Time to Come Clean Mara Thompson
Submitted by Skiinny Tee
(re-edited)

Mara Thompson MP should defend her husband’s legacy by championing transparency legislation
The leaked Deloittes CLICO Judicial report in 2007 revealed troubling information about a 3 million dollar payment to Thompson & Associates, a law firm which the late Prime Minister lead partner. The revelation a three million dollar payment was made to former Chairman of CLICO Holdings Leroy Parris as a gratuity payment should have raised more debate in Barbados. Further, Thompson acted as lawyer for Parris, CLICO Holdings and there is a godfather role which may or may not be relevant. It says something about Barbadians given our silence on the matter. The three million dollar payment requires an explanation from someone with the knowledge to address it. All are mindful subsequent judicial reports have been sealed by the court.
It is no secret late Prime Minister Thompson’s wife Mara operated as office manager at Thompson & Associates. In the role she was privy to transactions between the law firm and clients. Obviously Mara the wife and David the husband would have shared information when heads rested on the pillow. Mara Thompson succeeded her husband as representative for St. John and is currently deputy speaker of the House of Assembly. It has been interesting since her elevation to serve in parliament to observe how local media has given her a ‘pass’. There has been the occasional quote but there is no ‘body’ of contributions that has shaped her political persona so far.
We believe the time has come for civil society in Barbados and the region to direct some hard question to Mara Thompson M.P the widow of the late Prime Minister David Thompson. Bear in mind there is a CLICO liability in the Eastern Caribbean. What is her position regarding the invoicing of three million dollars by Thompson & Associates to CLICO which was subsequently paid to Leroy Parris as a gratuity payment? Enough time has passed since the death of Thompson for the government to deliver on its promise of transparency in government – unless addressed the legacy of David Thompson who committed to a transparency platform message will be tarnished. It is grossly disrespectful for Mara Thompson to sit in our highest legislative chamber AND who is the beneficiary of David Thompson’s estate – rumoured to be several million – AND suffer no obligation to unpick her teet on this matter. There is a legal constraint BUT there is a moral obligation as long as she remains a member of parliament; a chamber where she is required to serve the interest of Barbadians.
Mara Thompson you have always impressed with your dignified and respectful demeanour in public, the CLICO mess threatens to negatively affect your legacy as well. To be forewarned is to be forearmed.

Barbados do not have enough water for her or any of them to come clean , Being charged and a some time in jail until they all speak up might help,
LikeLike
This is why I will continue to heap shovels of scorn and hefty buckets of shame on the forth estate who for as long as I can remember has been beholden to the political class in Barbados. She has negotiated her way through a gauntlet of media members on countless occasions, and not a single question has been asked. Watch how these same vultures will seek out and hound this former police officer about missing money. The Barbadian media has been bought by the political class with advertising dollars. If parliament is poor Rakey, find me the term best descriptive of our media.
LikeLike
We need disclosure on Thompson’s will. The plan to build a legacy on sandy ground has been exposed.
LikeLike
I never jumped unto David Thompson’s band wagon. I never trusted the man, I always thought he was more froth than beer. He never impressed me. I hated the nasty style of politics he practiced which became the breeding ground on which the morons he foisted on Barbados were raised. No wonder these dems are the way they are as they had an example of how to play nasty by the king of immorality.
So to finally find out that he was the biggest fraud in ever elected to the Parliament of Barbados is not surprising.
One can only wonder why on earth would Mara get into elected politics knowing what her husband was doing.
Or is she going to claim that she did not know what he was doing?
Did she get into politics knowing that eventually she would have to have cover and protection from the DLP when the truth about her beloved husband’s nasty dealings were revealed?
Is the molasses man of integrity fame now going to advise her to get a lawyer?
LikeLike
Elementary maths today juniors….
If a Person gets $200,000 yearly….and he works for 3 yrs…How much could a Person save if he banks all his money? …Yes Johnny
Lil Johnny……..I hear $33 million sir.
Boy how U manage to come up wid dat?
LikeLike
Somebody knew what was going on. Why not ask them about the level of Mara’s involvement. Who actually wrote the cheque? Who signed it and can the Bank it was processed through provide a cancelled copy.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/46285/thompson-amp-amp-associates-backs-transaction
LikeLike
While the former PM was obviously involved in the day to day affairs of CLICO we know that many others by looking the other way, are complicit in this master con. Support from both sides of the aisle is Mrs Thompson’s for the taking.
LikeLike
Remember the Bank would not take Leroy Parris Millions, not sure where he finally deposited it (LOL) if it wasn’t such a travesty of justice for those who put their money into CLICO.
LikeLike
We have a number of Barbadians of the elite class who sat on Clico Boards in Barbados who are not being asked the hard questions.
LikeLike
Of the tarantula and other venemous species it is often said “the female is the more dangerous of the species”
If Mara were just the wife in the bed de ole man would say dat it is possible that she did not know anything about the convolutions of David Thompson.
As office manager of Thompson and Associates both she and Garth would have known about the money
We are giving free passes to Mara because she is a “quiet woman” who poor soul, doesn’t use no curse words when she is campaigning like Barney and Sinckliar etc.
These are the same free passes that we give to “the elite class” that David[BU] talks of and who Bajans grow balls-less when they enter into the fray
Was not Dr. Basil Springer on of the Directors of this Clico debacle??
And isnt he one of those whom, every Sunday this Change Management cuntsultant does be commenting in the newspaper bout whu and whu peeple in Bulbados need to do to mek things happen in the economy?
De same man dat Thompson give $2 million to run some entrepreneurship scam??
But doan worry bout it causing before this charlatan introduces the latest scam to trick more Bajans who memory short like a sparrow bird doggie (note that I did not use this opportunity to mention no body shortcomings) de Honorable Doctor Springer does bless his articles contents with some verse that he randomly picks from the Bible as the chapeau under which he is submitting the article for Bajans to consume.
You see why I got problems wid de Holier than Thou” Crews bout heah?
Dis is why Pacha got every right to mek sport at the Bible causing posturers like did does do them crokedness and den get Washed in the Blood….
LikeLike
Don’t overly palpitate PODRYR…..whence cometh the axe, nuff heads gine roll or flee. Head-hanco first,…the resta underlings gine hope elections come before them turns.
LikeLike
Prodigal
You said DT was more froth than beer, it appears you are also speaking about MIA
LikeLike
No, Chaucer!
LikeLike
onions,
Did it not come out that Leroy Parris was taking for himself $80,000 monthly. He said in the press conference that he did not sign cheques.
What a thing eh, what a cop out. When he told Thornhill to get a cheque………..Thornhill could not defy him.
Neval Greenidge was commenting in Barbados Today saying that he is ready to talk. They were all crabs in the same barrel. We are in for interesting times!
LikeLike
You mean Track Suit Top?….He and Leboy did once best of friends….one get chosen and D odder frozen. No wonder !
LikeLike
@David: Time to refresh our minds on who comprised this group of eminent citizens entrusted with the responsibility of looking after the interest of policy holders by publishing the names. One may be on his way to Ottawa soon.
LikeLike
David February 4, 2015 at 1:31 PM #
We have a number of Barbadians of the elite class who sat on Clico Boards in Barbados who are not being asked the hard questions.
Anyone know what the CLICO director fees were. You think any of those who were CLICO directors were going to rock the boat and lose their pick?
LikeLike
Until we have real investigative journalists such matters will continue to plague our society.
LikeLike
@Mahogany Coconut Group. ..Boom!
LikeLike
Good point from FearPlay
Perhaps it is time to post a blog like “Lawyers in the news” called
“The CLICO Players – Who knew what and when”
It would be interesting to track public information related to these Board members and senior officers; who resigned, and when; Who got big government contracts; ….who publicly assured policy holders that all was well…
… who explained physical deficits
….who got national honors
As Bob said…..
Don’t let them fool ya,
Or even try to school ya! Oh, no!
We’ve got a mind of our own,
So go to hell if what you’re thinking is not right!
Love would never leave us alone,
A-yin the darkness there must come out to light
LikeLike
Bush Tea
You make Barbados sound like a real banana republic.Rumour has it too that that private jet aircraft was used to move more than certain persons out of Barbados.
It is doubtful if certain dollar movements were approved by the authorities.If money get move to Trinidad to pay Duprey $90 million dollars a year in SALARY (that figure came to light in the CoE in Trinidad)it must be brought back to Barbados to pay policy holders and pensioners.
LikeLike
I assume Trinidad has currency regulations which control movement of money out of the country. If It does, how did Duprey manage to move enough money to the USA to pay $7 million for that house? Is anyone looking into that in T&T?
LikeLike
In the news: LP’s assets have been frozen by the High Court. Will be interesting to see if this is appealed to the Court of Appeal. All eyes will be on the new CJ and his court if that should occur. Interesting times ahead.
Let Justice prevail!
LikeLike
Thor re. your 7:54 am post.
Yes, the game is afoot!
Yes, all eyes should be on the CJ and his court as the matter expands!
In addition, the spotlight should be expanded to examine and also freeze assets in the DT estate, if possible, as DT appeared to have been as heavily involved in the circumstances which led to the freezing of LP’s millions as was LP himself.
It will be very interesting to see how the PM treats with Mara Thompson and her position as deputy speaker. Will he change his normal modus operandi of doing nothing until the bitter end or will he move to call an election before the sheet hits the fan fully?
What will his cabinet members and backbencher do? Will they all stick with Mara and perhaps sink with her or will we see clear signs of discomfort in the coming days?
Will the Opposition come together to seriously engage the public as a united force that circumstances seem to have now conspired to put them in a position where they cannot appear to be condoning clear malfeances or be waiting for 2018 to try to put matters right?
Will Owen shut his mouth or continue to oppose Mia?
Interesting times ahead!
LikeLike
Mara needs to spell her guts now and avoid the Court.
On Friday, 6 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
The PM needs to check with his counterpart in Trinidad and see how a real up-front PM deals with such matters.
LikeLike
St George’s Dragon February 5, 2015 at 8:22 PM #
I assume Trinidad has currency regulations which control movement of money out of the country. If It does, how did Duprey manage to move enough money to the USA to pay $7 million for that house? Is anyone looking into that in T&T?
If the limit is $10,000 per person per trip, 10×10,000 = $100,000 per trip ent?
LikeLike
Does anyone know from whom the questionable US$100,000 (which $5000 is missing) was seized?
I have heard that one day the same LP went to a bank to withdraw a huge amount. I was told that he was like a fish out of water pacing the bank floor as obviously such a huge amount would take time to put together. He kept asking, what is taking so long…………I was told that the staff was so mad….saying look how he could walk about so freely to withdraw so much money and the policyholders suffering. I was told that they said…..we always have robberies around here and where were they at the time to rob him.
He will get his just desserts!
LikeLike
@ Prodigal Son February 6, 2015 at 5:31 PM
Look Prodigal, you and I know very well that all this talk about freezing Parris’s assets is just one big scam. Just a move to buy time so that the whole CLICO fiasco can blow over and recedes into the blank memory bank of the populace. Why has the charge of illegal selling of policies by the SoI been heard to date?
The evidence available so far indicates that the man has committed a very serious criminal offence. He received money by fraud and deception.
Why hasn’t the people charged with the enforcement of the law arrested the man?
The man has protectors in the highest place of government; and in more than just the Executive arm.
Don’t you know that if that second forensic audit report is made available to the public how many politicians would fulfill Bob Marley’s observation about if night should turn to day a whole lot of political people would run away?
Just look at the type of big-ups in the society Leroy and Duprey were able to keep in their pockets. Dr. Basil Springer, lying Tony Marshall, Dr. Lorde, Physical Deficit Ince and QC’s like Woodbine Davis and Leslie Haynes. The so-called crème de la crème of the incestuous and corrupt Bajan society and world of business.
Parris will not fall. Too many big-up people (including some in the same law enforcement agencies) are at risk of following him should that garrulously obnoxious pimp spill his intellectually empty guts.
The move by the FSC to keep the second forensic report from the eyes of Justice is just another strategy to protect the recipients of large sums of ill-gotten gains who every day parade as the paragons of virtue with some occupying seats in the highest court of the land.
LikeLike
Symmonds: Your turn to talk, Mara
LikeLike
When I read the Week end Nation this morning I started singing the hallelujah chorus seeing Leroy Parris assists has been frozen by the courts, it’s a beginning, just hope he gets his just rewards, & the assets of his Lawyer & friend D. T.
LikeLike
Miller, re your 6:39 pm post;
I think that, unfortunately, you are right!
They cannot afford to relax their protection to Parris now. Too much is at stake.
LikeLike
Sad
LikeLike
Who is the CEO of the FSC and his relation to David Thompson
LikeLike
The $3.3M seizure is just a distraction as part of an agreement to save Leroy Parris.. Wunna think for over 20 years and Leroy and Duprey only laundered $3.3M. Bajans too damn gullible and seem to swallow what is said too easily.
LikeLike
Leroy Parris also paid some police officers for protection. This CLICO scandal is bigger than wunna think with bribery and money laundering the norm. Leroy Parris wrote the book on Bribery and Money Laundering thanks to his lawyers such as Michael Yearwood, Freundel Stuart, Maurice King and Leslie Haynes etc
LikeLike
And now the Politicians of the present administration do not want the report to be opened, what’s going on in Barbados? Can’t Bajans rise up & say enough is enough & get these scumbags out with Mara Thompson. Where are our Opposition Members on this debacle?
LikeLike
X I have asked that question before.
http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?NewsID=6071&more=local
LikeLike
People, the CURSE started, and is working on the DLP Ministers and family, plus all the yard stocks around them ,just keep the faith people ,we suffered now because the DEAD KING DAVID evil deeds but so shall his and the DLP Ministers Off springs suffer ,its never too late for justice
LikeLike
The word around town yesterday was wickedness is back lashing on all involved. BU’s advice to Mara, TAKE STOCK for your children sake.
LikeLike
@X “Wunna think for over 20 years and Leroy and Duprey only laundered $3.3M.”
That’s a whole big question you just asked my friend. I too was wondering what all the shouting and hollering was all about. $3.3 million – now let me see “How many politicians would that buy?” At the current quality of politician I estimate approximately 200. What say you?
$3.3 million does not even begin to scratch the surface of what has been misappropriated over the years and yet we pretend that something important has taken place after more than five years have elapsed.
LikeLike
@ David/ Bu
Taking stock for the girls SAKE The sake was taken care of by the dead father which is why the sufering, SAKE is alcoholic
With no nutrition value so Mara need to ask the Rev / Senator the PRAYER for a daily but then again you pray to object too
and that may be stolen money the beloved husband and father left so the word is PRAY to keep the blood money
LikeLike
Is anyone representing the interest of the pensioners in this fiasco?
There seems to be a DELAY methodology to solving legal “issues” with the hope that said “DELAY” will allow time for some to die of old age.
Any bets on how long it will take for pensioners to at least get some if not all their Clico money? I am betting 15 to 20 years.
LikeLike
Where are the members of the opposition ? Running and hiding ? People in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones ? Today fuh me ,tomorrow fuh you ? When yuh neighbour house on fire, wet yours ! Where is the long promised integrity, transparency and freedom of information legislation, promised by BOTH PARTIES ? What ever happened to Leigh Trotman and the Public Accounts Committee ? It will be twenty-five to thirty years before this matter is “resolved” and most of those involved will have gone on to join David Thompson ! Still think CLICO policyholders stand a chance ?
LikeLike
@ FearPlay It may be $350 million, we may never know. It was a well orcastrated fraud ring. It is nothing more than a shame that a prime minister was involved. I am sure Davidhood and all his merry men and others were part of or knew of this and this implicates all of them. A clean sweep in needed and seizing of assets and jail time for all of them and the transparency legislation.
LikeLike
@watchman. I believe Psalms 37 caught up with David.
LikeLike
Somehow What happened to Clyde Mascoll a few years ago came to my mind. What happened back then was nothing but a blessing in disguise. God works in mysterious ways to protect us.
LikeLike
@ Heather
Glory be to God
LikeLike
Will judicial manager take the issue to the CCJ? The forensic audit under lock and key? Never heard of such!
LikeLike
quote ”just asking February 7, 2015 at 11:16 AM # And now the Politicians of the present administration do not want the report to be opened, what’s going on in Barbados?”
Now we need to be asking why Darwin Dottin was ‘relieved’ of his position.
Sinister.
LikeLike
Was Dottin going after certain people and had to be shut down??
LikeLike
As the PM hisself said, the truth does not go away, that is very true.
People like to rewrite history, we see it all the time (with politrixians from both sides), but truth always prevails.
LikeLike