Submitted by Charles Knighton
Suleman Bulbulia

Bulbulia said Islam did not preach violence or terrorism and groups like al-Qaeda and ISIS, though claiming Muslim roots, operated outside the teachings of Islam.” Muslims: No terrorists here, headline page 6 article, October 20 Nation

While I believe the accuracy of this article’s headline, actions always speak louder than words. When one considers the current state of world affairs, does it not foster a sense of uncertainty in the general population at the motivations of local Muslims who wish to establish an exclusive Muslim community in Barbados?

Just this summer, many Muslims marched in the streets of London, Paris and other cities to condemn the deaths of Gazans at the hands of Israel. Even in Bridgetown a small group of Muslims, accompanied by Barbados’ patron saint of questionable causes, Mr. David Commissiong, staged a protest. But where are the demonstrations against the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria’s horrific, wide-scale slaughter of Christians, Yazidis, Kurds and fellow Muslims?

Yes, many Muslim clerics and Arab leaders have spoken out (again, words) against ISIS’s depraved aggression. But where is the outrage and passion among mainstream Muslims, who should be furious that fanatics have hijacked their religion? Despite their condemnatory words, does this silence on the part of mainstream Muslims, and silence is an action, indicate their tacit approval?

To much of the non-Muslim world, the brutal extremism of Isis, al-Qaeda, Nigeria’s Boko Haram and other Islamic terrorist groups has come to represent Islam. Muslims cannot respond by mildly saying that what the extremists believe “is not Islam” and by dismissing the events in Iraq, Syria and elsewhere as someone else’s problem. Muslims must either reject the Islamic State and groups like it in the clearest possible terms, inclusive of military force, or the rest of the world will come to think of them as masked men with knives, gleefully butchering people in the name of Allah.

238 responses to “Islamic States Must Clamp Down on Extremism Mr. Bulbulia”

1. […] Islamic States Must Clamp Down on Extremism Mr. Bulbulia […]

2. If you make 50% of your population wear bags, you will be a basket case.

It’s OK to be a basket case. Totally fine.

Just try, please try, not to interfere with the large bit of the world that is not a basket case. Can you do that? Don’t want our women in bags, or clitoris-free. Don’t want that, understand?

3. Whence, in fact, come the women in bags I see in PriceSmart?

One guy followed by four black bags. Whence the black bags? A husband and four wives?

4. Is there a single Muslim-majority country on the planet that isn’t a basket case, apart from the tiny number of Muslim-majority countries that happen to be isolated by desert sitting on top of a large amount of non-renewables?

Serious question.

Name one. Just one.

5. @Charles Knighton “Muslims must either reject the Islamic State and groups like it in the clearest possible terms, inclusive of military force”

I expect that many Muslims are just like me they have no knives, nor guns, nor tanks, nor bombs, nor any weapons of any kind, and just like me they are afraid of the people with knives, guns, tanks, and all kinds of weapons.

Call us cowardly if you like. But if a man is armed with a machine gun and I am armed with my two long arms I ain’t fighting wid he.

6. Dear Jack Bowman: There is no need to be disrespectful by referring to the women’s abaya’s as bags.

Women all over the world do whatever it takes to catch and hold a man (I am not too sure why, since so many men are more trouble than profit)

Some cultures require a woman to wear a black abaya.

Some cultures require women to shave their legs, underarms and pudendum so that even middle aged women feel compelled to appear hairless and childlike (I am not too sure why)

Me I love natural hairiness and since my people have lived within 15 degree north or south of the equator for millions of years I love to feel the sun on my bare skin, so no abayas for me.

No shaved pudendum either.

7. This article artfully continues the prosecution of 1.7 billion for the actions of an infinitesimal lot. I’m confident that no matter the condemnation of Muslims for egregious acts, it will never suffice those who are committed to exploiting this conflict for purpose of anti-Islam/Muslim vilification and sheer propaganda.

How stupid the majority of you are falling for simplest misdirection?
    Answer one question, did Al Qaeda, ISIS, ISIL or IS and all the off-shoots exist 30 years ago???

These groups didn’t exist 30 years ago until we along with our partners the Saudis encouraged the same “Jihadist” spirit from all quarters of the world to go to Afghanistan to support their brothers in their fight against the “ungodly” Soviets.

I suspect it will take a decade to face those facts as it has taken us some time to accept the fact that the invasion of Iraq and accompanying carnage was baseless. At what point do we get up the courage to be introspective enough to take some responsibility for an environment that lead to the creation of these groups?

Stupidity may be excusable but ignorance isn’t.

8. “How stupid the majority of you are……”

We’re back to the Lucas post.

Now Mr Black on the subject\ of ignorance – enlighten me. Is Sharia law practised within the Moslem community of Barbados and, if so, to what extent?

9. It is so obvious.

10. Canada now has to deal with this. Homegrown radicalized idiots.

“The man who allegedly struck two soldiers with his car in Quebec and was killed after a police chase had become “radicalized” and was known to federal authorities, the Prime Minister’s Office said Monday

11. @Hants

The so called radicalizing of Western actors has now added a layer of complexity to the clash of civilizations.

12. Will Mr Black also consider the Fatwa against Salman Rushdie, explore how that arose in the context of Afghanistan and explain the role of Hezbollah in the Rushdie affair.

13. This is how the smoke out a devious lot with their nasty little own hate-spreading agendas… not one of you nefarious fellas have anything intelligible to say. Forget all the sharia law BS! If these groups didn’t exist 30 years ago…

WHAT WAS THEIR METAMORPHOSIS? BASICALLY WAS THE CATALYST TO THESE GROUPS COMING IN TO FRUITION?

NO NONSENSICAL RESPONSES PLEASE!!!

14. David

In one sense it’s obvious – at the level of what dear Jack calls the “black bags”. I find the “bags” abhorrent and merely note that headgear does not seem to prevent Moslem ladies from using cosmetics. BUT as a significant issue I don’t have a problem – but then, for me it would be entirely acceptable for a girl to wear a grass skirt at St Sprogg’s. ‘Do as thou wilt…’ and all that. The issue is the EXTENT to which it’s practised.

On the substance of the post, I repeat that it’s not good enough for Mr Bulbulia to describe so-called ‘extremists’ as merely “misguided”. Moreover “misguided” how precisely when Jihad is Quran inspired?

15. MrBlack

You are fudging and bungling. Answer the question.

16. @ROBERT ROSS
    (Will Mr Black also consider the Fatwa against Salman Rushdie, explore how that arose in the context of Afghanistan and explain the role of Hezbollah in the Rushdie affair.)

Really, is that it? What the hell does that have to do with “the price of tea in China?” What idiocy! We are talking about the origins of Al Qaeda, ISIS aren’t we? One can’t ascribe blame to a religion of 1.7 billion going back over 1400 years ago when these groups came about in the last 30 years.

All of you! Think before you type and post a response, PLEASE, a thoughtful comment would be appreciated.

17. No MrBlack…YOU are talking about the origins of these terrorist groups – no-one else. And yet – and yet IF you really had a brain you’d see the point…….

“Sorry I’m a mass murderer….it’s your fault” simply won’t do sunshine.

“All of you…think”…we’re back to the “stupidity of the majority”. Actually you sound a bit like Pacha in a burka.

18. butt let me butt in is this the same ross who becomes incensed when blacks blame all whites for every wrong done to them..now how convenient for you to be blaming all muslims for the evils of a few,
    mr. black is point on in his analysis which he pinpoints out as to where blame should be placed and finding an aire of discrimination openly acceptable against all muslims in general because of a few.

19. ac

Now YOU have lost the plot. I HAVE NOT BLAMED “all muslims”. Where DID YOU get that from?

20. @AC
    This is the modus oparendi of the purveyors of hate, when you call them on it, they always claim that you are misrepresenting their “hate”. It’s the old, “who me?”. These are the type of folks that if not for Muslims, Black people would typically be the target of their hate obsession.

21. LOL Mr Black….you really are a joker…but now….just to show the ‘stupid majority’ that your intellect is not thinner than a pin…..

Will you please explain the relevance of Hezbollah and Iran to your Afghanistan theory? (and if you’re really cute add something about the fatwa against Rushdie)

Will you also describe your thoughts in relation to the subject under discussion of (a) the US and (b) Israel?

Will you also attempt to explain your obsession with the word “hate”?

And finally, was I right to refer to you as “Black the Jihadist”? If not, why not?

OK now I know it’ll be hard for you…but do stop thrashing about and simply making noise. You claim we’re all stupid. Convince us you’re not.

22. @Ross. Nice XX (“cross-examination”, for those who don’t understand the term “XX”). Very nice indeed. Just one reservation – an XX should rarely be cross. “Softly, softly catchee monkey”. In this case, the monkey (Mr B) catches himself.

23. A young Muslim student said THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A MODERATE MUSLIM. He should know…go figure that out. I want the so called moderate Muslims like Bulbia to come on TV and let Barbadians know that he is against the radicals.

24. The statement quoted and attributed to Bulbulia:

“Bulbulia said Islam did not preach violence or terrorism and groups like al-Qaeda and ISIS, though claiming Muslim roots, operated outside the teachings of Islam.”

How does it explain one of the reasons for ISIS success is the known fact the organization has been getting support of moderate Muslims in those countries warring?

25. “This is the modus operandi of the purveyors of hate”spouted Mistablack. Should we revisit some of your posts, not only here but other streams of social media? The man in the mirror speaks to himself. Stop pussyfooting and answer the blasted question. .you well spoken buffoon you!

26. What is the bottom line of Koranic teachings, re the NON-BELIEVER?
    In other words, those who do not ascribe to ‘Allah’ the god of Muslims?

The worst possible crime is disbelief in or denial of Allah (10:17, 11:18-19, 18:15, 32:22). It is considered an act or state of aggressive defiance against Allah. The Koran is quite explicit that disbelief is a persecution worse than warfare (2:217) or slaughter (2:191) that involves death of Muslims. (For a discussion, including tafsir, of 2:191, see http://www.faithfreedom.org/faq/70.htm, by Ali Sina). Murder of a Muslim is a crime that is penalized according to the law of life-for-life retaliation (5:45; i.e., death penalty), but disbelief is a worse crime! Remember the apologist’s quote, that killing one person is like killing all humankind? If we assume that’s true, then disbelief in Islam is a worse crime than killing all humankind! This sounds like a far-fetched interpretation, but it is a simple logical deduction from what the Koran says. The Koran does not say “disbelief is the second-worst crime, and murder is the worst.” Rather, the Koran clearly and repeatedly states that disbelief is the worst crime.

Think about this for a moment. Why do some Muslims in some parts of the world go on a rampage, killing people over rumors that a Koran has been damaged? Why do some Muslims kill people who merely criticise Islam or make fun of the prophet? How is it that so many thousands of Muslims demonstrated so violently, calling for the death of Salman Rushdie over some words of fictional characters in that author’s novel? Why do some Islamic countries still officially implement the death penalty for “blasphemy”?

Why do some Muslims kill people if women are dressed in bikinis for a beauty contest? Unfortunately, this far-fetched interpretation that I just mentioned is accepted with deadly seriousness, and in accordance with Islamic law in many jurisdictions, by millions of Muslims today. This far-fetched interpretation has been widely accepted by Muslims for nearly 1400 years. Belief in Islam is more important to some Muslims than is human life. And that’s what the Koran says: Disbelief is worse than killing.
    Non-Muslims, according to the Koran, are not considered innocent civilians.

They are “guilty” of disbelief (45:31, 83:29) – the worst crime. The Koran says that non-Muslims are against Allah (25:55); on the side of the Satan and are fighting for him (4:76-77); “evil” (16:27, 2:91, 2:99); the “wrong-doers” (2:254, 5:45); the “enemy” and “perverted” (63:4); “wicked” (80:42, 9:125); hypocrites (4:61); “unclean” (9:28). As for whether non-Muslims are civilians, the Koran is not even clear that non-Muslims are fully human. Instead, the disbelievers are the “worst of created beings” (98:6); “miscreants” (2:99, 24:55); “the worst beasts in Allah’s sight” (8:55), “apes” and/or “pigs” (2:65-66, 5:58-60, 7:166), and so on. Verse 60:4 says followers of Allah will hate the disbelievers forever, unless the disbelievers come to believe in Allah only. Think about this thorough demonization of disbelievers, together with the conception of disbelief as the worst possible crime. Now think about how easy it would be for a Koran-believing Muslim to find a non-Muslim guilty of corruption on earth or war against God. Keep in mind that much of the words, deeds, and customs of the non-Muslims happen to go against Islam.

Killing disbelievers is not, in itself, a crime[2]. This is confirmed in Tabari, e.g., “Killing disbelievers is a small matter to us…” Tabari IX:69. In fact, many verses in the Koran order the killing of various kinds of disbelievers (33:61, 4:76, 4:89-91, 8:12, 9:41, 9:5, 9:29, 61:11, etc.). Believers must honour their duty to Allah and fight the disbelievers in battle, or be punished in hell (2:216, 8:15-16, 9:39). Although the Koran explicitly forbids the murder of Muslims (4:93), the Koran does not contain a similar statement that forbids the killing or murder of non-Muslims. Where there are benefits to Islam in letting the non-Muslims live, there could be some minimal protections for the non-Muslims[2]. They could be spared as slaves to be bought or sold; they could become dhimmis (subjugated second-class citizens); they could be ransomed; women captives could be taken forcibly as wives or sex slaves; or captives could be set free depending on the personal discretion of the Muslim captor. Abul Kasem has cited and discussed Ibn Kathir’s interpretation of 5:32, indicating that non-Muslims are not protected by 5:32; only Muslims are protected. http://www.faithfreedom.org/oped/AbulKasem50808.htm.

27. But Amused…who said I’m cross? Besides on your analogy it’s the court room – the bar of public opinion – not the padded cell

28. “The subject tonight is Love./ And for tomorrow night as well./ As a matter of fact, I know of no better topic for us to discuss/until we die.”

Some words from Hafiz 14c Persian poet. If THAT’s Islam I’m a Moslem.

Or -to to put it another way – I’m for haqiqa not sharia, the centre not the circumference.

29. @ Zoe

You must thread carefully for you thread not on men’s’ dreams but on the incontrovertible Word of the Prophet.

Note carefully that as some here in cyberspace of whom I am one will prance up and shake my doggie in these walls of ordered bytes but, should any such opportunity present itself in the cold light of day, like the Apostle of God Pastor Durant or Eloysius the Magnificent or pope Paul the Beautified, will not risk placing anything bad about the Koran anywhere outside the church walls in Brittons Hill or at Waterford pun a Sundey

Ross makes the salient point that the origin of Isis is not the issue here and while the symptom of ISIS can be traced back to illegal wars bred and encouraged by specific world powers, the tacit support through non confrontational actions and laisser passee (can’t get the accent on this keyboard) of Islamic states does not cut it.

I have long held the belief that wherever the white man has gone on this planet that he has bred deception and war in pursuit of economic gain be it Crusades and massacres at Acre or Third World discovery for Queen and throne and of course the ongoing exploitation of the Dark Continent and the ongoing effort to wipe out non whites

I however understand the conundrum that these coterminous states face if they do come out and decry the actions of their so called brothers.

When Germany first invaded Poland many world powers sat by and said nothing as happened when Japan invaded China. Everyone’s afraid and they say “what if these madmenses win dis sh*t, what if their numbers swell and they come a-visiting us in the night?”

Man we done bin open we mout en bad talk dem en we ass is grass.

So unless sing Bulbulia gots a death wish, he, like all uh we self preservationists gine say jes enuf to be circumspect but not so much as to become a nex Solomon Rushdie candidate in lil ole Bulbados

Imagine whu he fat wah gine look like

“Wunna is to go bull, Bulbulbia in Bulbados fuh de buhcvntery dat he broadcast in de Bulbados Nation, balawalah “

30. Why must we continue to denigrate David Commissiong! He’s about the
    only professional man in Barbados who dare to speak out on some issues.
    The other men, professional or schmucks seems only too willing to talk shit;
    fucking women and other assortment of Bajan crap.
    Ten years I’ve been back here and can see the need for a hundred more
    like this gentlemen…no matter the situation everyone keeps quite and do their catatonic impression.

I’ve never met this man, neither have I ever had a conversation with him.

31. Absolutely amazing and predictable how this well organized assault on Islam and Muslims can’t resist the raw meat of hate nicely tossed by BU, thanks David and BFP.

Those of you who are interested in understanding the origins of the conflict in the Middle East now centered around IS which was the ISIS or ISIL through a thoughtful discussion will be bombarded by a well-organized “international” campaign whose sole purpose is NOT to pass up any opportunity to inflame and instigate.

They are typical in their approach posting comments centered around attacking the Quran, Islam, Muslims, their dress codes, custom and finally sharia law. Cleverly extracted verses from the holy books of Islam are used to created the feeling of complete vulnerability, “Those moooslims are coming!” http://www.loonwatch.com/

In a perfect world for them, you would turn on your Muslim neighbors. You wouldn’t question the TRILLIONS that have been spent so far playing wac-ka-mole while the military industrial complex gorges itself from a wash of moneys available. Most importantly you would ignore the plight of those who labor in slave sweat shops and migrant workers all over the non-western world. You would ignore the egregious actions of Israel killing 620 Gazan babies in 4 weeks. You would ignore the fact the WMDs like Barrel and chemical bombs were used against Syrians and wouldn’t care about the plight of millions displace and killed until the brutal killing of an American and British reporters.

They are well organized in group postings of racist banter and slurs about Muslim and Islam. Anyone who chooses to embark on a more historical fact based analysis is label, a terrorist, a jihadist, a musloom, a sympathizer. This is a throwback to the era of mccarthy. Please mindful of these organized purveyors of hate.

32. What govt is doing is right it is a clear stragety which removes them from the hysteria and fearmongering that has been the principle “driver” in the war of words and quick fix solutions asking for “a call for action” but instead has wisely relied on. america,s input before making haphazard and maybe regrettable decisions

33. @Zoe
    I choose not to post a litany of bible verses and Jewish Talmudic teachings that sanctions rape, the killing of women and children and unadulterated misogyny. The most egregious acts of barbarism is not only sanctioned, encouraged but is ordered in the bible and the Jewish Talmud as a requisite of faith.

I have not been convinced that the current goings on in this conflict squarely falls on the shoulders of Muslims and Islam alone.

Let’s dialog about this 15 year run that centers around tangible issues if we are to find solutions to this expanding conflict. Let’s not do the hocus pocus, it’s the burka, sharia law dance. It’s juvenile to those of us who appreciate independent, analytical thinking.

34. i knew the jews would eventually be brought into this,always seems the case.thanks mista black racist arse

35. @UH
    “…jew would eventually be brought into this; always seem the case”
    Who are you? You completely ignored the bible part; that may be confirmation that you are a little zionist deceiver/instigator on the job. I responded to the purposeful mis-usage of extracted verses from Islamic books and racist anti-Islam web sites.

Disclaimer: as being born of a Jewish mother going back to my maternal great-grandmother, I differentiate between a Jew and a zionist.

Any websites on real Christianity, or real Zionism or or real Neo-nazism or real racism or that matter real corporatism. Websites which are generally created and sustained by racist zionists whose intent is to obfuscate the human rights violations of the state of Israel should not be trusted to afford the reader an objective education about Islam and Muslims.
    That’s no different from website like:

http://www.biblebelievers.org.au/przion1.htm

or

http://www.jewwatch.com/jew-references-protocols-full-text-folder.html

or

http://www.rense.com/general59/sdom.htm

Given the current crisis if one is to learn about Islam and its adherents any one should not depend on groups whose commitment is solely to vilify Muslims and Islam.

I think the websites below may offer a balance presentation and I find loonwatch the most contemporary and creative in its use of irony:

http://www.islamreligion.com/

http://www.islamicity.com/mosque/aboutislam.htm

http://www.loonwatch.com/

36. yes i am jewish,all religions are slammed by others,xenophobia. i agree with
    bulbilia every religion must stand up to its own extremists. no forced conversions, acceptance of differences in beliefs must be tolerated by all,my parents were both in concentration camps i was taught tolerance

37. THE MUSLIM CAN BURN OUR BIBLE, WE WILL BE SILENT, BUT IF ANY ONE SAY ANYTHING ABOUT ISLAM, THE MUSLIM READY TO KILL, HACK INTO YOUR COMPUTER, FOLLOW YOU ON THE STREET, PARK IN FRONT YOUR HOUSE AND WATCH YOU 24/7, WELL LET ME TELL YOU MUSLIMS SOMETHING, I AM UNDER THE BLOOD OF JESUS, SO KEEP UP WHAT YOU ARE DOING.

38. Was it not interesting to listen to non Moslems defending on this matter on the Sunday talk show? Heading the pack were politicians and those who are always on the hunt for donations.

39. @David
    What matter are they defending? The burning of the bible? Where did that happen? And how and where does one get these donations?

@Bimlady: The blood of Jesus? What about the blood of Bajan slaves? Who were FORCED to accept the blood/christianity?

40. Mistablack

Let me first say this: I have noticed that there is a collective effort here on BU to besmear the character of Islam, and I am not party to such ignorance. But I do take issue with the argument that Christianity was forced upon the enslave people of African-extraction. I do believe that the man whom God created was endowed by Him with the metaphysical concept of Free-will. The Nubian people who were brought from Africa to the America’s some four-hundred or so years age weren’t fully conditioned neither were their totally determined.

41. The one fear which stood in the back of the slave ower’s mind, was the fear of Revolt. The enslaved African was never contented with the conditions under which he lived, and therefore, used whatever means necessary to escaped what I could only imagine as Hell on earth. So don’t think for a moment that the African slave accepted the Christian religion with little or no resistance.

42. “The Nubian people who were brought from Africa to the America’s some four-hundred or so years age weren’t fully conditioned neither were their totally determined.”

No Dompey, they were not conditioned to flavery, nor were they determined to do it. They were foced with the lashes across their backs. Where was your GOD then, Dompey? Where was your Jesus, when all that cruely was meted out to our ancestors? cheupse

43. WOW! so much hate and unbelievable hate,, .. What would Jesus SAY

44. My fellow Canbajans be vigilant.

“TORONTO – Twenty-five-year-old Martin Rouleau, the now-deceased suspect in a deadly hit-and-run that killed one soldier and injured a second, was one of 90 people being monitored for potential terrorist activity and had his passport seized by RCMP.

http://globalnews.ca/news/1625585/canadian-soldier-struck-by-car-in-quebec-has-died/

45. Pat

My God was in the Heavens looking down upon Sinful man, and taking note of the moral evil man inflicted upon his own kind. Now, why do you insist upon blame God for the unpardonable acts, which mankind inflicts upon his own kind? God does not cause Evil to take place in our world, but He often allows it to run its course as a way to teach Man a lesson.

46. Some followers of Jesus abandoned him. Did his disciples go out and kill those who left. People who convert to Christianity and leave the muslim religion are threatened with death. Islam has no place for tolerance.
    People like Abubakr in Trinidad should be in jail. They use fear to control their people. Why would they want to kill someone who decides to leave this socalled “peaceful” religion. All I can do is SMH.

47. Pat, and there is a prevailing misrepresentation of the Word of God, by those who are ignorant of the Hebrew Scriptures. Now, God does not answer the calls of the entire world. He only listens to those persons who are called to do His will. And John 9:31 supports my argument, and the Scripture reads as follow: ” Now we know that God heareth not “(Sinners)”, but if any man be a worsipper of God, and doeth His will, him He heareth.

48. but what will Jesus SAY,,,,,
    SMFH unbelievable hate

49. Anne

Christianity was also guilty of the some of the same charges you’re now leveling at Islam. Christianity was tarnished by the Pagan doctrines brought into the religion by the wives of King Solomon. And Martin Luther, was excommunicated from the Church for expressing a contrary viewpoint.