Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition

The following is a statement issued by the leader of the Opposition Barbados Labour Party Mia Mottley. The action by Mia Mottley may prove to be a defining moment for her in the battle of public perception over BLP leadership. If she is able to rally her troops on Thursday, it will go a long way to prove she is the preferred leader.

The implementation of the Muni Tax, for whatever reason, has provoked Barbadians from all spheres to rally against it. The good thing is that it has brought focus to bear on the vexing issue of solid waste management. Barbadians must try to separate political rhetoric and naked political opportunism from the real issue read Kerri Symmonds.

Thanks ‪#‎Barbados‬ for coming out to our mass meeting last Sunday to show your support. http://bit.ly/1p7hDKx

I SHALL NOW DO MY DUTY. I propose to take that first step. I have prayed on it. I shall walk. I shall walk on Thursday at midday from Parliament to Government Headquarters on Bay Street.

I shall walk to deliver as Leader of the Opposition and the voice of the people (especially those who are against this bad tax), a letter to the Prime Minister stating what we have heard from you across the length and breadth of this country in unison – repeal this Municipal Solid Waste tax and come again! The people want it repealed as soon as possible and we urgently want a national consensus on its replacement. We know the government needs money but this is not the way!

I shall walk for the right reasons for this is for the right cause. Our people are speaking as one saying the same thing across the private sector, the Churches, community groups and charities, ordinary people – even Denis Clarke on behalf of the workers.
And if it is me alone – I shall walk. For in the words of Timothy God has not given me the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

And I am equally comforted by the words of the Book of Matthew – that where 2 or 3 are gathered together in My name, there am I in the midst of them.

So I know I shall walk with God.

147 responses to “Mia Will Walk”

1. @ Artexerxes

From the mouth of a Pensioner.

Fumble, like any other ole fart like me, when you get to a point where your earning potential is diminished, must do the inevitable, LOOK OUT FOR #1.

At 6 years old,Freundel Jerome Stuart, with the singular non-stellar luminary performance (in Bajan a pis poor lawyer) his earning capacity in the profession of his choice is zero.

Additionally having phvcked up the lives of so many Bulbadians, he quite wisely inderstands that his legal profession is dead and is laying up stores for himself.

There is a difference between being a dimwit and a fool just ask the dynamic duo of ** and **.

Opinions are like assholes both you and I will have one and, like fingerprints, I would hazzard to say that the puckered pattern of any asshole is going to be unique ( i have only seen those of the children and grandchildren when they were in diapers but i have not made a study of them- You should as(s) sorry ask Dr Jerome and Ronald We Jonesing whom i am made to understand are poochologists of some depth)

The problem with these little men and women and in-betweeners is that they consider disenting opinion to be a personal slight against them, small minded rabbits as they are so if you are Prime Minister X and feel all bullers should be put to death and I am Minister Y with a son who is a buller, note i did not say David Symmonds, and I, by reason of filial duty/impediment, feel that what comes out of the mouth of Alair Shepherd, President sorry Presidentess of the Gay Lesbians Association of Darkness and Despair, GLADD, is gospel and voice an opinion other than that of Freundel well everybody feel that i gots to get discipline because i saying something different to the EDICT FROM ON HIGH.

Parvi parvos delectant or in the words of Professor La Hah, “unna doggie is too small to be in competitions wid a donkey”

Dissent is healthy or we will have a fascist state.

Having said that, Kerrie IS A KVUNT though

2. As chief deputy executive assistant political advisor (non member but supporter ) in absentia of the DLP, I am calling on all DLP bloggers NOT to criticise or comment negatively on the BLP for the next two weeks.

We should comment on other issues and topics on BU but completely blank the BLP.

Follow my lead.

3. Here’s a suggestion to those who want to march but will be unable to attend – we the people have not had an upward salary adjustment in how long? Yes prices continue to rise and TAXES, which is governments way of raising it’s own salary, has shot through the roof. Suppose all CBC Multichoice subscribers switched to LIME TV and FLOW. The immediate impact would be a fall-off in advertisers. Loss to government.
    Paying a bill to BWA, Land Tax, Income Tax, Road Tax? Wait until last day, go in the afternoon and carry the smallest notes you can get. Result? Frustrated employees and choked lines. Bus drivers? Take an uncertified sick day all at the same time. ZR drivers? Have two vehicles break down, side-by-side in Broad Street, Bay Street, Paynes Bay (all major roads leading into and out of town on a Friday morning (preferably on a government pay day). Result? Traffic chaos. Air traffic controllers, Customs Officers? You know what to do. If we can’t protest without getting our heads cracked and shot at, let’s frustrate government as much as they are frustrating us.

4. Freundel is 63 years old, i missed the key

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | July 22, 2014 at 2:38 PM |

You can tell your factious friends in the BLP that fighting to overthrow MAM is like spinning tot in mud or playing the childhood game of cooking muddy cou-cou to imaginary guests.
    Read my viral lips and as an old seer store this message permanently in your intellectual motherboard.

THE CURRENT BLP IS UNELECTABLE WITHOUT MAM.
    She would have to become very sick or die.

If obzocky-head Kerrie has taken on the role of Owen water-boy he is really a bigger scunt that we originally thought. Kerrie is a born traitor and will always be disloyal to the core. Such an opportunistic man must not be trusted. He has been persuaded with a promise of becoming ‘deputy’ PM to OSA if he plays the leading role in backstabbing and overthrowing MAM.

OSA has again smelled the blood of supreme political power as the current DLP administration is about to fall on its own sword of lies, deceit and incompetence. The IMF circles like a vulture or like a shark that smells human blood in the sea miles away; and OSA the so-called former ‘medici’ of political strategy knows it.

Come on man, if Fumble Ass can kick OSA in his political backside to the kerb who else can’t do it. OSA walked away again from the LOTO job in February 2013. Why should we trust a coward and opportunistic man like that again!

But tell OSA and his band of political fogeys seeking for a return of the ancien régime that it will not, repeat, Will NOT play return this time around. The man is a spent force and like a punch drunk old boxer returning to the ring will only be political canon fodder and like the deus ex machina in a ‘tragic-comedy’ be the laughing stock of the crowd. Tell OSA and Kerrie S to piss off and go and live where the Sun does not shine.

Barbados certainly does not need that kind of political waste to pay taxes for at this time.

6. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

FearPlay | July 22, 2014 at 2:54 PM |

great idea do it on the same day at the same time

and do it every weekend

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@millertheanunnaki | July 22, 2014 at 3:41 PM |
    “But tell OSA and his band of political fogeys seeking for a return of the ancien régime that it will not, repeat, Will NOT play return this time around. The man is a spent force and like a punch drunk old boxer returning to the ring will only be political canon fodder and like the deus ex machina in a ‘tragic-comedy’ be the laughing stock of the crowd.”

Should read:
    Tell OSA and his band of political fogeys seeking for a return of the ancien régime that it will not, repeat, Will NOT be returned this time around. The man is a spent force and like a punch drunk old boxer returning to the ring will only be political cannon fodder and like the deus ex machina in a ‘tragic-comedy’ be the laughing stock of the crowd.

8. @fair play,
    Will this frustrate the elected sixteen or will your methods further frustrate the innocent citizens of Barbados and further derail the economy of Barbados. Come on, think critically man!

9. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

to think critically is the newest slogan in the BU rum shop!
    what does it really mean ?HILARIOUS

10. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

the chatter of you jokers in the BU rum shop is like watching a man lose two arms and a leg in three back-to-back attempts to rescue a digital watch from the mouth of the same stubborn crocodile.

My attempts to compete is pedestrian LOL

11. @ FearPlay your post 2.54 p.m

Those are guerrilla tactics befitting of persons with either (i) a brain (ii) understanding of chess “off the board” and (iii) a specific endgame.

Your civil unrest is too sophisticated for we bajan rabble.

Leave us to talking bout it pun BU, Brass tacks and Tell um like it is

12. Drivers are being asked in an effort not to further frustrate Kerry, not to blow their horns, when they go past Mia during the march.

13. @Boy Blue

Top drawer 🙂

14. Didn’t we all march in 1991-93 era as well and still had to feel the full brunt of the austerity measures despite the 20,000 strong?
    Wasn’t the DLP just as unpopular back then as it is now today ,and such demonstrations still did not repeal any measures despite the marching and the unpopularity?

15. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

you are indeed quite correct…………….but the contemporary jackasses have racked things up to another level of failure and incompetence

16. @GEORGIE PORGIE,
    But didn’t we march against that in 1991-93 as well and they survived up until the party’ own implosion 1994?
    In light of the current rumblings within the opposition, what the changes of bringing about another implosion of the DLP like in 1994?

17. “Kerrie is a born traitor and will always be disloyal to the core. Such an opportunistic man must not be trusted. ”

Kerry has committed political suicide and cannot be TRUSTED! He will be replaced and will NOT win his seat back. He has BETRAYED the electorate too many times, and is in his ninth life. Let him cross the floor AGAIN. TRAITOR!

18. Miller
    Kerri is a real buffoon tho. I hate to see a coward using his efforts to support and promote another mans cause. Uncle Owen sitting up on stands watching his minions waging war against Mia. He cannot descend into the political arena until she is dead or dying.

HE WILL SPEND A LONG TIME IN THE STANDS UNTLESS HE DECIDES TO COME AND PRESIDE OVER THE POLITICAL FUNERAL OF KERRI ‘I Want To Be Attorney General & Deputy PM’ Symmonds.

Imagine Kerri as PM, what a dreadful thought.

19. Prodigal and Ross I will be there. See you all on Thursday!

20. MIA challenges goes far beyond the muni tax issues,,the under currant is much stronger than MIA,,,,,,the question is does she have the political power to suppress those who want to see her go,,i say NO,even with the people backing,,her last (outing) was all but sealed,,,,,as a matter of fact,,,,what is being played out in the public arena,,,,,has served( well) the mischief makers as they hide and remain unnoticed while they perform there dastardly acts in behind the scene …MIA has lost the battle whether she has a thousand or fifty foot soldiers on Thursday,,,,,as there are more poison darts heading here way than one can imagine,,,,,,,.How will she deal with all this poison is beyond any ones imagination,,, For one she has been too slow to act amidst all the noise and confusion surrounding her,,,,,given her enemies a greater chance to get bolder and weakening her influence in many respect,

21. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

just saying | July 22, 2014 at 5:05 PM |
    you are correct again

22. BTW have anyone paid attention to the numbers of dissidents , fighting against MIA,,,,,,,the list seems to be getting longer,,,,a list by all accounts started with five and seem s to have grown faster in leaps and bounds,,

23. AC …. Now you are a POLITICAL analyst? Girl chile is there anything you won’t comment on? They say silence is golden you mussee real broke by now seeing that you love flapping your gums. You don’t have to be at every cockfight you know.

24. georgie porgie who won the match…..

25. @ David
    Whether 1, 10 or 1000 I sense a sound strategy. More importantly, pay attention to the action of real playmakers. Take heed.

26. 14-5=9

27. David, you hear you boy PG speaking? He has made a three- hundred and sixty degree turn. What happen to yaa boy David? I thought he was once a staunch supporter of the BU worldview?

28. @enuff

Correct, watching it closely.

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

will MIA walk when given out? or will she ask for DRS review?

30. Georgia Pogie

PG, you’re not fooling anyone here. We know that you’re not as stupid as you look. You have had a formal education, even though it was in the dinosaur days. Brother, rather than taking things at a face- value, you employ the method of interpretive -extrapolation to arrive at a conclusion based on sound analysis.

“To think critically”- lol
    As a student of Western Intellectual Thought, it’s funny you ask that question PG. (To critically analysis data should be second nature to someone of your acclaim PG) I am quite sure you have studied the philosophy of the first moralist philosopher Socrates, and his Socratic- Methodology? Or you have probably read of how Socrates traversed Ancient in his day; challenging the conventional wisdom through critical -thinking. Come on now PG, you’re known here on BU as a well learned man, or perhaps, that’s what you want us to believe?

David, I believe we’re witnessing the sure signs of neurosis or is it psychosis? Your sidekick Georgie Porgie, would have given one of his BALLS to defend the BU worldview, and now we’re witnessing a fundamental change in attitude. Is it the North America summer breeze, at play here David?

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Please stop trying to make Mia appear as though she is some sort of political strategist. This march is a desperate attempt to counter her declining popularity in the BLP. If she brings out the numbers, she can claim some significant national following.

Someone termed her move as brilliant: it is everything but. She needs to do things properly, and if she wants to be a leader of this country, she must not be seen as skirting around the law, even though that might not be her intention.

If she wants to march and encourage others to accompany her, she should obtain police permission in accordance with the Public Order Act. Then again if she wants to march on Government Headquarters, the police cannot give permission for such a march.

The only thing that is likely to happen if a march takes place without police permission is that this group of desperate misfits which constitute the Government would get the police to crackdown and shoot a few people or crack a few heads as they have already planned.

Mia would get sympathy but her body would not be pierced with bullets or her head won’t be cracked, unless, the police wielding the weapons are supporters of Kerrie Symmonds.

32. “Mottley disclosed that the party had already started the process of obtaining police permission for a public march on Thursday from Parliament to Government Headquarters.”

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Enuff

You can’t get police permission to march to Government Headquarters.

34. Apparently she got permission but cannot go close to GH

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/march-still-on/

35. @Caswell
    Agreed Mia is no political strategist. Her unbridled desire to be the PM has clouded her judgement. At present, eight Blp MPs are not with her. Her inner circle includes Rommel, Hartley, Persaud, Reudon, Bailey, what a team!

36. Ok Caswell. Thanks for the clarification.

37. Can anyone enlighten BU who selected MAM as leader of the Opposition?

38. David, Chaucer saying 8 (note the number lol) don’t support Mia, which is a majority ent?

39. @Thinker, I appreciate your concern about further frustration for the citizens of Barbados but desperate situations require desperate solutions. Barbadians will only be frustrated IF they are happy with the way this government(?) is performing(?). If they are as fed up as most of us are, they will be happy to be a part of this civil guerrilla disobedience and will be proud to be taking the action that the unions, the church leaders, the Lodges, service clubs, the Bar Association (should I go on?) have shown their impotence to perform.
    Regarding your concern about damaging the economy, well it appears that those elected to lead are doing quite a good job on their own and don’t need any help fro us, the citizens of this our country.

40. @David@7:47
    Eight voted for MAM: MAM, Forde, Prescod, Hinkson, Agard, Bradshaw, Bostic, Sutherland

41. “The political parties (the DLP and the BLP) have seriously degenerated. They are not the same institutions they were 20 or 30 or 40 years ago. So we need to understand that and we need to accept that.” A comment attributed to Mr David Comissiong, in today Daily Nation, Tuesday, July 22, 2014.

It is becoming clearer and clearer to many people in Barbados that the BLP and DLP are two intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited political disorganizations in this country.

They are totally incapable of helping take Barbados – especially when ever at the helm of government – to higher and greater levels of national development.

Furthermore, they are systematically destroying more and more of the people’s affairs in this country.

Both of them MUST ABSOLUTELY PERMANENTLY GO from the political governmental landscape of this country.

42. Nostradamus | July 22, 2014 at 10:01 AM |
    @ Robert Ross
    “Does anyone know when Bobby’s next one is?”

After his last march the press reported he was off to a 2 week sojourn in Cuba so we may have to wait until he returns.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Remember the Russian President Putin visited Cuba and met with senior Castro. I will not cast aspirations on this visit.

43. Is there not a prediction for bad weather come Thursday hmmmm maybe that will be used as an excuse whether the Mia crawl will be a success

44. @Zeus
    Forecast for Thurs 24th July: possible thunderstorms with rain

45. @ PDC

You was asked if you are marching and you said NO. How de hell you could be propagating NO TAXATION, yet you refuse to align with a Municipal Tax walk. It is not about Mia, it is the the wicked imposition of a tax that should never be. That is the fundamental reason that Mia and sufferers of this tax are willing to show Barbados. It is not the change of heart of this administration, it is the pressure that will be borne by taxpayers sourcing monies to pay. So TWO-FACED PDC, we can say that your refusal to march is your acceptance of this tax, which automatically show that you love taxes. At least you are showing solidarity with the Minister of Taxes with responsibility for Loans Road Show in US and UK.

We are looking forward to you repealing your own position.

46. TMW you really take PDC seriously? Like I have said before, any party that has to issue so many “in advertence[s]” after submissions is a comedy show. dwl

47. From 1000lbs of blubber to just solid waste what else will u think of Kerry

48. @fearplay
    Situation is no different to 1991-93, which i believe was the worse in terms of austerity when compared to now. The prelong economic situation from 2008 till now, and on going ,gives that impression..Despite the current situation and unpopularity of the DLP, there are still some within and at the helm of those organizations that are die-hard Dems who would not support such actions
    We seem to forget that OSA went through the same leadership struggle back in 1991-94 with the likes of Billie Miller, Henry Forde . MAM needs to learn from OSA minus the politics of Inclusion which is now biting her in the REAR. Get rid of the detractors and let the popularity of the BLP grow on her own popularity. Remember “owen, more than ever” etc.

49. Can any of the political analyst on this blog comment on Owen’s Politics of Inclusion having some BEARING for the the past and current problems within the BLP with the likes of Kerry , Rommel Marshall, Wendell callender , Trevor Prescod etc?

50. As it was in the beginning so it shall be at the end! Avatar
    As it was in the beginning so it shall be at the end!

Rumblings over ‘snakes’ Trevor Prescod THERE COULD BE some fallout in the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) camp over some “snakes in the grass” comments made at the party’s political mass meeting at Carlisle Bay car park on Sunday night. Member of Parliament (MP) for St Michael East Trevor Prescod referred to some in his party as “snakes in the grass” and said he had no intention of pulling any punches. “I’m a little concerned that even in this institution at a time when there should be fundamental revolutionary changes being talked about and working harmoniously to move things forward, we have to be facing issues with snakes in the grass in a domestic family,” Prescod said. He also told the meeting that the Opposition party needed to face reality or it would suffer the consequences. 

What started as a political spat in the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) over the controversial municipal solid waste tax has erupted into a full public brawl as others have entered the fray.

Party chairman Senator Jerome Walcott said a public declaration by St James Central Member of Parliament (MP) Kerrie Symmonds on Sunday about not speaking at last Sunday night’s mass meeting in Bridgetown would be dealt with at the parliamentary group.