Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar delivered a highly controversial speech at the recently concluded 50th Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of CARICOM, held in Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis. One must conclude given the tone and perspective of Persad-Bissessar, Caricom is fragmented in its approach and some distance from a united Caricom.

Many will agree some of Persad-Bissessar’s concerns are valid but tone is considered a tenet of diplomacy. Airing our regional differences in public in order to pander to geopolitical interest will not move our regional bloc forward. We must not forget that Persad-Bissessar often makes provocative anti-Caricom statements. The statement ‘Trinidad and Tobago is not an ATM’ will never be forgotten.

Also, her so called philosophical position that she (T&T) will never support dictatorship administrations was of interest to many. Persad-Bissessar should be reminded that according to tradingeconomics.com Trinidad imported over 1 billion dollars in goods from China in 2024. She should also be reminded why there was the Cuban Revolution of 1953.

Listen to Dr. Don Marshall

The framers of CARICOM were well intentioned, however, there is enough evidence to support that our modern day leaders lack commitment to the ideals of CARICOM.

65 responses to “Kamla Persad-Bissessar needs to shut up!”

1. John A

Firstly, please indicate where in my contribution I mentioned any about the USA attacking Cuba?

Secondly, you did not answer Donna’s or my question.

Thirdly, I DON’T CARE who is POTUS, the USA does not have the right to invade other countries and force regime changes.

Fourthly, you mentioned, “People have a right to dictate their direction based on a say in how their country is run.”

I agree 100%.

However, do you believe the USA has “a right to dictate citizens direction based on a say in how their country is run?”

Tell Trump to invade North Korea and remove Kim Jong Un…… or change the regime in the Lao People’s Democratic Republic.

2. @ Artax

Your comment of 4.34 pm today says I did not answer your or Donna’s question which was ” what has Cuba done to be attacked by the USA?” If you read my first response to you I said I was not aware that the USA attacked Cuba as of March 2nd 2026. So I did answer both of you. If you are speaking about rumors of attacks and talk about potential attacks, we’ll anybody can say anything.

My Views on Cuba are based on hard facts as to their dilemma which I stand by and have read about as far back as 2008 or so. Their dilemma was published in several financial publications on Cuba going back over 20 years that I can remember reading. I will again repeat, I said that as long as these military conglomerates run that country and “manage” their revenue and assets, that no matter how much aid and help you throw at them it will not help Cuba or its people. It will simply enrich this military entity and its generals and their families.

Don’t know what else I can do to answer Donna or your question.

3. @ Artax

Want to ask you a question and see where you stand as it speaks to outside interference in the activities of an independant countries practices.

Do you blame the abolitionists for pressuring the countries who were practicing slavery centuries ago? These countries were violating the human rights of individuals and had abolitionists not fought wars and shed blood, would slavery still be with us today?

In the African genocides should outside forces have said that is not our business, it is their country and people let them sort it out?

What we see happening to women especially in Iran, is this something we should ignore? In 2026 can you imagine a woman being jailed for not wearing a piece of clothing correctly in the opinion of a religious leader? What about the fact that a woman can not travel by herself or without the permission of a husband or male relative? Even in their court is it fair that a female’s testimony is only worth 50 percent of a mans? Should thousands of people be murdered because they oppose the views of one divine self appointed leader?

What about Venezuela? Should relatives of persons there have to send in care packages with basics such as tampons and pain killers? This while one man has $600 million salted away?

Yes we can argue if Trump is right or wrong I agree with you there. But you know what we can not disagree on, its the fact that the above atrocities need to end one way or the other and these people need to have a say in their countries future, a future with free and fair elections!

Right I getting off my soapbox for the night.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Cuba and the USA have a long history
    https://cri.fiu.edu/us-cuba-relations/chronology-of-us-cuba-relations/

5. “Do you blame the abolitionists for pressuring the countries who were practicing slavery centuries ago?”

John A

A very POOR example, simply because “the abolitionists” fought to end slavery in their respective territories.

In Britain, for example, people such as William Wilberforce, Hannah More, Granville Sharp, James Eliot, Zachary Macaulay and Henry Thornton, were instrumental in the abolition of slavery.
    The Slavery Abolition Act of August 28, 1833, officially ended slavery throughout most of the British Empire, and ‘full emancipation’ by August 01, 1838.
    The emancipation of slavery in Britain was extended to its colonies, including Caribbean islands such as Barbados, Jamaica, Antigua & Barbuda, St. Kitts, Nevis and Anguilla, and Montserrat.

Slavery in France and its colonies that grew sugar cane, was first abolished on February 4, 1794, during the French Revolution, but reinstated by Napoleon in 1802.
    It was eventually abolished on April 27, 1848, under the Second Republic, led by abolitionist Victor Schœlcher.

I believe you’re being a bit NAIVE if you actually believe waging war in Iran is a sympathetic gesture towards what is happening to Iranian Muslim women.

The Islamic Republic of Iran is an Islamic state where Muslims constitute 99.4% of the population. That country has a theocracy form of government, in which the affairs are managed by religious leaders, and the laws are based on religious text, in the case the Quran.

On becoming Muslims, the women essentially ‘signed up’ to be treated according to Islamic laws.

It’s a fact that several American politicians maintain strong, pro-Israel stances. The Israel lobby in the United States comprises of individuals and groups, such as American Israel Public Affairs Committee (AIPAC), and United Christians for Israel…… who seek to promote policies favourable to Israel and oppose those they view as hostile to that country’s interests.

In 2024, more than 10,000 AIPAC members contributed over US$53M to pro-Israel Democratic and Republican candidates.
    Also, during that year, AIPAC worked with Congress to pass a US$18.1B funding package for Israel’s security.

Israel always forces the US to fight its (Israel) wars.

Benjamin “Bibi” Netanyahu has been doing shiite in the Middle East for years. I’m sure you’ve seen the genocide of Palestinian men, women and children, by both the Israeli government and settlers.

But, knowing ‘your style,’ you’ll probably find some reason to blame the Palestinians for their own demise, and support Trump’s proposal for the US to take over and own Gaza, force approximately 2.1 million Palestinians into exile, and rename the territory, ‘Riviera of the Middle East.’

Netanyahu claimed action against Iran was necessary because the leadership in Tehran was building underground facilities to shield its missile and nuclear programmes from attacks.
    “They started building new sites … underground bunkers that would make their ballistic missile program and their atomic bomb program immune within months,” he said.

US Secretary of State Marco Rubio said that Washington’s attacks on Iran were a proactive measure for the United States’ own protection ahead of an “imminent threat.”

Trump, similarly to other POTUS, is an ‘Israeli puppet.’ Tell him to jump, he’ll jump, and ask, ‘when to come down.’

6. @Artax

The Jewish lobby is very strong – with both wealth and economic influence – in the USA.

7. 1 When did muduro send his gun boats to invade guyana?

2, who signed a peace deal that handed Afgan to the Taliban that suppresses women probably worse than Iran

3. What about the Syrian government ?

4 what part did sanctions play in the unavailability or high prices for basic products in Venezuela and lack of electricity in Cuba?

When is trump going back into Afgan, Syria , n Korea etc

8. Wunna fellows have NO SOLUTIONS for fixing basic potholes,
    …or on the running of a little shiite hospital,
    …or even how to manage petty criminals…
    …but pontificating on global epistemological issues that have confounded ACTUAL implementors for CENTURIES….
    Shaking Bushie’s stinking head…

First remove the mote from thine eyes!

The REALITY is this…
    Karma has a LOT of catching up to do,
    … and time is SHORT!

The normal ‘logic’ that prevailed during the period of GRACE (when the limits of brassbowlery were DELIBERATELY curtailed by the CREATOR) has now been curtailed…

This is why ‘Trumpism’ runs things…
    – why Malmoney is king and the Empress is the Don
    – why 30-loves are par for the course
    – why Cuba is suffering – after having sacrificed the little they had for others
    – why the Epstein files are taking so long to fall off trucks
    – why Bushie’s whacker get tek way – and now even his damn collins…
    – why Froon built the Satanic Alter on the Garrison
    – and why SKY HIGH oil prices will VERY SHORTLY terminate ALL of our shiite plans for tourism, airBnbs, and even solve our traffic congestion problems…

The REAL problem will be – what the ass will we eat…??!!

What a time ahead!
    With Karma on the loose…

The FULL situation is PERFECTLY explained in Isaiah 3….

9 The look on their faces testifies against them;
    they parade their sin like Sodom;
    they do not hide it.
    Woe to them!
    They have brought disaster upon themselves.
    10 Tell the righteous it will be well with them,
    for they will enjoy the fruit of their deeds.
    11 Woe to the wicked!
    Disaster is upon them!
    They will be paid back
    for what their hands have done.

In other words… KARMA AT LARGE…
    (Verse 10 is one of the most comforting statements in the WHOLE bible… for a bushman…)

BTW @ Pacha
    Don’t even BOTHER to cuss Bushie…
    Cuz yuh going only heap MORE burning coals on yuh already hot head…

9. @ Bushie

We will see what and who the people in the affected countries support. We can sit her and talk all we want, the truth lies in what the people want in these affected countries. From what I have see there is a clear message as to their desire.

Have you been following what is happening in Brussels with the farmers. All over Europe farmers have been rolling their tractors into major cities and blocking roads against policies introduced. Follow the view of the people and your questions will always be answered.

10. @ Artax

For the record I do not support any attack on Cuba by the USA. As I have outlined in detail that would change nothing, other than one front man there will be replaced with another. Until the revenue skimming entities are no longer in place these military entities will just continue to take their cut out of Cuba’s GDP.

11. Bushie

Is water wet? So how would it not be possible to cuss you?

Is there not an implicit contradiction with your diatribe above?

And does that contradiction not render your (un)thinking as fatally flawed.

For you go on ad infinitum about a certain foolish book and the never-ending ills of the world. Is it not obvious that the same forebears of the criminals you here indict today were the authors of that very book?

12. Wunna fellows have NO SOLUTIONS for fixing basic potholes,
    …or on the running of a little shiite hospital,
    …or even how to manage petty criminals…
    …but pontificating on global epistemological issues that have confounded ACTUAL implementors for CENTURIES….
    Shaking Bushie’s stinking head…

First remove the mote from thine eyes!

XXXXXXXXXX

THIS WILL GO OVER THEIR SMALL MINDED AND HYPOCRITICAL THINKING.

13. @ David

Trump has extended his focus to Ecuador.

Trump launches military action in Ecuador days after attacking Iran
    ©Metro

The US military is now targeting ‘designated terrorist organisations’ in Ecuador, just days after Donald Trump’s administration began a war with Iran. It marks another foreign escalation by the United States, days after beginning strikes targeting nuclear facilities and government officials in Iran.

US Southern Command said the strikes represent ‘a powerful example of the commitment of partners in Latin America and the Caribbean to combat the scourge of narco-terrorism.’

14. @Artax

Also an Iranian war ship is being reported to have been destroyed while in international waters. The USA is asserting its dominance over the world.