Submitted by Charles Knighton
Suleman Bulbulia

Bulbulia said Islam did not preach violence or terrorism and groups like al-Qaeda and ISIS, though claiming Muslim roots, operated outside the teachings of Islam.” Muslims: No terrorists here, headline page 6 article, October 20 Nation

While I believe the accuracy of this article’s headline, actions always speak louder than words. When one considers the current state of world affairs, does it not foster a sense of uncertainty in the general population at the motivations of local Muslims who wish to establish an exclusive Muslim community in Barbados?

Just this summer, many Muslims marched in the streets of London, Paris and other cities to condemn the deaths of Gazans at the hands of Israel. Even in Bridgetown a small group of Muslims, accompanied by Barbados’ patron saint of questionable causes, Mr. David Commissiong, staged a protest. But where are the demonstrations against the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria’s horrific, wide-scale slaughter of Christians, Yazidis, Kurds and fellow Muslims?

Yes, many Muslim clerics and Arab leaders have spoken out (again, words) against ISIS’s depraved aggression. But where is the outrage and passion among mainstream Muslims, who should be furious that fanatics have hijacked their religion? Despite their condemnatory words, does this silence on the part of mainstream Muslims, and silence is an action, indicate their tacit approval?

To much of the non-Muslim world, the brutal extremism of Isis, al-Qaeda, Nigeria’s Boko Haram and other Islamic terrorist groups has come to represent Islam. Muslims cannot respond by mildly saying that what the extremists believe “is not Islam” and by dismissing the events in Iraq, Syria and elsewhere as someone else’s problem. Muslims must either reject the Islamic State and groups like it in the clearest possible terms, inclusive of military force, or the rest of the world will come to think of them as masked men with knives, gleefully butchering people in the name of Allah.

238 responses to “Islamic States Must Clamp Down on Extremism Mr. Bulbulia”

1. Mrtablack, on a blog such as this, one has to have the testicular fortitude and the inner steel brother. It is every man for himself on this side of the railroad tracks. I have been characterized in every which way and I am still here. So my counsel to you is this: bite the bullet; dust yourself off and take it as a grain of salt. There is always tomorrow bother. Life goes on.

Have you seen the manner in which President Obama has been characterized by the left of evil, for the past six years?

2. Stay safe Pat. Life in Ottawa will be changed forever.

3. Thanks Hants. Lots or armed forces personnel in my middleclass neighborhood. A Chief Warrant Officer next door, a Major across the street; a Captain three doors down. Several on the street behind me.

American Embassy in Ottawa on lockdown and closed until further notice. It is three blocks from Parliament Hill.

4. words of advice for mark fenty aka ballam’s ass aka donkey

After eating an entire bull, a mountain lion felt so good he
    started roaring. He kept it up until a hunter came along and
    shot him…….The moral: When you’re full of bull, keep your
    mouth shut.

Never miss a good chance to shut up.

5. @GEORGIE PORGIE THE COMEDIAN. THAT IS FUNNY. LMRAO

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ MistaBlack | October 22, 2014 at 11:55 AM |
    “I am NOT nor have I have ever been a “Jihadist”. The shame of this, is that I have succumbed to this harassment by making this formal denial.”

Could you then please enlighten us ignoramuses what is ‘jihad’ and who is a “jihadist”?

7. Georgie Porgie

A word of caution: if you know what’s best for you sir, then I suggest you cease and desist before I verbally molest you, like the female version of a male behind prison walls.

8. Simple Simon has a news flash on October 20, 2014 at 9:55 PM:

“Some cultures require women to shave their legs, underarms and pudendum.”

That’s news to me, but I live to learn. So teach me, Si: which cultures REQUIRE women to shave their legs, underarms and pudenda?

And if such cultures exist, where do their host countries rank on the human development index?

Development is a complicated business but a good rule of thumb is this: you can measure a country’s development potential by how it treats its women.

Canada or Bangladesh? Sweden or Afghanistan? The United States or the Islamic State? Denmark or Pakistan? In which of these would you prefer to live?

9. Georgie Porgie

At least I am not afraid to disclose who I am as a person. Unlike you with your wooden leg and coffee stained teeth, who hides behind his cuntputer monitor, as he types away with his arthertic fingers and retinopathy eyes.

10. Is that allu two intellectuals have to add to the debate .as fuh u miller i watched how mista black hog tied uh dead a.ss and banished u to a corner ova at BFP.

11. Hants, if that’s funny……. then perhaps, we have on our hands: a case study of the first human being conceived without a sense of humour.

12. My son was walking his dog on sparks st and was in lockdown at the world exchange plaza. My daughters school was in lockdown as well. Hants you are right Ottawa wont be the same. If it turns out to be terrorism then lets see if the muslim community and imams will condemn any and all such acts

13. Lawson, what’s going on in Canada, the poor version of America?

14. Lawson, that seem like the most excitement Canada has had in years? Come on my side of the river; it happens every half of a second in America.

15. Honestly … Canada is a mosaic everyone identifies themselves as where there from Canadian in America they are a melting pot. People come here for our way of life, and benefits but once they are let in they complain about the very thing wanted before they came ….freedom. You cannot believe the protestors on Parliament hill bitching about every thing under the sun, and why we are not doing enough for there F%%^C^ up countries and views. So all that to say they want the lifestyle but they cant leave the baggage behind,
    In away these small events will bring in tougher anti terrorism laws quicker, change the policing at parliament, security for the senate didn’t have guns for gods sake, everyone will be more suspect of their surroundings and each less likely to travel which will hurt other economies.

16. See what can happen when you have even one infected person . Whether it is Duncan with ebola or a radical fanatic everything in an area can come to a grinding halt with both business and resources put under pressure.

17. @Lawson glad you and your family are safe.

Initial reports say the gunman was a recent convert to Islam.

Unfortunately Canada will become an armed camp.

18. Thank you Hants I thought he was of Algerian decent. I am afraid this Canadian experiment is starting to show its failings
    I was thinking about a movie I saw which I thought was with some truth about an area or building that was filled with good people but some drug pushers moved in and took the whole complex over. The people were afraid to talk to the police scared the druggies would find out ,were intimidated so they kept silent about everything that was going on, again this was a big area controlled by just a few. This can happen when people segregate and have their own community. It only takes a few to intimidate the good ones. Barbados isn’t immune to ebola so why would it think they are immune to radicals

19. The shooter killed in Ottawa said to be a convert to Islam will do nothing to deflate tension between Islam and Christian.

20. Stupse, there was an Imam in UK preaching vs West, shoulda been expelled.

France woulda expel him, but the Brits needed to show their gentlemanly behavior.

Maggie woulda learn he fast.

And then too check this foolishness… http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/religion/10716844/Islamic-law-is-adopted-by-British-legal-chiefs.html

Sharia law in UK, What ‘bollocks’.

Word should be ‘skipper, its Common Law or Legislation, yuh doan like it? Den LEFF’.

Stupse, what next. Lotta foolishness.

21. I think the West Indian countries need to push for West Indian ‘Big Rock ‘ law in the UK.

Iffin a man assault you, or brek yuh house, yuh could fire a rock at he head.

Good for the goose….

22. @David
    There have been multiple threats but the authorities managed to break up the cells or intercepted the plots before they were carried out. There are an unknown number of Canadian born men fighting in Syria/Iraq .

See a recent story from the CBC

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/farah-mohamed-shirdon-of-calgary-fighting-for-islamic-state-of-iraq-and-syria-1.2680206

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

I think we are missing something about the young(ish) muslim “radicals” in these incidents.
    People portray them as them being “radicalised” but I am not sure that is a correct picture.
    The UK press has run a couple of well researched articles about jihadists who have gone to Syria. Their parents and friends seem honestly to find the news difficult to comprehend. Their actions are seen as completely at odds with everything they have known about them in the past. Why did they change?
    I think something different is happening here and strangely, I think you have to go back to Germany to find out what it is.
    Look up the Red Army Faction (Baader Meihof). They were a radical group that bombed and murdered their way across Germany in the 1970s.
    The organisation thrived on young people who were alienated from their parents and the institutions of state, had a suspicion of authoritarian structures in society and in their case, an attraction from communism and left-wing philosophy.
    I believe the “radicalised” muslims are doing what they are for the similar reasons.

24. @Dompey October 22, 2014 at 3:41 PM “What’s going on in Canada, the poor version of America?”

Dompey: Know ya place.

25. Jack Bowman October 22, 2014 at 1:59 PM “Canada or Bangladesh? Sweden or Afghanistan? The United States or the Islamic State? Denmark or Pakistan? In which of these would you prefer to live?”

None.

26. Crusoe | October 22, 2014 at 7:27 PM |
    I think the West Indian countries need to push for West Indian ‘Big Rock ‘ law in the UK.
    Iffin a man assault you, or brek yuh house, yuh could fire a rock at he head.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Man! whey you gine find a big rock in Hingland, unless one of dem tarts left you holding one. Bernadette Devlin had to breck up whole side walks to get rocks to pelt at the peelers and souljers in bellfass

27. ac and Dompey the Jihad apologists…

in the light of today’s events you are sounding increasingly irrelevant.

Black

Poor you….but do stop squealing. It sounds pitiful. Who and what you are is on record.

St George

I am waiting for ac to claim it goes back to slavery and Black to say it all started in the last 30 years and in Afghanistan. Of course you could go back further and talk about nihilists. But yes…..

the problem for Moslems, and it seems intractable, is that it is all justified by reference to the ‘Book’. “This is/is not Islam” at root is ‘This is how I interpret these words and the consequences arising from them.” It is like saying that (a) the OT is to be read into Christianity because Jesus was a Jew, and therefore (b) fags must die because Leviticus says so.

The root causes of disaffection to this take on Islam are, I’m sure, as you suggest and, indeed, I said as much above.

28. Crusoe

The UK Law Society…cynical opportunism. Disgusting. But then the UK legal system is, I maintain, corrupt. You will understand then why I’ve been pushing the ‘Is Sharia practised here and if so to what extent?’ thing.

You can wrap up a will with Quranic flowerings provided it satisfies, eg, section 9 Wills Act. But on substance dispositions which transgress relevant legislation would clearly be invalid. The problem is who would have the balls to contest the offending disposition.

29. David

Your last remark is a hoot of understatement. But I’m sorry you see this as an Islam/Christian thing. Yes, at on level it is that. But there’s something far more fundamental than that – which is whether it can ever be right to kill anyone in the name of religion and by reference to an old man up in the sky.

30. St George’s Dragon
    Look up the Red Army Faction (Baader Meihof). They were a radical group that bombed and murdered their way across Germany in the 1970s.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    Out of control latter day Hitler Youth,

31. St.George’s Dragon
    Their parents and friends seem honestly to find the news difficult to comprehend. Their actions are seen as completely at odds with everything they have known about them in the past. Why did they change?
    ++++++++++++
    If you delve more deeply into this subject you will discover that this change in behaviour is accompanied by what can only be described as a religious conversion or a more abiding embrace of their faith. These youths were nominally Muslims who attend mosque but still enjoyed activities which are prevalent among young people in many parts of the world i.e. drinking, partying, and fornicating. During the spiritual change of becoming “good” Muslims they abandon these activities which are now considered unwholesome and are more assiduous in their attendance at mosque and adherence to religious doctrine. They are also convinced that their faith is under attack and are easily convinced that they are fighting to save their religion and their fellow believers who are being slaughtered by dictator(s) who in their eyes are propped up by the West. To their way of thinking there is nothing for them in societies which legalise same sex marriage and where women have equality and some feel a sense of alienation from the mainstream.

There are disaffected youth in every society, whether it is Baader Meinhoff, Red Brigades (who murdered Aldo Moro) or Weather Underground but those groups were responding to specific conditions in their societies. The Muslims who choose to fight in areas of the world where there are language and cultural differences and the only connection to their fellow combatants is religion are a different kettle of fish.

32. sarge you are correct …what are we going to do about it ?

33. @Sargeant

Very interesting development how Westerne individuals are being persuaded to represent ISIS values. It is what is driving the fear in Barbados with the setup of a Muslim Settlement at Clermont.

34. MR Bulbulia and what would you say IF Barbados was 99% Moslem tomorrow.?.

35. Ross! oh Poorac NO ! poor you can”t you see that everyone govts and people of All peoples of religious Faith have used the “GOOD OLE BOOK”” as right to passage, the only difference NOW it is the Muslims turn,,, good grief,

36. ac

Of course I do understand that not being as dumb as you come over you are simply being vexatious…now go away and AMUSE yourself and when WHEN you are prepared to address what is actually being said without distortion or perversion come back and AMUSE us again.

Meanwhile answer the question I asked you yesterday: do you condemn or condone the killing of innocents?

37. Interesting to learn Ottawa has had 4 murders for the year so far? What this recent incident will do is stoke the fear factor and distrust of Islam. The tension increases!

On Thursday, 23 October 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

38. Ross

boo!boo! Ha!Ha!ac too dumb to answer ur ridiculous question, but just record ‘judge” ac. is thinking about your dumb question therefore ac is pleading for the mercy of the court not to find me guilty for actions of a few .in conclusion Sir ac is requesting that any further accusations or any obvious attempts to link ac to the wrongdoings of others be remove from my record as i have never been engaged or associated with any groups or affliations connected to terror or crimes against humanity..as a matter of fact to demonstrate that i have no evil or malice of heart i cried when my “pet gold fish ” drown his name was “ali” and for the record i present Exhibit A as indisputable proof Sir

39. Now that’s my boy. “We are amused”.

But tell me ac……you understand I’m not a yardfowl…why does the government you support botch everything it puts its hands on? I’m thinking most recently of the failure to ban in line with our Caribbean partners. Is it because Stuart is an “intellectual”?

40. OOPS! my bad i erred in my opening statement to the court correction necessary in order to eliminate preconceived or prejudices the court might have .Judge Ross in the second opening line ac exempt the following words “for the” for clarity the statement should have read as follow “just for the record” judge i do apologise for any inconvience or preceptions connected or form by the court in my defense.

41. Now don’t overdo it……

42. @David
    It seems like some of the converts think they have more to prove than others who were born in the faith (remember the shoe bomber?). About that “western” ethic, we or at least most of us think that those who are nurtured in the society we live in have the same values and mindset but appearances can be deceiving. We don’t know what goes on in the homes and they are social , cultural and religious values that are important to them which may not find favour with the rest of the populace. Why would a man and his son in an act sanctioned by his wife kill his daughters and sisters because they were becoming too “westernized”?

Some of these radicals are influenced by slick videos produced by the extremists who glorify a lifestyle of liberation and assistance to fellow Muslims but I believe that the answers to the majority of questions lie within the mosques (1)who are the leaders and what are they preaching? (2) Is there someone within those mosques who may not be a “leader” per se but who is covertly influencing some young people to take up arms and fight for a cause.

43. There is a view that many of these minority faiths are in the main docile read integrated in mainstream life but there will be those on the fringe who seek to bring meaning to their lifes by allowing themselves to be sucked in by the extreme. In this case to answer ISIS call for Lone Ranger actions by sympathizers to the cause of Islam.

On Thursday, 23 October 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

44. David wrote: Some of these radicals are influenced by slick videos produced by the extremists who glorify a lifestyle of liberation and assistance to fellow Muslims but I believe that the answers to the majority of questions lie within the mosques (1)who are the leaders and what are they preaching? (2) Is there someone within those mosques who may not be a “leader” per se but who is covertly influencing some young people to take up arms and fight for a cause.

And some of these radical terrorists might be influenced by handlers who are not even Muslim at all.

Canadian Terror Wave: a Modern-Day Gladio
    by Tony Cartalucci

SNIP

The FBI has a long list of foiled terror plots of its own creation. More disturbingly are the plots they conceived but “accidentally” allowed to go “live.” One might recall the 1993 World Trade Center bombing. FBI agents, according to the New York Times, were indeed overseeing the bombers that detonated a device killing six and wounding many more at the World Trade Center.

In their article, “Tapes Depict Proposal to Thwart Bomb Used in Trade Center Blast,” NYT reported:

Law-enforcement officials were told that terrorists were building a bomb that was eventually used to blow up the World Trade Center, and they planned to thwart the plotters by secretly substituting harmless powder for the explosives, an informer said after the blast.

The informer was to have helped the plotters build the bomb and supply the fake powder, but the plan was called off by an F.B.I. supervisor who had other ideas about how the informer, Emad A. Salem, should be used, the informer said.

The account, which is given in the transcript of hundreds of hours of tape recordings Mr. Salem secretly made of his talks with law-enforcement agents, portrays the authorities as in a far better position than previously known to foil the Feb. 26 bombing of New York City’s tallest towers. The explosion left six people dead, more than 1,000 injured and damages in excess of half a billion dollars.

Considering the 1993 bombing and the fact that the FBI literally oversaw the construction and deployment of a deadly bomb that killed 6, it is clear that the FBI can at any time through design or disastrous incompetence, turn one of their contrived entrapment cases into a live terror attack. One can only guess at how many similar FBI operations are currently taking place within the United States involving ISIS sympathizers – any one of which could be turned into a live terror attack provided the weapons handed over to potential terrorists are functioning, just as the bomb was in 1993 when it was driven into the lower levels of the World Trade Center.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/canadian-terror-wave-a-modern-day-gladio/5409455

45. Ross reference your last comment PM Stuart
    From my many comment associated to you ac assumes your are a lawyer (correct me if i am wrong) therefore u of all people should recognize that certain protocols are guided by rules and restrictions. This reflects as “poorly” on your part in your ignorance of international law and many of rules and guidlines some small nations are attached to many of which were signed and agreed by the BLP, which brings to mind for e.g the myrie case when the rule of law overruled whatever defense presented by barbados

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The dark Dread of Night is approaching.

SOS for ZOE to leave the bat cave and join the debate as Jihadists prepare to wage guerilla warfare in modern crusade fashion right in the heart of Western metropolises.

He warned you guys about the hidden agenda of those Islamic fundamentalists who refuse even by vis et armis to accept sweet baby Jesus as Almighty God & Saviour Yahweh.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 23, 2014 at 9:08 AM |

Come on now, duplicitous ac! We all can tell the real ac (asinine creep) did not pen that post.

But to answer Ross’s query on your behalf; a liar could never be an intellectual. But, then again, we do get freaks of nature of paradoxical proportions.
    Look how easy it was for such a lucky freak of circumstance could be in charge of the Lilliputian land of nincompoops. OSA ought to go and bury his head in the sands of shame and disappointment.

48. I was asked this question by millertheanunnaki:

“Could you then please enlighten us ignoramuses what is ‘jihad’ and who is a “jihadist”?”

It is obvious that the motive here was to extrapolate some levity, but I think in the light of the latest incident in Ottawa, Canada and the war in Syria/Iraq, an accurate accounting of the term, Jihadist is paramount to any discussion that aims to understanding the phenomena of individuals seeking the title.

First Jihad:
    The raw Arabic translation of the word is “struggle”. The connotation of the word in the Islamic religious sense is the day to day challenge to overcome the life hurdles. Though this term can be attributed to a struggle against others, the “greatest Jihad” is said to be the internal struggle against one’s self. The struggle to be conscious of and battle with, one’s lower desires. The term “holy war” is actually a christian term falsely attributed to Jihad.

Mujahid/Mujahideen: Describes the individual/individuals who defend against oppression that is not necessarily limited to fellow Muslims. It use to be a glorious term for Afghans who were fighting the Soviets in Afghanistan in the 80’s. They were called by President Reagan and was almost unanimously described as “Freedom Fighters”.

Jihadi or Jihadists is a descriptive term for Muslims who unlike “soldiers of fortune” are not supposed to be motivated by financial compensation but a commitment to defending fellow Muslims around the world. Interestingly the term Jihadist and Jihadi is not actually an Arabic term but an Anglo that came about in the 80’s. And the concept of these mobile fighters also sees its birth in the 80’s. Why in the 80’s?

The United States saw an opportunity to gift the Soviet Union with their own Vietnam in Afghanistan by materially supporting the “Mujahideen” fighters. That was the first time we heard unfamiliar battle cry “Allah-U-Akbar!” which wasn’t as offensive to the ear as it is now.

Finally the support didn’t end with fighters within the country but there WAS a coordinated mission/policy by the United States and the Saudis in particular to encourage, promote, train and transport non-Afghans/foreign fighters to enter the fight from all over the Muslim world. Crucially, logistical support was provided. And most importantly which may be shocking, we ferreted American citizens(radicalized????) from the United States also via Pakistan to the fight in Afghanistan.

There is a substantial hole in any dialog about the current sad state of affairs particularly when it comes to do with “Jihadists” in our mist who want to travel to get into the fight over-there when we ignore the origins of the term and the part we played in it.

49. We wonder!
    The USA and its western allies are the biggest terrorists. They invented terrorism. All the terrorist groups referred to in this article were formed, financed and are being continuously sustained by the West.

The writer of this article could not remember Libya, for example, where terrorist nations supported the groups he mentioned from the air. America and NATO were the air forces of Al-Queda, ISIS and a longer list of terrorists groups serving Western interests. However, Libya is in worse conditions now than at anytime in the past. Now that Libya is in ruins we don’t here any contrition from humanitarian militarists as their terrorist campaign on the people of the world continues. But misguided calls could be made to Muslims to correct this Western wrong doing.