Baltimore is listed as the largest city in the State of Maryland, the largest independent city and the 26th most populous city in the USA. Of note is that greater than 60% of the population is Black followed by about 29% White. In the wake of Freddie Gray’s funeral – yet another Black man to die in police custody under questionable circumstances – rioting and other violent behaviour has placed the city under siege. The question onlookers are asking – is this a bunch of stupid Black people inappropriately expressing themselves? Is this a bunch of Black people with just concerns about race relations in America today? Is it ignorance and just concerns commingling?

714 responses to “Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral”

1. wuh GP wuh difference does it mek if u haven,t dispense drugs in fifteen years yuh still have blood stained hands ..don,t mek me laugh dat like a murderer saying that he ain,t kill no body in fifteen years

2. This continuing suggestion that African-Americans are ‘under-educated’ is no more true than that African-Barbadians are ‘under-educated’.

What is the purpose of education, we must then ask?

If we then determine that education is for development, we must then seek to to find out, use some model to determine, what has the African-American produced as original, knowledge that was turned into national or indeed international industry.

Doing a comparative analysis and giving due regards to population differentials and the Bajan unproven claim that they are well educated, we find not one single human activity in which not even one Bajan has done anything, except for the bat and ball colonial game, to influence human civilization. And since the Bajans like to make this specious claim per population there should be at least another one if Gary Sobers is to be seen as transforming anything which has benefited the world.

On the other hand when we look critically at the experience of the African-American we find game changing discoveries in all fields. Let’s look at music. Almost every genre of music or the transformation thus was created by African-Americans. Whether it is jazz, pop, hip-hop, rock, soul, R&B and so on.

This is going to get the panties of the collaborationists into wad. Even classical music was transformed by Africans, not African-Americans. Without African-Americans there would be NO modern entertainment industry. We can make similar claims for most other areas of human endeavor.

So for this mighty people to be shot like dogs in the streets, under any guise, is unfathomable to the really educated. And only acceptable to the really mis-educated.

We will accept the African-American standard of ‘education’ any day of the week!

3. Sargeant April 29, 2015 at 11:55 PM “Ah mean the Police wouldn’t lie would they?”

Yes the police would lie.

Our Bajan police lie too…a few years ago they shot a good Christian old man in the Fairchild Street bus stand and then planted a gun near to his hand…and it would have passed except the man’s community protested that the preacher man never harmed a fly in his life…so yes police lie…I too had a police relative..a charming sweet boy…but he lied like a rug…lied to everybody especially to his long suffering wives.

May he rest in peace.

4. If a policeman (from any country) and including my own police relatives tells me that the sun rises in the East you can be sure that I will not believe that statement until I have verified it myself.

I ALWAYS assume that the police are lying…then I go forward from there.

5. @Pacha

Am I to understand that you are saying that Black Americans are receiving a good Education even in the inner Cities? Certainly thought that Education was a major problem. Is it then that the Students just dont care and are not learning? They are not persuaded that the effort is worth it?

6. Some in the African -Amercan community are seeing red after Obama referred to the riotersas thugs sthey say the word “thug” is synonomous with nigger and neva once has Obama reffered to these police killings a murders or the officers as murderers.i too have to agree with those who took offense of those sentiments as President Obama a man well schooled in black american history should have proceed with caution and not read off the script of the racist agenda who are trying relentlessly to take blame away from the muderous actions of the police and placed all this blood and mayhem smack at the front door of the african americam community .so far two symbols from this injustice has evolved which is giving a symbolic lending hand to the racist .the words of Obama and the mother “slap”

7. Wunna should go an read BarbadosToday.

Wunna would see nuff pictures of our poverty striken womens in their crocus bag an flowa bag clothes.

Life is really hard in Babadus doh.

Alison Hinds. Propa Bajan beauty although she too young fuh me.

8. Black in

Amurca or Cuba ?

9. He said, “White law enforcement agencies know well that there is legal coverage to killing Black people as they see fit. ”

Really? If that were true why dont they just declare Open Season on the murderous bad ass Drug and other Gangs who dominate Black inner city communities in the US?(and elsewhere Toronto, London et al) Many innocent, decent Blacks would surely like to rid their communities of Gangs? Many know they would be better off! (I do agree that the Police do cover up, in some cases, but not exclusively in Black cases, probably a higher incidence)

10. Yuh know the President has used this word to describe everybody including Al Queda and Isis, his spokesman said the actions of anyone who rob liquor stores are the action of thugs. Please don’t try to sacrifice a perfectly good word on the altar of political correctness. We have already lost “gay”’ from everyday vernacular and one of Tupac’s albums named “Thug Life” shows a shirtless Pac with the word “Thug Life” tattooed across his abdomen, what did “Pac”’ mean?

BTW I have a couple of Pac songs on my play list.

11. ac wrote

seeing red after Obama referred to the rioters as thugs they say the word “thug” is synonomous with nigger

ac that is very wrong—the word thugs does not have or indicate any racial group.

Why are certain people always pissed at Black people that speak the truth/ facts? DE Nial is a river in Egypt!

The emphasis must be on identifying the actual problems and strategising to find workable Solutions to be implemented.

12. D Ingrunt Word Avatar

MB, take from his remarks what you want but the statement “White law enforcement agencies know well that there is legal coverage to killing Black people as they see fit” is well grounded.

The fact is the majority of law enforcement is white so in so far that the statement can be expanded properly for law enforcement generally and all races of criminals it does also hit hardest at the majority white group and Black criminal suspects. In the same vein we speak of a disproportionate level of crime by Blacks.

The further simple fact, as validated by the FBI stats quoted here at various times, very few of the police killings result in any action against the officers unless there is irrefutable video evidence. And this takes into consideration the fact of the mental illness, violent suspects and so on that you will fall back on.

We know the policing is very dangerous but a man of your scientific background surely relies on evidence of past actions to inform and provide a framework for current issues. So with the clear evidence of police officers caught in lies; planting guns and other incriminating evidence; deliberately killing and assaulting suspects; stealing items and a host of other non-police behaviors surely we can conclude that some aspect of this type behaviour happens daily across the country (US and Bdos).

Officers seemly often are shocked that they are caught doing their deeds or that their union lawyers can’t quickly resolve the matter. How else do you validate a toilet plunger rammed up the rectum of a suspect or eight shots into the back of a fleeing unarmed suspect or a kid caught peeing in public being battered and bruised because he ran from the cop.

So yes sir there is that clear perspective that “White law enforcement agencies know well that there is legal coverage to killing [assaulting,maiming or beating] Black people”.

Do they do it to other races too. But of course. But they don’t kill them at anywhere near the numbers they kill Blacks.

13. well uh know what all these eruptionss are the equivalent of a civil war based on the same corrupt injustices and like any war civil or conventional they would be casualties but one must be shrewed notto preceive your enemy as your friend as he loses the war on the ground his next attack would be to strategise by wordwhich so far the enemy has outsmart and outwitted with srategic precision giving them the advantage in the public domain.

14. The drug culture always invades the inner cities for obvious reasons. Public and private investments and resources are redirected to the brand name areas. It is a catch 22 situation isn’t ot.

15. D Ingrunt Word Avatar

You know if AC was a student the teacher would be hard pressed to validate when she did her homework on her own accord and when Mummy of Daddy did it.

One day you get a rational well reasoned comment and then the next day you get a completely illogical response.

So, I suspect yesterday was parent day and today was student day.

The remark re Pres Obama and thug was absolutely the work of a lazy thinker. A poor student who has Pieces and others have eluded to so well is really not very ‘educated’.

As said above ‘what is the purpose of education’ if not to guide us on how we should decipher information and take from it a true and valid meaning. To fill us with data so that we can then apply that as needed to solve a problem.

The Pres said as Sargeant noted, that “the actions of anyone who rob [and loots] are the action of thugs”

Good gracious what’s racially tinged in that. Black fools, thugs, crooks, idiots, criminally minded JAs, convicts waiting to be tried are all proper descriptions.

16. David

Do you really believe, as intimated, that low level gangsters anywhere could control a trillion dollar industry?

17. @Pacha

No, only those with heads in the sand.

18. @Pacha and David

CIA (other powerful entities)may well be involved in bringing in Drugs to the US and so that does not bode well for resolving the street drug probs in the US.

Where big $$$$$$ are involved like the Fed Reserve Bank, drugs etc any Pres attempting to be moral and ethical in solving, is most likely to suffer serious and immediate health concerns. Many will say the Lincoln, Jackson (shot at but missed), Kennedy were assassinated primarily because they wanted to control Central Banking ie remove power from Banks.

19. @D Ingrunt Word

Certainly there are clear cut cases of Police being wrong. The kid in Cleveland, Eric Harris are 2 that come to mind.

The problem is that many are always sure that the Police are wrong and quick to convict them without all the evidence required. Mike Brown was not a choir boy or even looked like anything but a Big Man, attacked Police in his car, strong armed at the store/ stole and yet peeps think that the Policeman was surely wrong. ????? I did question the action of the Police after what happened at the car but had he killed Mike at the car then it would have been easily justified. Peeps dont want to accept the DOJ report. Yes the report goes on to correctly condemn the Police for Racial behaviour in general. My solution would be to make sure in high density Black areas that the majority of Police are Black eg Baltimore.

In Bim the Police are Black and it is by no means perfect but at least it cuts back on purely racial behaviour.

20. Sargeant April 30, 2015 at 12:10 AM #
    RE These black people gotta stop this habit of committing suicide while handcuffed in the back of Police cars.

THESE NIGGA THUGS GOTTA STOP THIS HABIT OF COMMITING SUICIDE BY DOING DRUGS AND COMMITING CRIMES TO BRING THEM IN CONTACT WID POLICE

I HERE THAT THE FELLA THAT GET KILLED WAS LIKE A PURE SAINT.
    HE LOOKS TO ME LIKE HE COULD GET IN THE CHOIR AT KINGS COLLEGE , CAMBRIDGE, OR ST PAUL’S CATHEDRAL OR EVEN WEST MINSTER ABBEY

MY EXPERIENCE TELLS ME THAT EVEN OUR OWN NIGGA THUGS IN BARBADOS DO SHITE AND THEN TELL LIES

IN 1990 ONE GUY GOT IN THE HIGH COURT AND CLAIMED THAT THE POLICE BEAT HIM UP , THEN BROUGHT HIM TO ME AND THAT I, AND THE POLICE WENT UPSTAIRS TO DRINK RUM

PROBLEM: NEITHER ME OR THE POLICE DRANK RUM

EXCLAIMER YOU THERE?

WATCH THE HERD COME OUT NOW.

LISTEN TO THE MEDICAL ILLITERATES PONTIFICATE ON THE POSSIBLE WAYS OF DAMAGING ONE’S SPINE OR ONE’S LARYNX?

THIS SHOULD BE FUN.

COME ON HERD! DO YOUR THING! LOL

21. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

GP has got to go

Like Apartheid

22. easy squeeze……….cant you do better than that?

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT
    Pharyngeal trauma may occur, inter alia, following laryngoscopy or other endoscopic procedures

23. @deigrunt
    s
    Words are powerful instruments that can decimate!vindicate or validate.and when string togethe can be as deadly as any military force .think on those things before ustring together an intellectual weakened pipe bomb sending it aire borne in ac direction

24. Man Allegedly Stabs Officer 14 Times for ‘Sole Purpose of Killing a Cop Because Cops Are Oppressive’

Houston Community College Officer Aprils Pikes was off-duty and working as a security guard at the Walmart when she was ambushed. Fortunately, bystanders stopped the savage attack and took down the suspect.

“I wasn’t really thinking,” Abe Baker, one of the good Samaritans, said. “His arm was just up getting ready to stab her and I just grabbed his arm and took him down, and that’s when everybody else came over and we all just took him down.”

Pikes underwent six hours of surgery at Ben Taub Hospital and is expected to survive, though she may lose her right arm, KPRC-TV reported.

Following his arrest, police said Matthews told them he attacked the female officer ”for the sole purpose of killing a cop because cops are oppressive.”

This guy has a history of mental illness!

It is NOT easy being a Police Officer.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

How Do Spinal Cord Injuries Usually Occur?

Spinal cord injuries are often the result of unpredictable accidents and/or violent events.

The following can all result in damage to the spinal cord:

a violent attack (such as a stabbing or a gunshot)
    diving into water that is too shallow and hitting the bottom
    trauma during a car accident (specifically trauma to the face, head and neck region, back, or chest area)
    falling from a significant height
    head injuries during sporting events
    electrical accidents
    severe twisting of the middle portion of the torso

IN THE CASE UNDER STUDY THE DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS MUST INCLUDE
    severe twisting of the middle portion of the torso

trauma during a car accident (specifically trauma to the face, head and neck region, back, or chest area)

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MB
    YOU WILL BE SURPRISED AT THE TRAUMA INFLICTED UPON OUR OWN BAJAN POLICE IN THE COURSE OF THIER DUTIES BY OUR THUGS

WHEN THE GUYS GOT IN DE TAMPI THEY JUST COME FORWARD THROWING LICKS AND THEY NEVER EVEN FEEL THE LICKS THROWN BACK BY THE POLICE

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The following types of injuries can cause spinal cord damage.

Flexion injuries:

Occur when there is a sudden forcible forward movement of the head, similar to a whiplash injury. This results in damage to the vertebrae in the neck (cervical) region of the spinal column. The damaged vertebrae then impact on the spinal cord, causing damage around C5-C6. Spinal ligaments are often also torn. These types of injuries commonly occur in motor vehicle accidents.

Rotation injuries:

Often occur alongside a flexion injury, where there is rotation of the spinal column, often in the cervical, lower thoracic and lumbar regions. This results in an associated injury of the spinal cord. Spinal ligaments are also often torn. Rotation injuries often happen in motor vehicle accidents where the vehicle is hit from the side. They also occur with people wearing lap seat belts, and in motorbike accidents.

Hyperextension injuries:

Happen if you fall and the neck is forcibly extended in a backward direction, stretching the spinal cord. Even if there is minimal damage to the spinal column, the opening up of the discs and stretching of the ligaments damages the spinal cord. This injury is often seen in older people, and those injured in domestic accidents and assaults. Hyperextension of the neck is the most common way children damage their spinal cords. There is often little or no damage to the spinal column, but the force of the trauma causes excessive stretching of the spinal cord.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Ingrunt Word

Please note that there is more than one AC.

Also be aware that when the sensible AC comes and speaks intelligibly for a few posts the other one gets angry and, in a fit of rage, has to come on and show their mastery of idiocy

29. President Obama in is position must be sufficiently aware he must use words which are situation appropriate. The word thug to us an Americanism has been racialize and although Obama likely didn’t mean to use the word in that context he should have known better.

To the other point made by GP, in socially depressed communities the drug trade often takes root and become the influencer.

30. Wha loss the doc has spoken. Good stuff there doc but my little lack of capacity got me tongue tied becausing no where in your list did I see where banging one’s head wud cause a brek spinal cord. Well or something like that that would not be noticeable from damage to he face.

A man of your noggin power should be ashamed though. Bout here in Barbados u scholarship boys are expected to lead the way for those who the good Lord did not give all those talents. So to hear u degrade the black fellas in US and call it mekkin sport in this lil rum shop the proprietor David got bout here is sad.

Why u ain’t telling we bout wha tings yah try to do for some of those less educated than u and help pave the way for some improvements. Yah tell we bout how yah mudder and fadder help out nuff cousins but it don’t seem that empathy get pass on to u though.

What cause u to be so self-centered and pissy like dis? U sure that there ain’t some schizo ting going on fah truth?

Looka we know u smarter than all ah we – well expect da Davis fella who got scholarship too – but dey really ain’t no need to piss all ova evabody just so. Some ah we got a piece a sense too yah know.

So do tell us your expert view on whether it was possible that this man cud have been hurt before he went into the van. You know, if he had a break in de vertebrae cud he still function and then he or one of dem officers aggravate the ting tha eventually kill he. You see in my view I think as some woman say that another person say – Shiite real hearsay – the police crush the man neck when they did kneeling forcibly on back of he neck. But tha is a foolish non doc surmising so it ain’t worth a gill of beans.

You wud know these types of tings though.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr GP

As I have said before, your mastery of the medical discipline is rarely questionable.

Note is made of the various other circumstance which might have resulted in that which Mr. Freddie Gray had.

In the same vein as you have proposed “evidence in support of the purported perpetrators” could you for a few moments act as “a pathologist hired by the Grey family” and give one or two posits which lean in the direction of a “police inflicted wound” i.e. purposed breaking of the man’s spinal chord?

After all, as a scientific man, with obvious competencies, I doubt you would have cut and pasted your points, but others might appreciate if, you could lend your opinion to “the counter” as one involved in an argument for and argument against, to see if there might be a situation where such an injury was inflicted by overly zealous, arresting officers.

Dr. GP it would be interesting to hear your counters, and let it never be said that it is not because of “a predisposition that this is an Afro American, (of which designation you are proud NOT TO BE), and he is not deserving of “a counter”??

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Mr Lee

You ent related to Bruce Lee is you?

You did tinking de same ting I did tinking when you and I write de same ting boasie.

Great minds tink alike and fools seldom differ but I guess dat de doctor gine call me and you fools who are intoxicated by de Rum Shop fumes.

De reason I axe you if you ent related to Bruce Lee is causing you gin expect a few drop kicks any time soon from de goodly doctor.

I hope dat you got a good GP causing de wounds dat he does inflict is eider long sickness or sudden deaf (not death)

33. Placing a knee on an aggressive arrested person’s neck is Police Training. Here in TO I once saw a White fella with Blue eyes and blonde hair get slammed down on the pavement by 2 Monster Officers and knee in the neck while handcuffing, he was a known illegal drug peddler.

GP could that mash up the spinal cord?

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MB
    RE I once saw a White fella with Blue eyes and blonde hair get slammed down on the pavement by 2 Monster Officers and knee in the neck while handcuffing, he was a known illegal drug peddler.GP could that mash up the spinal cord?

YES IT COULD

35. words have been used to keep the masses under control nothing new about that.call a man a ” thug and the effect is rippling.call a man a ” freedom fighter and he is hailed as skeeing justice albeit that both use similar means and ways of seeking justice.think on those things.the rioters one day will be recognized as those ” freedom fighters “seeking change..history always have a way of looking at the past and its connections to the present

36. @MB

The issue here is not that Gray may have gotten his injuries in the scuffle with police during the arrest, but the fact medical attention was not requested in a reasonable time frame.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SEE? THE HERD WAKE UP LOL LOL
    MR LEE SIR
    YOU COULD NOT HELP BUT COME WITH YOUR AD HOMINEMS COULD YOU

AFTER ALL GP IS THE WHIPPING BOY FOR ALL AND SUNDRY ON BU

A man of your noggin power should be ashamed though. Bout here in Barbados u scholarship boys are expected to lead the way for those who the good Lord did not give all those talents.

I CERTAINLY DID MY BIT BEFORE THEY RAN ME WAY

So to hear u degrade the black fellas in US and call it mekkin sport in this lil rum shop the proprietor David got bout here is sad. SORRY I HAVE NO APOLOGY TO MAKE FOR WHAT I SAID. JUST LIKE I AM SURE YOU HAVE NONE FOR WHAT YOU HAVE SAID

Why u ain’t telling we bout wha tings yah try to do for some of those less educated than u and help pave the way for some improvements. Yah tell we bout how yah mudder and fadder help out nuff cousins but it don’t seem that empathy get pass on to u though.

IF I DID YOU WOULD SAY THAT I WAS BLOWING MY OWN TRUMPET, WOULDNT YOU? YOU THINK I DONT KNOW THE HERD IN DE BU RUM SHOP? ALL THE GOOD I DID IS RECORDED ON HIGH WHERE IT MATERS MOST.

What cause u to be so self-centered and pissy like dis? U sure that there ain’t some schizo ting going on fah truth?

HOW AM I MORE SELF CENTERED THAN ANY ONE ELSE WHO PONTIFICATES IN DE BU RUM SHOP SUH?

RE Looka we know u smarter than all ah we – IF I WAS SMARTER THAN WUNNA WOULD I BE IN THE SAME RUM SHOP? LOL MURDAH

RE Good stuff there doc but my little lack of capacity got me tongue tied becausing no where in your list did I see where banging one’s head wud cause a brek spinal cord. Well or something like that that would not be noticeable from damage to he face.

SIR I HAVE SAID WHAT I WANTED TO SAY. IT IS FOR YOU TO FIGURE IT OUT FOR YOURSELF sIR. AFTER ALL YOU SMART ENOUGH TO THINK I AM PSYCHO. ah lie?

could this American BLACK THUG CAUSED SELF INFLICTING INJURIES THAT WOULD AFFECT HIS SPINAL CORD?

THE ANSWER MY FRIEND IS BLOWING IN THE WIND…….. THE ANSWER IS BLOWING IN THE WIND……..

@ PIECE
    RE let it never be said that it is not because of “a predisposition that this is an Afro American, (of which designation you are proud NOT TO BE), and he is not deserving of “a counter”??

WUNNAH COULD SAY WHAT WUNNAH LIKE. WUNNAH HAVE BEEN DOING IT FOR YEARS ah lie?

LET ME CORRECT YOU ON ONE THING
    Note is made of the various circumstance which might have resulted in that which THE THUG MIGHT HAVE HAD.

I NEVER SPECULATED IN THE COURTS AND I WONT SPECULATE HERE BECAUSE I HAVE NOT SEEN THE PATIENT

I LEAVE IT FOR THE ILLITERATI AMONG THE HERD TO PONTIFICATE AND DECIDE.

YOU HAVE ALL ALREADY MADE UP YOUR MINDS ah lie?

I HAVE GIVEN A FEW LISTS—–DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSES
    I HAVE CAUSED THE HERD TO THINK, I HOPE.

WUNNAH COULD CONTINUE TO CUSS ME NOW

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The lord hath spoken. (note the commonalized “l”)

“Yehawww” sorry “baaaaa”, said by one of the illiterate herd” LOL

39. @David
    Yes he should have been given Medical attention sooner. However, there are countless gents that scream at the Police everyday that they need Medical attention just to be a pain in the Officers ears, or to get the cuffs off so they might escape at the Hospital.

Naturally, the question is whether the Officers had enough info to take him seriously and decided to screw the guy over for some reason that would therefore be criminal?

40. @ pieceuhderockyeahright ,

I found your comments at 2:48 PM rather amusing and somewhat mischievous.

You seem to cast doubt on GP’S authenticity as a medical professional. I am sure that the good doctor will reply to you in kind.

On a serious note, I believe that you are perhaps the only big beast within the BU family capable of persuading the good doctor that his views on Baltimore maybe flawed.

41. But Georgie Porgie where did I attack u wid any ad hom?

I made an assessment based on the way u does run yah mout in the rum shop. Not an attack my fellow rummy per se. Yah mean I can’t criticize yah comments.

I certainly ain’t going to tell u anything bout blowing no trumpet. If u got it then blow nuh.

And despite what yah say a lotta da peoples here is sing away from any herd.

But anyhow let it be known that the herd enjoy your remarks as much as u enjoy mekking them.

We all want to hear the truth so no one is jumping to conclusions. And truly we have thought on your points.

42. ac might not have the gift of garb like some of the intellectual nugget head in the BU classroom but ac knows u never give or position sides in any way with the enemy to give them any kind of a powerful edge. Obam statement would be gladly endorsed by his detractorsbecause they it see it as a turning pointt by which they can sway public opinion and move the goal post further out of the victims range. Think on those things

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Exclaimer April 30, 2015 at 4:06 PM #
    I wont respond to anyone’ doubts on my authenticity as a medical professional . What I do when I come here is to present (SORRY REGURGITATE) what is the established view in the profession, without trying to be biased.

I know that the BU heard can not conceive that it is possible that the silly thug (AND HE APPARENTLY HAD A LONG RAP SHEET) could have died only at the hands of the police—and not possibly because of his own doing. All I can do is try to present a list of possibilities. I am sure that my message as gone over to the discerning.

I am sorry to contradict you , but there is no one on BU capable of persuading me that my views on Baltimore maybe flawed. I BELIEVE THAT THE BEHAVIOR WAS STUPID AND REPREHENSIBLE. There is a better way.

44. D Ingrunt Word Avatar

Dr GP it seems that the level of discourse here is top notch.

Was just making a move and a quick browse of the international news and bang…the folks on one of the sites asking the same questions the BU bloggers were asking you!

Because of course that is the BIG, BIG Steve Biko type query.

Yes David that is it…not whether he should have gotten medical attention sooner. You only give a person med attention if you believe they are injured and you only really care if they are injured if you thing that they deserve to be treated with respect.

We know the cops did not see him in that light so the moot of trying to get him to hospital to be treated was never in their thoughts…until they realized they HAD to.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/doctor-freddie-gray-not-sever-spine-article-1.2205179

“Could Freddie Gray have severed his own spine in a Baltimore police van?”

“From a medical standpoint, it is unlikely that the 25-year-old Baltimore man injured himself in the back of that van. The severity of his injuries seem too grave for him to have done that to himself simply by thrashing around or banging his head on something… It is more likely that there was some type of direct blow to either the front or back of his neck, or somewhere along the spinal cord along his back.”

45. @ac April 30, 2015 at 8:47 AM “Some in the African -American community are seeing red after Obama referred to the rioters as thugs.”

During the Arab Spring did anybody refer to the Arab protesters as thugs?

46. @ac April 30, 2015 at 8:47 AM “Some in the African -American community are seeing red after Obama referred to the rioters as thugs.”

Black American men are criminalized at a higher rate than any Arab anywhere, and yet when the Arabs protested thiei oppression it was rightly called “Arab Spring” when black american men protest their oppression they are called “thugs”

Why?

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

D Ingrunt Word April 30, 2015 at 4:53 PM #
    this urologist certainly is willing to stick his neck out
    did he see the deceased?
    did he do a/the post mortem?
    just asking

the level of discourse here is top notch, because we have some top notch regurgitators that went to UWI or went through our very poor educational system of the grammar school type………NOT BECAUSE PEOPLE ABROAD ARE ASKING THE SAME QUESTIONS OR ARE SPECULATING AS MOST OF US ARE DOING——-HAVING NOT SEEN THE BODY.

In my first case in the Bridgetown court Kieth SIMMONDS told me straight that I could only speak about the medical findings that I had seen………….and not what the patient alleged had happened. NEVER FORGOT THAT LESSON

48. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

maybe it was the internalising of oppression that broke Freddie’s back as something killed him during pig delivery of package

Fite Dem Back
    thank god the american N’s are nothing like GP N

Five Nights Of Bleeding

Night number one was in Brixton
    Sofrano B sound system
    ‘im was a-beatin’ up the riddim with a fire
    ‘im comin’ down his reggae reggae wire
    It was a sound checkin’ down your spinal column
    A bad music tearin’ up your flesh
    An’ the rebels dem start a fighting
    De youth dem just tun wild, it’s
    War amongs’ the rebels
    Madness, madness, war

http://youtu.be/7KMq-8NTghE

49. @MoneyBrain April 30, 2015 at 8:47 AM “Is it then that the Students just dont care and are not learning? They are not persuaded that the effort is worth it?”

Sometimes a child is incapable of learning because…Another section of the media has reported that both Freddie Gray and his twin sister Fredricka were brain damaged by lead based paint in the home in which they lived as infants and children, that Gray was performing 4 grades (a 5th former performing at a first former level) below his expected level, and that the landlord was sued on behalf of both young people and that both received a settlement and that lead poisoned children in that community are so common that the settlements received are commonly referred to as “lead checks”

Questions for you Money Brian and others:

1, Why was a child born in 1991 in the wealthiest country in the world exposed long term to lead paint in his home?

Where were the public health nurses?
    Where were the public health inspectors?
    Where were the building enforcement officers?
    Why was a landlord permitted to rent a defective apartment to a family with small children?
    Would a white Canadian child born in 1991 be exposed to lead based paint at home?

The way I look at it there is no point in having governments if governments do not look out for the most vulnerable. (The rich and the powerful and the highly intelligent are perfectly capable of looking out for themselves). I can think of nobody more vulnerable that a new born child in a lead painted apartment.