Submitted by Anthony Davis

PRINCIPAL of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Professor Sir Hilary Beckles, has defended a decision to name the new sports complex at the university after Jamaican Olympic and world sprint champion Husain BoltUnease In Barbados Over Decision To Name Cave Hill Sports Complex After Usain Bolt

We are true lovers of things/people foreign. Pray tell me, Sir Hilary, where in Barbados was Usain born?

Why isn’t it being named, as suggested, after Jim Wedderburn, Obadale Thompson, Akela Jones, or any other of our outstanding athletes?

Do we always have to degrade our athletes/artists in such a way?

Is it possible that you don’t want to name it after Akela because you are sexist?

The part about Sir Frank Worrell doesn’t hold water, because Sir Frank had adopted Jamaica as his home, and he was working there.

In any case, I do not only voice my strong opposition to naming the complex after Bolt, I will NOT attend any events at all at that venue!

My money has more sense.

You can give a million reasons for naming it after Bolt, but they all smack of you being nothing but a traitor to those Barbadians who gave/are giving their all for our country!

Charity begins at home, Sir Hilary!

179 responses to “Sir Hilary Beckles Names New Sports Facility After Jamaican Usain Bolt”

1. He’s a clown! Does he EVER consult with other people? First the 3W’s oval and got strangers heading to Kensington…and now this. Stupse.

2. Isn’t Cave Hill a regional university?

3. Extracted from FB

NAKED DEPARTURE – The Trilogy Series added 2 new photos.

6 hrs ·

JAMAICA, Barbadians are having a fit of xenophobia over the decision, below, and as a result these questions were raised: (1) how many Barbadians, if any, have names on sport complexes in Jamaica; and (2) would you want any major complex in Jamaica named after a Bajan? Please give feedback.

THE PRINCIPAL of the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados, Professor Sir Hilary Beckles, has defended a decision to name the new sports complex at the university a…

See More

NAKED DEPARTURE - The Trilogy Series's photo.

4. Hilary is one for excellence. Can anyone indicate if any other track star has achieved the phenomenal achievements that Bolt has? The name Bolt is an easily recognised and easily marketed one.

Say what you want, Hilary is a visionary and should be commended on this one.

5. The flip side is ……………would Jamaica name anything in Jamaica after a Barbadian? Regional university et al?

But hey, what’s in name? Does not bother me! We will soon be accused of being small minded. Look for Bolt to ask that his name be not placed on the facility!

6. In the spirit of regionalism how about renaming Bushy Park the Lewis Hamilton Race track.

Since Sir Garfield Sobers was the greatest cricket all rounder in history the Jamaicans should rename Sabina park in his honour.

7. @Prodigal Son

Isn’t it logical to believe Bolt would have ben consulted?

8. If what we have read in the above submission is correct that Professor Hilary Beckles has named the sports facility at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, after the great and legendary Usain Bolt, we must support the naming of such a facility after such a super talented world class world reknowned black athlete from this region.

It is clear to so many people in Barbados and beyond that the University of the West Indies is still a regional institution. It is NOT a Barbadian institution. Professor Beckles presides over a regional institution based in Barbados, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago and some other places in this region. And has been his duty to – in whatever ways at this Campus – wholly and properly celebrate and pay tribute to the outstanding achievements of persons and other entities – present or past – in or of this English speaking region, not just from Barbados.

We are sure that this is not the first time that Dr Beckles has named some part of the Cave Hill Campus after a non-Barbadian.

We stand by the reported decision of the out going Principal of the UWI Cave Hill Campus.

So, Mr Anthony Davis your missive is absolute rubbish and void of reason, and clearly demonstrates a totally deficient and abject understanding of such matters.

What a nuisance you are!!

9. @Hants

The UWI, Cave Hill is a regional entity no?

Bushy Park, Sabina Park are not.

10. I have no problem whatever in naming the facility after Bolt.As far as i am aware Frank Worrell was Warden at UWI Mona and his name is associated with the cricket field at Mona.Bolt is a super star,beyond comparison and I hope he has agreed to participate in training some of our budding youngsters who would be honoured by his presence here.Just like those detractors who cannot see the fame and fortune of Rihanna,a super star out of Barbados.Her name should already have been on a significant landmark here,for example Prince William Henry Street turns left and right off Broad Street.Either the left or the right turn on that street might be renamed Rihanna Fenty Street.What say ye.

11. We can disagree about who should be named on reason of process but to have a discussion about whether it should be a Barbadian compared to a Jamaican is rubbish.What the debate exposes is how insular we are AND how uneducated we are despite the huge investment in education.

12. Now if we want to question Sir Hilary on his consistency in decision making there is opportunity. For example, why open a medical wing at Cave Hill, Barbados when there is a facility at Mona? Would love to read GP’s view.

13. Steupsss

Sir Cave is as predictable as the sunrise.

He named the venue after Bolt because it promotes HIS personal objectives. Has he not been recently promoted? does he not need to show that he is “bigger than Barbados” ?
    will he not need to impress the Jamaicans of his loyalty and over-riding regionalism?

This man has failed COMPLETELY to recognize his calling to further the EDUCATION (and that includes the building of self confidence, self respect and self reliance) of BARBADIANS.
    He is 100% about Sir Cave….and his legacy.

shiite man…. he sent his children to a white school in order to teach them how to emulate the whites …. what does THAT tell wunna?

David you are wrong. IT DOES MATTER that Barbadians is being told that we do not have anyone worthy of having this LOCAL FACILITY named after them…..and by an institution that has been spending HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS of taxpayers dollars to develop EXACTLY high level Bajan talent…..

Even if Hilary is justified in so naming it, he is condemning himself as a FAILED educator at the same time…..

Note to Caswell…
    …we need to find someone who actually UNDERSTANDS education for that job..

14. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Is that the same facility that was named the Ryan Brathwaite track? Does he get a piece of the Bolt Facility now?

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel January 2, 2015 at 10:01 PM
    “Bolt is a super star, beyond comparison and I hope he has agreed to participate in training some of our budding youngsters who would be honoured by his presence here.”

Well said Gabriel! Bajans have to realize that Usain Bolt is the greatest and most popular athlete the Caribbean has ever produced.
    More ‘popular’ worldwide than the great Sir Garry.
    As a global personality or celebrity from the Caribbean, only Bob Marley can match him.

As for renaming a “royal” street after our girl Rihanna why not name the much promised Cultural & Performing Arts Centre at Brandons after her? After all, the GoB has already secured grant funding for that project since 2011, n’est-il pas alors?

“Finally on a recent State visit to China the Honourable Prime Minister in his very fruitful deliberations with Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao engaged the continued interest of Barbados in developing a dedicated home for the performing arts in Barbados. The government of China equally expressed its desire to see that such a facility could become a reality in Barbados in the very near future.
    To this end, it would be remiss of me to let pass this opportunity to inform the country that following months of analysis and consultation, this government has decided to move ahead with the construction of a brand new multi-purpose state of the art Cultural and Performing Arts Centre.
    It is expected that the Centre will be financed and constructed through a grant from the Government of the People’s Republic of China and it is proposed that it will be located, once the Town Planner approves, on the land at Spring Garden opposite the Brandon’s Beach facility in the constituency of St. Michael North West. Further details on that too will be revealed shortly.”

You hear lie; now that is lie!

King Liar Stinkler performing in August 2011 as a buffoon in your own Parliament Square looking across at Lord Nelson.

16. @Bush Tea

Is it a local facility?

IF Sir Cave is promoting himself what has that got to do with the hullabaloo that the facility should be named after a Bajan?

On Friday, 2 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 2, 2015 at 10:21 PM #
    “Now if we want to question Sir Hilary on his consistency in decision making there is opportunity. For example, why open a medical wing at Cave Hill, Barbados when there is a facility at Mona?”

Now that Sir Hilary has “moved up” the Medical School at Cave Hill will be soon on the chopping block as part of the UWI’s funding and financial restructuring exercise.

18. @David January 2, 2015 at 10:15 PM….We can disagree about who should be named on reason of ”

Hear ye, Hear ye, Hear ye!

@ Bush Tea January 2, 2015 at 10:52 PM…” Even if Hilary …he is condemning himself as a FAILED educator at the same time..”

Whenever you speak here Mr. Bush Tea you is sound so solid that even when your pontifications is be real difficult to ‘overstand’ far less understand ya does sound proper proper. As above

But when u get a chance you need to explicate though how this naming thing show that Sir Hilary is a ‘failed educator’. I somehow lost the ‘sequitur’ between these two things.

And I really can’t understand how as you suggest “this man has failed … to further the EDUCATION (and that includes the building of self confidence, self respect and self reliance)…” can be charged in the same breath of condemning the naming a regional institution after an athlete that all Bajans and others around the world absolutely would love to emulate for his those same attributes of self confidence, self respect and self reliance.

Please clarify Mr Bush, I lost.

19. David you are wrong to say the post issue is rubbish but right to say the University is a regional construct.

Someone said Beckles is a “visionary”. Well yes, a whizz kid spendthrift who actually sees himself from behind without a mirror. I find it difficult to disagree with BT’s assessment of the man. But the decision? Is there a contemporary Barbadian who could equally capture the imagination of the young? Besides, don’t we have a ‘Mandela Park’? I don’t remember an objection to a South African ‘presence’ on Campus. Why is that? Or is Myrie still smarting? In fact, what IS IT that so many Barbadians have against Jamaica? Is it that they DO rather than merely SAY?

20. That is the best post the PDC has ever made on Barbados Underground. Short and to the point. And, what a great point!

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Bush Tea

I would tend to believe with what has presented regarding the utilization of a name of excellence, of a Caribbean denizen, at a regional institution.

This is certainly a situation where a “rose by any other name would smell just as sweetly”

Sir Hilary is not an idiot and in addition to having observed all of the protocols to secure Usain’s agreement in the use of his name, would already have in train the practical aspects of such a renaming exercise which would be the realization of having Mr. Bolt be a part of some training program in Bulbados in the near future.

I would not surprised if it is not leveraged to become a sports tourism initiative and if so it would be a coup for Sir Hilary if there is a continuum of this type associated with the naming exercise.

Sir Hilary may be accused of many things but he is not into waste foopism nor the renaming of buildings and schools as is the sole pastime of the Democratic Labour Party.

Let me also as a closing remark on the “medical facility that is purported to undermine Mona” topic offer another perspective for consideration…a wiser Tzun Tzun-like Sir Hilary.

What if, after all the years of anti oligarchy commentary euphuism for contra buckra johnnie diatribes Sir Hilary, a much wiser warrior, has decided that you can go west from Portugal to arrive in the Orient, notwithstanding the United States, Central and South America?

Has he not been able to secure several millions of dollars from the same oligarchs he cussed, the Sagicors, the Sir Kyfins etc who have funded a not insubstantial portion of the University of the West Indies, under his watch, in clear light of day, with hard dollars from the same fellows he used to cuss in his youth?

Each of us is encouraged to improve ourselves with every grain that passes through the hourglass of our life and for the older warriors while we cant jump over the Yatch Club wall at 60 + we can walk right in the front door without all the fuss, remember the young bull and the old bull on the hill, we don’t have to run down the hill and touch a few of the when we can saunter down and touch them all

22. Happy New Year All.

We have a rising star in Akela Jones. The naming can be postponed until after Rio 2016. We will have a star Athlete by then if anyone feel we don’t have one now.

23. Since when do we have a University of Barbados? Bushie hush yuh mout and go and cut the tall grass round yuh cave do! As David stated it is a regional organization. When yuh ignorant DLP brassbowls named the Eric Holder centre in St. Joseph after the US Attorney General where was your voice???? De man ent done nutting fuh Barbados got nutting to do wid Barbados and wunna party named the centre after him. This is one time I will support Sir Hillary. Ask Mrs Bushie to mek yuh some senna tea to purge dat ignorance outta yuh puhleeze!

24. @ Ross
    I find it difficult to disagree with BT’s assessment of the man. But the decision? Is there a contemporary Barbadian who could equally capture the imagination of the young?
    Boss, this is exactly the point.
    That after fifty years of FREE EDUCATION and almost unlimited resources being made available to people typified by Sir Cave (and now Sir Austin) we cannot find a contemporary Barbadian who could capture the imagination of the young.

Wunna understand the ROLE OF EDUCATION?

Seriously…. the very fact that you people are unable to see the problem confirms Bushie’s brass bowl construct.

This is the same shiite that Owen used to promote (at the urging of the same Sir Cave) – to offer incentives to successful rich foreigners to come and be role models in Barbados – while Bajans acquire meaningless, free shiite degrees and settled for becoming clerks, ass-lickers and lawyers.

No wonder the almost 30 graduates in parliament are so pathetic…

No wonder we all look for some rich white fairy god father to come and save our asses…. we have NO LOCAL means capable of doing so…..after wasting billions of dollars…

We can only hope that we attract kind, sweet and gentle benefactors – hopefully of the Bolt type….

@ DeeWord
    Wuh happen? you is a UWI graduate too?
    what is not to understand…?

Bowls….

25. ac best guess that bushite (bush tea) is trying to muster up some patriotic integrity and reading from the wrong script with closed eyes and comatose by an over indulgence in alcholic beverages on new years eve complicated by years of constipation
    can always count on Bushshit to say nothing is right,the ole geezer has spent most of his time telling every one what not to do,
    A True patriot and a town crier for all things Negative,can.t be easy living a life as a bull shiter fuh sure crtical “thinker “as he prefer to think of himself must first be endured but constant bouts of constipation in effort to form negative opinions .. Bushshite all day cannot be an easy way of life,

26. Where else in the grown up world do you see countries promoting non-nationals as heroes?
    Could we ever have a Tom Clarke Library? A Gabby Carter Auditorium? A Jackie Opel Square?
    ….or will some jackass insist that the Library should be named after VS Naipaul and the Auditorium after Marley?

Steupsss

No wonder the damn children only seek to emulate USA’s NBA stars rather than Sir Gary or Desmond. No wonder there is no RESPECT for anything local -from food to clothes

No wonder our young footballers know every European and South American score, player, and history and don’t give a shit about the local sport….

Then wunna blame the politicians for being just as blind as we all seem to be….

27. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

There are many instances where Barbados is made by its own to appear as CARICLOWNS. This however is not one of them. @ islandgirl249….we hear bout Proper Pork, but you just introduced Proper Point….Eric Holder Centre! Perhaps they meant Eric Holder the Jockey.

28. @Bush Tea

You continue to build your position on the fact the UWI is a local entity. You may disagree with the selection but it cannot be on the basis of nationality. Barbados has no athlete or sports administrator with the high profile as a Bolt and that cannot be denied. Maybe Beckles is showing some leadership cognizant that he heads a regional body located in Barbados. The cricket space was named the 3 W’s Oval, 3 Bajans which was not questioned and there was no basis to do so given Barbados’ cricket pedigree.

29. Sir Pillory Heckles knows all the answers!

30. @ David
    Regional body Bushie’s behind. You think Bushie was born this century?
    Mean like West Indies cricket?

UWI is nothing but a co-ordination of resources in tertiary education.

The Host countries EACH fund and promote their OWN national interest….except the jackass Bajans for the most part who, like CARICOM keep fooling themselves that they are leading some ‘Regional drive’….
    steupsss
    Wuh you yourself raised the introduction of the Medical Facility at Cave Hill by the SAME Sir Cave……that was Regionally logical?

Bushie is talking about THE REAL ENTITY called Barbados yuh….
    Some damn body has to take responsibility for OUR education – OUR children and OUR future.

If we keep on with this non-existent “regional” shiite ….while Jamaica roots for Jamaicans, Trinidad roots for trickidadians and the OECS roots for the others where will we end up…?

….o Shiite, we are almost there already….

31. Sir Hillary man you let me down. Could anyone begin to understand the amount of ‘stick’ those current Bajan students are getting right now from the other students?
    While attending UWI…petti-nationalism was so blatant that to even have a President of the Guild other than a Bajan evoked an emotional war for days.. On Bajan nite…all Bajan students made sure that our event next day was the talk of the campus…(main competition Jmca), with the most exotic foods and bustin patronage, most money…these tings petty as they may sound were real and mystifying. At Campus games on the Hill, JA always sent its cream of the crop to demolish Bajans to dent our pride….and it continued the degradation.

Change that damm name now Beckles ….or else. It is a matter of pride,..past n present.

32. Now that Jamaica has established a world class reputation for sprinting, based on you people’s regional focus, surely our sprint talent (Three finalists in the Commonwealth Games) are fully benefiting from the sponsorship and training opportunities that have opened up for the region …right?

…and Trinidad has kindly made their oil resources available to support the region during the last twenty years of exorbitant prices ….. right?

Bowls….

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Would someone correct me if I’m wrong. Was the sports track originally called the Ryan Brathwaite track? Was that an official designation?

If so, what we now have is a renaming of the track as the Usain Bolt facility. Does that change the equation a bit? Is Sir Cave relying on short memories?

I have absolutely nothing against the honouring of Bolt by naming the facility after him and the points that have been made in favour of such naming are good ones but in this case has due process been carried out?

34. There is too much insularity in the Caribbean.

While we agree with Bushie on the point that the timing was suspicious that is not enough to be critical of this decision.

He will know that sometimes one has to use any lever to get public officials to do what is right. And if we are to have a university, it should regional, from top to bottom.

Wunna live on a general landscape where were we not Bajan we would think we in London or somewhere else. Just go to Bush Hall and the landscape there will give a window into the mind of the modern Bajan.

And we could go on and talk about Nelson and Kennedy and so on

On the Jamaica connection, public figures that Bajans love/loved always seemed to be married to Jamaican women. And there was never an outcry.

So this contrived oppositionist response to BOLT seems curious. We seem to believe that the harder things get in Barbados, the more the country is likely to turn inward and maybe cannibalize itself.

If you have a University of the West Indies, which in itself is a misnomer, but you can’t name a sporting facility after the fastest man of the known worlds, of all times, you might as well shut it down, like some have been trying to do.

That Hilary Beckles is an opportunist of the highest order cannot be denied. That Beckles will use this to parlay his tenure in a higher office in Jamaica, is true. But we have to keep our eyes on the ball. The real action is happening with the reparations agenda.

And on this he is again a prostitute. He accepted a knighthood and will now be demanding money from the Queen of England and Prime Minister Cameron as direct beneficiaries of the profits from slavery.

We could not make this up, folks!

35. We consider that Caribbean people should do everything possible to stop Beckles and Caribbean politicians from selling out our ancestors! These people are not worthy of our trust!

36. Bajans make me laugh.We always laud Jamaicans for their patriotism to inspire their youth athletics and that should we follow suit.Now we have the opportunity, its squandered as usual.

“Frustration in the nation they focusing on the youth,
    the young people in trouble some barely getting through…

37. If our fried Bushie wants to take his argument to its logical conclusion he should then proceed to make the parish of St. Philip a separate country.

For all these islands are no more than ‘sea water and sand’. Saint Philip and maybe the old Saint George always had secessionist tendencies, no!

Independence for Saint Philip, now!

38. @ Pacha
    Anti BOLT !!!!????

…now where EVER did you get that?
    Bolt is in the bushman’s TOP TEN heroes globally, mainly because physically, he represents to Bushie, BBE’s intent when the original human being was designed.

This ain’t one shiite to do with Mr. Bolt.

It is all about Sir Cave.

Imagine Bushie paid a man handsomely for YEARS to whack the bushman’s lawn and take care of the garden.
    Every shiite this gardener calls for – he gets …. no expense spared…

Then last week, when the Bushie grand children come to visit, this man that bushie has been paying to create a top quality lawn – takes then over by the next door neighbor showing off THE neighbor’s lawn and his proper Bolt tree…..

What the hell!!

Joke is that the neighbor did not even pay HIS gardener as much…

Bushie is NOT dissing the neighbor ….OR the sweet looking Bolt tree…

…But bushie’s gardener’s ass is grass 🙂

39. Look ..it boggles the mind why Sir Hillary cannot see it fit to name the venue after Obedele Thompson .. as he is OUR most prominent athelete this rock has ever produced coming third at the Olympics. His Dad if I remember correctly was also a noted Professor in Solar Energy up there and his works the forerunning to the present solar industry….whatever you reason Sir Hillary as a Bajan and current head (F4 the politics)…you need to remember your roots…Cave Hill also bears claim to producing the region’s most Prime Ministers…..think of the psyche of the present and future Barbadians if nothing else…..Bolt for Jamaican- Obedele for Bajans….there can be no odder name…

40. @ Bushie
    Barbados has no propensity to produce the line of athletes which Jamaica has. So if the Bushman has to look next door, there maybe some soft power to leveraged. And what’s wrong with that, the USA does it all the time.

41. old onion bags January 3, 2015 at 9:20 AM #

” His Dad if I remember correctly was also a noted Professor in Solar Energy up there and his works the forerunning to the present solar industry….”

You are referring to Professor Oliver Headley.Oba’s dad was a Professor in History, ironically a colleague of Sir Hilary Beckles.

42. @ Pacha

All you logic is constructed on the misnomer that there is a regional entity in existence to which we own greater loyalties than we do to Barbados.

Bull shit.

On does NOT build national strategies on wishful thinking…. Hopefully, Owen has now come to that realization after seeing where it has gotten Barbados after his expensive and distracting CARICOM expeditions.

43. @Bush Tea

The following was extracted from your 8:33AM comment and example of destroying your own argument. The other universities do it therefore we should follow them.

The Host countries EACH fund and promote their OWN national interest….except the jackass Bajans for the most part who, like CARICOM keep fooling themselves that they are leading some ‘Regional drive’….

44. @ Bushie

My friend, you tekking some warm licks this morning, see wha’ AC had to say ’bout yuh!

45. @Bush Tea January 3, 2015 at 7:55 AM #Wuh happen? you is a UWI graduate too? what is not to understand…?

I could have a PhD from Harvard and it would may no difference to you here.

You want to make a point that has no proper merit so you banging YOUR ‘brass bowl’ as resoundingly as possible.

More power to you sir. The other commenters have said it well.

But this one further point:

I would definitely pay you mega bucks as my PR consultant and speech writer if I was running for political office as your level of obfuscation is excellent:

“.. after fifty years of FREE EDUCATION and almost unlimited resources being made available… we cannot find a contemporary Barbadian who could capture the imagination of the young.”

Sweet.

“understand the ROLE OF EDUCATION”: Let it be know our education must always follow a Bajan first proselytizing otherwise our masses will lose their identify.

As I stated before wrong or right you sound proper.

Bang your bowl sir.

46. @Are-we-there-yet

If all the writings are to be believed the TRACK was named after Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite BUT the facility is named after Bolt.

47. May I remind readers…..not all WRITERS in here ARE BAJANS…..politics and regionalism may well be at place….a word to the wise. Ole Campus days may be alive and well again !

48. Points to note:

Trinidad leveraged its oil resources to CONQUER Barbados. It now OWNS every shiite bout here and is the new Massa…….
    It has LIAT by the balls and It’s NATIONAL Airline don’t give a shit about Barbados or our tourism objectives…

Jamaica leveraged it’s human resources and self-confidence to conquer the athletics world….Benefits to Bajan athletes ….NIL.

meanwhile…
    Barbados wasted its resources changing laws, hosting shiite conferences and entertaining distractions while our businesses went to Port of Spain and Canada and our Sports has gone to the dogs…

We don’t have a decent stadium or a proper Auditorium, The Gymnasium is a money loser and look exactly like what it is – a gift from China.
    The Hockey turf has never been developed or maintained – and was just used to death; Bridgetown itself looks like ……..

Sir Cave takes OUR money and build a track……and honors an admittedly GREAT ……Foreigner…..

And BU brainiacs can’t see Bushie’s problem….?

To top it all off, we have been giving knighthoods to each one of the jokers who have led us to the slaughter….Sir Allan, Sir Cave……now Sir Austin….

….and we cant see why our youth are pissed……?

49. corr :at play

50. 100% backing here to day…..Bush “Mon”….na rasclott..LOL