Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition

The following is a statement issued by the leader of the Opposition Barbados Labour Party Mia Mottley. The action by Mia Mottley may prove to be a defining moment for her in the battle of public perception over BLP leadership. If she is able to rally her troops on Thursday, it will go a long way to prove she is the preferred leader.

The implementation of the Muni Tax, for whatever reason, has provoked Barbadians from all spheres to rally against it. The good thing is that it has brought focus to bear on the vexing issue of solid waste management. Barbadians must try to separate political rhetoric and naked political opportunism from the real issue read Kerri Symmonds.

Thanks ‪#‎Barbados‬ for coming out to our mass meeting last Sunday to show your support. http://bit.ly/1p7hDKx

I SHALL NOW DO MY DUTY. I propose to take that first step. I have prayed on it. I shall walk. I shall walk on Thursday at midday from Parliament to Government Headquarters on Bay Street.

I shall walk to deliver as Leader of the Opposition and the voice of the people (especially those who are against this bad tax), a letter to the Prime Minister stating what we have heard from you across the length and breadth of this country in unison – repeal this Municipal Solid Waste tax and come again! The people want it repealed as soon as possible and we urgently want a national consensus on its replacement. We know the government needs money but this is not the way!

I shall walk for the right reasons for this is for the right cause. Our people are speaking as one saying the same thing across the private sector, the Churches, community groups and charities, ordinary people – even Denis Clarke on behalf of the workers.
And if it is me alone – I shall walk. For in the words of Timothy God has not given me the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

And I am equally comforted by the words of the Book of Matthew – that where 2 or 3 are gathered together in My name, there am I in the midst of them.

So I know I shall walk with God.

147 responses to “Mia Will Walk”

1. And I am equally comforted by the words of the Book of Matthew – that where 2 or 3 are gathered together in My name, there am I in the midst of them
    Is this a political protest or a revival meeting? Is a Mia Gov’t likely to obliterate the line between Church and State?

2. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Mia is now playing on the faith of the Barbadian people…!
    I’m in total agreement with her ideology; this tax was imposed on us, not by Government, but by the IMF…!
    Tread very carefully Mia because if elected to power you may one hold your hand out to the IMF, they never forget…!

3. “A Mia government” !!!! What seems a more realistic consideration is a MIA SURVIVAL . Can you see her surviving the attacks in public from Owen Arthur , George Payne , Kerry Symmonds among others ? At the present rate it does not seem as though she has as much chance of survival as a snowball in hell . Her fall cannot be far from coming .

4. The attacks on MIa will backfire UNLESS Arthur, Symmonds and co deliver credible information to the public that supports their backstabbing and undermining. The DLP of course will revel in this BLP fracture which diverts public attention from their ineptness managing the government. BU is not so easily swayed.

5. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Let the movement to save this fair land begin.If Owen Arthur has this groundswell of support as some would have us believe, then stop the pussyfooting and cut Mam off at the knees. The fact of the matter is that he cannot win without her support. Now is as good a time as there ever will be for a few good men and women to step up and infiltrate the incestuous dungeon that party politics has become, and steer this country out of the wilderness where it presently sits. Tell me honestly which government member deserves to be reelected? Now ask yourselves this question. As presently constituted can the BLP be trusted? A few good men are needed.

6. Hamilton Hill Avatar

This government by its own ineptitude will collapse. If we return to this present crop of BLP opportunists all that we are really doing is spinning top in mud.

7. Owen Arthur , George Payne , Kerry Symmonds need to get a facking life. DLP thiefing tax payers money and they all together. Mia fighting for the good of the populace and them three acting like jackasses. If we don’t stand up for something we accept anything.

8. Scores of Barbadians have since Saturday been asking us these questions: Is the PDC going to be marching with the BLP? Is the PDC going to be protesting on Thursday? Are you all going to be marching with Mia Thursday?

And we have been point blank telling them “NO, NO” to each question, and have been letting them know what the business is:

1) that this is no joke thing, that the PDC and the CUP will never align with BLP (DLP) principals and officials on any thing;

2) that marching is a very serious political event not to be trifled with, and that one must not be marching with those persons who are going to be marching not to advance any serious national sectoral cause or right, but primarily to shore up or test for their otherwise faltering public image support, or to see if they will do politically better than the two previous marches.

3) that the same Mia Mottley and the BLP have – since 1994 – been severely helping to destroy many of the people of this country’s affairs and now wish to be using some of these same people to help her and her backward idiotic BLP get the “france where they want to get”, and thereafter – once they have got where they have got – to jet off elsewhere and leave these same people to scrabble for and among themselves; and

4) that they and the broad masses and middle classes of Barbados must realize that the DLP and BLP are not for the fundamental social political material financial interests of themselves and by extension the people of this country, but are almost totally for the interests of themselves, and for the personal familial cronistic business financial foreign affairs interests of the principals of these factions.

Well, almost every person who had asked the above questions agreed with what we said and walked away, with some saying they are not marching.

So down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP.

9. @Hamilton Hill

Diogenes has a lamp for sale.

10. David,

What you put out here are at 6.12 am hardly makes any sense.

You are refusing to use the blog to great effect to help bring about social political alternatives to these ramgoat, ramshackled, irrelevant DLP and BLP.

Thousands upon thousands of people in Barbados are in NEED of these alternatives at this stage.

You are NOT listening to many of these people.

What DLP/BLP what!!

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Peoples Democratic Congress

Nice response. When you do not bemoan the tax, your contributions are sweet to read. The moment you start with the tax your contributions just go on a ramble.

12. David
    Mia can afford to ignore Kerri, the has no political capital. She should let the party machinery squeeze Kerri, no need for her to get her hands dirty with someone who is not a legitimate challenger to her.
    If it me I would take away his platform/soapbox and make someone else Leader of Opposition Business in the House.
    Owen should know better than trying to elevate his surrogate Kerri as a serious challenger to Mia. STUPSE STUPSE STUPSE.

13. Isn’t it strange that the Government is in financial crisis but the financial institutions of Barbados are overflowing with money? It seems to me that the problem is that there is little opportunity for ordinary Barbadians to invest. There are two successes that stare at us every day. These are the credit unions and BARP. They show that Barbadians can save and can collectively make arrangements to provide services at low cost that their members want e.g. health insurance, property and personal loan facilities even educational scholarships.

It would seem to me that a wise leadership would seek to build on the success of these institutions by allowing them to expand their investment opportunities. Imagine if between BARP and the credit unions, Bayview hospital had been purchased, an expanded health insurance scheme had been implemented and even training of health personnel arranged where the trained persons would be required to “give back” to the health project. Imagine if the credit unions could be allowed to establish construction cooperatives where house building and house maintenance services could be provided in a situation where professional engineering quality control could be provided. Imagine if the same credit unions could invest in education and child care initiatives like nursery, primary, secondary and even tertiary education utilizing distance education technology. Imagine if farming cooperatives could be established using plantations bought by credit unions. Imagine if hotels were developed and owned by credit unions instead of Butch Stewart.

Imagine a Barbados with a smaller Government dedicated to law enforcement, border control, environmental management and international relations while the citizens directly provide for their daily sustenance instead of looking to Government largesse.

Maybe if Mia is walking to not only repeal the municipal waste tax but to repeal the impediments that stop ordinary Barbadians from controlling and improving their lives….maybe that would be a step in the right direction.

14. this march would be like all others a dud. meaningless and fruitless…the govt has already responded …repeal what..that would be a defining moment…one which would not happen..and one which would utimately have Mia struggling for answers which she does not have.and eventually to her demise….the voice of the people have been heard …and govt did respond.

15. Gooaaaaaaalllllllllllllllll!

This prolonged announcement now has become the hallmark of many commentators, particularly the Spanish media announcers.

And, as spectators attending any match, be it football cricket or otherwise, we will grudgingly concede a compliment to the opposing team when what they have done is effected with superlative execution.

A begrudging compliment and admiration for the action even though our loyalty is to the other team.

Ole men like me owe no fealty to anyone and I certainly have no brief for Mia Amor Mottley.

Having said that let me “connect the dots”.

Mia’s walk on Thursday or in other words “her stroke of genius”.

Observe 1. How it is being set up. in “Joan-of-Arc styling” quotations from the Bible, “I march for God …” with trailings of Martin Luther King. Emotive appeal to the pretend Christian population that we Bajans are. Good stroke.

Observe 2. How many people will be there? I guestimate that Mia will have thousands of people marching (as long as there is no rain) as opposed to Bobby’s smaller numbers, albeit that Bobby has laid the groundwork for these acts of acceptable civil disobedience. Marchers at a BLP rally have nothing to fear really, the DLP is on its way out, doan mind it tekking so long, so you can march for the winning team.

Observe 3. What Mia is marching about? The Muni Tax, not anything else, like the rambling other marchers, a tax which has been partially repealed and which this inept DLP government, devoid as they are of alternatives, are hell bent to implement. Mia has chosen her battle carefully, for on the one hand Owen, Kerrie and Payne CANNOT come out and “oppose the Leader of the Opposition in her opposition of the Muni Tax which itself opposes the people” To do so these persons would be idiotic and, even though Owen does have the trump card, (the other two are bluffers) he is a strategist AND WILL NOT PLAY IT HERE!

Observe 4. How she will organize the march. As opposed to the Commi-singsong and Bobby Clarke amateurish rendition, i would hazard that it will show how marches are to be done, who will manage the microphone, the message that will be delivered, the theatrics, Bobby and Singsong might learn a thing or two..

Observe 5. The Clan. Pain with his new fenders/grille/teeth and Kerrie, the Wife beater, sorry ex-wife, poor Andrea, are not going to be there in the throng/mottley crew, holding no placards, but rest assured that Mia will have some “big guns” in her camp out front and centre and the colour composition will be noticeable.

Goooaaaalllllll!

16. @ Ping Pong

A sound submission and alternative.

Let the Credit Union(s) who are so liquid, build/own and lease the Paradise eyesore to Butch or some other reputable marketing guru and put a jump start in part of our economy.

That is the problem with people like you who think out of the box, you bring alternatives to the table and as such need to be locked up and incarcerated in jail or Green Gates for “he thinks too much, such men are dangerous”

17. @Drop Jaw

Jerome Walcott has already come public to chide Symmonds and to indicate Symmonds will be dealt with by the party.

@Ping Pong

BU has previously indicated that credit unions operate on a principle of lending members monies to members, where is the surplus funds going to come from to engage in an orgy of financing?

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine,

Remember we are a party of members, supporters, friends, and backers.

Good that you read the above PDC contributions.

We are still awaiting your responses to two questions we had put to you coming under the subject of TAXATION just about a week ago under a different thread.

And, we do not ramble when it comes to our continuing to perpetually condemn this horrific fascist bondage and crime against the people called TAXATION.

If you have been carefully following us on here you would see that we have been outlining a powerful alternative to it for Barbados.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I seem to have missed the part of the announcement where Mia said that she has sought and received police permission to march. Is she preparing to sacrifice the supporters who march with her for her benefit? One thing for sure is that when the police are cracking skulls and shooting people, Mia’s skull will conveniently remain intact.

20. BLP should be capitalising on the missteps of the DLP but they are infighting with each other it seems. If the Judases in the BLP main focus, again, is to dethrone Mia, they should do it now rather than later. Owen is not running anymore, why is he causing so much trouble for her, i just do not understand. It is interesting that neither the leaders of the DLP nor BLP has the political capital to discipline their troops.

21. @Caswell

Mia has advertisd that she will walk and that supporters may join her in the parliament yard. We wait for clarification.

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

That language sounds too much like skirting around the law.

23. David,

Your response at 8. 25 am to Ping Pong is extremely poor and disappointing to us.

Come on!!

The PDC has been informing of the REVOLUTION in the political financial affairs of this country, that will see ALL financial institutions – including so-called credit unions – under a certain future coalitional government of Barbados – being made to “equity invest” in various kinds of commercial industrial activities in this country, as one sure way of ultimately coming by excess remunerations that are to be distributed among their own members.

Such will come about fundamentally because this certain future government will make sure that Interest Rates are abolished in this country; that mortgages are abolished in this country; and that anything that has to do with monies or access to monies got before by customers of these institutions, that there will no handing in of any amounts of monies, debits, cheques, etc by these said customers to these financial institutions – in respect of anything equivalent to those said amounts earlier got – whether in whole or in parts.

The saving function – though slightly modified – will continue to be carried out in these institutions.

24. Thousands marching on a Thursday..i don,t think so..1.job security for most would be of importance.2..people looking for alternative solutions ..so far these marches have had very little impact…3.the elderly most of whom this tax affects ..not going to brave the heat and natures elements….againMia has shown her propensity to be erractic..rather than practical..more like a barking dog with rubber teet.

25. Well…good, another march. I hardly see it matters who’s leading it or what the attitude of XYZ is. Does anyone know when Bobby’s next one is? As for God on the touchline…well ‘he”s always there isn’t he? So Mia is only recognizing what’s accounted a reality. What of parliamentary prayers?

Pieceuh

I see you really have been taking your ginkgo.

26. @ Robert Ross
    “Does anyone know when Bobby’s next one is?”

After his last march the press reported he was off to a 2 week sojourn in Cuba so we may have to wait until he returns. What a sweet irony. Bobby marches freely in Barbados against government policy and then off to Cuba. If any Cuban citizen tried to do what he did in Barbados there would definitely be some heads cracked.

27. ac | July 22, 2014 at 8:01 AM |
    “….the voice of the people have been heard …and govt did respond.”

Is this the same AC who castigated everyone on BU who opposed the solid waste tax, informally accusing them of being unpatriotic and not wanting to help Barbados?
    Is this the same AC who agreed with Sinckler’s stance that the tax would not be reviewed or abolished, while rebuking those of us who otherwise called for its revision or abolition?

Recall her contributions to the various posts that dealt with the solid waste tax issue; for example: Willy, Nilly Muni Tax – Posted on July 10, 2004:

“ac | July 11, 2014 at 11:19 PM | like … sinckler ..say ..this is where we call home,,,,if wunna want to make sacrifice and do the repair ,,it is up to wunna ,,or wunna can let it falll bit by bit as have been happening through out the years ,,,,completely to the ground,,,,,and let the termites feast from the remaining remnants,,it is entirely up to the occupants,,,,,,,remeber now it is wunna house,,,,,,take it or maybe if necessary leave it”

After the protests from those BU contributors, and Barbados as a whole, who opposed the tax, the DLP decided to make changes. Now, this change in events has seen AC AGREEING WITH US, while heaping praise on the DLP [which is expected]. On one hand she agreed with the DLP when they said the tax will not reviewed, on the other hand now it has been reviewed , she is saying “the voice of the people have been heard”.

Hahahahahaha…………………. What a hypocrite………. this is the true definition of “yard-fowlism” at its best. This reminds of the following response she made to Caswell:

“ac | July 7, 2014 at 8:47 PM | Caswell Franklyn | July 7, 2014 at 7:33 PM: Don’t worry about AC, he was a fervent supporter of the BLP before he and Liz Thompson fell out. HE IS A YARDFOWL FOR HIRE.”

Based on her previous unwavering support of the DLP’s stance on the tax, and her subsequent change in support as DEMS reviewed the tax, it’s obviously clear to all and sundry that AC IS THE TRUE “YARDFOWL FOR HIRE”.

28. ALL HAIL To the Thief..OSA rehired

29. I knew this shit was going to get out of hand sooner rather than later.

Came to work this morning to find out that nearly all of my co-workers have arranged a bus to pick them up at 12 noon on Thursday so they can go an join Mia in her walk to Government Headquarters.

30. Nostra…lol. well, you do have a point.

31. Petet Wickham will march.

Momemtum is building.

32. Peter wickham would Walk..fuh sure he still has a vested interest in finalising the last Poll

33. AC…read it an weep, you did not tell me the DLP ministers were pretending to be intellectuals and lying like convicts……..lol

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/barbados-cant-avoid-the-imf-says-mascoll/

34. Marching at midday in the scorching hot sun shows thue dedication to the cause.

Hope the marchers wear hats and carry bottle water.

Hope the emergency services are on alert in case anybody collapse from the heat.

35. @Hants

The idea is to march whike the cabinet is sitting.

The weather in Barbados these days, overcast with a cooling NE breeze.

36. David
    I have to admit this appears to be a brilliant political move by Mia. The fact that she has set it up to manage the peoples expectations by saying “I will walk alone if need be” is very good politics.
    However if Mia gets 1,000 or a little less then she will take great comfort in the knowledge that she has the Government on the run and the momentum is on her side.

37. David wrote “The idea is to march whike the cabinet is sitting.”

So we can expect all the BLP MPs to march in solidarity with Mia if they are all sober.

38. ac

Be careful not incite/invite the peoples wrath by make laughing sport at their genuine concerns. The problem with the DLP is that they are seen are uncaring and arrogant. BE VERY CAREFUL CAUSE BARBADOS IS AT A CROSSROADS AND IF MIA LEADS THEM ACCROSS THE RUBICON THEN THE DLP’S DAYS ARE NUMBERED.

39. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

To all the DLP yardfowls and jackasses (aka ac) you all are a laughable bunch. I know wunna glad fuh de little discontent in the BLP but wunna got to get it in wunna head that wunna going get disposed of like the piles of solid waste that you all are in the next election!!!!!. Mia Amor Mottley is seen in THIS COUNTRY as the PM in waiting!!!!!. This country wants nothing more to do with the DEMS!!!!!. The populace has the feeling that the DEMS have betrayed them especially since the last general election.
    As a BEE and as a realist, Mia has gotten a lot of stick from Owen and now Kerry. I detect from Kerry’s comments that their is a problem with Mia’s leadership style. Well if Kerry has a problem with her style the best way to resolve it is INTERNALLY. Kerry is highly insubordinate and should be disciplined ONLY for using the public forum to air disagreements.Kerry can have whatever opinion he wants. I think Mia, being the leader supported by the majority of the Opposition, is being too soft and must stamp her authority as the Opposition leader she is!!!!!. Owen has disappointed me the most, but the reality is that the public DOES NOT WANT BACK OWEN as PM!!!!!!!. The last general election proved it !!!! Owen does not have a leg to stand on. What Owen should do is guide Mia as a former successful PM and MOF. If Owen tells us that Mia doesn’t want to listen well that is another story.
    I agree with Mia on this tax, Kerry is way off base. There is GENERALLY no problem with the “concept” of a Solid Waste Tax, but this tax is being implemented BADLY in its current form and should be REPEAL. This tax is a PROPERTY TAX to which the revenues gained would be used to fund Solid Waste Management (or according to what this Govt tells us). It is also another tax in a RECESSION!!!!! Tell me what is going to stop this govt from implementing more taxes in the future in this recession!!!! This govt must stop savaging the people in this country!!!! This Govt is behaving like a bull in a china shop in its methods to try to stave off the IMF. The people of this country must WAKE UPPPPP!!!!!!!!

40. Mia problems are internal not external, she continues to seek cheap rockstar applause, the march/walk will be her fall.
    @ Caswell
    Let us know what is the position in Roebuck St

41. @Roger Smart
    Word on the ground ,buying marchers at $100

42. @Hants

The march will help once and for all expose the Arthur faction, this will Mia in her strategy to secure her position.

43. Mia is the leader of the BLP.

Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Barbados needs a leader of the opposition and Mia is the people’s choice.

44. After all this the BLP will be a unified party behind its leader. Don;t be fooled by the turmoil expressed in the report below.

As soon as Elections are called they will unite as one cohesive political unit.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/blp-split/

45. Stop The Presses. Read all about it .It is official Mia Death March on Thursday.OSA and gang of five are desingated to be the pall bearers

46. If I were a member of the BLP, I would not be overly concerned about Kerry Symmonds’ stance on not speaking at the party’s meeting held on last Sunday night. Obviously, the DLP “spin doctors” whose “names” we see on BU only when the BLP is under the microscope, will try to turn the issue to favour the Dems.

In my opinion, Symmonds disagreement with Mottley on her handling of the solid waste tax issue, is no different than David Estwick disagreeing with his administration economic policies, or Donville Inniss being critical of the solid waste tax. Additionally, recall on Sunday July 22, 2012, while addressing a town hall meeting in Brooklyn New York sponsored by the Friends of Brooklyn (DLP) Association, Adriel Brathwaite was critical of his administration’s involvement in the Four Season project.
    We have witnessed ministers saying one thing and other ministers refuting the statements, and as recent as last Thursday July 17, 2014, the Cabinet meeting almost came to blows………. Japanese parliament style. PM Stuart seem not to be able to control his ministers, as he remains silent on pertinent issues affecting Barbados and the rogue behavior of his ministers.

So, we must agree that there are problems in both parties and they are only “fronting” unity.

47. On another note, I have been missing Caswell Franklyn’s column these two weeks. When I inquired, I was told that Erza Alleyne, attorney at law for the Nation Newspaper is blocking ALL of Caswell’s columns!!!!

48. ac

THIS “elderly’ person will brave the heat. And there were quite a number on Bobby’s second march.

49. Mia has been facing growing resistance in the BLP family. This march is about getting “something” to happen to propel her to the political heights akin to Grantley Adams in his hey day. When the police tell these “walkers” to disperse and then crack some heads then Mia shall play her political ball; thus putting to bed all like Own and his band of BLP misfits!!

50. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

well caswell can post on the BU RUM SHOP LOL