Each day, as this saga unfolds, more and more of the innocence of Barbadian society gets destroyed. Some Barbadians, who are thinking for themselves, have already raced ahead to recognize that CLICO is just the tip of a national iceberg.The hard-earned money of Barbadian taxpayers has been receiving similar treatment for the last 30 years also Walter Blackman

The BU household agrees with pundits who suggest irreparable harm has been done to the legacy of the late Prime Minister David Thompson caused by the recent revelations contained in the CLICO Final Forensic Report unsealed by Justice William Chandler. Before the CLICO meltdown many Barbadians were prepared to give credit to Thompson for his Families First Campaign and other people centric initiatives. He promulgated the view “Family values are crucial and the role of fathers and mothers is vital to children’s development.” What a noble effort by the late Prime Minister Thompson which sadly appears to be the usual political rhetoric.

Now that the public persona of the late David Thompson has been shattered to smithereens a pandora’s box of questions have to be asked and answered. Monies paid by CLICO Barbados to the Families First Account were managed by the late David Thompson. However it is inconceivable that he and he alone had oversight for the slush fund. Of greater interest is the need to perform an audit to identify inflows to the account from CLICO and other contributors from Barbados and the Caribbean.

Woe is we!

122 responses to “David Thompson and Families First Slush Fund, the Corruption Trail”

1. Pinkie March 13, 2015 at 4:42 PM #

……………but there is a God as we clearly see every day
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    We would be wise to leave God out of this. Every Sunday many of the main line churches , in their services, pray to the Almighty for Elliot , our Governor General, Frundal ,(before it was David) our Prime Minister and all Members of Cabinet. And what have we got?
    We were plagued with fraudulent David, and to add insult to injury, we are now saddled with Freundal, and a set of selfish bastards who think that they are GOD. Lord have Mercy, Lord have mercy.

2. goldengirl49 March 13, 2015 at 7:58 PM #

Don’t think that justice was not done. That illness that he went through was justice in itself. He was in excruciating pain and no medication could help at a point. Whatever a man sow, that shall he reap.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    No ! justice has not been done !! Thompson’s pains are over ,but there are many people out there who because of CLICO and its band of thieves, robbing them of every cent which they have invested,and their pensions, are also suffering excruciating physical and mental pains , as they no longer have the resources to obtain medication and medical treatment. Some will end up in Black Rock , Reed Street ,or the QEH, to be thrown out by its heartless Director.
    I say seize the properties of CLICO and those of its partners -in-crime , and reimburse these unfortunate people. Let the likes of Leroy Parris, and his crooked associates, be the ones to end up in Black Rock, Reed Street and on the streets of Bridgetown,cause for sure, their pals are going to ensure that they do not end up at Dodds.

3. old onion bags March 13, 2015 at 6:51 PM #

Beware…”the sins of the fathers shall visit the 3rd and 4 th generation”……
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    Looks like God is really peeved with Barbados, cause the sins of the father is now falling on the 1st generation. But like the US Cavalry, the GOD-mother will come to the rescue.

4. PARRIS’ PROPERTY?: Questions raised about the inclusion of Westmoreland plot in affidavit
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/13/parris-property/
    With the operations of CLICO International Life (CIL) remaining under heavy public scrutiny, the former Chief Executive Officer of Rayside Construction Ltd, Marquetta Rayside is questioning how ownership of an upscale property at Westmoreland, St James ended up in the hands of former CIL boss Leroy Parris.

The property, reportedly now valued at $2.2 million, was recently listed among several owned by Parris in an affidavit prepared by his attorney, Hal Gollop QC.

However, Rayside, who was made redundant by the company in December 2005, said up until that time Lot No 15 was part of the company’s assets, held by the then Barbados National Bank.

A year later, the heavily indebted construction company, which was established by the late Keith Rayside, was acquired by the CLICO group of companies in 2006.

Giving further details on the acquisition of the asset, Rayside said: “Lot No 15, Mount Standfast, Westmoreland, St James, was given to Rayside Construction Ltd. by owner Jeffrey Chandler, in lieu of payment, for work done on the project by the company.

“Rayside Construction Ltd put in all the services and developed the land for Chandler. Instead of paying in the currency of the realm, he gave the company LOT No 15,” she said.

The wife of the late construction magnate also shared copies of the tax demand notice for the financial year, 1999-2000 for the up-market 38 955 sq ft plot, which carried a site value of $350 600 at the time. No improved value of the property was mentioned at that time.

Today, a former director of Rayside also expressed surprise that the lot was listed among Parris’ assets but did not want to be quoted.

However, a check with the Land Registry Department and the Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property Office – both located in Warrens, St Michael – showed that the property is now owned by Highrise Investment Ltd, whose registered office and mailing address are Aquatic Gap, Bay Street, St Michael.

Further investigations by Barbados TODAY revealed that the sole director of the investment company is attorney-at-law Gale Prescod, a former associate of Thompson and Associates – the law firm operated by deceased former Prime Minister David Thompson, which was also located at Aquatic Gap.

Prescod, who now practises at De Nova Legal, Hastings Main Road, Christ Church, could not be reached today for comment.

However, when contacted, Parris’ attorney said as far as he was aware, the property belonged to his client, while dismissing questions about Parris’ accumulation of wealth after over 30 years with the company.

Back in February, the former CIL boss applied to the High Court to overturn an order by Justice William Chandler freezing his assets and those of his company Branlee Consulting Services Inc.

In the application, Parris claimed that the order had created hardships for him and the company, preventing them from meeting “their usual living and business expenses”.

nevilleclarke@barbadostoday.bb

5. Was a fake document created by David Thompson in order to effect the transfer of this property from Rayside Asphalt Paving Co Ltd to Highrise Investment Ltd…investigations by Barbados TODAY revealed that the sole director of the investment company is attorney-at-law Gale Prescod, a former associate of Thompson and Associates – the law firm operated by deceased former Prime Minister David Thompson, which was also located at Aquatic Gap.
    Prescod, who now practises at De Nova Legal, Hastings Main Road, Christ Church

6. What about a certain Hungry Henrietta that was Thompson right hand?Did they have knowledge of all of this?

7. @David,

Just read in BarbadosToday on page 3. ” Parris still owed $6.5 million ”

So who should get paid first.

The Policy holders and pensioners or the man with the gold watch, matching bracelet and chain?

8. Sunny Sunshine Shine Avatar
    Sunny Sunshine Shine

The dynamic duo of crookery and greed was so infected by the sickness of money that they did not worry much about covering their tracks Thompson lied so smoothly but showed a boldness to feed his appetite for money that he was not even worried about organizing a 10 million bailout that he knew would have put tax payers money in his pocket and the pocket of Parris. This should be investigated with due deligence. The writing off of the turf clubs millions by the same Thompson should be investigated as well to determine what deal was made with him and the turf club. No stone should be left on turn in the David Thompson crooked empire. I also say investigate his party as well. They know something since they have allowed Parris to put his pilferings in the central bank and have not provided any reason for this consent besides the fact that Parris is the current PM’s friend. A political party in close relationship with a very controversial person who has overwhelming evidence stacked against him that he and a former dead PM were partners in profit by any means necessary. Full scale investigation needed to determine who else involve and who are protecting the infamy of these two famous crooks and their connections.

9. I am no attorney but shouldn’t The DLP be made to pay back the hefty campaign contributions made to them by CLICO in 2008 given their leader at the time would have received them knowing them to be lets say ‘ill gotten gain’? I have heard they were to the tune of $30 million.

10. @Sunny Sunshine Shine March 14, 2015 at 2:58 AM “The writing off of the Barbados Turf Club’s millions by the same Thompson should be investigated as well”

I’ve always seen this tax write-off as very, very strange. Of all the individuals and organizations indebted to the tax collection agencies of the Barbados government why was the Barbados Turf Club given this big tax write-off. As I recall the David Thompson wrote off a debt of $30+ million for the Barbados Turf Club. Why? why? why?

And now that we know what kind of man David Thompson was do we still believe that this tax write-off was justified?

11. @ Simple Simon
    You have a very devious mind….
    You are a dangerous person… always insinuating dastardly scenarios…

You know very well that powerful people who have deep dark secrets often find themselves to be targets for blackmail…. THIS IS WHY MONKEYS WHO WISH TO CLIMB UP HIGH NEED TO KEEP THEIR ASSES CLEAN.

…especially bout here where every tom dick and simon knows every body else’s business…..

12. Sunny Sunshine Shine Avatar
    Sunny Sunshine Shine

@Simple Simon

This wicked thieving dead crook of a PM seem to have had a very sophisticated connection of crooks to whom he obvious granted favours in return for his massive drawbacks. The Thompson led administration of DLP-leeches trumpeted the sound that the global economic recession was responsible for placing Barbados in a very precarious economic situation. Yet the liar, manipulator, falsifier and crook that was PM Thompson wrote off a dept at a time that Barbados needed the money. The deceitful stinking lying rat that was PM Thompson gave 10million dollars to a company he knew was plummeting to rock bottom under a camouflage reason of all is well with CLICO Barbados so let us give them some Bailout millions. That same stinking lying distasteful rat wanted to take tax payers money during the recessionary period to build a brand new building for the Prime Ministers Office. That wicked dead rat knew what he was doing during his Jackle and Hyde tyrade. We need full disclosure from this pissy government as to where the bailout money went and why was turf club’s dept written off. I hope the pissy system of justice will do their jobs and not cover Parris ass. He is the only one who can squeal to bring out the other pigs and rats.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sunny Sunshine Shine

Dear girlfriend how you?

This is a royal fcvkup

Mark my words.

“They” will kill Greenverbs before they allow hike to name names and places and payouts

14. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

PLANTATION DEEDS have been telling you all the real deal for years, now where they ones making jokes, Must be at the land registry looking to see how and who own lot 15#, Need to go check your own deed for clear titles, If you dont have a clear title and you bank or got your loan from FIRST CARIBBEAN by true law you dont have to pay them ,
    Now but you do have to pay the person that holds the plantation deed at 25 to 50 % less than what you are paying now,
    Law cant make you part of a fraud, and then let them prove to the true land owner to see who signed their deed, Was it Beatrice Henry or Violet Beckles ,
    iif you can not find it you have fraud title and you were scammed ,
    vote the CUP

15. Spain’s anti-corruption parties shake up old politics

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-31852713

Drumbeat Grows Louder For Impeachment Of Brazil’s Rousseff

http://www.npr.org/blogs/parallels/2015/03/13/392771461/drumbeat-grows-louder-for-impeachment-of-brazils-rousseff

The corrupt BLP and DLP led by their discredited and highly suspect leaders would be challenged in any normal democracy by their citizens.

Tune in to any news station and you will find that party politics at an international level are been shaken up with the introduction of anti-corruption parties. Yet, in Barbados despite all the evidence of systemic corruption practised by our two major parties – nothing appears to have changed!

Closer to home you may have witnessed that the Brazilian President is at the heart of a major corruption scandal. She may well be impeached. Yet, in Barbados Mara Thompson, Parris and a list of unknown fellow conspirators conduct their business in the open without reproach.

What will it take to wake up the Afro-Bajan? Quite frankly, I’m bemused.

16. Simple Simon March 14, 2015 at 9:53 AM #

And now that we know what kind of man David Thompson was do we still believe that this tax write-off was justified?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    Was it the Turf Club , whose motto was . ‘If you haven’t got a ticket. You haven’t got a chance. ?”
    Looks like David Thompson did not need a ticket to win big. 10 % of $30Million is $3 Million, a sum that David Thompson had a fixation with.

17. @ Colonel Buggy,

The reverence that the public had for the politician has gone.

I know that you were an army man. I have a question to ask you.

When a country is mismanaged like Barbados and where corruption is actively practised and encouraged by our leaders….. Could a valid case be drawn up for our army to step in and dissolve our parliament? Whilst simultaneously detaining and putting under house arrest those individuals and groups who are at the heart of corruption in Barbados (Certain politicians and the elites)?

It is evident to me that we are reaching the point where the champagne cork is about to explode in Barbados. The typical Afro-Bajan has nothing to lose in this modern day Barbados. I fear that we could see a re-enactment of the revolutionary zeal as was demonstrated by the uncompromising and the formidable Haitian, General Dessalines. We all know the outcome of the Haitian revolution and how it ended for her minority ethnic groups.

The masses will at some stage focus their sights on the wealthy minorities. This would be misguided, sad and wrong. One could argue that the constitution of Barbados has totally failed her citizens by her endorsement of a corrupt system. It is clear that the masses are reluctant to demonstrate their frustrations on the streets. However this could change when and where we least expect.

I believe that we should pre-empt this social explosion with the introduction of our arm forces. This group are virtuous, disciplined and non-corruptible in complete contrast to our crooked politicians and elites.

What say you?

18. @Exclaimer March 14, 2015 at 10:29 PM “The reverence that the public had for the politician has gone.”

A Simple Response: I am not aware that we Bajans ever revered politicians

When a country is mismanaged like Barbados and where corruption is actively practised and encouraged by our leaders….. Could a valid case be drawn up for our army to step in and dissolve our parliament? Whilst simultaneously detaining and putting under house arrest those individuals and groups who are at the heart of corruption in Barbados (Certain politicians and the elites)?

A Simple Response: Wha’ you smoking?

I believe that we should pre-empt this social explosion with the introduction of our arm forces.

A Simple Response: But only when those who are advocating for armed intervention learn the rules of basic grammar.

This group are virtuous, disciplined and non-corruptible in complete contrast to our crooked politicians and elites.

A Simple Response: Our army cannot possible be better that the rest of us. Our army men and women were raised in the same homes, schooled in the same schools and churched in the same churches as the rest of us. Therefore THEY ARE JUST LIKE US and you would see that too if only You would take off your rose coloured glasses.

What say you?

A Simple Response: No, no, no. A thousand times no.

19. Exclaimer is obviously joking…
    or live in Timbuktu….
    Not an option…
    Our army is just one big expensive joke…and the top man is of the Sinckler /Stuart mold.

If this country cannot find two dozen honest, upright, intelligent and right-minded citizens willing to provide leadership, then we deserve exactly what we are getting.

This is why we should ALL be interested in identifying and developing the TRUE talents in our society to their maximum potential….instead of selfishly pushing our own personal agendas and interests.

20. @Bush Tea March 14, 2015 at 1:09 PM “You have a very devious mind….
    You are a dangerous person… always insinuating dastardly scenarios…”

Yeah I know…one of my ex-men was fa eva’ telling me so. LOL!!!!!!!

Said ex-man (I ALWAYS keep in touch with all of my ex-men) told me just last week that THE HEART OF CORRUPTION IN BARBADOS LIES IN THE PRIVATE SECTOR who too often improperly approach senior government officials, both political and civil servant.

And the private sector is lead by whom???…white Bajans, the same people who have historically made their living from exploiting others, from insider trading, from being sole agents for what would otherwise be competitively available products, etc., etc., etc.

Which is why I did not get caught up in the hyped-up search for Karen. Nobody who knows me was foolish enough to send me na’ message ’bout na’
    missing woman.

21. Exclaimer March 14, 2015 at 10:29 PM #
    ……………………………………………………………
    As an ex European Solder, we have had very little practice at this sort of thing,at least not in Europe.
    But Flight Lieutenant Jerry Rawlins has done it twice in Ghana. First in June 1979, and again in December 1981.
    Often times it results in a matter of jumping out of the proverbial frying pan, into a raging inferno. Its not the Soldiers’ job to clean up the mess made by incompetent ,selfish and thieving politicians, only to hand over control later when their popularity expires , to another set of incompetent ,selfish and thieving politicians , as was the case of Flight Lieutenant Jerry Rawlins.
    No thank you. Its the people or this country who must raise their voices ,and stamp their feet instead of mumbling in corners,and behind walls, and supporting what ever evils are done, because its, “my party.”
    All of the workers unions in this country know what is going on, but appear to be aligned firmly to the political class, as they are staying back and are doing sweet FA to alleviate the plight of many of their members and former members ,who have either been laid off, or fleeced by the Government Affiliated CLICO, hoping some day to be rewarded with a seat in the Senate, or a mickey mouse award of Knight of Belleplaine .

22. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

@ Simple Simon…..Now that we know the type of man David Thompson was…..Unless you weigh about four hundred pounds you are definitely punching above your weight. That question has such pertinence one is tempted to use three or four P’s. When spelling the name Thompson especially in relation to David the use of multiple T”s is allowed.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

You obviously have not thought this through to its conclusion or you would not have made this remark.

You obviously made reference to this armed revolution in an attempt to be provocative OR, as is the wont of particular factions here, to gauge what is the extent of social discontent here, and whether some would go to arms.

Let me provide you with the ole man’s take on the anatomy of an armed coup and why it SHOULD NEVER BE AN OPTION IN BARBADOS.

For a coup to actually be effected it would (1) either HAVE to be externally facilitated I.e. By hired mercenaries a la Sidney Burnett Alleyne (2) be facilitated by the boots on the feet of our “trigger happy recruits” (3) be aided and abetted by our Royal Barbados Police Force for as long as the military rise up, the constabulary would have to “stand” down or go into abeyance and not effect their roles/functions to keep the peace (4) be orchestrated by a heavily armed, militaristic civilian population (notwithstanding the requisite training, though one civilian with a SAW can subjugate several hundred ambitious citizen protesters)

There would have to be a cohesive combination of the above for such to work and in the context of a docile, Low key population, epigenitically conditioned to accept anything that plays out the would not be any fight back.

But here is the clincher Exclaimer

We will have to make some suppositions here.

Suppose all of the above congealed to make the perfect storm, in a population where you can’t get 100 people to march to show dissent, remember, Epigenetics,

Just suppose that the right combination of Defense Force, Police, wanna be Rambo civilian actors and external facilitators did assemble, then what?

Suppose it did achieve a bloodless coup, then what?

It would be an empty victory Exclaimer for the newly formed government by force would inherit a desert!

They would be back at square one.

Inheritors of a cvntry in which sugar cane and tourists are our main foreign exchange earning sectors, with shaky support from expatriate investments.

Overnight, Barbados which the CIA World Factbook 2014 refers to as the wealthiest and most developed economy in the Eastern Caribbean, would became a desolate capital and that “we are too small to fail” chant that the inept BLP and DLP have often repeated, would go up in a cloud of smoke like Aladdin’s genie

Continued reading of that tome brings you to comments like “Political stability has been maintained since that time, “the suspension of US military sales since the 2005 incident and their take on our 610 Defense Force compliment and annual budget.

The non-redacted Wikileaks versions make for more interesting reading.

“Social dissent” and “citizens with balls bringing pressure to bear on incompetent government” AND coups, bloody or bloodless, on a piece of 144 sq. mile rock in mono industry economies, bodes national genocide for Barbados, Exclaimer

The inheritors of such, hopefully fanciful, and previously dissuaded madness, would inherit what would amount to a “nuclear wasteland rock in the eastern Caribbean” akin to Chernobyl

The thing about megalomaniacs and the power hungry is that they see midpoints and miss sight of the endgame.

The omniscience of GOD is beyond this ole man but the writing on the wall

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The Omniscience of God is beyond the ole man but “the writing on the wall” suggest that (1) barring death by natural causes of one of these elected officials thereby bringing into play a general election, (2) a successful no confidence motion, (3) the resignation of the representative(s) e.g. Hamila because the private sector bands together and pays the vacillating Hammy the right price, we are going to suffer until 2018

I going gots to get rid of this IPad causing de grans give de ole man something that he can’t use too good

25. As I understand it, Mara is now untouchable. The will has been probated and the $37 million has been hidden from view. No civil suits shall uncover a red cent. So Peter Bullum, Mara has no reason to resign; furthermore this fiasco shows how truly dumb the people of St. John are!!! Her move to the House of assembly was to further protect “friend”, “good” name and her husbands “hard” earned” money!! I can still see her and the entire DLP bench getting on vex when Owen say what had to say about David on the Floor of the Assembly!!!

26. Gale Prescod and her colleagues put out a announcement that they had nothing to do with the Clico mess. Well, the revelation that this company Highrise Investment Ltd has Gale Prescod as the only officer while the land it had title to is listed as a asset of LP changes that. If she had nothing to do with this she should have been forthright on the Highrise Investment matter especially given the JM had communicated with her. She should be able to tell us all how the land which looks like it was taken in the Rayside transaction ended up being listed as a asset of LP. Did the PM not forgive Rayside almost a million dollars in VAT and Income tax? That land belongs to the citizens of Barbados. It could have been sold to pay tax money owed.

First Caribbean has the trust account disbursement documents for Thompsons account. That is where we will see how the illegal funds were disbursed.

27. @SITH

Good catch because Gail Prescod would have had to do the title search and land transfer therefore must have known the ownership was being transfered to Parris because she was the Director of his company. In other words she was fronting.

28. I appear to have committed a fire storm by merely suggesting that our army could be a possible solution to aborting any forth coming social unrest in Barbados.

The strength of the BU forum is that we can debate ideas without been insulted. How can we build a nation of creative people if we have a battalion of grammar inspectors (Simple Simon) who obsess over whether an individual’s use of grammar is employed correctly?

We need to break out of this colonised strait-jacket, broaden our minds, and concentrate on how we can improve the lives of the 90%. How do we achieve this? Well we have to throw up ideas no matter how ridiculous they may appear to be and discuss them?

What I find disturbing is that most of you believe that it is up to the masses to “…..raise their voices, and stamp their feet…..” or to wait for appropriate leadership (Bush Tea). This is negligence of the highest order. We know that the masses with their colonised history are essentially a cowed group and will always lack the will, strength and confidence to protest.

Meanwhile the masses become more marginalised. Over a period they will eventually say “enough is enough”. What of the political class and the elites? Well they grow from strength to strength. Do you not find it disturbing that we have a growing number of foreigners who are staking claim to our land?

Pieceuhderockyeahright your scenario is too bleak. I believe that the masses may prefer to have a temporary military leadership installed to restore order and to root out corruption rather than persevere with a system which appears to be against them.

To those of you who doubt me I have written this post without the aid of any mind-enhancing drugs!

29. @ Exclaimer
    How can we build a nation of creative people if we have a battalion of grammar inspectors (Simple Simon) who obsess over whether an individual’s use of grammar is employed correctly?
    +++++++++++++++++++
    ..just tell Simple Simon to piss off and continue smartly….

I appear to have committed a fire storm by merely suggesting that our army could be a possible solution to aborting any forth coming social unrest in Barbados
    Our army is a joke -just like the politicians that created it and that micro-manages it. Yours is therefore a shiite suggestion…..continue smartly…

What I find disturbing is that most of you believe that it is up to the masses to “…..raise their voices, and stamp their feet…..” or to wait for appropriate leadership (Bush Tea).
    This may shock you… but no one cares what you find disturbing. The FACT is that any group of people that does not take positive, proactive steps to identify, mold, develop and fine tune high level leadership is doomed….
    …just like any individual who does not take care to mold, develop and fine tune their mind and brain can expect to see shiite in the rest of their body…

Nobody owes us anything in life skippa…..

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

Let me dissuade you, and the many others of your ilk, who have, and still now contemplate, of the idiocy your suggestion is replete of.

Which democratically elected government would, in the course of its appointed tenure, permit a self appointed army, to wrest the reins of government from it in the vein of Macduff who “was from his mother’s womb, Untimely ripped.”???

Unless that usurper had the sanction of the U.S. Government it would suffer another Grenada invasion a la Bishop styling.

it has been contemplated but for the simple reason of what it would do to our economy, those who posited it have abandoned it

LET ME MAKE THIS SIMPLE FOR YOU.

WHEN THE DUST SETTLES, BARBADOS DOES NOT HAVE ANY OTHER NATURAL RESOURCES THAT WOULD PERMIT IT TO WEATHER THE ATTRITION STORM THAT WOULD DECIMATE OUR TOURISM AND FINANCIAL SERVICES INDUSTRIES

HOPEFULLY YOU CAN COMPREHEND THE GP STYLING CAPITAL LETTERS SINCE YOU SEEM BLIND TO COMMON LETTERS!!!

31. I do not think it is fair to try to implicate our Defence Force (its not an Army) into this sorry state of affairs. The BDF may be well trained and equipped, militarily, however it has its limitations, in running a country, even if many of its officers have been highly trained at Sandhurst, West Point, the Royal Military College of Canada,and other top foreign Military Academies and training establishments.
    The old Barbados Regiment was more equipped to intervene,as it was a part- time formation, commanded by many officers who doubled as permanent secretaries, top civil servants and captains of industry in the private sector. And it could be argued that they did indeed ran the country,in their civilians role.

32. Exclaimer:

Don’t mind Bushies and Piece. Both of them know that they would be out of favor with the Army and could not sit in certain places. The difficulty with your suggestion is that it has been tried time and again in Africa, Asia and Africa. Then the Army becomes worse than those who were replaced. So instead of the DLP and the BLP down St. James having lunch and extending their hands, it would Army Officers. By the way the British ex and former officers have already taken up their position for that scenario. You think “Buggy” trolls this BU for nothing!!!

33. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ David March at 9:43….Good catch because Gail Prescod would have had to do the title search and land transfer therefore must have known the ownership was being transfered to Parris because she was the Director of his company. In other words she was fronting.===========

Methinks you should remember my snarky remark when I suggested that the three lawyers on the DT and associates letterhead will ‘front’ your ‘lawyers’ page soon.

A poster on the blog was at pains to remark that the attorneys were not involved, did not know anything and so on. I smiled.

The attorneys after years of studies and professional learning/practice with an ambitious, driven attitude had all taken ‘ STUPID’ pills in the same month and were unaware of the actions IN THEIR COMPANY ACCOUNTS of their erstwhile lead partner.

And then as soon as the effects of the stupid pill abated, they dissolved their company, started a new one and went right back to representing the old client.

I suspect they then took another pill and disposed of all the DT Associates files, accounting data and stuff related to the CLICO a/c.

They are all now lucid and the use of any stupid or headache medication will only be used very sparingly going forward.

Soon, David. Obvious lawyer page candidates!

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lemuel

I going have to ask the Blogmaster to ban you like them asking to get “legion” ban.

Look how you gone and expose me identity with you careless statement “Don’t mind Bushies and Piece. Both of them know that they would be out of favor with the Army and could NO SIT IN CERTAIN PLACES. ”

Now every body know bout my special seat on those benches in the front row of the church among those “Washed in the Blood of the Lamb” at ***

A low blow Lemuel, a low blow

BUT I ain’t forget that it was you who did mess up my chances wid Island Girl and Smooth Sexy Sunshine, I ENT forget you

35. Piece:

In another place, I did agree that you are right in some regard!!

36. @ pieceuhderockyeahright March 15, 2015 at 11:39 AM,

All countries reach a point in their existence when they have to make cold and hard decisions.

I have no desire to see our army taking temporary control over the country. I am simply stating that given the choice of having to select from the two major political parties or the army to temporarily run our affairs – I would opt for the army.

My concern is that we risk disenfranchising the masses. You are aware of the consequences of a country having at its head a corrupt leadership. Corruption trickles down and becomes an embedded feature of everyday life.

The cohesion of Barbados has been shattered – if it ever existed. Yet, you suggest that we should have more of the same. I like you would prefer to see better government on the part of our political class. However I have no faith in our political leaders.

Let us hope that when the dust settles Barbados becomes a truly democratic country with at her core her citizens.

37. @ Lemuel March 15, 2015 at 11:57 AM,

You are correct this experiment often ends in dismal failure.

Thanks to good old Uncle Sam we will never know if the Grenada experiment could have worked.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

Nowhere in my posts on the matter of ineptitude of either the ruling DLP or the previous mottley crew of BLP miscreants, have I said, nor do I ever say, that the status quo does not need to be changed, ergo the new and improved gravatar

You seem to be suggesting, as if by some magical serum, that shifting the control from these two groups of corrupt, inept players, to a group of soldiers who can’t even mount a proper search and rescue mission for someone purported to be elsewhere laying pipe, will immediately be the solution to empower the masses!!!

They are soldiers trained to “soldier”, not manage the affairs of state.

I am led to believe by one who is in the know that Psychological Profiles have been composed by the Economic Attaché at the U.S. embassy for all of their “persons of interest”

Assuredly all these play actors have been profiled and dossiers, complimented by Internet usage, electronic files, phone calls, subject surveillance and 3rd party interviews.

Fumble’s profile summary might read:

Insecure in his prime ministership and his ability to project an image of competence ergo his habit of avoiding the BAJAN public and congregating with tourists and Bajans living in New York
    Disingenuous and prone to childish remarks when he feels threatened by public sentiment which questions his ability to lead
    Slothful in thought and action evidenced in his management of issues that will bring his administration down and which WILL kill the DLP for 25 years
    Polaxed and impotent with no options to manage the current dimwits particularly the Eager 11
    Prone to be central in some other national scandal which will affect him, his political colleagues
    Like other closeted operators he will be loyal to close friends and lepers and use all available mechanisms to protect the territory of his office

What is your profile like Exclaimer ? Prone to encourage coups and the employ of incompetents as a means to change?

39. @Caswell

These negrocrats on the talk show today was very condescending to you? Where is the humility in their interactions with the public? When you push an alternative view it is a lonely path to trod.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

David Ellis and his Mottley crew were not open to alternative views. They want everyone to jump on their bandwagon that is hurtling to certain election defeat with Mia at the controlling the reins. We don’t have midterm elections so these silly polls do not mean a thing in the Barbadian context. Their problem is that they are trying to make a silk purse out of Mia but they are using the wrong raw material.

41. Joseph’s views were somewhat refreshing to listen to above the rehashed stuff from Wickham and Hoyte. Like Tennyson stated, if you intend to serve in public life then dare to be different.

Also the tenor of the discussion was too jocular. BU yearn for the BBC Hardtalk type discourse.

On Sunday, 15 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

42. @ Caswell Franklyn

Why don’t you tell the people, what Mia do to you and get it over, and maybe, you will see a change in your outlook on life, man stop the hate, she did not cause your downfall from the BLP, you did , please get on with what left of your life

43. Just a Simple Soldier

When politicians leave this earth, their bodies lie in state,
    While thousands note their passing and proclaim that they were great.
    Papers tell of their life stories from the time that they were young,
    But the passing of a soldier goes unnoticed and unsung.

Is the greatest contribution to the welfare of our land,
    Some jerk who breaks his promises and cons his fellow man?
    Or the ordinary fellow, who in times of war and strife,
    Goes off to serve his country and offer up his life?
    The politician’s stipend and the style in which he lives,
    Are sometimes disproportionate to the service that he gives,
    While the ordinary soldier, who offered up his all,
    Is paid off with a medal and perhaps a pension small.

It’s so easy to forget them, for it was so long ago
    That the husbands, sons, and fathers went to battle, but we know
    It was not the politicians, with their compromise and ploys,
    Who won for us the freedom that our country now enjoys.
    Should you find yourself in danger with your enemies at hand,
    Would you really want some cop-out politician with his waffling stand?
    Or would you want a soldier who has sworn to defend,
    His home, his kin, and country, and would fight until the end?

He was just a common soldier and his ranks are growing thin,
    But his presence should remind us, we may need his like again.
    For when countries are in conflict, then we find the soldiers part,
    Is to clean up all the troubles that the politicians start.
    If we cannot do him honor while he’s here to receive the praise,
    Then at least let’s give him homage at the ending of his days.
    Perhaps a simple headline in the paper that might say:
    “Our Country is in Mourning, for a Soldier Died Today”

44. “We don’t have midterm elections so these silly polls do not mean a thing in the Barbadian context.”

There are no midterm elections in the UK but polls are an ongoing exercise:
    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/series/guardian-icm-polls

In the US where there are midterm elections but presidential elections every four years, there are tracking polls of the President’s job approval–DAILY!!

45. ”Enuff March 15, 2015 at 5:43 PM # “We don’t have midterm elections so these silly polls do not mean a thing in the Barbadian context.”

Actually it demonstrates just how much bajans want a change, not even MIDWAY through the term.

If you do not think that will have serious repercussions in one way or another, well….

46. @ Crusoe

Not me!! Um is Caswell who dismissing the poll.

47. Can someone confirm or deny that Voice of Barbados being owned and operated by the One Caribbean Network is part of the Clico group of companies.If this is so I can see why Maxine McClean, Steve Blackett,KH Tony ‘Bowels’Marshall,and Harry Husbands made the seamless transition from VOB microphones to the DLP administration.Money talks in various ways.

48. St George's Dragon Avatar

“Can someone confirm or deny that Voice of Barbados being owned and operated by the One Caribbean Network is part of the Clico group of companies.”
    No it’s not.

49. @ Colonel Buggy March 15, 2015 at 4:18 PM,

Your poem is very poignant and laced with sincerity. The troops who participated in World War One were often referred to as lions led by donkeys. The donkey political class is alive and braying in good ole Barbados.

You may not be aware that the Brazilians were out today in their thousands protesting against their President. I was impressed with the turnout.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-31899507