Submitted by Heather Cole

The dictionary defines a squatter as an unlawful occupant of land or a building. Just this week in the Press there was a video of Mark Maloney refuting a suggestion that was made by Trevor Prescod that the persons who are squatting on Crown lands at the Belle should be allowed to occupy houses at the Villages of Coverley that are unoccupied. He made it clear that no squatter will be allowed at the Villages of Coverley. One can only assume that Mr. Prescod meant that since the houses are completed and listed as rent to own, that the government should purchase the houses for the people from the Belle.

One will recall that the DLP Government entered into a leasing agreement with Housing Concepts SRL – also owned and/or managed by the said Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham to build houses for Barbadians at the Coverley Development site. The terms of the lease agreement is $100.00 for 99 years. It was so low that it was labelled as pepper corn by another contributor to the Barbados Underground. In Thursday’s edition of Barbados Today, Mr. Maloney stated that prices of these houses range from $280,000.00 to $340,000.00.

Everyone is aware that it is unlawful to occupy land in the Belle since it is has implications for contaminating the water supply. Any agreement undertaken between the Government of Barbados and any entity is a legally binding document and therefore lawful. The agreement between the National Housing Corporation and Housing Concepts SRL was specifically for residential housing development. The Town and Country Planning department did not give permission for the construction of a gas station or the obstruction of the road reserve.

We are all aware of the fact that on two occasions Mr. Maloney has broken the agreement while occupying the land at the Villages of Coverley. In the first instance, it was the building of the Rubis gas station and the second was the obstruction of road reserve which resulted in the death of a young Barbadian student. The two infractions of the agreement are still in effect as government has been negligent in enforcing their removal. Since Mr. Maloney has broken the leasing agreement and to date no Auditor General’s Report has contained information about funds from Coverley, one cannot ensure that Mr. Maloney is making the payments per the lease agreement, we can all but wonder if he is lawfully occupying the 41 hectares of land while making super profits.

The property at Coverley does not belong to Mr. Maloney. It belongs to the Government and people of Barbados. No action has been taken against Mr. Maloney for building the Rubis gas station on public property. Cannot the same reasoning be applied that low income persons can occupy the houses which are on public property without action been taken against them? Can the people from the Belle occupy the houses and if the police are called to eject them, would a Minister call and prevent that action?

How wrong could Mr. Prescod have been to ask that the unoccupied houses be turned over to the squatters in the Belle? How right could Mr. Maloney have been to state that no squatters would be allowed at the Villages of Coverley? It make one wonder if there are inferior citizens in Barbados and that they can be prohibited from living in certain areas. Mr. Maloney seems to have forgotten that he signed a legally binding contract that allows government to purchase any houses that he is unable to sell. It makes one wonder why he even bothered to sign the contract when he had no intention of keeping it since he already broke it twice.

The bottom line is that Government must not enter into these adulterated sweetheart deals that are driven by corruption. It must also ensure that Barbadians are not disadvantaged and that they have access to housing in all developments. That is, that all developments must have a percentage of their housing stock set aside for low income earners even if at a price differential which is subsidized by government. We must discard the term low income housing as it perpetrates the stigma of classism and elitism in society. Mr. Maloney’s statements about not allowing persons from Belle to be relocated to the Villages of Coverley perpetrates the argument for two Barbados’ even though the people are brainwashed at election time into thinking that there is only one.

354 responses to “Who Maloney Think He Is?”

1. Caswell
    The BNSI requested the manufacturer to provide verification / testing certificates from a competent conformity assessment body(s), showing that the water meters meet the requirements.
    The BNSI do you have either technical skill or equipment to certify these ultrasonic meters so I believe that they accepted the testing certificates from Germany, United Kingdom and United States of America.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….this is how idiots manage countries and critical taxpayer funded entities, read QEH, Transport Board, etc, etc,….should I go on. What the hell have former health minister Donville Inniss and current health minister John Boyce done but degrade the facility to this level. I am sure they made sure to collect their salaries every month, stealing their salaries, look at the state of the lone hospital on the island, look at the state of BWA….do you think they know what they are doing….I think they need to be told what to do…..be careful what you ask for, you may get it, the wanted the government at all cost, they will be remembered for sure.

QEH remedy
    Doctors need tools to work – Chase

Added by George Alleyne on March 2, 2016.
    Saved under Health Care, Local News

Amid talk of new budget cuts, the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) is warning that the state-run health care system is currently stretched, with doctors running short on vital supplies and equipment, which poses a serious threat to the delivery of patient care.

However, during the last in a series of Ministry of Health-sponsored town hall meetings last night aimed at getting public input on the way forward for health care financing, patient advocate Malcolm Grant highlighted what he deemed to be a questionable accounting and purchasing practice at the hospital, while arguing that there was inefficient use of funds.

He noted that intravenous (IV) poles were listed on the QEH’s “wish list” of needs at a cost of about $750.

“Now a private doctor can bring in an IV pole into Barbados, pay shipping, freight and duty for less than $200. So there is somebody that is making $550 in between there, and that has to be addressed,” he said.

UWI lecturer in public health, Dr Natasha Sobers-Grannum, expressing concern about health care efficiency

Lecturer in Public Health and Epidemiology at Cave Hill Dr Natasha Sobers-Grannum also said she was “deeply concerned” about inefficiencies in the local health system.

“I’m afraid that we are being asked to pour more into a leaking system,” she said, warning that any discussion on health care financing must take into consideration other aspects of reform.

“We talk about financing, we should also be talking about governance and organization, and bring those factors to bear,” she told the meeting, which focused on efficiency in public medical care.

However, while highlighting a shortage of medical equipment and supplies, BAMP President Dr Carlos Chase warned that the operations of the state-run QEH were anything but efficient.

“We have ten ophthalmologists at the hospital but [each] operates one half day a week because only one operating table is there for them while the other three tables are shut down inside the Lions’ Eye Care Theatre waiting for $3 million to open up. But that was cut from the budget,” Dr Chase told the fifth town hall meeting.

He also suggested that if the QEH’s theatres operated efficiently from eight in the morning to six in the evening – including the three in the eye care theatre – the current backlog of patients awaiting surgery would be cleared.

“[However], we come to work there is no air conditioning, there are no sutures, the bed is not working, nurses are short and stressed out. Then there is no anaesthetist, therefore you could operate halfway and then go home. So the theatre is there vacant all day doing nothing, and nobody could be done [operated upon],” said Chase, who also complained of the absence of support staff.

“The hospital does not function 24 hours. The doctors and nurses run 24 hours [but] at four o’clock administration shuts down, lab shuts down, laundry shuts down, x-ray shuts down, cafeteria shuts down,” the doctors’ spokesman said, while pointing out that the majority of persons using the QEH could not afford private diagnostic tests and had no option but to go to the hospital.

“So the people come to the hospital, they can’t afford to go anywhere else, and that is why you have a back up of cases.”

Dean of the University of the West Indies Faculty of Medicine, Cave Hill Campus
    Dr Peter Adams agreed, while pointing out that QEH had been plagued by bottlenecks for decades.

Recalling the days of his post-graduate training there, Dr Adams said, “I discovered there were so many ophthalmologists and there was just that one theatre.”

However, with the country currently spending in excess of $700 million a year on health care, 55 per cent of which is financed by Government, veteran insurance health care professional George Vanderpool said it was time to address the inefficiencies that plague the system.

“Before we talk about investing funds and instead of throwing more funds and money down into a dark hole, let us look at the inefficiencies that we have within our systems.

“Maybe we need to look at things like readmissions in hospital where more services are being utilized for the same patient continually, rather than having that one visit count. When they attend to the hospital, ensure that person is not back there three and four times with the same complaint,” he said. (GA)

3. Caswell

In addition the BWA appointed global industry expert to do independent testing of the meters at the facilities of NSF-WRc in the UK.

About NSF-WRc

Bringing verification of product performance and regulatory compliance to the water pipe and fittings industries; through mechanical testing, materials testing, certification, approval, services and consulting.

NSF-WRc provides mechanical testing, materials testing and a wide range of certification and approval services to the water pipe and fittings industries.

Most noted for its services relating to WRAS Product Approvals and the BS6920 test for non-metallic materials, NSF-WRc has extensive laboratory facilities providing independent, third party testing across the full range of pipe and fittings products.

Manufacturers and suppliers use these facilities, our technical expertise and our broad knowledge of international standards and water regulations to gain market access and verify product performance.

See NSF-WRc’s latest multi function tap testing rig in action:

Water Meter Services

NSF-WRc are UKAS accredited to test water meters to standards ISO 4064, EN 14154 and OIML R49.

Flow Test Equipment and Test Rigs

Our accredited facilities include two flow test rigs that utilise a gravimetric system to accurately weigh water that has passed through the meters undergoing test. The tests can be operated at a range of flowrates up to 2000 litres/min
    (120 m3/hr) for water meters 15 mm up to 100 mm in diameter. Accurate measurement of the water density then enables the precise calculation of the volume of water passed through the meter. All instrumentation used is traceable to national standards.

Assessment Service for Meters in Dispute

A service is offered for verifying meters that are in dispute. Dispute meters are generally tested to BS 5728 or ISO 4064, ‘Measurement of flow of Cold Potable Water in Closed Conduits’ and results compared to the maximum permissible errors as specified in ‘The Measuring Instruments (Cold-water Meters) Regulations 1988’, unless directed otherwise by the client.

Specialist Meter Testing

Our facilities have the capacity to test flow equipment in a wide range of operating conditions that they may experience during service. The versatility and traceability of the flow test rigs make them ideal for meter trials, research and development work.

Approval Service

Our accredited calibration laboratory is one of only two such laboratories in the UK that can carry out type-approval testing and calibration of water meters. We work in close collaboration with the National Measurement Office (NMO) who certifies meters for Pattern Approval and Type Approval on the basis of our test results.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Not only are the digital meters substandard, but the heat, according to many people who call the BWA reporting burst pipes, actually burst multiple pipes per week around the island, those blue pipes leading from the meters….of course the BWA takes, weeks, months and are known to take years to fix leaks.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Societe

Read the Weight and Measures Act, and I already said that the BNSI does not have the ability to certify the meters and that they relied on a certificate from Germany to approve the meters. What don’t you understand?

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AWTY

When you connect two meters in series, the same amount of water passes through each meter but they would register different amounts. That is all I’m saying.

7. Caswell
    BNSI don’t even have a water meter testing and calibration bench so how are they going to certify? The only other water meter testing bench is a Bowmanston but that has two problems:-
    1. Since paying US$1.0 MILLION DOLLARS for it in 2005-06, it has never been commissioned and consequently never functioned.
    2. BWA’s Bowmanston test laboratory is not ISO certified.

So please spare the people of Barbados your crap, you know NOTHING about what you talk and the best you can manage on this topic to make baseless allegations.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…..intelligent people do not manage a country or it’s most critical services belonging to and for the people into the ground or into bankruptcy. Yardfowls have nothing to glow, bray or boast about in this case.

9. The old meters were robbing BWA customers and BWA itself by their equal inaccuracy.

10. @Caswell

If you have supporting information why not publish it.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Societe

> Caswell
    > BNSI don’t even have a water meter testing and calibration bench so how are they going to certify?

You just confirmed that the organization that is required to do the testing does not have the capacity. That’s the essence of my contributions on this matter.

12. Well Well & Consequences
    The meters are installed in the millions of numbers of units in the Middle East where the temperature is 10 degrees Celsius higher than Barbados. The meters are certified for ambient air temperature of 50 degrees Celsius. The meters are also certified for water temperature of 60 degrees Celsius.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I would like to but I have to protect my sources. I can’t release the information without compromising someone. My hands are tied to the day I die on this.

14. BU confirm BWA billing rates is higher since the installation of the new metres. This is why many consumers are concerned. BWA will have to do a better PR job to educate the population. What we need to be curious about is whether the procurement procedure was followed. The AG Mr. Trotman will probably tell us in his next report.

15. Bridgetown to rattid!!! RATS ARE DANGEROUS!!!!

A rat infestation in The City could hurt Barbados’ heritage reputation, an environmental health officer has warned

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/78475/rat-attack#sthash.Es9FecLz.dpuf

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Caswell; I understand.

But I’m just querying if the meters directly measure the AMOUNT of water passing through each meter or the RATE and pressure at which the water passes through each meter and then calculates the volume. Putting 2 meters in series would change the rate and pressure presented to the 2 meters in series and thereby give a different reading in terms of the calculated amount. putting the meters in parallel seems to me to be a better test of the 2 meters if the flow directly to the meters is the same.

But I might be wrong. I’m no technician.

17. Caswell
    Your source has an ask to grind, he obviously didn’t get the ‘berry’ he was hoping for from the Egyptian’s.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Based on what Societe is saying in the 11: 09 am post, we can all agree that in collusion DBLP and friends have been padding their bank accounts at the expense of taxpayers, for things that either do not work or are never put into operation, like the onion drying machine, which was donated by Canada in the 80s if memory serves me and sat outside of BADMC for decades rusting away because everyone of the jackasses played politics and none could decide who should use it, you can ask Keith Laurie, if he was not deceased, he told me.

19. Caswell
    Is the Auditor General going to enquire why BWA’s management in 2005-2006 purchased a new water meter testing bench, only to subsequent find out the bench was second-hand and was not capable of being certified unless another US$300,000.00 was spent to refurbish it?
    A brand new bench only cost US$350K

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And then there is DBLPs Leroy Parris in court trying to get back money he stole from Clico policy holders, while taxpayers money has to bail out BAICO….where is the good governance, competence amd efficiency Alvin.

Societe…are you 100% sure they actually got the same meters you are describing…there is the old bait and switch.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Being a good old NY, Toronto, Caribbean gal……I trust no one..lol

22. @ AWTY
    You are wrong.

@ Societe
    Interesting contribution…

If the old meters erred plus or minus 40% why would you surmise that the result would have been under billing by BWA?
    Could it not equally likely be over-billing?
    …and statistically, should the result not be a figure overall of close to zero error overall – assuming a normal distribution of meter error?

Finally, in circumstances where SYSTEM LEAKAGE losses are in the region of 50%. how is it possible to determine the average metered losses?

🙂

23. @Caswell

Understand about protecting sources, however, until there is evidence to support it will remain he say she say. Let us hope another source steps forward.

24. Sad country Barbados has become for Black barbadians.When a little boy like Mark Maloney is in a position to dictate the financial,even the economic and social policies of Barbados.Thanks to both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party.
    I know the Maloney family well. I know Mark’s father who was once a manager at the former Barclays Bank.I know his brorther,the one who spent some time incarcerated.I would never believe that a bunch of black jackasses from both side of the political spectrum would have allowed the likes of a Mark Maloney to be that powerful in Barbados today.
    I am a patriotic,proud Black Barbadians but with the state that Barbados is in today,I cannot honestly say that I can celebrate our 50th anniversarry of so-called independence.
    It is insulting and demeaning to the social class that many of the ministers of this government and the vast majority of Black Barbadians including Your Truly indentified with,but these hungry,hand to mouth,mealy mouth disgraces for Black Barbadians have reduced the Black population of Barbados to a position of ridicule.
    Well,well,well,first C O W Williams called us slaves,his wife dumped garbage in the store of a Black bisiness woman in Barbados,a White manager at his brother’s Hardware Store not only verbally but physically assaulted a customer and now that little boy Mark maloney is in a position to demand who live or do not live in houses that are built on government lands.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple….from these varity of comments, you will note that intelligence did not take a holiday from century to century, intelligence is alive and well but the leaders prefer not to use intelligence since it will never fit into their bribe 0-taking, account padding, thiefing agendas, when colluding to steal taxpayers money and disenfranchising there own people.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Worth correcting and repeating.

“but the leaders prefer not to use intelligence since it will never fit into their bribe-taking, account padding, thiefing agendas, when colluding to steal taxpayers money and disenfranchising their own people.”

27. @Negroman

Mark M white???? or Passing????

Fadder Barclays or RBC??????

“Leaders” only know DEAD PMs and Presidents, the Queens image pun bank Notes, Dont give a RODENTS Hind quarters for Black people! Wunna Wake up! Drink plenty nuff Coffee pun de morning nuh!

Bim needs a Group of Honest, Professional leaders, where dem?

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Is this the same Mark Maloney who is the owner of Marenco (a company that does some sort of marine works)?

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It always comes back to the leaders and their greed coupled with incompetence, Maloney does not even pass for anything, not that it matters. If the leaders would do their jobs and have Maloney and the whole gang arrested when they commit their crimes, there would be no complaints, but instead, these black, useless leaders join with Maloney and the same group of people to commit crimes against the taxpayers as well…how will that ever help the country

The island lacks real leadership.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…Maloney, who fronts for Bizzy, Cow, Bjerkham and any foreign investors they can reel in, got their hands in everything on the island, everyone else finds it difficult to do anything…and that is because of the politicians..

Anytime you hear the names Maloney and Tempro, they both front for the same group of pigs with the blessings of black politicians.

31. The Pols ent Pigs too? Afterall dem messing up Black peeps who trusted and voted for dem! WUHLOSS!

32. The City of Medicine Hat has Ended Homelessness. It can be achieved. http://www.ctvnews.ca/mobile/canada/medicine-hat-mayor-says-city-has-ended-homelessness-for-now-1.2380174

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine

Do you how much infrastructure/property development work and debt borrowing is required to keep a good Ponzi scheme going to Barbados?

Barbados is one of the few places on the planet where property developments projects fail yet the proponents go on to borrow more money to build another set of failed real estate developments.

Sapphire Beach – FAIL
    Coverley Villages- FAIL
    St. Peters Bay – FAIL
    Port Ferdinand – FAIL

The above laundry list is not intended to be complete but does give a good indication into the washing load.

34. Thanks Heather, we have to stay focused on fixing the structural issue tied to governance. This is where real gains will be achieved.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB….the politicians are a special type of pigs, remember the named pigs are not the real leaders, they are allowed to call shots and pretend they own the country, but have to pay bribes for the privilege, we cannot put the politicians in the same category as Maloney and the gang, they need a special pig sty for themselves, preferably one with concrete bars, unlike the metal bars that the named pigs should also be occupying, they have all wronged the country and people.

36. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Societe March 2, 2016 at 10:00 AM
    We should not forget the recent mighty and universal Volkswagen fraudulent saga. And it started in Germany.

37. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Residents in St Joseph, who homes were recently fitted with the new water meter, saw a high jump in their water bills, even though there is not much water ,if any ,coming through the pipes.

38. @Colonel

Would the meters not track air trapped in empty mains?

39. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Caswell Franklyn March 2, 2016 at 11:06 AM #
    AWTY
    Perhaps you need to rewrite that statement in capital letters. But lets face it, given the record of the BWA, an undetected leak could have developed between #1 and # 2 Meters.

40. Colonel Buggy Avatar

From an Home Improvement Forum

It is a long time ago since you posted your comment, but I will answer anyway, as I believe it can help many people. I live in Brazil, and here we have had many issues like you described, due to changes in the pressure of water supply company. It makes that much air comes into the piping, and when this trapped air comes to the home meters, it is registered as a normal water flow, and you pay for it. Some small companies here have developed a kind of a valve that blocks this air, and keeps it trapped before your meter, while permitting the water to pass. This is reducing the water bill for almost 50% in some cases.

Please look for “bloqueador de ar”. I did not find nothing like in english language.

Hope it helps, and good look! Paulo

41. This issue and the responses amplify the political reality in Barbados, we have a majority non-progressive electorate (nuff here pon BU) claiming to want a progressive government. A situation that neither a new party nor new system will change. We are so focused on the politicians and the “system” that we ignore, neglect and avoid the role of civil society (our role) in good governance and all those other niceties we like to spout to appear progressive. Voting is only a small part. How many of Solutions’ supporters here on BU have so far volunteered to help? Stupse.

42. @miller
    “PS: It’s not a trap or an invitation to Zoe.”

That made me laugh. It seems as if you wish to annul your ‘marriage to Zoe.

The bell curve is that almost everyone is average and then they are a few in the tails. The Darwins, Newtons and Einsteins are in the upper tail.

I would like to argue that the average has shifted to the right over the years. It is different to measure intelligence Let me equate intelligence and knowledge and state that the knowledge that an average teenager has today is greater than that of a teenager who was alive 50 years ago.

43. The argument that there WAS air in the pipe was very persuasive. However the air should have been driven out of the pipe and thus the increase in the water bill should have been temporary……

44. @Heather,
    I enjouy your writing and your logic, but I fear that you have dropped the ball with the link that you provided.
    When you are dealing with a small population (in what may be a closed community), then you can end homelessness. But when this extends to a nation, where people are homeless for a myriad of reasons, then the scale of the problem makes ‘it impossible to find a solution’.

The poor (homeless) will always be with us.

An African friend used to tell me that if we took all the money in the world and divided it evenly early in the morning, then by nightfall we would have folks who were hungry and broke.

45. @TheGazer

That would depend on the volume/pressure of air not so?

46. @Well Well and sss.
    I was wrong, I misspoke of the Belle Pumping station. Of course Bowmanston is in St. John, I watch car rallying from nearby. Anyhow What is important is that the Belle pumping station, and the squatters are in ZONE 1. area, (The squatters, in Blenheim, are less than a mile from the pumping station) and the designation as a Zone 1 area was made long long before the Squatters moved there.
    Well Well, why are you so hateful toward so many people, groups, and organizations?What do you achieve by your attitude?
    Let’s see: there is Bizzy, COW, Tempro,, Bjerkham, Maloney, All the Ministers, and actually the members of Parliament, who,according to you are all bribe takers, pimps, and kiss asses, or rather ass kissers. Then there are the yard fowls (like me), Any yard ducks?Of course you feel the Civil Service is comprised of incompetents, in every department; tax department Customs, Immigration, and health, but then you add: “It always comes back to the leaders and their greed coupled with incompetence.” Well Well!

Despite what you and many malcontents may say, with regards to the QEH, we have a good hospital and health services. I keep having to come back to myself. My Lymphoma was diagnosed in Barbados, by physicians at the QEH.Two physicians stand out especially, Dr. Allan Smith, and Dr. Chrissy Powlett. The nurses and physicians in the Hematology clinic are outstanding, and i will not let people like you say bad things about them, without challenging you.. I was treated in Toronto at the Odette Cancer at Sunnybrook hospital. An outstanding institution, staffed by nurses and staff from all over the world, including nurses and doctors from the caribbean. My pharmacology oncologist was of Barbadian descent.
    Maybe if the QEH had donors like the husband and wife team who were able to donate $40 million (can) to build the Odette Centre, and the hundreds of others who contribute many millions of dollars annually just to the Cancer Centre, plus the hundreds of millions of dollars which are contributed annually through fund raising activities, our QEH would have the necessary funds to get near,if not compete. Our physicians have the intellectual capacity.
    Our people; businesses, pharmaceutical companies- that profit by millions of dollars every year through the sale of medicines; and do not even contribute to Research and Development,- are reluctant to donate or participate in fundraising activities. Yet they expect first class treatment as a matter of course.
    We have a GOOD country. It has its warts, but it is not as you would portray it. Get rid of your phobias, and don’t be like Negroman who is clearly racist and has problems.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….there was an article written today in the newspapers about the QEH, with the DOCTORS at the QEH, being dissatisfied with the INEFFICIENCY at the QEH…though i posted the article to the blog, I did not write the article, the top of the article was headlined.

Here is the link Alvin, the doctors are not lying, you are….

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/02/qeh-remedy/

Since you brought it up, there are exposed wires in the roof of the hospital in the newborns wards B2 and B3…the windows are broken and covered with sheets, the ceilings need to be replaced, you are on shit Alvin…that is not what the taxpayers are paying your government for….since things are so good, why dont you move back to Barbados…I would, if its better than where I am.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheGazer March 2, 2016 at 6:18 PM
    “Let me equate intelligence and knowledge and state that the knowledge that an average teenager has today is greater than that of a teenager who was alive 50 years ago.”

That ‘assertion’ is highly debatable. Knowledge of what? Certainly not of life-surviving skills!

Can you imagine what could happen with the “average teenager” should some disaster, natural or man-made, visit Barbados resulting in the extended loss of creature comforts like electricity, internet connection and ready access to fast food and imported stuff? Yes the average teenager today does have greater access to ‘established’ or ‘recorded’ knowledge than previous generations.

But as I opined before, life is a zero-sum game. You gain something on the one hand but must be prepared to lose something else in the other.
    Is the average Bajan teenager better off today than he was 50 years? May be. Maybe not. He or she might be able to tell you a lot about what others do or say. But isn’t he also a ready-done client for obesity and other lifestyle-related NCDs?

As far as Zoe is concerned he or she has abrogated the contract of intellectual integrity by refusing to state unequivocally that 2 polar bears, 2 walruses 2 woolly mammoths, 2 penguins, 2 gorillas, 2 boa constrictors trying to swallow 2 kangaroos and 2 rattlesnakes waiting to eat 2 frogs from the Amazon were all created les than 6 thousand years ago and well ensconced in his father Noah’s Ark.

Now Zoe is what you would call a modern man full of modern knowledge of paleontological proportions.

49. @miller
    “Yes the average teenager today does have greater access to ‘established’ or ‘recorded’ knowledge than previous generations.” Only greater access? You must agree that there is a vast difference in amount of ‘established’ or recorded knowledge’ between now and 50 years ago . I cannot see how you can equate the science of 2016 with that of earlier times. Do you really believe that there has been no net increase in knowledge since the Dark Ages or the times of Columbus or from 50 years ago? How can you use a computer/pone and make such an assertion?

“But as I opined before, life is a zero-sum game. You gain something on the one hand but must be prepared to lose something else in the other”. Even if I concede that there is a gain and a loss, the flaw in your argument is you assume that we lose the same amount that we gain. My friend, it is not two steps upward and two steps downward, but rather it is forward and upward motion.