Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

The Spaniards had a saying that when God wants to punish us, He answers our prayers. There are those who were praying to see the sleeping giant of the Democratic Labour Party awakened. That giant has now been awakened  – Prime Minister of Barbados Freundel Stuart

We are all human beings and like the more primitive of our kind intelligence is said to separate homo sapiens from the primates. In the animal kingdom where the strongest and fittest stand the best chance of survival we  accept there is a natural order in the environment, all part of maintaining the ecological balance. However, there is that quality which defines success in our kingdom; the human spirit. There is probably merit to the perspective the human spirit embodies all the qualities that allow us to apply intelligence to life’s challenges. It is latent to overflowing depending on the human subject. BU believes it is the indomitable human spirit within some of us that determines our ability to overcome life’s challenges and ultimately our success or failure.

The indomitable spirit found in some members of homo sapiens can be easily identified in our ‘leaders’.  They seem to possess qualities that galvanize them to find solutions and to get others to share their positions especially in the face of adversity. In the majority of other human beings that indomitable spirit seems to be a latent quality and they are happy to follow like sheep behind the shepherd. Some leaders come along who are able to stoke the latent spirit in the many for good,  others do it for bad. Sometimes there is that manufactured leader who is thrust on the majority and unable to stroke the spirit (motivate) of the many.

In the worst of times a leader will find a way to communicate with his people. The leader will be able to communicate a message of empathy yet hope – the listening population will derive strength (confidence) to soldier on because even though there is darkness around them they are able to visualise a flicker of light in the distance. Sir Winston Churchill and Adolf Hitler are often cited as examples  of leaders who were able to catalyse a people.

In the last general election Prime Minister Freundel Stuart was able to arouse many Barbadians by uttering these few words ‘’… giant has now been awakened…’’. Many were pleasantly surprised at the verve demonstrated by Stuart on the campaign trail and in a close general election result many are of the view it played a part to sway voters on election day.  What has transpired post general election day shows that Mr. Integrity mamaguy Barbadians. After the St. Phillip South result sealed a Democratic Labour Party victory Stuart delivered a passionate speech and promised Barbadians an amendment to election laws based on what he witnessed with his two eyes. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart who promised so much has retreated to his comfortable position of quietly going about his business. One may safely conclude he lied to Barbadians when he assured them the giant had awaken. A case of a politician feeling comfortable with doing what is political expedient. No surprises some will say.

Everyday BU is privy to stories of ordinary Barbadians who visit the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) for care to broken limbs, to investigate lumps about their bodies etc. and after days of waiting have to look to the private healthcare for remedy. BU is aware of students who have had to suspend studies at the university because of financial hardship because parents have been retrenched. BU is aware of the neighbourhoods where garbage pickup is monthly when not too long ago it was twice weekly. BU is aware the many roads which crisscross Barbados are in an embarrassing state of repair. BU understands the country is experiencing difficulty and it is for this reason a leader’s role whether political or non governmental assume importance. Give the people hope. Leadership is not to foist braying ministers of government on Barbadians. Leadership is not to do nothing while the successes achieved since Independence disappear because of zero depth on the backbench. It is to understand that in difficult times the majority of people need that latent human sprit stoked and stroked.  You get it right and ordinary people are likely to dig deep and strive to do extraordinary things which the times require.

203 responses to “In Extraordinary Times Leaders Lead”

1. Artarexes

Do not fret yourself!
    Dr. Estwick cannot leave the DLP and the DLP will not get rid of him.

I told you so already . Dr. Estwick down by Hoodees knocking back a drink and laughing at how he have David (BU) and Sanka “pornography” Price looking for goat shit in an elephant pen!!

2. Two jackasses together!

3. @ Fractured BLP | December 7, 2014 at 10:55 PM |

“I told you so already . Dr. Estwick down by Hoodees knocking back a drink and laughing at how he have David (BU) and Sanka “pornography” Price looking for goat shit in an elephant pen!!”

Fractured [DLP], you done know Estwick likes to call a BLUFF, but each time after all his HUFF and PUFF, he always show us [and more importantly, his constituents] he is pure FLUFF.

If he keeps up these outbursts, I’m sure next general elections for him gine be a tad ROUGH and retaining his seat [and creditability] will be a bit TOUGH.
    Why? His constituents and the people of Barbados will send a strong message that duh fed up wid him and…… “ENOUGH is ENOUGH”.

So, leh he laugh and knock back drinks at he bar, he aint got to buy dum, de drinks gine mek he personality more GRUFF.

4. Al Aqsa Brigade Avatar

Dr Estwick has set the record straight today in the Nation News Paper.

5. Green Green Grass of Home Avatar
    Green Green Grass of Home

I don’t know what Estwick is on about now. Let the industry die a natural death. Clearly he does not see that his cabinet colleagues are not interested in the those who will go in the ‘breadline’.

6. Green Green Grass of Home Avatar

The only people to be affected will the old ones working in the fields, so Sinckler and the boyz don’t care much for them. The irony of this sugar fiasco is astonishing considering Barbados’ history.

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes;
    The really important part of the post from Fractured above is;
    Do not fret yourself! Dr. Estwick cannot leave the DLP

Just think on what that cannot is actually saying. Why could someone categorically, and so far demonstrably, say that a big intelligent and presumably independent medical Doctor with a mind of his own cannot leave a political party?

Is it a message to one person but transparent to those who have eyes to see?

8. Green Green Grass of Home Avatar

I don’t think the goodly doctor is a man to threatened into a position. Some of his clown colleagues might think so but that don’t make it so.

9. The dishonesty of The DLP , will make the PM and his Ministers suffered with the mind sicknesses we have not seen before , why ? Clico policyholders money that was stolen to buy the the 2008 victory and the many lies
    God don’t sleep

10. So what is the bigger picture here..Dr. Estwick?or what is in the long term and best interest of the country?
    Firstly all and sundry especially the Blp malcontents must figure out that question.
    Using Dr.Estwick comments as a political battering ram against Cabinet decisions to rack “up” and score cheap political points in the upcoming next election not going to work.
    If the Blp was soooo interested in the redevelopment and restructuring of the sugar cane industry .why didn,t those with the authority and financial clout put measures in place to ensure the industry longevity.
    I have poised two relevant questions for the blp malcontents. I know aftercareful thought and consideration the answers would be the usual lambasting and dog sh.t response

11. ac
    This is about money sunshine.
    Do you appreciate that the MOF and the PM are supporting an alternative deal with Sagicor, Tate & Lyle and Florida Crystals where Barbados would remain a bulk sugar producer????
    The PM and MOF have sold out their Minister of Agriculture but thankfully he was wise to the plot and got out before them leaving them in the uncomfortable position of having the failure of the sugar industry around their necks.
    LOL.

12. @Grace Fuller
    The DLP ministers have a history of what going on now with them,
    but this time, a devil power is in the mix, its the money, the stolen Clico policyholders money, and the dishonesty have them ,what little thinking minds they had, is has gone , it is only a matter of how much DAMAGE
    IS DONE TO BARBADOS

13. @Grace Fuller
    The DLP ministers have a history of what going on now with them,
    but this time, a devil power is in the mix, its the money, the stolen Clico policyholders money, and the dishonesty have them ,what little thinking minds they had, it has gone , it is only a matter of how much
    DAMAGE IS DONE TO BARBADOS

14. What is in the long term and best interest of the country?

I was in discussion with a few bus drivers yesterday, who came to the location where some friends and I were enjoying a few Banks beer [yeah, I does drink local].

Although admitting some drivers are to blame for some of the tardiness occurring at TB, the minister, Michael Lashley has to take full responsibility.
    They informed us the “cutting back” in many routes was his idea, passed onto management, and the new routes times were seemingly designed for the private transport owners to make profits. For example, the bus services to St. George, St. Joseph, St. John and St. Philip have been significantly reduced.

Another concern they raised was the time schedules, for example, a driver reaching the end of his route is given a specific time to leave, which coincidentally, is usually a time set that gives the privately operated buses a chance to “pickup” majority of the passengers.
    They complained of being rostered to work from 6pm to operative services for 4 routes, including the 12:05am “last bus”. Between 6pm and 12:05am, that driver is expected, for example, to go to routes such as Bathsheba, a St. George route, Sam Lords Castle and return to town in time for the 12:05 am to Edey Village. With a schedule as tight as this, they usually have to forgo one of the routes.

All this, while the Transport Authority have been issuing new ZR and mini bus permits to cover these routes, as well as issuing additional permits to already overcrowded routes.
    An individual who was present [and who lives in Lashley’s constituency] agreed with the drivers and admitted being offered a taxi permit but refused. According to that person, Lashley’s current policy of granting permits is one of political expediency.
    The drivers also mentioned the DLP were critical of the amount of permits issued during the previous BLP administration and challenged us to find how many permits were issued recently, since Lashley became minister of transport.

As the political realities unfold in Barbados, along with the lack of corporate governance, transparency, rogue ministers, the inability to effectively manage the economy and other affairs of this island, I’m sure many of us would agree “what is in the long term and best interest of the country” is for the administration to demit office and call a general election……. Even if we vote fuh de PDC.

15. @ Dear Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart,

It would be wonderful to see you raise your head above the parapet and speak out about the levels of corruption in Barbados.

Your counterpart in Iran, President Rouhani , has recently spoken out about the level of corruption in Iran. He stated that money once “given under the table now is being given on the table”. He could well be discussing Barbados.

Please reference the link that I have enclosed (Ref: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-30378662). Apparently corruption is taken very seriously in Iran; and in some cases the transgressor may be executed or imprisoned.

I guess that there must be many individuals who carry out business in Barbados and perhaps politicians, past and present, who must be relieved that they are not subjected to such scrutiny as their counterparts in Iran.

My final point to you would be this: if you feel that you are incapable of dealing with the absurd, high levels of corruption in your country; then you should step down from your post and allow someone who has the resolve and inner strength to rid Barbados of corruption at ALL levels.

I wish you a good day.

Yours faithfully,

Exclaimer

16. @ are-we-there-yet | December 8, 2014 at 7:21 AM |

Artaxerxes;
    The really important part of the post from Fractured above is;
    Do not fret yourself! Dr. Estwick cannot leave the DLP

Just think on what that cannot is actually saying. Why could someone categorically, and so far demonstrably, say that a big intelligent and presumably independent medical Doctor with a mind of his own cannot leave a political party?

Is it a message to one person but transparent to those who have eyes to see?
    …………………………………………………………………………

Bajans have a saying that goes “not one of them can tell each other come back”. They all appear to be corrupt! Power corrupts! Dont forget they were in opposition for 14 years!

17. @ David | December 7, 2014 at 8:54 AM |

“The act of issuing an ultimatum is insubordinate behaviour by Estwick and betrays the collective code of cabinet. Will this require another meeting at the house of Inniss? At a time when we need a government focused on managing the affairs of country we have to tolerate this inept behaviour and lack of leadership. This has been simmering from the E11 episode.”

You are asking why “we have to tolerate this inept behaviour and lack of leadership.” Some individuals think Fruendel epitomizes good leadership, example being the below excerpt:

“ac | November 26, 2014 at 11:59 PM: FS unlike OSA has not used forceful measures to hamstring and cagoule his minister ,that is a good sign of a leader who is self confident and a reassurance of trust and goodwill amongst those with whom he works or interact on a day to day basis…”

18. VANCOUVER — With seven countries now turning away imports of Canadian poultry due to a Vancouver-area outbreak of avian flu, federal officials are rushing to contain the highly contagious virus before it can infect farms beyond the Fraser Valley.

19. When I started to read this I thought they were talking about Toronto or Vancouver.

Are there that many same sex “families” with children in Barbados?

“Many of today’s children are being confused by their parents who are in same-sex relationships or who have multiple partners. – See more at:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60439/-sex-turmoil#sthash.ggQ6RqZQ.dpuf

20. In the final analysis it is all about the long term best interest of country collectively ( being) society and economy and not aa sole individual interest needs and hurts..putting country first is all that matters the rest can be resolved at the ballot box

21. Exclaimer | December 8, 2014 at 11:31 AM |

@ Dear Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart,

It would be wonderful to see you raise your head above the parapet and speak out about the levels of corruption in Barbados.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Captain Kelly , an Officer,at my Training Depot, was in charge of the Butt Party on the Army Rifle Range . During a lull in the shooting,out of curiosity, he raised head above the safety of the parapet, and was shot dead , right between the eyes. (true story)
    The PM may be playing it safe.

22. Artaxerxes,

We still have some way to go, organizationally, politically, and socially, BEFORE we capable of taking up the reins of government in this country.

Notwithstanding the political realignment that has clearly been taking place in the political system of Barbados, we in the PDC and wider CUP must be cognizant that we sufficiently balance, pace and position ourselves methodologically, strategically, and politically, to the extent that we are able to ensure that the vast majority of people of Barbados are the major beneficiaries of the main social and other consequences of this realignment away from the DLP and BLP.

23. @ Artaxerxes | December 8, 2014 at 12:22 PM |
    “You are asking why “we have to tolerate this inept behaviour and lack of leadership.” Some individuals think Fruendel epitomizes good leadership, example being the below excerpt:

“ac | November 26, 2014 at 11:59 PM: FS unlike OSA has not used forceful measures to hamstring and cagoule his minister ,that is a good sign of a leader who is self confident and a reassurance of trust and goodwill amongst those with whom he works or interact on a day to day basis…”
    …………………………………………………………………
    Artaxerxes,
    Freundel Stuart was never a leader or will never be, he is dead wood that has floated to the top. Follow his political career and you have to conclude he is not of leadership material.

For a man who spouted off so much class hatred all his life, I am or should I say, I am surprised that he seem to like the life of the rich and famous. It would be interesting to find out how many times he ever traveled when he had to pay for an airline ticket. The man just seem or came over as a cheapskate.

So in order to maintain this new found privileged status, he has to allow his ministers to do what the hell they like as he cannot touch one of them even though they serve at his pleasure. If wants to remain as PM, he cannot tell them a word. Dont you keep hearing of Inniss telling him off in cabinet meetings? Dont you see he cannot talk to Stinkliar over this Estwick fiasco?

Estwick will do nothing, he has no credibility and all of them like the power too bad! These men who were nobodies prior to 2008, all of a sudden are now “magguffies” and wheeling real power, you think they will do anything to shake that up? So Fumble gets what he wants……….let them do as they like and he keeps being PM even if in the meanwhile, country Barbados is being destroyed as they are inept and incompetent and have not a clue how to mange a country.

Dont mind the yardfowl ac’s rhetoric above, Freundel Stuart has to let his minister do as they like if he wants to remain PM…………..while Barbados slowly is on his way to becoming a failed state.

24. @ Prodigal Son | December 8, 2014 at 2:38 PM |

“So in order to maintain this new found privileged status, he has to allow his ministers to do what the hell they like as he cannot touch one of them even though they serve at his pleasure. If wants to remain as PM, he cannot tell them a word. Dont you keep hearing of Inniss telling him off in cabinet meetings? Dont you see he cannot talk to Stinkliar over this Estwick fiasco?”

Prodigal, I have to associate myself with your above comments. The DLP supporters and apologists would want us to believe Stuart is the hallmark of good leadership. However, so far since becoming PM, he has demonstrated a lack of ability to be a good leader.
    His leadership has been challenged by 11 ministers, Donville Inniss often contradicts what he says [i.e. Inniss expressed dissimilar views on Stuart’s economic citizenship idea], and Estwick has made it a reoccurring habit of challenging him in public forum each time he [Estwick] does not get his way.

And what is Stuart’s response?…….. Silence.

25. “Silence is golden, too bad no one is buying.”

26. @Artaxerxes, it certainly should not apply to the Leaders of a country.

I was waxing nostalgic from my days as a lead guitarist.

27. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;
    Re. your 3:37 pm post; Where is Dockie Roberts these days? Last I heard of him he was in Canada.

28. Hants | December 8, 2014 at 1:39 PM |
    When I started to read this I thought they were talking about Toronto or Vancouver.
    Are there that many same sex “families” with children in Barbados?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Who knows what happens behind closed doors. In many of the communities today , a neighbour may arrive home in a heavily tinted car or SUV, press an automatic gate and garage door opener, then enter a heavily draped home. Such people are known only by their car number plates. ie 1S E 1-2 or RU1-2 .

29. @are-we-there-yet ,

Re Dockie, I have no idea.He was a very good rhythm guitarist.

30. Any body paying attention to falling oil prices. Bajans should be concerned.

Or wunna gine continue to get wunna eye jook out?

It is time Bajans find out how much is paid for imported fuel and what contracts have been negotiated for “futures”.

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants; Thanks!

My not-so-agile memory suggests that the lead guitarist for BRC in those days was Mannie (Leslie?). I also have’nt heard anything of him for decades? I think he, like the late Clifton Glasgow, had a Thousand Voices guitar which he was really adept at

Do you have any idea who was indeed the BRC’s lead guitarist as my memory might be playing tricks on me, and what became of him?

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;

Re. the oil prices, I seem to recall that sometime soon after the 2007/8 elections that the new Government spelt out their new policy of pricing of OIl products and that it entailed using “futures” contracts almost exclusively.

Perhaps someone could look back at relevant posts around that time to, at least, get some idea of what was the new pricing policy at that time. I don’t think there were any significant changes in that policy since then.

33. @ Hants | December 8, 2014 at 4:19 PM |

“Any body paying attention to falling oil prices. Bajans should be concerned. Or wunna gine continue to get wunna eye jook out? It is time Bajans find out how much is paid for imported fuel and what contracts have been negotiated for “futures”….”

Oil prices????? Man, shiite yuh, we busy focusing on “Obama’s immigration policies”, “Eric Garner choked to death by police officers galvanises protests nationwide” and “Why not abolish the grand jury”. Just look at the amount of comments those posts attracted.

You feel with all that action going on in the USA, we got time to think about oil prices?

34. @ Colonel Buggy | December 8, 2014 at 2:09 PM |

Are you suggesting that our beloved Prime Minister, Freundel Stuart, could meet a similar fate to, the unfortunate, Captain Kelly if he were to raise his head above that parapet? Were this to occur it would be like killing two birds with one stone. Firstly his miserable reign would be terminated and secondly the local population would be ecstatic.

35. Any feedback to what Ambassador Bobby Morris had to say about Barbados and corruption?

36. some yardfowls so silly they squawk and cackle about everything, Now it is where bajans spend their time on BU,,,,
    from yesterday the same ole tired drumb beat,,
    now i believe there is a message in that about face for the BLP ,,sick and tired of hearing the same ole dog sh,,te over and over again.. deal with it,,
    PM stuart was right wunna a bunch of troglodytes

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dr. David “Clown-Prince” Estwick please give the country a break from your nonsense. You cannot accuse your Cabinet colleagues of not acting with fidelity and sensibly remain among them.

38. boy have DR Estwick brought out the minions out of the blp closet,, like Estwick give a rats a,ss what these dodo birds have to say,,

39. speaking of gas prices,, does anyone calculate the distance that americans travel on a daily basis to get back and forth ,most americans spend an average of 2,000 annually on gas and that does not include toll fees and parking fees which are not cheap,, which can run them in excess of about 1.200 annually
    yes gas prices are high at home but comparatively americans still spend more money on travel just to get back and forth to work than barbadians, think on these things,

40. Ac

You call that an argument?….Don’t they work for A LOT MORE?.. A policeman on the beat gets about $5,000 Us- $10,000 Bds….and they say that is chicken feed. Surely now you can do better than that…

41. ac
    I am made to understand a private in Bdos..gets about $1,700 per month…you see what I mean?

42. no i do not see what you mean everybody is not a professional in america and even so those who work less are not exempt from these complusory fees, my point being that bajans pay a one time price for gas and distant for travel does not play a significant factor ,unlike americans where travel can be for miles back and forth to work (alone) and which can double or triple the amount of money paying for gas,

43. We have had Estwick with his constant outbursts and allegedly pulling a gun on Dale Marshall; Ronald Jones’ speech about “shooting people and cracking heads”; Sinckler proving time and time again he is not only incompetent… but a liar too; Stuart’s inability to control his cabinet; after so many promises and 3 ministers of health….. the status quo at the hospital remains the same; government departments breaking the labour laws by paying former workers 7 and 8 months after they were retrenched; an inefficient public transport service, a DLP associate charging $766,855.24 to review a contract, etc.

Obviously, comments on the performance of this present DLP administration would be similar, since they keep making the same mistakes over and over expecting different results.
    And obviously their yard-fowls would respond to these comments with the “same old dog shiite over and over again.” Six is half dozen….. deal with it.

Ironically, was is not the “same old dog shiite over and over again” when we were constantly bombarded with talk about the “mess”, Greenland, missing UDC houses, cost over-runs, Arthur depositing $75,000, GEMS, Hardwood Housing, in-fighting in the BLP or the $11,000 ackee tree and the $300,000 golden shower.

Rather than to label ALL critics of this administration as BLP yard-fowls, I suggest the lead DLP shiite bucket should counter attack the critics by presenting initiatives formulated by DEMS [from credible sources, of course] that would serve to inform us of the good things they did for the country during the past 6 years and 10 months they held the reins of government.

Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about entrusting the affairs of this island into the hands of a bunch of “wild boys”. Therefore, judging from the inept and bombastic behaviour as well as the incompetence of these DLP politicians, it seems as though Arthur was correct.

44. Artaxerxes,
    Were I not so tired now I would have started the list of all the nonsense these dems have done since 2008. I will do so soon!

45. @ old onion bags | December 8, 2014 at 8:45 PM |

“You call that an argument?….Don’t they work for A LOT MORE?.. A policeman on the beat gets about $5,000 Us- $10,000 Bds….and they say that is chicken feed. Surely now you can do better than that…”

Onions, I agree with you, this is a foolish argument. According to the US department of Labour, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 [BD$14.50] per hour. The current minimum wage in Florida is $7.93 [BD$15.86] and Washington DC $8.00 [BD$16.00].
    According to the US Energy Information Administration, the average price of gasoline per gallon is US$2.73 [BD$5.46].

Now, what the hell does distance travelled have to do with gas prices? Let us compare the distance an individual travelling from his home in Connell Town, St. Lucy to his job in South Point, St. Philip 5 days a week to a similar distance in the US. In the US distance may be compensated by a reliable ferry, bus or subway system, whereby an individual would drive to a certain point and take either mode of transport to travel to work.

46. Price of crude closed in NY today Dec 8th 2014, at US$62.90 a barrel.Why the hell is Barbadians allowing this Government to make its people pay thru their noses at BDS3.58 a litre(US$1.79)The only beneficiaries to this artificially high price are business places which compute their sales on the high price and even when it comes down that high price remains.Of course the Government is powerless to do anything.Its too busy doing nothing.
    Btw Barbados slipped 2 points on the corruption scale.Is there then any truth that there is corruption in either high or low places in Barbados?
    Transparency seem to be saying so.
    So Mr Caricom Ambassador has got a protocol in place with the Trinidad authorities.I seem to read into the release that there is now an agreement for record keeping.Henceforth we will know how many flying fish the captured boat and crew had.How much rice and potatoes.What is the height and weight of the crew.What is the name of the boat.What is the capacity of the boats engine etc etc.I guess we are getting somewhere because the last man to say there was a breakthrough in 1987,Mr Breakthrough Greaves actually left the job empty handed as did the garrulous empty talker also a St Lucian like Mr Breakthrough,the shop keeper from half moon fort who promised all the NCC workers that there are investors lining up to invest in Barbados and they will get jobs real soon.Barbados,a shining star up to 2008.Now a failed State with bare foot scumbags galore in bully pulpits.
    Estwick.?The man should be properly examined.The man screamed in 1999 in the Ivy.We want powa.Gih we powa.Gih we powa.I couldn’t understand the fellow Sinckler.He was shouting and incoherent,His language was not bajan.The man was out of control.
    According to a post yesterday,it is suggested that EWB termed FS a coward.EWB was always short on words when it came to people he did not think anything of.If EWB say that, he had to know something.

47. Ac

See the doctor…truly now…..you are SICK. I neva heard a bigger ball of shoite…and I am being honest