An Insult to Barbadians and its Sports Program
Submitted by Wayne Pilgrim-Cadogan
Once again Barbadians have been insulted by one of their own. Not only have we become a copycat society, but a worshiper of politicians and also people with titles behind their names and continue to be the laughing stock of the West Indies. After receiving a phone call on Saturday and being asked about my thoughts on the naming of the Sports Complex at UWI in the name of Usain Bolt, I was left in shock since it was the first time of hearing the news and was told that it was in the press. I would not have known that since I refused to patronize one of the local newspapers because they would only print certain articles that I write, because they do not want to mash certain people in Barbados corns.
After reading a copy of the article regarding the issue, it would appear that we in Barbados have a bully who is turning this country upside down and making a path for their own legacy. Barbadians have very short memories and grumble for nine days over issues and do nothing. This particular individual has been embroiled in controversy after controversy over the years going as far back as in 1992 with the Mutual issue and the schooling of their children at a particular supposedly white school. It is because of this individual constant wrangling in those early days, and after getting into a heated argument with my best friend who thought that the same individual was the greatest historian after Eygen Weber or even a Quentin Skinner after he had met him in his office. I had never heard or known the individual to be any great historian or sportsman, or that he was a better historian than any of the other historians that we have here in Barbados or the region. As a result of all the raving surrounding the individual, I have never ever read anything that he has written and will never ever read anything that he writes.
The period after the Mutual debacle is a long trail of controversy surrounding this individual leading up to this latest insult to all Barbadians including his self. This individual wormed himself into the cricketing arena circles locally and regionally and became a bully in those circles. In the West Indies cricket boycott in 2009; he was the bully in getting the majority of the ill-fated West Indies cricket team to comprise of players from the UWI cricket team and a failure for a captain. This same UWI team is the one that leap frog a number of teams through the back door into Division 1 cricket in Barbados. There is a long trail of issues surrounding this individual to mention all. There is the constant issue surrounding university fees with the Barbados government, which the Barbadian tax payers have to subsidize, it’s the Mandela Park (this is a whole issue in its self), the demolition of the chapel at the Lazaretto and now the naming of the sports complex after Usain Bolt. Only in Barbados could this happen, it would not happen in Germany, Canada, USA, Antigua or Trinidad. I can understand Jamaica, he is their hero and all accolades from around the world go to Jamaica. Why is it that we in Barbados are so quick to jump on other territories sportsmen and women achievements and not ours? Or sports writers and sports casters are all guilty of praising up the other territories athletes as if they were Barbadians. I am not saying that we should not highlight their successes and achievements, but we do go overboard in doing so. The individual stated that Mona Campus had named their sports facility stadium after Usain Bolt; I have no problem with that, of all the great Jamaican athletes, sportsmen and women he is the greatest. Bolt is the greatest and probably the greatest athlete of all time that the world has ever seen. Therefore Jamaica has all rights to even name the country after him after taking a referendum to the people of Jamaica. The individual is even bullying Trinidad and Tobago in his statement in the press to follow suit. Sir Garfield Sobers is the world’s greatest cricketer and no other country in the world has named a facility after him or honoured him to my knowledge, not even one of his own Caribbean territories other than Barbados. The individual also based his point on the fact that Sir Frank Worrell has a complex named after him in Jamaica. What the individual did not state as the historian that he is, is that Sir Frank was an outstanding black man of his time, similar as to what Mandela was to black people in Africa, born in Barbados and moved to and lived in Jamaica as a 23 year old in 1947 and was educated in England, broke the colour barrier as the first black man to captain a test team. That he was a Warden of the University in Jamaica, served as a Senator in the Jamaican government, two halls named after him at the Cave Hill campus and Vice Chancellor in Trinidad and a ground named after him. Sir Frank Worrell is listed as a Jamaican in his Biography in the Encyclopedia Britannia. However, there is one other theory floating around, could this be a payback to Jamaica for a past incident?
It would appear that the selected committee was bullied into the decision rather than going to the people of Barbados with a referendum for the naming of the sports facility, who finances the majority of finances to the Cave Hill campus. The facility is a multi sports complex and not only a facility for Track and Field. From the article, it would appear that the learned individual does not have a knowledgeable concept of athletics when he spoke that the track was “extended to facilitate being used for sprints and 100m and 110m hurdles”. There are a number of people that the sports complex could have been named after, Sir Garfield Sobers, Louis Lynch, Jim Wedderburn Reggie Haynes, Lorenzo Best, Anton Norris or one of many others who are all great Barbadians that have contributed immensely to sports in their own rights. Although Barbados has not made any significant strides in terms of sports development since the sixties does not mean that we should not honour one of our own. A local DJ on one of radio stations stated that “no one in Barbados can compare to Bolt”, although that is true and in the whole world, does not mean that we should not honour one of our own. Why not rename the Queen Elizabeth Hospital after Dr. Mickey Waldron or Dr. Richard Haynes, they both contributed to the medical landscape of this country? I would hope that this is not a done deal and that the government of Barbados would intervene in this matter and that of the Mandela Park as it the tax payers of Barbados who has the burden of funding the University and the high salaries and wages of the University. Although Barbadians have a tendency to sweep issues under the carpet that affect them rather than speaking out, I would hope that instead of grumbling over the issue that they would make their disapproval known publically by not supporting this issue, even if it means having to show their disapproval by boycotting all activities there whenever they are held there. This is my personal opinion regarding the issues surrounding the subject of my article.

A very interesting contribution, however, we need to take out the emotion when discussion issues like these.
Let’s look at LIAT……. This airline, whose chairman, Jean Holder, is Barbadian, has Barbados as its main financial contributor, yet the headquarters are located in Antigua. LIAT closed its offices in Bridgetown and if a customer does not have a credit or debit card, he/she must either trek to Grantley Adams International Airport to purchase a ticket or use the services of a travel agency.
Since LIAT is being funded by Barbadian taxpayers, is the writer suggesting to us that Barbadians should benefit from discounted airfares or should government enforce the right to manage the airline or insist the headquarters be relocated to Barbados?
A similarity can be seen in the case of UWI Cave Hill, St. Augustine and Mona. Many of us may not be appreciative of the efforts of Sir Hilary or agree with his naming the facility after Usain Bolt.
However, we must come to the realization that, although UWI Cave Hill Campus is located in Barbados and benefits from taxes in the form of contributions from this island, the university does not belong to Barbados. Neither does UWI St. Augustine or UWI Mona belong to Trinidad and Jamaica respectively.
Collectively, UWI is an autonomous institution, and as such, the principals of these three campuses do not have to consult with the governments of Barbados, Jamaica or Trinidad when making decisions for UWI.
LikeLike
The writer states that he has not read any of the writings of this “individual”. Well I have. His writing is thin. His representation of fact is at times perverse. His historical understanding is limited. I doubt if he ever heard of Namier. His writing exhibits all the fallacies of the Whig interpretation, which is to say he reads the past through the eyes of the present and, as a consequence, raises opinion to the altar of fact. A ‘B?+’ for his writing would be very generous.
Yes, it is an interesting post in which there are many ‘home truths’. Yes, it is emotional but then that’s the way with feelings and precepts deeply held. And yes, Artaxerxes is right to stress the formal status of UWI. And yet……there is an element of the two finger salute to us in this ‘naming’ isn’t there?
LikeLike
And Yes Artexerexes is right on this scorecard .many bajans prefer to practice a style of aloofness and continue to walk on the road of isolation rather than to embraced or seek a model one that is a representation to be inclusive
LikeLike
What a roll from Artexerxes!!
Bushie hope that you wiped …and washed your hands….
LikeLike
“Although Barbados has not made any significant strides in terms of sports development since the sixties….”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
oh shiite Kadougie!!!
……no wonder the people won’t publish some of your articles, too brutally honest skippa….
Wuh you just say that Barbados has not made any significant strides in sports development since Sirostin and Stevestoute took over….
You REALLY expect to say things like that…?
LikeLike
@ Bush Tea January 7, 2015 at 8:06 AM #
“What a roll from Artexerxes!! Bushie hope that you wiped …and washed your hands….”
We all know that you are one of the biggest bashers of UWI and Sir Hillary, so, it is expected what I contributed will be considered as “what a roll” by you, no problem, that’s your prerogative. But it does not negate the fact that the UWI does not belong to Barbados.
Bushie, you seem to want to take the title “blog troll” that Life Changer ++ bestowed on many of us. Accepting defeat or admitting you are wrong sometimes, does not necessarily mean you are less of a man.
Please note BU is the abbreviation for “Barbados Underground” and not “Bushie Underground”.
I await your fury.
LikeLike
I can see why a newspaper won’t publish his correspondence.There just is not that time to waste on editing.
Ross,can you tell us how and what language (was it in French?)Sir Cave described your sojourn on the hill?Loiterer!And……….what John Walter did to your persona such that you cannot even ‘commit’ the departed.Ross,go and bag your head,…humbug!
LikeLike
The more one follows this topic the more one begins to wonder if certain opinions voiced here are centered more on the person, than they are on the actions of that person. If Artaxerxes put down a roll he did so perched on the throne of realism. Nothing would be more pleasing to my eyes than seeing a sign that read ” The Victor Gas Clarke ” stadium hanging somewhere in Barbados. I know though that after the novelty of its symbolism wears off it will be seen as just another name. To LIAT we will still be giving the most while getting least of what it has to offer. To me that is more bothersome. Perhaps Super Centre should still be Super Centre cause that here too, but like UWI it don’t belong to we. Culture Man once held a calypso show to celebrate our independence at the Stadium. The powers that be gave a certain promoter clearance to bring in Jamaican acts to perform on that same date. Guess which show flop bad bad ? Yes bajans made it clear where we stand in terms of loyalty. Bushman you with your whacker should have led a protest back then.
LikeLike
Very nice article and you are right.Just as you can’t expect a horse to jobby oats if it didn’t eat oats you cannot expect reason from the unreasonable.The naming just damn unreasonable.
LikeLike
We see above the buller, known as Robert Ross, seeking to show his lack of intellectual capacities by resting on the name of Lewis Namier.
They say a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing and indeed Ross Robert is a dangerous thing as well when he fictitiously seeks to rest on some would be historical giant. All aimed at belittling the writer of this article.
This wicked buller, Robert Ross, believes it is right to hand pick one single aspect of Namier’s contribution, in the absence of the totality, signal events and general trajectory of his life, and….. represent that sinew as so awe inspiring.
(Sir) Lewis Bernstein Namier was the archetypal Zionist. And while he made a contribution to academia which transformed historical analysis and interpretation, when he is to be presented to us as a one-dimensional figure, outside his broader work, a work which has the capacity to destroy all life on earth, we must expose the misguidance of the buller, Robert Ross.
LikeLike
I love the arguments made by the authour of this piece as he/she seeks to draw a parallel on how Barbadian’s are systematically disrespected while simultaneously asked to bear the major financial burden of supporting many an institution both local and foreign.
Simply put, this can be solved by Barbadians collectively loving themselves and their country and rejecting all others in preference to their own.
I will avoid LIAT at all costs and take alternatives such a private charters and small aircraft for inter-island travel when I can.
Similarly, the UWI debate to me needs not be. If Hillary Beckles is on the path of wastage and glory-mongering, I’d look to attend school elsewhere, even if its exclusively on-line because I won’t be disrespected by the Barbadian Intellectual Untermensch!
LikeLike
Build a BARBADOS HALL OF FAME.
It could be in 3 or more linked buildings. Sports, National development. The Creative arts.
Wha wunna tink?
LikeLike
Hilary Beckles…..certain people people gine STILL target YOU for your “DISSING” of CHRIS GAYLE when you get into Jamaica .
You tink that by naming a sports facility in BARBADOS after Usain Bolt that you “get way “
LikeLike
“Our sports writers and sports casters are all guilty of praising up the other territories athletes as if they were Barbadians. I am not saying that we should not highlight their successes and achievements, but we do go overboard in doing so”
Well said Wayne. Barbados is the ONLY Country in this part of the World that does that.
LikeLike
Should Barbadians allow the myopia of others to shape our decisions?
LikeLike
Well Mr.Cadogan,
Barbadians generally are NOT supportive of athletes unless they are cricketers, though even that is now changing with West Indies cricket slowly dying.
So, maybe the naming was appropriate and reflective of Barbadians attitudes to athletes.
Sorry to say this, but it is true. Just like Barbadians thinking someone is the best piece of sliced bread one minute, one slip and the person is suddenly the worst in the world.
Bajans aint sweet, yuh.
Look how some dis our Lovely and Famous Rihanna. ANy other Caribbean islands, especially Trinidad, would be whooping it up that them got a STAR.
But we???? We?????????? We????
Stupse.
But your point is well made and Happy New Year to You!
LikeLike
Why would usaine bolt be a better choice than ferguson Jenkins his father barbadian a mother slave decendant played for Harlem globetrotters ,star pitcher,the order of Canada honored with postage stamp.
LikeLike
@Wayne Pilgrim-Cadogan “the selected committee was bullied into the decision rather than going to the people of Barbados with a referendum for the naming of the sports facility”
Are you serious? A referendum for the naming of a sports facility? LOL!!!
Bolt is a great athlete he deserves to have things named after him. And UWI is a regional (not Barbadian) institution so why not?
And to besides I like Sir Hilary…one ‘o we own St. Peter home town boys. Big up de UWI Chancellor den!!!
I don’t hear anybody complaining about President Kennedy Drive?
LikeLike
@ Simple Simon January 7, 2015 at 9:08 PM
“I don’t hear anybody complaining about President Kennedy Drive?”
What about the Queen Elizabeth Hospital? Not one cent is received from HRH for the upkeep of that institution.
The current administration is in the habit of renaming and rebranding institutions. Why nor the QEH? Or do we have to wait for the death of some political big-up like Donville Inniss or even Dr. E. Byer?
It is possible Uncle Freddie Miller might just beat them to it.
If not Sir George Alleyne then I am all for our own GP Dr. Georgie Porgie.
LikeLike
Simple Simon
Sir George and Sir Hilary occupying the two posts in UWI.Let’s hear it for Buhbaydus.Hip!Hip! Ross can’t tek this pressure from black academics.This is only the beginning Ross.If you were in Gairy Grenada you would have been frogmarched to Pearls’ airport and kicked out ‘o the Spice Isle,never to come back.Know yo’ damn place Ross.Shut up and have respect ‘fo we boys.
LikeLike
I fail to see where and how this action is causing so much misguided comments and hidden prejudice. I have read the article and all the comments posted to date. The fact of the matter is there’s no ‘Disrespect” towards any Barbadian in the naming of the complex after Bolt. Caribbean unity and respect for our neighbours is seriously in jeopardy throughout the region. It is a far cry to see how we are quick to bash and tear down our brothers and sisters from other islands, yet we find that without their support our little island home Barbados could become obsolete. (CARICOM, is it working for the good of all the region?) What about the court system that is put in place to rule on legal issues that affect the region? Is anyone crying over those who are appointed to administer the laws and regulations? Bolt is a Caribbean national deserving of any and all honors that are bestowed on him. If Bolt was living in the United States as a Jamaican with US citizenship and such an honorable gesture was given to him, all of the US would tip their caps and hats to this great athlete. In Feb 2014 while in the middle of an interview Bolt stop responding to honor the United States. Now that’s respect. There’s talk about Mandela an outstanding African. Not Bajan, Not from the Caribbean region, yet his name and stature can be found every where in the world in recognition of his achievements. No ‘Disrespect” to deserving Barbadian personalities. I see this as another step forward in helping to normalize the relationship of the region with an eye on establishing a stronger Caribbean union moving forward. It is the ties that binds even under seemingly difficult circumstances.
LikeLike
Why don’t we name these places like the Bajan announcers name Rally cars?
LikeLike
Well Well Well….. Cave Hill graduates no doubt….
“But it does not negate the fact that the UWI does not belong to Barbados.”
“Bolt is a great athlete he deserves to have things named after him. And UWI is a regional (not Barbadian) institution so why not?”
“I see this as another step forward in helping to normalize the relationship of the region with an eye on establishing a stronger Caribbean union moving forward.”
One has to wonder what it would take for some people to get the POINT…..
…oh wait, they would have to think nuh…?!
If UWI does not belong to Barbados why have we been paying them billions of our hard-earned tax dollars over the past fifty years….? ’cause we just STUPID so…?
For THAT money, we could have probably sent every damn student to a REAL UNIVERSITY such as Cambridge or Harvard where the majority of graduates are actually competent, respected national ASSETS.
Bold IS INDEED a great athlete. and he is NOT a product of UWI. But here is the REAL question….WHERE ARE THE GREAT UWI-produced Bajans after whom we could have named the stadium? WHERE are the great Bajan UWI alumni after whom JAMAICA can possibly name their next stadium?
…mean wunna people HAPPY to continue spending huge sums of money to produce shiite graduates while Beckles name everything in Barbados after foreign greats?
…is THIS “another step forward in helping to normalize the relationship of the region”….??? LOL oh shirtt .. ya mean with OUTSIDERS owning every shiite and bajans picking at the crumbs…?
Steupsss….where ignorance is bliss…..
PERHAPS HILARY IS RIGHT TO HONOR PEOPLE LIKE MANDELA AND BOLD, BUT IS HE RIGHT TO FAIL IN HIS RESPONSIBILITY TO PRODUCE TOP QUALITY BAJANS WHO ARE AT THAT LEVEL?
No wonder the boss of Republic bank here was on the radio yesterday bragging about how sweet things have been for his bank…They have us by the balls….
wuh um is he say again…?? “shut up and stop complaining cause things ain’t that bad….”? ha ha ha ….BIG profits fuh days….while bajans scrunting.
What he really meant was… “try and bend over and tek it like a man do… wunna still got Vaseline….use um….”
brass bowls….
LikeLike
Too much emotionalism is involved in arguments such as these, thereby preventing both supporters and detractors from thinking through the issue thoroughly and rationally.
Those individuals, who use the cloak of patriotism to argue against the naming of the facility in honour of Bolt, when faced with a similar issue, may take a different position, especially if the “naming” is in favour of an individual who, although being a Barbadian, may not meet their approval.
For example, some persons who are NOT in favour of UWI’s intensions, may have expressed similar sentiments when, in 2009, the government of Barbados renamed the Tamarind Hall Complex in Blackman’s, St. Joseph, the Eric Holder Jr. Complex, in honour of him being the first African American Attorney General, because, in their opinion, Holder is not a Barbadian.
They would have probably preferred the complex to be named after a prominent Barbadian who made a significant contribution to this island’s judicial system [Sir Frederick Smith immediately comes to mind].
Conversely, others would have argued for this course of action based on the fact that, although Holder was born in the USA, his father was a Barbadian who migrated to the US when he was 13 years old.
Additionally, based on the widespread enthusiasm expressed by many Barbadians after Barrack Obama was the first African-American to be elected president of the USA, if the sports facility existed at that time and was named after him, I’m sure there would have been no public outcry.
And all this argument about naming facilities to honour Barbadian sportsmen, and Sir Frank Worrell’s Bank Hall residence has remained in a dilapidated state under both political administrations.
LikeLike
@Bush Tea
If you are so much in a tizzy at a regional entity being named after a great West Indian, imagine how you will react to the changes soon to be released down by the Riverside being handed-down from Port of Spain.
LikeLike
Wuh changes David? Tell we nuh. Don’t keep we on tenterhooks.
LikeLike
The great man!
LikeLike
mean you missing the point too…?
What the hell is in a name?
The REAL problem is the extremely POOR QUALITY of bajan intellect, Bajan quality, and Bajan manhood …..such that we HONESTLY don’t have anyone worth the genuine honour of having national assets named after them.
How long has bushie told you that VOB is the PR arm of OCM….. an organization designed to degrade and overwhelm Barbados and Bajan brass bowls…?
Bartel – C&W – LIME
BS&T -Massy
BL&P – EMERA
BNB – Republic Bank
Paradise Park – BOLT Stadium
2 million dollars – Mandela Park
VOB – OCM
…..This is about what Bajans DESERVE…… it is what all brass bowls deserve…
LikeLike
@Bushe
Of course we have Bajans who can be named like Oba, Ryan, Sir Garfield, Malcolm etc.
@Simple Simon \ VOB is about to be rebranded Massy style. Every Shiite the Trinis rebranding in Barbados. Wonder how Denis and David feel BUT they are rationalist so it should be alrite.
LikeLike
“If UWI does not belong to Barbados why have we been paying them billions of our hard-earned tax dollars over the past fifty years….? ’cause we just STUPID so…?”
Obviously, the above is an uninformed comment. A similar argument could be made about LIAT.
Some individuals accuse others of lacking the ability to think, but in actuality their thinking [if it could be described as thinking] is somewhat myopic, and a similar description could be extended to their comprehension skills as well.
Constantly attacking the intellectual abilities of UWI graduates seems to suggest, whereas they hold graduates of foreign universities in much higher esteem, those from UWI are idiots. This is the thinking of a real “brass bowl”.
I am NOT in favour of naming the facility after Bolt. But my opinion should not prevent me from exhibiting some level of rationality when examining this matter, nor hinder me from coming to the realization that, in the Caribbean, certain status quos [ceteris paribas] will remain the same.
The reality of this situation is quite simple….. how many of those who hold strong positions on this issue, will take “the billions of our hard-earned tax dollars over the past fifty years” into consideration, and petition MoE Jones and the government to prevent the naming of the facility after Bolt, instead of posting shiite?
LikeLike
look iam sitting here and whistling under the tamarind tree with eyes cast skyward and having a moment of conviction assigned to self (that) this was a practical and decisive move by Sir hilary with an intent to heal open wounds between the two nations,, and yes there are many. Although this may be a thought that might never have captured the imagination of some ,there is a boldness and a message sent that would forever capture and re vibrate through out the carribbean nation making barbados stand head and shoulder as an equal to those international giants which proudly represent themselves as peace makers,
a message of peace and goodwill towards their Caribbean brothers and sisters,
so lets all leave pettiness and quarrelsome attitudes behind borne out of righteousness, and boldly take hold of a baton one in which we can cherish and be proud of and to be living in a country that has set a model and a standard of peace and goodwill for others to follow
LikeLike
correction ..borne out of “self righteousness”
LikeLike
@ Artax
Boss, you do much better sparring with ac over what we accept as local politics…and Bushie IS undeniably a brass bowl too …. else he would find better things to do.
….. but alas, a whacker has to whack…
YES ….in answer to your point that “A similar argument could be made about LIAT.”
Sir, NORMAL people do no throw valuable resources into assets that they do not take ownership of, or get CLEAR benefits from…. OK?
Admittedly, BAJANS do it ALL the time…. YOU explain that without using the “brass bowl” analogy if you can…
OK….Now you are NOT in favour of naming the facility after BOLT.
Listen Artax, what Bushie is NOT in favor of, is having THE MAN who we pay to mold “Bajan BOLTS” continue to fail so spectacularly, and then having the GALL and disrespect to brag about OTHER PEOPLE’s spectacular success……while we pay through the nose….
Well, at least it is easy to follow the other UWI graduate (Simple Simon’s) logic ….. … she “likes Sir Hilary” …. he cute…and from Sen Peter….
Brilliant and succinct…..
steupsss
Look…wunna can have the last word –
– as the Boss is wont to say when lost for words… 🙂
LikeLike
@Bushie
We have travel this road before, whenever we critique the UWI the alumni will feel they have to defend because their honour, pride and reputation is connected to the reputation of Cave Hill. We have to be able to separate being proud of the institution by what it has achieved and what is required to sustain its relevance in a competitive world.
LikeLike
don/t pay bushite no mind he is way too old to see beyond self pride and pettiness , hard to teach an old yard dog new tricks,
we live in a gobal world every thing we do and say is placed undr a microscope, if barbadians continue to take the approach that the approach of self interest is the best way towards a more secure nation, they do so at their own peril, the outside world never sleeps and does not forgive or forget easily without seeking reprisals,
LikeLike
What is playing out in France at the moment highlights how important it is to constantly encourage critique of our democratic system to ensure it stays relevant to the society AND the region. This is why the management of education in the region and all that comes along with it is so important.
LikeLike
Why not Valery Borzov stadium and get in on the ground floor of Cuba’s soon rags to riches story. Come you must sounds like communist make them feel welcome get the BTA working on it Myre stadium has a nice ring to it, instead of paying her that could have been a better option at least she has visited the island recently
LikeLike
@Bush Tea January 8, 2015 at 6:07 AM”Well, at least it is easy to follow the other UWI graduate (Simple Simon’s) logic ….. … she “likes Sir Hilary” …. he cute…and from Sen Peter….Brilliant and succinct…..”
@David January 8, 2015 at 6:14 AM “We have travel this road before, whenever we critique the UWI the alumni will feel they have to defend because their honour, pride and reputation is connected to the reputation of Cave Hill”
Sorry to disappoint de 2 ‘o wunna….but I have NEVER stepped on UWI’s premises, nor have I ever been associated with UWI in any way in my whole in my life.
But still I like Sir Hilary…I like that he is a St. Peter boy…and I think that he is cute.
LikeLike
Of course Bolt is cute too as well as being a superb athlete.
I doubt that the hater Bushie is cute.
LikeLike
Pass!!
LikeLike
An interesting side to all this is …..who contributed the most to the building of the track….
LikeLike
Another interesting side, Onions, to the overall debate including the VOB re-branding is simply ‘to the victor go the spoils’.
To a very clear extent Bajans can appreciate that our bragging rights of 99% literacy, excellent electoral process, friendly people and so on has been well surpassed by our high-cost of living, developed country look/behavior with a developing country mentality, no natural sustainable revenue generating resources.
A country of our size (as explained in detail in the Caricom blog) needed to be services center of excellence and we have fallen away from that (if we ever where, really); so here come those who have the money and heft to claim their spoils.
For all us objective Bajans: we punched above our weight for generations. We have lost the mojo and skills.
Eric Williams’s remarks (1 from 10 = 0) always intrigued me because frankly it was so practically true. Who is this little Barbados trying to be a magufffy (taking some poetic license with that debate back then).
We can rant all we want but the Trinis called the bluff then and won and they sure haven’t bluffed about picking up our corporate assets in the last 20 years.
Trinidad and Tobago with Barbados!
Painful but alas it could be worst…!
LikeLike
correction : …(if we ever were, really);
LikeLike
@DeeWord
A quick examination how are handling the Nigerian student issue should make us question our readiness to deliver world class service.
LikeLike
…there is said to be more to the Nigerian issue than meets the eye….Dr. Donna et al
LikeLike
Donna St.Hill posted to BU once until the usual suspects got to her and reminded about the establishment etc. She is invited to give us her unvarnished side. Based on what BU has been made aware we suggest to all to follow the money.
LikeLike
@David:
Several posts back we had a brief chat about the BCA and putting matters at the meetings. Then I was quite tempted to write a letter to Pres Garner but being out of the loop for several years now I didn’t think it would be even acknowledged.
So here are some questions posed in a column from Pat Rosseau ( I presume the this being the former WICB President) that you or any other blogger who may be a member and inclined to write and attend an upcoming meeting should explore (unless these have already been answered somewhere in the press; I am not aware)
Comments/queries were:
(http://www.wisdenindia.com/cricket-article/wicb-guilty-discrimination/141254)
Whether these remarks above are true or not it is my view that Cameron should resign. But if he is actually employed as an Exec Pres then he will not resign willingly.
I also do not recall that there was ever any provision for the position of Exec President in the original constitution when the current iteration of the WICB was incorporated.
LikeLike
@DeeWord
Will post to Facebook and spread the word.
LikeLike
David the bottom line is this.
What did the Students pay for and what did they get.
They must have been given a document/brochure stating where they would be staying and the mode of transportation to and from school.
If they were Canadians we would know the facts because this story would be on the TV, Internet and the mainstream newspapers in Canada.
We need a resolution to the problem that is fair to the students and their concerned parents in Nigeria.
LikeLike
It is not that difficult to provide air fares, rooms, food, ground transportation, health insurance, and laundry services for 90 students. UWI does it all the time. BCC also hosts a number of foreign students. I hear talk of 10 million dollars. Is that 10 million BDS or 10 million US.
The company or individual running the program should have asked for competitive bids for all the various services, and should have personally inspected the lodging.
Today I read in the Saturday Sun the health concerns of one of the students. The student’s health concerns should not be in the media. However it caused me to wonder whether provision has been made in case one or more of the students get sick or have an accident. Who will pay their medical bills? Delta State/ The organizer? The taxpayers of Barbados? If a student needs to be repatriated because of illness who pays?
LikeLike
”Trinidad and Tobago with Barbados!”
And all it takes to nullify this, is to purchase goods and services, including financial services, from local entities. Small businessmen (who will then grow), credit unions etc.
Give credit unions full financial entity operating status.
LikeLike
You think foreign banks would be talking about moving if the deposits now in credit unions were in their accounts?
The other cherry is credit card servicing. Give credit unions that ability.
LikeLike
I’m sorry I didn’t re-enter the arena earlier. A friend has referred me to dear Gabriel, the man who can’t let go. But first
Harry Turnover
Apropos Gayle…I’m sure you’re absolutely right.
Pachabanana
I see you’ve been internet culling again. But of course, you rightly draw a distinction between Namier as historian and whatever else. Sadly, however, consistently with the kindergarten school you allow the latter to warp your comments about the former which is actually a form of lying. Nothing new from you. Have you read the “Structure of Politics’? If so, we must discuss it sometime.
Gabriel
They tell me your attempts at wit and spleen are on a par with your efforts on the pianoforte – which is to say TERRIBLE.
However, I’m reminded of the Graham Greene novel ‘Monsignor Quixote’ in which a similar fate – though formal suspension – befell the hero. His response was “Bugger the Bishop”.
You never managed high office yourself, did you? I suppose that must hurt. Never mind. There’s always BU.
LikeLike