Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar delivered a highly controversial speech at the recently concluded 50th Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of CARICOM, held in Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis. One must conclude given the tone and perspective of Persad-Bissessar, Caricom is fragmented in its approach and some distance from a united Caricom.

Many will agree some of Persad-Bissessar’s concerns are valid but tone is considered a tenet of diplomacy. Airing our regional differences in public in order to pander to geopolitical interest will not move our regional bloc forward. We must not forget that Persad-Bissessar often makes provocative anti-Caricom statements. The statement ‘Trinidad and Tobago is not an ATM’ will never be forgotten.

Also, her so called philosophical position that she (T&T) will never support dictatorship administrations was of interest to many. Persad-Bissessar should be reminded that according to tradingeconomics.com Trinidad imported over 1 billion dollars in goods from China in 2024. She should also be reminded why there was the Cuban Revolution of 1953.

Listen to Dr. Don Marshall

The framers of CARICOM were well intentioned, however, there is enough evidence to support that our modern day leaders lack commitment to the ideals of CARICOM.

65 responses to “Kamla Persad-Bissessar needs to shut up!”

1. Arrest warrants were issued, says Mottley

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley described as “unfortunate” the use of the word “kidnapping” to refer to the return of Trinidad and Tobago citizen Brent Thomas on an extradition request in October 2022.

Speaking in a televised interview last night after the CARICOM Leaders’ Retreat at the 50th CARICOM Heads of Government meeting in St Kitts and Nevis, Mottley said the issue was addressed two years ago.

She was referring to comments by Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, who said Thomas was kidnapped from Barbados and returned home via a Regional Security System aircraft.

‘Unfortunate’

“These matters were addressed since 2023 by the attorneys general of both Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago. To describe it as a kidnapping is a most unfortunate term because arrest warrants were presented by the Trinidad police to the Barbados police. As to what happened, we don’t know, because we don’t get involved in operational matters,” Mottley said.

She acknowledged at the time, as previously stated by former Attorney General Dale Marshall, that the formal process of extradition, which was done with other countries, was not an intra-regional practice.

“That is why the CARICOM arrest warrant is being pursued. That is why legislation has to be passed in every CARICOM country to be able to facilitate that CARICOM arrest warrant,” Mottley said.

“But to describe it as kidnapping or to suggest that any member of Cabinet or any member of the permanent secretary class or Government of Barbados is involved in kidnapping is a scurrilous lie and defamatory in the extreme. We all know what transpired and it is regrettable that it happened.”

Marshall told the Midweek Nation

of May 10, 2023, the Government of Barbados had no knowledge of the situation until it broke in the Trinidad and Tobago press.

“We simply had no knowledge nor involvement in this matter. This is not unusual as these matters are operational and such requests for surveillance by another law enforcement arm or for arrests of individuals do not fall within our purview.”

He too disagreed with the use of the term “abduction” by Trinidad and Tobago Justice Davindra Rampersad when the matter went to court there, but accepted liability. “To the extent that there may be any legal liability attaching to the actions of the Barbados Police Service officers, I can assure you that the Government of Barbados will abide by the law and fully respect any decisions of the law courts,” Marshall said at the time.

Last night Mottley also addressed CARICOM’s relationship with the United States, marked by Secretary of State Marco Rubio’s attendance at the regional conference.

The Prime Minister said the region had not had any serious agreement with the US since President Ronald Reagan’s Caribbean Basin Initiative almost 50 years ago, explaining that the member states discussed a framework of cooperation on structured migration, trade and investment, disaster preparedness, security issues, human development and technical assistance.

Concern

“We recognise that we live in the same neighbourhood and that really and truly, if Caribbean people are not safe, secure, prosperous, it’s going to be very difficult for others in the neighbourhood to be so,” adding the key was to find common purpose among the differences and nuances.

There was also discussion on Cuba, most of its operations now crippled by a USled embargo. Mottley said a joint statement would be issued by the US and CARICOM on Cuba and the need to provide humanitarian support.

She said the forum acknowledged the rest of the region would be impacted by what happened in Cuba and they hoped to see a working together “to make sure that things will redound ultimately to the benefit of the Cuban people and to ensure that whatever happens does not in any way negatively affect the Caribbean”.

Mottley said in the interview there were some tangible decisions arising out of yesterday’s forum on improving governance and financing.

“We’ve been delaying a lot of these decisions and we finally agreed to set up a subcommittee of heads who will, hopefully, help us work through the weeds to make the institution of Caribbean Community even more effective than it is now,” the Prime Minister added.

The CARICOM Heads of Government meeting wraps up today.(SAT)

2. What the lady said is what we all know but like to avoid accepting.

Caricom which was of little use and benefit to us, is now in real terms just a name. Guyana and Trinidad have an opportunity now with the USA to return to serious financial power. If the shoe was on the other foot we would of done the same dam thing. I wish them both well and hope the bounty trickles down to their people.

Other that being an instrument of protection in a world of free trade what does caricom do? They ensure that we pay 200% duty for a Tee shirt, along with a wash pan of duty on imported milks and items like diabetic jam along with a wash of other products. We are therefore practicing business using an approach that prejudices our people financially. In a world of free trade we want to make the people living in the country pay more for external products, so that a few local and regional manufacturers get to make a dollar.

I will close by saying that Caricom is the reason why we have such a high cost of living. Remove the barriers it causes and drop the protective duties down to 20% in total and watch the cost of living fall.

As for Caricom unity that was shown to be a joke. Some talking loud about a Zone Of Peace and at the same time Maduro wanted to send his marines into Guyana to take over their oil reserves. What about when Maduro threatened to attack Trinidad, that was a Zone of peace then? The PM of Trinidad was right to paint dem tail at the meeting recently. Most of them were more concerned with snuggling up to Maduro for cheap oil, than making a TRUE stand in unity for Caricom. So tek what wunna get now.

Who feathers get ruffled by what I have said dat sound like a wunna problem.

3. @John A

What do you mean by:

Guyana and Trinidad have an opportunity now with the USA to return to serious financial power.

4. John Ass.
    Can cry down caricom duties but support TRUMP illegal tariffs

5. Could it be that Bissessar is merely a symptom of a broader political, geopolitical, malady?

Could it be?

Certainly, they are other such symptoms on the global landscape. Maybe Mottley as well, though on another tangent of the political deformities bedeviling us all, the entire world.

No doubt, deviations from established ‘norms’, maybe characteristic of other epochs as well, even if appearing more meaningful during these times.

Clearly, political cultures, represented by some actors, generally seem to be behaving in ways hithertofore unknown.

For some such actors – like Troare, Tchiani and Goita of Burkino Faso, Mali and Niger respectively – there are clear political determinations. A clear political idea. While for conservative types – like Bissessar and Trump there seems not be be any central political idea except the furtherance of a modern serfdom. While on another tangent of the political culture we have 27 European leaders, nearly all of them, willingly entered into a vicious and apolitical zero-sum-game. A self-destructive enterprise predicated on an irrational expansionism and again the territorial conquest central to their histories and to be now achieved at any and all costs.

6. @ David

Watch what will unfold between the USA with Guyana and Trinidad over the next few months. So lets look at the ingredients for the cook up.

Guyana and Trinidad are close to Venezuela with only a few miles between them. Trinidad has a refinery that can be put back to work in less time than you may think. Getting the crude out the ground in Venezuela, all like now foreign oil companies are working on. Guyana is in a major boom with plenty land with boat access for a new refinery. You never put all your eggs in one basket, so the USA would probably prefer not to have a major refinery in Venezuela. Its a safer business to pull the oil out the ground in Venezuela and have 2 refineries in 2 locations to handle the processing. I said on this same blog weeks ago to watch for the new triangle between Guyana, Trinidad and the USA and it is quickly coming to be. The leaders of Trinidad and Guyana know where the best interest for their people lay and the Trini PM said it best. “We will continue to work with Caricom but we will pursue what is best for our country and its people.”

Now as for Caricom it is an outdated entity that stands in the way of free trade. It inflates the cost of extra regional goods to protect entities in the region, many of which dont even still exist. You know why clothes are so expensive and there is so much suitcase trade? it is because Caricom places a protective duty on clothing plus a 17.5% VAT on top of that. How much garment manufacturing is there left in Barbados that wunna protecting? Same with food items and all other extra regional items, that a one door manufacturer may make in the region. Truth is though the leaders want to keep caricom going, not because they are hardcore regionalist, but because they make massive duties off the external imports under the excuse of “we protecting caricom.” You will live to see an American base being placed on one of these islands as well. This would give them a closer presence to South America and the Cocaine and Heroin Corridor as a result.

Finally for the fowl that fly up, who better at nailing we ass with Tariffs (duties) than both the Bs and Ds here on the rock. Most expensive gas in the region due to Tariffs, Tee shirts expensive as hell as they pay roughly 200% protective duties (Tariffs again.)
    Don’t let me start on the extra regional food items, you tail “tarrified” there too. People who run their mouth and don’t even know current tariff rates here in Barbados, should go and educate themselves with our tariff book as to what Caricom cost us as consumers to protect. Introduce true free trade and not protected trade and watch the cost of living drop! Wunna could start with the price of gasoline please.

7. what shall I tell the BU? Avatar
    what shall I tell the BU?

I made 1 anti-trump comment which didn’t reach BU
    but it explained why USA is a toxic deal right about now

so instead I will chat random about Bible prophecy and knowledge in a BU Let us pray Christian Stylee

knowledge, it shall vanish away.

CO1 13:9 For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.

CO1 13:10 But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.

CO1 13:11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

CO1 13:12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

CO1 13:13 And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.

8. Remove the duties in these small open economies And watch the cost of living go down …… but also watch the borrowed FX disappear and government Revenue with it – the social services suffer and standard of living decline .

Tell us where will gov revenue come from to pay wages and fix roads etc ?

9. KAMALA THE ONLY REAL FEMALE LEADER IN THE CARIBBEAN AND DOING AN OUTSTANDING JOB AT IT.

10. So here are a few measures that could get us to a lower cost of living. Smaller cabinet, plug all the revenue holes, collect vat instead of writing off $500 million that you can’t bother to collect, broaden income tax net, broaden duty net, fix court system and impose a ticket system with immediate fines for traffic infringements, stop giving away everything you can’t afford for the vote, get local food production up with a serious (not lip service) agricultural push and on and on and on I could go.

When you done all those things drop ALL the duties on ALL imports to 15 percent with the exception of vehicles, increase the duty on electric vehicles by 40% as they drive on our roads but contribute nothing to the economy after they leave the port. Also impose on all electric vehicles an annual user fee based on weight, as they MUST contribute annualy to our road maintenance. Once you do that drop the tariffs on fuel and bring the price down. These changes will drop the cost of living substantially for everyone. The days of coming to the tax payers to continue to support inefficiency and a 50 year old dinosaur called caricom, are over and we need to recognise it. Oh and when goverment goes in the house for the annual estimates, or in our case GUESTIMATES, wunna stop handing out massive supplimentaries to some of these state entities withing weeks of the exercise. Bring all non audited state entities up to date with current audited financials, so we can all see the extent of the money pits we taxpayers are told to subsidise. Then privatise the worst offenders.

That folks is my last word on the matter. I leave it now to the faithfuls to try and defend the status quo, even though it is totally undefendable. In a simple sentence OUR STATE LIKE MANY OTHERS, IS GROSSLY INEFFICIENT AND WE THE TAX PAYERS PAY THE PRICE FOR IT DAILY!

11. Run for a seat

U forgot ur favorite one – make the suitcase merchant pay duties when they come through customs. U remember that is one u use to push ? How will that brig down the price of clothes ?

U full of it

12. Kamla Persad-Bissessar has a son that was born in Barbados.

Could he become a politician in Barbados and even Prime Minister or President as a born Bajan ?

buh doan mine me. I just cooking plain rice.lol

13. What does the news of attacks by USA and Israel mean for the rest of the world and this region? Higher oil price?

14. Truly, but how can one overcome this period of a re-newed colonialism.

A colonialism supported by assholes, both in the T&T government and here on BU.

Little Marco Rubio made this clear at the most recent Munich Security Conference yet this same relative of the drug running cartels was invited to address the last Caricom Summit.

How do you address these regressive forces except with a maximalist approach?

For Iran this is an existential war for survival imposed even as ‘negotiations’ were said to be progressing, by all sides.

15. Kamla is doing a great job of supporting a brutal empire with the expressed goal of recolonising the former colonies and enslaving your black ass!

Marco Rubio’s speech in Munich has reverberated across the former colonies.

Trump is a blessing in disguise. Everyone but Baje is waking up to the reality.

But then, we don’t have to excuse ourselves for serving in the US military! We do not need to justify to ourselves the taking of innocent lives in service of a white supremacist empire!

16. peace in the Middle East Avatar
    peace in the Middle East

Trump represents the worst of white people giving homage to the racist Nazi white supremacist sub-culture. The US-Israeli attack proves racist warmongers work in cahoots and are as thick as thieves and should not have any say in diplomatic talks or plans for peace in the Middle East.

17. Lest we forget — Venezuela did not actually invade Guyana. Instead of blasting across the ocean at Maduro, Caricom quietly reasoned with him and the threat of invasion into Guyana retreated for the time being, no? What would have happened if they had taken the other route? Probably an escalation by Maduro.

And when did Venezuela threaten to attack Trinidad &Tobago? Was it not in response to Trinidad & Tobago agreeing to host US equipment that would be used to attack Venezuelans. And was it not only in the event of an actual attack?

I don’t have feathers, so I am not ruffled. But it does make me sad. Another brainwashed black man in Barbados. How many more are there masquerading as human beings with functioning brains?

18. The Western fake news media, in places, earlier claimed that the Marja of Shia Islam, the widely respected Ayatollah Kamenie was murdered today by the the crusaders in their ill-fated decapitation operation which kicked off the latest war by the would-be Nobel laureate, Drumpf.

Yes, they tried but failed. And it’s a good thing too. For if they had succeed any Shia Muslim any where in the world could have exacted vengeance without referring to any higher authority.

And that would have unleashed the nature of violence Western leaders seem too ignorant to understand before their puerile excesses.

Of course, even at a time when highly precision weapons rule battle spaces, the American and Zionist criminals could not avoid bombing a primary school in Iran killing over 80 young children. No apologies up to now, but they’ve always been killers of innocence.

And that’s a big sin in Shia Islam.

19. So wait the only reason Maduro did not attempt to take the Guyanese oil fields was because caricom pleaded with him to stand down? So it did not have anything to do with the fact he was warned by the USA that if one American Oil Company in Guyana was touched he would regret it? Maybe he was told by Mia and Gonsalves that this is ” a zone of peace and that frightened him.”

As for him threatening to attack Trinidad because they were in discussions with the USA for the use of their airport etc, it shows what a dictator and half a madman Maduro was. So you going attack Trinidad because they were cooperating with the USA? Why you did not attack the USA directly instead? A Little history here, when the USA went into Grenada to get their people at the Grenadian Medical College out decades ago, it was Barbados that offered the USA our airport as a launching point. So by your logic then the Cuban army that was in Grenada had a right to attack Barbados then for asisting the USA with the use of our airstrip?

You seem to think you are right and everyone else is wrong because they don’t agree with you. Well all you have is your opinion like I have mine. I listen to the view of all and respect their right to voice it, but dont ever think you are right and everyone with a different view to yours is wrong. After all this ain’t Russia of Venezuela under Maduro where an alternative view to the divine leader would see you jailed indefinitely.

20. It is possibly clear now why the USA made the move on Venezuela. They needed to ensure oil production capacity was maintained with the closure of the strait of Harmuz anticipated to be closed by Iran because of the attack that was in the works.

21. KHAMENI IS DEAD.

AFTER IRAN.

NEXT IS CUBA.

CARICOM ALWAYS BEGGING AND BOROWING JOKERS CAN’T ASSIST THEIR AFRICAN BROTHERS OR SISTERS SLAUGHTERED BY AFRICAN LEADERS IN FRAUDELENT ELECTIONS OR EVEN CLOSER UNREST IN HAITI.

BUNCH OF BACKWARD THINKERS PUNCHING ABOVE THEIR WEIGHT IN DELUSION OF GRANDEUR AND SELF IMPORTANCE.

22. Here is what matters — contrary to your accusation against the CARICOM leaders, they did IN FACT reach out to Maduro and defend Guyana regarding his aggressive stance.

AND … contrary to your position that CARICOM should have rushed to represent Trinidad & Tobago against the aggression of Venezuela, it was, in fact, Trinidad & Tobago who were the aggressors. THEREFORE, they forfeited the right to CARICOM support in the matter.

And you are here talking about ruffled feathers? I would say you are displaying a bird brain, but I have been watching birds on Youtube. They are far more intelligent than I thought. Whereas you are going in the opposite direction. Future videos may show that they have surpassed you.

23. Yes, Khamenei is dead. But that was more apparent one hour after this writer’s scepticism

As a former and still ignorant war fighter, at least you should know that truth is the first casuality of war. And White militaries, that canon fodder like yourself give your lives to, are the task masters of deception, not only in war.

One good thing about the Iranians is that they don’t hide their dead. But the White crusaders, which are always engaged in resource wars, which you are still a part of, always do. They are maybe scores of US soldiers dying in Iranian retaliatory strikes, but not a mention in these same media.

For Khamenei, his level of humanity, even in war, and despite the criminal projections of your kind about terrorism, exceeded that of anyone known in the West, the White dominated world to which you were always a slave.

You always complain about perceived weaknesses of Black people even as eschonced in Afrika. Yet, not a word about the real terrorism used by America and Europe to keep Afrika unstable for the exploitation of its resources. Resources that a White man like you, in a Black face, still runs around Afrika to also try to exploit. Why not go and live wid the White people, your people?

Yours is a level of ignorance incapable of accepting the logic of a Khamenei. Not believing it, accepting it as his! For as a Shia Muslim martyrdom is not seen in the way your White eyes view it. The Shia crave martyrdom!

Khamenei was a fighter for justice. Under the Iranian Constitution Iran is compelled to assist peoples anywhere seeking justice. Thus, they supported many liberation struggles in Afrika including the ANC, even when your White people were calling them “terrorists”, like they do the Palestinians, some Lebonese.

This writer shall be eternally grateful for having lived during the time Khamenei was alive. As a direct descendent of the Prophet Mohammad, may He take his righful place amongst the greatest Ancestors of mankind!

24. political assassination Avatar
    political assassination

Political Assassination is a particular form of murder. Regardless of who carries out the act, on whose orders or why, it is always unlawful. The CIA has a long history of helping to kill leaders around the world with involvement in coups to overthrow Governments. USA and Israel have been waging war in Middle East for 36 years and European Governments are worthless enablers in genocide of civilians with dishonest and meaningless empty lip service. Terminology has been changed by wicked murderers to targeted killings of Presidents, arial bombings, drone attacks etc.

25. Next is Cuba?????? What has Cuba ever done to the USA to deserve an attack from the USA????? Fight the colonial butchers in Africa??? The godless red hammer and sickle joining the anti-colonial uprisings that Marco Rubio spoke about as a bad thing that happened?

26. @Donna

Surely you underestimate the anti Cuba lobby in the USA especially in the South?

27. Oh Jesus Christ! A source is now saying that Drumpf contacted the Italians last night begging again for another ceasefire.

The Persians, a real civilizational state being 5000 years old, said no.

Such are the licks the Zionists and the Americans are getting in their tail.

Yuh got to finish the job. Yuh got to flatten the Zionist state, killing everybody if necessary.

What has the world come to. A blackmailer, Netanyahu, has a US President, Donald Drumpf, by the short and curly.

A US president you seemed to have raped young girls, maybe murdered a few, and is on tape apparently so doing. This is the only logic which explains this fecklessness.

Anyhow the Iranians are in near full control of the battle theatres. They are destroying all the American bases in the Persian Gulf, dominating the Israeli airspace, unchallenged, controlling the Hormuz Strait and inhibiting the flow of fossil fuels.

Khamenei toooo, might have conquered them after death too. That tale is for next time.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

Donna
    Google GAESA Cuba.

29. @ Northern

Ah I see you want to open Pandora’s box of financial mysteries. The container that all Cuban revenue flows in!

30. @ Northern

Maybe a better picture for Donna and all those others that think Amercia is the cause of Cuba’s financial demise, could be found by googling GAESA AND EL BANCO FINANCIERO INTERNATIONAL to better understand why Cuba is where it is and how all state revenue flows into one place, including the majority of revenue from private business as well under what one could call “the unwritten agreement.”

Of course don’t be surprised if she and others don’t come back and tell you it’s all lies made up by the CIA! LOL

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    It has been gradual. Born out of the special period, in the 90s, when the Eastern Bloc funding ended, and Cuba turned to tourism. By the time Fidel demitted office, the military already had their fingers in the pot. In the 20 years since, it accelerated.
    You’ll see disciples calling for cooperation of Bajan parties with the BDF etc, for this is where the coup d’état, emanates.
    Most battles involve land grabs. Very rarely do “the people” ever benefit. Irrespective of the ‘ISM involved, a power block controls the wealth.
    So you can overthrow a few politicians in Cuba, but if you think the big operator is stepping down, think again. They’ll tolerate some change, largely because their ownership will benefit.

32. The Great Iranian nation totally controls the tempo of the battles against the Epstein Class.

Thanks oh great Khamenei! Rest well! May you destroy all your enemies, utterly.

See Alon Mizrahi!

33. https://youtu.be/N_UxyVAR0mc?si=xnT4IS_SpNQ8ye-R

The Mizrahi …… has come!

34. https://youtu.be/eVFT-i7jqAo?si=MwIuQBLettqhN41H

The Persians are making the Epstein Class of America and the Zionist state blackmailing regime shiiite.

Prepare for either the mass use of nuclear weapons by the losers so far, or the freedom from international Whiteness and the end of empirium.

35. @ Northern

Yes sadly you are correct. The hard thing is the people of Cuba have paid the price for the existance and growth of GAESA, an entity best described as a military conglomerate by Forbes a few years back. Imagine a country that generates for example 20 dollars in GDP but only gets back say 15 dollars to run on because a dictatorial dinosaur feeds off the difference and the Cuban people meantime suffer from electrical blackouts that last for hours on a daily basis.

But you are right even if the USA was able to force a change of the local front men, the more serious problem of GAESA would still be there. I don’t think even the USA would want to take on the responsibility of becoming Cuba’s consolidated fund either.

These are the things no one talks about sadly. They see the surface and look no further.

36. First Venezuela, then Iran — and now Cuba.

Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) told Fox News’ Trey Gowdy on Sunday that the U.S. under President Donald Trump will next target the communist-led Caribbean island for regime change.

“Cuba is next,” said Graham. “They are going to fall. This communist dictatorship in Cuba, their days are numbered.”

https://www.yahoo.com/news/articles/lindsey-graham-names-next-country-095719627.html

37. America is making it’s grave in Iran. Iran is winning the war. And Drumpf and Netanyahu, the White people, are fucked!

38. America is making it’s grave in Iran. Iran is winning the war. And Drumpf and Netanyahu, the White people, are fucked!

XXXXXXXXXXXX

STOP SMOKING WEED SO EARLY IN THE DAY.

I WONDER IF PUTIN WHO CAN DO NO WRONG AND YOU IDOLIZE IS A BLACK MAN AND NOT A WHITE MAN.

HAPPY TO SEE FELLOW US MILITARY MEMBERS KICKING ASS AND TAKING NO BULLSHIT RHETORIC.

MORE TO COME

39. John A

Donna ASKED a very IMPORTANT question.

“What has Cuba ever done to the USA to deserve an attack from the USA?”

Perhaps you may want to answer that question, rather than suggesting she should google “GAESA AND EL BANCO FINANCIERO INTERNATIONAL.”

Unless you believe Trump and the USA have a right to initiate regime changes in whatever country they ‘feel like?’

Also, based on you pro Trump comments, I believe you would support Trump invading Greenland.

I cannot understand why sane people support Donald Trump.

40. @ David

I don’t know if I’ve overlooked something, but the articles seem to be describing the Cuban military involvement in illegal activities in Cuba.

How does that affect the USA?

Some sources are suggesting Cuba being the USA’s next target was influenced by Marco Rubio.

The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea is a communist, dictatorship, one party state. Why hasn’t Trump considered initiating a regime change there?

41. @ Artax

Yes I would definately reply to you. First to thr best of my knowledge the USA has not attacked Cuba. Unless it happened today as I was not home so did not hear the news.

Now as for Cuba everyone blames the USA for the poor state Cuba is in. The problem is most see the surface. They do not know how it got where it is. Cuba was financially raped for decades by its own military conglomerate GAESA. An entity set up for the sole purpose of skimming money off of Cuba. I know you all don’t want to hear the facts cause its easier to go with the talk.

The people of Cuba have not done anyone anything, but they are in the position they are in because of what Castro and his army created. So helping Cuba in its current structure will NOT help the people of Cuba. The only way Cuba and its people will see gains is if these entities are bypassed, with Cuba having an entirely different structure, wherein the country gets to keep ALL the foreign currency they generate.

Now as for their politics, I will never support any country be it Cuba, China, Venezuela or any others as long as they do not adhere to elections and their outcome. Communism has no place in today’s world. People have a right to dictate their direction based on a say in how their country is run.

Finally you want to know what has happened to many business owners who were in Cuba during the last few decades? Go to Miami and talk to some of the business people there who fled after having their businesses confiscated by the state. This is what you want me to support? Donna and others can do so out of their hatred for Trump, that is their right but dont expect me to be part of it.

Finally let me ask wunna a question if Obama had done what Trump did would you all object to his actions as well?

42. Castro and his gang were not the only leaders in the region practicing skimming. Maduro was also a master of this with his cronies.

So how logical does this sound? Several financial entities from Forbes, Bloomberg and UK financial entities have valued Maduro’s worth at between $600 million and $650 million USD. Now out of Maduro’s mouth came the words that he is paid roughly $120 USD a month as president. This he stated on a public platform in Venezuela for all to hear. Now mine you at the time he was wearing a gold Rolex President watch worth close to $20,000 USD. That would equate to 166 years of earning at the salary he himself stated in public he earns. On top of that he has the nerve to ask Venezuela to pay his legal bills which is illegal for them to do.

You just cant make this stuff up. LOL

43. Sorry guys meant 166 monthly salaries to buy the watch not years. LOL