Donna St. Hill and the Nigerian Student Scam

Nigerian Students at Casa Grande

The BU family ALWAYS gets the inside track on what is happening in Barbados. It is a pity the traditional media whether by accident or design allows itself to be anchored to a moribund state by being shackled to agendas not aligned to being a purveyor of truth. The CBC and the BarbadosAdvocate have been manipulated by successive governments this we know. The Nation Publishing Group which includes the popular VOB92.9FM radio and Nation newspaper in recent times has been feeling the pressure from Port of Spain, Barbados Today is controlled by the moneyed class Harris and Bizzy. Not to forget the advertisers.

There is a strong view in the United States of America which states for any Republican candidate to be successful as a politician he or she must get the blessing of the Fox News Network. Such a position gives credence to how closely correlated an active media and the ability to shape public opinion. In Barbados the government shapes the news delivered by the CBC and the BarbadosAdvocate. The moneyed class does clean up with the Nation Publishing and Barbados Today.

Out of the blue Barbadians have been informed the plug was yanked on the controversial Nigerian Delta State Student Program. In the United States of America or United Kingdom where a different brand of democracy is pursued local media and government authorities would have seen it as an obligation to the public to communicate to the public about what informed the decision to bring the program to an abrupt end.

There is a side to the Nigerian student story still to be told and the traditional media it its present configuration means BU or other social media outlets will have to fill the void.

BU understands over six millions dollars was released to organiser of the Delta State Youth Empowerment Programme Donna St. Hill. The challenge for Donna St. Hill from our investigation is that satisfactory accounting how the money was spent remains a challenge. BU reached out unsuccessfully to Donna St. Hill at the beginning of the Nigerian St. Hill Scam for a comment.

There is the view the Delta State Youth Empowerment Programme was an elaborate operation to use a legitimate student project to funnel money out of Nigeria.  The idea that the operation was to be completed by May 2015 to coincide with the deputy governor leaving office is a question BU would pose to Donna St. Hill if we get the opportunity. Whether she has a non professional relationship with the governor is not BU’s concern unless she wishes to volunteer information.

Obviously Donna St. Hill International must have made contact with prominent officials and agencies in Barbados to have facilitated the operation. Is it true Deputy Prime Minister Richard Sealy approved the transaction which was subsequently overruled by Prime Minister Stuart? The news that the Nigerian St. Hill Scam Operation was cancelled it means several players will pocket monies without having to deliver a full service. Minister Sealy operates under the radar but BU understands he has become very adept at funnelling government contracts to close associates. Enough said!

Donna St. Hill why would you sign a nine month contract with the owner of Casa Grande if the accommodation was meant to be temporary?  Do agree your training in public relations has given you the leg up to mamaguy local media? Who remembers your seductive smile directed at beat reporter Emanuel Joseph when you told your side of the story? Was the plan from the start of the operation to find a way to end the program under a cloud? When you planted stories about opportunities which abound in Africa in 2013 in the traditional and social media was this part of a deliberate plan – Opportunity Africa: Leveraging Barbados’ First Cousin Advantages to Maximise Trade and Investment in Africa’s Economic Rising?

Donna St. Hill please join us on Barbados Underground (BU) to clarify issues too many to list in a blog. It is alleged you coerced the five breakaway Nigerian students to come out last week. The Nation newspaper carried a story a couple days after the students checked in at Casa Grande showing Barbados Water Authority (BWA) officials trying to fix a low water pressure problem.   As far as BU is aware the BWA has not issued a public statement to support the claim by the breakaway group. Donna St. Hill how do you respond to those suggesting you want the program to end and with it the expectation all the allegations and problems associated with the program to date will disappear?

Why has the deputy governor been given immunity until May from money laundering charges?  Will the program in T&T have to be terminated as well Donna St. Hill? The Barbados project effectively means your ambition and reputation have taken a big hit. What next?

66 comments

• This is what is expected from BU. Expose he liars, cheats,crooks and bully boys that abuse their powers and treat the population like mushrooms.
    Well done, keep it up!Too many of them get away with it too often.

• BU campaigns against pretty girls smiling, asserts that unlike the mob it never has an ulterior agenda and suggests that, as a purveyor of truth, it always gets things right. Err….well….Nice idea though…personally I think women should have their lips sown together.

• From inception she has worked assiduously to make this Barbados program a failure in a bid to protect her name and personality. How come school fees were not paid at BCC ? Accomodation were not sorted out ? Caterers not paid ? All in Barbados, while officials of the Delta state government paid the fees at NESC and gave Donna money for BCC.Trotman was able to find some incriminating evidence,proving she’s fraudulent,an Imposter and yet she couldn’t sue for defamation to prove her innoncence.Rather she ran to Africa to connive with her allies to ed the program. This is an embarrassment to Bajans,it is telling the world Barbados cannot cater for international students.Which to my opinion is false but circumstances cannot let things be.It was fun though, a wonderful vacation.

• For a start Mrs Ram will want every cent contracted to her. A woman that you cannot mess around with when it comes to money. Even the CCJ,in its first ever case , buckled unto her. Then there is the local press, police and Calysonians who are not very keen on crossing her path.
    Next in line for a piece of the action is the woman who runs the Infinity Hotel, who was so eager to get her hands on some of this bonanza, that she could not have cared less, if the money was gift wrapped in Ebola.
    Then there is the Brathwaite lady, who like those wrestlers cum actors , who used to frequent Barbados, always seems to be in a strangle hold with Donna. She still has to account for some US $3/4 Millions
    Other bit players in this NollyBim soap opera, are the two local lawyers,Bud and Lou, who were supposed to be looking after the students interests. What was their professional fees? Did David Comisong receive any reward for volunteering his services, I think not. Looked like he smelt a rat in the early stages and strategically withdrew.
    Somewhere along the line , we were told that the Deputy Principal of the BCC, without the knowledge of the Board of Directors, had signed a US$3/4 Millions tuition contract. Was is the status of this money ?
    And to the Barbados Central Bank. With all of these millions of dollars floating around Trinidad, Barbados and Nigeria, were the legal procedures followed, in the transfer of these large sums ?

• robert ross February 7, 2015 at 2:31 PM #

…personally I think women should have their lips sown together.
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    Be more specific.

• Mr Watson Parkinson

What makes me laugh is people buy the Nation Newspaper every day…! They read and believe every single word written…! Bossy and his associates are laughing all the way to the bank. Control the media and you control the people…!

• We missed a golden opportunity with the Nigerians.
    We should have retained them on a One-for-One basic. Keep one Nigerian, Oust one Barbadian. After what has been revealed in Barbados over the last few weeks, these ousted Bajans would do well in Nigeria.
    There is a list of 16 to start with .
    Plus the Clico Crooks
    Plus those who are bidding their time for a pension, hiding out in the Senate or the Prime Ministers Office.

• Mr Watson Parkinson

Barbadians have African phobia…! Not all I’m glad to say, but the majority!

• Blue Boy

As a married man myself…I’ll let you do the geography.

• David

Are you able to explain why it is that whenever I cast a ‘Like’ or ‘Dislike’ vote the vote is never finally recorded?

• Mr Watson Parkinson February 7, 2015 at 3:47 PM #

Barbadians have African phobia
    ……………………………………………………………..

This may be explained by virtue of the fact that our ancestors were sold into slavery by their fellow tribes in the western area of Africa for personal gain,which continues to this day.This entrepreneurship has always existed from the existence of the humanoid.

• @Ross

It is difficult to diagnose from this distance. Upgrade your browser, upload latest updates for Java and Adobe flash and see if it resolves.

• Those visiting BU for the first time remember to visit our Lawyers in the News page.

• LOL @ Ross
    Are you able to explain why it is that whenever I cast a ‘Like’ or ‘Dislike’ vote the vote is never finally recorded?

Man what java and adobe what?!

Possibly the result of WordPress anti fraud software…
    …don’t let them know that you are a Bajan lawyer
    ha ha ha wahhhhhhhh!!!

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Money Bring out even More Crooks , Liars and Scumbags , Some Bajans think they smart , Africa never had to come this far to learn how to make beds and talk to people, What a Fraud ,

Nothing works well in Barbados , not even fraud when your in the light,

UWI , Sir Beckles and others took land to build buildings to send home Bajans to make room for more overseas money.. I happy they going home , as they now disagree with each other to serve Ms Ram and others , Dam shame ,, lot more behind this than is being reporting,

• Mrs Ram openly told the students Donna owed her some money for January, February and money for feeding and that she wasn’t bothered because she knows how to get her money from Donna.The silence on Donna’s part depicts one thing. Looking for stories to defend herself.

• NationBLPnewspaper

@Mr. Watson Parkinson” What makes me laugh is people buy the Nation Newspaper every day…! They read and believe every single word written…! Bossy and his associates are laughing all the way to the bank. Control the media and you control the people…!

Well said . The Nation newspaper and VOB dominate the news and discussion in Barbados and they have been infiltrated, compromised and now controlled by the Barbados Labour Party.
    Check the columnists which they have hired in recent years and you will see one common thread.

• Two people who will never get balanced or objective news coverage from the Nation newspaper are Mrs. Ram and Leroy Parris both of whom currently have libel cases against the Nation.

• On the CBC TV8 tonight the news segment was made up of the prime minister delivering a midday lecture to party faithful, acting minister of education Harry Husbands and minister of commerce Donville Inniss.

• @ David
    It is not just the moneyed class that has clout at the Nation.It is the BLP moneyed class like Sir Fred Gollop, former BLP senate president and one who helped finance the BLP campaign. If Mottley calls a press conference for nothing to announce , look and see the Nation is there the next day with a Colour photo and a right hand page which Mottley usually requests.

Look at the front page hatchet job which was done on Owen Arthur by saying that his constituents were unanimously against him even showing his face in St. Peter.
    Where was the poll?

The same type scenario played out when coincidentally another article came out telling David Estwick that if he went to the BLP his constituents would support him. This was not the result of any poll but the article was meant to try to shape public opinion.

Finally. Who could forget the Nation telling Barbados and the world that Barbados was going to isolate the Nigerians in a military compound when no such thing was announced .

The Nation is not about getting the truth out and I would encourage the public to read different papers,etc understanding that while CBC leans to the government in power , The Nation newspaper is clearly singing in the BLP choir and VOB moderators must keep their mouths shut because the Nation owns VOB.
    A National Disgrace

• @David
    Every week the Nation newspaper columnists consists of official BLP spokesman Clyde Mascoll, two political scientists who appeared on BLP platforms-Peter Wickham and Tennyson Joseph, former BLP MP Ezra Alleyne. Harry Russell who also appeared on a BLP platform advocating for a change of government and of course Albert Branford.

Fair and Balanced? You tell me if you don’t see a pattern.

Of course. Let us not forget former BLP senator Glyne Murray,

• So we have the CBC and Advocate in one corner and the Nation publishing in the other based on your opinion. What is the point?

• St George's Dragon

Apart from Government controlled newspapers, there are few around the world that are completely unbiased.
    People get by. They are not stupid. They compensate.

• Vincent Haynes February 7, 2015 at 4:08 PM #

Mr Watson Parkinson February 7, 2015 at 3:47 PM #

Barbadians have African phobia
    ……………………………………………………………..

This may be explained by virtue of the fact that our ancestors were sold into slavery by their fellow tribes in the western area of Africa for personal gain,which continues to this day.This entrepreneurship has always existed from the existence of the humanoid.

++++++

No…I don’t believe that is why. The demand for African slaves came from the Europeans. Yes, our bredren where brought on board to help make it happen…but we’ve been brainwashed to see anything African as negative. Let’s finally be honest about it so we can address it and move on. Europeans and Asians travel to the continent and are profiting from it while the African diaspora more less thumbs their nose at it. Let’s be real…now!

• David and even Bush Tea (err)…thank you.

• @St.Georges Dragon

Pursuing an agenda driven by a philosophy is acceptable especially if it is declared. On the order hand an agenda based on allowing ones pursuits to be manipulated by third parties is a another matter.

• The deposits paid to the other hotel was forfeit which meant that the fund for the 9 months program would have been inadequate and could not have maintained the students for the period.

So the sympathiser would have had to pull they pockets to support them or YOUR TAX DOLLARS.

• David February 7, 2015 at 10:00 PM # On the CBC TV8 tonight the news segment was made up of the prime minister delivering a midday lecture to party faithful, acting minister of education Harry Husbands and minister of commerce Donville Inniss.

PM Stuart like he is vex….on war path like Adrumino, anyone noticed?

• @caribcanadian February 7, 2015 at 11:37 PM #

Are you suggesting to me that if I demand something from you that you will automatically supply it……interesting

Do some research on the tribes of Africa and the genocide they carried out on each other prior to the arrival of tribes from the north and this genocide continues to this day………facts are facts.

• I see the issue has be side tracked. If some media outlets are bias and appear to have a particular agenda. There is plenty of Gigabytes for such a post.

• @Fix it

How has the issue been hijacked if the substantive blog remains as well as bouncing around Facebook?

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

The BU family ALWAYS gets the inside track on what is happening in Barbados. It is a pity the traditional media whether by accident or design allows itself to be anchored to a moribund state by being shackled to agendas not aligned to being a purveyor of truth. The CBC and the BarbadosAdvocate have been manipulated by successive governments this we know. The Nation Publishing Group which includes the popular VOB92.9FM radio and Nation newspaper in recent times has been feeling the pressure from Port of Spain, Barbados Today is controlled by the moneyed class Harris and Bizzy. Not to forget the advertisers.

WELL SAID ,IS THIS WHY NOW BARBADOS TODAY CAME AND NEVER PRINT? TO SPY, WELL LETS SAVE THEM THE UP DATES ,, THEY CAN READ ALL THEY WANT ON FACE BOOK WE DONT CHANGE OUR MINDS UNLESS YOU HAVE BETTER
    PROOF ,

WELL WHO OWNS THAT SLAVE CALLED TONY BEST ?THE WORST SLIME EVER ,HOW THESE PEOPLE CANT SEE WHAT THEY DOING , THE REPORTS ARE SOME VERY SMART BUT STUPID FOR A PAYCHECK ,ALL OF THEM NEED TO WALK OUT ,

• We continue to be amazed at the plunge that is taking place in many of our supposedly intellectual spheres in Barbados.

Imagine that the standard of proof of claims or beliefs of any sort (other than opinions) – ie, proving the truth of those claims, or otherwise the falsity of them, and the means of proving such truths – before or after they have been made – has been taking a most severe beating in supposedly academic and intellectual circles in this country.

• The Prime Minister and cohorts have started to bleat the message that there is an economic turnaround in sight. What BU asks of them is to advise what about the social and moral decay that seems to have taken root. How is the fallout being led and manage.

On 8 February 2015 at 16:48, Barbados Underground wrote:

• PDC

Do you want to expand your comments?

• David

I have just seen for the first time, following your lead, your ‘Lawyers in the News’ page. I assume the object is to attempt to demonstrate to the world that Barbadian lawyers are the pits. You may or not have a point but I note that all the cases bar one are cases of asserted or proved corruption.

I make the obvious point that a mere assertion is not proof.

But apropos of the one case which does not assert corruption, the attorney concerned figures in a case of alleged assault involving a woman..

I have no idea of the background – and I assume you don’t either – but it does give me cause for concern that you lump this case with the others. We poor men can get into all sorts of trouble with the female of the species. Sometimes, it’s our fault and a case of growing up. At other times – you will like this – a woman’s smile is designed to lead us up the garden path to disaster. Either way, the male response is not something which automatically brings the profession into disrepute or something which should otherwise give Joe Public cause for concern. In this kind of case, we are all very human and a Practising Certificate is not a shield against very human responses to very humdrum situations. I don’t think any man (or woman for that matter) should be shunned for real or supposed glitches in their love life, matters, in other words, essentially domestic. If it did, I guess we would all have criminal records of one sort or another.

• So what’s the real story on this thing? Who pulled the plug and exactly why? Forget all de fancy long talk about the media and who controlling them, if BU going to give me the real truth then give it to me straight.

• Robert Ross,

We were making a general point above, that the standard of proof of claims beliefs of many people, in supposedly academic and intellectual circles, and the means methods for helping them arrive at such proof, have been taking a beating in these said suppoosedly academic and intellectual circles, based on so many observations that we have been having of so many cases where many individuals in these circles in this country have been reported as making the relevant claims and assertions and have not been providing or pointing to proof or evidence to support and substantiate these claims or assertions.

Take for instance, Dr Clyde Mascoll, who, in his column: What Matters Most, in the Daily Nation, Thursday, January 15, 2015, was reported as thinking that ‘the EVIDENCE SHOWS that the MISMANAGEMENT of the Barbados economy did NOT begin in 2014’. In that regard, Mascoll severely failed – in the said column piece or in any other identifiable document any where else – to point to supporting evidence as to when the mismanagement of the political economy and service industry sectors of Barbados did actually take place.

• @Zack
    Looks like the plug was intended to be pulled at some predetermined time. Like the Costa Concordia, while the Delta ship was floundering ,as planned, the Captain was safely away in a life boat. The Harbour Master,( the Barbados Government), cannot take any blame for this wreck. But in the Captain’s Log, will be the bold entry, “Mission Accomplished. Next Port of Call -All the way to the Bank “

• PDC

Thank you.

• BU is begining to look and sound like the sister child of the nation newspaper any reputable media or practicing media outlet who solely depends on one side of any given story as sufficient proof to validate is sliding down a slippery slope where it leads to recklessness an disinformation

btw ross you are preaching to deaf ears,,

• So if the plug has been pulled on the Delta State program who will pay for the students to return home?

Not we the Bajan taxpayers I hope.

• Simple Simon February 8, 2015 at 9:37 PM #
    So if the plug has been pulled on the Delta State program who will pay for the students to return home?

Not we the Bajan taxpayers I hope.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    If it comes to that , the VAT which BRA has collected from Mrs Ram and the Infinity on the Beach Hotel should defray some of the cost of a flight back ,also the tax on the earnings of the local lawyers , who represented the student, and that of the administrators of the Barbados leg .

• ac

The world is not deaf and David, bless him, wants to rule it……..ergo…..

• @robert ross February 8, 2015 at 2:35 PM …I don’t think any man (or woman for that matter) should be shunned for real or supposed glitches in their love life, matters, in other words, essentially domestic.=============

Ross, you are very correct of course but there is no indication that highlighting this officer of the court based on his own actions has caused anyone to shun him.

There is a tenet of the PR business that any public exposure can be crafted/spun to a benefit for the person so exposed, or framed another way: there is no ‘bad’ PR.

I am confident you understand that dictum.

So I don’t really consider that the attorney referenced with these domestic matters should be seen as being disadvantaged or shunned.

For all practical purposes anyone who had planned to employ this attorney either knows him and is therefore highly impressed with his skills; knows of him via a positive recommendation or simply plucked his name from a list.

In the first two instances he is being hired for his high skills so the client could care less of his private life. In the last situation it should only give the client pause if after meeting with him his other attributes did not impress them.

Simply stated despite the public matter they still have every opportunity to make an informed decision about his legal skills. He is not being hired as the domestic abuse adviser for some women’s league group, after all.

And going back to my PR point he gets notoriety from this public hit and becomes known to more prospective clients than he otherwise would.

So see this as a win-win for your colleague,

• The criteria for posting to this page is simple. We post news about lawyers updated to the traditional media. In other words all the updates to this page can be found in the traditional media.

Lawyers in the News

Liked by 1 person

• David the Joseph H. Serrant and Waterman references do not have a link to the ‘traditional media’.

Not questioning that there stories can’t be found in the traditional media as a case# is listed in one instance and a court appearance in the other but just clarifying that whereas all others have a link to the news article these two do not.

• @DeeWord

The Serrant submission is from BU family member Artax and based on the judgement of the BU household we have updated it for reason of relevance. If Serrant wants to challenge it he is free to do so by submitting to BU.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Dee Word

I tend not to agree with your win-win “advertising” posit.

Bajans are for the most part incapable of this discernment and analysis that you employ.

If I hear that a fellow does tief, and then see the matters that he is involved in, in a newspaper, or in this here more permanent blog, I ent going to be too keen to engage them fellows since, after all, it is not that their names are listed here because of their legal competencies or their ability and agility to bend over and show your pooch to a sitting Judge.

Plusing dat we from Bulbados AND de normal modus operandi (dat is a next latin phrase dat I plagiarize from de internet heah to mek meself look learned) is to bad talk eveybody, INCLUDING DEM PEEPLE DAT YOU ENT EVER KNOW PERSONALLY, this page would mek a fellow bajan very happy to come and see whu de fellow do, jes to be able to add to de normal lies and maliciousness that we are best known for in the Caribbean.

The original purpose upon which this Lawyers in the News had its genesis was as a citizen corner where fellows of the Brotherhood of BloodSuckers, sorry lawyers, who would have occasionally “teifted” client moneys wud have dem name up big and bold like in Hollywood.

The lofty hope is that this corner, being the only resort that po’ people got to get back at these 14 year tieves, would be the “shame and blame” of the cyberspace halls of infamy where you can come and see black power salutes, a la Vonda Pile, and others who may have been caught in the (not so hairy) purse of clients.

Barring this peaceabull, non libellous, action the only only resort po’ people who ent got the money to tek a man to court got, is to chop dem up like the Clico Insurance Man in Trinidad

• @PUDRYR

Barbadians are able and continue to discern what is happening about Barbados. The issue is an inability to galvanize opinions and mobilize for action to force change. It appears to be a work in progress.

• Pieces you gotta stop wid this chop up thing before somebody claim you creating a mischief or inciting someone to violence.

And BTW I am sure you didn’t have to go to no internet for ‘modus operandi’.

Based on your presentations its clear that you did quite a bit of Latin at Cawmere (as I recall you did claim residence there).

I know the few generic phrases in common use like: ad nauseum, caveat emptor, ultra vires and of course the famous one, veni, vidi, vici.

But you are a Latin scholar so stop trying to fool the public that you checking stuff on Google or Yahoo.

Either you or Ross, can’t remember who, dropped a Latin phrase the other day and sent me straight to google.

And just recently a buddy sent me a text and outta the blue (he is a languages man) start off with ‘Salvaste ,,,’. And I was catspraddled.

Hola or Bonjour would have worked just fine!

And yes the lawyers page will do exactly as you said and David intends. I have no problem wid that. Clearly, David was sagely advised on how to organize that for public review and anyone whose name is there cannot claim any wrongdoing on BU’s part..

• @DeeWord

Good thing the friend was not driven to add O regina to the salvaste…lol

On Monday, 9 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• DeeWord

Thank you for your comment with most of which I agree. However, you yourself have given the lie to the concept of ‘public revelation’ with the reference to Serrant. And it’s really no answer for David to say ‘he can answer before my court’. We can all say this or that about X or Y. Gee, I might even be able to say things about Serrant myself. But in the great scheme of things that would only be a little froth in a vast sea.

The fact is that the ‘BU Household’ – whatever it is precisely – I suppose the conglomerate of David’s – will not miss a trick when it comes to elevating froth above waves and continues to play on public perceptions and prejudices whenever it can. In the case of this lawyer’s page, I have no difficulty in BU publishing contemporary accounts of convictions in relation to matters which are otherwise in the news, viz corruption. To pinpoint accused persons and people like Gordon, as well as the gossip of BU contributors, is, however, not playing the game. It is in its nature unfair, irresponsible and, from the perspective of the proven fact of corruption, innacurate.

BTW…I quite take the point that wife beaters will flock to Mr Gordon in vast numbers – if you see what I’m trying to say.

I have suggested before, to howls of horror, that it might be time to have another focus – on clients….slippery clients, mendacious clients, lazy clients, something- for- nothing clients, waste- of- my- time clients, don’t-turn-up clients, mean spirited clients, take-advantage-of- your – good-nature clients. Some of them are pretty dreadful you know.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Robert Ross

With regard to your parting challenge “…it might be time to have another focus – on clients….slippery clients,….” some might respectfully submit that there is such an agency/service available.

It is called the “credit bureau” which, barring their inability to ascertain mendaciousness and other ethereal qualities, allows a lawyer to determine the one thing that drives you all – the client’s ability to pay your (floating point) bills

I guess that BU is only trying to level the playing field so that the same way you can go to the credit bureau and find out if your potential client is a diligent payer of bills (augmented by the recommendations, almost said recriminations, that their former legal counsel will whisper in your ear, your brotherhood’s verbal equivalent of BU’s Lawyers in the News.

You better than anyone else would know how disgusting lawyers who have done nothing but waste the time of their clients, while swindling them out of fees, are very quick to come to you and bad talk said client.

Lets all tell the truth now….

• Pieceuh

I don’t think I’ve ever said other than this…

lawyers have always had a bad name…it goes back to Wat Tyler and beyond

the reason, I’ve no doubt, is that they are seen to feed on other persons’ troubles (but then so in a way do priests)

of course there are some ‘bad’ lawyers, morally dreadful lawyers…indeed I’ve met them myself

the BADC has not always been as sharp as it might have been in sorting them out…but there are often difficulties getting critical information from complainants etc etc..it works both ways

of course it is right that the profession should be subject to scrutiny

it is wrong to ‘convict’ (before David’s court) on the basis of mere gossip and other anecdotal evidence, hearsay evidence which would not be admissible in a court of law …it is wrong to attempt to destroy a man’s reputation and livelihood on that basis

the BU attitude to attorneys must be seen as part of the ‘big picture’ – its attitude to the administration of justice generally

it is right that the administration of justice should be subject to scrutiny – but fairly and constructively bearing in mind there is invariably another side (even the CJ must sleep like the rest of us)

the BA has been active in proposing reforms….the failure to implement is due to other factors

at times the BA has lost the plot in mouthing about trivia

delays are an abomination – though they’re not peculiar to Bim – and there should be a three strike rule….. I’ve written here and in the press about remand prisoners and the lack of understanding of the provisions of the Bail Act.

there was a time when in another place I scrutinized carefully a variety of ‘delay’ situations as I met them daily and proposed solutions…….a Cyclops from BU did everything he/she could to sabotage that, I assume with the consent and prompting of the ‘household’

I was the first to pinpoint the inadequacies of the CJ on BU though for that I was vilified at the time…….since then BU has changed its perception

it is right in all of this to listen impartially without preconception and understand that not all of us are the slightest bit concerned about the status quo …a favourite cop out criticism leveled at me by people who also have THEIR agendas

Right…that’s my position and I’m on record as saying all of those things. I really don’t give a monkey’s how any of it is taken.

Now credit ratings…..Pieceuh listen

First: a man may have a wonderful credit rating and still be a skunk

Second: the point is a fair one in relation to clients of a certain social strata though I’ve yet to hear of service providers like lawyers and doctors, painters and mechanics carrying out credit checks….but if a man’s practice is centred on the underprivileged it’s simply a non-starter. It’s all a question of trust – which works BOTH WAYS….doctors report the same problems….not all of us demand vast sums up front

Third: I didn’t only speak of non-payment as you must be aware since you can read

Humanity is a sorry load of shit. And my point is that the perceived (and real) shortcomings of SOME attorneys is matched by the iniquities of SOME clients and so perhaps it’s time for BU also to look at them….because they are also part of the big picture, they must also be subject to scrutiny

Liked by 1 person

• BU’s attitude to lawyers will continue until we see the BA, a self regulating body supported by statute, step up.

• David
    Rumours circulating to the effect that the GOB has it on good intelligence that most if not all of the Nigerian students are young recruits of Boko Haram from Northern Nigeria. Why did the PM (ag) decide to let them in?

• @Norst

Since you have such good intelligence tell us about BNB Capital Inc.

• cant wait to see the end result of this self fulfilling prophesy, but just like the hero saves the damsel from the railroad tracks when it is all over that money will be found just in time for the lawyers to be paid.
    Now if these fellas wont get on a plane back home when told , how long will it be before they claim refugee status.

• I am concerned about the potential negative and dangerous effect on kurt society if some of the Nigerians are recruits of Boko Haram, not you?
    Who is bnb?

• Of course I am concerned what if they overthru the govt.????

• Donna Hill, the Nigerian student programme organiser is back in Barbados:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64690/nigerian-student-programme-organiser

• @ Colonel Buggy,

I agree with what you said on a previous thread. This administration should be ruthless and deport this group with immediate effect. This would send out a clear message to all individuals or groups that Barbados will never compromise her security by opening up her borders to the strays of this earth.

You must be aware that we are fast becoming the Nigeria of the Caribbean. I have a concern and fear that we too, like the Nigerians, will soon be seeking refuse in foreign countries.

Look at where, almost, 50 years of Negro Tom leadership has led us to.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s