Baltimore is listed as the largest city in the State of Maryland, the largest independent city and the 26th most populous city in the USA. Of note is that greater than 60% of the population is Black followed by about 29% White. In the wake of Freddie Gray’s funeral – yet another Black man to die in police custody under questionable circumstances – rioting and other violent behaviour has placed the city under siege. The question onlookers are asking – is this a bunch of stupid Black people inappropriately expressing themselves? Is this a bunch of Black people with just concerns about race relations in America today? Is it ignorance and just concerns commingling?
Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral

714 responses to “Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral”
-
@Georgie Porgie April 29, 2015 at 4:14 PM “EVEN WHEN I AM MALIGNED AND MISTREATED, I AM LEARNING TO GIVE THANKS.”
You silly man. You are not a martyr so stop pretending.
I FIND IT FUNNY THAT BU BLOGGERS WANT TO DECIDE FOR WHAT I SHOULD GIVE GOD THANKS.
Nobody is trying to tell you what you should thanks God, we would simply like you to stop calling others nasty names you fake Christian you!!!
-
RE Exclaimer April 29, 2015 at 4:39 PM #
GP in his own inimitable style is once again influencing the traffic on this post. When will you bloggers realise that he is having a good chuckle at your expense?LOL EXCLAIMER YOU ARE TOO BRIGHT! WHY DID YOU HAVE TO TELL THEM?
I MORE THAN CHUCKLE WHEN THEY SAY SO MUCH ABOUT ME WHICH IS SO INACCURATE.
I HAVE BEEN DOING THIS TO THE HERD SINCE ABOUT 2010
ALL I HAVE TO DO IS SAY SOMETHING THAT GOES AGAINST THE GRAINLIKE I SHOULD NOT THANK GOD THAT I AM NOT AN AMERICAN NIGGA
RE And ya know, some of these african american men who you think are “breeding like rats”, also have good aunties who will out of the goodness of their hearts do good things for their neices and nephews, some of whom will become doctors and chemists…
THESE AUNTIES ARE NOT DOING VERY WELL IT SEEMS. IF NOT THE NIGGAS IN BALTIMORE WONT BE ROOTING AND LOOTING. THE CHILDREN WOULD GO HOME AND THIER SCHOOL BOOK
-
So far all the cities that have experienced social unrest because of police brutality has undergone significant changes and so far have not been associated with repeats of “those types”.the arm chair critics of those young people who are putting their lives on the line by any means necessary”have lost sight of the goals and of the many social unrest that made a difference in their lives and are now bound and determined to remain steadfast roadblockers against all any everybody who dare stoke or light a fire for further change
-
@MoneyBrain April 29, 2015 at 3:10 PM “What do you propose to solve the Black peeps problems and grievances in the US and elsewhere?”
Treat other people decently.
Do not assume that because you have a gun, a uniform and a badge that you have all the power.
Treat people as though their mother’s babysits your children.
Treat other people as thought their aunt’s cook your food.
Treat other people as though their daughter will manage the anesthesia when you go to get your goadies removed next week.
Treat other people as though their cousin flies your corporate jet.
In other words treat poor and marginalized people as though they are just as human as your are.
Treat them as though they have some power over you and yours.
Because they might.
-
Treat other people as though they go to the front line to fight your wars for you, so that your external enemies are pacified and you can sleep in peace at night.
Because you know what, these same black american men fight americas wars.
-
And Georgie Porgie you are not the only one with a good mommy and bright (if poor) cousins.
-
Killed By Police website, Gray was 349th person killed by US police or who died in police custody since beginning of 2015
-
A simple question: why are people from all backgrounds across multiple cities in the US engaged in protest marches at this time.
-
I along with GP and those before me,were given an English Grammar School education right here in the Caribbean.I have no idea what is taught nowadays in our Secondary schools since the likes of Ronald Jones have taken charge of our education system but I was fortunate to have gone to a very good institution of learning just as our counterparts did in Guyana,Trinidad,Grenada,St Vincent,St Lucia,Dominica,Antigua and St Kitts.
-
Gabriel April 29, 2015 at 6:38 PM #
yOU ARE CORRECT
I MET SOME SHARP BOYS AND GIRLS AT UWIA simple question: why are people from all backgrounds across Barbados not engaged in protest marches at this time in the light of the shite that FUMBLE & THE DEMS are doing to the people for the last 7 years?.
-
A simple answer, as individuals and countries we are all positioned at different points on a spectrum.
-
349 people killed by the Police in the USA this year.
Interesting but the site does not say WHY? We need details and a Summary of the evidence eg Police Clearly Justified, Disputed, Police Guilty of Error, etc
-
Money
contact site or their facebook page with your requirements
https://www.facebook.com/KilledByPolice? -
Police have to deal with:
1 mental types
2 drugged up crazies
3 Those eager to commit Suicide by Cop
4 bloody violent criminals
5 domestic fightingThe vast majority of the 349 are likely legit!
-
@Moneybrain
After you analyze why the 349 Blacks were killed the problem which has provoked protests by Whites, Blacks, Asians etc see the need to protest as we engage on is blog, deal with it!
-
@Simple Simon
Thanks for confirming that I am on the right track, “treating others as I would expect to be treated”
Questions— do you believe that the people who interact with Police treat them with respect, dont threaten the Police lives or behave in the ways I described above at 7.15pm?
-
Many of the comments being made border on generalizations. A reminder what sparked this recent protest across U.S societies, the death of Freddie Gray while in police custody. Remember the Baltimore Police Commissioner is on record admitting to mistakes by his department.
-
349 humans NOT just Blacks!
I have backed Peaceful Protests and called for highest level people to study and implement proper solutions and yes I want you,me and them to “deal with it” professionally, NOT half cocked like some pun here would. Real facts, Real Solutions.
-
I taught at UWI previously, if bright mean being able to regurgitate theory best then it is an accolade UWI deserves.
Hence the reason why the Government Politicians have faltered since most of them are graduates and have never been creative or leaders in their lives.
That is one of the reason Barbados is continued failed state.
In America there are hundreds of thousands successful black professional businessmen and women who come out of the same inner city areas nationwide.
The English Grammar school system is another reason why most Caribbean islands are so backward and are mostly pencil pushers and not innovators.
Having left Barbados on a scholarship and previously attending one of the old grammar schools I am fully aware of the system failure including the 11 plus still in place from the colonial era.
Canada and the US which have their own education system is far more well rounded and produces more innovators/leaders than the Caribbean per capita who still have their heads stuck up their former English masters backsides.
-
@Moneybrain
Set our points of view aside for a minute. There is a great distrust between Blacks and the police in the U.S., fact. Ferguson for example mirrors many U.S cities as being dysfunctional when it comes to applying Justice. The U.S authorities must find ways to fix what is a complex and multilayered problem. Being emotive will not do it. Currently thousands are peacefully protesting but you will get the bad elements who will express themselves through violence; it dos not take away from the cause.
-
Off topic somewhat but germane to the effect of peaceful but passionate protest to right societal wrongs by governments,…….after 9 days of protests by some Guyanese
people and institutions President Donald Ramotar has fired Health Minister Bheri Ramsaram earlier today.Recall Ramsaram had threatened human rights activist Sherlina Nageer with violence.
Still in Guyana a company was given tax incentives and exemptions for 25 years with the option to extend to a further 15 years for a total of 40 years.The agreement with Dax Contracting Services to run fibre optic cable from Brazil to Guyana is worth a contract of US40 million and includes but not limited to;tax holidays,remissions,tax waivers,duty free concessions on equipment,spares,tools and vehicles,replaceable every 3 years for 40 years.
Sounds familiar?Is this a new method of awarding contracts?Another Sandals giveaway of taxpayers money in a poor Caricom state? -
Anthony,
Did you lecture in Accounting? -
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/04/29/opinion/what-came-before-baltimores-riots.html
What Came Before Baltimore’s Riots
The riots that devastated urban America during the 1960s were often ignited by acts of police brutality that inflamed poor African-American communities where the police were seen not as protectors but as an occupying force. These same tensions resurfaced last year in the suburban St. Louis community of Ferguson, Mo., where riots broke out after a white police officer shot and killed Michael Brown, a black teenager. They have now erupted on a larger stage, in Baltimore, after the death of Freddie Gray, a young black man who suffered a catastrophic injury while in police custody. -
White protesters being arrested in New York.
Land of the free and home of the brave.
-
I agree entirely with your piece at 7.35pm, above.There obviously is a major problem that requires attention at the highest levels.
There are Racist Police as there are Racist Criminals. Policing in the US is not easy with guns all over the place in the hands of crazys of all races. Racist acts by anyone,especially Police, are not acceptable.
-
@MB
Don’t know how they will be able to fix the problem but until they do we will get replays of Baltimore and Ferguson.
-
@New York Times “a young black man who suffered a catastrophic injury while in police custody.”
The New York TImes is using very sanitized language. “Suffered a catastrophic injury” sounds like what I would say if my 95 year old grandmother suffered a catastrophic stroke.
Except that my grandmother’s stroke was caused by 95 years of wear and tear and is nobody’s fault.
How does a young, strong, healthy man “suffer a catastrophic injury” while in police custody???unless one or more pp;icemen still unknown used enough force to brake the young man’s spine/neck.
His injury was not caused by 95 years of wear and tear, and it was not an accident.
Unless we have to believe that Baltimore’s police are so poorly trained, or so incompetent that they do not know how to arrest a young, strong, healthy man without killing him.
-
People talking nonsense about violence always being wrong, and yet not a single government in the world is yet ready to beat its swords into plough shares.
I wonder why every government in the word reserves the right to use violence against foreigners and most governments in the world, including Barbados and the United States keeps the right to use violence (the death penalty) against even its own citizens. It would seem to me then that all governments in the world believe in violence and regularly practices violence.
…but if the police breaks the neck of a youmg, strong, healthy man, everybody is supposed to go quietly home?
Don’t mek me laugh.
-
RE I taught at UWI previously, SO WHAT?
if bright mean being able to regurgitate theory best then it is an accolade UWI deserves.
ALL OF THE BRILLIANT UWI TRAINED DRS WHO ARE LEADERS IN CANADA AND AMERICA ARE ALL REGURGITATORS
WHEN I CONFRONTED TOM ADAMS AND THE BLP ABOUT HOW THEY WERE GOING ABOUT SETTING UP THE NHS I WAS REGURGITATING
PROF K COARD AND CELIA CRISTIE ARE REGURGITATORS
SO ARE THEO TALMA, ATHERLEY AND STEINBOCK AND A WHOLE LIST OF BRILLIANT UWI TRAINED DRS WHO ARE LEADERS IN CANADA AND AMERICA ARE ALL REGURGITATORS…………….AND THEY UP IN CANADA AND THE USA REGURGITATINGMAN THE LIST OF UWI TRAINED REGURGITATORS IS LONG AND LEGENDARY
ALL OF THESE HAD THE MALIGNED AND DESPISED ENGLISH GRAMMAR SCHOOL SECONDARY SCHOOLING…IT PREPARED THEM TO REGURGITATE AS PROFESSORS OF MEDICINE IN THE USA AND CANADA
LISTEN TO THIS SHITE AND THIS NONSECQUITUR BY THE MAN WITH THE US EDUCATION TO MASTERS LEVEL
Hence the reason why the Government Politicians have faltered since most of them are graduates and have never been creative or leaders in their lives. That is one of the reason Barbados is continued failed state.
he Government Politicians have faltered since most of them are graduates OF UWI- NOT BE CAUSE THEY ARE GREEDY OR FULL OF AVARICE OR SPINELESS OR FEARFUL IN DOING THE RIGHT THING FOR THE PEOPLE——BUT BECAUSE THEY ARE UWI THEORETICAL REGURGITATORS… WHAT A LOAD OF BOVINE EXCREMENT
RE In America there are hundreds of thousands successful black professional businessmen and women who come out of the same inner city areas nationwide.
SO WHY CANT THEY COME TOGETHER AND FIX ANYTHING? why are the people in the innEr cities still so dumb and stupid? how are these hundreds of thousands successful black professional businessmen and women any better than the FALTERING Government Politicians WHO ARE graduates OF UWI?
yA GOT TO BEAR WID ME i ONLY HAD A SCHOOLING IN “The English Grammar school system ” FOLLOWED BY REGURGITATION AT UWI
RE The English Grammar school system is another reason why most Caribbean islands are so backward and are mostly pencil pushers and not innovators.
at least these backward non innovative pencil pushers ARE NOT OUT IN THE STREETS DEMONSTRATING AND ROOTING AND LOOTING
In these backward Caribbean islands some one will give you some fruit or a breadfruit or some green fig
WHO DOES GIVE THE ROOTIING LOOTING NIGGAS IN BALTIMORE ANYTHING? MAN DE HISPANICS TEKING WAY ALL DEY WUK! AND NONE OF the hundreds of thousands successful black professional businessmen and women who come out of the same inner city areas nationwide aint doing a thing to help
they might as well be regurgitators.
you are not the only one who had a scholarship suh.. two of us in my family got scholarships
i facilitate online courses and i dont find the american students that sharp at all but then , what do I know
i didnt go to cambridge nor did I study to get a masters in the great usa — the greatest country in the world ever!
In America there are hundreds of thousands successful black professional businessmen and women who come out of the same inner city areas nationwide. AND YET THE IDIOTS OUT THERE PROTESTING ALL OVER THE COUNTRY AND CANT SOLVE ANY OF THIER PROBLEMS tell ma dat ah lie?
why are these hundreds of thousands successful black professional businessmen and women who come out of the same inner city areas nationwide NOT HELPING AND SOLVING PROBLEMS
I HAVE TAUGHT AMERICANS AND CANADIANS AND NONE CAN COMPARE WITH SOME OF MY CLASSMATES
THERE ARE SO MANY UWI GRADUATES DOING WELL AND IN LEADERSHIP POSITIONS IN CANADA AND THE USA. -
there will be no peace until the prince of peace comes
man can not fix his problems
the USA & CANADA WITH ALL ITS EXCELLENT EDUCATIONAL SYSTEMS THAT ARE SO SUPERIOR TO THAT OF OUR FAILED SYSTEM CANT FIX THIER PROBLEMS
SO WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THESE EXCELLENT EDUCATIONAL SYSTEMS THAT ARE SO SUPERIOR TO THAT OF OUR FAILED SYSTEM ENGLISH SYSTEMS?
-
Most here will not tire in presenting all sorts of tinkering to deal with the rebellions in the USA. Others will present narratives pleasing White people. The time for tinkering has long past. The time for radical transformation through revolution has come!
We say ‘by any means necessary’.
The truth is that to get to any real solution we must return to the original sin. That vestiges of chattel slavery still exist and that the very constitution of the United States was never intended to recognize the humanity of Africans but merely keep the Republic together. A constitution which in its 13th, 14th and 15th amendments stop short of giving full citizenship to former slaves. This wicked document is still the law of the land.
Fewer would know that the current police systems have their formations within the slave-catcher, bounty-hunter traditions. A traditions as American as apple pie. White law enforcement agencies know well that there is legal coverage to killing Black people as they see fit. It is a tradition that Whites became accustomed to as they enjoyed their deviled eggs at outings while Black men and women became strange fruit, Billie Holiday et al.
Unless we can see the historical connections between these events the only solutions that will be presented will be in service of the White establishment as beneficiaries of this modern day slave society. A society made in the image of the Klu Klux Klan, without masks. Or their operatives, the leading Blacks, like Jessie Jackson or Al Sharpton, people who make a living from the very murder of young Black men on American streets. These are the Black people who benefit from the industrialization of murder.
Yes, and there is good evidence that the police culture effects White negatively, especially poor Whites in Appalachia and elsewhere. This is the nature of racism and capitalism. But this cannot be enough to colour, pun intended, the primary functioning of White supremacy, as some would like so to do as a means of avoidance. These collaborationists already have us believing that nearly all of their ‘founding fathers’, who were slave owners, are to be revered in perpetuity.
Of course, the collaborationists make other false arguments as well. For example they like to argue that 90% of Black deaths are caused by Black people in attempts to justify racism. They often forget that 90% of Whites are killed by Whites as well. So murder as general theory is an equal opportunity societal malady. And they make other false claims, which are as easy to debunked as the Piltdown Man theory.
The United States requires a revolution, a real revolution. And its about time. A country which from its very beginnings was founded on violence, terrorism and genocide can now seeks to convince us that only peaceful change is possible. That it does not matter that they have militarized they police forces. That they have, in an Cointelpro manner, infiltrated all Black organizations. Declared war on the war for centuries. Now that those wars want to come home to roast we are to take some misbegotten high ground.
We say let the revolution begin. For it will always be better to die, as a man, than to be after 500 years begging a White racist establishment to do right by us.
History keeps repeating it’s self. The same people who maligned Malcolm X, MLK, Denmark Vessey, Gabrial Prosser, Nat Turner, Bussa, Nanny Grigg, are alive and well. They own nothing to the martyrs who gave their lives in a struggle to end racism. Now that new leaders are appearing with renewed demands, like the house niggers they are, they seek to protect massa!
-
I would have to plead guilty as a English Grammarian and UWI regurgitator myself since according to anthony I should not have been assigned to manage peeps in the big apple the maple leaf.And as if to add insult to injury,my son followed in the same learning institutions and is doing very well in his chosen profession of finance in maple leaf country. -
war on the world
-
@Pacha
Maybe you are right.
Based on what is playing out in the US there are generations who have deep rooted mistrust of the system. It will take years to stem whatever ails that society.
-
Gabriel April 29, 2015 at 8:30 PM #
SHAME ON YOU MAN
WHY DIDNT YOU SEND YOUR SON TO CAMBRIDGE? LOLWE HAVE A MAN HERE ON BU WHO KNOCKS UWI EDUCATION AND OUR OLD GRAMMAR SCHOOL EDUCATION WHICH IS ENGLISH—– BUT HIS SON WENT TO CAMBRIDGE!
AM I MISSING SOMETHING?
-
David April 29, 2015 at 7:58 PM #
@MBDon’t know how they will be able to fix the problem but until they do we will get replays of Baltimore and Ferguson.
SORRY DAVID MAN CAN NOT FIX THE PROBLEMS HE HAS HIMSELF CREATED IN THIS WORLD ITS GOING TO GET WORSE
2 Timothy Chapter 3
READ CAREFULLY AND SEE IF THIS IS NOT HAPPENING EVEN HERE IN BIM1 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.
2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,
3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,
4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;
5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.
6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,
7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.
-
Until he comes we have to keep trying.
-
As another blogger has said earlier your are a tool of big pharmaceutical giants killing many people with drugs that you or other so called Bajan/Caribbean doctors cannot make or invent.
Yet you want to pull down a country you currently reside that you are sucking their resources and killing of its people with so called prescribed legal drugs.
In every country one will find people who do not make it, it can be down to discrimination, environment or the system setup for failure.
In wonderful Barbados with 98% literacy there are people shooting or killing each other almost daily, high police corruption, corruption in politics, and it goes on and on. Yet we have the best system that the colonial masters left behind condemning around 70% to be viewed as failures by not going to a so called Grammar school.
Only difference the people have not rebelled through rioting.
All over the Caribbean people adopt the American culture, I have never heard an American, Canadian or Englishman wanting to adopt Caribbean culture unless they were speaking of Jamaican.
-
As another blogger has said earlier your are a tool of big pharmaceutical giants killing many people with drugs that you or other so called Bajan/Caribbean doctors cannot make or invent.
HAVE NOT PRESCRIBED FOR ALMOST 15 YEARS LOL
I LOVE IT WHEN FOLK ARE SWIPING BLIND ON BUAll over the Caribbean people adopt the American culture, BECAUSE THEY ARE STUPID AND DONT RESPECT THEIR OWN CULTURE
RE you want to pull down a country you currently reside that you are sucking their resources HUH SUCKING WHAT RESOURCES YOU MEAN LIKE WHEN TEACHING IN THE COOKS OR MEXICO OR CURACAO ETC
and killing of its people with so called prescribed legal drugs.HAVE NOT PRESCRIBED FOR ALMOST 15 YEARS LOL
I LOVE IT WHEN FOLK ARE SWIPING BLIND ON BU
YOU CANT ADJUDICATE WITH OUT THE FACTS SUHRE I have never heard an American, Canadian or Englishman wanting to adopt Caribbean culture EXACTLY! THATS WHY THEY RELOCATE TO THESE ISLANDS— EVERY ON OF THEM EXCEPT JAMAICA
BARE SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP
-
Prisoner in van said Freddie Gray was ‘banging against the walls’ during ride
http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/crime/prisoner-in-van-said-freddie-gray-was-banging-against-the-walls-during-ride/2015/04/29/56d7da10-eec6-11e4-8666-a1d756d0218e_story.html?hpid=z1A prisoner sharing a police transport van with Freddie Gray told investigators that he could hear Gray “banging against the walls” of the vehicle and believed that he “was intentionally trying to injure himself,” according to police…The prisoner…was separated from Gray by a metal partition and could not see him…Police have said they do not know whether Gray was injured during the arrest or during his 30-minute ride in the van…Jason Downs, one of the attorneys for the Gray family, said…“We disagree with any implication that Freddie Gray severed his own spinal cord we question the accuracy of the police reports…We question the accuracy of the police reports we’ve seen thus far, including the police report that says Mr. Gray was arrested without force or incident.”
The van driver stopped…while transporting Gray to put him in leg irons.
QUESTION: So Mr. Gray was in leg irons and handcuffs and still managed to break his own back. Are the police suggesting that he is some kind of Houdini?
Does anybody remember Steve Biko?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Biko
On 18 August 1977, Biko was arrested…Biko suffered a major head injury while in police custody…On 11 September 1977, police loaded him in the back of a Land Rover, naked and restrained in manacles, and began the 1100 km drive to Pretoria… He died shortly after arrival at the Pretoria prison, on 12 September. The police claimed his death was the result of an extended hunger strike, but an autopsy revealed multiple bruises and abrasions and that he ultimately succumbed to a brain hemorrhage from the massive injuries to the head, which many saw as strong evidence that he had been brutally clubbed by his captors.Nelson Mandela said of Steve Biko “They had to kill him to prolong the life of apartheid.”
My question why are the Freddie Grays being killed in the United States.
Who benefits if the life of racism is prolonged?
-
I seem to recall reading on BU that there were 27000 brits making Barbados their home
and loving the experience. -
Who benefits if the life of racism is prolonged? you ask Simple Simone. I believe the BU resident social upheaval zeitgeist answered that quite eloquently earlier.
I do not share his deep ideological perspective and I surely his calls for revolution and anarchy are rather illogical as a practical way forward; but some of his other remarks are yet pure gold.
He said, “White law enforcement agencies know well that there is legal coverage to killing Black people as they see fit. ”
And, “History keeps repeating it’s self. The same people who maligned Malcolm X, MLK, Denmark Vessey, Gabrial Prosser, Nat Turner, Bussa, Nanny Grigg, are alive and well”
Here I use that quote to refer to the entrenched industrial establishment which benefits from this on-going inner city struggle. The businesses who use the fear and concerns to drive large revenue gains to their bottom-line.
You know well to what I refer:
— Gun manufactures
— Body armor/body cam manufacturers
— Drone technology companiies
–Security companies/sec camera & technology companies
— Cops; more private security work
— Cops more work/overtime
— Protection service companies; the ones who own and operate jails (major business growth in last 20 years)
— Security Consultants
— ETC …And of course according to our zeitgeist “the leading Blacks, like Jessie Jackson or Al Sharpton, people who make a living from the very murder of young Black men on American streets”
That’s a bit much to suggest that they look forward to these deaths and rioting. They do not. But the context that even some in the black community ‘benefit’ is understood.
So who benefits you ask? Many people do. Many! With the focus on the white industrial bosses; the war-mongering clique of the group, that is.
-
Gabriel April 29, 2015 at 10:19 PM #
ME THINKS THAT YOU ARE REGURGITATING LIKE THE TYPICAL UWI GRADUATE LOL MURDAH -
BLACK FEMALE MAYOR ORDERS POLICE IN BALTIMORE TO STAND DOWN
IS THIS TRUE?
VERY INTERESTING AINT IT?
-
Pacha wrote
Of course, the collaborationists make other false arguments as well. For example they like to argue that 90% of Black deaths are caused by Black people in attempts to justify racism. They often forget that 90% of Whites are killed by Whites as well. So murder as general theory is an equal opportunity societal malady.end
It is true that most Whites are murdered by Whites and likewise for Blacks. However, the FBI stats show that Blacks commit Murders at 4X the rate of Whites.( remember that the victims are mainly Black) WHY? Seems to me that this is a very serious sign of a very humongous problem that needs to be Solved by honest and proper investigation. We have good reason to believe that some of the causes are:
1 lack of proper Education and therefore opportunity2 lack of hope
3 lack of discipline/ stability, partially resulting from many Black fathers being absent from kids lives all too often
4 racial bias by Whites
et al
-
Yes SS it could be another Steve Biko situation. Or not.
Although I too find it hard to understand why a youung man would be so completely p’ed off that he got arrested (AGAIN) that he would damage himself so severely to break his neck and spinal cord. Surely there would have been deep bruises or other major marks on his forehead. There has been no reporting re such bruising.
But stranger things have happened in life so let’s see what the various report confirm.
-
So Freddie Gray broke his own back while in leg irons and restraints in the medical vehicle? It wouldn’t be the first time that the Police accused someone of committing suicide while in their custody. Look at this latter day Houdini who managed to shoot himself in the head while in a Police car with his hands cuffed behind his back.
Ah mean the Police wouldn’t lie would they?
-
These black people gotta stop this habit of committing suicide while handcuffed in the back of Police cars. The Police searched him twice but never found the handgun he used to shoot himself with yeah right….
-
@ Pachamama,
As usual you are ahead of the pack. Your comments on April 29, 2015 at 8:27 PM are profound and should be discussed further. It was good to see that Dee Word picked up the baton.