Freddie Kissoon, Kaieteur Newspaper Columnist

October 1, 2010 | By KNews | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon

The Guyana Police Force is still waiting to speak to the 15-year-old boy named Julius. Julius is the boy featured on a tape that Mark Benschop released in which it is alleged that the other voice on the tape is Kwame Mc Coy. The official police position is that there can be no investigation unless the boy gives a statement. The boy cannot be found. This is where I come in.

When the story was broken by Benschop, the very night three of us – me, Benschop and a senior reporter of this newspaper – went to the home of Julius to speak to his mother. Some of the relatives were already in the house. In front of the three of us, Julius’s mother got on the phone and spoke at length to him about the contents of the tape.

Before she did that, she listened to an account from Julius’s cousins about homosexual advances made to Julius by the other person on the tape. Julius’s cousin spoke of a long drive and the purchase of gifts. He said that he was uncomfortable with the entire affair.

Julius gave his mother a full description of the friendship he shared with the other person on the tape. Boiling with rage, she demanded that Julius return home from Linden right at the moment. The uncle agreed to go for him. Benschop volunteered his service. I was the one that objected to the trip to Linden. I gave three reasons.
First, if Benschop’s phone and mine were tapped then certain high officials would know we were talking to Julius and will be at Linden to pick him up.

Secondly, if the intention was to prevent Julius from talking then it will be a security risk to have me, Benschop and Julius in one car on a highway on a dark, moonless, starless night surrounded by no man’s land.

Thirdly, even if the authorities didn’t pick up our conversation, by the time we reached Linden, Julius would have informed his purported homosexual lover. So the conspirators, who no doubt were involved in the miasmic attack on me, would still have known that we would be on the highway that night.

My three reasons were persuasive. Benschop bought it and so did the mother and relatives of Julius. The consensus was that Julius would be in Georgetown the next morning to discuss with his mom the nature of the relation with the other guy on the tape.

The rest is now history. Julius and his mother have disappeared. They are not dead. Benschop and I went back to the home weeks after and neighbours told us that the relatives are the care-takers. I assume that Julius and his mother are alive because why would the relatives live in the home, not hear from or see Julius and his mother, and not report that they are missing?

How did they get to live in the house in the first place? My theory is that Julius and his mother have been secretly moved and are very much alive.My assessment of the situation is that the next day, the other man on the tape, the alleged homosexual, used abundant resources to entice mother and son to remain silent. My opinion is that big money has been passed. There is no question in my mind about that. What is of more relevance to me is that if money was given and another location has been assigned to the family then the alleged homosexual could not have possessed such resources on his own.

It meant that he went to his ‘big friends’ and cohorts and they invented a plan to save him. He has been saved. I really don’t know if mother and son were shipped out of Guyana or may have been transferred to a far region in Guyana. Knowing the huge resources that the fascists use to cover up their horrible sins it is possible that Julius may be in a high school using another first name and Julius, his middle name.

All this time, I never wrote about the role I played in the shape the story took. In July this year, Benschop, in front of Lincoln Lewis and Dr. David Hinds, suggested that I write about my role in the now invisible person named Julius. I agreed. Here it is.

I have no regrets about the position I took that night in the home of Julius’ mother. I still believe it was an immense security risk to be on that highway so late if state authorities knew we were there. I may have saved my own life and that of Mark Benschop.

29 responses to “Freddie Kissoon, Caribbean Fearless Press Warrior”

1. This man Kissoon writes every week not knowing if it will be his last. BU has always held him in high regard because he does it using his own name*. Do a quick comparison to what we have in Barbados, a bastion of democracy and what can we say?

2. The horror stories I hear coming out of Guyana scares me. Almost all of these incedents involve Indo- guyanese, I’m afraid of what is going to happen in this country when these same people (tribe) get their paws on Barbados. We don’t have any natural resources, just good decent people, yet we’re silently letting others deprive us of our heritage

3. There goes The Scout again! is your heritage so fragile as to be so easily threatened? You need some serious professional help!

4. Wuhloss
    My connections out of T&T has informed me that the indo-guyanese are causing much problems in that country, humours are that the same thing is happening in Antigua. fortunately, St.Lucian seem to have them under control, someone has to keep the complacent bajan thinking about their country before one day we wake up and it is not ours anymore.

5. Brother Scout It is scary reading the happenings in Guyana.Crime is practically out of control in that blighted country.
    Reading the Starbroek News & Kaieteurs Newspapers in Guyana on a daily basis,reveals a country out of control.
    There is an upsurge of crime in Guyana.A few weeks ago five (5) persons including a child were killed in a drive by shooting.Last weekend,a little girl sixteen years of age was beheaded,her body stuffed in a suit case & dumped in a river in Guyana. Earlier this year a husband allegedly pushed his wife out of his moving truck and then that monster drove the truck over his wife head,crushing the skull.Generally in Guyana practically on a daily basis there is some type of murder,men killing men over petty arguments,women killing women over men,men killing women in the most brutal manner .In the majority of cases it is the Indo-Guyanese type who are carrying out that type of brutal crime.
    Brother Scout,I do not know if it is only me & you who are concern with the large influx of those Indo-Guyanese scums,but a Barbados with a large Indo-Guyanese population is a recipe for social disruption. It is frightening what a Barbados with a large Indian population will be like.
    It is interesting that the crimes that are being committed in Guyana are not being highlighted in our newspapers the Nation in particular.I read in the Advocate newspaper occasionally news coming out of Guyana & other Caribbean countries,but I hardly read anything about the Caribbean in the Nation Newspaper.It appears there is a news black out from the Caribbean in the Nation Newspaper.
    As a Black Barbadian,I am extremely concern with the relative large & growing Indian population in Barbados.Black Barbadians are going to be in for a horror time if we allowed the rat catchers/rat munchers & their Indo-Guyanese counterparts ,the scums of the Caribbean to take root in Barbados.We have the attitude of the Chief Rat Catcher/Rat Muncher stinking Mrs Ram of Furniture fame who bribes our politicians with her donations of police vehicles,ambulances & other donations to governments institutions and her blatant disregard for the laws of Barbados as a reminder of what those miscreants can & will do in they quest for dominance.We must also remenber the Royal Shop affairs and the unfair treatment meted out to the then workers of that store by the Indian Rat Catchers/Rat Munchers owners.
    Indians are mass murderers similar to their European counterparts.They killed even their own children just for the sake of money.

6. Some of these same bajans who are encouraging these indo-guyanese, are going to get the dirty end of these same people’s stick just now. These indo-guyanese see self and would walk through anyone to get what they want. One thing I know for sure is that NONE if them are going to walk over me. When there is no life in my body they can do whatever they like with that body but as long as I’m alive I’ll keep fight to preserve this country for my offspring.

7. WOW. David / BU… Why do you let these blatantly racist posts continue?

I grew up with indo-Guyanese as neighbours and friends. I know and deal with many many indo-Guyanese people; They are nothing like what is being portrayed here by Scout and Negroman.

What would be said if someone said that black Bajans were lazy and that is the reason that Guyanese are here? LOL

What is next? These Xenophobic comments get us nowhere as a people and only causes people to focus on foolishness, when we should be using that same energy to move forward as a people!

Please check the prisons here and tell me, how many are black bajans, locked up for murder, rape, robbery, drug dealing, etc., compared to other nationalities and race.

Wake up . Wake up. Wake up.

8. watcha
    you is a idiot. And any idiot would know that the majority of prisoners would have to be the islanders ya Klown. stupseeeeeee. And the majority of bajans are black.

you trying to tell David how to run his show? Doan mek ma puke man.

Another thing even black guyanese say how wicked and evil indo-guyanese are so wah you barking bout?
    I used to give one a drop on mornings to some plantation he was working at and from the time I find out how they are, I pass him straight on mornings.
    stupseeeeeeeeee

Doan tell nabody ’bout wake up, wake up, because you in a coma.

9. Negro
    My darling, I getting de ‘invites’ print dis week. you tell Scout bout it yet?
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhh

10. Watcha
    Here is a scenerio
    A man had two children, who he cared for in the best way. they can a stranger who asked for help and was given. Then that stranger brought his brother and sister to spend a week with his new family but they never returned to their country. As time went by, things got a liuttle tight with the old man’s family so he had to cut back on his giving, so he told the stranger and his family, they would have to return to their homeland because he can no longer feed them. The stranger and his family then told the old man, we’re not leaving, we are doing more than your lazy children, let them instead go and work in our country while we stay here and work for you and we are entitled what you have. do you think the old man would be xenophobic, insular or ungrateful for asking them to leave? Should he tell his family that we all must suffer in order to feed these strangers? Well this is what you expect from bajans, well we’re not that stupid yet.

11. OK. – I am an idiot.
    Good point.
    Generalisations of an entire group based on a few will only lead to prejudice and evil down the road.

Look at any group on the block and you can draw the conclusion that our youth are lazy and love to smoke up…

@The Scout: Nice story. I appreciate it. But it does not say anything about the character of the entire group.

Here is a story for you:
    This woman moves in with old man and his children, marries him, has a child for him… then puts him and his children out of his own house and keeps it for herself. Now, this woman is a black woman.

How about another one:
    A man is working seven days a week to support his family in Guyana. Gets involved with a black woman here. No one in the household works but him… so he is now expected – and demanded – to bring home the bacon for them. The house was refurbished, furnished, people were fed, and everything was good… Then one day the man found out that he was being played against another working bajan man and that they were just milking him. Treated like a dog and used all the way.

Tell me what does that say about us black bajans to other groups?

@ Bonny Peppa:
    What your post tells me is that you passed judgement on an individual because of his race.. how shallow is that? Don’t some of us bemoan the fact that some whites, indians and chinese treat us like shit because we are black? Don’t those comments place you in the same narrow minded group as them?

When I hear people spew such prejudice I really think sometimes that there is no hope for this world that bore us Martin Luther King and Mahatma Gandhi. Maybe the posters on this thread need to read the speeches and writings of these two great men and learn something about yourselves and what they really stood for and were trying to achieve.

PS: Any man or woman has the propensity for great good and great evil…

12. Watchya
    Look, carry your nonsense elsewhere. Have you ever heard the word ‘crap’?
    Well your post is exactly that.
    Your argument is hyperbolic. Won’t stand up in my court. Pay a fine of $5,000 or spend 2yrs. at Dodds wid ‘hard-labour’.

13. @iWatchya

You have made a few good points.

There is a fear out there borne by the fact that in Guyana there is racial thrift and common sense supports a view we have to manage how we socialize our little society. We have had a dominant Black host population from time in memorial, it is changing, fear and concern will naturally emanate. It calls for dialogue not closet talk or censorship.

14. Elections coming up in Guyana soon?

Sounds like the typical rubbish published by political newspapers (and BLOGS) in countries inhabited by idiots. In other words, just another unfounded smear campaign.

The sort of thing which Barbados Underground would naturally be attracted to.

So I dropping a big ball o’ cow sh*t pun dis post and moving on to look for something more worthy of my precious attention.

15. @David

Why don’t you comment when certain people post their prejudiced comments?

I am amazed that we are supposed to be among the most educated people in this region.

Maybe we need educate people when they show such prejudicial views and this would help our society ward off such a rift.

16. @iWatchya

BU’s position has been made clear several times. BU is an unmoderated blog. What we desire is when there is a different perspective feel free to engage the parties, it is the only* way where education can occur.

Here is a question for you, why do you and others focus on the 2 or 3% commentters who hold ‘extreme’ positions? Why not do like ac et al who has engaged Negroman? Don’t you think the world will be a better place if misplaced views held can be demystified?

17. Watchya There are Indian youth,White youth,Chinese youth & youth from other ethnic groupings that smoke,lime & who are bums.Watchya are you man enough to call the youth from those ethnic groups lazy?
    If the Indo-Guyanese are so resourceful,hardworking & have good work ethics,why are Guyana in the state it is in? Guyana the largest Caribbean country with an abundance of natural resources ,yet it has one of the highest level of poverty in the Caribbean.
    Watchya if Barbadians are so lazy what are the reasons that caused Barbados to excel all the other Caribbean countries?”Lazy Black Barbadians” created the most desirable Caribbean country & indeed one of the most desirable countries in this world.Watchya tell me how we were able to achieve that feat.
    Watchya it is idiots & jackasses like you who always jumped to the defence of the other ethnic groups and in the process always denigrate,criticise & ridicule your own very people – Black people.
    Watchya,I would love you to study the history of Guyana,Trinidad & Tobago,Fiji,Uganda,Mauritius & other countries of this world where Indian have settled .Observed the strive in those countries.Watchya,I also want you to observe the behavior of the few local rat catcher/rat muncher Indians in Barbados.Tell us if Barbados could remain a cohesive society if those rat catchers/rat munchers become a significant part of our society.Observe they exclusivity & the clannish behavior of that group.Observe how after over fifty years in Barbados that grouping has not integrated into the Barbados society.
    Watchya it it is idiots like you that must pay the ultimate price when the revolutions starts.We as a people will never advance when we have perennial fools like you among us.

18. @ David

You are quite right. I just hope that it does not spread beyond the 2/3% or then things will really get wild.

@ Negroman:
    I obviously hit a sore spot for you. I must be the fool / idiot to engage you in some meaningful debate. I will do the research on those countries’ histories but will you do your homework?

19. David
    Please don’t be deceitful. I haven’t seen ONE good point made by Watchya. You trying to build up his/her self-esteem or wah? Dis is not Dr.Phil. So please, keep it real in future.

Watchya, you talking a roll of goat rolls. And you can’t hit nobody sore spot wid de pupp dat ya talking so try again. Ya failed miserably this time around. Negroman in got to do na Homework. What Homework what? You is de principal at which school now? Remind ma, I faget.

Black Cow
    Lemme tell ya sumting my man, eff i step in any a dah cow-pupp, I gun smear um all ova you face. Try n ga pun de pastur n do you do man. Good.

Negro
    My darlin, you know I always leave de bes fa las.
    smooch, smooch, mwahhh,mwahhhhhhhhhh

(eat ya hart out Black cow, you nevva had a luv like dis)

20. Watchya is an idiot. The Indian Government of Guyana is being pressed by the intenational community for an independent investigation of the killings that occured between 2002 and 2006. Last week more than 7 blacks were gunned down mysteriously by men in a white car that was involved in dozens of killings. You will always fight some j/a willing to stifle their conscience when it comes to discrimination against blacks, and blacks speaking out in response. Generally they are Indians masquerading under a black sounding name or some annonymous alias.

Why don’t visit those Indian Guyanese blogs where the use the “N” word to describe blacks and define as as animals. You patriotic Bajans are quite correct. Do not allow your beautiful country to become a Fiji, a Guyana, a T&T, or anywhere where there is a significant Indian population, and a minority or majority of blacks. AS soon as the numbers of Indians within a small country become significant, their religious adherence to type caste blacks into the dalits their ancestors were prior to transported indentureship, comes to the fore. They cannot wait to transform themselves into Brahmins and stratify blacks into a discriminated against caste. Give me a break

21. Bonny Peppa my darling sweetheart soon to be wife,how you doing my honey dew.Bonny my gorgeous,Brother Scout is the only one who will be my best man at our wedding.This is going to be the wedding of the century.Bonny Peppa you too sweet,kiss,kiss,kiss,kiss
    Watchya is an idiot & jackass who has done little or nothing to advance the Black Race.That perennial jackass is the rat catchers/rat munchers ass licker.
    Ruel Daniel,it is so unfortunate that our Black brothers & sisters regardless of the treatment meted out to us as a people always have the believe that our oppressors love us,respect us,& have our best interest at heart.Those pathetic clowns do not want to accept that this is a racist world & we as Black people are the recipients of the worst possible treatment.
    I have witnessed many Black People who previously idolised & worshipped white people finally admit that those white bastards are no good & they hate Black People with a passion.Case in point – my oldest sister & oldest brother.Those two idiots neglected their Black family and had the belief that White People were the greatest thing that ever happenned to this world.I never thought I would live to hear my oldest sister & oldest brother castigate White People,after both of them tried to live a white life,both are now in desperate situations trying to salvage something from their pathetic lives.My sister is now trying to re-establish herself by going into business after spending a significant part of her life slaving for an ungrateful white piece of t—sh.My brother is a bum,penniless & living at home in a house Your Truly built for his Black mother.
    Whatever the other ethnic groups do to Black People,we always have Black Jackasses & Nincompoops like Watchya rushing to they defence.
    Indians are killing Blacks in Guyana & Trinidad.The evidence is there for all of us to see,yet we have idiots who come on this blog & try to convince unsuspecting Blacks Barbadians that Guyana & Trinidad are cohesive societies with no racial problems. All Black People are not stupid & this Negroman definitely isn’t one that can be easily be fooled.
    The Indo-Guyanese scums & dirt bags have destroyed their own country with their wickedness.If we Black Barbadians ever allowed the human waste Indo-Guyanese degenerates & parasites to take root in Barbados,it will be the end of Barbados as we now know it.

22. @Black Cow

BU has highlighted concerns in Guyana for awhile now. Many BU commenters jumped on the bandwagon when it suited their immigration agenda. Bottomline, BU remains concerned about what we are hearing going on in Guyana, especially to Blacks. BU will continue in what little way we can to bring awareness to news coming out of Guyana. Funny how STARCOM which is T&T owned continues to inundate us with what is happening over there and little from Guyana.

@Bonny

Watchya did make a couple good points…lol.

23. Wanna can call me what you wish.

Guyana has had issues for a long long time. The majority of its current corruption is due to the illegal drug trade and the series of polarizing dictators they have had.

What do you think is the easiest way to keep on top as a dictator? Sow the seeds of ethnic divide and have the masses so interested in attacking each other, that they no longer can focus on taking down the corrupt leader.

PS: 50% of the population is indian and 30% is black… so good luck in trying to get the PNC in.

24. David
    cuhdear,highlight at least one good point made then nah. I am still looking for at least one but you can read better than I.

Negro
    My chicken-breast sandwich, you make me feel so goodddddddddddd.
    ‘rat-catcher/rat-muncher ass licker”.
    Lawdddd, ya killin ma.

25. @Bonny

When he/she suggested we should ‘Wake up . Wake up. Wake up.’

26. David
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, you serious?

27. David
    It reminds me of de Solar Dynamics ad, if ya could call um so:
    ‘Brek, brek, brek’.
    He does sound so foolishhhhhhhhhhh saying so just like Watchya telling somebody bout ‘wake up’.
    stupseeeeeeeee, get a life do.

28. @ David

It’s good to see your stance on this issue.

29. Watchya
    And what is David’s stance if I may ask foolishly? Anything new?