the stage to control Trump once he comes into office….. with Russia, Israel and Syria.

Everyone (including Obama and every president before him) knows that Peltier was framed by the FBI. Who do you think would dare to admit that fact …. or even the facts around the death of JFK…?

Get real Pacha 🙂

39. charles skeete December 30, 2016 at 3:49 AM #

Cold war situation between Russia and America,can be very usefull for small island states close to the mainland of the USA as seen in the past.

40. “Why not do something, in your last days, like freeing the 70 or 80 political prisoners held for up to 5 decades in America’s dungeons.”

agreed and in Cuba’s and the Russian gulag as well.

41. @Charles Skeete
    Actions taken out of spite more often than not turn out to be more harmful to the perpetrator- I hope this does not happen to Mr Obama by this decision which appears to be an attempt to railroad any steps by Mr trump to improve relations with Moscow which is vitally necessary to prevent the re-emergence of the ‘cold war’ which was a threat to world peace

Spite? Obama said he advised Putin to stop the nefarious activities the Russian State was carrying out in internal US politics, Putin himself just admitted that they were giving athletes performance enhancing drugs how long before he admits that Russia was carrying out cyber activities designed to help Trump? I realize that last bit is some pie in the sky wishing, KGB agents don’t believe in Glasnost.

So now you are buying the Trump line about “moving on”? Trump is so vain and narcissistic that he can’t admit that Russia helped him win the Election so any information that cast doubt on his “massive” victory he rejects out of hand. Pity that he won’t believe his own spooks but he believed Obama was not born in the US on flimsy evidence of his own creation, how times have changed.

St. Ronnie would be spinning in his grave at the thought of you Republican types giving the Russians a pass, there should be a word for Republicans who twist themselves into pretzels in trying to justify the Russians move but you’re right about Obama tying Trump’s hand, let Trump reverse the expulsion of the Russian spooks and see how it works out.

Happy New year

42. Can someone please clarify if there is agreement among the US Intelligence Services that Russia interfered in the US elections why US commentators are afraid to conclude Trump’s victory at the polls is to be questioned?

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Charles…the game is now far different to any cold war, Trump needs to be handcuffed or if you and your family live in the US, you will no longer enjoy anymore freedom with Trump owing Putin, the middle east, and several other nations.., forget cold war, this is a different stage, a different era, a different decade, with different intentions.

Be glad Obama handcuffed Trump, in the coming year, you will be grateful.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Many of you should remember that Obama is very slow to anger but quite surgical when he reaches his limit, when Bush and Cheney were playing hopscotch with Bin Laden, because they knew why, he was surgically removed by Obama, he still has 3 weeks in office to shut down the Russian and Trump scam.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Please be reminded that I am always the first to beat up on the US tirelessly, cause it’s so much fun, but if you are sitting where I am and could see what I can, ya would push Obama to do even more to dismantle Trump.

46. My question on the Russian interference in America’s election
    Why would Russian dispensed so much time and energy in its assigment of seeing DT elected and only go halfway in ensuring DT is elected
    To most logical minds their would be an asterisk which would remain in play placed over the election of DT with a notation stating” Russians Influence”