Submitted by Islandgal246
Minister Donville Inniss has ask for a review of the Muni Tax.
More private sector groups add raised voices to imposition of Muni Tax

Dear Mr Minister,

Did you really sit down and think out how this Municipal  Solid Waste Tax was going to affect the citizens and residents of this country? Did you really? First you came up with a figure of 0.7% and was adamant it was 0.7% even when Donville stated that that figured doesn’t sound right and should be reviewed.

We heard by the wayside that it was reduced to 0.3%. YOU NEVER came to us to tell us publicly  that it had been reviewed. Then you came on Brasstacks Sunday to talk and answer questions from the public about this tax. You with you arrogant attitude telling people that even if they cannot afford to pay they must pay it and then apply for a rebate or refund and it will be up to YOU to approve it. You further went on to state that you said MAY and not WILL approve refunds. What the France you take us for???

How do you expect someone who has a pension  to find that money when they can’t even find money to pay for their utilities and food. How do you expect  people who have struggled to get a house, paying a mortgage, sending their children to school/university, facing lay offs or have been, trying to find  money to pay for utilities and food find this extra money? How the hell do you expect the Hotels and businesses struggling with low occupancy, fewer customers to find this money to pay this tax?

We have you and your government threatening people to pay by the end of the month or face penalties.  Some haven’t seen their bills as yet or have just received them. What kind of Brass Bowls are you all? You all are trying to implement strong arm tactics on the population who are land owners, threatening not to supply Land Tax certificates if this tax is not paid. What type of Tax is this  again? For solid waste? Then what does it have to do with the Land Tax?? Yet it is based on the site value of land  we own?

You with your arrogant attitude are telling us that the tax will NOT be reviewed. Donville has asked that the tax be reviewed after hearing from businesses and people that the tax was not properly thought out and unfair.  Yet you adamantly stated that the tax will NOT be reviewed. What kind of human being are you? Will you help buy uniforms and school supplies for the children whose parents won’t have any EXTRA money after paying this tax? Will you help buy food and pay utilities for the pensioners who don’t have this EXTRA money put aside?  Will you help the farmers by paying this tax for them enabling them to grow food to feed your government and the people of this island? Mr Minister,  you really haven’t given any thought on the effect of this tax and it is evident that you and your colleagues have lost the ability to think and listen!

I am sorry Mr Minister I cannot see the Emperor’s new clothes.

122 responses to “AKA .3% MUNI TAX”

1. Well said, islandgal.

In the meeting tonight, Senator Wilfred Abrahams ably explained this solid waste tax legislation.

He as an officer of the court could not tell people to disobey the law but he did explained that the law was adapted from the land tax law. He explained that people got frightened when thy heard of the stiff penalties and ran to pay but that the government cannot seize your property under this law.

Even me who could afford to pay this tax will not. I am filing for a remit as a matter of principle! This government has been trampling all over Barbadians for too long with all the lies and deceit. Enough is enough!

2. @Prodigal Son

What happens when you need a Tax Clearance Cert?

3. The medium term fiscal strategy, The revised fiscal strategy, The Municipal Solid Waste Tax. None of the previous measures had no positive effect on the economy. Yet MOF and Fumble getting fatter and fatter while the populace getting skinnier. Something wrong.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Mother Of Frackers is a crook, liar and scumbag, We at PLANTATION DEEDS know this Bitch first hand.he fail math in scfool

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

A Sucker Tax , made up by a fool, love to see what MIA paying on now.
    more money out the lawyers pocket , Rent and lawyers fee will go up , Choking those now out of work ,

If you pay you are a fool, lets see how many fools they are, Back up the court even more , lets see if it take 20 years to be heard , In the mean time you pay nothing, Maybe it will come after your dead in the form of a death tax.
    Audit is need not now , but right NOW

6. what everyone seems to be avoiding is the dire financial status barbados is in and the uttermost importance of having a plan in place to rescue,,,so far the opposition has not come up with a viable or feasible alternative,,,,All the crticisms have been levelled at the policies implemented by govt to turn the economy in a positive direction,,,,,but NO one Has laid out long term and feasible options,, i wonder why…….

7. ac

Bajans don’t harbour any desires work with this government anymore. Too many lies, too many promises and too reversals on election matters.

Be off with you and the DLP

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

David there is an imposter carrying my alias. Please inform this fraud to get another alias. This is not the SSS

9. I am really wondering how deep in debt we really are. Central bank won’t even report live to us. After receiving a 60 mil from a godfather one hopes this is put yo good use. By the way gas price just went up.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

If you would only wake up from your DLP slumber. Soon you won’t be able to get any more ‘bittle’ for your stupid wherewithal. You really think that bajans are stupid. Do you not hear the cries from the very voices of DLP loyalist (all except you) that this DLP government is the biggest sycophants, liars, tricksters and insensitive goons that have ever grace the halls of parliament?. I mean I thought the last administration where a bunch of arrogant sons of bitches but the only thing that administration leading this administration in is the amount of money stolen over 14 years.
    So the government needs money. Everyone understands this but you mean that the way to get it is behave like a cunt and put a tax in place that says for garbage yet the charges are base on land. If government business was transparent and information made readily available some bajans might have swallowed this but this same cunt for MOF said one thing about the VAT in initial stages only to reveal his true intent in the end.

How the ass you expect people to fork out what they do not have for a calculation they have trouble understanding. From the time my friend told me what Chris Sinckler said when asked about the economy and how angry people were at his decisions, he instantly was labelled a callous cunt. Thus that callous cunt that functions as MOF is too arrogant to understand that if he wants to make the ladder of fame as the famous minister who pulled an ailing economy around he cant do it with lies, little disclosure and obvious draconian measures he expects bajans to swallow. He and the other clown who is the ministerial prime presents a callous approach to governance that each time they talk you can expect some insult or nonsense. And yet you defend them….You are real real shite.

11. lol SSS, ranting against AC. Is a SOLID WASTE of time. Ignore him and although I hate that C word, his initials are appropriate,

12. @SDS
    David Thompson got fatter and fatter and dry up and dead like a yard RAT

13. The rants and ravings does not alter the fact that solutions need to fix the economy is hard.the blp once called for privatisation and that was rejected ac not the fault that barbados has reached a point of financial decline..the fact is that all the squealing that is being done cannot and have not given any solutions.carry on smartly ..cuss till the cows come home..in the end the job of rebuilding the ecomony will still be of most important ..and the solutions wil be harsh.be it borrowimg..be it taxes. or selling.it is not about ones interest but what is in the best interest of the country.

14. ac,
    You constantly go on about debt the BLP left.

Has anyone in George Street ever told you that your destructive, lying party has borrowed more money in the six years it has been in power than the Barrow, Adams, Sandiford and Arthur governments combined. Nearly six billion dollars and nothing to show for it…………………………

15. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ islandgal246…This solid waste tax like everything else is the brainchild of a brain dead cabinet, of which Minister Donville Inniss is a member. A SENIOR MEMBER. Do not fall for the shenanigans of this misguided group of circus clowns. They have already concluded that reversal is their only recourse, so here is Donville laying down the planks for such. Conceived collectively, it is only fair that they all share the blame. DONVILLE GETS NO PASS HERE.

16. What the muni tax has done is to mobilize Barbados, finally.

17. In the big picture this tax does a number of things that are required to stabilize our economic situation.

1. It takes money out of the hands of Barbados residents so that they have less money to spend on imports and thus reduces the strain on FX reserves
    2. It brings in FX from foreign property owners
    3. It reduces government debt

Without real GDP growth and growth in FX inflows we will continue to see a reduction of funds available which support out lifestyle while the government searches for ways to protect the Barbados dollar pegged exchange rate.

18. everybody knows that part of the increased debt was monies borrowed to pay off the ballooning debt whichhad accrrued high interest from projects which have not been profitable to the barbadoeconomy.a price which everyone is paying now..so paling cocks what are the solutions ..

19. ac
    Solutions? How about for the DLP to voluntarily demit office for having mislead the electorate in 2013?

20. Sinckler only backing Estwick Plan now because he went to UK, NYC and Washington and was told by everyone, investors, IMF, World Bank and credit Rating Agencies to take a hike.

21. ac | July 15, 2014 at 5:30 AM |
    what everyone seems to be avoiding is the dire financial status barbados is in.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    ac, you must first analyse WHY WE ARE IN THIS POSITION. This administration started wrong in the first place. Just to win a government you all went on a giv-a-way spree. First up was Free Bus Free for school children – this move took the largest chunk from the TB finances. You then give away free houses. Not even large financial country can give way state housing. As a matter of fact, government still have to service these same units since it will be impossible to ascertain which tenant would excrete the most in order to calculate the cost of sewerage removal. These same tenants would not have to pay that cost or even the solid waste tax since the state is the rightful owner. You all then went on a house/apartment spree building houses left right and centre and kill the few dollars that NHC received. The unfortunate thing is the majority of these houses are not occupied. Wunna fuh real…..how about the five story BWA Headquarters, wunna plan to park the trucks on the top floors with condos for someone’s pleasure. What about the 5-storied SSA building that is on the cards. We know Governments usually spends 5 years. is this the reason for 5 storied buildings. I vex,vex, vex and more vex.

To counteract this stupidity, you thought by taxing the clothes off our backs would solve our financial problem, but alas, it is making a bad problem worse. You increase water by 60%, you increase VAT by 2.5%, you increase road tax, you increase land tax, you tek way de reverse tax credit, you put on a .3% Stool tax to be used as a cash cow and I forget, you send home thousands

Now you telling this nation to hold strain and let this tax work (finish killing we) whilst you operate like a show promoter having fete here, entertaining tourists who we are already giving food allowances already. I wonder if Cave Shepherd will soon start entertaining the many customers who spend thousands of dollars with their establishment. Will MoF start entertaining the tax payers who keep the financial wheel of government spinning. I doubt very much.here,

So ac. this is the position when the driver can’t drive.

22. Islandgal yuh cuss me de udda day and went long pon yuh march
    to be seen and heard according to you. Now look wuh happen.
    Not one of the Famous Five heard or saw de marchers.

I would say that it was a solid waste of time and energy
    but as you see it differently, I will bow to your superior judgement.
    However, I still maintain that we must stop begging these politicians.
    Tell them what we need done and clearly spell out the penalties of
    non-compliance.

23. Leff Dem yuh mussee blind as bat because the Ministers hear we all right. What de rass yuh tink dem tawking bout all now so? Bout de weather??

24. “In the big picture this tax does a number of things that are required to stabilize our economic situation.”

SHIT YUH TALKING NUFF SITH! tHIS TAX WILL NOT STABILIZE OUR ECONOMIC SITUATION. It will shrink our spending power thus causing more businesses to fail, create more unemployment, lead to more instability and crime.

25. Hamilton Hill I am not giving Donville a pass at all. I am only saying that he is the ONLY ONE amongst the gang is publicly saying something about this punitive tax after saying that Bajans should stop grumbling and pay the tax. How could anyone create a tax, pass it as law and then hold people at ransom for payment.

26. ac | July 15, 2014 at 5:30 AM |
    what everyone seems to be avoiding is the dire financial status barbados is in and the uttermost importance of having a plan in place to rescue,,

AC……what you keep failing to explain to BU is why the Barbados economy is in financial dire straits not even fully two years after the DLP said that everything was good with the economy…..that is where you and everyone will have problems, how did the economy get so dire after less than two year..and so far you still have not explained that anomaly.

27. islandgal,

I was so sick hearing James Paul. Is he so dumb that he did not know what he was doing when he said “aye” to pass the bill? My goodness, these people are as dumb as a door knob.

28. Is it not obvious to you yet that the Government is desperate for money? Getting its hands on some quick easy money is the primary focus of this Administration. Threaten Taxpayers with stiff penalties and watch them pay up. Remember when this same MOF increased the Income Tax Penalties? This is more of the same. They are waiting to see how many landowners will descend on BRA offices in the last minute rush to avoid incurring penalties.

Until then, they will do and say anything to give the appearance that they are our humble servants and not drunk on the power they think they wield.

“Mr Minister, you really haven’t given any thought on the effect of this tax and it is evident that you and your colleagues have lost the ability to think and listen!” Those are your words, yet you still have faith in these monstertruckers

How much are you willing to bet that after the Ministers finish talking they will be more long talk.

29. if hindsight was foresight even OSA would have planned for a sustanable economy . i am a realist not one to dismiss events currant or past ..i am mindful of the fact that bad management ..impractical and pretentious living has got as to ythe place of stagnation.am i happy ..no.would i want to see an easy way out..yes..but i am a realist .and would do whatever it takes to help heal..and restore the financial health of this country and not tear it down.

30. What adjustments has this cabinet made to lead by example. Why buy BMW’s and other luxury goods. It points back to leadership and low confidence.

31. Land values in Bdos have appreciated notwithstanding the the local recession. 0.3% tax on an appreciated asset compared to 12.5% on investment income . Furthermore , the inflow of Fx to pay the muni tax on foreign owned land

32. Is it true that Reudon Eversley has resigned from the DLP?

AC…..you know that does not answer the question right, stop bobbing and weaving, you think you are a boxer or what…lol

33. Reudon resign from the DLP? Is there another circus in Barbados with a vacancy for a clown?

34. Roger (not) Smart
    You seems more professional to fill that void. Joker!!!!!

35. Tell me Why
    I know you vex causing DB and HG didn’t have any time for your services during the planning and execution phases of the DLP general election program.

36. David “Why buy BMW’s and other luxury goods?”

BMWs not expensive. Only $63,000 for X5 lol

http://www.bmw.ca/ca/en/newvehicles/x/x5/2013/showroom/configurator.html

37. I will never be caught rendering my service to any political party, furthermore this present administration. BTW, who de hell is DB and HG?
    Secondly, I ain’t Reudon.

38. I told you that you were a clown, didn’t I?

39. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

You are realist my ass. Talk a bunch of shite in defense of these ignorant bitches. Explain this tax so all can understand

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

SSS
    re @the cunt AC
    I beg to differ with you.
    AC should not be held in such high esteem!

41. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Not only Cave Hill was earning more money than Sugar and Rum, but for many years, those who we like to refer to as Returning Nationals,mainly from the United Kingdom, were also putting more money into the economy of Barbados on their return home. The building industry was alive. Artisans were working.
    This new Solid Waste tax, is surely going to put a damper on our people’s quests to return home . I have been hearing many of those who have returned, lamenting how much that they have regretted it. For many this tax is the proverbial last straw that broke the camels back.
    “The best government that we ever had”

42. You know any time I discuss anything political, especially this clueless government that has befallen us, people tend to laud Donville and say he is the smart one and his hands are tied If Donville really cared about about this country let him martyr himself and cross the floor , his feet ain’t tied . It will be the end of his political career but it will force an election as nothing will get done in parliament Don’t fool yourselves all of them want power and to line their pockets. They better be careful because by the time 4 years pass they ain’t going to be anything left to tief not even their pensions

43. A C , is from the Machines world , he was made to performed for the 2008 election and did a good , he was to be
    recalled but his maker/ programmer
    died , and is up in St. John concretely
    Can not be disturbed, so poor AC
    no one in the DLP can reboot he

44. blah ..blah ..blah,,so where are the solutions,,,anyone have an answer,,that is also a reality the yardfowls want to avoided,,another reality is that barbados was on a slippery slope many years ago and nobody thought the need to stop the slide ….truth is as bitter as the pill which all must take in rescuing barbados ,the party is over ..time to face the music,,, another reality marches and calls for rescinding of the tax ,is not going to stop the financial hole from getting deeper,,, stilling waiting for answers, how about more borrowing,,how about a fire sale,,,,,won;t be surprised if most would want such measures as long it doesn.t affect wunna selfish a,sss ,,, cuss ac so what,,,,my financial house is in order,,not waiting for govt to give me anything,,,,won’t be at all surprised if some of wunna a.ss is deep in credit card debt, because of the pretentious and lavish phony lifestyle wunna lived for over the past fourteen years,,,yes debt accumulated debt,,high interest loans,,,phony accounting ,all have played a devilish hand in the financial woes of this tiny island and wunna cussing ac,,cuss all wunna want,,couldn;t give too hiccups,,,,,,,,,, please…….,

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

Pimpy. I ask you to explain the concept behind the municipal tax, What exactly are people paying for, Land or garbage? Pure bred jackass. Got to nerve to talk about you financial position. When these clowns are kicked out of office and wonder how you gine survive,,,,

46. Y’all realize that the muni tax is there to stay right? all they gotta do is take out the extortion element re kidnapped land certificates, but everyone WILL pay that tax, the amount of millions calculated is really too sweet, ask Sinckler.

The only good thing about the muni tax is the bribers bizzy, cow et al get to pay a whole lot more than everyone else since they own a whole lot more of everything in Barbados, now that is what i call poetic justice…….Karma in all her glory.

47. AC……..soon you will have another 14 years showing on your face and you will still be talking about 14 year ago……lol

48. 2007: DLP said country was on the wrong track and the government needed to be changed.
    2013: DLP saying is the BLP’s fault, things are worst than ever.

Moral of the story: DLP could not do the job they begged for the opportunity to do, they are no longer the solution, they are the problem.

49. living off the fatted calf till it got boney

50. I wonder how many outstanding taxes from big business etc have been collected since the BRA was implemented?