The old people have a saying, one should not place all your eggs in one basket which translates to, “one should not concentrate all efforts and resources in one area as one could lose everything“.

From the inception of Barbados Underground some members of the family have been crying for Barbados to unlink the parity of the Barbados dollar from the United States dollar (USD). On the other hand former Governor of the Central Bank DeLisle Worrell is known to be a strident advocate for Barbados adopting dollarisation. Some international financial pundits however have been forecasting that geopolitical events in recent years- mainly the emergence of BRICS and the protracted dispute between Russia and the Ukraine- will see the United States continuing to lose the confidence of large countries that have historically accepted the USD as the world’s reserve currency.

As the world becomes more and more polarised on almost every issue, it makes sense for small island developing states with ‘open economies’ like Barbados, to engage in monetary policy to efficiently manage currency volatility. The blogmaster will admit this is a complex matter with disadvantages and advantages to be debated. What cannot be refuted is that it needs to become a national conversation given global events referenced.

It the Global Finance communication last month it was reported China “offloaded close to $50 billion in US Treasuries in the first quarter and had reduced its holdings by more than $100 billion in the year through to March 2023. The revelations come as China and the US are locked in an increasingly tense stand-off involving trade and China’s intentions toward Taiwan“. The report further stated, “Belgium, which is often referenced as a proxy custodian for China’s debt holdings, reportedly disposed of more than $20 billion of Treasuries in the same period”. Countries like Barbados with our currencies coupled to the greenback cannot afford to ignore what is trending in the international currency and investment market.

What cannot be refuted is that the global financial system is currently in transition, Barbados must follow global trends and draw from its knowledge capital to make the best decisions to sustain a quality existence for Barbadians now and in times to come. The blogmaster is an unapologetic advocate of pragmatic leadership – see problem, fix problem to achieve goals set. There is no place in today’s fast pace world for vacillating on the many and complex issues confronting small countries. We must nurture a problem solving culture or suffer the result of dithering while we burn.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has emerged as a spokesperson for the Global South on the need to overhaul the global financial system. Some continue to be critical of Mottley because she is perceived to be aligned to the Washington Consensus – a paradox – which ensures the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank play prominent roles in the stabilisation of our economies. The time has come and possibly gone for Mottley and like minded leaders in the Global South to pivot more aggressively in advocating for reform to the international financial system AND in our domestic space.

See the article which appeared in the Global Finance of May 30, 2024.

119 responses to “Should Barbados follow China or USA?”

1. People presenting themselves for domination shall be dominated.

The Chinese just left over a hundred years of what they call the Century of Humiliation.

It was a period characterized by all kinds of internecine rivalries, balkanization, invasions by the British, the French, the Japanese.

What is less known was the lost of 20 million in WW2. The industrial drug addition, by opium, of the entire country by the British. Two Opium Wars. And on and on.

Have we not had, or are having, Centuries of Humiliation as well.

Given that nature abhors a vacuum

How is it that there is no projection of domination from us to everybody else, but ourselves?

Why are we so ready to compare apples with oranges. Given purchasing power parity, it may well be possible to have a better life in one place making 500USD than making 6000 USD in another. Is business not partly about arbitrage?

We need to stop whining and accept the brutality which is implicit in all the systems around us and respond with an even higher level of corporate violence against all and sundry.

The worst defect people from so-called small island developing states have is a certain mentality.

It is a mentality, maybe genetic in origins, which shall not be characterized by a level of a survivalist ethos made possible only by war, unending deprivations of the worst kind.

Industrial psychology determines this from the constant pleadings of most here.

2. @David
    Isn’t this what the Barbados government is attempting to do by establishing air links with African countries. Antigua has entered a partnership with an airline from Nigeria if memory serves
    ++++++
    Is this the partnership?
    https://newsday.co.tt/2024/05/18/liat-2020-nigerian-investor-wanted-in-us-for-bank-fraud/

3. Hants
    June 12, 2024 at 9:13 am

YOUR POST SHOWS HOW BACKWARD THE CARIBBEAN ISLANDS ARE.

ANYONE WATCHING THAT SHORT YOUTUBE VIDEO WILL COME TO THE CONCLUSION THEY ARE STILL OPERATING IN THE 1960s INCLUDING THE 2X3 ISLAND PUNCHING ABOVE ITS WEIGHT FOOLISHNESS OF FLUFF

I WAS NOT JOKING EARLIER WHEN I DESCRIBED BY FIRST HAND OBSERVATION EVERY DAY THE CITY OF DAR ES SALAAM AND THE COUNTRY OF TANZANIA AFRICA MAKES ANYTHING IN THE CARIBBEAN LOOK LIKE A JOKE.

THE COUNTRY OF 60 MILLION PEACEFUL BLACKS IS BEING RAN BY A BLACK WOMAN WHO TRULY DOES PUNCH ABOVE HER WEIGHT.

4. @William

It has turned out to be that way hasn’t it?

5. @NO

People will not make noise about what they do not understand.

6. Foolish Baje

Have you ever apologized to the blog for being fooled by the Americans, the Europeans and the Zionists all, for the lies about beheaded babies and raped women that even the NYT has now said were a pack of lies. Lies you spread about Hamas, for which, up to now not a scintilla of evidence could be found with dozens of investigations.

BTW, Biden shiiite his diaper again recently while in France. He may have something there for yuh!

Everything these people has told us for centuries has been lies made for fools!

7. The Cayman Airlines deal was always about the government subsidizing it if the load factor was below a predetermined threshold. Many thought that it was a bad decision but those in authority thought differently. Despite what we think we have to give people room to talk risks. The previous administration tried a thing with a Brazilian route. We have to be careful not to address every issue with a wholesale position. The Cayman route was tried and after a relatively short period discontinued.

8. @Sargeant

The US always have people on their hit list, especially from Africa. They need to deal with those in domestic.

9. The same Tanzania with a monkey and baboon problem affecting farmers?

10. Just last week I called for us to look to what is happening in West Africa for hope. My interest in China is with the ideology which has obviously worked better than pure Western capitalism.

Allies are still necessary when battling the West. Not friends, nor countries with whom you always agree, but allies.

By your own admission, you had to take your ass thousands of miles in an aeroplane just a few months ago to free your mind from Western bullshit narratives about Africa.

I learnt to disregard ALL Western narratives as a little child watching Saturday morning Westerns on CBC TV. It was clear then that what they did to the Native Americans, they would do to the Africans. The same “savage” story.

I gathered all that with only a 19 inch little black and white television. Just imagine what I can do with Google! Hahahahahahaha!

Some see with their eyes. And others see with their brains

Hahahahahahaha!

Hercule Poirot used to say that some detectives visit the scene of the crime for clues, while he sat in his comfy armchair and employed his “leetle grey cells”. After he solved the murder just by observing and asking the right questions of the right people, then he went to the scene for the “cigarette butts” as proof.

The answer is always in the character of the people. I saw the character of the West.

So. …Donna enjoys sitting in her little armchair on the 2×3 much more than a cramped seat thirty thousand feet in the air. But understand that Donna got plane fare to anywhere!

Not first class doah, dat would hit too hard fuh me.

Hshahahaha!

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    Since you are doing a lot of research recently, help with one observation.
    Every year there are millions of refugees and people just looking for a better life.
    A great many seem to end up knocking on various Euro and NA borders.
    Why aren’t they looking to China based on its success, or even Russia which is not racist (given many have brown and darker skin tones). Both are global powerhouses. Both have very stable governments.

12. Murdaaaaaah! The headline should read:

BAJE DISCOVERS AFRICA – finds human beings there.

Hahahahahahaha!

13. David,

I knew that the Cayman Islands route was going to flop. This I knew without any market research.

One must learn to take risks, but you shouldn’t jump into shark infested waters with a bleeding wound.

So, did they do due diligence, market research? If they did, it was not as good as Donna’s instinct and common sense! So the questions must be:

Is it gross incompetence or gross corruption?

Is it still easy to hide the kickback, subsidising stash in the Cayman Islands?

The Africa flights will need greater subsidies for sure!

14. @Donna

Not giving them a freebie by any means. Let us continue to hold their feet to the fire. Shelly Williams messed up on this one.

15. NO,

What is the purpose of these questions? Is it to paint the White White West as some sort of wonderful place for non-white immigrants? What is the reality when they arrive?

The West is made up of the major colonial powers most known for colonisation, looting and pillaging. No wonder the immigrants think the streets are paved with gold!

Hahahahaha!

I don’t know what China or Russia’s immigration policies are or what their needs are. And of course, most people are more familiar with the West and conditioned to this idea of “freedom”. But what are they really free to do?

As you can see, I am not immigrating to the USA, nor Canada. I left England and took Barbadian citizenship.

And I’m not trying to emigrate to China nor Russia.

16. One cannot escape from white man’s brain, it seems.

17. David,

I doubt it is Shelley alone who is responsible. But nobody’s feet have been burnt, have they?

Because here they are walking straight from the Cayman Islands to Africa!

And, by the way, I knew the Brazilian route would flop too.

I’m 2 for 2 without any market research! 🤔

Donna’s armchair wukkin’ like a flying carpet – a magical flying carpet that takes her everywhere in her dreams.

Hahahahaha!

18. Is it gross incompetence or gross corruption?’
    ***It is gross corruption. It takes great skill to make stealing look like incompetence.

“I knew that the Cayman Islands route was going to flop. This I knew without any market research.”
    “Isn’t it obvious that these desks are set up for quick failure. Tek de money and run schemes.

“Because here they are walking straight from the Cayman Islands to Africa!”
    *** Not walking, they are flying.

I truly believe that there is no light between the positions we take. However, I chose to speak out.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    It wasn’t a trick question. Merely an observation.
    Every now and then somebody dies a tragic death, and the fourth estate interviews a number of people (refugees). The trips are harrowing. Many months trudging through all kinds of terrain. Many dangers. And yet, the flow seems constant.
    I have no idea about Russian or Chinese immigration laws either. Yet the Euro or NA laws don’t seem to deter them?
    Maybe many immigrate to Russia and China annually. I am just ignorant and it doesn’t get much media coverage.

20. Grantley Dobayan Avatar
    Grantley Dobayan

Re flights to/from Cayman
    I would “guess” the majority of visitors from the S.Caribbean are not going there for a holiday? While the trip requires multiple changes, those persons like it that way. They don’t wish others to know their destination or stop-over points. Flying direct defeats the anonymity they desire.

21. @ David

“Cayman Airways To Barbados Route Will Cease In July 2024”

Loop News May 12, 2024 12:02 PM ET

Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc., the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism and Cayman Airways issued a press release on Friday, May 10, 2024, announcing that the Cayman Airways’ service between Grand Cayman and Barbados will cease on July 3, 2024.

The collaborative service was launched on October 18, 2023, to increase connectivity within the Caribbean and enhance opportunities for Barbados’s passengers arriving in Grand Cayman to link with the existing Cayman Airways route from Grand Cayman to Los Angeles.

At the time, a BTMI representative reportedly said that “Regional travel has often faced challenges, including complex connecting flights and layovers” and “the introduction of this direct service will alleviate some of these challenges, making it more convenient for travellers from the Northern Caribbean to experience the warmth, hospitality and the products that Barbados has to offer.”

However, in less than a year, the circumstances appear to have changed, leading to the announcement of the cessation of services between Grand Cayman and Barbados. The parties added that an initial reduction will begin “once weekly after May 17, 2024, when the Thursday/Friday rotation will cease.”

Explaining the reasons for the cessation of services, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the BTMI, Andrea Franklin, said:

“The board and management of the BTMI conducted a comprehensive review of airlift into Barbados for the just concluded winter season.”

“Following the evaluation of the route’s performance the BTMI and Cayman Airways mutually agreed to terminate the arrangement.”

Kenneth Bryan, the Minister of Tourism and Ports for the Cayman Islands, acknowledged the mutually agreed termination, saying:

“As Minister of Tourism, I acknowledge the decision of the Management and Board of BTMI to discontinue the Cayman Airways service to Barbados.”

“The Ministry of Tourism understands the need for flexibility in the ever-evolving landscape of air travel and the mutually agreed termination of this contract allows both parties to explore new opportunities and strategic destinations.”

22. WHAT A REAL JACKASS TALKING OUT THE SIDE OF HER MOUTH.

I ENJOYED LIVING IN THE USA 200 PERCENT AND THEN NEXT DOOR IN TIJUANA MEXICO.

IF I WAS RUNNING ANYWHERE FOR A PEACE OF MIND WAS FROM THE SMALL MINDED THINKING AND EPIDEMIC OF BACKWARDNESS ON SEVERAL CARIBBEAN ISLANDS WITH THE 2X3 ISLAND HIGH ON MY LIST ALONG WITH JAMAICA.

23. Call for a renewed global international financial system

THE INTERNATIONAL MONETARY FUND (IMF) is not “your grandmother’s IMF” and should not be viewed as such, says Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science, and Technology Marsha Caddle.

“I want us to clarify that the bogeyman of the IMF that people have set up in the past, I daresay is not the IMF that exists today,” said the former Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs in the House of Assembly on Tuesday.

“The fact is the Honourable Member for St Michael North East, the Honourable Prime Minister, and the team that works with her, I don’t think it is bragging to suggest that Barbados has had an impact on the nature and the structure and the approach of no less an institution than the International Monetary Fund.”

The Member of Parliament for St Michael South Central, who was speaking on the Barbados Blue Green Bank Bill, 2024 told the Lower Chamber this was evident when, as a new government they were putting together “the economic package and set of policies” in 2018.

She continued: “… The Fund that we are engaged with …is not your grandmother’s IMF. And what do I mean by that? We saw the structural adjustment policies of the late ’80s and the ’90s. Many of us lived through them. We saw the impact they had in Jamaica. We saw the impact they had right here in Barbados. We saw the impact around the world. It is one of the reasons why we are calling for a renewed global international financial system but this call for a renewed global international financial system I daresay is not a new one.

“But a country like Barbados, small as it is, was able to say to the IMF, ‘look, not withstanding that we will engage with you, we want you to understand that we determine that pensions must increase. We determined before we sign anything or go anywhere, that free tertiary education must be restored to the young people of Barbados. We determined that welfare payments must increase now let us hear you on some of the things that you want to suggest as part of an extended fund facility.”

The parliamentary representative also told the Lower House the resilience and sustainability fund that was established, “on which the Blue Green Bank draws came out of conversations with … little Barbados”.

(GBM)

24. Payment plan

Regional central banks set to roll out system which relies less on US dollars

by ANTOINETTE CONNELL in The Bahamas antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com

THE AGREED PILOT PROGRAMME of a payment system relying less on the United States dollar and trading more in each country’s currency should start soon.

That is according to Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados Dr Kevin Greenidge, who said the pilot programme is based on the Pan African Payment System.

He was speaking after a panel discussion at the Afreximbank 31st Annual Conference and the AfriCaribbean Trade and Investment Forum taking place at the Baha Mar Centre in Nassau. It is the first time that the Pan African development financial institution is hosting its annual conference in the Caribbean. The theme of the event is Owning Our Destiny: Economic Prosperity on the Platform of Global Africa.

Greenidge, who is the chair of the CARICOM Governors of the Central Bank, said PAPS, the regional payment system in Africa, was examined with a view to setting up a similar system regionally with Barbados, The Bahamas and the Eastern Caribbean Central Banks on board.

Pushing ahead

“This would allow you to trade with each other’s currency without having to use the third party system. So when you do that kind of trading, the US sum is much smaller. We agreed to push ahead with the pilot programme so we have a technical team working out some of the kinks and how to move ahead. We are approaching that as soon as possible,” he said.

Greenidge explained that a company in Barbados selling to a St Lucian company have to obtain foreign reserves.

“Why not just use Barbados dollars in St Lucia and EC dollars in Barbados. It allows you to trade without having to resort to US dollars, though eventually you’ll need to settle the remaining balance in US dollars. If you have that going you can see how quickly that could save on trade,” he said.

Other things discussed by the governors was building stronger relationships with central banks and collaboration in areas from supervisory to cyber security.

“Africa countries are more advanced than us in different areas. One of the most advanced places in the world with respect to mobile banking is Kenya. What can we learn from them? How can we form a relationship? That is why I am here to explore these ideas,” he said.

Greenidge said there should be a shifting of some of the economic base to renewable energy and the green transformation, among other areas.

The other policy he regarded as important related to financing for building climate resilence and adaptation.

The revised Bridgetown Initiative 3.0 called for financial reform that included providing increase financial concession to developing countries like Barbados.

Greenidge said to weather this crisis it was critical to ensure the financial system and financing were stable.

“Anything that impact on your financing you have to be worried about. There’s a call for revisiting and removing the International Monetary Fund surcharges that, for example, is causing a lot of problems in terms of debt repayment and increasing the debt on countries.

“We can’t get where we want on our own, the more we can achieve partnerships around the world, the better we are regarding financing and investment in Barbados and providing the necessary diverse products to do the financing we need,” he said noting the African continent would be a partnership.

Earlier in response to questions from moderator Eleni Giokos, CNN correspondent, the governor called for support of the Bridgetown Initiative as he said there was a natural bias by the international lending agencies against smaller economies.

Power of unity

“If we all gather then we cannot be ignored, if we all get together, one voice and support things like the Bridgetown Initiative and what we are doing and calling for it – because it doesn’t matter how grand the plans are – there are still limits to what Afreximbank can do on its own . . . but one voice, Africa global Africa voice, I believe we can make a difference,” he said.

The three-day event started yesterday with Greenidge joining an afternoon panel discussion on Navigating Economic Transformation in a Polycrisis World: Strategies for Global Africa.

The other panelists were professor Jeffery Sachs, senior lecturer in economics at the International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) of the Erasmus University of Rotterdam; John A. Rolle, Governor of the Central Bank of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas; Denys Denya, senior executive vicepresident Afreximbank; Dr Howard Nicholas, senior lecturer in economics at the International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) of the Erasmus University of Rotterdam; Professor Yemi Osinbajo , former Vice President of Nigeria and Dr. Donald P. Kaberuka, Chairman and Managing Partner of SouthBridge Group and former president, African Development Bank Group.

25. Trade in your own currencies, Blackman tells Africa, Caribbean

Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment Chad Blackman has proposed that African and Caribbean nations trade among themselves using their own currencies.
    This could prepare the region for the possibility of the US dollar and the euro losing their dominance in another 10 to 15 years, he told an Africa-Caribbean business forum in Nassau, Bahamas.
    His call comes amid plans by CARICOM nations to pilot a payment system for intraregional trade using each other’s currencies instead of the US dollar, modelled after a scheme among 10 central banks in Africa that is spearheaded by the African Export- Import Bank (Afreximbank).
    “For a long time, we’ve held the view that in order for us to trade, we must trade only in the US dollar on the Euro or in the pound. And whilst this is a potentially controversial view, I think . . . we also must look at trading amongst ourselves in our currencies,” Blackman said, noting that this “lends credibility to those markets where the currencies are”.
    He continued: “When you look at the current geopolitical shifts taking place in the world, I’m no prophet, but I believe within the next 10 to 15 years, a number of the currencies that we’re now looking to, may not be in the same position that they are today.”
    The minister made the comments at a panel discussion on Managing Macroeconomic Crises: Some Lessons from Africa and the Caribbean on the opening day of the 31st Afreximbank annual meetings, being held for the first time in the Caribbean, coinciding with the third AfriCaribbean Trade and Investment Forum (ACTIF2024) at the Baha Mar Convention Centre.
    “So the question is, how do we prepare ourselves for that eventuality and that shift which will take place? The fact is, a lot of our currencies are pegged to the dollar, for example. So conversations must now be had not just at the domestic level but also between the Caribbean and Africa, looking at perhaps a basket of currencies that we should actually start to look at that can anchor or monetary policies.”
    Blackman also took the opportunity to call for a continued look at the reform of the international financial architecture.
    He further contended that the time had come for Africa and the Caribbean to look to credit rating agencies created by the global south, noting that “the credit rating agencies that we all look to in the world as we speak were not created by us or in our image”.
    (DP)

Source: Barbados Today

26. Three snippets
    “I knew that the Cayman Islands route was going to flop. This I knew without any market research.”
    “Is it gross incompetence or gross corruption?”
    “Because here they are walking straight from the Cayman Islands to Africa!”

First let me issue a correction ” they are not walking from the Cayman to Africa, they are flying at super speed”. That felt good.

It is painfully obvious that someone sees the ball as big as I do, but would prefer to poke and run singles instead of taking a swing and trying for the boundary. We have reached a stage in our nation, where good men and women must abandon caution and being nice and call things exactly as they are.

A good English curse would ask student to to make a summary or draw a conclusion from the material they are looking at. This is BU, but I must ask my friend(s) to take that leap. Often it is a single small step and not a giant leap.
    Stop it! Stop it! I don’t want to hear it. Leave your comfort zone and come over to the dark side.

I like poke a few but I make an effort not to get too personal, but some people have the ability to “get under my skin”

27. Yesterday, I exposed my ignorance about pegging to a basket of currencies.
    Today, I will expose my ignorance about another topic.

But first, why do I show you my obvious weakness and ignorance. It is my desire to learn. I have a problem of seeking to understand an idea before i accept it.. I am also allergic to old wine in new wineskins.

Trading in own dollars
    Now if I am using Theo dollars, Hants is using Hants dollars, 000 is using his 000 dollars and Rabbit is using pelts, we are using four different currencies. How do we trade in our own dollars. Secondly, we have to fix our currencies against each other before Hants buys some stuff from me and when I go to buy from him he tells me instead of 1:5 his currency is now 1:10 and I need to give him more Theo dollars. Clearly, the fours us need to peg to something and to keep it fixed.

Am I wrong? Are we seeing ‘the same idea as the old idea being painted and sent out as a new idea? Is there something new here? Help me. Please help. I may be wrong but I admitted, I don’t get it.

Northern, John A, correct me if I am wrong… I welcome it. J2 and enuff, I don’t want to hear you.

28. All these Honourable Ministers and the honourable Governor of the Central bank speaking on Economic and currency affairs on the same day. If I was a betting man, I would think that the wicket is being prepared for a major announcement.

As it is I will wait for the Honourable member for St. Michael North East (who calls the shots) to enlighten us in the coming days.

29. Why don’t you (Theog) do your own research?

There is information available on the world wide web made for dummies
    learning complex subjects has become like watching cartoons

Currencies are pegged to others for ease of trade.
    USA is pegged to nuff major currencies.

https://www.investopedia.com/articles/forex/061015/top-exchange-rates-pegged-us-dollar.asp

At what age should you stop spoon feeding a child?*

(*) Stop spoon feeding children, when your baby shows signs that they’ve had enough. This could be firmly closing their mouth or turning their head away. If you’re using a spoon, wait for your baby to open their mouth before you offer the food.

Children begin to develop self-feeding skills from birth. Self-feeding is a very complex task and it is common for children to have difficulty using cutlery to feed themselves. It usually takes until a child is 7 years old before they can successfully use cutlery to feed themselves without being too messy.

30. And how does that touch base with the headline: –

“BAJE DISCOVERS AFRICA – finds humans beings there ” ????¿???

Has to do with the fact that the American narrative YOU ADMITTED TO HAVING SWALLOWED was a lie.

Recently released audio reveals Ronald Reagan, in private conversation with Richard Nixon, calling African delegates to a UN conference “MONKEYS NOT USED TO WEARING SHOES”.

And Richard Nixon laughed.

Obviously, I know that you did not regard them as monkeys because that would make a monkey out of you. But more likely you fell for “natives incapable of governing themselves” narrative, a more subtle narrative, the official narrative of colonisers past and present.

And then you flew thousands of miles to Tanzania, to see what Donna saw a few years ago via Google, and to learn what Donna deduced half a century ago via Saturday morning tv.

COLONISERS ALWAYS DEHUMANISE THEIR VICTIMS.

HAHAHAHAHA!

Or should I say, “Heeeeeeeee haaaaawwww!”

Hee hee hee! Haw haw haw!

Murdaaaah!

31. Stop googling and study the subject matter Avatar
    Stop googling and study the subject matter

@000
    1) “Currencies are pegged to others for ease of trade.
    USA is pegged to nuff major currencies.”
    **This does three things (a) It reinforces the point that I am making, (b) that you dd not understand the point I made; it went completely over your head and (c) google gives people the illusion that they are smart and knows fact when in fact, they are/do not.

2) “At what age should you stop spoon feeding a child?”
    **Rest assured that regardless of your size and age, I will continue to spoon feed you. Sharing knowledge is a joy to me. I do not consider it as a chore. Regrettably, I must inform you that I did not look at your link as you are not even “google certified”. Please hesitate when sharing your wisdom 🙂

32. To believe that the IMF of today is not that of years ago cannot be supported based on empirical evidence .

That Barbados could have swayed such a beast to change its spots requires a level of belief of the woefully misguided, as Caddle seems to be.

Because the IMF when easy on you don’t confuso that for weakness.

Maybe Caddle could tell us about the fundamental changes, or changes in the power relationships between the Global Majority countries – the IMF or WB. How fanciful.

Well,

It seems that there is some movement towards the revolution in banking and finance which has come!

But people seem to be contorting themselves to avoid fundamental structures which need removing.

When are they going to prevent the Treasury Department of the USA from dominating each and every transaction in the local banks based on any consideration? Does sovereignty not demand this?

For the very reasons they want to trade in local currencies, which includes the fiat nature of the USD, higher costs and USD vunerabilities, should not indicate a replacement with a similar fiat, or a clearance in USDs. This cannot be helpful, mek complete sense.

Unless, something more materialist follows, Barbados is likely to repeat similar circumstances like the positive balances it held with Guyana some time in the 1970s.

Or that Russia now has with India.

The problems for Russia, include, that it now holds positive balances of hundreds of billions of rupees with India and with no third party to spend them with, nothing to buy.

There’s a gaping need to make at least one more step!

But even before that, and more foundationally, these single-winged economies must make deviations from the airy-fairy dependances on services economies and augment them with the production of real things needed by people.

33. Theo,

As a teacher of infants I learnt that a picture book story is worth a thousand dry words.

Therefore, in keeping with your comprehension skill set, clearly demonstrated here, I offer you one last try.

Picture this! Brian Lara Stadium, Trinidad, June 12th, 2024. T20 World Cup match, West Indies versus New Zealand. Full house! People pack in like ten tin o’ sardine. Trinis come out to play! Paul Keens-Douglas an’ all in the VIP stan’ wid a flag in he han’.

Umpires out in de middle.

New Zealand win the toss. West Indies put in to bat.

Well, who tell dem do dat? Is a good ting Tante Merle too old fuh Paul Keens to carry she tuh de oval, cause it would have been bacchanal wid she pink umbrella! She would have juck out somebody eye!

Because braps, quick so Charles out, King out, Pooran out, all the big hitters out! De crowd gettin’ vex vex and only sayin’ how de batsman en got nuh head an’ jus’ swingin’ wild an’ how much money dey pay to see dat.

No pitch assessment, no discretion, no footwork, only stand and deliver! Except they didn’t stand long enough and the delivery fell short. West Indies thirty for four.

And in all that ruption, Tante Merle callin’ Paul pun she “I an I” phone tellin’ he how he must jump de fence an’ cyah a message to de middle.

“It doan do so no more!” he try tellin she. But Tante only cussin’ sayin’ he get too great an’ if she did able she would have been there to do it herself.

“Woman, you are ninety-one and I am eighty-one! What jumping fence I could do even if they didn’t have security?”

Then, lucky fuh he, Tante run out of credit so the phone went dead.

To the crease strode the equally aggressive Shurfane Rutherford. Paul could hardly bear to watch the match. But after a ball or two, he realised that something strange was happening. This Rutherford was not himself! It seems that he, by some magic had come to a decision to pause and use his head for something other than helmet display!

Paul in his vivid imagination, could hear the brain cells clicking.

“Clearly,” thought Sherfane, “This is not the pitch for cavalier play! I will take the measure of the wicket, rotate the strike and wait for the bad ball to come.”

And so he rotated, and so he waited. And the bad balls came, as they always do, and his eyes lit up at “de big breadfruits” and he seized upon them with glee, dispatching them over the boundary for maximum effect. Tante Merle got she granddaughter phone, callin’ tellin’ he bout how he must find a young man to jump de fence fuh she an’ put a twenty dollar bill in he pocket.

According to all reports, this measured innings was what made the difference, allowing a steady effort from the bowlers to win the match.

In this story, you are the big hitter, the stand and deliver guy, who, as we know, often fails to score.

Hahahahaha! Donna got time today!

But not right now. Fix all typos and grammatical errors yuhself, including tense!

I hope you are better at that than you are at comprehension.

34. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

HOW MANY BAJANS CANNOT PAY THEIR BILLS TODAY??? DOES THE REMAINDER OF 2024 LOOK BRIGHT??? WHAT ABOUT 2025??? IS THERE LIGHT AT THE END OF THIS TIME TUNNEL??? ARE YOU AN ETERNAL OPTIMIST & DOES IT EVEN MATTER WHEN THE AXE IS LAID TO THE TREE???

ARE REPOSSESSIONS AT THEIR HIGHEST GIVEN HIGHER PURCHASES??? WHAT ABOUT THE AVERAGE FOOD BILL PER FAMILY GIVEN THOSE WITH KIDS (WHETHER VERY YOUNG OR SCHOOL AGE)??? HOW MUCH IS IT COSTING TO RUN YOUR VEHICLE FROM STREET LIGHT TO TRAFFIC JAM??? COMPARED TO THE 1990s, IS BARBADOS STILL A THRIVING METROPOLIS – AFTER GUAGING THE HUMAN TRAFFIC ON BROAD STREET, SWAN STREET & ELSEWHERE???

What will happen when the #TouristTRAP* goes “BELLY_UP”??? What will happen to “FOREIGN ECHANGE” and “JOBS”??? What will happen to “MORTGAGE HOLDERS”, “CAR LOANS” & other “BORROWINGS”??? What will happen to “CIVIL SERVANTS” (so-called); #PoLIEticians, #Teachers, #Police & #ArmedServicesPersonnel & the sleuth of other organizations that cannot access “WAGES” or pay “STAFF” & “WORKERS”???

Will the “LIGHTS” go out??? Will the “TAPWATER” stop flowing??? Will the “PETROL STATIONS” shut of – leaving “TRANSPORT” in a dystopian “HALT”???

And what about “ANARCHY”??? Were you “WARNED” by the “PROPHETS OF DOOM” & did you even adhere??? Did you not think the time would come when all that was “PROPHESIED” would finally come to pass???

WHAT NOW THEN???

NIHIL OBSTAT

35. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE POlieTICAL SOCIOLOGISTS ARE IN A DESPERATE PANIC AS POPULISTS & NATIONALISTS AGGITATORS TAKE THEIR STAND IN EUROPEAN ELECTIONS; IN SAN SALVADOR; ARGENTINA & GOD KNOWS WHERE ELSE

What is at stake is not the #PoLIEticsOfIntrigue but “FINANCIAL ARMAGEDDON” that is on the horizon as the world “MORPHS” into #2Camps – EAST v WEST in a NWO STANDOFF!!!

This paradigm has been aptly called #WorldWarF*!!!

Most “HUMANS” are sleep-walking into an approaching world that they will not be able to cope with & as a result “SICKNESS”, “DISEASES”, “SUICIDES & “DEATH” – rampancy will be everywhere!!!

We are already seeing the “SIGNS” in almost every country of the world – “ENGINEERED” by the “STIGMATA” of a #GlobalPlanDEMIC* engineered to “DESTROY” human life by #”EUGENIC PROPORTIONS”!!!

The “FINAL STRAW” will be whether “HUMANITY” will be able to “BUY OR SELL” – as everything collapses, leaving the world’s populace dependent on the so-called modern #godsOfMAMMON* to supply a morsel of stale bread, to soothe the pangs of hunger – as million of human “URCHINS” shrivel up & “DIE” of “HUNGER & “STARVATION”!!!

THE CRASH & COLLAPSE IS COMING!!! ARE YOU READY TO TAKE YOUR LIFE IN YOUR OWN HANDS & DO YOU HAVE ENOUGH “FAITH” TO NAGIVATE THROUGH A TIME JUST AHEAD THAT WILL MIRROW THE HOLYWOODESQUE MOVIE – #TheBookOfELI*???

#LookUPFolks

36. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

AMERIKKKA CANNOT SAVE YOU, BARBADOS!!! CHINA CANNOT SAVE YOU, EITHER!!! HEAL YOURSELF!!!

WARNING: They are coming for your “HOMES”, first. They came for your “HEALTH” & they succeeded to some degree – with “MANY” around the world (now) “TOO SICK” to work – long-term “UNEMPLOYED” & a burden on the state or their “SAVINGS” or “FAMILY”!!!

#PeterSchiff has been warning of a “LOOMING COLLAPSE” of the “HOUSING MARKET” due to being “OVER-INFLATED”; “OVER-PRICED” & “OUT OF THE REACH” of many “MILLENNIALS, GenZers et al”…

“WHEN THE HOUSING DOMINO FALLS” – everything goes with it!!!

37. “google gives people the illusion that they are smart and knows fact”

Theog is now claiming he is smarter than me about the banking industry I worked in where I designed and built the FX system for the #1 Custodian Bank in the World

38. The PKD was very good.
    Oh dear! My favorites are coming at me.
    Let me take the easy way out
    @Donna, stay beautiful and smart
    @000
    let me try again
    @000
    and again
    @000

(kind of hard to find anything to say 🙂 )

39. Warning to ALL BBs….

DO NOT WATCH Terence’s Video at 12:34 pm.

Such CLEAR, DATA-based FACTS can ONLY be disturbing.

Continue to be guided instead by the IMF projections…
    Ha ha ha

What a place…

40. Theo,

I thought I would appeal to the Trini in you. You are susceptible to Trini talk, after all.

Actually, while I was picking mangoes this morning and listening to the recording of the cricket match commentary, two Jehovah’s Witnesses passed by. One of them was a Canadian Trini Bajan. I offered some mangoes and we got to talking. The Trini accent was strong. So what with the cricket and the Trini accent, Paul Keens came into my head and I felt to do the Tante Merle. I loved Tante at the Oval and knew it by heart. It was easy to write her in. One knows how to do the Tante Merle.

Took myself to see Paul’s show once, one of the two men who could tear me out of my house to drive to Sherbourne Centre after a day at work. The other man was Alvin Kallicharran for a “lecture”. Both were worth the effort.

One correction though – Tante carried a pink PARASOL, not a pink umbrella. Paul would never have missed an easy chance for alliteration!

41. January 01, 2023 and January 01, 2024 passed without the Great Collapse. It is clear that turbulent times are ahead, but if you had a direct line you would have got the date right, wouldn’t you?

Therefore, two pinches of salt are prescribed for all those who hear the end time tales!

42. NO,

As I said, I have not been to Russia. Not even on my magic carpet. But my cousin who went is black like the ace o’ spades, and he encountered no overt racism. I am sure there must be some, as there is everywhere.

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    “To believe that the IMF of today is not that of years ago cannot be supported based on empirical evidence.” (Pacha)
    My Brother this is the type of bull shit that was all over BU , when Mottley was “negotiating ” with the IMF. Remember the undiluted crap that we were so good at negotiations that we could consider tweaking it and exporting it to other countries to make foreign exchange ? We even called it a “home grown ” program.
    2. Note even as the floundering and bungling and Mark Maloney is thrown in our faces, the apologist are critiquing Mottley , with apologies first.
    How could we travel the world to make sure that Mark Maloney gets financed while Black business people cannot get any real assistance with financing their businesses. It’s alright to parade them in the news getting $5000. gift vouchers but when it comes to really “big works” we know who they “come through” and we were being fooled and lied to about the Hyatt and lo and behold , we now learn that the banks did not want to finance the project so we went to Africa and lobbied to get him waht he wanted. $200 million BDS .
    We are all fuh cup.