Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

The Spaniards had a saying that when God wants to punish us, He answers our prayers. There are those who were praying to see the sleeping giant of the Democratic Labour Party awakened. That giant has now been awakened  – Prime Minister of Barbados Freundel Stuart

We are all human beings and like the more primitive of our kind intelligence is said to separate homo sapiens from the primates. In the animal kingdom where the strongest and fittest stand the best chance of survival we  accept there is a natural order in the environment, all part of maintaining the ecological balance. However, there is that quality which defines success in our kingdom; the human spirit. There is probably merit to the perspective the human spirit embodies all the qualities that allow us to apply intelligence to life’s challenges. It is latent to overflowing depending on the human subject. BU believes it is the indomitable human spirit within some of us that determines our ability to overcome life’s challenges and ultimately our success or failure.

The indomitable spirit found in some members of homo sapiens can be easily identified in our ‘leaders’.  They seem to possess qualities that galvanize them to find solutions and to get others to share their positions especially in the face of adversity. In the majority of other human beings that indomitable spirit seems to be a latent quality and they are happy to follow like sheep behind the shepherd. Some leaders come along who are able to stoke the latent spirit in the many for good,  others do it for bad. Sometimes there is that manufactured leader who is thrust on the majority and unable to stroke the spirit (motivate) of the many.

In the worst of times a leader will find a way to communicate with his people. The leader will be able to communicate a message of empathy yet hope – the listening population will derive strength (confidence) to soldier on because even though there is darkness around them they are able to visualise a flicker of light in the distance. Sir Winston Churchill and Adolf Hitler are often cited as examples  of leaders who were able to catalyse a people.

In the last general election Prime Minister Freundel Stuart was able to arouse many Barbadians by uttering these few words ‘’… giant has now been awakened…’’. Many were pleasantly surprised at the verve demonstrated by Stuart on the campaign trail and in a close general election result many are of the view it played a part to sway voters on election day.  What has transpired post general election day shows that Mr. Integrity mamaguy Barbadians. After the St. Phillip South result sealed a Democratic Labour Party victory Stuart delivered a passionate speech and promised Barbadians an amendment to election laws based on what he witnessed with his two eyes. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart who promised so much has retreated to his comfortable position of quietly going about his business. One may safely conclude he lied to Barbadians when he assured them the giant had awaken. A case of a politician feeling comfortable with doing what is political expedient. No surprises some will say.

Everyday BU is privy to stories of ordinary Barbadians who visit the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) for care to broken limbs, to investigate lumps about their bodies etc. and after days of waiting have to look to the private healthcare for remedy. BU is aware of students who have had to suspend studies at the university because of financial hardship because parents have been retrenched. BU is aware of the neighbourhoods where garbage pickup is monthly when not too long ago it was twice weekly. BU is aware the many roads which crisscross Barbados are in an embarrassing state of repair. BU understands the country is experiencing difficulty and it is for this reason a leader’s role whether political or non governmental assume importance. Give the people hope. Leadership is not to foist braying ministers of government on Barbadians. Leadership is not to do nothing while the successes achieved since Independence disappear because of zero depth on the backbench. It is to understand that in difficult times the majority of people need that latent human sprit stoked and stroked.  You get it right and ordinary people are likely to dig deep and strive to do extraordinary things which the times require.

203 responses to “In Extraordinary Times Leaders Lead”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Nothing will change in Barbados until the DLP and BLP are removed,
    Audit them all and take back what was taken , By the time law is done with them they will be at NHC or UDC looking for Housing,

No time Limit on Fraud, Ask Madoff and Standford,

2. @ David
    Bushie begs to second that proposal for AC to be banned for a specified period….. in an attempt to improve the quality of the blog.

It has become clear that, except for brief periods immediately after MR AC returns from Arizona and French Connects (UK) her, the woman is a loose cannon, ….and an incoherent foul mouthed model at that…

Man ban her ass nuh…!!! 🙂 …how about until Freundy wakes up and grows a set of cajones…?

3. u ignoramus how many years u been singing that same i tune , Professor brass bowl ,so much fuh leadership yet u come on BU talking about BUP .,, and PUP ,,fuh eight years u been asking fuh ac to be banned ,if any one needs to be banned is U starting a brew ha about new ideas and leadership and yet to get one member of the BU join u asinine wacky BUP and PUP, .u cant even manage uh own blog but got nuff dribble about how other people should manage their sh,,it,,, brass bowl,,,

4. @ AC
    …one of these good days David will answer the fervent prayers of a righteous bushman …. and ban yuh ass fuh good….
    …patience is a virtue yuh hear…?

…and Bushie’s party is called the BBE Boys…..currently practicing our whacking skills in readiness…to deal with weeds, slugs and snails – You wait 🙂

5. @Bush Tea

Why not try visiting her FB page? Oh shiirte!!!

6. the devil and his demons out in full force,, now the speckled hen has his own witches brew all spiced up .. unbelievable,

7. @ David
    No thanks D……
    Bushie is averse to torture….

8. Green Green Grass of Home Avatar
    Green Green Grass of Home

Based on Barbados Today reports it looks like the DLP/Stuart Cabinet is not big enough for Chris SInckler and Dr. David Estwick and someone has go to ‘go’. I fear this is the beginning of the move for Dr. Estwick to become an independent MP, thereby joining his good friend Owen Arthur.

9. @ old onion bags
    @ Artaxerxes

Brace yourselves for the harsh realities of the ministerial statement which the Stinkliar will deliver on Tuesday. So no debating! He really thinks he is clever…………he is not outfoxing the Opposition, the DLP deliberately continues to think Barbadians are stupid.

One day coming soon they will realise that Barbadians will take only so much and no more. Nine days before Christmas and he is coming to deliver more bad news! Son of a …………………

10. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

11. @ Prodigal
    By all indication Sleepy plans to be in Canada to enjoy a white Christmas…to hell wid DEM….Chris cud grill nah, Esse cud leff (an go where?)…Sealy cud steer the ship a-ground ..it doah matter to a Sleepy once ee mekk ee mind to sleep….it mekk up

Anybody pass down BlackRock lately by Kentucky and seen the piles of garbage….shocking…Pass there yesterday and the stench almost kill muh..Yipes!

12. @ old onion bags | December 10, 2014 at 7:58 AM |

“Anybody pass down BlackRock lately by Kentucky and seen the piles of garbage….shocking…Pass there yesterday and the stench almost kill muh..Yipes!”

Onions, you ent went in Oistins lately? There are two skips opposite the complex where “Granny’s” that does sell the livers and gizzards located, overflowing wid nuff garbage and smelling real, real stink. Oistins is a tourist attraction ……….. and more so on weekends.

You think Richard Sealy or Denis Lowe does go up dey?

13. @ Prodigal Son | December 10, 2014 at 1:38 AM |

“Brace yourselves for the harsh realities of the ministerial statement which the Stinkliar will deliver on Tuesday. So no debating! He really thinks he is clever…………he is not outfoxing the Opposition, the DLP deliberately continues to think Barbadians are stupid.”

Yes Prodigal, it may not be a clever move by the worst MoF this island has ever had, but one of strategy or one of being cautious. So, perhaps the ministerial statement is the better choice between the two options.
    There are a few things we must take into consideration. The budget speech must be debated in parliament, and as you know, it’s almost year end and we have not had the speech as yet. Hence, the DEMS have to consider the availability of all their ministers to attend parliament.

Then there is the Estwick factor. Estwick presently has a creditability issue, and it would be very interesting to find out the position he would take, if Sinckler announced more austerity measures in the budget proposals.
    You must bear in mind Estwick is on record as having admitted the DLP’s policies are responsible for the state of the economy, to the extent he spent time preparing alternative economic strategies, which he experienced some difficulty in presenting them to the cabinet. Additionally, as indicated by his stance on the sugar industry, he seems to be in favour of saving jobs.

The party may see Estwick as a “loose cannon” and, if it came to a vote, he could either vote with the opposition or abstain, thereby leaving the DLP in a somewhat precarious position.

14. “The budget speech must be debated in parliament,………….” This is incorrect. There is not constitutional requirement for a budget debate. The constitution speaks about estimates in mandatory terms but certainly no so about a budgetary statement. Also the moment the MOF make the a Ministerial Statement pursuant to Provisional Collection of Taxes Act, the contents of that statement become Law, with or without a subsequent parliamentary debate.

15. @ Grace Fuller

So what you sayin..D ole Boys Club frighten that a poodle…lick ova D cart?
    ….worth nutting more than a long stuppessss !

Time to send somebody to pick up the stinkin garbage boys….Esse and all this trite is just that….D garbage is more important than a rubber teet dog pretending to bite you….

Anyway sensible Bajans ( from reading other blogs) are well aware of DEM diversionary ploy….Try AGAIN !

16. @ Grace Fuller | December 10, 2014 at 10:17 AM |

“There is not constitutional requirement for a budget debate. The constitution speaks about estimates in mandatory terms but certainly no so about a budgetary statement. Also the moment the MOF make the a Ministerial Statement pursuant to Provisional Collection of Taxes Act, the contents of that statement become Law, with or without a subsequent parliamentary debate.”

According to the Constitution, CHAPTER IX: FINANCE – Estimate 108.
    1. The Minister responsible for finance shall, before the end of each financial year, cause to be prepared annual estimates of revenue and expenditure for public services during the succeeding financial year, which shall be laid before the House of Assembly.

Ok, point your point is taken.. thanks for the correction.

PLEASE NOTE MY DISCLAIMER, I AM NOT A LAWYER NOR AM I AN EXPERT IN CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS. I have a bad habit of trying to understand everything I read.

However, your comments caused me to do a bit of research as well. Correct me if my interpretation is wrong, but, although a budgetary statement is not written in law, does the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act “facilitates” the process of the budget?

On reading both the Act and the Constitution, I have noticed certain inconsistencies. The Act was supposed to be enacted on June 30, 1967 and I have not been able to find out what it has either replaced or repealed, as according to Chapter 3 of the Constitution re: Protection of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms of the Individual – Saving of existing law:
    26. 1. Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any written law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of any provision of sections 12 to 23 to the extent that the law in question –
    a) is a law (in this section referred to as “an existing law”) that was enacted or made before 30th November 1966 and has continued to be part of the law of Barbados at all times since that day;
    b) repeals and re-enacts an existing law without alteration; or
    c) alters an existing law and does not thereby render that law inconsistent with any provision of sections 12 to 23 in a manner in which, or to an extent to which, it was not previously so inconsistent.
    26. 2. In subsection (1)(c) the reference to altering and existing law includes references to repealing it and re-enacting it with modifications or making different provisions in lieu thereof, and to modifying it; and in subsection (1) “written law” includes any instrument having the force of law and in this subsection and subsection (1) references to the repeal and re-enactment of an existing law shall be construed accordingly.

Also, I have been unable to find information pertaining to an amendment of the Constitution that would clarify the Act. So, based on this evidence, would I be incorrect in implying that the Act is “unconstitutional”?

Are you saying the MoF can only make a ministerial statement if it has to do with collection of taxes.?
    Would you care to explain the MoF’s ministerial statement on December 13, 2013 relative to 3,000 civil servants being retrenched by March 31, 2014, which became law, and its relation to the “Provisional Collection of Taxes Act”.

17. @ Grace Fuller | December 10, 2014 at 10:17 AM |

“The budget speech must be debated in parliament,………….” This is incorrect. There is not constitutional requirement for a budget debate.

As I have indicated earlier, as it relates to law, you are indeed correct.

However, I stand by my statement……. if there is a budget speech, and in keeping with precedence, it must be debated in parliament.

I think you are just raising a “red herring”.

18. David you said that some of the government ministers read this blog regularly.

Surely the MOF would have seen the chart and the links posted on this blog.

Surely he knows how to google words and phrases like “CRUDE OIL PRICES, BRENT CRUDE, AIRLINE PROFITS, FORTUNE,FORBES,

Every forecast I have read shows oil prices less than $70us per barrel.

The price of gas at the pump in Barbados should be $2.40 bds per litre. That is just my layman’s opinion.

19. Aratxerxes

You said: “There are a few things we must take into consideration. The budget speech must be debated in parliament”.

That is not correct. There’s no requirement for the Budget to be debated in parliament. What you see going on in Parliament called the Budget Debate is a sham designed for entertainment only.

20. @Hants

Dee Word was it who made a sensible suggestion. In light of low oil price and the forecast for the immediate future the government should contract now to benefit and amend the pride mechanism to flatten the price point. Of course this may create pressure on the fx.

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Sorry I did not see Grace’s comment before I wrote. However, I would like to refer you to an article I wrote in 2011. Please follow the link below:

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/is-the-budget-process-illegal/

22. @ Caswell Franklyn | December 10, 2014 at 12:58 PM |

“That is not correct. There’s no requirement for the Budget to be debated in parliament. What you see going on in Parliament called the Budget Debate is a sham designed for entertainment only.”

Mr. Franklyn, did you not read I admitted Grace Fuller’s point was taken?
    And did you not read my other contribution relative to my thoughts on the Constitution and the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act?

Arguing if there is a requirement for a budget debate or not is a trivial issue compared to the legality of the process that facilitates, as you say, the “sham designed for entertainment only”.

23. @ David sometimes politics gets in the way of common sense.I will not add to this since anything I say might get me (and or you ) into legal trouble.

24. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I saw them after I commented.

25. Hants exactly yours and all other opinions”laymen”however for good measure you and all other layman can also put both feet to the fire as a testimony to all that. you have been said by becoming dutiful warriors displaying the guts and determination and goodwill like those ministers past and present prefacing to serve the country

26. So Estwick is giving the PM an ultimatum? That’s according to last evening’s Barbados Today.

What the heck is this?

Anyway, no one takes Estwick seriously. All fluff………and have we not seen this act played out so often over the last few years? He had the DLP’s back against the wall during the Estimates and had he cared more for country Barbados than the DLP, just maybe our country would be feeling better about itself now. For one we would have gotten rid of Freundel and Stinkliar.

Just today on the OCM news we heard that the minister of finance in the Bahamas resigned and is moving on. He seemed to know what he was doing according to the commendation of the PM……… instead we have a bozo here who does not know “squat” about economics but refuses to resign and continues to f up this fair land!

He should go after his ministerial statement on Tuesday and let Barbadians have a good Christmas. Is this too much to hope for?

27. Artaxerxes | December 10, 2014 at 9:06 AM |

Onions, you ent went in Oistins lately? There are two skips opposite the complex where “Granny’s” that does sell the livers and gizzards located, overflowing wid nuff garbage and smelling real, real stink. Oistins is a tourist attraction ……….. and more so on weekends.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    And a added health risk at Granny’s , and Lowdown Hoad has jokingly made mention of this elsewhere. At Granny’s the Ketchup and Mustard and what ever, is a self service feature, from containers placed on a table. I’ve seen men regularly urinating at the back by those sheds, and God knows what else, then walking into the restaurant, order stuff and proceed to handle the condiment containers without washing their hands.
    The health people should stop this unhealthy practice and make food sellers issue individual sachets.
    As a people we have lost it

28. @ Colonel Buggy | December 10, 2014 at 3:11 PM |

“And a added health risk at Granny’s , and Lowdown Hoad has jokingly made mention of this elsewhere. At Granny’s the Ketchup and Mustard and what ever, is a self service feature, from containers placed on a table. I’ve seen men regularly urinating at the back by those sheds, and God knows what else, then walking into the restaurant, order stuff and proceed to handle the condiment containers without washing their hands.
    The health people should stop this unhealthy practice and make food sellers issue individual sachets. As a people we have lost it…..”

I agree with you 100 % Colonel, there are definitely some health risk issues at Granny’s, not only with the condiments, but in their food preparation processes as well……. too much grease.
    In fact, the overall conditions in Oistins, amongst some of the kiosk owners, and the surrounding areas, are very unsanitary. It also baffles me as to the reason why [and unfortunately so] people like to destroy the toilet facilities that are provided for their use.

29. Prodigal Son | December 10, 2014 at 3:08 PM |

So Estwick is giving the PM an ultimatum? That’s according to last evening’s Barbados Today.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    After his Cuban trip, Mr Stuart may come back , prepared for Mr Estwick, armed with a few tips from Fidel and Raul. And as the Cubans are leaders in medicine, they may have implanted a pair of balls in him.
    http://imgur.com/ZlktP9A

30. “However, the Minister of Agriculture did suggest that Sinckler should be both “reprimanded and charged”, after stating that Cabinet had been misled on the proposed US$250 million Barbados Cane Industry Restructuring Project (BCIRP).”

Wuh I caaant!

31. Errol Barrow whom these Dems worship must be churning in his watery grave.

When the dead king returned as leader after ousting Clyde Mascoll, Estwick went on a VOB program and lambasted the dead king…………Sleepy Smith called in and said if he had his way, Estwick could not cross the doors at George Street again………. must be saying ………..I knew I was right!

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel

Implanted balls are made from Teflon: they don’t work.

33. what if the price of oil being kept the current price is the make the books look good for the pending sale?

34. One can now easily understand why the late Thompson could see it fit to back bench his then longest serving Parliamentarian Deniss Kellman for so long…….he fulla gas..ROFLOL

35. Prodigal Son
    Nobody didn’t pay any mind to Sleepy then and truth be told, nobody don’t pay any mind to him now. So whatever he got to say about Estwick ain’t really relevant.

36. Sleepy is a has been and further more someone else in politics is more deserving of the name Sleepy than Smith.

37. The BU legal gurus may find this interesting.

You have the right to remain silent but Police can search your cel phone without a warrant.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/cellphone-searches-upon-arrest-allowed-by-canada-s-top-court-1.2869587

38. It is the Minister of Financial Services in the Bahamas that resigned. Not the Minister of Finance. The Minister of Finance is the PM Christie

39. One has come to accept that Caswell Franklyn is just hell bent on tearing down anything good in this island with his lies and political filth.
    Where is the evidence of generic drugs killing people in Barbados? Where is the evidence that the policies pursued by Donville Inniss as Health Minister failed?
    With his determination to make tough decisions in healthcare that affected several in his constituency, I had a bet that Inniss could never win a seat again. I lost my bet and I have in retrospect come to respect Donville Inniss as one of the brightest ray of hope in either Party. Damn, he is fearless, articulate and willing to take on his own Party. He and Mia would be a dynamic team to run this island. And I believe there are the same age (Mia a bit older).
    So Caswell, go and take your Prozac (branded one), before you right your foolishness. You are becoming desperate and pathetic now. Go retire

40. There is a new twist to the sugar industry saga facing Barbados, as one of the world’s most powerful sugar and multinational agribusinesses resists moves by the island to end it exports of bulk sugar to the United Kingdom.

Officials of Tate and Lyle’s Sugars (TLS) have been seeking to get the Ministry of Agriculture rescind its decision to stop supplying the commodity to TLS, which is the only sugar cane refiner in the UK, providing 850 jobs at its Thames refinery in Central London.

However, Minister of Agriculture Dr David Estwick has been insisting that it made no sense for the island to persist with its sale of bulk sugar to the EU at a “massive” loss. He has further suggested that the only scenario in which bulk sugar production makes financial sense, is at the domestic and regional level where Barbados could take advantage of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy rules of origin with respect to importation of sugar.

However, this position is not sitting well with the UK’ sole sugar refiner, which, according to Barbados TODAY investigations, has now enlisted the support of the British High Commission in Bridgetown.

Last month, the High Commission, through it Trade & Investment division, wrote to the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture Esworth Reid seeking to arrange a meeting between local agriculture officials – including Minister Estwick – and the top brass of Tate and Lyle to discuss the matter.

However, Estwick declined to meet with the officials and instead sent his Chief Agricultural Officer Barton Clarke as the Government’s representative at the talks.

In the letter dated November 7, 2014 – a copy of which has been obtained by Barbados TODAY – the head of Trade & Investment for Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, H.S. Howell, sought to make a case for this country to continue selling bulk sugar to TLS in London.

“By way of background, TLS – part of the ASR Group – purchase (and has done so for many years), all of the bulk raw sugar exported from Barbados with preferential access to the EU,” the letter said.

It noted that in 2012, the value of those sugar sales to Barbados was about 11 million US dollars.

The British official was also at pains to inform the Permanent Secretary that TLS was currently facing “existential challenges” as a result of changes to the EU sugar regime.

“The amendments will liberate the production and sale of beet sugar and isoglucose products in the EU market from October 2017. They will tend to drive down the price of sugar in the EU, which has traditionally been higher than world prices, due to the regulation,” Howell noted.

However, he told Reid that imported raw cane sugar was covered by the European Partnership Agreements.

And to press home its concern regarding the Government’s decision to cease bulk sugar exports to TLS, the senior official said that sourcing the commodity from traditional suppliers such as Barbados was important to its operations.

“It also means TLS have a shared interest in their sustainability and success,” added the letter.

The trade and investment official also brought to light plans by TLS’ parent company – American Sugar Refinery (ASR) – to take control of the Barbados-based West Indian Central Sugar Cane Breeding Station (WICSCBS) as part of moves to make major inroads into the local sugar industry.

It informed the Permanent Secretary that the plan would improve the sustainability of the breeding station in Barbados by joining forces with other Florida cane growing companies to widen membership in the Sugar Association of the Caribbean (SAC), comprising Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana and Belize.

The letter further revealed that this plan would contribute a pro-rata basis of cane ground, meaning that TLS and ASR would pay the lion’s share of the running costs, thus relieving the other SAC members of any responsibility.

The UK official said in the correspondence that the two companies were seeking Barbados’ support for this initiative and that was one of the reasons the Senior Vice President and International Relations Advisor at Tate and Lyle Sugar of London, Mac McLachlan, and President of Redpath Sugars in Toronto Jonathan Bamberger were trying to have a meeting with Estwick.

But in a letter to Minister Estwick after meeting with the TLS representatives, the Chief Agricultural Officer reported that a company called Florida Crystals, which recently bought over the Belize Sugar Corporation, was owned by the same Tate and Lyle, which were all affiliates of ASR.

Sources told Barbados TODAY that Florida Crystals had been advising a group of local industry stakeholders who recently withdrew an alternative plan to rescue the struggling sugar industry.

Tate and Lyle has also had meetings in recent times with the Barbados Agricultural Management Company as they were concerned about the Government’s proposal for transforming the sugar industry from bulk sugar production to “a multipurpose sugar cane industry, producing food grade sugars, electricity and other downstream products to ensure the economic viability of the industry,” Clarke warned Minister Estwick.

emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

\

41. If you read the above carefully you will appreciate the real nature of the dispute between Estwick and Sinckler. Estwick favours restructuring the sugar industry and creating value added products like refined sugars and electricity while Sinckler supports Sagigor/Barbados Farms to keep the sugar industry in Barbados as a exporter of bulk sugar and importer of refined sugar from the same Tate & Lyle.

42. One of the two is a man of substance and commitment to national development and the other is a man of nothing with a commitment to anything.

43. @ David [BU]

Funny enough, barring Plantation Deeds, one notes that, as is exemplified by Grace Fuller’s submission above, people are no longer posting things that declare unambiguously that ” Chris Sinckler is a man of no substance with a commitment to nothing that shows any national bearing”

Is there some sudden fear of postings that Michael Lashley has elicited by his “Brownshirt Goebbels move?” With the Omar Watson incident?

If what the ole man, in seeing through a glass darkly, is true it might beg a column which is posted solely on the protections afforded by WordPress (and even a hint of your “server meltdown” procedures when the DLP, and BLP rabid dogs that they are, will come a-hunting AGAIN)

44. @PUDRYR

Let them come.

BU family members are encouraged to post comments and let BU be the judge.

45. Barbados sugar industry in trouble.
    Barbados rum industry in trouble.

Is a feasible to grow enough sugar cane to produce “Barbados Exclusive” premium Rum and “:Barbados Crystal” premium sugar ?

Importing molasses to make cheap rum may be ok but “100% made in Barbados” would be a good for marketing Premium products.

46. Perhaps we should invite Tate & Lyle to take over those once productive sugar plantations,now in bush and grass in St John, St Thomas , Christ Church and now St Joseph. And while we are at it, throw in the fast becoming rust bucket, Andrews Sugar Factory.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | December 12, 2014 at 6:17 PM |

With that kind of “foreign” ownership and management we would then see how productive and proficient black Bajans can work. Those plantations and estates would again be so well maintained and manicured in such a way as to make the Chelsea Flower show extremely envious.
    Rural Barbados would once again be a shining tropical miniature of the English countryside as it was once dubbed by National Geographic.