By Peter Thompson

I am by nature an entrepreneur, not an economist. I make no apologies for that… an entrepreneur is to an economist as a novelist is to a literary critic. Entrepreneurs are the primary economic creative engines; economists are just secondary critics who follow along after the creative work has been done. That doesn’t mean I don’t pay attention to economists. Entrepreneurs can learn a lot from economic analysis. But we also see things some economists apparently miss.

Much of this government’s economic policy focuses on achieving growth, but consider this absurdity: the enormous waste of fuel in our horrendous traffic jams is recorded as increased economic growth. Our public transportation infrastructure is so illogical that there’s no transfer system between buses and ZRs. When a passenger needs to take two public service vehicles for one trip, it costs twice the fare. This harm to the passenger is then recorded as increased economic growth. Obviously, we need better measures of public benefit than bragging about increased GDP.

We need to pay attention to our productivity as a nation, not simply chase economic growth numbers that are distorted by dysfunction. Economists measure productivity by calculating the ratio of economic output, goods and services produced, to inputs like labour, capital, and materials used in the process. Our dysfunctional transportation system is crippling our national productivity. Labour productivity is sabotaged by the colossal wastes of time imposed by traffic jams and pathetically poor public transportation. Material productivity is compromised by huge fuel wastage. Capital productivity is reduced by insider dealing in the licensing process and lack of passenger data to support investment decisions. 

A Vision Worth Pursuing

Here’s the vision we should be working toward: a public transportation system so good that even wealthy people use it rather than driving their cars for many trips. This isn’t fantasy. In properly developed countries like Norway, even the King takes public transportation. When public transportation works well, it becomes the rational choice for everyone, not just those who can’t afford alternatives. This is the best way to reduce traffic jams.

We need a proper entrepreneurial approach to building a public transportation system that is fit for purpose. Let me outline what this means in practice.

Integration and Automation

The first requirement is that our system must be integrated, with quality of public service being the most important criterion for success. This necessitates complete automation of fare payment by card or BimPay QR code, so that the driver is the only non-passenger aboard each vehicle. The financial flow for cards or BimPay will go through the Transport Authority so there’s instant and effective disciplinary leverage. Furthermore, regular users of the system will be able to buy monthly passes at reasonable prices that cover the entire cost of their transportation needs, no matter how many trips they need to make.

Technology and Accountability

Every single public service vehicle, be it the largest electric bus or the smallest ZR, must be equipped with a standard GPS  tracking device that issues real-time position and speed data to the system management console at the Transport Authority. All infractions like speeding, dragging, or going off route must be logged automatically. PSVs that flout the law, licence conditions, or public safety must lose their PSV permits.

Here’s where entrepreneurship enters the picture: all PSV data must be available to entrepreneurs who will then create apps so passengers can see where their bus or ZR is at the moment, when it will reach their stop, whether it’s already packed or empty, and how much traffic is on the road between their bus stop and their destination. This is how you build a system people actually want to use.

The Transport Authority’s Proper Role

The proper role of the Transport Authority is to issue permits and discipline PSV permit holders without having to further clog up our court system. Note that PSV permit holders who are not themselves driving the vehicle still bear 100% responsibility for the safe and professional behaviours of drivers in their employ, who have to be paid a professional wage that conforms to Barbados labour law, not simply commissions that encourage rule breaking. Serious legal infractions by drivers must get reported to the police, who can then use data from the Transport Authority to prosecute in court and remove drivers’ licences where appropriate. The Transport Authority will also use their rich data from tracking to redesign and optimize the routes.

Reforming ZR Culture

In order to reform the corrupt ZR culture, the Transport Authority must mandate real-time audio-video recording devices in each vehicle to enforce public service conditions with respect to music volume, bashment soca, and other sexualized behaviours that are inappropriate for children. Anti-tampering conditions on all monitoring devices means that if the driver or permit holder interferes with any of the equipment, they don’t get paid for the passengers they carried.

The Productivity Dividend

A  better public transportation system will attract increased usage, and that will bring capital and capacity to the system. It will dramatically improve measures of labour productivity by reducing passenger wait times and commute times. It will enhance material productivity by providing population mobility at lower fuel consumption. And it will increase capital productivity by reducing the inefficiency of the system and providing the data and transparency that encourage investment.

This is what entrepreneurial thinking looks like in public policy: identify the real problem, design a system that works for users, leverage technology to create accountability, and open the data to let innovation flourish. Barbados deserves a transportation system worthy of a modern nation. Let’s build it.

87 responses to “Entrepreneurial Revolution in Public Transport”

1. @ David

I agree with you but there is still stuff we can do to aid things. Fix the pothole issue so cars dint have to slow down to go through them, hence slowing the flow of all the cars behind them.

See what other busy junctions can be replaced with roundabouts. They work better than traffic lights as there is no down time of the flow.

See what T junctions we have where we can put in a second lane for vehicles turning left.

Deal with the blasted ZRS who stop anywhere and REFUSE to pull off the roads in laybys where they are provided. Actually they do the opposite, they pull further into the road so competitive vans can’t pass.

Introduce a minimum speed limit for west and south coast road. Any ZR caught dragging along at walking pace, bust dem tail with a heavy fine.

The above are just a few things I personally see daily. Could Christ if I can see them you mean the authorities can’t see them?

2. @John A

We are not good with enforcement and discipline. This is at the core of our society. How often do you see at the Belle junction with the ABC vehicles skipping the lane to get ahead? How many times to you see vehicles accelerating through amber traffic light? How many times do you see motorcyclists wheeling through traffic? How many times do you see …

3. ‘You can’t have social justice, individual liberty and economic efficiency at one and the same time’. Martin Armstrong – economist, financial forecaster.

4. Slavery runs tings Avatar
    Slavery runs tings

“‘You can’t have social justice, individual liberty and economic efficiency at one and the same time’. Martin Armstrong – economist, financial forecaster.”

Slavery runs tings
    here there everywhere

5. @Pacha

Well said! We talk about being the next Singapore but they could of not gotten where they are if their leaders had to play to the electorate. Every decision our governments make, the first consideration is “how will this go down with the electorate?” Well except for the gift of state land to a bank and the taking up of beach land in Hoetown. LOL

6. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

It is absurd that Barbados has state funded public transport AND PSVs and there are still problems with mass transit.
    No doubt PSVs are at the core of public transport. My opinion though, is that the current PSV operating model HAS to be disestablished altogether. My reasoning is that too many PSVs are displaying unacceptable behavior that has just worsen over the years and the state persistently failing to regulate the sector.
    Part of this PSV behaviour is due to hustling on routes with too many PSVs on it or competition with the TB. In addition, PSVs are perpetuating a disgusting subculture with drivers being plain lawless, playing some of the most disgusting music having zero regard for morals public safety and public decency. The question is what is a suitable replacement model.
    The only reasonable alternative i can devise is to reissue a limited amount of permits per route. Routes would be analyzed, the number of permits available per route would be determined by certain factors e.g. route length, population distribution along route, if there are schools or urbanized centers along the route.
    The new operating model would have PSVs contracted by the state via a revamped Transport Authority (TA).
    The new TA would have TOTAL CONTROL of route scheduling. The aim would be a better synergy between the TB and private transport to service routes timely with a predictable schedule. It should remove the overlap and competition between the TB and PSVs
    As it stands the TB has a basic 2 hour service for most routes, a 1 hour service at certain times serviced mostly by large omnibuses.
    With the new model the state via the TA would now have PSVs the size of minivans and ZRs at their “disposal”.
    At peak times of the day there can be a half hour minibus\zr service for particular routes. and a 1 hour service there after right up to 12 am. Less pressure would be placed on the TB using omnibuses on off peak times.
    PSVs can continue to do the heaving lifts but under stricter regulation by the state.

7. ‘You can’t have social justice, individual liberty and economic efficiency at one and the same time’. Martin Armstrong – economist, financial forecaster.’
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    FALSE!

What both Armstrong (the economist -What-ever-the-hell-that-is!) and Pacha ACTUALLY meant to say is that THEY are unaware of how this is possible in a world based on evil.

But It is not only possible, but it can actually work…

8. @John A

“We talk about being the next Singapore but they could of not gotten where they are if their leaders had to play to the electorate.”

Which is precisely why we need to enshrine the current unified democracy with a strong supreme leader at the helm. Indeed, Singapore would not be where it is today if the head of government always had to listen to the irrational and idle people.

Administrative efficiency and constant democratic reassurance with the clueless masses does not work. The sheep need a shepherd who thinks for them and watches over them.

9. @Hants February 25, 2026 at 1:37 pm

We have been pointing out this problem for years. Our currency reserves are zero if they are accounted for as net assets (gross assets minus liabilities). In addition, we are still in the IMF programme. This is a strong indicator that something is wrong with our currency.

I therefore very much welcome the return of the highly honourable Cabinet Minister Christopher Sinckler. He owes nothing to the stubborn and financially inexperienced electorate and would only need to carry out a slight devaluation of the BBD from 1:2 to 1:4 to 1:6.

For the highly honourable Cabinet Minister, this would be a small step – from one government building to the next – but for Barbados, it would be a giant leap towards a better future.

Perhaps the recall of the once-fallen minister will ultimately serve the common good of our magnificent island nation.

Tron

10. @ Tron

You mean like how OSA was recalled to shut down LIAT…?
    …and Mascoll to shut down TB and BAMC?

What dastardly deed do you suggest it is that Lashes was ‘called’ to impose on our BB donkeys?

What a place nuh!

11. @ DLP TV

I believe the following factors have significantly contributed to this ‘mini bus/ZR culture.’

(1). Successive BLP and DLP administrations issuing too many route taxi/mini bus permits on specific routes.

(2). Remuneration strategies implemented by some owners, (i.e. a planned method of paying employees that supports their goals and objectives), often involve ‘leasing’ the vehicles to drivers for $400 or $500 per day, rather than pay decent wages.

These factors increase the level of competitiveness, ultimately leading to intense rivalry on those routes. Playing lewd/dub music is used to attract passengers, especially school children and the younger folks, while speeding, overloading and violating other traffic regulations occur in an attempt to achieve the owners’ payment objectives and maximise earnings in the process.

The REALITY of the SITUATION is, the behaviour and “disgusting subculture” you’ve described, is not only advantageous to the owners (maximising profits), but benefits passengers (customer satisfaction) and operators (increased earnings) as well.

As it relates to the Transport Board, the main problem, in MY opinion, seems to be the operation of our transport system, and expectations thereof, are based on what occurred in the 1960s to mid 1980s, when there were few routes, for which there were enough buses to provide a reliable and efficient service.

We must bear in mind that, over the years, there were increases in new communities, while older ones were extended.
    TB had to make the necessary adjustments to its routing system to accommodate those changes, and, in the case of bus availability, bus schedules had to be adjusted to accommodate the additional combinations of certain routes, or ‘dropping’ some entirely.

According to the Auditor General’s 2019 Transport Board special audit report, as at October 12, 2018, the Board had a fleet of 271 buses, of which190, were out of service.
    Average monthly bus availability declined from 163 in April 2015 to 50 in February 2019.

Whether we like it, agree or not, in his February 23, 2026, 4:33 pm contribution, Enuff asked a very important question, “…… how can anyone transform public transportation with 50 buses?”

Reading the report and the high cost of maintenance and unavailability of parts associated with the diesel buses, purchasing the BYD electric buses seems to be a good idea.
    However, we should wait until the necessary statistics are available to determine whether or not switching from diesel buses to electric units is financially feasible.
    I’ve heard from bus drivers I know that TB’s Quality Assurance Department continued incompetence has extended maintenance issues to the electric units.
    Additionally, ‘aggressive driving’ by drivers has resulted in at least 2 of the newly acquired BYD units being involved in accidents.

These systemic issues within TB are as result of flawed policies, procedures, and organisational culture.

Government, perhaps through a Mass Transit Authority or TB, must address those issues, in addition improving and sustaining the daily number of units required to adequately and efficiently service all route, as well as providing school bus services, before any of the technological initiatives outlined by PLT could be implemented.

12. @ Tron

To a point you are right but we also have to admit that when Signapore went to a one party state its people were basically living in poor villages. Today with the well educated people there, he could not do it now. I heard him say the it is his hope to soon be able to go to a situation where they can have elections. I think the younger generation are way more outspoken and demand to be heard. Their grand parents may of went with it but not them. Having said all that the man did amazing for his country and people. Then we have the polar opposite with Maduro, the wealthiest bus driver alive.

All said I still would not want to live in a country where constitutionally due elections are not held, with a fair outcome the result that is respected by all.

13. You Don't Love Me (No No No) Avatar
    You Don’t Love Me (No No No)

“Playing lewd/dub music is used to attract passengers, especially school children and the younger folks”

FYI, Dub music is the instrumental version of reggae songs.

Music is the Food of Love

Dub music is the “grandfather of the remix” it involves stripping away vocals to create spacey, psychedelic instrumental versions to emphasize heavy bass, drums, and hypnotic, echoed sound effects.

14. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

Artax
    February 25, 2026 at 6:15 pm
    “These factors increase the level of competitiveness, ultimately leading to intense rivalry on those routes. Playing lewd/dub music is used to attract passengers, especially school children and the younger folks, while speeding, overloading and violating other traffic regulations occur in an attempt to achieve the owners’ payment objectives and maximise earnings in the process.
    The REALITY of the SITUATION is, the behaviour and “disgusting subculture” you’ve described, is not only advantageous to the owners (maximising profits), but benefits passengers (customer satisfaction) and operators (increased earnings) as well.”

I have travel on PSVs for extended periods in between the times i had my vehicle off the road. I have travel on PSVs while going to secondary school decades ago. I can tell you that this comment is mostly nonsense.

Under undesirable behaviour I include:-

1) The playing of musical pornography and songs with gun lyrics at loud volumes
    2) The breaking of traffic laws which inherently endangers passengers
    3) Dragging which is the deliberate driving of the PSV slowly on “off peak” hours with passengers onboard allowing more time for passengers to accumulate at the bus stops along the route to gain more bus fare.
    4) going off route at times and without alerting passengers
    5) PSVs going in opposite directions would at times stop and talk in the middle of the road in a form of dragging. This hinders traffic in both directions preventing overtaking
    6) Even in their proper operation you will find routes with the highest number of PSVs operating nonsensically. For Example the Bush Hall and Silver Sands routes you will often see 5 or more ZRs in the space of 20 minutes during peak hours but after 8pm you will hardly find 1 until 5am the next morning.

I do not make light my previous comment that the operation of some PSVs are impinging on public decency and road safety. The PSVs are now a clear and present danger on the roads of Barbados. They are behaving like outlaws.
    I do agree, the most important advantage PSVs have is that their hustling MOSTLY benefits the passengers looking to get to their destination in a timely manner. PSVs can literally do away with all other undesirable behavior and it still wont affect their bottom line. This is so since the competing TB has an poorer, unreliable schedule.
    It definitely does not benefit passengers when drivers behave as if they literally have a license to kill. It does not benefit seniors citizens and minors forced to listen to musical pornography because they do not a reasonable alternative. Some now consider the behavior of PSV operators with children on board as a child endangerment issue.
    It is this undesirable and unreasonable behavior that passengers have been crying out about for decades and the state failing to curtail this behavior.

15. @DL&P and Atax

What is the role of the insurance companies, police and traffic wardens in enabling minibus and zr unruly behaviour?

16. “I have travel on PSVs for extended periods in between the times i had my vehicle off the road. I have travel on PSVs while going to secondary school decades ago. I can tell you that this comment is mostly nonsense.”

@ DLP TV

Surely you jest.

I’ve come to realise that some BU contributors are ‘ARMCHAIR EXPERTS’ on certain topics. Clearly, you’re IGNORANT to the facts.

Travelling on a PSV occasionally does not make you an expert on any discussion about PSVs.
    Perhaps you should approach the discussion with a PRACTICAL point of view, rather than being BOURGEOIS (i.e. critical, disapproving tone implying obsession with materialistic values, social respectability, and conventionality).

I’m not suggesting I’m an expert, but prefer to be a bit more PRACTICAL…… REALISTIC, and base my comments on actual experience, rather than theory.

The important question to ask is WHY the ‘minibus culture’ exists?

Then we must ACCEPT the FACT that, ANY ROUTE with an EXCESSIVE number of PSVs, such as 3-Wansted/Redman’s Village or Speightstown, for example, in addition to the existing remuneration strategies, OBVIOUSLY create a COMPETITIVE ENVIRONMENT, RESULTING in RIVALRY, because the MAIN OBJECTIVES of each operator are to PAY the owner and ‘earn a living’ in the process.

Perhaps you should ‘put down your car a day’ and go to Warrens to observe this rivalry among the route 3Y-Jackson vans.

What METHODS would each operator EMPLOY to ACHIEVE those OBJECTIVES in such an environment?

They engage in HUSTLING, which some sources define as, “moving with urgent speed, or working tirelessly to OBTAIN MONEY, often through CLEVER or ILLICIT means.”

They have to make enough money to pay owners the $400 or $500 per day, and earn decent wages.
    That’s WHY they are speeding, overloading, going off route, setting down passengers at places other than bus stops, and violating road traffic regulations.

Of a ‘van load’ of passengers, how many do you actually believe would PROTEST against a driver ENGAGING in ALL of the above, as long as they ARRIVE AT THEIR DESTINATION ON TIME?

ARRIVING at your DESTINATION ON TIME, the CONVENIENCE of boarding or disembarking a PSV in front your home, the bottom of the gap, by the traffic lights, in front the shop or supermarket = PASSENGER SATISFACTION.

I too have travelled on ZRs and minibuses while attending secondary school during the early 1980s, and the 1990s as well.
    If you had actually done so “while going to secondary school decades ago,” AS YOU CLAIMED, you would’ve known that, before the standard white with maroon stripe, ZRs were painted in ‘PSYCHEDELIC COLOURS,’ equipped with ‘stereo sets’ and large speakers under the ‘back seats,’ to facilitate the playing of loud dub music, and rims.
    The route 7-Ivy vans immediately come to mind.

WHY??? It’s ADVERTISING to ATTRACT passengers…… similarly to any other business.

You mentioned “the playing of musical pornography and songs with gun lyrics at loud volumes.”
    That type of music is POPULAR among the YOUNGSTERS. It is played at fetes, in homes, even on the FM stations, the DJs at which ‘bleep out’ certain lyrics.

Conversely, a van playing ‘oldie goldie’ music would OBVIOUSLY ATTRACT the older folks.

I was in Oistins one morning, and saw two women attempting to board a ZR, in which dub music was playing loudly.
    One lady asked the driver to ‘lower down the music,’ a request that was met with abuse from passengers, some of whom suggested she should buy a car.

WHY are drivers with multiple traffic infractions able to move around the sector, and work for different owners?
    As long as owners are able to receive their lease payments, they don’t discriminate or care whether or not drivers break the traffic laws.

Owners are interested in PROFIT.

Speeding, overloading, going off route, playing loud music, violating road traffic regulations, the convenience of being able to board the vehicle at any point other than a bus stop, and ALL the other ‘IRRESPONSIBLE BEHAVIOURS’ you’ve listed……

……are CONDONED by majority passengers and have become ACCEPTED NORMS.

17. @ David

Unfortunately, the police ‘cannot be everywhere at the same time.’

In MY opinion, the insurance companies should refuse insurance coverage for PSVs that are driven by operators with too many traffic infractions, while the Transport Authority revoke the permits.

Barbados is a small society where ‘everybody knows everybody.’ A minibus owned by ‘George Browne’ and driven by ‘Frank,’ for example, is reported for violating a traffic law.
    George contacts a senior police officer he knows, and the charge suddenly disappears.

However, we must ask ourselves why the ‘minibus culture’ has been allowed to continue to exist?

18. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

Artax
    February 26, 2026 at 11:56 am
    1 Vote

“Speeding, overloading, going off route, playing loud music, violating road traffic regulations, the convenience of being able to board the vehicle at any point other than a bus stop, and ALL the other ‘IRRESPONSIBLE BEHAVIOURS’ you’ve listed……
    ……are CONDONED by majority passengers and have become ACCEPTED NORMS.”

Again this is not “CONDONED BY THE MAJORITY” which is a wildly preposterous untruth. IT IS TOLERATED!!!! it is a very big difference!!!
    You are implying that the MAJORITY of passengers chose PSVs over the TB because of their propensity to display the behaviors i explicitly stated as undesirable. That may be true of school aged children not accompanied by their parents. It may be true of a MINORITY of passengers. Let me state that from my experience around 3-4 out of every 10 PSVs rides i took over the years i would experienced the “bad behaviour” that i listed. NOTE that i do not put “hustling” (as in not operating to a precise schedule, not stopping at a bus stop) on this list.
    How can you imply the :MAJORITY of passengers CONDONE PSVs running traffic lights, the playing of excessively loud basement music, getting into an overloaded, hot PSV. THAT IS LUDICROUS TO THE POINT OF BEING HILARIOUS!!!!!. It can’t be “desirable behaviour” if they are offences reportable by the police.
    The simple fact is that PSVs ply their routes far more regularly than the TB. Passengers TOLERATE PSVs as the TB route servicing has deteriorated. No one even dares telling the driver to cut out the bad behaviour. They would not comply and most of the time be met by a very hostile reaction from the driver
    We are talking about Public Sector Vehicles whose job is to transport a wide cross section of society. IF this “bad behaviour” was “condoned by the majority” there would not be discussions about reforming ZR culture!!!. There would not be the complains on call-in programs or on social media. You can bet for every 1 person that was so exasperated to make their experience public there are 10 more that agree but suffer in silence because there literally no better alternative

Don’t tell me about artwork and other decals on ZRs and minibuses. I went to the Combermere School where ZR 20 (Overweight Lover) and ZR 103 ( Bedroom Bully) were the most popular vans on the Bush Hall route. Some students, NOT THE MAJORITY would even go joyriding on these vans. More students caught the TB buses going the Bathsheba, Sugar Hill, Chalky Mount routes , the service back then in the early 90s was more reliable. Bigger TB buses meant a greater chance seats would be available. I lived on the St George route where minibuses (B106, B174, B181, B62, B73, B104) dominated. There were no ZRs on this route 10-15 years ago.
    The vans were very fascinating to look at but it was NOT a major consideration for people just wanting to get to their destination quickly and timely .
    When the ZRs we made to “standardized their colours” around 1994-1995 it had a very negligible effect on their popularity.

There were always complaints again the PSVs since the 1980s. Back then the TB had a more reliable hourly service to most routes. With The TB service deteriorating in the last 10-15 years and more PSV licenses issued there has been a corresponding rise in complaints. The attitude towards PSVs i can tell you from first hand knowledge has slowly shifted from ambivalence to despair

19. DLP TV

As a fellow Combermarian. I cannot engage in any further adversarial conflict with you.

Let’s agree to disagree.

Up and on to you, my friend.

20. @Artax

The police can’t be everywhere is a cop out. We have installed cameras everywhere, what is the point? We can make laws to force insurance companies to ‘act’. Also share information with the BPS and Licensing. So many quick fixes available, if we are serious about fixing the issue.

21. US to allow Venezuelan oil sales to Cuba as alarm grows in the Caribbean

https://aje.news/kkgiz7

22. As the blogmaster continues ti harp – the problem with transportation is bigger than 50 buses.

Exclusive: Regulator links uninsured vehicle surge to affordability, not enforcement failure

written by Sheria Brathwaite  Updated by Shanna Moore 24/02/2026 

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/Screenshot-2026-02-24-204244.png

Financial Services Commission CEO Warrick Ward. (SZB) 

Tens of thousands of Barbadians are driving uninsured vehicles, leaving victims of road accidents exposed to financial hardship — a crisis fuelled more by unaffordable premiums and weaknesses in the island’s insurance market than by lawlessness or regulatory neglect, the head of the Financial Services Commission has told Barbados TODAY exclusively.

Chief executive officer Warrick Ward made the connection in an interview against the backdrop of an escalating road safety and insurance crisis, with Barbados averaging about 15 traffic accidents each day and insurers warning that current loss levels are no longer sustainable.

Police data show that, of roughly 180 000 vehicles on the island, about 50 000 are uninsured or untaxed, meaning close to one in four vehicles may be operating outside the law. Senior insurance industry executives estimate that three out of every ten accidents involve either uninsured vehicles or unlicensed drivers, leaving innocent third parties to shoulder heavy financial losses.

Those figures come as insurers report ballooning losses driven by the sheer volume of collisions. Chief executive of Co‑operators General Insurance Company, Anton Lovell, warned that the industry can no longer absorb the scale of daily crashes, with his company alone averaging seven to eight accidents a day and an estimated 15 recorded island‑wide.

Lovell said the average repair bill per collision stood at about $10 000, with accidents involving injuries routinely doubling that figure, placing pressure on insurers, foreign exchange reserves due to imported parts, and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital as injury cases mount.

“But certainly, in my view, the premiums are extremely reasonable when you consider the number of accidents and the resulting cost of these accidents,” Lovell told Barbados TODAY in January.

Against that context, Ward said the regulator’s more fundamental concern was whether motor insurance had become unaffordable for ordinary Barbadians, pushing some drivers into the risky decision to go without cover.

“One of the key things, however, we would need to consider is whether or not the price or the premiums that are charged has taken it out of the reach of ordinary people in terms of being able to pay their insurance claims,” he said.

“That speaks of a broader problem with regards to reinsurance. It also speaks to the penetration rate with regards to insurance.”

The level of penetration in property and casualty insurance remained low, making the discussion on financial inclusion unavoidable.

Ward said: “We know by the penetration rate that we calculate in terms of property and casualty that it is very low. And so that’s why all this discussion about financial inclusion becomes pertinent. A vehicle is not cheap. And so for someone to go to the decision that they are not going to insure, that means that it is a very tough decision to calculate.”

Acknowledging the scale of the uninsured vehicle problem, Ward said the figures being discussed were significant.

“That number is significant considering the amount of vehicles that we are supposed to have,” he said.

But he cautioned that the FSC would be overreaching by dictating how insurers manage the issue at an operational level, pointing instead to the role of the industry and its representative bodies.

“The general insurance body, they might be able to give you more in terms of what they are doing on a micro level with the insurer. Because we know it is a problem. But we can’t overreach and try to impose things on the companies themselves,” Ward said.

He reiterated that while the issue was serious, the commission’s mandate remained focused on macro‑regulation rather than enforcement.

“Obviously, that would be a major problem to hear that there are that many uninsured vehicles. But we, of course, are interested more or less in the macro picture. So we are interested in how the insurance industry on its own is regulated, how their operations work,” Ward said.

“So when it comes to uninsured vehicles, it becomes another branch. It’s not really our mandate to police whether the vehicles are uninsured or not. Our major challenge then becomes with regards to complaint.”

From the regulator’s perspective, uninsured vehicles only become a direct concern if they place stress on the insurance system itself, through rising complaints, delayed settlements or insurers being unable to meet claims. Ward said those warning signs had not emerged.

“If you find that there is an increase in complaints as it relates to uninsured vehicles, slow processing of claims etc … but no, we have not seen a big increase in terms of complaints as it relates to slow processing of claims from uninsured vehicles. But really, that’s a police matter.”

Ward added that addressing the uninsured‑vehicle problem would require coordinated action across multiple fronts, including financial inclusion, product design, reinsurance reform and road safety initiatives.

“We pay a significant amount of reinsurance every year. That is not matched by our reality. But that’s another area region‑wide that we would need to look at.”

While acknowledging that vehicles and parts are imported and inevitably carry high costs, the FSC chief said the challenge was to strike a balance between commercial viability for insurers and affordability for the average citizen.

“So you would have to pay something, but you want to make it as cost‑effective as possible. But it’s a multifaceted challenge that we would have to face,” he said.

Source: BT

23. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

To the insurance issue, I don’t think it is directly an affordability issue. It is a simple matter of people avoiding fees at any which point they can get away with. The last time I checked cars over 7-10 years old can get 3rd party insurance for around $1000 – $1200 per year that can be paid over 9 -12 months. I get a sense that some vehicle owners don’t properly budget for monthly fuel and insurance costs (they just “wing it”)
    I was not in full agreement with the police not coming to the “fender benders” but i fully understand why. There should be a state funded third party (e.g. probably Traffic Wardens) trained to take accident reports for mediation purposes There should be a small claims court or mediation panel to arbitrate who has liability in these accidents.
    If the insurance issue arises at the point of accidents a simple solution is to immediately impound the vehicle. The owners would pay all outstanding insurance impounding frees before release. The insurance company can penalize the owner\ driver to suit. If there is no proper record of insurance or registration, then the full weight of the law then comes into play.
    Impounding can be done by a stated funded third party (under a reformed Transport Authority perhaps? or have the TA amalgamated with the Licensing Authority? )

24. Shouldn’t a lot of things to make for a robust governance system but we like to focus on what makes news, in this case the symptoms. How long have the electronic arches been constructed in Waterford and elsewhere to assist with regulating traffic.

25. DLP TV

After re-reading your contribution and discovered that you’ve PURPOSELY MISREPRESENTED some of my comments, I thought it was necessary to respond.

RE: “IF this “bad behaviour” was “condoned by the majority” there would not be discussions about reforming ZR culture!!!.”
    ~~~~~~
    You’ve proven Will Rogers’ comment that, “when ignorance gets started, it knows no bounds,’ is correct.

Please INDICATE to me WHERE in my contribution I mentioned anything about “bad behaviour” being “condoned by the majority?”

My EXACT WORDS were, …… and ALL the other ‘IRRESPONSIBLE BEHAVIOURS’ you’ve listed……are CONDONED by MAJORITY PASSENGERS and have become ACCEPTED NORMS.

My friend, not only are YOU a LIAR, “you’re arguing for the sake of arguing,” someone who is PRONE to ERISTIC arguments.

You PURPOSELY MISREPRESENTED my comments primarily to win the argument you’re pursuing, rather than showing more concern about finding the truth.

RE: “How can you imply the MAJORITY of passengers CONDONE PSVs running traffic lights, the playing of excessively loud basement music, getting into an overloaded, hot PSV. THAT IS LUDICROUS TO THE POINT OF BEING HILARIOUS!!!!!. It can’t be “desirable behaviour” if they are offences reportable by the police.”
    ~~~~~~
    Park your car and catch a Speightstown minibus any evening, and you’ll witness speeding, overloading and the playing of loud music……

…… and conductors trying to force more passengers into the van, although it’s full to capacity, to the extent that they (conductors) have to stand in the doorway.

The fact that passengers are endangering themselves by SQUEEZING into already overloaded minibuses, on a route that’s SERVICED by an ‘OVERWHELMING NUMBER’ of them, in addition to TB buses, which clearly indicates they HAVE CHOICES……

…… essentially EXPOSES your comments as, according to you, “LUDICROUS TO THE POINT OF BEING HILARIOUS.”

I’ve witnessed passengers asking the driver to ‘lower down the music’ or ‘slow down,’ only to be ABUSED by other PASSENGERS.

Additionally, you’re LYING…… AGAIN! I NEVER mentioned anything about “desirable behaviour.”

Anyhow, I’m done with you and this discussion.

26. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@Atrax i really did not want to respond to your last post but you are making statements that are ABSURD and DEFIES LOGIC. YOU clearly do not understand the dynamic that drives passengers to catch PSVs so much so that it is HILARIOUS

In my February 26, 2026 3:33pm post i pulled a portion of your post above it and directly reacted to it, which is

“Speeding, overloading, going off route, playing loud music, violating road traffic regulations, the convenience of being able to board the vehicle at any point other than a bus stop, and ALL the other ‘IRRESPONSIBLE BEHAVIOURS’ you’ve listed……
    ……are CONDONED by majority passengers and have become ACCEPTED NORMS.”

The undesirable behaviour I had LISTED previous are:-

1) The playing of musical pornography and songs with gun lyrics at loud volumes
    2) The breaking of traffic laws which inherently endangers passengers
    3) Dragging which is the deliberate driving of the PSV slowly on “off peak” hours with passengers onboard allowing more time for passengers to accumulate at the bus stops along the route to gain more bus fare.
    4) going off route at times and without alerting passengers
    5) PSVs going in opposite directions would at times stop and talk in the middle of the road in a form of dragging. This hinders traffic in both directions preventing overtaking
    6) Even in their proper operation you will find routes with the highest number of PSVs operating nonsensically. For Example the Bush Hall and Silver Sands routes you will often see 5 or more ZRs in the space of 20 minutes during peak hours but after 8pm you will hardly find 1 until 5am the next morning.

If we are following a proper line of reasoning and using proper dictionary definitions of MAJORITY and CONDONE your statement is an absurdity and NOT BASED IN TRUTH. IT is also PREJUDICIAL to the wide cross section of people that catch PSVs. Just because certain are “ACCEPTED NORMS” DOES NOT MEAN THEY ARE MAJORITY CONDONED!!!!!.

You also made this statement in your last post:-
    “Park your car and catch a Speightstown minibus any evening, and you’ll witness speeding, overloading and the playing of loud music……
    …… and conductors trying to force more passengers into the van, although it’s full to capacity, to the extent that they (conductors) have to stand in the doorway.
    The fact that passengers are endangering themselves by SQUEEZING into already overloaded minibuses, on a route that’s SERVICED by an ‘OVERWHELMING NUMBER’ of them, in addition to TB buses, which clearly indicates they HAVE CHOICES……”

Just from this statement alone but in addition to previous posts you made I believe beyond a shadow of a doubt you have not caught PSVs for an extended period at least in the last 10-15 years (which really is the period the TB service has declined). You have only “witnessed”.
    Using your Speightstown example, I will dissect the passenger dynamic because I have worked on the West Coast, Holetown especially for more than 5 years. I already stated that i lived on a route traversed by minibuses. The pattern is mostly the same. I have taken many different PSVs on these and other routes when my vehicle was down

From 3 pm a large quantity of school children and workers are heading home at the same time. The 3pm – 6pm period i consider a peak period. It is a fools errand to wait for any bus (PSV or TB) empty enough before 5:30pm even though the S’Town to B’Town route is traversed by a fair amount of public transport. For sure most are the “yellow minibuses”

Let me state that not all would play the loud music OR do the extreme overloading as that route has the Holetown and Black Rock police stations. At Holetown the police do periodic traffic stops.
    MY PRIMARY CONSIDERATION AND THAT FOR MOST PASSENGERS IS TO GET TO FROM HOLETOWN to BRIDGETOWN IN A TIMELY MANNER!!!. Between 3pm – 6pm, I do not have any REALISTIC CHOICES if i want to public transport that is close to empty. I can wait for a near full TB bus that may come every hour, or a near full minibus that comes every 15 – 20 mins. or wait until 6pm. From 8pm the majority of those minibuses are off the road even though the West Coast is densely populated

Public Transport is taken by
    1) those who cannot afford a personal vehicle
    2) those that have vehicles are down or soon to purchase a vehicle.
    3) an increasing amount of tourists are taking PSVs especially since the taxi fares have increased

Passengers are not controlling the vehicle or giving the driver any instructions. How can you state the MAJORITY are CONDONING certain behaviors of the driver?????
    THE ONLY behavior that I and all passengers condone with my $3.50 is that the driver takes take us to the advertised destination via the known route TIMELY AND SAFELY. Everything else is extraneous. A minority may “condone” the irresponsible behavior the MAJORITY TOLERATES IT!!!!! simply because PSVs traverses the routes more regularly than the TB. The passenger simply has LITTLE REASONABLE ALTERNATIVES!!!!

27. “Shouldn’t a lot of things to make for a robust governance system but we like to focus on what makes news, in this case the symptoms.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Well noted @ David.

Bushie previously explained Isaiah 3 and of its DIRECT relevance to modern day descendants of God’s selected peoples.
    The results of turning away from God, and aligning with the albino-centric brassbowlery of this world are documented in VIVID detail in this chapter.
    When wisdom (available from ONLY one source) is withdrawn, …shit happens!!

The KEY reason why people paid insurance was that, in the VERY POSSIBLE EVENT of an accident (EVEN IF NOT YOUR FAULT), the POLICE will arrive to investigate – and there will be a price to pay for not being LEGALLY on the road.

Our government and Police took the STUPID ‘decision’ to suspend their attendance at accidents, and to allow insurance contractors to solve the ‘money’ issues involved. …were the results not OBVIOUS…??!!

Why would someone who was handed their aunt’s car to drive (because she just borrowed money from a Trinidad bank to buy a new ‘electric’ car from China),
    …and because he ’needs’ the car to look for work – since the ZR are overcrowded and unreliable.
    …and who is unemployed because South Americans work for half the normal pay on local worksites
    … and who lives still in his mother’s house while HOPElessly awaiting a promised STEAL house of his own…
    … then seek to pay car insurance?

And even if they WANTED to…
    HOW would they do it? … when the same aunt with the new electric can barely pay hers – and ONLY scrunt to do so because of the CAR LOAN requirements?

BTW
    The aunt’s ‘electric’ car (and the Transport Board’s ‘electric’ busses) uses the VERY SAME fossil fuel that have to be imported – except that they now pay the foreign Electric Company to burn the fuel for them… costing the country EVEN more $$$.

Can you even make this FOLLY up???

What a time!!
    …and this is just the beginning!

See now, the Lord,
    the Lord Almighty,
    is about to take from Jerusalem and Brassbados
    both supply and support:
    all supplies of food and all supplies of water,
    the hero and the warrior,
    the judge and the prophet,
    the diviner and the elder,
    the captain of fifty and the man of rank,
    the counselor, skilled craftsman and clever enchanter.
    “I will make mere youths their officials;
    children will rule over them.”
    People will oppress each other—
    man against man, neighbor against neighbor.
    The young will rise up against the old,
    the ‘nobody’ against the honored.

28. Yeah. Since I stopped driving I have been cursed by a few passengers for challenging the music and the driving, the off-routing, and even the spending of more time with eyes off the road than on while talking to passengers, and also, the looking down at cell phones. A few years back, two women in their thirties cursed me for asking the driver to stop looking down at his phone. He stopped the vehicle told me to get off if I had a problem, trying to intimidate me. I told him it was raining and that it was his legal obligation, having taken my fare, to drive me to my destination comfortably and safely… with eyes on the road all the way. And so he did.

Just three weeks ago, I witnessed another driver looking down at his phone while navigating a double bend. I loudly gasped; he suddenly stopped… and asked what was the matter! (as though he had no clue) He and I had words. He picked back up the phone he had just put down. I rang the bell and got off. I had heard him talking about some case his lawyer was handling, so I left him to be dealt with by our injustice system.

I don’t think anyone had seen him on his phone besides me and I really don’t think the majority of passengers would be in favour of that. They are just tired, wanting to get home, not able to pay an extra fare and definitely not cuss proof like me. They get embarrassed. I told a woman the story and her reply was that I was,”Yuh lucky yuh din get cuss.” A fate worse than death, it seems.

At any rate, I don’t travel on public transport but once or twice a month. Recently, I stopped catching the psvs out of town altogether, especially during peak periods. On Thursday I was told that there had been no Transport Board bus to Bayfield after 10.00 am until 4:00 p.m! Most people aren’t going to risk waiting that long. And so, they figure that they have no choice other than the psvs.

Still, I believe that passengers do have power. It would only take one day of boycotting to change the behaviour. But, they are afraid of being labelled as I was. Apparently, I am mad, and miserable, and a hypocrite who used to listen to Sparrow dirty songs (as though he was ever explicit and nasty). It was another two women in their thirties who told me that.

By the way, I was travelling once on a minibus the driver of which did not hear the ambulance until it was already overtaking. The loud music was the culprit. That had long been my worry. And that day, I was proven right.

One would be tempted to ask, “Who are the mad ones?”

P.S. What is it with women in their thirties?

29. “Just from this statement alone but in addition to previous posts you made I believe beyond a shadow of a doubt you have not caught PSVs for an extended period at least in the last 10-15 years (which really is the period the TB service has declined). You have only “witnessed”.”

DLP TV

I’m convinced you’re an IDIOT who is making IDIOTIC ASSUMPTIONS.

I travel on PSVs almost every day, and more so when I do not have any vehicles available.

I’m not sure WHAT you DON’T UNDERSTAND about passengers asking the driver to ‘slow down,’ ‘lower the music,’ complaining about ‘dragging,’ while citing they have to go work, or a potential passenger refusing to board an already full to capacity PSV……

…… only to be ABUSED, NOT by the driver or conductor, but OTHER PASSENGERS, some of whom often advise the complainants to “buy a car.”

Perhaps you may want to forget the intellectual bullshit you’re spewing and inform this forum WHO, in those situations, are TOLERATING or CONDONING those behaviours?

You mentioned, “just because certain are “ACCEPTED NORMS” DOES NOT MEAN THEY ARE MAJORITY CONDONED!!!!!,” which is more SHIITE.

Social theory defines accepted norms as the shared, expected standards of behaviour, beliefs, or practices established within a specific group, culture, or society, and are primarily established and enforced by the MAJORITY, although they can be challenged and shifted by minority influence over time.

Donna

A few weeks ago, I caught a route 3Y ZR from Warrens. The driver remained at the bus stop for a few minutes until he saw another ZR approaching, which managed to pass him.

The driver began to ‘drag’ after moving from the bus stop, and stopped to look through every gap…… both left and right.

Some passengers began to complain. Four women and I got off the van by SMJ Beverages.

Obviously, those passengers who remained aboard condoned that behaviour, which those of us who got off either condoned or tolerated.

30. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

Donna
    February 28, 2026 at 8:46 am
    “I don’t think anyone had seen him on his phone besides me and I really don’t think the majority of passengers would be in favour of that. They are just tired, wanting to get home, not able to pay an extra fare and definitely not cuss proof like me. They get embarrassed. I told a woman the story and her reply was that I was,”Yuh lucky yuh din get cuss.” A fate worse than death, it seems.”

This is an all too accurate a description of the reality COMMUTERS taking PSVs face daily especially during the morning and evening peak period. AND THIS IS WHAT IM TRYING TO ILLUSTRATE TO ARTAX!!!!! YOU ARTAX YOU ARE WOEFULLY IGNORANT OF THE DECISON MAKING PROCESS COMMUTERS ARE FACED WTH WHEN TAKING PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION!!!!!

Artax
    February 28, 2026 at 10:34 am
    “A few weeks ago, I caught a route 3Y ZR from Warrens. The driver remained at the bus stop for a few minutes until he saw another ZR approaching, which managed to pass him.”
    The driver began to ‘drag’ after moving from the bus stop, and stopped to look through every gap…… both left and right.
    Some passengers began to complain. Four women and I got off the van by SMJ Beverages.
    Obviously, those passengers who remained aboard condoned that behaviour, which those of us who got off either condoned or tolerated.”

It can’t be only me that can see the blatant flaw in ATRAX’s reasoning here and that he continues to make!!!! how can the other passengers be COMPLAINING but then by simply staying in the van they have condoned the behaviour of the driver!?!!!?!?!?. They are OBVIOUSLY TOLERATING the behavior for the sake to getting to their destination. What is the benefit of dragging the van to any sane passenger already in the vehicle for the majority to CONDONE IT!!!!!. The few that condone it are obviously STUPID!!!!!!
    To conclude that passengers CONDONE driver behaviour ONLY BECAUSE they chose to remain in a PSV in is an illogical, non sequential and PREPOSTEROUS line of reasoning!!!!!. There is nothing “highly intellectual” about this discussion I am dealing with strictly facts and reality!!!!!!!

Artax

“I’m not sure WHAT you DON’T UNDERSTAND about passengers asking the driver to ‘slow down,’ ‘lower the music,’ complaining about ‘dragging,’ while citing they have to go work, or a potential passenger refusing to board an already full to capacity PSV……
    …… only to be ABUSED, NOT by the driver or conductor, but OTHER PASSENGERS, some of whom often advise the complainants to “buy a car.”

WAS IT THE MAJORITY OR THE VOCAL MINORITY OF PASSENFERS that delivered the abuse????Did you conduct a vote on who condoned the driver’s behavior???

ARTAX YOU CAN ONLY BE A FULL BLOWN JACKASS!!!!!!. PSVs have developed NOTORIORTY in this country from the behavior they continue to perpetuate. Up to two days ago there was a head on collision between two PSVs. The comments on social media and in the public was universally negative based on people experience and reputation of PSVs!!!!!!!
    Some commuters have taken the decision to not take vans altogether because they cannot TOLERATE this behavior. This is the minority. It not realistic for everyone to totally avoid PSVs because

1) the alternative is the TB buses whose scheduling is worse.
    2) the undesirable behaviour is done FROM MY EXPERIENCE by only 30% – 40% of PSVs drivers

31. DLP TV

RE: “It can’t be only me that can see the blatant flaw in ATRAX’s reasoning here and that he continues to make!!!! how can the other passengers be COMPLAINING but then by simply staying in the van they have condoned the behaviour of the driver!?!!!?!?!?.”
    ~~~~~~~~~

Ironically, YOU DON’T KNOW whether or not the remaining passengers were “OBVIOUSLY TOLERATING the driver’s behaviour” either, which I could similarly opine, “is an illogical, non sequential and PREPOSTEROUS line of reasoning.”

It isn’t EVERY passenger who would board a PSV or REMAIN aboard thereon, with a driver whose driving and behaviour are KNOWN to be RECKLESS, or subsequently displays such behaviour.

As it relates to my ZR experience, the COMPLAINANTS were the FOUR (4) female passengers who CHOSE to ‘get off’ the van and await another one, which came IMMEDIATELY after.
    I did not complain, but chose to join them, while the ‘silent minority’ remained.

You ‘said’ those remaining passengers were “OBVIOUSLY TOLERATING the behavior for the sake to getting to their destination.”
    There is an ‘OVERWHELMING NUMBER’ of ZRs plying the Jackson route, thereby PROVIDING passengers with a ‘wide variety’ of vans to CHOOSE from.

Your above response would be valid, in MY opinion, IF the options on that route were LIMITED.

Condone simply means “to overlook, forgive, or disregard something WITHOUT PROTEST or censure.”

The four ladies and I PROTESTED against the driver’s behaviour, by EXITING the vehicle.

Perhaps you may want to explain how assuming those persons DISREGARDED or OVERLOOKED the ‘dragging,’ by choosing to remain on the vehicle,’ especially against the background of an ‘over abundance’ of ZRs plying that route,

…… is “an illogical, non sequential and PREPOSTEROUS line of reasoning.” 🤔

RE: “WAS IT THE MAJORITY OR THE VOCAL MINORITY OF PASSENFERS that delivered the abuse????Did you conduct a vote on who condoned the driver’s behavior???”
    ~~~~~~~~~

Come on, my friend, don’t be ridiculous. You’re essentially suggesting it is IMPOSSIBLE for an individual to calculate the number of VOCALLY ABUSIVE people in a ZR that’s registered to carry at least FOURTEEN (14) passengers, UNLESS he/she “conducts a vote.”
    Isn’t that “an illogical, non sequential and PREPOSTEROUS line of reasoning” as well?

Perhaps YOU may want to PRESENT your STATISTICS or the RESULTS of any OPINION POLL you’ve conducted that accurately determined whether or not passengers on a PSV any given day, either tolerated or condoned reckless behaviour exhibited by its operator.

We cannot dismiss the fact that, although there is public condemnation of the ‘minibus culture,’ to which passengers are fundamental, it does not necessarily mean persons who CONDONE the behaviours associated therewith, DO NOT EXIST.
    ‘SILENCE’ cannot be used as a determining factor to identify whether or not they are in the MAJORITY or MINORITY.

PSV operators ‘stopping elsewhere than a designated bus stop for the purpose of picking up or setting down passengers’ is against the law, and I believe carries a fine of up to $750.
    Passengers purposely embark and disembark PSVs anywhere along the road, making BOTH passengers and operators COMPLICIT in this illegal activity.
    Those same commuters COMPLY with the law when catching a Transport Board bus.

Under those circumstances, we could conclude people equally tolerate and condone this behaviour, simply because they enjoy the convenience derived therefrom.

RE: “ARTAX YOU CAN ONLY BE A FULL BLOWN JACKASS!!!!!!.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    It’s obviously clear we DISAGREE with each other’s opinions, as I remain committed to my points, and you, yours.

We could simply AGREE to DISAGREE. 🤐

However, for you to PROLONG a discussion with unnecessary verbosity, trying to CONVINCE someone you’ve suggested “can only be a full-blown jackass,” to ACCEPT your opinions, such a CHARACTERISATION could be SIMILARLY USED to DESCRIBE you. 😂😂

32. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@Artax You are a lost cause. Let me reiterate, without fear or favour, for the avoidance of any doubt AND for particular emphasis i will state in ALL CAPS YOU ARTAX YOU ARE WOEFULLY IGNORANT OF THE DECISON MAKING PROCESS COMMUTERS ARE FACED WTH WHEN TAKING PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION!!!!!

Artax
    March 2, 2026 at 11:12 am
    “Ironically, YOU DON’T KNOW whether or not the remaining passengers were “OBVIOUSLY TOLERATING the driver’s behaviour” either, which I could similarly opine, “is an illogical, non sequential and PREPOSTEROUS line of reasoning.”

This statement right here needs to be framed for BU posteriority under “statements so dumb it is self explanatory”

Artax
    “RE: “ARTAX YOU CAN ONLY BE A FULL BLOWN JACKASS!!!!!!
    It’s obviously clear we DISAGREE with each other’s opinions, as I remain committed to my points, and you, yours.
    We could simply AGREE to DISAGREE.”

After calling me an IDIOT in a prior post, you expect me to accept your diplomacy?!?!?!? NAH…..DE I & I ENT TEKKING DAT!!!!!!!!! TEK YOUR DIPLOMACY TO IRAN AND LET THEM SHOVE IT UP TRUMP’S ASS!!!!!! So again for the final time let me reiterate, without fear or favour, for the avoidance of any doubt, to exorcise some demons AND for particular emphasis i will also state in ALL CAPS for the final time, ARTAX YOU CAN ONLY BE A FULL BLOWN JACKASS!!!!!!.

Artax
    “PSV operators ‘stopping elsewhere than a designated bus stop for the purpose of picking up or setting down passengers’ is against the law, and I believe carries a fine of up to $750.
    Passengers purposely embark and disembark PSVs anywhere along the road, making BOTH passengers and operators COMPLICIT in this illegal activity.
    Those same commuters COMPLY with the law when catching a Transport Board bus.

Also, for the avoidance of any doubt, I did not put this on my list. No commuter would find this particular behaviour. undesirable and they are not sanctioned by police for doing such. It is the PSV driver that is prohibited by law. Drivers if caught MAY be officially reported OR police verbally caution the driver. Van drivers and conductors are usually on the lookout for police. If the driver knows police is following they MAY go and wait at the bus stop and direct commuters to go there.

Artax
    “A few weeks ago, I caught a route 3Y ZR from Warrens. The driver remained at the bus stop for a few minutes until he saw another ZR approaching, which managed to pass him.
    Obviously, those passengers who remained aboard condoned that behaviour, which those of us who got off either condoned or tolerated.”

Artax
    “As it relates to my ZR experience, the COMPLAINANTS were the FOUR (4) female passengers who CHOSE to ‘get off’ the van and await another one, which came IMMEDIATELY after.
    I did not complain, but chose to join them, while the ‘silent minority’ remained.”

That is very good that you and the 4 other ladies got out the van. So tell me this, if the other van you caught did the very same dragging would you have gotten out again and waited for another van?
    The Warrens, Jackson Route I’m fairly familiar with. There are lot of businesses around that area. PSVs that are not already full would make that an obligatory stop as it is a higher chance of getting commuters.. During the mid-morning, early afternoon period before 3pm it is a slowish, off peek period. Hence a higher chance MORE VANS DURING THAT TIME to drag if they are not nearly full after they have stopped for a few minutes. Referring to your experience Artax if the remaining passengers got in the van higher up that route (e.g. Jackson, White Hill) and already paid their bus fare, it is VERY UNLIKELY they will get back out. They will not get back their bus fare. If they get out they would very well have to pay another set of bus fare to get in another van that may ALSO DRAG!!!!!. You should notice SOME commuters won’t get in the van until they are ready to move from that stop. Passengers will not ask the driver if they intend to drag!!!!!!

Artax
    Condone simply means “to overlook, forgive, or disregard something WITHOUT PROTEST or censure.”

Trust me THIS is your MAJOR problem right here. You need to throw away your dictionary or if googling you need to consult different sources for you definitions

33. DLP TV

Wait? YOU BACK WITH THIS SHIITE AGAIN THIS WEEK? 😂😂😂

You’re essentially REPEATING yourself.
    Seems as though you’re someone who has to get the last word in during an exchange. 🤔

Obviously, YOU DON’T KNOW HOW ‘TO LET GO OF AN ARGUMENT.’

In psychology, the term ‘right-fighter mentality’ is used to describe people who ‘cannot let go of an argument.’
    They are driven by an intense, subconscious need for validation, control, a fear of being wrong, or a desire to ‘win.’

This behaviour often stems from unmet needs, deep-seated emotional triggers, causing them to view arguments as battles to be won for validation, rather than opportunities for understanding, or resolve any underlying conflict.

To PROLONG a discussion with unnecessary, repetitive verbosity, trying to CONVINCE someone you’ve suggested “can only be a full-blown jackass,” to ACCEPT your opinions……

……you’ve exhibited behaviours such as being rigid and inflexible, superiority, pompousness, and aggressiveness, with a fixation on ‘being right,’ and a ‘strong desire’ for me to acknowledge that you are.

All behaviours associated with right-fighter personality.

Forces me to ask the question Dave Martin and the Tradewinds asked in their song, “Civilisation,”……

…… “so, answer me fast, who civilise and who’s the (REAL FULL BLOWN) JACKASS?” 🎶

Perhaps YOU ARE the “lost cause.”