Senator Peter Gilkes (l) with the late Prime Minister David Thompson

BU received the following communication where the author seeks to warn about the CLICO chess matched being played in the game which BU has labelled The CLICO Mess. We take this opportunity to advise BU will continue to guard the identity of our many sources.

Barbadians need to look at substance over form:  Is Mr Toppin not of adequate skill and competence to perform in the role of Judicial Manager? Kindly note that it was Deloitte Consulting that was appointed as Judicial Manager with Oliver Jordan and Patrick Toppin as representatives. Ironically, of the two representatives it is Mr Jordan who has been the person leading these efforts thus far.

The Court approved of Deloitte Consulting as Judicial Managers in Barbados, The courts in the majority of the OECS territories were CLICO International Life operated appointed Deloitte Consulting as well. Does this tell you that the courts in all these territories were also deficient/negligent in their duties in appointing Deloitte Consulting as Judicial Manager??? I do not believe this to be the case.

However please note that it is reported in today’s Weekend Nation newspaper that the person who raised the conflict of interest issue with Mr Patrick Toppin being Judicial Manager is none other than Senator Peter Gilkes who was appointed to the Senate by the late Prime Minister David Thompson. Coincidentally, it is the Thompson & Associates law firm of the same late PM David Thompson that has been revealed by the forensic audit conducted by Deloitte out of Canada (not Deloitte Barbados) to have engaged in money laundering of funds from CLICO International Life to Mr Leroy Parris.

o it appears that Senator Gilkes is just trying to create a distraction from the underlying and bigger issue – money laundering (which has been confirmed by CLICO executives which Deloitte out of Canada interviewed) to Leroy Parris of CLICO Life policyholders funds through Thompson & Associates as well as the large payments to Thompson & Associates and the late PM David Thompson himself from CLICO International Life

Its no wonder that these cheques were not held up high and shown on the big screen at that famous DLP Haggatt Hall meeting in the 2008 general election campaign…and only the $75,000.00 one to Mr Arthur. What is the true cost of the use of the CLICO corporate jet that the late Prime Minister David Thompson incurred and who bore these costs. His first trip outside Barbados when appointed as Prime Minister was to Trinidad – on CLICO’s corporate jet (he could have flown on LIAT in which the government and people of Barbados is a major shareholder so we as Barbadians could see some benefit for our investment in that airline)

Its a case of the pot calling the kettle black….Shame on Senator Gilkes

64 responses to “Toppin As Judicial Manager – The Smokescreen Which Cloaks The CLICO Mess”

1. Nnaki/Railian’s response to Ph.D’s invitation to follow Jesus Christ.

“Thanks for the heartfelt commendations and your knee-weakening and flattering “passes” but I am already taken. I am already committed to the LIGHT. And as your good book says: One cannot serve to masters!
    I fight against SIN with the backing of the LIGHT not Man.
    Thanks any way for the invitation. Follow the Star and we will meet in paradise some day.”

Nnaki/Ralian, Monkey/Man, (Lol!) “All THINGS were made by HIM* (Jesus Christ), and without Him was NOT anything made that was made. In HIM* was LIFE; and the LIFE* was the LIGHT* of men. And the LIGHT* (Of Jesus) shineth in DARKNESS*, and the DARKNESS comprehended it NOT.” (Jh. 1:3-5) Emphasis added.

Hear again Nnaki/Ralian, ” And this IS* the condemnation, that LIGHT* (Jesus Chist) IS* come into the world, and men loved DARKNESS* (Clico MESS) rather than LIGHT* (honesty and truth) because their DEEDS* were evil (Clico corruption!). For every one that doeth EVIl hateth the LIGHT, neither cometh to the LIGHT, lest his deeds should be reproved. But he that doeth TRUTH cometh to the LIGHT, that his deeds may be manifest, that they are wrought IN God.” (John 3:19- 21)

“Then spake Jesus AGAIN unto them, saying, ‘ I AM THE LIGHT of the world: he that followeth ME shall NOT walk in DARKNESS, but shall have the LIGHT of LIFE.” ( Jh. 8: 12)

Nnai/Ralian, You are engulfed IN terrible deception and DARKNESS!

“The light of the body is the eye, (Gateway to the soul, mind) if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light. But if thine eye be evil, (Not following Jesus) thy WHOLE body shall be FULL of DARKNESS. If therefore the light that IS in thee be DARKNESS, how GREAT is that DARKNESS.” ( Matt. 6: 23).

Yes, Nnaki/Ralian, “No man can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one, and love the other, or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye CANNOT serve God and mammon.” ( v. 24).

Rejecting the LORD JESUS CHRIST, is manifested in multiple ways, in man’s wicked, evil heart, Clico is just ONE such devious manifestation, others have their own evil ways, as if one is NOT enlightned by the Eternal LIGHT and LIFE of men, THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, then, no matter who you are, you ARE walking in DARKNESS.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe | February 27, 2012 at 8:56 AM |.

I am NOT interested in your “cocaine” religion. Go peddle the junkie white powder to the ever expanding people of different cultural backgrounds who are taking over the commercial and business landscape of Bim. These people are not interested your religion or else they would be taking over the black people churches by now. They are not interested in your mythical storybook character. But it would be interesting to hear what your hero friend Jesus would do (if he were here today) in regard to the “Sins of the CLICO Men”. These are the same personality types that Jesus uncharacteristically kicked out of the temple (His Father’s House) for gambling and short-changing poor people. It’s good to see that your god can get angry. Brother Jesus come back and deal with the CLICO crooks in the same way you dealt with those that defiled our Father’s house of refuge.

Zoe, if you reply to this take it elsewhere like “Lord, Hear Our Prayer” thread.

3. Newsflash!
    The biggest crook in Parliament on the front page taliking about locking up people!

4. @Prodigal Son | February 26, 2012 at 11:19 PM
    “I cant help but to remember the crocodile tears, big women and men crying for this man, people running to St John churchyard to get rocks taken form the man’s grave, the Nation Newspaper for two filled with tributes (the Nation was glad for the foolish money people spent) Edwin Yearwood on TV on his way to Trinidad singing this man’s praises, boys from the gangs in Black Rock, rasta men from St John woods, businesses, everybody telling everybody DT was a saint, a king, like God himself and a man of integrity, my bank called him.
    I wonder what they are all saying now! Would it be….wow, I was conned!!!”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Prodigal, I agree with you totally.
    Engrained into that Large 2008 Election DLP BillBoard, that screamed in a most compelling way to the Barbadian Electorate, “I WILL NOT LIE, STEAL OR CHEAT”, was a villainous and predatory intention ….. to CONSTRUCT A CULTURE OF DECEIT in this country now so pervasive, that the country is caught up in a vortex of SHOCK, DISAPPOINTMENT, HURT, DISGRACE and DISTRUST IN THE PILLARS OF OUR SYSTEMS OF GOVERNANCE.

The high level of deception is easily seen when one recognises, especially in ongoing current attempts to establish for a man, a totally undeserved LEGACY OF GREATNESS, we are confronted with JUDICIAL MANAGERIAL episodes of GREED, THIEVERY and ILLEGALITY.

The rascality is of such magnitude, that it has brought MISERY, SADNESS, UNHAPPINESS to a large segment of our population, particulary those who are policy holders and investors in CLICO.

My heart is heavy, but only for the policy holders, and the innocent children of these perpetrators. So much for the shady promotion of The ST. John Dynasty, and may the remnant “Queen” retire to the gentler environment of St.Lucia, in order to maintain her sanity and that of the children.

LET JUSTICE BE DONE, FREUNDEL. TIME TO AWAKE FROM YOUR RUINOUS SLUMBER!

5. Can someone please enlighten me? I visited recently for a short stay, and wondered silently as we drove along the highway, how the average working class Barbadian can afford such luxury, the massive houses , the latest European and Japanese cars, SUVs, the ridiculous prices in the supermarkets, and restaurants on the island.

I live in Europe, and when comparing the lifestyles of the two places, seems like I have missed out on a good thing. Obviously there are no opportunities for me in my line of work on the island, but what a success story??, or has anyone bothered to look around at the rest of the world, and see what is going on with nearly all the large economies? Financial crises all over , and getting worse.

Some questions I would like to ask.

1. What is the mortgage debt as a % of the GDP ?
    2. What % of those are overdue?
    3. How do folk keep up their payments, and then car loans, food, clothing etc?

4. What is the price of gas per litre, and how much can one buy on a
    civil servant’s daily wages? Or does one work 3-4 days just to fill the
    tank?
    5. What is the net worth of the of the average family of four, under 40s
    parents? (Working class)

It seems that even with all the challenges , a lot self inflicted, the bajan people are still able to keep their cool. The rot seems to be from the top down, but how long can order be maintained, if life becomes more and more difficult,and the leadership continues with the same disgusting scams, shameless , unrepentent , disrespectful, arrogant behaviour?

I realised though that the attitudes , and the character of the bajan people, has significantly changed in a relatively short time. Unlike national or personal debt, one cannot point to a graph or chart to show the how bad things are getting on a social or moral scale. One could use a more anecdotal type of evidence, but that would be quickly challenged by the detractors. Lets not wait until it degenarates into a free for all, involving the masses as well. That would be a catastrophe which we would not be able to contain ourselves.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Truthman Burton | February 27, 2012 at 12:12 PM |

Seems like there is truth after all in the saying: “God does not like ugly”.
    Remember all that praying and supplication by the money reverend from the prosperity gospel & restoration ministry vowing that the king will not die under his vigil. The Truth, Burton, was already being played out so hypocritical prayers were falling on deaf ears. Vengeance is mine, sayeth the Lord!
    Glad that you, Prodigal Son and old onion bags have agreed with the suggestion that in the interest of decency, integrity, privacy and need to protect the family from public ridicule and opprobrium the member for the constituency of St. John should tender her resignation and let the people of this once fair and widely admired country decide whom they want to govern them.

7. @Ph.D

The numbers you asked for no doubt are available but when assessing how Bajans survive you have to think outside the stats. There is striving underground economy e.g many teachers host after hours lessons, other civil servants maintain ‘kitchen gardens’, there are remittances from ‘over in away’, driving instructors, security, etc.

8. (1)Where is CARSON “CORNWELL” CADOGAN, also known as REUDON EVERSLEY?

(2)HARTLEY HENRY, would love to hear from you regarding the ‘political strategy” the DEMons should use to extricate themselves from this “ROYAL MESS”. Are you still an advisor to the PM? Has FREUNDEL contacted you, or ARE YOU GIVING YOUR “EXPERT ADVICE” to RUSH LIMBAUGH?

(3)SARGEANT and ac, what are your opinions on this money laundering issue, and the “INSTITUTIONAL CESSPOOL” also known as CLICO?

(4)It’s an enormous disgrace that THE ADVOCATE NEWSPAPER has not printed a single word on the CLICO DEBACLE!!!

(5)The only mention coming from DLP CBC TV, was to report GREENVERB’s lawyer’s assertion that “THE MAN AT THE HELLUM” was not hiding.

9. Truthman,

CCC is running. He can no longer come on this blog and called Owen Arthur corrupt.

I heard David Ellis, the DLP apologist saying today that someone emailed Brasstacks to say that the 3.3 MILlION DOLLARS which were laundered through Thompson Associates was after he became PM and therefore not at the head of the firm. I screamed so hard, how could people be so dumb.

DT was preparing to be PM for years, so much so he got his wife to do the paralegal course and then made her head of the company. Do you think that with all the shenanigan that was going on in there, DT could allowed anyone else in there to have any evidence on him??

Mara seemed to be afraid of DT (somebody who taught with her told me so) so he would technically still be in charge. After all, it would not be unfair to them to say that they shared a bed and like all married couples, they talk about their day before going to sleep.

Remember DT was a CEO PM, Peter Wickham said DT was the first CEO PM, so he had all the time he needed to still run the firm. You really think that Mara did not know everything that was going on??? Give me a break. Mara should resign but my guess is she will not, just as DT sick as he was, never resigned.

10. To: Carson C. Cadogan

RSVP.

11. random thoughts ac could do likewise.

12. Well truth be told DT was still very much a part of Thompson and Associates after he became PM. Signing cheques and controlling the disbursement of funds, one ugly mess this is. I am in a quandry as to what I should do, I have endowment plans with CLICO and BAICOL, trying my utmost not to end up in Black Rock.

13. I heard that clown Clyde Mascott on brass tacks today and in the paper blabbering about the statutory Fund was not really that important – Talk about diversionary tactics- Mascoll want to take that aspect of the debate off the thable because he Mascoll loitered in the Ministry Of Finance for two years drawing a fat salary under false pretences.
    While the CLICO statutory Fund was in deficit that clown was putting taxpayers money in a Hardwood Hole- money that we taxpayers can never get back.
    Put all aspects of CLICO on the table Mascott and stop tring to insult intelligent people -Mascoll will never learn !
    Many of the people in the BLP now saying – Why the hell Arthur bring he bout de place fuh!Nuisance!

14. The statutory deficit is important because it should have alerted the authorities (SOI) that there was a problem.

Mascoll’s point therefore that the size of the deficit was not big enough to cover the shortfall as far as asset realization is rubbish.

Here is his article:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/what-matters-most-failures-of-clico