Donna St.Hill Accused of Questionable Decisions in the Nigerian Student Affair
Press Release – Nigeria Delta State Project
Prepared jointly by Douglas Trotman, Attorney-at-Law for Nigerian Students, R.E. Guyson Mayers, Attorney-at-Law for Sharon Brathwaite, R.E Guyson Mayers represents Ms. Sharon Brathwaite and Douglas B. Trotman represents 66 Nigerian students in this matter
Mr. Trotman was instructed by his clients that they wished to have Ms. Sharon Brathwaite reinstated as their coordinator; they also wanted issues related to their accommodation, food, laptop computers and cell phones raised and settled preferably before the start of the program. The matter of the lack of decency and respect shown by Ms. Donna St. Hill towards them was also an issue raised by the students.
A letter was written and delivered to Ms. St Hill on the 7th January 2015 outlining the issues raised by the students; to date Ms. St. Hill has not responded to the letter nor has she accepted service of a subsequent letter written to her. Instead Ms. St. Hill used the media to put her story in the public domain. The assistance of a government senator was sought and that senator communicated with Ms. St. Hill to no avail.
During the effort to resolve the issues we have listened over the past two weeks with keen interest to a string of accusations that were levied against Ms. Sharon Brathwaite, whether she was named or not.
The defamation laws of Barbados, in doing no more than applying common sense, allow for the identification of a person whose character has been defamed, although that person has not been named. We believe that Ms. Brathwaite has suffered this fate.
Information released to the media indicated that Ms. Brathwaite was entrusted with US$2.5 million dollars and that she has misused one million Barbadian dollars of that assigned sum. The instructions and statements given to us by Ms. Brathwaite as well as our investigations into this matter suggest otherwise. Based on our findings we are satisfied that a significant amount of money that was allocated to the education project for the Nigerian students currently studying in Barbados and Trinidad, has not been applied to the benefit of the students. The evidence shows that Ms. Brathwaite is not responsible for that turn of events.
The paper trail, stretching from Nigeria, to the United Kingdom, to Trinidad, to Barbados, and which will lead elsewhere, clearly indicates that our client and a colleague in Trinidad who was engaged in a similar capacity to our client in that country, were made aware that US$ 2.5 million dollars was earmarked for the first stage of this project in Barbados, and US$ 3.5 for the first stage in Trinidad. It has been established that after the Nigerian Delta State Higher Education Ministry released this money to Ms. Donna St. Hill, the ground administrators in Trinidad and Barbados were then given a much smaller budget and instructed by Ms. St. Hill to cut a number of items from their budgets. These administrators proceeded to obey their orders from their principal.
The paper trail also establishes that Ms. Brathwaite was instructed by Ms. St. Hill to make payments from a business account which was established to facilitate this project, to Ms. St. Hill’s personal account. Those payments were sometimes made in cash and others were by wire transfer and Western Union.
We have also established that Ms. Brathwaite was required to use funds that had been allocated to the Barbados arm of the project, to support the Trinidad portion of the project. Separate monies had been apportioned for the management of the Trinidad project. Ms. Brathwaite also had to pay the new project manager in Trinidad her first month’s salary out of the Barbados budget. Ms. Brathwaite used money from the Barbados project to purchase washing machines, dryers and other items in Trinidad for the care of the students who are studying in Trinidad. Those payments were all done on the instructions of Ms. Donna St. Hill.
On studying Ms. Brathwaite’s accounts, we are satisfied that the monies she received ($758, 515.00 USD) and her legitimate expenditure or transfer of funds on the project and/or on the direct instructions of Ms. St. Hill has been accounted for. In fact it is the Delta State Program/ Donna St. Hill International which owes Ms. Brathwaite through her company for services rendered in Trinidad and Tobago.
We as attorneys for the students and Ms. Sharon Brathwaite present the following list of agreed facts:
-
The programme was to be certified by City & Guilds.
-
The programme was to be held at Divi Southwinds Hotel (Mr. Alvin Jemmott).
-
Mr. Guy Hewitt, now Ambassador Hewitt, was originally identified to be the local coordinator of the project. He withdrew from the project owing to Ms. St. Hill’s refusal to furnish him with the full allotment of the identified funds.
-
The Barbados Community College (BCC) was then contacted for accreditation and as an alternative to the original location.
-
Dr. Gladston Best facilitated the requests made by Ms. Sharon Brathwaite.
-
The programme courses were designed by staff of the BCC in conjunction with Ms. Brathwaite.
-
The Registrar of the BCC wrote Ms. Brathwaite in July 2014 informing her that the students had been accepted.
-
Dr. Best informed the Commissioner of Higher Education of Delta State by letter that the programme was due to commence on the 15th of August, 2014.
-
The Ebola outbreak directly affected the start of the programme.
-
The budget approved by Delta State was subsequently, constantly varied by Ms. St. Hill. The coordinators of both the Trinidad and Barbados programme have supplied that evidence.
-
Those variations of the budgets affected the benefits to which the students were entitled.
-
Ms. St. Hill brought a new accountant into the picture and the budgets were further amended.
-
Ms. St. Hill gave instructions to Ms. Brathwaite to enter an agreement with Infinity hotel for the accommodation of the students. Later, Ms. St. Hill entered new negotiations with the hotel and the agreement was varied significantly. She signed a contract with the hotel for reduced amenities and a reduced sum of $330,000.00. The hotel held the rooms for the students from June 2014 to November 2014, a period in excess of the down payment. The hotel informed Ms. St. Hill that a further payment was needed to continue holding the rooms. No further payment was made and the hotel unblocked the rooms in November, making the rooms available to other guests.
-
Ms. St. Hill decided to take all the students to Trinidad for the month of December, awaiting Barbados’ approval for them to come here. The immigration authorities there gave a deadline of December 31, 2014 for the students who were to be studying in Barbados to leave Trinidad by that date.
-
An accommodation arrangement was made with Casa Grande Hotel for the students to stay there for 4 to 5 weeks. Pursuant to that arrangement, Ms. Brathwaite paid a deposit of $40,000.00 USD. On December 30, 2014, Ms. St. Hill made an arrangement with Casa Grande Hotel for the accommodation of the students for nine months. The payment for this arrangement was paid by Ms. St. Hill to the hotel.
-
Ms. Brathwaite, as a result of instructions given by Ms. St. Hill, also covered expenses for the Barbados-bound students in Trinidad, including meals, transportation, social activities, stationary, lap tops, a printer, staff to take care of the students, and other related expenses.
-
Ms. St. Hill requested of Ms. Brathwaite that she divert certain sums from Ms. Brathwaite’s budget to Ms. St. Hill in Trinidad, which she did.
-
Ms. St. Hill requested a wire transfer of US$35,000.00, and another of BDS$10,000.00 from Ms. Sharon Brathwaite’s company account to be transferred to St. Hill’s personal bank account, which she did.
-
Ms. St. Hill requested of Ms. Brathwaite that certain bills be paid for all of the 150 Nigerian students who were all in Trinidad initially, out of the funds allocated to the Barbados budget, which was done. This included $175,000.00 USD for the December accommodation of the Trinidad-based students. In addition, Ms. Brathwaite paid a deposit of $50,000.00 USD for the accommodation of the Barbados-bound students while they were in Trinidad.
-
Ms. Brathwaite paid over $24,000.00 USD for two weeks education at the Trinidad Tourism Institute for the Barbados-bound students.
-
Ms. Brathwaite paid for the airline tickets to transfer the students from Trinidad to Barbados. This amounted to $43,000.00 plus BDS.
-
Ms. St. Hill received cash in US currency, as requested, drawn from the Barbados budget while she was in Trinidad and on occasions in Barbados.
-
Ms. St. Hill received as personal funds a sum in excess of Bds. $320,000.00 paid to her out of the Bds $1.5M which was under the control of Ms. Brathwaite.
-
Despite St. Hill’s instructions to Ms. Brathwaite, she then claimed that Ms. Brathwaite misappropriated US$500,000.00. The evidence does not support this.
-
This claim was made by Jonathan Mukumbo, a Gambian working in Barbados as Ms. St. Hill’s Personal Assistant, who told the students that he was representing Ms. St. Hill.
-
Mr. Mukumbo has now been designated the Project Manager. He is believed to be working in Barbados without a work permit.
-
Ms. St. Hill dismissed the caterers hired by Ms. Brathwaite in Barbados and brought a chef from Trinidad to Barbados to prepare meals. This development occurred because Ms. St. Hill cut the budget for meals from $14.00 US per meal, which was the rate paid in Trinidad, to $7.00 US per meal when the students arrived in Barbados. The caterers adjusted the portions in accordance with the money provided and complained that the price offered was insufficient. The Trinidad chef is believed to be working without a work permit.
-
In December 2014, a representative of the Ministry of Higher Education in Delta State, Nigeria, while in Trinidad, invited Ms. Brathwaite to Delta State for the purpose of entering a Memorandum of Understanding with her. This was as a result of a breakdown in communication between them and Ms. St. Hill over the allocation of funds and the absence of infrastructure that should have been in place.
Our instructions are that Ms. St. Hill pre-emptively made a report to the police concerning this matter. We are also informed that she did not follow up with a formal report. This gives the uncomfortable impression that this action may have been designed to unfairly direct undeserving attention to Ms. Brathwaite. Our client has prepared a statement for the police to assist their investigation.
Various press reports citing comments from the Deputy Governor of Delta State, Ms. Donna St. Hill and Dr. Deryck Murray (appointed as a mediator by the Prime Minister) give the impression that the students are settling in well and that the issues have been resolved. We all are working for that outcome however the situation has not yet been resolved.
We can state for a fact that Ms. Brathwaite has located rooms at two hotels which can accommodate all the students until such time as Infnity hotel can accommodate the students in May of 2015. The students wish to move from their current location and also to have the other issues initially raised addressed. The students were outraged when on Wednesday 21st January 2015 they were presented with a document and advised to sign it without having any recourse to consult with counsel on the legal effect the said document may have on their status in Barbados and in the program. Several students have not signed that document and this has raised another matter, unnecessarily so, which has to be resolved.
Some of the features of this matter may give credence to claims of fraud and/or money laundering. The local, regional and international authorities have a vested interest in ensuring that important international transactions are not mere fraudulent or money laundering schemes.
We welcome a thorough investigation into these events by the Nigerian Government through the office of its High Commission in Trinidad. We recognize that this program and the issues surrounding it are as a direct result of the Governor and the Deputy Governor of The Delta State acting in consort with Ms. Donna St. Hill/ Donna St. Hill International and not that of the Nigerian Government.

A couple points to take note:
BU is responsible for the topic only.
BU has not received a response to a few questions sent to coordinator Donna St. Hill.The invitation remains open. Failing to respond we will take it that she agrees with positions taken by BU.
LikeLike
BU has once again shown that rigidity and a disregard to wait for facts would leave BU with egg on its face.
LikeLike
@ ac
You are only being critical for criticism’s sake!
With regret, you have never sounded more shallow.
LikeLike
If BU or any of us were to wait until all the ‘facts’ on any issue become available, nothing will get done. Management and media management in particular means making decisions with less than perfect knowledge.
In any event, there are other mechanisms which can be used with relatively high standards of validity to arrive at valid, repeatable, conclusions.
LikeLike
David…
with legal proceedings a distinct possibility you know very well that silence is not assent.
But then ‘trial by BU’ is the order of the day – so who gives a monkey’s.
Shallowness may well be a virtue. It’s sure better than being over your head.
LikeLike
If it walks like a whore, looks like a whore, cheats like a whore, is it in fact a whore?
LikeLike
@Robert Ross
You continue to demonstrate your JA tendency. Has Donna St. Hill et at been giving interviews to the media?
LikeLike
We noticed that (it) was called a Jack Ass (JA) or having such general tendencies.
We beg to differ, he (it) is all ASS. No Jack!
All ass!
LikeLike
Students are embassedors to their country…! They should therefore be treated accordingly… Imagine Barbadian students being treated as such in Nigeria…! I hope I’m wrong in saying Barbadians have a fear of their ancestors …?!
LikeLike
Here is the simple fact. BU receives a Press Release which is written by two lawyers and contained therein are positions which support a good conclusion that Donna St. Hill has allegedly engaged in some questionable decisions affecting the The Delta Student Program. BU has extended the courtesy to Donna St. Hill to counter. We suspect she will not but it is the right thing to do. Then we have a JA positing that BU should speculate and anticipate this matter will end up in Court therefore…
Last week it was another JA not contesting a matter in Court and another JA suggesting we need to hear the other side. At least he is consistent in the argument. If BU were to operate within the status quo we would become as inefficiency and corrupt bound as the others.
LikeLiked by 1 person
You have our full support.
We too believe we have a good idea as to how this deal was set up at source because of a year spent as a contractor to conduct seminars to middle and high level executives in major industries of the country at the centre.
All we will say now is that nothing printed by you is inconsistent with the knowledge and experience we hold.
Enough said!
LikeLike
which politician caught up in the Nigerian mess?
THIS SHT IS BEING STAGE MANAGED SO THAT USUALLY MEANS THAT SOME BIG FISH THREATENS TO GET CAUGHT IN THE NET.
LikeLike
“You have our full support”
‘David’ talking to himself again.
Surmise rules the day. Yeah for JUSTICE!
Has the “press release” been released to the press or only BU?
LikeLike
Curious what is the nature of the relationship between Donna St. Hill and other(s)personal or professional.
LikeLike
@Ross
Those of us who keenly monitor local news and current affairs would be aware there was a press conference held yesterday by Trotman and Mayers and the opportunity was taken to distribute the press release.
Next question?
LikeLike
“a good conclusion that XYZ has ALLEGEDLY engaged’
I would have thought “inevitable” rather than “good”. David do stop thrashing about.
LikeLike
“Distribute” to whom? I guess time will tell.
(But of course there are questions to be answered. I don’t dispute that. So, yes, ask the questions. But don’t appoint yourself counsel, judge and jury and incite bloggers to join you, or expect us to follow Pacha who thinks he knows, or accept as children what the soldier said in what should surely have been privileged circumstances.)
LikeLike
@Ross
You are a JA by any measure.
LikeLike
“Oh what a tangled web we weave, when we practice to deceive” What a bunch of mixed up shite, and get rich quick schemes.
LikeLike
Methinks Donna should hire a team of really good lawyers.
LikeLike
Anytime Trotty involved, you does got to be careful.
LikeLike
@Norst
How is your last comment relevant?
LikeLike
@ Robert Ross
I wonder If you or anyone else will recall Gary Webb the news reporter from the San Jose Mercury News who wrote a major expose about the CIA and cocaine trafficking in 1996.
It ultimately led to Colonel Oliver North receiving a sentence that included a fine, community service and probation, but no prison term.
What is the ole man’s point you might say.
Just as true investigative journalism will go into areas that will be uncomfortable for many who are involved, both actors and audience, and will dig up dirt on many indiscretions, just as such underlying content may leave many a viewer/reader disturbed, the fact is that no one , including you, Ross, has any monopoly over who says what or from whence come what, is disingenuous
No one source and or process can be ascribed omniscience.
I would put it to you that there is a role for what many now call “courts of public opinion” or seeming whistleblowing sources or perceived sub judice commentary, or strategically disseminated material as is this Guyson/Trotman article .
In the context of this Piece of 166 square mile Rock in the sea it is important that we understand that, in the absence of independent, fair and constructive commentary, due process and fair practice, this BU, irrespective of its many detractors, is the voice of many an underdog and the downtrodden
Everyone of them comes here to see what is the temperature of things local including the various Economic Attaches of the Foreign Diplomatic Corps, euphemisms for the CIA and MI6 and of course Moody’s (according to AC aka Legion who downgraded Barbados because of us doom and gloom posters)
By the way I do hope that your name does not appear in the Lawyers in the News section because Pachamama going have a field day on you.
LikeLike
Are you saying my last comment is irrelevant??
LikeLike
@Norst
BU is asking how is your comment relevant in the context of the pres release and scenario playing out.
LikeLike
I hate to be the one to say I told you so.
When this matter was first posted in BU I said that Donna St. Hill had a lot to answer for as the contractor the buck stops with her.
As can be seen from the Press Release the facts stand out that she had over $300,000 directed to her personal account supposedly for the students expenses.
This is a big big breech and no accountant old or new can help her cover this up once there is a proper paper trail.
Also it seems that from the time Ms. St Hill received the funds from Ministry of Higher Education in Delta State, Nigeria for both Trinidad and Barbados their professional relationship fell out probability because of lack of accountability and transparency.
I have ran million$ businesses and could see from day one that there was some misappropriation and a blame game which was being passed on to the foot soldiers in Trinidad and Barbados both of whom fell out with Ms. St. Hill and whom she later blamed to cover up her trail.
However once there are accurate and verifiable record keeping which these lawyers seemed to have obtained, and confirmation from both Trinidad and Barbados initial Project Managers Ms. St. Hill does not have any leg to stand on.
LikeLike
In spite of the streets ,alley ways and every open area in Barbados inundated with garbage, this does not give the Nigerians administrators of the Delta student programme the right to dump their dirty linen on the door steps of the people and government of Barbados.
LikeLike
If it was the Government of New Brunswick, Canada paylng $10 million for 90 Canadian students to go to SJPP do you think this fiasco would have occurred?
I think NOT.
LikeLike
Looks like we have some well known chasers in this here story.US$15million is a lot of money.Chasers salivating.
Btw is this the same Guyson Mayers the chairman of the Police Service Commission?So far,it is believed that 2 fellows don’t have work permits?It will be interesting to see where the buck stops.The deputy governor of the state made known his views in no uncertain terms;his chosen or chastening words to the students might be fulfilling.
LikeLike
The Deputy Governor was quoted in the newspaper as saying something I found interesting the other day. It was something along the lines that he would assume that none of the money had gone missing until such time as the administrators in Barbados didn’t have enough to pay for an element of the course.
If I was a senior politician with some responsibility for these students, in circumstances where I had been sent 4,000 miles to investigate the mess, I would make sure I knew where every single cent had gone. I would have forensic accountants crawling all over the bank accounts and books.
Why would you assume all was well? A survey spicious person would think he didn’t want people to know.
LikeLike
St George’s Dragon January 25, 2015 at 8:07 PM #
Is it a matter of who is guarding the guard? Is the Deputy Governor investigating himself and his associates?
We should also be worried, if and when the time comes and the administrators in Barbados do not have enough money to pay for an element of the course. Who will foot the bill? …..the Barbados Government? And why was the local police made aware of the supposedly missing money,but no official report has been made to them.
Reminds me of the time some one called Andy Capp a thief,and his friend Chalkie,advised him to make the man prove it. Andy replied, ” yeah ! and get myself locked up!”
LikeLike
@St George’s Dragon
He clearly knows how the matter will be resolved.
LikeLike
I would suggest that we follow the money.
Or to use the Latin phrase cui bono.
And because I am a “rude” person I’d also suggest that we follow the sex.
Because as sure as there is a God in heaven somebody or somebodies are getting money and or sex out of this bondoogle.
And it is probably not the poor students who likely ain’t getting much of neither.
LikeLike
@Hants January 25, 2015 at 4:49 PM “If it was the Government of New Brunswick, Canada paylng $10 million for 90 Canadian students to go to SJPP do you think this fiasco would have occurred?”
Probably not because wunna Canadians pretty strict about things, especially financial things.
Wunna did gine put $10 million CDN is nobody hand jest so. Wunna wouldda pay out the money a little bit at a time and be checking receipts and checking to make sure that the amount of work has actually been done.
LikeLike
Reinstate her!
Nigerian students call for former coordinator to be reinstated.
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/01/25/reinstate-her/
LikeLike
BU has another question for Donna St.Hill. Have you received accreditation to bear the title Doctor?
LikeLike
On behalf of some of the Nigerian Students in the Delta State Youth Empowerment we are not even aware of this publication. And we refute every statement made by this publication. We are at peace with Donna St. Hill and our State Government. Further negative publications as this one should not be released without our consent. God bless Delta State, God bless Nigeria.
LikeLike
@YEP Barbados
If Douglas Trotman and Guyson Mayers are reputed to be representing 66 of the 89 Negerian students what is your point?
LikeLike
we dont have a lawyer, we where only sent here to study. most student are not aware of this publication. so before any publication about nigeria student all the student most be notify. up delta state up nigeria
LikeLike
@ YEP Barbados2014
Have you heard about freedom of speech.
This is a public blog and we have commented on a Press Release which is in the public domain.
As such there is no need to consult with who ever you are.
It may help also if you publish your real full name so that we can verify who you say you are and whom you really represent.
LikeLike
“up delta state”.
Up to something, anyway.
LikeLike
Someone is up to some mischief here. Doubt very much that this is from any Delta State student. Why would he or she would have a need not to publish his/her real name.
LikeLike
Idiato, why you cum to this banjadie site for omeya ya? Did not the which doctor not advise against this????.Idiato I speaking to you young meszion . Now what have you to say brother? We will send you home.
LikeLike
A few questions for Donna St. Hill, email to BU. Feel free to email your responses – David.
LikeLike
………OH Loss…..now looka trouble
LikeLike
@ David,
Keep up the good work.
LikeLike
@ AC and others of the DLPites and Blpites
Do you see why this BU site is so important???
Neither the Nation, de Advocate, Barbados Today nor de rest uh dem gine (I) Agitate enough (ii) attract the common man and woman (ii) instill confidence in the confidentiality process and identity protection at the BU site so that the truth has a chance to out.
The IP tracing that your Dlpbarbados site and that the BLP website utilizes as well as the Nation newspaper (I guess de ole man ent gine get nuh pick dey after all) is well known so we frighten even to read wunna articles or paper online.
Kudos to the Blogmaster.
This again reinforces the point that I was making earlier on another blog about the gullibility of local authorities and the obvious dereliction of duties that agencies that are tasked with the responsibility of conducting due diligence on these charlatans so easily drop the ball or pich up the attaché case with cash that is positioned next to their tables during the interviewing process
LikeLike
Another email received from Wondering Minds:
LikeLike
David and Pieceuh
I am yet to hear David answer the question I raised. Instead he deflects and JA’s. Is Trotman a BU regular? And is this ”press release’ in fact an old boy’s handshake?
Pieceuh….I have nothing against investigative journalism. But this is conviction by surmise and gossip. As for poor Pacha, he would be hard pressed to have a “field day” with a goat. The one time he was asked to put up or shut up, after a death threat to me, he ran.
LikeLike
@David January 27, 2015 at 6:37 AM “Another email received from Wondering Minds…t Coral reef in a Villa(……… Flower) paying over $5,000USD a night.”
$5,000 per night or do you mean $500?
LikeLike
@David January 27, 2015 at 6:37 AM “Another email received from Wondering Minds…she was found at Coral reef in a Villa. (……… Flower) paying over $5,000USD a night. .. move to Sandy lane…We know you Ms St. Hill from Rock Close Wildey”
Ya mean she couldn’t stay in Rock Close Wildey and save the Delta State government a few thousand dollars?…then again I hear that Delta State wash way in oil money…so $5,000USD per night is small change.
LikeLike
I hear that some CBC employees real, real bad-minded and gossipy
LikeLike
The last I heard about Douglas he was seeing about getting title to land at Rock Hall,St Philip for the squatters there,never mind the place was a designated dump site with all the hazards that would represent to the constituents he was hoping would vote for him.Mayers is a known DLP biased yard fowl former police now firing police,he and a pastor in the episcopal church of God.
I agree firmly with Norst and Ross.Something ain’t right.Somebody hand in a cookie jar and these double clowns using their nasty tactics to cover sins of commission
LikeLike
After reading the above I had these thoughts!
How did students from africa end up on a study programme in Barbados?
Who had the forethought to try and boosts tourism and provide much needed foreign exchange to Barbados by presenting and advertising Barbados’ educational programmes in Africa?
Who did all the leg work?
Who was contracted by said African state, with the sole responsibility of setting-up and coordinating the entire programme?
Who then went to Barbados under much criticism in the local press to administrate and staff the programme?
How did Ms. Sharon Brathwaite become involved in the programme?
Who contracted her and paid her Salary?
In other words Who Employed her as a coordinator and who was she responsible to?
Ms Sharon Brathwaite must have been highly regarded for her employer to entrust her with such large sums of money!..
SO ??
Why is it that Ms Sharon Brathwaite saw fit to go over the accounts with TWO lawyers (not Accountants and not her employers) and the press instead of the person who employed her to do the job and entrusted her with the funds in the first place.
Should she not instead be going over the accounts for the projects expenditures with her employer who entrusted her with the funds?
Has it become standard practice in Barbados that when you are employed to do a job, you undermine your employers by approaching their client with the intention of forging a new agreement with the client in order to secure the contract for yourself?
If the employer is so terrible, why go behind their back and plot with others to try and steal the clients while still in their employ.
The respectful thing to do, would be to resign your post, start your own program and prove that you are better than your employer.
……..What ever happened to a proper code of conduct ETHICAL behaviour!…….
It would appear that we have involved international guest to our shores in a much publicised local greivance.
If we are bickering over trying to host a few students from a nation that is looking to emulate us, what does that say about us.
This all looks very bad for Barbados! Such a pickle is being made of an effort to present our fair land as a viable educational destination in far away places and we can’t even seem to make it work at home.
Trinidad is mentioned. They seem to have gotten the formula correct first time with only positive press! Why can’t we?
It would appear that Miss Donna St. Hill (qualified or not) has of her own free will been a successful ambassador in promoting Barbados abroad, only to be castigated by her fellow Barbadians and treated with disdain and disrespect of the highest order by the people of a nation she was proud to promote.
LikeLike
CHILL magazine published by UWI Cave Hill,of 15th March 2014 has a story “Doing business with Africa”.It stated that the 15th annual international academy of Africa Business and Development took place in Barbados May 26-29th 2014.The academy provided an opportunity for networking among leading scholars on African Business and Development.I don’t suppose,given the background of the participants that a qualification and a reputation for legal ambulance chasers,hangers on at the court of the political class,practioners of trickle down economics,gatherers of the crumbs which fall from the table of the political class,former police,stinking Dems,would expect to be among “leading scholars”.
LikeLike
This whole saga becomes increasingly bizarre by the day. Here is the latest interview from some of the Nigerian students and it is explosive.
LikeLike
African twist
Nigerians say complaints made about hotel were ‘lies and propaganda’
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/01/30/african-twist/
LikeLike
Now they are beginning to play the Good Cop ,Bad Cop on us. You mean to tell me that the”good ones” are not aware of who the Fifth Columnist ” are? The ones who staged the Pool Dipping fiasco, the photos of which were beamed across Africa and the social media , no thanks to the Nation Newspaper who went along with the story, never mind that some African Newspaper reporter/ photographer got the credit for those same photos. Also who are the ones responsible for sabotaging Mrs Ram water pipes?
Barbados should be saying to the whole lot,Students, Administrators, Deputy Governor and every bottle washer involved NEVER AGAIN!!
LikeLike
YEP Barbados is an Imposter, I am one of the students.Douglas Trotman is representing 66 of us,those other students are on Donna’s payroll.Why hasn’t Donna sued for defamation, Slander ? what happened to 4.5 million dollars that fees were not paid ? Caterers not paid ? Mrs Ram not paid ? Laptops and cell phones not bought ? Donna ha gone AWOL ,she is a fraud .
LikeLike
@lordjboy you are an idiot and a senseless person, are you aware that majority of the students on that list have written to dauglas rotman? that he is not representing them and he should remove their names from that list? How can you use the form that the students feed for something else and use it to carry out your evil plans’ is that not fraud? I wonder how many of you students are under sharon payrolls? Un great full elements.
LikeLike